AITO: The Association of Independent Tour Operators
On Foot Holidays

On Foot Holidays Traveller Reviews

Reviews of On Foot Holidays

Overall Company Rating
100%
Excellent 721
Good 5
Average 0
Poor 1
Terrible 0
Reviews Submitted: 727
Reviews Accepted: 727
Reviews Rejected: 0
727 reviews
Sort by:
On Foot - Naxos and Amorgos by Jan M, 18 May 2022
Holiday Rating:

Great walking holiday in Naxos and Amorgos

We did 5 days walking at the end of April/start of May when the smell of orange blossom was everywhere and the flowers along the paths were wonderful. The sea was a beautiful blue and the weather was just right for walking. The people we met were extremely welcoming and we would highly recommend both the hotels we stayed in.

We did 5 days walking at the end of April/start of May when the smell of orange blossom was everywhere and the flowers along the paths were wonderful. The sea was a beautiful blue and the weather was just right for walking. The people we met were extremely welcoming and we would highly recommend both the hotels we stayed in.

Rating for tour operator:

They were very helpful throughout our prolonged booking for this holiday, that originally was made pre-Covid. Their walking notes and hotel choices are very good - I think this is our 4th holiday through On Foot and we have always been impressed by them.

On Foot Holidays - Amalfi Coast by John and Ann, 17 May 2022
Holiday Rating:

We walked the "guided route" from Amalfi to Sorrento

We had an excellent week walking from Amalfi to Sorrento. The "On foot" guide was very reliable and their little blue book with restaurant recommendations was really helpful. The chosen hotels were comfortable and interesting

We had an excellent week walking from Amalfi to Sorrento. The "On foot" guide was very reliable and their little blue book with restaurant recommendations was really helpful. The chosen hotels were comfortable and interesting

Rating for tour operator:

We have not been with On-foot -holidays before, but we would definitely go again. The booking was easy, they helped us to plan a tailored itinerary that worked very well for us and we felt supported throughout the trip. The scenery was stunning.

On Foot Holidays - Lake Maggiore by . JennyB, 16 May 2022
Holiday Rating:

The magic solitude of the ‘quieter’ Italian Lakes: From Lake Maggiore to Lake Orta, and the beauty along the way…

Over the last few decades, we have traveled with a variety of tour groups. Once we discovered On Foot Holidays, we knew we had discovered the perfect organization for us! This recent adventure took us from the solitude of Fisherman’s Island on Lake Maggiore to the summit of the Piedmont Alps and finally to the sublime setting of Orta San Giulio. Our accommodations were unique; from a warm and welcoming agriturismo, to a villa with a Michelin star...

Over the last few decades, we have traveled with a variety of tour groups. Once we discovered On Foot Holidays, we knew we had discovered the perfect organization for us! This recent adventure took us from the solitude of Fisherman’s Island on Lake Maggiore to the summit of the Piedmont Alps and finally to the sublime setting of Orta San Giulio. Our accommodations were unique; from a warm and welcoming agriturismo, to a villa with a Michelin star. We were met at each property with a warm smile and genuine interest in our satisfaction. Their relationships with the property owners and local contacts clearly ensure that we are in the best of hands along our journey. We are hooked.

Rating for tour operator:

On Foot Holidays is a responsive, professional organization with customer satisfaction their priority. We highly recommend them to anyone interested in this type of independent, but lovingly supported travel!

On Foot - Naxos and Amorgos by Mr S R 22, 16 May 2022
Holiday Rating:

Walking in the Cyclades

A walking holiday in Naxos and Amorgos.

A walking holiday in Naxos and Amorgos.

Rating for tour operator:

Organised accommodation, walking routes with notes, maps and gps files

On Foot Holidays - Bohemia by Speedygonzales, 13 May 2022
Holiday Rating:

Enjoyable walking in the Rock Towns

Five days walking in the Rock Towns through pleasant countryside and forests. Finished off with extra nights with the delight of exploring Prague.

Five days walking in the Rock Towns through pleasant countryside and forests. Finished off with extra nights with the delight of exploring Prague.

Rating for tour operator:

OnFoot Holidays provides excellent guidance and information before set out. Security of contact person was reassuring throughout. Great organisation.

On Foot Holidays - Dorset by Steve the walker, 11 May 2022
Holiday Rating:

A perfectly planned walk in quiet countryside

A 70 mile, six day walk across rural Dorset, using minor public footpaths throughout and staying in quality pub / B&B accommodation en route. All aspects of the holiday were meticulously organised by On Foot Holidays, with nothing whatsoever going wrong. The route was broadly from the NE to SW corners of Dorset & rural throughout. The route was set to enable us to visit all the cultural sites in the locality of the walk, increasing the interest ...

A 70 mile, six day walk across rural Dorset, using minor public footpaths throughout and staying in quality pub / B&B accommodation en route. All aspects of the holiday were meticulously organised by On Foot Holidays, with nothing whatsoever going wrong. The route was broadly from the NE to SW corners of Dorset & rural throughout. The route was set to enable us to visit all the cultural sites in the locality of the walk, increasing the interest and diversity. We also encountered numerous references to Thomas Hardy, reflected in the walk title ‘In the Footsteps of Thomas Hardy’.

