AITO: The Association of Independent Tour Operators
On Foot Holidays

On Foot Holidays Traveller Reviews

Reviews of On Foot Holidays

Overall Company Rating
100%
Excellent 1156
Good 6
Average 0
Poor 1
Terrible 1
Reviews Submitted: 1164
Reviews Accepted: 1164
Reviews Rejected: 0
1164 reviews
Sort by:
On Foot Holidays - Rhine Valley by Fee, 6 Nov 2013
Holiday Rating:

A dream holiday!

The holiday was absolutely brilliant and I enjoyed every minute. The company was very well organised form the first email to the completion of the walk. I was very impressed that they took my feedback seriously. The maps and the directions were all fantastic. All the tips on restaurants etc were very good as well.

The holiday was absolutely brilliant and I enjoyed every minute. The company was very well organised form the first email to the completion of the walk. I was very impressed that they took my feedback seriously. The maps and the directions were all fantastic. All the tips on restaurants etc were very good as well.

Rating for tour operator:

All my dealings with on foot holidays were very good they always emailed back straight away and couldn't have been more helpful.

On Foot Holidays - Tuscany by Simon B, 6 Nov 2013
Holiday Rating:

Walking holiday in Tuscany

Two nights in Sienna were followed by a fabulous walking trip through the glorious rolling Tuscan countryside. Along the way we stayed at a number of hilltop towns, such as Montalcino, Pienza and Montepluciano. The weather was perfect for walking, the food and wine were excellent and all the locals we met were friendly and welcoming.

Two nights in Sienna were followed by a fabulous walking trip through the glorious rolling Tuscan countryside. Along the way we stayed at a number of hilltop towns, such as Montalcino, Pienza and Montepluciano. The weather was perfect for walking, the food and wine were excellent and all the locals we met were friendly and welcoming.

Rating for tour operator:

Whenever you call, you get straight through to one of the staff - no dreaded phone menus or hold music! As soon as you give your name, they have your details in front of you and make you feel as though their business was set up just to cater for your individual needs. This was the second trip through On Foot, and all the bookings and supporting information were organized flawlessly on both occasions. Excellent walking routes and great choice of hotels/B&Bs. A truly personal, friendly and efficient service.

On Foot Holidays - Dorset by Al, 6 Nov 2013
Holiday Rating:

Dorset walking holiday

Self-guided walking from Tisbury to Lyme Regis, plus a couple of nights in Salisbury at the beginning. A gorgeous route!

Self-guided walking from Tisbury to Lyme Regis, plus a couple of nights in Salisbury at the beginning. A gorgeous route!

Rating for tour operator:

On Foot Holidays, based in Salisbury--specializing in self-guided walking packages in Europe and UK, where one's luggage is moved by taxi from one B&B or pub to the next, and the traveller walks the route with detailed notes and maps. I like this operator because their routes are carefully chosen and extremely well-researched--you can be confident it won't be a dud.

On Foot Holidays - Rhine Valley by happy walker, 6 Nov 2013
Holiday Rating:

Great walking along the middle Rhine

Beautiful walking along the banks of the middle Rhine staying in castles and hopping from one side to the other.

Beautiful walking along the banks of the middle Rhine staying in castles and hopping from one side to the other.

Rating for tour operator:

On foot provide all the walking notes and maps, and we have found them to be the most accurate and easy to read amongst their competition. The arrange all the hotels and for you luggage to be trnasported to the next hotel each day. We have used them 3 times and the pre and post holiday service is first class. They provide a genuine individual service and listen to your needs and feedback and respond.

On Foot Holidays - Portugal by francierhine, 6 Nov 2013
Holiday Rating:

Interesting and beautiful walking in a little known area of Portugal

This was our fifth holiday with On Foot - we really like their formula of self guided walking in little known areas of Europe. This time we went to NE Portugal which was very beautiful and the people were very friendly. Food was excellent and amazingly good value. As usual the walking instructions were first class and On Foot always manage to find interesting and unusual accommodation away from the tourist hordes. We booked independently ...

This was our fifth holiday with On Foot - we really like their formula of self guided walking in little known areas of Europe. This time we went to NE Portugal which was very beautiful and the people were very friendly. Food was excellent and amazingly good value. As usual the walking instructions were first class and On Foot always manage to find interesting and unusual accommodation away from the tourist hordes. We booked independently a hotel in Porto where we stayed for a few days after the walking holiday. We also like the fact that it is possible to 'customise' an On Foot holiday according to your own interests and budget.

Rating for tour operator:

It's great that at On Foot you always speak to a real live person who is in incredibly well informed on the holidays and can answer all your queries - that's quite rare these days. Their pre holiday information is first class and includes restaurant recommendations , shortening options for the walks, public transport., historical background to the area etc. etc. Their product is also as far as I can see pretty much unique - we will certainly be taking another holiday with them.

