On Foot Holidays

Reviews of On Foot Holidays

Overall company rating
4 100%
Reviews submitted: 396
Reviews accepted: 396
Reviews rejected: 0
Excellent
392
Good
3
Average
0
Poor
1
Terrible
0

Walking in Mallorca

By TR on 15 Feb 2018

Rating for this holiday Excellent
Find more about On Foot Holidays - Mallorca >

We had a fabulous time walking thru the countryside and villages on parts of the west coast of Mallorca

Rating for tour operator Excellent

Everything professionally organised and ran very smoothly.

It's the only way to see a country in it's rude form

By Jo on 11 Dec 2017

Rating for this holiday Excellent
Find more about On Foot Holidays - Greece/Vikos >

Walking from village to village over 7 days allows you to understand so much about a country. Let alone the people. The history is evident and you can feel it. Walking through the deepest gorge in the world gives you perspective on life and how small we are in the greater scheme of things. I walked this by myself so there is a great sense of accomplishment i got from this. It was so remote and peaceful at times isolating but the people in the villages made me feel welcome and i felt like i was leaving home every time i started a new hike. But couldn't have done it without the guided routes and information supplied by on foot.

Rating for tour operator Excellent

So informative, gave me EVERYTHING i needed to make sure i didn't get lost. A contact person in every village, from Maps, to written directions, even GPS paths. They were insistent i studied all the information before i arrived. Which was so helpful. Especially walking this route by myself I felt safe knowing i had all the information i needed to explore this very untouched part of Greece.

Fantastically scenic Umbrian medium level walk

By GEE on 4 Dec 2017

Rating for this holiday Excellent
Find more about On Foot Holidays - Umbria >

We had only passed through this region of Italy previously and so we were very rewarded on our self-guided walk with spectacular scenery daily, good to excellent accommodation & food, really helpful and friendly hosts each night plus amazing weather! It only rained a few drops one evening going to dinner.
Our walk overlapped into the Lazio region and and we knew to expect both it and Umbria to be very scenic but we were blown away by the beauty especially after the climb to our accommodation in Labro. The view from there was stunning.

Rating for tour operator Excellent

Given that I am in Australia and our Tour Operator is in England, all communications are by email. I have corresponded with a number of On Foot staff as we have now done 3 walks with them and are planning another two for 2018. Whenever I send them an email I find, without fail, that I have answer from one of the staff the next day. They are extremely professional with a friendly manner and nothing is ever a problem and, whenever possible, they go that extra mile with specific information that may assist in planning and executing walks.

Southern Tuscany Walk

By Roy on 27 Nov 2017

Rating for this holiday Excellent
Find more about On Foot Holidays - Tuscany >

We walked from Sienna to Motepulciano on foot with our luggage being transported each day. The arrangement is for self guided walking and the maps and route guidance was excellent and we had the bonus of glorious sunny weather in late October. We stayed in hotels and B&Bs booked in advance and usually in delightful medieval towns and small settlements and ate out using suggestions from the On foot guide. The accommodation was in small family run hotels with breakfast provided and we thoroughly enjoyed this aspect of our trip and the warm welcome we got at our various residences. The bonus of this walk was the historical dimension to the trip and we explored ancient towns and churches and experienced a taste of Catholic Italy which is so different from our own secular society. The landscape was delightful rolling countryside with woods and arable farming and the very picturesque fortified hill towns we visited/stayed in. It was easy walking with the huge advantage of late autumn sunshine in abundance to prepare us for the return to grey England.

Rating for tour operator Excellent

The planning and guidance notes for the trip were excellent and hence it was easy to find our way to our destination each day. We really enjoyed the choice of hotels the company identified and felt very comfortable and well looked after throughout our holiday. The transport of our luggage was executed faultlessly and the additional guidance offered with respect to our transport and to eating out was equally informative and helpful. Further, the background briefing notes with regard to historical and geographical aspects of the places visited was very helpful. i should add, the personal contact with the office staff has always been prompt and very helpful and much appreciated.

