AITO: The Association of Independent Tour Operators
On Foot Holidays

On Foot Holidays Traveller Reviews

Reviews of On Foot Holidays

Overall Company Rating
100%
Excellent 1123
Good 6
Average 0
Poor 1
Terrible 1
Reviews Submitted: 1131
Reviews Accepted: 1131
Reviews Rejected: 0
1131 reviews
Sort by:
On Foot Holidays - Dorset by Willie, 5 Nov 2013
Holiday Rating:

Dorset - The Thomas Hardy Trail

We spent a week walking through Dorset from Salisbury to Lyme Regis following in the foot steps of Thomas Hardy. On Foot Holidays arranged the route and pre booked our accommodations. They met with us the first night and provided us with maps, written directions, a compass and a cell phone. The accommodations they arranged were excellent Bed and Breakfasts or small Inns. All in all it was a superb holiday.

We spent a week walking through Dorset from Salisbury to Lyme Regis following in the foot steps of Thomas Hardy. On Foot Holidays arranged the route and pre booked our accommodations. They met with us the first night and provided us with maps, written directions, a compass and a cell phone. The accommodations they arranged were excellent Bed and Breakfasts or small Inns. All in all it was a superb holiday.

Rating for tour operator:

On Foot Holidays provided us with the tools to walk on our own, not with a group. On Foot Holidays arranged the route and pre booked our accommodations. They met with us the first night and provided us with maps, written directions, a compass and a cell phone. The accommodations they arranged were excellent Bed and Breakfasts or small Inns. All in all it was a superb holiday.

On Foot Holidays - Amalfi Coast by Tracey, 5 Nov 2013
Holiday Rating:

Very well organized company

We hiked along the Amalfi Coast using On Foot Holidays as our tour company. We had looked at a number of other companies before choosing On Foot. Ultimately we chose them because we liked their route better (it involved some longer and more challenging hikes - which we preferred), and because the route was designed by the person who wrote the hiking guide book to the area. We loved the trip. It was breathtakingly scenic. We also liked ...

We hiked along the Amalfi Coast using On Foot Holidays as our tour company. We had looked at a number of other companies before choosing On Foot. Ultimately we chose them because we liked their route better (it involved some longer and more challenging hikes - which we preferred), and because the route was designed by the person who wrote the hiking guide book to the area. We loved the trip. It was breathtakingly scenic. We also liked having a choice of hotels in each of the towns. All of our hotels were wonderful - extremely clean and comfortable. In addition, we thought that On Foot Holiday's descriptions of the hikes and the topography of the area was very precise and accurate. We would definitely book with On Foot Holidays again.

Rating for tour operator:

Our tour operator was extremely helpful in answering all of our questions. We spoke by telephone to her a few times before finalizing our plans, mainly with regard to hotel choices on the trip. We also appreciated how responsive she was to our email inquiries.

On Foot Holidays - Alpes Mmes by Muddy Boots, 5 Nov 2013
Holiday Rating:

A brilliant holiday

We walked in the Alpes Maritime. The walking was fantastic, great routes and instructions. The scenery was amazing. Hosts at the various B and B's were welcoming and some were exceptional.

We walked in the Alpes Maritime. The walking was fantastic, great routes and instructions. The scenery was amazing. Hosts at the various B and B's were welcoming and some were exceptional.

Rating for tour operator:

On Foot Holidays were friendly and efficient. The holiday pack with maps and directions was the best we have ever seen in numerous holidays of this type.

On Foot Holidays - Alpes Mmes by Wiggling Walter, 5 Nov 2013
Holiday Rating:

From the Alps to the Mediterranean - adventure with reassurance

My brother (70) and I (80) walked from La Brigue to Menton, mainly on mountain tracks. Each day had a different character, but each was interesting and led us through mountain villages, chestnut groves and alpine meadows. Overnights were in interesting historic towns and villages, with a rest day in Sospel where, in the morning, my brother sketched and I explored the old part of the town. In the afternoon we visited the impressive subterranean ...

My brother (70) and I (80) walked from La Brigue to Menton, mainly on mountain tracks. Each day had a different character, but each was interesting and led us through mountain villages, chestnut groves and alpine meadows. Overnights were in interesting historic towns and villages, with a rest day in Sospel where, in the morning, my brother sketched and I explored the old part of the town. In the afternoon we visited the impressive subterranean Maginot Line fort. The overnight accommodation was varied but, in every case, of very good value for the money. The food was excellent and the packed lunches a challenge! Finishing in style at the Princess et Richmond in Menton was a real bonus! The backup from On Foot Holidays was excellent and their support pack removed any anxiety we might have felt at being on our own. Route timings were realistic.

Rating for tour operator:

At every stage I found them helpful, cheerful and interested.

On Foot Holidays - El Priorat by Dora, 5 Nov 2013
Holiday Rating:

Far From the Madding Crowd

WE loved the feeling of adventuring - we felt as though we were poineering the trail but of course we were fully supported by excellent notes and maps, with the knowledge that we could phone the local agent, if necessary (We did- we had trouble with our phone and she was marvellous! Also, she phoned to make sure we had arrived at our destination on a partcularly stormy afternoon - fantastic!) The walking was sufficiently challenging and the ...

