AITO: The Association of Independent Tour Operators
On Foot Holidays

On Foot Holidays Traveller Reviews

Reviews of On Foot Holidays

Overall Company Rating
100%
Excellent 800
Good 6
Average 0
Poor 1
Terrible 1
Reviews Submitted: 808
Reviews Accepted: 808
Reviews Rejected: 0
808 reviews
Sort by:
On Foot Holidays - Dorset by SNBVT, 28 Sep 2022
Holiday Rating:

Excellent self-guided walking tour in Dorset, UK

We had a lovely 6 day, 7 night self-guided inn to inn walking tour in Dorset, UK in September 2022. The countryside and villages were beautiful and full of history. We began the walk in Tisbury and continued on until we reached the coast where we relaxed for a couple days following our walk.

We had a lovely 6 day, 7 night self-guided inn to inn walking tour in Dorset, UK in September 2022. The countryside and villages were beautiful and full of history. We began the walk in Tisbury and continued on until we reached the coast where we relaxed for a couple days following our walk.

Rating for tour operator:

On Foot Holidays handled all the arrangements for lodging and dinners, baggage transfers and, taxi transfers. They provided all information related to travel (getting to the start of the walk, transfers back to the airport, etc). They gave us a very thorough history of the areas we walked. The route notes were excellent and often suggested in the notes places to stop for coffee or a picnic lunch. On Foot also provided information on restaurants, shops, tipping, local customs, etc.

On Foot Holidays - Lake Maggiore by Helen mac, 28 Sep 2022
Holiday Rating:

Lake Maggiore

We loved the scenery, walking from beautiful Lake Maggiore to the top of Mottorone, with its spectacular views of snow topped mountains. Then down again amidst beech and chestnut woods, along paths carpeted in falling autumn leaves, 'chatting' to friendly donkeys and cows along the way. The Stations of the Cross was wonderful to experience (we counted at least 15), and finally enjoyed a relaxing walk along the pristine waters of Lake Orta ...

We loved the scenery, walking from beautiful Lake Maggiore to the top of Mottorone, with its spectacular views of snow topped mountains. Then down again amidst beech and chestnut woods, along paths carpeted in falling autumn leaves, 'chatting' to friendly donkeys and cows along the way. The Stations of the Cross was wonderful to experience (we counted at least 15), and finally enjoyed a relaxing walk along the pristine waters of Lake Orta before arriving at our lakeside hotel.

Rating for tour operator:

We were cautious about returning to Europe from Australia after Covid-19, but arrangements were handled with speed and expertise. We booked very late (just 3 weeks prior to departure), yet the On Foot team managed to secure bookings at all our chosen hotels. This was our second holiday with On Foot, we will definitely be back!

On Foot Holidays - Dordogne by Oregon Walker, 27 Sep 2022
Holiday Rating:

A self-guided walking trip in the Dordogne valley

I had a magical 6 days with a friend walking through the charming Dordogne valley. We hiked about 10 miles each day and loved the variety of scenery, the peace and quiet, the historic villages along the route. We walked in mid-September when the weather was perfect and there were few other hikers on our route. We enjoyed the small hotels and wonderful food along the way.

I had a magical 6 days with a friend walking through the charming Dordogne valley. We hiked about 10 miles each day and loved the variety of scenery, the peace and quiet, the historic villages along the route. We walked in mid-September when the weather was perfect and there were few other hikers on our route. We enjoyed the small hotels and wonderful food along the way.

Rating for tour operator:

I have been on two other self-guided walks with On Foot Holidays and will use them again. I love their route choices and the comfortable, not-too-fancy lodgings. They are very responsive and flexible when planning a trip. The materials supplied in advance were just what we needed and the routes were well designed and easy to follow. When traveling with On Food Holidays I never worry about anything going wrong and I'm impressed with the value for the money. I have recommended them to several friends.

On Foot Holidays - Dolomites by AP Clith, 27 Sep 2022
Holiday Rating:

A fabulous week's walking

A week in the Dolomites enjoying Italian hospitality and challenging walks. Marvellous views and beautiful days.

A week in the Dolomites enjoying Italian hospitality and challenging walks. Marvellous views and beautiful days.

Rating for tour operator:

Friendly, organised and responsive. Real attention to detail and excellent customer care.

On Foot Holidays - Mallorca by Granny, 27 Sep 2022
Holiday Rating:

Another stunning holiday with On Foot

As always we thoroughly enjoyed our walking holiday in Mallorca with On Foot.The scenery was stunning and varied and the walking options meant that it could be enjoyed to the full by a couple in their late seventies.The route was very easy to follow as so much was waymarked. All the hotels were very comfortable and well situated and had their own character.We loved the artwork in the hotel in Palma and the breakfast view in Estellencs and Valdem...

As always we thoroughly enjoyed our walking holiday in Mallorca with On Foot.The scenery was stunning and varied and the walking options meant that it could be enjoyed to the full by a couple in their late seventies.The route was very easy to follow as so much was waymarked. All the hotels were very comfortable and well situated and had their own character.We loved the artwork in the hotel in Palma and the breakfast view in Estellencs and Valdemossa The recommendations for restaurants were very helpful and we enjoyed delicious local dishes everywhere. The hot sunny weather meant we were able to enjoy a swim at the end of a days walking and eat all of our meals outside.

