AITO: The Association of Independent Tour Operators
On Foot Holidays

On Foot Holidays Traveller Reviews

Reviews of On Foot Holidays

Overall Company Rating
100%
Excellent 626
Good 5
Average 0
Poor 1
Terrible 0
Reviews Submitted: 632
Reviews Accepted: 632
Reviews Rejected: 0
632 reviews
Sort by:
On Foot Holidays - Dorset by happy hikers , 27 Jul 2020
Holiday Rating:

fantastic walk through Dorset

we had a fabulous time. the organisers (onfoot holidays) are really helpful and nothing is too much trouble. the walk itself was exhausting and exhilarating ! midst beautiful unspoilt Dorest countryside, finishing with all the glories of the coastal walk along cliff route to Lyme Regis. The walks are dubbed "easy/ medium / difficult" according to their grade. usually the first 3 hours was easy, the next 2 medium and the last one or two very ...

we had a fabulous time. the organisers (onfoot holidays) are really helpful and nothing is too much trouble. the walk itself was exhausting and exhilarating ! midst beautiful unspoilt Dorest countryside, finishing with all the glories of the coastal walk along cliff route to Lyme Regis. The walks are dubbed "easy/ medium / difficult" according to their grade. usually the first 3 hours was easy, the next 2 medium and the last one or two very difficult - but great excercise ! and great fun

Rating for tour operator:

nothing was too much trouble. we had a burst tyre on our journey so were 3 hours delayed - but somebody waited for us - then we discovered we had forgotten the holiday notes - complete with directions and details of all the bookings ! again - more printed off for us without fuss. very helpful and great walks

On Foot Holidays - The Rhine by ACL, 14 Jul 2020
Holiday Rating:

Perfectly organised self-directed walking trip in the Rhine Valley

We had a fantastic 6 days walking in the Rhine Valley, footloose and fancy free to enjoy the beautiful scenery and the well-chosen hotels, thanks to the expert organisation of our tour operator.

We had a fantastic 6 days walking in the Rhine Valley, footloose and fancy free to enjoy the beautiful scenery and the well-chosen hotels, thanks to the expert organisation of our tour operator.

Rating for tour operator:

Extremely knowledgeable about the destination, well-organised, responsive, offering personalised advice and recommendations, willing to take into account special needs or requests, and always available to answer a question or react to an unforeseen situation. Excellent materials provided for the walking holiday, very clear instructions and informative tourist literature. Everything one could want from a tour operator!

On Foot Holidays - Mallorca by DaveS, 25 Mar 2020
Holiday Rating:

Mallorca - walking in the mountains

Walking from hotel to hotel in mountains of Mallorca

Walking from hotel to hotel in mountains of Mallorca

Rating for tour operator:

They are very happy to personalise their packages. I developed a hip problem before we went and they gave us specific instructions which made it possible for me to complete the trip.

On Foot Holidays - Mallorca by Mrs A S 20, 14 Mar 2020
Holiday Rating:

Excellent

Mallorca is a great place to walk especially early in the seaon

Mallorca is a great place to walk especially early in the seaon

Rating for tour operator:

We have been with On Fòot for 17 years and have enjoyed all our holidays with them. The organisation works very well, the accomodation is always great and the walking areas excellent, in areas which are slightly off the beaten track.

On Foot Holidays - Andalucia by O'swinedup, 3 Dec 2019
Holiday Rating:

Andalucia Walking Tour

Working with On Foot Holidays, my family (myself, my wife, our 2 adult daughters and my son-in-law) hiked in the area of the Grazalema National Park in Andalucia, Spain.

Working with On Foot Holidays, my family (myself, my wife, our 2 adult daughters and my son-in-law) hiked in the area of the Grazalema National Park in Andalucia, Spain.

Rating for tour operator:

On Foot Holidays made all of the arrangements, including accommodations, walking directions, some of the meals, and some ground transportation. They were exceptionally well-organized and helpful, and a pleasure to deal with.

On Foot Holidays - Liguria by Mark, 2 Dec 2019
Holiday Rating:

Ligurian Hills Walk - Quiet Strolling Along the Salt Road

Hiking along the Via del Sale (Salt Road), I (61 years old male) traveled self-guided for 6 days from "Little Tuscany" to Camogli on the coast through vineyards, woods, and high ridges. My luggage was transported each day to the next inn and most food was provided, allowing me to focus on covering the miles and enjoying the sights. I only saw 2 people on the trail over the first 5 days. The experience at each inn was unique and I enjoyed them all...

Hiking along the Via del Sale (Salt Road), I (61 years old male) traveled self-guided for 6 days from "Little Tuscany" to Camogli on the coast through vineyards, woods, and high ridges. My luggage was transported each day to the next inn and most food was provided, allowing me to focus on covering the miles and enjoying the sights. I only saw 2 people on the trail over the first 5 days. The experience at each inn was unique and I enjoyed them all. Each day I was greeted by welcoming hosts and fed delicious food and regional wines. Two days in an upgraded room at Camogli on the coast was the perfect way to end the trip and allow it to soak in.