WE loved the feeling of adventuring - we felt as though we were poineering the trail but of course we were fully supported by excellent notes and maps, with the knowledge that we could phone the local agent, if necessary (We did- we had trouble with our phone and she was marvellous! Also, she phoned to make sure we had arrived at our destination on a partcularly stormy afternoon - fantastic!) The walking was sufficiently challenging and the tiny towns were interesing experiences. The accomodation had been handpicked with friendly hosts. Fantastic.

Rating for tour operator:

From our first enquiry we found Debbie and Simon to be extremely helpful and informative. They assisted with our travel plans and were willing to customise the walk in way to suit us. It was great to talk to them on the phone (we are in New Zealand) and hear that they had actually done the walk themselves. Their enthusiasm was inspiring. All the contact was professional and timely.

On Foot - Classic Slovenia by Frank, 5 Nov 2013
Holiday Rating:

Very enjoyable self-guided walking holiday in Slovenia and Italy

We made a foursome with our friends for a week's walking in the Karst country in May this year, self-guided and with luggage transported ahead, staying in hotels and farmhouses which provide a significant amount of home-grown food - wonderful!

We made a foursome with our friends for a week's walking in the Karst country in May this year, self-guided and with luggage transported ahead, staying in hotels and farmhouses which provide a significant amount of home-grown food - wonderful!

Rating for tour operator:

Once again On Foot Holidays provided us with excellent advice about the demands of the walks before we booked. They sent us accurate maps and walk descriptions as well as a gpx file for my GPS so we didn't get lost!

On Foot Holidays - Tuscany by PeterB, 5 Nov 2013
Holiday Rating:

Marvellous walking in beautiful countryside

This was a superbly-organised introduction for us to the delights of the Tuscany landscape - like walking through a painting or a postcard. The overnight stays we had were varied and all of a high standard. Everywhere was exceptionally welcoming and the standard of food and drink was brilliant - and surprisingly reasonably priced.

This was a superbly-organised introduction for us to the delights of the Tuscany landscape - like walking through a painting or a postcard. The overnight stays we had were varied and all of a high standard. Everywhere was exceptionally welcoming and the standard of food and drink was brilliant - and surprisingly reasonably priced.

Rating for tour operator:

It says it all that from leaving Sienna to returning home we had no need to contact them at all. There were no problems with accommodation and all the transfers went seamlessly. We were very impressed with the walking route directions - we never went wrong once in six days - and all the other information including the detailed bus and train timetables we needed.

On Foot - Classic Slovenia by Sam, 5 Nov 2013
Holiday Rating:

Slovenia: The Karst-culture and landscape

My wife and I did a self-guided walking trip from outside Ljubljana to Trieste, Italy over 12 days. The itinerary allowed us to experience Slovenia just as we desired by being able to get close to the people. I feel that Onfoot's relationship with the places we stayed enhanced our time as everyone spoke very highly of the company. All arrangements were fantastic. We felt Onfoot to be a very polished company and look forward to utilizing ...

My wife and I did a self-guided walking trip from outside Ljubljana to Trieste, Italy over 12 days. The itinerary allowed us to experience Slovenia just as we desired by being able to get close to the people. I feel that Onfoot's relationship with the places we stayed enhanced our time as everyone spoke very highly of the company. All arrangements were fantastic. We felt Onfoot to be a very polished company and look forward to utilizing it again in the future.

Rating for tour operator:

See above.

On Foot Holidays - El Priorat by BNB, 5 Nov 2013
Holiday Rating:

Excellent walking tour organisation

I have now done 7 walking holidays with On Foot. Their attention to detail is superb. We always stay in clean and comfortable place. We always eat well. Where there may have been minor disappointments the staff respond immediately and take into account all comments and are unfailingly pleasant to deal with. I heartily recommend the company - I have done so on many occasions and will continue to do so.

I have now done 7 walking holidays with On Foot. Their attention to detail is superb. We always stay in clean and comfortable place. We always eat well. Where there may have been minor disappointments the staff respond immediately and take into account all comments and are unfailingly pleasant to deal with. I heartily recommend the company - I have done so on many occasions and will continue to do so.

Rating for tour operator:

See above

On Foot Holidays - Amalfi Coast by Rob, 5 Nov 2013
Holiday Rating:

Walking the Amalfi Coast

Our first "walking" holiday anywhere in all our world wide travels. The choice of the Amalfi coast was perfect. Historic villages..breathtaking scenery..great seafood..friendly people..and practically nobody on the paths. And no rain to muddy up the trails.

Our first "walking" holiday anywhere in all our world wide travels. The choice of the Amalfi coast was perfect. Historic villages..breathtaking scenery..great seafood..friendly people..and practically nobody on the paths. And no rain to muddy up the trails.

Rating for tour operator:

Awesome. They responded the same day to questions. Once even calling from London to Seattle at their expense to answer questions. The staff had actually hiked the route and knew what we were to expect. The printed daily directions were very detailed and accurate. We were sent a survey to give feedback. Then I received a thank you on that feedback..with the commitment to change some of the wording for their 2014 directions. My suggestions were going to be incorporated. We could upgrade hotels with no problem. There were even restaurant suggestions. They have an in -country contact for emergencies. All airport pick ups, luggage transfers, hotel reservations , train transfers, etc. had no problems. Not one. My wife and I have used many travel companies. On the whole we have been satisfied. Our vote of confidence is by using the agency a second time. We are already considering another "walking" tour with On Foot Holidays, time and our health permitting.