AITO: The Association of Independent Tour Operators
On Foot Holidays

On Foot Holidays Traveller Reviews

Reviews of On Foot Holidays

Overall Company Rating
100%
Excellent 635
Good 5
Average 0
Poor 1
Terrible 0
Reviews Submitted: 641
Reviews Accepted: 641
Reviews Rejected: 0
641 reviews
Sort by:
On Foot Holidays - Devon by Susan, 21 Nov 2020
Holiday Rating:

Wonderful..... if you enjoy a double holiday, walking and sightseeing this is for you

Walking holiday with spectacular views from Exter across Dartmoor, along the Dart to Dartmouth interspersed with more treats, eg wine tasting at Sharpham & visiting Agatha Christies NT home. Stayed at some great quintessential English pubs, with log fires and great ale, cider, wine, and food.

Walking holiday with spectacular views from Exter across Dartmoor, along the Dart to Dartmouth interspersed with more treats, eg wine tasting at Sharpham & visiting Agatha Christies NT home. Stayed at some great quintessential English pubs, with log fires and great ale, cider, wine, and food.

Rating for tour operator:

Nothing is too much, a very tailored personal service. They all know who you are and work incredibly hard to make sure everything is perfect. If anything doesn't quite go to plan, on hand to sort out with a smile.

On Foot Holidays - Liguria by Gasman, 27 Oct 2020
Holiday Rating:

Liguria Hills

Excellent walking holiday

Excellent walking holiday

Rating for tour operator:

Excellent organisation and communication

On Foot Holidays - Salisbury by Helen, 27 Oct 2020
Holiday Rating:

Lovely Autumn walks around Salisbury

We arrived before lunch on Friday and had a pub lunch and explored Salisbury. Saturday we did the Epic Salisbury Circuit and had lunch in the Black Horse. Sunday we did Combe Bisset Circuit after going to Matins in the cathedral, so we were pushing it a bit. Lovely autumn colours and good weather and a great way to see the countryside. Sunday we said goodbye to our lovely host and visited Stonehenge on our way home. A very enjoyable ...

We arrived before lunch on Friday and had a pub lunch and explored Salisbury. Saturday we did the Epic Salisbury Circuit and had lunch in the Black Horse. Sunday we did Combe Bisset Circuit after going to Matins in the cathedral, so we were pushing it a bit. Lovely autumn colours and good weather and a great way to see the countryside. Sunday we said goodbye to our lovely host and visited Stonehenge on our way home. A very enjoyable break for all of us.

Rating for tour operator:

Very helpful. Plenty of choices of walks with lots of information.

On Foot Holidays - Amalfi Coast by Janie64, 26 Oct 2020
Holiday Rating:

A miracle of patience and determination

We booked our holiday walking in Italy pre-COVID for October 2020. In the following months our flight out was cancelled and rebooked with another operator, 4 out of 5 hotels decided to close early and at the 11th hour we needed pre-arrival negative COVID tests (at our cost) or to self isolate after arrival pending test results from Naples airport tests. At 8.30pm on the night before we flew our tests came in (both negative) so we could fly the ...

We booked our holiday walking in Italy pre-COVID for October 2020. In the following months our flight out was cancelled and rebooked with another operator, 4 out of 5 hotels decided to close early and at the 11th hour we needed pre-arrival negative COVID tests (at our cost) or to self isolate after arrival pending test results from Naples airport tests. At 8.30pm on the night before we flew our tests came in (both negative) so we could fly the next morning. We had a fabulous 6 days self guided walking along the Amalfi coast, the walks were all beautiful, walking through and out of the towns up the hills above the coast line and descending to lovely picturesque towns each afternoon. Amalfi-Praiano-Positano-Sant' Agata-Sorrento. A breath of fresh air after working from home and COVID restrictions for 6 months. We were so please we we able to go and complete the walking in such a lovely part of the world. Sad to have to fly home a day early to avoid self isolating for two weeks due to Italy being removed from the UK travel corridor but I wouldn't have changed a thing- perfect.

Rating for tour operator:

Mary in the On Foot Holidays Office has been a force of patience and persistence - she never gave up booking and rebooking our hotels, keeping us informed of changes in travel policy to Italy and living the last minute COVID test journey with us. She checked we had arrived OK and shared our elation that EVENTUALLY we got to walk the Amalfi Coast. This is my second walk with On Foot holidays - the pack provided gives you total confidence on each days walks with maps, written instructions, any required public transport timetables and a very easy to use in phone gps. You have the confidence of a local contact and your bags are moved to the next destination ahead of arrival, no delays. The routes are well thought out to show variety and get off the beaten track. I'm very hooked on these type of holidays, the overnight accommodation is varied in standard but is always charming with very welcoming hosts. I would have no hesitation recommending the firm to any of my friends or even strangers!

