AITO: The Association of Independent Tour Operators
On Foot Holidays

On Foot Holidays Traveller Reviews

Reviews of On Foot Holidays

Overall Company Rating
100%
Excellent 1202
Good 7
Average 0
Poor 1
Terrible 1
Reviews Submitted: 1211
Reviews Accepted: 1211
Reviews Rejected: 0
1211 reviews
Sort by:
Northern Portugal by GW, 10 May 2014
Holiday Rating:

Fantastic holiday with varied walking, beautiful scenery - an opportunity to see a part of Europe we had not visited before

We so enjoyed our holiday. All the arrangements made by "On Foot" went like clockwork. We loved the places that had been chosen for us to stay in for our trip. This was a part of Europe we had not visited before and the trip was carefully planned so that we saw quite a bit of Northern Portugal from Oporto (city life) to very rural parts of the Penedes Geres (National Park). The walking went very well with great directions and beautiful scenery...

We so enjoyed our holiday. All the arrangements made by "On Foot" went like clockwork. We loved the places that had been chosen for us to stay in for our trip. This was a part of Europe we had not visited before and the trip was carefully planned so that we saw quite a bit of Northern Portugal from Oporto (city life) to very rural parts of the Penedes Geres (National Park). The walking went very well with great directions and beautiful scenery. We had a chance to try lots of local food - dishes we had not come accross before which were delicious. We found the people we met in the hotels, guest houses and restaurants friendly and helpful. The holiday was perfect with a good mix of exercise and relaxation.The weather was perfect of walking.

Rating for tour operator:

This is our third holiday with "On Foot" and as usual the holiday arrangements went like clockwork. "On Foot" were very helpful and considerate in helping planning the trip with us, making the arrangements and ensuring we had all the information we would need for the trip. "On Foot" always answer any emails/correspondence in such a friendly and yet efficient way. When talking with any member of staff at "On Foot" they all are very knowledgable about the holidays they plan. When visiting Northern Portugal it was obvious that "On Foot" and their local representative are well known and liked. "On Foot" are meticulous in getting feedback in order to continually improve things for future travellers.We have great confidence in this company and plan to go with "On Foot" for another walking holiday in the future

Rhine Valley by Silver Birch, 2 May 2014
Holiday Rating:

Rhine Gorge Walking Holiday

Walked from Bingen to Koblenz along the Rhine Gorge, doing about 22km a day staying in the culturally rich and historic towns along the way. Fantastic views across the Rhine, pleasant, not too demanding walking, and excellent value dining. Flawless organisation. Fabulous scenery. Interesting culture.

Walked from Bingen to Koblenz along the Rhine Gorge, doing about 22km a day staying in the culturally rich and historic towns along the way. Fantastic views across the Rhine, pleasant, not too demanding walking, and excellent value dining. Flawless organisation. Fabulous scenery. Interesting culture.

Rating for tour operator:

Business like and pleasant to deal with, the On Foot Walking clearly take great care to ensure the all-important organisation is done to a very high standard. Every aspect of the organisation was flawless and the supporting documentation was accurate and interesting.

Z - On Foot - Sabine Hills by susie, 2 May 2014
Holiday Rating:

sabine hills

a self guided walking holiday in the Sabine hills around Rome. We walked each day from one hill top town to the next with our luggage being transferred on ahead of us. The route was well marked and our instructions were excellent. We found the scenery beautiful, through woods, open pasture, farms, olive groves. We stayed in bed and breakfasts and agritourismos and ate local food. The hosts were very welcoming and we enjoyed the holiday immensely...

a self guided walking holiday in the Sabine hills around Rome. We walked each day from one hill top town to the next with our luggage being transferred on ahead of us. The route was well marked and our instructions were excellent. We found the scenery beautiful, through woods, open pasture, farms, olive groves. We stayed in bed and breakfasts and agritourismos and ate local food. The hosts were very welcoming and we enjoyed the holiday immensely.

Rating for tour operator:

On Foot Holidays have a friendly personal touch, with great attention to detail.

