AITO: The Association of Independent Tour Operators
On Foot Holidays

On Foot Holidays Traveller Reviews

Reviews of On Foot Holidays

Overall Company Rating
100%
Excellent 650
Good 5
Average 0
Poor 1
Terrible 0
Reviews Submitted: 656
Reviews Accepted: 656
Reviews Rejected: 0
656 reviews
Sort by:
On Foot Holidays - Dorset by CS, 24 Jul 2021
Holiday Rating:

Invigorating and fun walking holiday

We walked OnFoot's 7-night 'In the footsteps of Thomas Hardy' trail in Dorset at the start of July. Managed two days without rain, which was a bonus! The walks were beautiful - green rolling hills and flower-filled meadows - and the distances varied from day-to-day so even we geriatric 60+s could keep going. The accommodation was very well chosen, and we had some of the best food we've had on a holiday like this. The whole adventure was first rate...

We walked OnFoot's 7-night 'In the footsteps of Thomas Hardy' trail in Dorset at the start of July. Managed two days without rain, which was a bonus! The walks were beautiful - green rolling hills and flower-filled meadows - and the distances varied from day-to-day so even we geriatric 60+s could keep going. The accommodation was very well chosen, and we had some of the best food we've had on a holiday like this. The whole adventure was first rate.

Rating for tour operator:

Whoever you speak to or email at OnFoot they are always friendly, helpful and approachable. And if the person you speak to first hasn't walked a particular route, they quickly put you through to someone who has - so all advice and opinions are given from first hand experience. They are simply outstanding.

On Foot Holidays - Cornwall by Guilliamus5, 19 Jul 2021
Holiday Rating:

Lands End Circuit

Six day circular walk starting and finishing at St Ives via Lands End. On the coastal path. GLorious scenery and quirky but excellent accommodation with luggage waiting for us each day at destination. Superbly well organised and route planned. Eight of us walking so logistics with meals and accommodation all pre booked due to Covid restrictions. Thankfully nowhere had to cancel any of our bookings. Everything went like clockwork.

Six day circular walk starting and finishing at St Ives via Lands End. On the coastal path. GLorious scenery and quirky but excellent accommodation with luggage waiting for us each day at destination. Superbly well organised and route planned. Eight of us walking so logistics with meals and accommodation all pre booked due to Covid restrictions. Thankfully nowhere had to cancel any of our bookings. Everything went like clockwork.

Rating for tour operator:

All the OnFoot staff kept us informed of late changes, Covid issues, meal booking options, route changes. Nothing was a problem. Superb communication from start to finish. Makes the holiday so much easier.

On Foot Holidays - Portugal by VerySatisfied, 12 Jul 2021
Holiday Rating:

High quality support

A walking holiday in northern Portugal. The route was well planned, including varied topography and landscape. The hotel accommodation was of good quality. The support provided, in difficult times, both before and during the holiday itself, was of high quality. We were able to enjoy ourselves without worries.

A walking holiday in northern Portugal. The route was well planned, including varied topography and landscape. The hotel accommodation was of good quality. The support provided, in difficult times, both before and during the holiday itself, was of high quality. We were able to enjoy ourselves without worries.

Rating for tour operator:

On Foot Holidays provided a great deal of personalised support. Because they have a local contact they were able to advise us about how to organised covid tests in Porto before our return. In addition, they had passed on to hotel operators in advance the information that we are vegetarian. This was a high level of customer service.

On Foot Holidays - Portugal by Hollie, 6 Jul 2021
Holiday Rating:

A superb holiday walking in stunning scenery in a hidden corner of Portugal

We did a 7 day self guided walking holiday in northern Portugal Our luggage was transported to a new hotel every day. All the hotels we stayed in were small, family owned and very characterful. The walks were all very beautiful in stunning scenery and off the beaten track. We couldn’t have wished for more

We did a 7 day self guided walking holiday in northern Portugal Our luggage was transported to a new hotel every day. All the hotels we stayed in were small, family owned and very characterful. The walks were all very beautiful in stunning scenery and off the beaten track. We couldn’t have wished for more

Rating for tour operator:

On Foot holidays were superb from booking process to after we got back. We had booked when Portugal was on the green list when it changed to Amber we decided we would still go. On Foot were incredibly supportive and completely flexible in allowing us to change our minds at any point. We could phone with any number of questions and they were very happy to go out of their way to help. It was a very personal service. All the arrangements on holiday went very smoothly and we were given all the information we could need.

On Foot Holidays- Coastal Exmoor by Barbara , 3 Jul 2021
Holiday Rating:

Superb walking

We opted for a walking holiday in Devon and Somerset as travelling abroad was extremely difficult this year. We were very impressed by the variety of walking environments achievable within a five day period - cliff tops, woodland, riverbanks, moorland and pretty villages. The accommodation arranged for us was again interestingly varied and of an excellent standard, ranging from cheerful B&Bs to beautiful rambling old hotels. We have had several ...