Rating for tour operator:

My wife & I are regular walkers of long distance paths. When we walk on major routes (eg South West Coast Path) we arrange everything ourselves. On this occasion, we wanted to walk in unknown (for us) rural Dorset., so decided it would be better to enlist the help of a tour operator. We couldn’t have found one better than On Foot Holidays. Accommodation, luggage transfer, route maps & directions were all excellent. Even better was the walk route. There is no way a stranger to the area could have devised such a complex and interesting walk themselves. It was over relatively minor public footpaths, many of which were unsigned. A real testament to the effort put in by On Foot.

On Foot - Lighthouse Way by Angie, 11 May 2022
Holiday Rating:

Stunning Coastal Route with Great Accommodation

I returned a couple of weeks ago from a perfect holiday walking the Camino dos Faros. This was one of the best holidays I can recall. Everything went according to plan: the accommodation was excellent and varied; the walking superb throughout. Aznar was the perfect contact, helping me with options of restaurants that could cater for my demanding diet, among other offers of help and advice.. I am vegetarian out of choice, but have to avoid gluten, ...

I returned a couple of weeks ago from a perfect holiday walking the Camino dos Faros. This was one of the best holidays I can recall. Everything went according to plan: the accommodation was excellent and varied; the walking superb throughout. Aznar was the perfect contact, helping me with options of restaurants that could cater for my demanding diet, among other offers of help and advice.. I am vegetarian out of choice, but have to avoid gluten, this combination placing extra demands in an area not frequented by overseas tourists. I can't tell you how therapeutic this route proved to be. I had booked the holiday about two and a half years earlier, and of course, it had to be postponed. The views were superb, with the sound of the sea almost always close at hand. However, the route also involved crossing areas of huge sand dunes and following lengthy river inlets, with local birdlife prolific. Certain species such as the Kentish plover are offered nesting protection. There was also a great variety of wild flowers throughout the route. I came across very few people en route. On Foot Holidays offered short cuts if necessary, with taxi journeys always offered, as some of the days' walking were lengthy. I personally didn't use these alternatives, as I was keen to walk all day every day! This company is thorough, with nothing omitted. I can only urge others to go on their walking holidays. I personally had a few days after the holiday in Santiago de Compostela and then a couple of days in Vigo in order to take a day trip to the Cies Islands. I loved this group of islands, a nature reserve part of the Atlantic Islands National Park, with four well signed hiking trails. Vigo is a vibrant and beautiful city, and of course, Santiago's sights are already well known as the culmination for a number of the Camino routes. I found the sheer numbers a little overwhelming after the relative isolation of the Camino dos Faros, and preferred Vigo in many ways. Thank you On Foot Holidays.

Rating for tour operator:

On Foot Holidays omitted nothing from the itinerary. They offered information about travel to the start and end points of the route. The notes accompanying the actual route were thorough, facilitating ease of route finding. Accommodation was varied and always comfortable, with my diet always catered for (not always easy). Aznar, the contact, offered valuable information and often arranged a suitable restaurant for the evening that could cater for me. I will definitely seek out their holidays again. There were alternatives available for those not wishing to do the whole route every day, although I always wanted to complete the full itinerary on offer.

On Foot Holidays - The Rhine by Blue in SF, 11 May 2022
Holiday Rating:

Castles of the Rhine Walking Tour with On Foot Holidays

Unbelievably well organized and so thrilling to explore this world heritage site -- the sparkling Rhine river, steep vineyards, flat areas on top with well-sited gazebos, challenging downhills past more castles and lush forests -- friendly people and hikers to meet on the trail -- On Foot, as usual, planned each and every step for us to perfection. Hiking is hard but knowing you will be at an exquisite hotel or inn with a fresh, delicious dinner ...

Unbelievably well organized and so thrilling to explore this world heritage site -- the sparkling Rhine river, steep vineyards, flat areas on top with well-sited gazebos, challenging downhills past more castles and lush forests -- friendly people and hikers to meet on the trail -- On Foot, as usual, planned each and every step for us to perfection. Hiking is hard but knowing you will be at an exquisite hotel or inn with a fresh, delicious dinner or breakfast in each place...Could not have been more perfect!

Rating for tour operator:

They are nice people who actually walk their own routes and value the history, culture and terrain of each place where they plan a route. This is my 4th trip with them and I could not recommend them more highly. Very thorough, kind, understanding people -- I always know I am in good hands with them!

On Foot Holidays - Andalucia by Andie, 9 May 2022
Holiday Rating:

A really memorable holiday

We enjoyed the walks in Andalucia so much and everything was so incredibly well organised that the stress of travelling and route finding was completely removed.

We enjoyed the walks in Andalucia so much and everything was so incredibly well organised that the stress of travelling and route finding was completely removed.

Rating for tour operator:

On foot holidays

On Foot Holidays - Tuscany by Xan, 9 May 2022
Holiday Rating:

Tuscany

Our 4 day hike was the first one I have done with On Foot Holidays but not the last! From start to finish we had a fantastic experience. . The hotels were wonderful and bags magically waiting for us after our beautiful long days of hiking. Great hilltop towns , suggested stops and historical notes along the way, Also recommended restaurants … good local contact if needed .We had the most wonderful experience!

Our 4 day hike was the first one I have done with On Foot Holidays but not the last! From start to finish we had a fantastic experience. . The hotels were wonderful and bags magically waiting for us after our beautiful long days of hiking. Great hilltop towns , suggested stops and historical notes along the way, Also recommended restaurants … good local contact if needed .We had the most wonderful experience!

Rating for tour operator:

The communications and response with On Foot was excellent ! So well organized-