AITO: The Association of Independent Tour Operators
On Foot Holidays

On Foot Holidays Traveller Reviews

Reviews of On Foot Holidays

Overall Company Rating
100%
Excellent 538
Good 5
Average 0
Poor 1
Terrible 0
Reviews Submitted: 544
Reviews Accepted: 544
Reviews Rejected: 0
544 reviews
Sort by:
On Foot - Lighthouse Way by SMS, 16 Sep 2019
Holiday Rating:

Beautiful walk, empty beaches, cozy B&B, best seafood

A fantastic walk/trip! Stunning views with no crowd, one empty beache after another, cozy B&B/hotels, best seafood of my life.

A fantastic walk/trip! Stunning views with no crowd, one empty beache after another, cozy B&B/hotels, best seafood of my life.

Rating for tour operator:

We walked the Camino de Faro organized by On Foot Holiday. Our trip was well planned and thoughtful organized by OnFoot, we had very good local support and cozy accommodations. We met many warm & kind local B&B hosts. OnFoot also provided us with a detailed packet included information of cultural, history and local wildlife/flora & fauna, so informative.

On Foot Holidays - Amalfi Coast by Rusty Bird, 16 Sep 2019
Holiday Rating:

Walking the Amalfi coast

12 days of pure bliss.

12 days of pure bliss.

Rating for tour operator:

Excellent information, very well presented. Everything we needed and they answered all our queries. They went the extra mile to make sure all our needs were met.

On Foot Holidays - Greece/Vikos by Webbie, 11 Sep 2019
Holiday Rating:

Spectacularly stunning scenery and welcome in Zagoria

We travelled via Corfu to Zagoria in Northern Greece so that we could visit the Vikos Gorge. I had first seen this stunning area on a television programme and then found a lonely planet account of a walk there. The account was exactly what we wanted to do and luckily the small print told us that it was organised through ‘On foot holidays.’ We were pleased to find that ‘on foot’ still ran a trip that covered the majority of what we wanted. ‘On ...

We travelled via Corfu to Zagoria in Northern Greece so that we could visit the Vikos Gorge. I had first seen this stunning area on a television programme and then found a lonely planet account of a walk there. The account was exactly what we wanted to do and luckily the small print told us that it was organised through ‘On foot holidays.’ We were pleased to find that ‘on foot’ still ran a trip that covered the majority of what we wanted. ‘On foot’ were brilliant with the planning and we soon found ourselves staying in Kapesovo in a fantastic guest house where we treated so pleasantly whilst also being able to sample amazing cooking. We did a circuit walk from Kapesovo to take a look down into the breathtaking Vikos Gorge-we did wonder how we would ever climb in or out of this dramatic place. We left Kapesovo and walked the ‘on foot’ route to Monodendri seeing our first of many wandering tortoise. Again the walk was amazing and the route was easy to follow. There was more stunningly spectacular scenery to absorb along the way as well isolated small churches and shrines to appreciate. The night spent in Monodendri was enjoyable and gave us our first visit to a beautiful monastery. The next day gave us our descent into the gorge and it was not as difficult as one would have imagined. Our walk here was everything we had hoped for and more-it was a truly memorable experience. However it was in the gorge that we had our first thunderstorm but nothing could dampen our spirits and it was fairly short lived. We had hoped to see a brown bear but only managed to see evidence that they were not too far away! The climb out of the gorge was also a lot less of a challenge than we’d thought. Our stay now was in Papingo and what a wonderful place this was to stay and we were so glad that we’d booked an extra night here. We abandoned our walk to Dragon Lake as advised by our hotel owner due to the intense heat and lack of shade. Instead we followed an ‘on foot’ alternative shorter walk that didn’t disappoint. Then a further day here was spent walking along the banks of the Voidomatis River. This brought the part of our holiday organised by ‘on foot’ to an end. We travelled on to Meteora.