Rating for tour operator:

This was our seventh holiday with On Foot and we are already planning the next for the first rate friendly and efficient service.

On Foot Holidays - Lake Maggiore by David G, 27 Sep 2022
Holiday Rating:

An enjoyable week walking in the Italian foothills of the Alps - splendid views, great food, quality accommodation.

OFH's Italian Lakes: Maggiore and Orta hotel to hotel walking holiday. We were keen to get back to Europe after the enforced isolation of the last two years. What better way than with an OFH walking holiday? We've always enjoyed our previous trips with them. This route was no exception. The walking was possibly not as demanding as some of our previous jaunts -but we were aware we were a bit out of practice! That said, it was an enjoyable week, ...

OFH's Italian Lakes: Maggiore and Orta hotel to hotel walking holiday. We were keen to get back to Europe after the enforced isolation of the last two years. What better way than with an OFH walking holiday? We've always enjoyed our previous trips with them. This route was no exception. The walking was possibly not as demanding as some of our previous jaunts -but we were aware we were a bit out of practice! That said, it was an enjoyable week, with a real sense of accomplishment. We stayed in comfortable, welcoming hotels; had some splendid meals - the Villa Pizzini experience will endure in our memories for a long time; and enjoyed some lovely walks through mature woodlands, with regular views of both lakes and mountains. Day to day worries disappeared, and the main challenge each day was related to menu and wine-list decisions.

Rating for tour operator:

As usual, OFH were firmly in control of making sure everything ran smoothly - from the initial enquiry, prior to and during the trip, and following up on our return to UK. Additional requests and minor tweaks were taken in their stride. The route notes were very good, and additional information (ferry timetables, local train details, etc) all supplied. Everything worked as it should without any fuss or bother.

On Foot - Lighthouse Way by Mr A B 22, 26 Sep 2022
Holiday Rating:

Brilliant two weeks in Galicia

We walked the Lighthouse Way in Galicia over a period of 2 weeks with 9 days of walking. On Foot Holidays were able to accommodate our wish to spread the walk over an extended period to allow us more time to complete the 200 kilometres. We had fantastic weather, fantastic food and fantastic accommodation. The organisation by On Foot was faultless. The maps and route notes were comprehensive and a pleasure to use. (I love maps). The taxis and ...

We walked the Lighthouse Way in Galicia over a period of 2 weeks with 9 days of walking. On Foot Holidays were able to accommodate our wish to spread the walk over an extended period to allow us more time to complete the 200 kilometres. We had fantastic weather, fantastic food and fantastic accommodation. The organisation by On Foot was faultless. The maps and route notes were comprehensive and a pleasure to use. (I love maps). The taxis and luggage transfers were spot on and the support from On Foot's local representative was really helpful and encouraging. A brilliant walk, amazing scenery, lovely beaches for swimming and hospitable hosts.

Rating for tour operator:

Outstanding customer service in the lead up to our holiday, all enquiries dealt with by knowledgeable and friendly staff. The service during the holiday was brilliant. The local contact, Aznar, was in touch with us every day ensuring that our experience was of the highest quality. Accommodation was fantastic, superb quality and staffed by friendly and professional people. Taxis were on time and were top quality vehicles. I cannot speak highly enough of the service we received. We will definitely use On Foot again.

On Foot Holidays - Dolomites by Jim, 23 Sep 2022
Holiday Rating:

dolomites

Excellent route through Dolomites to Cortina, with added the interest of exploration of WW1 fortifications on the way. Last minute modifications to route due to local changes were well communication by Isabelle, the local adviser.

Excellent route through Dolomites to Cortina, with added the interest of exploration of WW1 fortifications on the way. Last minute modifications to route due to local changes were well communication by Isabelle, the local adviser.

Rating for tour operator:

First rate communication with everything running very smoothly.

On Foot Holidays - Lake Maggiore by Tanya, 21 Sep 2022
Holiday Rating:

Amazing hiking in Italy

Another fabulous hiking experience booked through On Foot holidays. This time we did 4 nights around Lake Maggiore. Everything from the actual hiking to the accommodation to the food exceeded our expectations. In particular the dinner at Villa Pizzini was outstanding as were the views along the walks.

Another fabulous hiking experience booked through On Foot holidays. This time we did 4 nights around Lake Maggiore. Everything from the actual hiking to the accommodation to the food exceeded our expectations. In particular the dinner at Villa Pizzini was outstanding as were the views along the walks.

Rating for tour operator:

We've been using On Foot for years and absolutely think the world of them. One of the most professional companies I've worked with and they always go above and beyond to make sure our trips are exceptional.

On Foot - Camino de Santiago by suzie, 20 Sep 2022
Holiday Rating:

Camino primitivo

Walking from Oviedo to Lugo, fantastic holiday with some lovly hotel stops on the route.

Walking from Oviedo to Lugo, fantastic holiday with some lovly hotel stops on the route.

Rating for tour operator:

on foot holidays - very proffessional and always happy to help. Very pleased with walkers pack and all details provided. Accommodation was excellent too.