On Foot - Classic Slovenia by Alan, 6 Nov 2013
Holiday Rating:

Walking Holiday - Super Organisation

A number of self-guided walking holidays staying in accommodation on the route.

A number of self-guided walking holidays staying in accommodation on the route.

Rating for tour operator:

I write from experience of a number of holidays with this company. It is a walking holiday (self guided) and while some of the route guidance needs careful interpretation, their attention to detail is excellent. They appear to hand pick and personally vet the properties you stay at and where possible they are not the usual run of the mill hotel groups. Highly recommended for self-guided walking holidays.

On Foot Holidays - Lycian Coast by Shaz, 6 Nov 2013
Holiday Rating:

Walking the Lycian Way

It was a one week, unguided, walking trip, with a daily accommodation and luggage courier service. Overall the service provision was good, and in parts excellent. The excellence tag applies to the selection of the route, choice of accommodation, and the quality of the directions provided.

It was a one week, unguided, walking trip, with a daily accommodation and luggage courier service. Overall the service provision was good, and in parts excellent. The excellence tag applies to the selection of the route, choice of accommodation, and the quality of the directions provided.

Rating for tour operator:

They provided helpful advice on the destination, detailed instructions, and were knowledgeable about all aspects of the trip, based on their own experience of the journey.

On Foot Holidays - Dubrovnik by cilla, 6 Nov 2013
Holiday Rating:

Good

walking in croatia Dubrovnik, and islands very good accomodation. just the type we requested,

walking in croatia Dubrovnik, and islands very good accomodation. just the type we requested,

Rating for tour operator:

onfoot holidays, taylor made our trip and gave us the type of walking holiday we wanted, arrangments for ferry tickets and timings easy with good info.

On Foot Holidays - Amalfi Coast by aus/uk family, 6 Nov 2013
Holiday Rating:

At your own pace walking holiday

This was a self guided walk along the Amalfi Coast in Italy, staying at a different destination each evening. The accommodation was of a very comfortable standard with excellent options for the evening meal. Our main luggage was carried forward each day. Each section of walk had a good descriptive guide, which minimized the risk of getting lost and sufficient time allowed for walking at our own pace. This type of holiday suited us as we walked ...

This was a self guided walk along the Amalfi Coast in Italy, staying at a different destination each evening. The accommodation was of a very comfortable standard with excellent options for the evening meal. Our main luggage was carried forward each day. Each section of walk had a good descriptive guide, which minimized the risk of getting lost and sufficient time allowed for walking at our own pace. This type of holiday suited us as we walked through less touristy with great views of the Amalfi coast.

Rating for tour operator:

On foot are a team who give you the personal touch - the holiday was tailored to suit our time table. The Team were not fazed with some of the group booking and paying from Australia and different parts of the UK. Paper work arrived on time and as stated earlier the route maps were very good, descriptive guides, so the risk of getting lost were minimal. All transport was on time and the drivers careful. The team are efficient and respond promptly either by phone or email. We have recommended On Foot to other friends as an excellent company to use.

On Foot Holidays - Lycian Coast by HK Traveller, 6 Nov 2013
Holiday Rating:

They went out of their way to make us enjoy the trip!

We went on the Lycian Way with On Foot holidays. The holiday was fraught with disaster even before it started, with sprained ankles, incapacitated legs, etc. but On Foot was very good in giving us options in case we cannot hike. Then one of our parties' flight was delayed, and she missed the airport pick-up. We sent an email while we were still at the airport, asking for options for our friend. By the time we landed in Antalya, On Foot ...

We went on the Lycian Way with On Foot holidays. The holiday was fraught with disaster even before it started, with sprained ankles, incapacitated legs, etc. but On Foot was very good in giving us options in case we cannot hike. Then one of our parties' flight was delayed, and she missed the airport pick-up. We sent an email while we were still at the airport, asking for options for our friend. By the time we landed in Antalya, On Foot had it all sorted out.... They put my friend together with another group they were picking up at the same time and did not charge her extra! From there, the holiday was wonderful! The accommodations arranged for us were very nice, clean, showed wonderful hospitality and in cases where the food was included, had amazing food! The trek was great! Create views, and very good instructions, so we always managed to find our way!

Rating for tour operator:

Extremely helpful, flexible, providing us with options, very responsive to requests, questions, etc. (so far, i have ALWAyS gottena response within a few hours!). I've been on 2 holidays with On Foot so far, and the arrangements have always been excellent! We have been very pleased with the hotels they choose and all the logistics they have provided.