AITO: The Association of Independent Tour Operators
On Foot Holidays

On Foot Holidays Traveller Reviews

Reviews of On Foot Holidays

Overall Company Rating
100%
Excellent 623
Good 5
Average 0
Poor 1
Terrible 0
Reviews Submitted: 629
Reviews Accepted: 629
Reviews Rejected: 0
629 reviews
Sort by:
On Foot Holidays - Mallorca by Mrs A S 20, 14 Mar 2020
Holiday Rating:

Excellent

Mallorca is a great place to walk especially early in the seaon

Mallorca is a great place to walk especially early in the seaon

Rating for tour operator:

We have been with On Fòot for 17 years and have enjoyed all our holidays with them. The organisation works very well, the accomodation is always great and the walking areas excellent, in areas which are slightly off the beaten track.

On Foot Holidays - Andalucia by O'swinedup, 3 Dec 2019
Holiday Rating:

Andalucia Walking Tour

Working with On Foot Holidays, my family (myself, my wife, our 2 adult daughters and my son-in-law) hiked in the area of the Grazalema National Park in Andalucia, Spain.

Working with On Foot Holidays, my family (myself, my wife, our 2 adult daughters and my son-in-law) hiked in the area of the Grazalema National Park in Andalucia, Spain.

Rating for tour operator:

On Foot Holidays made all of the arrangements, including accommodations, walking directions, some of the meals, and some ground transportation. They were exceptionally well-organized and helpful, and a pleasure to deal with.

On Foot Holidays - Liguria by Mark, 2 Dec 2019
Holiday Rating:

Ligurian Hills Walk - Quiet Strolling Along the Salt Road

Hiking along the Via del Sale (Salt Road), I (61 years old male) traveled self-guided for 6 days from "Little Tuscany" to Camogli on the coast through vineyards, woods, and high ridges. My luggage was transported each day to the next inn and most food was provided, allowing me to focus on covering the miles and enjoying the sights. I only saw 2 people on the trail over the first 5 days. The experience at each inn was unique and I enjoyed them all...

Hiking along the Via del Sale (Salt Road), I (61 years old male) traveled self-guided for 6 days from "Little Tuscany" to Camogli on the coast through vineyards, woods, and high ridges. My luggage was transported each day to the next inn and most food was provided, allowing me to focus on covering the miles and enjoying the sights. I only saw 2 people on the trail over the first 5 days. The experience at each inn was unique and I enjoyed them all. Each day I was greeted by welcoming hosts and fed delicious food and regional wines. Two days in an upgraded room at Camogli on the coast was the perfect way to end the trip and allow it to soak in.

Rating for tour operator:

All communication regarding this holiday was made via email. On Foot Holidays staff promptly answered my questions and were very helpful and informative. Amazingly, each email was answered by a different person than the last one; however, they worked so well together that if you didn't look at the sender's names you'd think you were dealing with a single person. I was impressed. The printed materials and GPS tracks they provided got me to my destinations without incident. The materials also included interesting information about history, geology, and food of the region. A local support person was made available and it was nice knowing I had someone to call for help, if needed.

On Foot Holidays - Andros by JD Sneem, 1 Dec 2019
Holiday Rating:

A wonderful walking holiday in Greece

We had a fantastic five days of self-guided walking on the island of Andros. For a small island, it is quite varied and the walks showed the island at its best. Very friendly people everywhere we went, great accommodation and taxi service arranged by On Foot Holidays, good food, sunny days and perfect temperature for walking.

We had a fantastic five days of self-guided walking on the island of Andros. For a small island, it is quite varied and the walks showed the island at its best. Very friendly people everywhere we went, great accommodation and taxi service arranged by On Foot Holidays, good food, sunny days and perfect temperature for walking.

Rating for tour operator:

On Foot Holidays provided comprehensive information in the form of route maps and directions, and background reading on the history, flora and fauna of Andros. The accommodation was perfect, the taxi service they arranged for cross-island trips was always on time. Very happy to recommend On Foot to other walkers.

On Foot Holidays - Umbria by Kakwafalls, 27 Nov 2019
Holiday Rating:

This walk alternates "forest bathing" with walking through small Italian towns in their everyday splendour

This walking tour was magnificent. It is not on the beaten track and that is part of why it is magnificent. We walked up and down hills with views of beautiful precipices and valleys, mingled with white Chianina cows, saw old and famous sanctuaries, one visited by two popes, stayed in perfect medieval villages and wonderful Agriturismos, and were at all times supported well by the tour operator. The food was excellent and we were pleasantly ...

This walking tour was magnificent. It is not on the beaten track and that is part of why it is magnificent. We walked up and down hills with views of beautiful precipices and valleys, mingled with white Chianina cows, saw old and famous sanctuaries, one visited by two popes, stayed in perfect medieval villages and wonderful Agriturismos, and were at all times supported well by the tour operator. The food was excellent and we were pleasantly surprised that it is not just Tuscany and Piedmont that have first rate wine. The walking included quite a bit of up and down, which we liked. The people that we met are at least as wonderful as those that we have met throughout this beautiful country.

