AITO: The Association of Independent Tour Operators
On Foot Holidays

On Foot Holidays Traveller Reviews

Reviews of On Foot Holidays

Overall Company Rating
100%
Excellent 473
Good 5
Average 0
Poor 1
Terrible 0
Reviews Submitted: 479
Reviews Accepted: 479
Reviews Rejected: 0
479 reviews
Sort by:
On Foot Holidays - Tuscany by Westcoastcanada, 20 May 2019
Holiday Rating:

Thank you On Foot Holidays. Truly one of our best vacations ever!

Our seven day self-guided hike through Southern Tuscany was amazing. The route was extremely well planned and easy to follow. While the provided maps and GPS data were great, we Just used the detailed and often entertaining daily walking notes for trouble-free navigation. Generally easy walking with a few more challenging sections. Some alternate shortened options offered for those that might not be avid hikers.

Our seven day self-guided hike through Southern Tuscany was amazing. The route was extremely well planned and easy to follow. While the provided maps and GPS data were great, we Just used the detailed and often entertaining daily walking notes for trouble-free navigation. Generally easy walking with a few more challenging sections. Some alternate shortened options offered for those that might not be avid hikers.

Rating for tour operator:

On Foot Holidays provided an exceptional, hassle-free experience from start to finish. Great communication and execution. We never had cause to contact the local representative; however it was reassuring to know someone local was available to help out if required.

On Foot Holidays - Alpes Mmes by Cathy, 17 May 2019
Holiday Rating:

Alpes Maritimes

8 day walk in the Alpes Maritimes region in France. It's hard to put into words just how good it was. Magnificent scenery, challenging but achievable walking, beautiful medieval towns, comfortable accommodation with personable hosts. Added to all this, our luggage moved for us from one place to the next, a local contact who phoned to see that all was well early in the trip and who was easily contactable when we needed to speak to him. The ...

8 day walk in the Alpes Maritimes region in France. It's hard to put into words just how good it was. Magnificent scenery, challenging but achievable walking, beautiful medieval towns, comfortable accommodation with personable hosts. Added to all this, our luggage moved for us from one place to the next, a local contact who phoned to see that all was well early in the trip and who was easily contactable when we needed to speak to him. The walk was perhaps more challenging than we expected and we were very glad to have walking poles, particularly for the downhill stretches, and where there was loose scree underfoot.

Rating for tour operator:

On Foot Holidays has been a dream to book a holiday through. Their level of communication has been the best we've ever experienced - personal and detailed. The written walking directions were for the most part accurate, with the gpx file adding an extra layer of security. This was very welcome on long downhill stretches that looked more like a goat trail than a path and where no markers had been see for a while!

On Foot Holidays - Umbria by Andy, 13 May 2019
Holiday Rating:

Superb walking and food in the foothills of Umbria

A week of quiet, beautiful walking through villages, meadows, woods, hills and valleys with the knowledge that a lovely room, welcoming hosts and fantastic food awaits.

A week of quiet, beautiful walking through villages, meadows, woods, hills and valleys with the knowledge that a lovely room, welcoming hosts and fantastic food awaits.

Rating for tour operator:

Very helpful. Can't fault anything really. Everything went as planned and I knew they were only a phone call away if it hadn't.

On Foot Holidays - Lake Maggiore by BunduBasher, 10 May 2019
Holiday Rating:

Enjoyable walks, well organised and supported.

Six days walking around Lake Maggiore and Lake Orta, staying in a variety of hotels with our baggage transferred from one hotel to the next.

Six days walking around Lake Maggiore and Lake Orta, staying in a variety of hotels with our baggage transferred from one hotel to the next.

Rating for tour operator:

We were provided with excellent information and support.

Reviewer's images:
On Foot Holidays - Mallorca by Great hiking on GR221, 5 May 2019
Holiday Rating:

Fun hike on the GR221

We had a great hike on the GR221. Five days on the trail brought us a better understanding of Mallorca’s geography, geology, and economy.

We had a great hike on the GR221. Five days on the trail brought us a better understanding of Mallorca’s geography, geology, and economy.

Rating for tour operator:

On Foot did all the planning and gave great recommendations for distances, lodging, and what to bring. And everyone was gracious and helpful.

On Foot Holidays - Mallorca by Walker Louise, 2 May 2019
Holiday Rating:

On Foot Holidays Mallorca

Wonderful 5 day walking tour through the Serra de Tramuntana on Mallorca. Lovely villages, gorgeous wildflowers, sparkling sea, friendly hotels and good food. A wonderful adventure to share with my 25 year old daughter.