Rating for tour operator:

On foot holidays were excellent in every way and totally enabled us to successfully visit and enjoy this walk and the whole area. The communication and paperwork, maps etc before we left was good and gave us confidence. What really shone for us was the places that they had booked for us to stay en route-these guest houses and hotels felt real and authentic. The welcome we received at each was so generous and the levels of comfort and accommodation were exceptional. Our bags were transported for us and were always awaiting us at the next stop. The maps and route descriptors were clear and concise. However we felt that the temperatures we were walking in ( high 30’s ) needed longer expected walking times.

On Foot Holidays - Catalonia by Mae , 10 Sep 2019
Holiday Rating:

A walk that you can't miss

It is fantastic ! Overall, it is a self-guided walk that I was given sufficient information to walk through all the ways to Pyrenean foothills. Besides, with the Motion X-GPS, I won't feel disoriented even though there is no one around for guidance. The people are friendlier mainly because the route we had chosen is less touristy and , hence, less crowded and had better services.

It is fantastic ! Overall, it is a self-guided walk that I was given sufficient information to walk through all the ways to Pyrenean foothills. Besides, with the Motion X-GPS, I won't feel disoriented even though there is no one around for guidance. The people are friendlier mainly because the route we had chosen is less touristy and , hence, less crowded and had better services.

Rating for tour operator:

They are prompt in action and always give timely advice. Thank you.

Reviewer's images:
On Foot Holidays - Slovenia by The Coombies, 8 Sep 2019
Holiday Rating:

In the footsteps of pilgrims

We are a family of six who enjoy hiking and relished the opportunity to walk through a national border and down to the Med. We had several days of exploring, chatting and laughing without the distractions of mobile phones and the evening accommodation and food was comfortable and delicious. We discovered we walked part of the Camino - only 2,840 Kms to Santiago!

We are a family of six who enjoy hiking and relished the opportunity to walk through a national border and down to the Med. We had several days of exploring, chatting and laughing without the distractions of mobile phones and the evening accommodation and food was comfortable and delicious. We discovered we walked part of the Camino - only 2,840 Kms to Santiago!

Rating for tour operator:

On Foot couldn't have done a better job from the pre-trip package of information, the excellent on-line map, the precision description of the walks and the quality of the accommodation. Everyone we dealt with were friendly, efficient and a pleasure to deal with.

On Foot Holidays - Slovenia by Mother and Daughter holiday trip, 7 Sep 2019
Holiday Rating:

Great way to see the countryside

We enjoyed seeing the Karst landscape and all its variations on foot. The scenery changes from rolling hills, vineyards, small villages, meadows, limestone flats and mountain tops made the walk each day visually wonderful together with just the right amount of physical challenge for both a 30 year old and 60 year old walking together. The accommodation choices and their hosts and food were also a highlight of the trip. The tour also allowed ...

We enjoyed seeing the Karst landscape and all its variations on foot. The scenery changes from rolling hills, vineyards, small villages, meadows, limestone flats and mountain tops made the walk each day visually wonderful together with just the right amount of physical challenge for both a 30 year old and 60 year old walking together. The accommodation choices and their hosts and food were also a highlight of the trip. The tour also allowed for visits to castles, churches, caves and Lippizaner horses if you wanted so allowed for variety and covered both my daughter's interests (wildlife, hiking) and mine (castles, churches).

Rating for tour operator:

The staff could not have been more helpful. They were quick in their responses to any questions and even whilst on the tour dealt with a query I had very efficiently. The walker's pack was incredibly useful and the information provided relevant. We also thought the tour was very good value for money and the ability to extend the holiday either end of the tour with their help was much appreciated.

On Foot Holidays - Andros by Awesome Andros, 2 Sep 2019
Holiday Rating:

A hiker's perfection on Andros

My husband and I had a week on the island of Andros in July. Our first hiking holiday in Greece. Travelling from Athens airport on the coach to the ferry, taxi from the ferry to our accommodation was seamless. Andros is a wonderful location for lovers of walking. It is a beautiful island with a cooling sea breeze, well marked tracks and interesting views across the island or towards the sea. Handy to take a swimming costume as some of the ...