Wonderful scenery, fascinating villages

By AS on 26 Nov 2017

Rating for this holiday Excellent
Find more about On Foot Holidays - Alpes Mmes >

Walking the Alpes- Maritimes was an amazing experience. We loved the scenery-the steep mountains with the panoramic views from the top and the seaside walk from Cap Martin to Menton. The villages were delightful, so full of history and we loved walking the cobbled laneways exploring them. We especially loved La Brigue and the perched village of St Agnes.
The track notes were excellent- we didn't get lost once. The background information on the flora and fauna made the walk even more interesting. The hotels were excellent and the food in every town was great

Rating for tour operator Excellent

OnFoot Holidays provided a comprehensive "Walkers' Pack" which made the holiday so much easier. Timetables and transport instructions on getting to start and from finish were provided, as were maps, track notes and background information.Any questions were promptly answered.

Awesome walk way about the tourist melee

By SueH on 15 Nov 2017

Rating for this holiday Excellent
Find more about On Foot Holidays - Amalfi Coast >

We travelled to the Amalfi Coast at the end of October 2017. We had perfect walking temperatures and sunny days. The walking is challenging due to the medieval stepped paths that rise up and up behind the Amalfi villages and then spread into quite wild, steep and rocky terrain. At the end of each day, we descended into the coastal tourist villages for dinner and a good night's sleep. Overall, a demanding and exhilarating hike.

Rating for tour operator Excellent

We have travelled with OnFoot holiday three times now and find their personalised service and interest excellent. If any issue arises they have local associates who are ready to fix things. They provide excellent notes and the logistics of moving luggage and hotel bookings is always efficient. They also choose interesting hotels/farms with welcoming hosts. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend their service.

Walking holiday in the Ligurian Hills in Italy

By ELA on 13 Nov 2017

Rating for this holiday Excellent
Find more about On Foot Holidays - Liguria >

We walked an old salt route down the Ligurian Hills to the sea at Camogli. We walked approx 20 km a day - our luggage was taken ahead and we stayed in quite simple hotels en route. Almost the entire walk was off the road and through stunning scenery.

Rating for tour operator Excellent

They gave us lots of information and good advise, both before the holiday and via information sheets that we took with us.

Lovely walk from Amalfi to Sorrento and on to Capri

By snbvt on 10 Nov 2017

Rating for this holiday Excellent
Find more about On Foot Holidays - Amalfi Coast >

Our On Foot Holiday walking tour was superb. The walks were beautiful, breathtaking actually. The maps and directions were thorough and complete. I loved how each day's direction packet showed elevation climbs and walking times, points of interest, and suggestions on where to purchase a picnic lunch at the beginning of the day or restaurants to stop at for lunch. I appreciated the alternate route to avoid a section of the walk that would bother someone with a fear of heights.
The hotels were great. Several had pools which was a great way to relax after a long day of walking. The breakfasts were wonderful. I was always impressed that our luggage was always in our room at the next hotel.
We added on a night in Capri and On Foot Holidays provided transportation information and maps and walking directions for several walks in Capri, which were delightful.
We're looking forward to our next On Foot walking holiday in Europe. The hard part will be deciding which one to choose.

Rating for tour operator Excellent

On Foot did an excellent job providing maps and directions for walking. They were accessible by email prior to our trip, always replying promptly with a helpful response. There was never a problem with our hotel reservations and our luggage was always waiting in our next hotel. I will definitely book another trip with On Foot Holidays.

Northern Provence with Onfoot Holidays

By Nan on 3 Nov 2017

Rating for this holiday Excellent
Find more about On Foot - Northern Provence >

We walked/hiked from Venasque in Northern Provence to Vaison la Romaine. Two days we did loop hikes out of venasque and Gigondas. these were on steeper, more challenging terrain. there is also an option to climb Mt. Ventoux. the scenery, paths and towns were lovely.

Rating for tour operator Excellent

we used Onfoot Holidays out of the UK. we had used them previously for a hike on the Rheinstieg. they have excellent routes which are generally easily followed from their directions, though we have found a GPS helpful at times. Their office answers questions quickly. Inns have generally been top rate. good booklet on history and geology of area, restaurant suggestions, sightseeing, etc. Very flexible with route planning in terms of days, difficulty, etc.

Care-free hiking

By grizgrl on 30 Oct 2017

Rating for this holiday Excellent
Find more about On Foot Holidays - Bohemia >

Beautiful surroundings, pleasant locals, great trail signage, lots of exercise followed by great food and a good sleep each night.

Rating for tour operator Excellent

Fast response on email, very reasonable prices, super-smooth arrangements, everything done as promised, local backup person was competent and very helpful.