Mallorca: Serra de Tramuntana by creaking knees, 25 Apr 2014
Holiday Rating:

exhausting but in a good way

walking in the Tramuntana of Mallorca - fabulous countryside and mostly great weather, lovely little hotels of character

walking in the Tramuntana of Mallorca - fabulous countryside and mostly great weather, lovely little hotels of character

Rating for tour operator:

they walked all the routes, checked out the hotels and arranged baggage transfer and it all went without a hitch, hotels were mostly excellent, one not quite as good as the other four but perfectly acceptable, route notes accurate and informative

Andalucia by Grazalemas, 14 Apr 2014
Holiday Rating:

Well organised with excellent walks off the beaten track. Well chosen accommodation

As a family we went walking in Andalucia in Spain. On foot organised a very good walking itinerary with intimate knowledge of the walks which only a guided knowledge would be able to follow. The walk instructions were very detailed. The accommodation was excellent with very clean rooms and friendly hosts. All the transfers were on time and hassle free. The length of walks were perfect with a great sense of achievement each day with stunning views...

As a family we went walking in Andalucia in Spain. On foot organised a very good walking itinerary with intimate knowledge of the walks which only a guided knowledge would be able to follow. The walk instructions were very detailed. The accommodation was excellent with very clean rooms and friendly hosts. All the transfers were on time and hassle free. The length of walks were perfect with a great sense of achievement each day with stunning views. A great way to spend time with friends and family.

Rating for tour operator:

On foot organised all the walks with a detailed itinerary plus required airport/hotel transfers. They have an intimate knowledge of the locations, walks and accommodation

Z - On Foot - Lycian Coast by Windsurfer, 12 Apr 2014
Holiday Rating:

WALKING IN TURKEY

We enjoyed 4 days walking parts of the Lycian Way in Turkey organised by On Foot Holidays.Our main luggage was carried between accommodation so we only had to carry a daypack.We travelled the first week of April so the countryside was very green with many wildflowers and few other people on the walk.The temperature was ideal for walking and we were lucky to see no rain.The holiday was well organised.

We enjoyed 4 days walking parts of the Lycian Way in Turkey organised by On Foot Holidays.Our main luggage was carried between accommodation so we only had to carry a daypack.We travelled the first week of April so the countryside was very green with many wildflowers and few other people on the walk.The temperature was ideal for walking and we were lucky to see no rain.The holiday was well organised.

Rating for tour operator:

Very friendly helpful and reassuring especially as we had never undertaken an independent self guided walking holiday before.The instructions and GPX files for the walks were excellent and accurate.

Andalucia by Rockchick, 18 Jan 2014
Holiday Rating:

An exhilarating 6 day Christmas walking holiday in Andalucia

We flew on the 23rd December leaving storm strewn Gatwick, arriving in Malaga in warm bright sunshine. Our friendly taxi driver was waiting to take us to Zahara, our first white village, where we would start our walking holiday. Over the week we stayed in 3 villages, ending up for 2 luxurious nights in the fabulous Parador at Ronda. We had detailed instructions of the walks each day, which took us through the most beautiful and varied countryside...

We flew on the 23rd December leaving storm strewn Gatwick, arriving in Malaga in warm bright sunshine. Our friendly taxi driver was waiting to take us to Zahara, our first white village, where we would start our walking holiday. Over the week we stayed in 3 villages, ending up for 2 luxurious nights in the fabulous Parador at Ronda. We had detailed instructions of the walks each day, which took us through the most beautiful and varied countryside. While we were walking our bag was ferried to our next hotel, but on the 2 days of storms we were able to travel by taxi with our bag. The hotels were warm, cosy and clean, with lots of hot water, and the people were very friendly and hospitable. We had some delicious meals, especially at Grazalema, where we would love to visit again. On Foot were exceptionally helpful with advice, and even called us during our walk on Boxing day!! The walks of 12 kms were manageable, but the longest walk of 16kms was a bit too much for us townies, and we did get lost one day! Overall we had the most memorable holiday, and would definitely recommend an adventure like this.

Rating for tour operator:

On Foot Holidays were exceptionally helpful from the very first phone call I made to enquire about the possibility of a walking holiday in Andalucia over Christmas. They gave us excellent advice about the equipment we would need to enable us to walk comfortably, and we came home with all 20 toes intact and no blisters as a result! They organised everything we needed for a worry free holiday, with detailed information about travel, the walks, our contact in Andalucia, our hotels, even the bus times from Ronda to Malaga on our return journey. I highly recommend On Foot Holidays, we felt very well taken care of.

Ligurian Hills by ValC, 18 Dec 2013
Holiday Rating:

Ligurian Adventure

Wonderful trip that was perfectly organized.

Wonderful trip that was perfectly organized.

Rating for tour operator:

On Foot Holidays was very quick to respond to any question I had and the entire experience with them was professional and friendly.

