On Foot Holidays

Reviews of On Foot Holidays

Overall company rating
4 100%
Reviews submitted: 391
Reviews accepted: 391
Reviews rejected: 0
Excellent
387
Good
3
Average
0
Poor
1
Terrible
0

Awesome walk way about the tourist melee

By SueH on 15 Nov 2017

Rating for this holiday Excellent
Find more about On Foot Holidays - Amalfi Coast >

We travelled to the Amalfi Coast at the end of October 2017. We had perfect walking temperatures and sunny days. The walking is challenging due to the medieval stepped paths that rise up and up behind the Amalfi villages and then spread into quite wild, steep and rocky terrain. At the end of each day, we descended into the coastal tourist villages for dinner and a good night's sleep. Overall, a demanding and exhilarating hike.

Rating for tour operator Excellent

We have travelled with OnFoot holiday three times now and find their personalised service and interest excellent. If any issue arises they have local associates who are ready to fix things. They provide excellent notes and the logistics of moving luggage and hotel bookings is always efficient. They also choose interesting hotels/farms with welcoming hosts. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend their service.

Walking holiday in the Ligurian Hills in Italy

By ELA on 13 Nov 2017

Rating for this holiday Excellent
Find more about On Foot Holidays - Liguria >

We walked an old salt route down the Ligurian Hills to the sea at Camogli. We walked approx 20 km a day - our luggage was taken ahead and we stayed in quite simple hotels en route. Almost the entire walk was off the road and through stunning scenery.

Rating for tour operator Excellent

They gave us lots of information and good advise, both before the holiday and via information sheets that we took with us.

Lovely walk from Amalfi to Sorrento and on to Capri

By snbvt on 10 Nov 2017

Rating for this holiday Excellent
Find more about On Foot Holidays - Amalfi Coast >

Our On Foot Holiday walking tour was superb. The walks were beautiful, breathtaking actually. The maps and directions were thorough and complete. I loved how each day's direction packet showed elevation climbs and walking times, points of interest, and suggestions on where to purchase a picnic lunch at the beginning of the day or restaurants to stop at for lunch. I appreciated the alternate route to avoid a section of the walk that would bother someone with a fear of heights.
The hotels were great. Several had pools which was a great way to relax after a long day of walking. The breakfasts were wonderful. I was always impressed that our luggage was always in our room at the next hotel.
We added on a night in Capri and On Foot Holidays provided transportation information and maps and walking directions for several walks in Capri, which were delightful.
We're looking forward to our next On Foot walking holiday in Europe. The hard part will be deciding which one to choose.

Rating for tour operator Excellent

On Foot did an excellent job providing maps and directions for walking. They were accessible by email prior to our trip, always replying promptly with a helpful response. There was never a problem with our hotel reservations and our luggage was always waiting in our next hotel. I will definitely book another trip with On Foot Holidays.

Northern Provence with Onfoot Holidays

By Nan on 3 Nov 2017

Rating for this holiday Excellent
Find more about On Foot - Northern Provence >

We walked/hiked from Venasque in Northern Provence to Vaison la Romaine. Two days we did loop hikes out of venasque and Gigondas. these were on steeper, more challenging terrain. there is also an option to climb Mt. Ventoux. the scenery, paths and towns were lovely.

Rating for tour operator Excellent

we used Onfoot Holidays out of the UK. we had used them previously for a hike on the Rheinstieg. they have excellent routes which are generally easily followed from their directions, though we have found a GPS helpful at times. Their office answers questions quickly. Inns have generally been top rate. good booklet on history and geology of area, restaurant suggestions, sightseeing, etc. Very flexible with route planning in terms of days, difficulty, etc.

Care-free hiking

By grizgrl on 30 Oct 2017

Rating for this holiday Excellent
Find more about On Foot Holidays - Bohemia >

Beautiful surroundings, pleasant locals, great trail signage, lots of exercise followed by great food and a good sleep each night.

Rating for tour operator Excellent

Fast response on email, very reasonable prices, super-smooth arrangements, everything done as promised, local backup person was competent and very helpful.

Self Guided walking in Mallorca

By PK Harrogate on 28 Oct 2017

Rating for this holiday Excellent
Find more about On Foot Holidays - Mallorca >

We had an enjoyable week walking in the Tramuntana Mountains. There were interesting places to visit and the hotels selected provided comfortable accommodation. The weather was warm and sunny in the main and we found some good restaurants.

Rating for tour operator Excellent

This was our fifth holiday with this company and we found it to be up to their usual high standard. The holiday was well organised and they always ring us before we set off, to make sure all is well. They provided very comprehensive route notes and maps for the walking routes. The information package provided background knowledge on the places we visited and recommended restaurants.

