AITO: The Association of Independent Tour Operators
On Foot Holidays

On Foot Holidays Traveller Reviews

Reviews of On Foot Holidays

Overall Company Rating
100%
Excellent 519
Good 5
Average 0
Poor 1
Terrible 0
Reviews Submitted: 525
Reviews Accepted: 525
Reviews Rejected: 0
525 reviews
Sort by:
On Foot Holidays - Dolomites by LeslieL, 18 Jul 2019
Holiday Rating:

spectacular hiking in the Dolomites

great combination of hut and hotel with wonderful hosts at each lodging site. The itinerary was perfect and the bookings were all in place and waiting for us.

great combination of hut and hotel with wonderful hosts at each lodging site. The itinerary was perfect and the bookings were all in place and waiting for us.

Rating for tour operator:

well prepared and helpful. responsive to questions and concerns

On Foot Holidays - Alpes Mmes by Lynn, 18 Jul 2019
Holiday Rating:

Lovely way to see the Village Perchés in the South of France

We had a wonderful 5 night hike from La Brigue to Menton by the sea. It was challenging but not too difficult. The route notes made sense. The views were spectacular and we had some great food along the way.

We had a wonderful 5 night hike from La Brigue to Menton by the sea. It was challenging but not too difficult. The route notes made sense. The views were spectacular and we had some great food along the way.

Rating for tour operator:

This is the 3rd trip we've done with On Foot Holidays (Amalfi Coast and Spain's Basque Country before this one) and each time we've had some beautiful routes, easy to follow route notes and saw some gorgeous parts of Europe. The On Foot Crew are very professional and responsive.

On Foot Holidays - Liguria by Mitch , 17 Jul 2019
Holiday Rating:

Heaven in a little corner of Italy!

Walking holiday in the Apennines. Incredibly well oraised by On Foot Holidays. Every day was a new adventure and we had so many wonderful experiences, never to be forgotten.

Walking holiday in the Apennines. Incredibly well oraised by On Foot Holidays. Every day was a new adventure and we had so many wonderful experiences, never to be forgotten.

Rating for tour operator:

Professional. Charming. Polite. Very experienced. Well versed in our holiday. Knowledgeable. Really excellent.

On Foot Holidays - Amalfi Coast by KiwisonTour, 16 Jul 2019
Holiday Rating:

Amalfi Coast Walk - Great Experience

6 nights on the Amalfi Coast, Italy, with great hotels, excellent restaurants, amazing sights and walking program - all organised extraordinarily well by On Foot Holidays.

6 nights on the Amalfi Coast, Italy, with great hotels, excellent restaurants, amazing sights and walking program - all organised extraordinarily well by On Foot Holidays.

Rating for tour operator:

We booked English tour operator "On Foot Holidays" from New Zealand for an Italian break - the communication could not have been better, responsive, thorough, and comprehensive

On Foot Holidays - Liguria by Empty MT, 14 Jul 2019
Holiday Rating:

Excellent organisation, beautiful trip!

This was a fantastic holiday - the trails were beautiful and the walking was wonderful. With not many other people around, it felt like we had it all to ourselves. At times, we reached the ridge after a steep climb with a great sense of achievement and delight, and relished walking under the shade of the glorious trees or in the open with stunning, far-reaching views. What a pleasure to eat our packed lunches in such magnificent scenery and ...

This was a fantastic holiday - the trails were beautiful and the walking was wonderful. With not many other people around, it felt like we had it all to ourselves. At times, we reached the ridge after a steep climb with a great sense of achievement and delight, and relished walking under the shade of the glorious trees or in the open with stunning, far-reaching views. What a pleasure to eat our packed lunches in such magnificent scenery and then to walk on to the next hotel, which we knew would be good - and greeted with a much welcomed cold drink after a hot day's walking. Perfect!

Rating for tour operator:

I was very impressed with On Foot Holidays and greatly enjoyed my trip with them. From the beginning they proved themselves to be knowledgeable and helpful with an eye for detail. Their Walker's Pack was crammed full of incredibly useful information, both practical and of local interest. And the instructions must have been good because we didn't get lost once! I appreciated the travel instructions and how carefully they chose our hotels - all very comfortable with delicious food for dinner and packed lunches, and delightful hosts that greatly enhanced and enriched our time in Italy. It was unexpectedly extremely hot when we went, and to have the option to shorten the walks at certain points was a godsend in the soaring temperatures! Not all companies offer this kind of service. I have no hesitation in recommending their value for money, excellent walking trails and instructions, and all fronted by very courteous and obliging staff. They took great care in getting every aspect of our holiday as perfect as possible and it was a pleasure to correspond with them.

On Foot Holidays - Dolomites by Tim and Gav Dolomites walk, 13 Jul 2019
Holiday Rating:

Walking the Dolomites walking.

Stunning scenery, extremely well organised, great value for money, welcoming hosts, lovely well located accomodation, good places to eat recommendations, a great challenge, exceeded my expectations.