On Foot Holidays - Salisbury by Gazelle , 15 Oct 2020
Holiday Rating:

Beautiful historic Salisbury and environs

Well organised from start to finish, as always.. Excellent instructions from very friendly crew pointing out things of interest en route. Good variety of terrain and walks to choose from. Great choice of B&B plus welcoming hostess.

Well organised from start to finish, as always.. Excellent instructions from very friendly crew pointing out things of interest en route. Good variety of terrain and walks to choose from. Great choice of B&B plus welcoming hostess.

Rating for tour operator:

My 11th holiday with them. I think that says it all. They’re a very friendly crowd and always on hand to answer any query with a cheery smile. All nice and relaxed, but very much on the ball.

On Foot Holidays - Umbria by AR092020, 9 Oct 2020
Holiday Rating:

Umbria walking holiday

A wonderful week walking through a quiet corner of Umbria. Brambles, cowbells, wine and hilltop villages.

A wonderful week walking through a quiet corner of Umbria. Brambles, cowbells, wine and hilltop villages.

Rating for tour operator:

In our experience On Foot are always friendly and professional, with superb attention to detail. They manage to be efficient while at the same time offering an wonderfully personalised experience.

On Foot Holidays - Salisbury by Gumnutgal, 7 Oct 2020
Holiday Rating:

Walking delights in the environs of Salisbury

Five fantastic walking days with wonderful unspoilt countryside around Salisbury made all the more enjoyable by following detailed instructions from On Foot. My first holiday with them and I can’t wait to go with them again as they are such lovely people. Great B&B with the terrific Suzanne at Wyndham Park Lodge. All in all a fun time.

Five fantastic walking days with wonderful unspoilt countryside around Salisbury made all the more enjoyable by following detailed instructions from On Foot. My first holiday with them and I can’t wait to go with them again as they are such lovely people. Great B&B with the terrific Suzanne at Wyndham Park Lodge. All in all a fun time.

Rating for tour operator:

On Foot are based in Salisbury and are walking fanatics. Detailed instructions about the walks, general area including places to eat are all sent well in advance and the attention to detail is second to none. Heartily recommend them to any keen walker as they just want their clients to have a good holiday

On Foot Holidays - Devon by Mountain Goat, 7 Oct 2020
Holiday Rating:

Walking in Devon through gorgeous countryside and quaint villages

Walking from just south of Exeter to the coast at Dartmouth we were able to enjoy the English countryside at its very best. Each day was different; we walked alongside meandering rivers, strode out over Dartmoor, wandered down leafy green lanes and through picturesque villages and historic towns. At the end of each day a comfortable bed and much earned dinner was waiting for us.

Walking from just south of Exeter to the coast at Dartmouth we were able to enjoy the English countryside at its very best. Each day was different; we walked alongside meandering rivers, strode out over Dartmoor, wandered down leafy green lanes and through picturesque villages and historic towns. At the end of each day a comfortable bed and much earned dinner was waiting for us.

Rating for tour operator:

On Foot provided us with excellent service throughout. From our dealings with the office when booking through to the walking notes and the organisation of things like our baggage transfers they excelled.

On Foot Holidays - Yorkshire by Sue, 2 Oct 2020
Holiday Rating:

Yorkshire dales

Walking holiday in the Yorkshire Dales. 5 days walking along a route from Ripon to Austwick, and then 1 day loop around Austwick. Lovely scenery and we were made very welcome at all the places we stayed.

Walking holiday in the Yorkshire Dales. 5 days walking along a route from Ripon to Austwick, and then 1 day loop around Austwick. Lovely scenery and we were made very welcome at all the places we stayed.

Rating for tour operator:

On Foot Holidays. Second time we have been with them.. Excellent organisation and information. Friendly and approachable.

On Foot Holidays - Dorset by happy hikers , 27 Jul 2020
Holiday Rating:

fantastic walk through Dorset

we had a fabulous time. the organisers (onfoot holidays) are really helpful and nothing is too much trouble. the walk itself was exhausting and exhilarating ! midst beautiful unspoilt Dorest countryside, finishing with all the glories of the coastal walk along cliff route to Lyme Regis. The walks are dubbed "easy/ medium / difficult" according to their grade. usually the first 3 hours was easy, the next 2 medium and the last one or two very ...

we had a fabulous time. the organisers (onfoot holidays) are really helpful and nothing is too much trouble. the walk itself was exhausting and exhilarating ! midst beautiful unspoilt Dorest countryside, finishing with all the glories of the coastal walk along cliff route to Lyme Regis. The walks are dubbed "easy/ medium / difficult" according to their grade. usually the first 3 hours was easy, the next 2 medium and the last one or two very difficult - but great excercise ! and great fun

Rating for tour operator:

nothing was too much trouble. we had a burst tyre on our journey so were 3 hours delayed - but somebody waited for us - then we discovered we had forgotten the holiday notes - complete with directions and details of all the bookings ! again - more printed off for us without fuss. very helpful and great walks