Wonderful 5 day walking tour through the Serra de Tramuntana on Mallorca. Lovely villages, gorgeous wildflowers, sparkling sea, friendly hotels and good food. A wonderful adventure to share with my 25 year old daughter.

Rating for tour operator:

This is my second holiday with On Foot Holidays. They are consistently exceptional in their communication and very helpful with every small detail. The routes are well described and materials provided are illuminating and relevant.

Reviewer's images:
On Foot - Lighthouse Way by Katie, 2 May 2019
Holiday Rating:

Long days, beautiful scenery, well organised

4days walking the lighthouse way. All the literature sent beforehand was extremely thorough and useful. Even included a map case which was essential for our one wet morning. I fact, the company had thought of everything! Accomodation was variable but still of good standard with two nights in a small village which was perfect.

4days walking the lighthouse way. All the literature sent beforehand was extremely thorough and useful. Even included a map case which was essential for our one wet morning. I fact, the company had thought of everything! Accomodation was variable but still of good standard with two nights in a small village which was perfect.

Rating for tour operator:

Very organised. Useful information. Provided a local person contact who supported us each night. Some of the tour operator had previously walked the route hence the perfectly described walking instructions.

On Foot Holidays - Mallorca by Alan C, 1 May 2019
Holiday Rating:

Mallorca - Great walks, accomodation and food - well organised by On Foot Holidays

Another great self-guided holiday arranged for us by On Foot Holidays. The walks were lovely and easy to follow, the accommodation was super and the places that we stayed had super restaurants. And the weather was great.

Another great self-guided holiday arranged for us by On Foot Holidays. The walks were lovely and easy to follow, the accommodation was super and the places that we stayed had super restaurants. And the weather was great.

Rating for tour operator:

They provide a broad range of self guided walking holidays in Europe. We have used them many times. There prices are reasonable - not cheap but good value, particularly compared to their better known competitors. Their staff really know the holidays and can give good advice and tailor them to our needs. Always pleasant and helpful. And where things have gone wrong (usually our fault) they always help to put things right. Just super to deal with.

On Foot Holidays - Dorset by Peter T, 26 Apr 2019
Holiday Rating:

A stunning walk through quiet and beautiful Dorset

We walked from Salisbury to Lyme Regis through lovely Spring countyside, wild garlic and bluebells lined the lanes and old drover’s routes we were direct along with easy to flooow maps and instructions, the choice of accommodation was great. The hotels were welcoming and dog friendly. The food and quality of accommodation was excellent.

We walked from Salisbury to Lyme Regis through lovely Spring countyside, wild garlic and bluebells lined the lanes and old drover’s routes we were direct along with easy to flooow maps and instructions, the choice of accommodation was great. The hotels were welcoming and dog friendly. The food and quality of accommodation was excellent.

Rating for tour operator:

On Foot provide excellent walking notes, GPS flies and notes on the sights and villages and towns on the route, they couldn’t have been more helpful in sorting out our walk and facilitating the trip with our dog.

On Foot Holidays - Priorat by Itchhiker, 25 Apr 2019
Holiday Rating:

5 Days of Hiking in the Catalonian Mountains from Montblanc to La Morera

After conference in Madrid, hopped on a plan to Barcelona, then train to Montblanc, and had 5 days of brilliant hiking from one beautiful overnight stop to another. All arrange per Onfootwalking, UK, so worked like clockwork. They transfer the luggage. Excellent notes and supplied GPS and a person to contact (ex-Brit) if emergency had occurred. Breathtaking scenery and restful solitude - passed less than half a dozen other walkers in 5 days ...

After conference in Madrid, hopped on a plan to Barcelona, then train to Montblanc, and had 5 days of brilliant hiking from one beautiful overnight stop to another. All arrange per Onfootwalking, UK, so worked like clockwork. They transfer the luggage. Excellent notes and supplied GPS and a person to contact (ex-Brit) if emergency had occurred. Breathtaking scenery and restful solitude - passed less than half a dozen other walkers in 5 days (other than at villages). Excellent historical notes, recommendation regarding places worth seeing, must try food and food outlets.

Rating for tour operator:

I have walked with their guidance in many countries in Europe and Wales (subsidiary). Warm, friendly, patient, knowledgeable and very reliable. Personal handing of each client, I suspect - certainly me and others I have "sent" to them. I would not go with anyone else, not because of loyalty, just because I could not want more than they regulary offer. Most of the agents one deal with have done the actual walks too. I am 63 and cannot do the Mount Everests any more, and I find their guidance regarding which trips and how best to tailor them to my comfort zone very helpful.