Rating for tour operator:

On Foot Holidays provided excellent support, including large scale, detailed maps, a separate map in a separate folder for each day's walk, which we liked, and a GPS track, which we really needed. Stephano was readily available by phone if we needed assistance at any time. The connections between accommodations and luggage transfer was seamless. We felt really appreciated and well taken care of. We have already recommended this tour to a number of friends that are also hikers.

On Foot Holidays - Liguria by Fred, 25 Nov 2019
Holiday Rating:

Ligurian Hills - walk

A walk that had historical relevance , visual beauty, the experience of the ruggedness & remoteness of the region, exposure to the land use & native flora & fauna All complemented by a well organized walking route that ensured good accommodation & meals of high standard regional cuisine

A walk that had historical relevance , visual beauty, the experience of the ruggedness & remoteness of the region, exposure to the land use & native flora & fauna All complemented by a well organized walking route that ensured good accommodation & meals of high standard regional cuisine

Rating for tour operator:

Professional Very responsive Very informative

On Foot - Naxos and Amorgos by Slinglow, 17 Nov 2019
Holiday Rating:

Greek Islands

We walked the Cycladic Islands of Naxos and Amorgos. This was slightly different to our previous (four) holidays with On Foot, in that rather than walking from one location to another we stayed at one place in each Island, choosing from a variety of different walks each day and returning to the hotel. As usual with On Foot, the routes are well laid out and the walking guides they provide are accurate and helpful.

We walked the Cycladic Islands of Naxos and Amorgos. This was slightly different to our previous (four) holidays with On Foot, in that rather than walking from one location to another we stayed at one place in each Island, choosing from a variety of different walks each day and returning to the hotel. As usual with On Foot, the routes are well laid out and the walking guides they provide are accurate and helpful.

Rating for tour operator:

This is the fifth holiday we have taken with this specialist European walking holiday company. They arrange self-guided walks in a number of European locations, providing detailed walking notes, maps and gps apps for you. You set out from the hotel in the morning with your rucksack for the day and your luggage is taken to the next location for you. They have local agents to assist you if you have any issues during the trip. On one occasion we have needed such assistance due to unusual weather conditions and we received excellent and prompt response. They are a nice, low pressure, laid back company; we now try to use them at least once a year and know we will be well served.

On Foot Holidays - Amalfi Coast by The Nicks, 14 Nov 2019
Holiday Rating:

Beautiful walks on the Amalfi coast

We spent 5 days walking around Amalfi and from Amalfi to Sorrento. We enjoyed spectacular scenery, friendly and comfortable hotels, made even better by the welcoming staff.

We spent 5 days walking around Amalfi and from Amalfi to Sorrento. We enjoyed spectacular scenery, friendly and comfortable hotels, made even better by the welcoming staff.

Rating for tour operator:

Very responsive and knowledgeable. Gave us excellent advice and put together a wonderful package. The walk guides were very thorough, detailed and well researched. The choice of hotels and recommendations for restaurants were all of the highest standard.

On Foot - Camino de Santiago by Ross, 12 Nov 2019
Holiday Rating:

Camino Primitivo - The Camino Primitivo to Santiago

We walked the Camino Primitivo from Oviedo to Santiago de Compostela. We had a great time. It was a great opportunity to really get to know this area of Spain. The opportunity to interact with local people, experience local foods and customs was priceless.

We walked the Camino Primitivo from Oviedo to Santiago de Compostela. We had a great time. It was a great opportunity to really get to know this area of Spain. The opportunity to interact with local people, experience local foods and customs was priceless.

Rating for tour operator:

On Foot Holidays was great. They provided us with everything we needed to be fully prepared for our walk. The combination of pre walk information and tools that we could use while on the walk were perfect. The local support was a great addition to the other resources. The local knowledge and experience was invaluable to our trip. We recommend On Foot Holidays without reservation.

On Foot - Lighthouse Way by Yongate, 12 Nov 2019
Holiday Rating:

The best ever

We walked along the Atlantic coast in Spain, the Camino de Morte!!? It was staggeringly beautiful, remote, unspoilt. There were 11 of us(all women, all in our ‘silver’years). We’ve walked all over together and the Lighthouse Way is definitely one of the best. The hotels were brilliant, better than we expected and the food, especially sea food , was staggeringly good, probably the freshest fish we’ve ever had. Finishing at Finisterre, the end ...

We walked along the Atlantic coast in Spain, the Camino de Morte!!? It was staggeringly beautiful, remote, unspoilt. There were 11 of us(all women, all in our ‘silver’years). We’ve walked all over together and the Lighthouse Way is definitely one of the best. The hotels were brilliant, better than we expected and the food, especially sea food , was staggeringly good, probably the freshest fish we’ve ever had. Finishing at Finisterre, the end of the world, was a high moment. We laughed, drank, ate, walked in the sun in fantastic scenery, what more can you ask for?

Rating for tour operator:

They help you plan, what is, a perfect holiday for you. Tailor made to comfort level. We like knowing they are there for back up if anything goes wrong. And it did, they sorted problems in minutes ( literally) . They are soooo friendly on the phone, I feel as though I know them. They’ve been to where we go, checking and looking at venues and routes. They KNOW their business which fills me with confidence. There is no comparison to other companies, they are the best.