Stunning scenery, extremely well organised, great value for money, welcoming hosts, lovely well located accomodation, good places to eat recommendations, a great challenge, exceeded my expectations.

Rating for tour operator:

Highly professional, proactive, generous with advice & information.

On Foot Holidays - Amalfi Coast by S&G, 11 Jul 2019
Holiday Rating:

Not your run of the mill experience

We hiked from Amalfi to Sorrento - not on the road, but in the hills behind the seaside villages. The route took us along mule tracks and pathways used for centuries, I imagine. The beauty of those routes needs little elaboration, but for me, the beauty also lay in the opportunity to get off the beaten track and away from the early July holiday crowds.

We hiked from Amalfi to Sorrento - not on the road, but in the hills behind the seaside villages. The route took us along mule tracks and pathways used for centuries, I imagine. The beauty of those routes needs little elaboration, but for me, the beauty also lay in the opportunity to get off the beaten track and away from the early July holiday crowds.

Rating for tour operator:

On Foot Holidays organised our trip. They were accommodating, professional and apparently work 24 hours a day. I'm not sure how many holidays they organise at one time, but they take a really personal interest in the success of your trip. For them it's not just a job.

Reviewer's images:
On Foot Holidays - Tuscany by Susan T, 10 Jul 2019
Holiday Rating:

Wonderful walking, fabulous food and wine, pretty villages, outstanding customer service

My cousin and I enjoyed the 5-day independent walking holiday in Tuscany in May. We were late booking as other travel plans had unexpectedly fallen through at the last minute. The team at On Foot were simply fabulous in helping us organize this trip in just a few days, emails flying madly around the world through all time zones (I live in New Zealand, my cousin lives in Canada, On Foot is in the UK, and the hotels are in Italy). Once there at ...

My cousin and I enjoyed the 5-day independent walking holiday in Tuscany in May. We were late booking as other travel plans had unexpectedly fallen through at the last minute. The team at On Foot were simply fabulous in helping us organize this trip in just a few days, emails flying madly around the world through all time zones (I live in New Zealand, my cousin lives in Canada, On Foot is in the UK, and the hotels are in Italy). Once there at last, we relaxed into the joy of Tuscany. The walks were lovely with detailed instructions plus ample historical and site notes. Of course the scenery was stunning scenery (May flowers, oh my!). The accommodation was lovely. The towns are charming. Food and wine, well, you're in Tuscany aren't you? Transport of our suitcases was effortless, and we could shorten walks by getting a lift with our bags. We were contacted by Daniel (on the ground contact in Italy) on our first night, and we knew he was there if we needed anything (we didn't). In short, a superb experience. I had not done an independent walking tour before, but I wouldn't hesitate to do so again, especially with On Foot. If you like the idea of having electronic backup, I recommend Viewranger, a great free app where you can plot your route on a topo map (use a tablet--a phone would be too small) or On Foot can forward the links to you of the routes and you can just download them. I had Viewranger, but the written instructions On Foot provided are so detailed I never used it except a couple of times to just confirm we were on the right track. Nice mix of open country, woodland, and farmland, with most of the walking paths and back roads through rolling hills--except for that climb at the end of the day up to a hill town!

Rating for tour operator:

See general comments above. If I could give 6 stars out of 5 I would.

On Foot - Basque Pyrenees by B&J, 8 Jul 2019
Holiday Rating:

Basque Pyrenees, 4 days, 5 nights, 6th and 7th night in San See

We had a wonderful time. On Foot did a great job, both from headquarters and locally. The route was spectacular and varied, the accommodations and food superb. We thoroughly enjoyed it and STRONGLY RECOMMEND this trip to others.

We had a wonderful time. On Foot did a great job, both from headquarters and locally. The route was spectacular and varied, the accommodations and food superb. We thoroughly enjoyed it and STRONGLY RECOMMEND this trip to others.

Rating for tour operator:

On Foot provided perfect maps, GPX route tracking, and remote and on site assistance. Could not have been better!

On Foot Holidays - Tuscany by GaryHop, 7 Jul 2019
Holiday Rating:

A walk through Tuscany

We spent 7 days hiking through the hills and ancient hilltop cities of Tuscany (Siena, Bagno Vignoni, Montalcino, Pienza, Montepulciano), followed by a couple of days sight-seeing in Rome. And, of course, enjoying fabulous Italian cuisine and wine the entire time.

We spent 7 days hiking through the hills and ancient hilltop cities of Tuscany (Siena, Bagno Vignoni, Montalcino, Pienza, Montepulciano), followed by a couple of days sight-seeing in Rome. And, of course, enjoying fabulous Italian cuisine and wine the entire time.

Rating for tour operator:

From the very beginning, they were very communicative and responsive. Once we were on holiday, everything was better than we hoped, and they continued to check in with us to make sure everything was going according to plan. Wonderful service, and an amazing trip!