We opted for a walking holiday in Devon and Somerset as travelling abroad was extremely difficult this year. We were very impressed by the variety of walking environments achievable within a five day period - cliff tops, woodland, riverbanks, moorland and pretty villages. The accommodation arranged for us was again interestingly varied and of an excellent standard, ranging from cheerful B&Bs to beautiful rambling old hotels. We have had several similar holidays both home and abroad and this definitely rated as one of the best. The glorious sunny weather obviously helped and was much appreciated!

Rating for tour operator:

On Foot is a brilliant company. There is a genuine feeling that they really care that we have a good holiday. Whether the destination is abroad or, in this case, at home, they cover everything that is necessary to make the holiday run as smoothly as possible. Because of the nature of the holiday, walking from place to place with different accommodation each night, there is a great deal to organise and co-ordinate. On Foot are excellent at keeping us informed during the planning process and consult us if any minor decisions have to be made. Emails are always swiftly responded to and telephone calls are extremely friendly and helpful.

On Foot Holidays - Dorset by Jackie , 2 Jul 2021
Holiday Rating:

Walking in Dorset with On Foot Holidays

We had a wonderful four days walking (self guided) in stages from Salisbury to Lyme Regis, with our suitcases taken from hotel to hotel. . The walks were really varied and largely off the beaten track. And through such rolling beautiful Dorset countryside, ranging from woods and meadows, to quaint thatched house villages to medieval churches and the dramatic South coast cliff path. We had some amazing food along the way. We were new to walking ...

We had a wonderful four days walking (self guided) in stages from Salisbury to Lyme Regis, with our suitcases taken from hotel to hotel. . The walks were really varied and largely off the beaten track. And through such rolling beautiful Dorset countryside, ranging from woods and meadows, to quaint thatched house villages to medieval churches and the dramatic South coast cliff path. We had some amazing food along the way. We were new to walking holidays and On Foot Holidays has hooked us.

Rating for tour operator:

On Foot Holidays had prepared everything -we had really detailed walking notes and maps, hotels and cabs were booked, train timetables provided and they gave us a wealth of information about the places and areas we were visiting. And practical information in advance. Restaurants were booked and recommended (finale at Mark Hix Oyster and Fish House) And all done with smiling enthusiasm and utter attention to detail. They made us feel relaxed and confident, nothing left to chance.

On Foot Holidays - Yorkshire by KennyK, 30 Jun 2021
Holiday Rating:

North Yorkshire Walking Adventure

This was a trip for 4 friends tired of lockdown but keen to maintain our fitness and friendship whilst walking in a different part of the country for a change.

This was a trip for 4 friends tired of lockdown but keen to maintain our fitness and friendship whilst walking in a different part of the country for a change.

Rating for tour operator:

On foot holidays provided the right advice, matched our walks to suit our needs and ability and then parcelled everything up to include transfers, overnight accommodation and a brilliant supportive paperwork as well as electronic package to help us on our way. Nothing was too much trouble for them and even when providers had to change our intended accommodation as a result of Covid and builders problems they were able to source suitable alternatives which turned out to be perfectly suitable.

On Foot - S Snowdonia break by KD, 26 Jun 2021
Holiday Rating:

A self guided walking holiday in Snowdonia.

3 days of first class walking in Snowdonia, accompanies by fantastic walking directions - map and route description. The guides are excellent and really provide great directions. Accommodation in a small hotel in Dolgellau was perfectly matched providing a very comfortable base for the holiday.

3 days of first class walking in Snowdonia, accompanies by fantastic walking directions - map and route description. The guides are excellent and really provide great directions. Accommodation in a small hotel in Dolgellau was perfectly matched providing a very comfortable base for the holiday.

Rating for tour operator:

On Foot provide a really personalised service and can’t do enough to help make all the arrangements smooth and easy. This is the second time we have used them and I wouldn’t hesitate to recommend them

On Foot Holidays - Cornwall by Will, 18 Jun 2021
Holiday Rating:

Cornish coast path

Very pleasant walk with baggage carried. Accommodation and meals were good and all the transfers were done without hitches. The support documents were excellent

Very pleasant walk with baggage carried. Accommodation and meals were good and all the transfers were done without hitches. The support documents were excellent

Rating for tour operator:

On Foot Holidays - communications were excellent and informative

On Foot Holidays - Cornwall by Ros, 17 Jun 2021
Holiday Rating:

Lovely coastal walking in the far west of England

The walking and scenery are spectacular on the South West Coastal Walk in Cornwall. There is plenty of cultural and historical interest also, with remains of tin-mining in Cornwall, Minack Theatre, fishing villages and much more. The stay in Field House in Pendeen was the highlight of our overnight accommodation. Viv, at Field House, could not have been more helpful and her dinner (and packed lunch and breakfast) was excellent.

The walking and scenery are spectacular on the South West Coastal Walk in Cornwall. There is plenty of cultural and historical interest also, with remains of tin-mining in Cornwall, Minack Theatre, fishing villages and much more. The stay in Field House in Pendeen was the highlight of our overnight accommodation. Viv, at Field House, could not have been more helpful and her dinner (and packed lunch and breakfast) was excellent.

Rating for tour operator:

This is our fourth trip with On Foot and they are a really great tour operator. Their pre-trip materials are very informative and there is plenty of support also during the holiday, with emergency phone number etc.