Rating for tour operator:

All communication regarding this holiday was made via email. On Foot Holidays staff promptly answered my questions and were very helpful and informative. Amazingly, each email was answered by a different person than the last one; however, they worked so well together that if you didn't look at the sender's names you'd think you were dealing with a single person. I was impressed. The printed materials and GPS tracks they provided got me to my destinations without incident. The materials also included interesting information about history, geology, and food of the region. A local support person was made available and it was nice knowing I had someone to call for help, if needed.

On Foot Holidays - Andros by JD Sneem, 1 Dec 2019
Holiday Rating:

A wonderful walking holiday in Greece

We had a fantastic five days of self-guided walking on the island of Andros. For a small island, it is quite varied and the walks showed the island at its best. Very friendly people everywhere we went, great accommodation and taxi service arranged by On Foot Holidays, good food, sunny days and perfect temperature for walking.

We had a fantastic five days of self-guided walking on the island of Andros. For a small island, it is quite varied and the walks showed the island at its best. Very friendly people everywhere we went, great accommodation and taxi service arranged by On Foot Holidays, good food, sunny days and perfect temperature for walking.

Rating for tour operator:

On Foot Holidays provided comprehensive information in the form of route maps and directions, and background reading on the history, flora and fauna of Andros. The accommodation was perfect, the taxi service they arranged for cross-island trips was always on time. Very happy to recommend On Foot to other walkers.

On Foot Holidays - Umbria by Kakwafalls, 27 Nov 2019
Holiday Rating:

This walk alternates "forest bathing" with walking through small Italian towns in their everyday splendour

This walking tour was magnificent. It is not on the beaten track and that is part of why it is magnificent. We walked up and down hills with views of beautiful precipices and valleys, mingled with white Chianina cows, saw old and famous sanctuaries, one visited by two popes, stayed in perfect medieval villages and wonderful Agriturismos, and were at all times supported well by the tour operator. The food was excellent and we were pleasantly ...

This walking tour was magnificent. It is not on the beaten track and that is part of why it is magnificent. We walked up and down hills with views of beautiful precipices and valleys, mingled with white Chianina cows, saw old and famous sanctuaries, one visited by two popes, stayed in perfect medieval villages and wonderful Agriturismos, and were at all times supported well by the tour operator. The food was excellent and we were pleasantly surprised that it is not just Tuscany and Piedmont that have first rate wine. The walking included quite a bit of up and down, which we liked. The people that we met are at least as wonderful as those that we have met throughout this beautiful country.

Rating for tour operator:

On Foot Holidays provided excellent support, including large scale, detailed maps, a separate map in a separate folder for each day's walk, which we liked, and a GPS track, which we really needed. Stephano was readily available by phone if we needed assistance at any time. The connections between accommodations and luggage transfer was seamless. We felt really appreciated and well taken care of. We have already recommended this tour to a number of friends that are also hikers.

On Foot Holidays - Liguria by Fred, 25 Nov 2019
Holiday Rating:

Ligurian Hills - walk

A walk that had historical relevance , visual beauty, the experience of the ruggedness & remoteness of the region, exposure to the land use & native flora & fauna All complemented by a well organized walking route that ensured good accommodation & meals of high standard regional cuisine

A walk that had historical relevance , visual beauty, the experience of the ruggedness & remoteness of the region, exposure to the land use & native flora & fauna All complemented by a well organized walking route that ensured good accommodation & meals of high standard regional cuisine

Rating for tour operator:

Professional Very responsive Very informative

On Foot - Naxos and Amorgos by Slinglow, 17 Nov 2019
Holiday Rating:

Greek Islands

We walked the Cycladic Islands of Naxos and Amorgos. This was slightly different to our previous (four) holidays with On Foot, in that rather than walking from one location to another we stayed at one place in each Island, choosing from a variety of different walks each day and returning to the hotel. As usual with On Foot, the routes are well laid out and the walking guides they provide are accurate and helpful.

We walked the Cycladic Islands of Naxos and Amorgos. This was slightly different to our previous (four) holidays with On Foot, in that rather than walking from one location to another we stayed at one place in each Island, choosing from a variety of different walks each day and returning to the hotel. As usual with On Foot, the routes are well laid out and the walking guides they provide are accurate and helpful.

Rating for tour operator:

This is the fifth holiday we have taken with this specialist European walking holiday company. They arrange self-guided walks in a number of European locations, providing detailed walking notes, maps and gps apps for you. You set out from the hotel in the morning with your rucksack for the day and your luggage is taken to the next location for you. They have local agents to assist you if you have any issues during the trip. On one occasion we have needed such assistance due to unusual weather conditions and we received excellent and prompt response. They are a nice, low pressure, laid back company; we now try to use them at least once a year and know we will be well served.