Ligurian Hills by DavidS, 16 Dec 2013
Holiday Rating:

A blissful walk

This was a really well planned holiday, with excellent and varied walking, interspersed with nights in lovely hotels or b&bs. Remote locations but with excellent food, all the facilities you want and interesting, friendly hosts.

This was a really well planned holiday, with excellent and varied walking, interspersed with nights in lovely hotels or b&bs. Remote locations but with excellent food, all the facilities you want and interesting, friendly hosts.

Rating for tour operator:

On Foot take a personal and professional interest in getting everything right. They test out all their routes and all their accommodation with care, and you are always sure that everything will work. Their attention to detail is second to none. Holidays are precious, and we were delighted to know in advance that we were going to enjoy something special

Z - On Foot Holidays - Dubrovnik by Toos, 16 Dec 2013
Holiday Rating:

Tranquillity and beauty in the Elafiti Islands with a fascinating but troubled history

We spent ten days-4 on Sipan, 4 on Lopud and the last 36 hours in Dubrovnik.The main features :- .The ferry journey to Sipan calling at the other two islands which gave us a superb introduction to this beautiful area, .our stay on Sipanat the fantastically situated Hotel Bozica overlooking the harbour and sea. Very helpful and friendly staff, fine accomodation overlooking the bay and an excellent restaurant and bar, .Enjoying the evening ...

We spent ten days-4 on Sipan, 4 on Lopud and the last 36 hours in Dubrovnik.The main features :- .The ferry journey to Sipan calling at the other two islands which gave us a superb introduction to this beautiful area, .our stay on Sipanat the fantastically situated Hotel Bozica overlooking the harbour and sea. Very helpful and friendly staff, fine accomodation overlooking the bay and an excellent restaurant and bar, .Enjoying the evening life at the cafes in the harbour where we ate some of the best fish ever whilst enjoying fine wines as well. .Variety of walks which we did every day followjng ON Foot's excellent plans + instructions. Took us up + down and on the flat all round the island with its hills and many churches and beaches. . 4 days on Lopud where again we exploredm nearly every corner of the island on foot following On Foots instructions + plans. .the magic of the old Hotel Glavovic with its amazing history and splendid lady proprietor Madame Vlasta who told us about the history of the hotel and her own incredible + harsh life in the evenings .no traffic at all except the little dust cards which carried the refuse to the ever reliable ferry which also brought in the provisions from the mainland. .again most enjoyable + relaxing cafe lfe for the evenings as well as good restaurants . a day visit to Kolocek by ferry which we walked around before getting caught in a dramatic storm.We thought we were stranded but the ever reliable ferry MV Postira arrived on the dot of time + took us back to Lopud where they had had no rain at all. -the friendliness of all the people we met which fitted well with the beauty + simple life of all three islands. .we left the islands with so many memories of the scenery the peace and the variety of buildings we explored and lovely people we met. . our 36 hours in Dubrovnik was by contrast hectic but enjoyable and very interesting particularly seeing how the city has been rebuilt after the dreadful bombings by the Serbs + Montenegrans9 One really ha sto ask why!!) .being walkaholics we took the ferry to Reservat Lokrum and spent a happy half day exploring the island. In summary it was one of the best holidays we have ever had and would love to revisit one day. .4 days exploring Lopud where again we covere4d the whole island following

Rating for tour operator:

This was the fifth holiday we have had with ON Foot Holidays and we cannot speak too highly of their arrangements.In this instance their back up literature on the places we visited was excellent and this was backed up by detaile dand interesting histories of Croatia Dubrovnik and each of the three Elafiti Islands.As keen walkers we found the programme of walks both accurate and instructive with a separate detailed supplement for each of rhe 3 islands. They also provided us with notes on Croatian cuisine and some useful Croatian words and phrases which we found very helpful.tFheir representative in Dubrovnik Tomi Coric was extremely friendly helpful and informative about current + recent events in Croatia and on the islands. He spoke excellent English and seemed to really enjoy his job and bonding with the customers.He was also meticulous in providing us with ferry tickets and timetables and meeting us at the airport and returning us at the end of our trip.We were also impressed with his two assistants Nicolas and Romana who showed us to our apartment in Dubrovnik. On Foots Head Office staff are always very friendly knowledgeable and helpful and we would have no hesitation in recommending them to anyone as an efficient and businesslike organisation. We are already looking on line at their 2014 programme.