My husband and I had a week on the island of Andros in July. Our first hiking holiday in Greece. Travelling from Athens airport on the coach to the ferry, taxi from the ferry to our accommodation was seamless. Andros is a wonderful location for lovers of walking. It is a beautiful island with a cooling sea breeze, well marked tracks and interesting views across the island or towards the sea. Handy to take a swimming costume as some of the walks include a beach. The accommodation was very comfortable, delicious breakfasts (the omelette was outstanding), friendly staff. Much recommended.

Rating for tour operator:

On Foot Holidays have organised our walking holidays now three times and each time we have had a perfect holiday. From the initial contact to the return home, all has been faultless. The descriptions of the walks and accommodation have been accurate, any changes to transport times have been communicated immediately. As all the walks have been experienced by many of the staff, it is possible to go into detail confirming all the information. The staff are EXTREMELY friendly and effortlessly professional. I have recommended On Foot Holidays on many occasions.

On Foot Holidays - Devon by Jim, 25 Aug 2019
Holiday Rating:

Wonderful Walking holiday in Devon

We arranged a seven night tour of the Tale of Two Rivers walk with On Foot Holidays in August. Very good communication from On Foot prior to the walk, and the walking directions as well as the other information in the Walker’s pack were very detailed and helpful. The walk itself was splendid; gorgeous scenery of south Devon, from the wooded Teign valley to the more stark hills of Dartmoor and the rolling hills and pastures of the South Hams...

We arranged a seven night tour of the Tale of Two Rivers walk with On Foot Holidays in August. Very good communication from On Foot prior to the walk, and the walking directions as well as the other information in the Walker’s pack were very detailed and helpful. The walk itself was splendid; gorgeous scenery of south Devon, from the wooded Teign valley to the more stark hills of Dartmoor and the rolling hills and pastures of the South Hams. We all thoroughly enjoyed the walks, which were fairly tough but not strenuous. Accommodation was also good, with cozy rooms and hearty pub fare for dinner each night. Overall a wonderful experience.

Rating for tour operator:

On Foot Holidays was very communicative up to the Hike and provided clear and concise directions, and were also helpful in arranging dinner reservations and other logistical necessities.

On Foot Holidays - Dolomites by Pam & George, 16 Aug 2019
Holiday Rating:

So wonderful, we are already planning next year's trek!

We can only describe the scenery in the Dolomites as other-worldly. The towns are picturesque, the accommodations were better than anticipated, and the people were most friendly. Out of a 16 day vacation in Italy, our 6 days in the Dolomites were the highlight by far. OnFoot planned a wonderful trek for us and were so prompt and thorough with information and communication. We are already planning next year's hiking adventure!

We can only describe the scenery in the Dolomites as other-worldly. The towns are picturesque, the accommodations were better than anticipated, and the people were most friendly. Out of a 16 day vacation in Italy, our 6 days in the Dolomites were the highlight by far. OnFoot planned a wonderful trek for us and were so prompt and thorough with information and communication. We are already planning next year's hiking adventure!

Rating for tour operator:

Every person we dealt with was friendly, professional, kind, knowledgeable. Being in California (9 hour time difference), it was always fun to wake up to an email from OnFoot. We felt treated as if we were their only client. We recommend OnFoot without reservation.

On Foot Holidays - Dolomites by Charlie, 8 Aug 2019
Holiday Rating:

Fabulous self guided walking holiday

seven days of self guided hiking with accomodation and luggage transfers pre-arranged

seven days of self guided hiking with accomodation and luggage transfers pre-arranged

Rating for tour operator:

On Foot are an excellent company, this is the fourth time I have travelled with them. Always found them to be well organised, great communicators and with impeccable, proactive customer service.