Excellent - extremely well arranged holiday

By Sarah and Sue on 26 Oct 2017

Rating for this holiday Excellent
Find more about On Foot Holidays - Amalfi Coast >

We walked Amalfi to Sorrento with On Foot Holidays and had 6 great days of walking following the very accurate On Foot route guide and maps. The views were spectacular almost the whole way along the route, the terrain was varied with lots of steps, well trodden laid paths and some mountain walking on uneven ground however the climbs were very well rewarded as was the cold beer at the end of the walk after the down hill sections into the towns!
We would highly recommend this walking to any keen walker, the Path of the Gods was fantastic and busy but other routes just as good and very quiet.
Hotels were very good and clean,breakfast excellent. Good choice of restaurants for meals often recommended by On Foot in their 'Blue' book of recommendations.

Rating for tour operator Excellent

We walked Amalfi to Sorrento with On Foot Holidays, this was our first holiday with them after a recommendation from a colleague, On Foot arranged all our hotels, daily routes and generally gave us all other information that we needed to enjoy our holiday. The daily route information and maps were spot on and we never got at all lost. The hotels could not be faulted, very clean and breakfast had an ample selection to suit almost anyone. The 'Blue' book of information provided was packed with information and although we did not need it it was great to know we had local contact if we needed any further help. We had a great holiday and were very impressed with On Foot from when we first enquired to booking then before the holiday they answered any questions very promptly and gave good accurate information. I would highly recommend booking with them.

Beautiful walking in the sunshine with amazing views.

By Periwinkle on 26 Oct 2017

Rating for this holiday Excellent
Find more about On Foot Holidays - Alpes Mmes >

One week in October 17 walking the Alpes Maritimes. Weather was fantastic, sun every day but not too hot for walking. Routes were challenging but worth it for the views. Walking to a different village every day with your luggage being transported was luxury. The accomodation was charming with very friendly hosts.

Rating for tour operator Excellent

We have been with On Foot before and they never fail to disappoint - the area, the walks and the places to stay. Route instructions very detailed and accurate. We met a couple walking with Another Company who were very disappointed with the route they had been given, with rather a lot on the road. This is the fourth holiday with On Foot and they are always reliable.

Ancient paths and spectacular views

By Rambling Jan on 24 Oct 2017

Rating for this holiday Excellent
Find more about On Foot Holidays - Amalfi Coast >

Walking from Atrani, through Amalfi and along the coast to Sorrento was an exhilarating if sometimes challenging experience. Villages are built into almost sheer cliffs and the engineers of old constructed steps - hundreds of them - to ease the way up and down what would have been impossible inclines.
Our first couple of days was spent exploring the local villages before setting off westwards along the coast. Having by now built up some leg muscle, what steps we had to climb were much less of a trial and we were able to fully appreciate the breath-takingly deep ravines, dramatic cliffs, olive groves, high places and delightful villages through which we passed.
The distance walked in a day did not exceed 10 miles and on occasion we were able to reduce this, and avoid some climbs, by taking a bus part way. Our luggage was forwarded to our hotels so we needed to carry only day packs.
A couple of days tacked on at the end of the holiday meant we could explore Sorrento itself, visit Herculaneum and Vesuvius, and take a ferry across to Capri.
We went at the beginning of October so the temperature was a comfortable 23 degrees.

Rating for tour operator Excellent

Staff at On Foot Holidays have walked the routes they offer, and our Walkers Packs contained all the maps, comprehensive directions and all the information needed to ensure we had a good experience. They also provided .gpx files which could be imported into a smartphone satnav app, which was a useful additional backup. The routes and accommodation seem to be very well researched.
All emails and queries were dealt with promptly and efficiently, and new information passed on to us in good time.
A very friendly company to deal with.

Walking holiday on Greece islands

By Ms C C 17 on 20 Oct 2017

Rating for this holiday Excellent
Find more about On Foot - Naxos and Amorgos >

We spent 4 days in Naxos and 3 days in Amorgos on self guided walks provided by On Foot Holidays. We stayed in lovely hotels that were accessible to restaurants, stores, etc. The walks took us to beautiful places and we were able to have a good feel for the country, culture, people. WE took ferries from one island to the next, which were really a nice way to see the larger island geography. And the weather was excellent !

Rating for tour operator Excellent

They are terrific! They worked with me to get the best itinerary. They are very flexible and responsive. They provide very accurate directions and maps. They are very thorough and think through every detail, which makes everything work out perfectly. The hotels they select are very lovely- small, accessible and the hotel managers are very attentive and accommodating. They have good partners with Taxis and give a lot of information about taxis, buses, etc. The transfers are seamless.