AITO: The Association of Independent Tour Operators
On Foot Holidays

On Foot Holidays Traveller Reviews

Reviews of On Foot Holidays

Overall Company Rating
100%
Excellent 1123
Good 6
Average 0
Poor 1
Terrible 1
Reviews Submitted: 1131
Reviews Accepted: 1131
Reviews Rejected: 0
1131 reviews
Sort by:
On Foot Holidays - Tuscany by I&C.2, 6 Nov 2013
Holiday Rating:

Our best-ever Walking Holiday

We would like to say how very much we enjoyed our walk with On Foot Holidays in Italy from Siena to Montepulciano in September 2011. Everything about the trip has left happy memories, whether it was the route, the excellent (and much improved!) narrative instructions which meant there was no chance of losing the way, the varied accommodation and hospitable, helpful hosts, the food and particularly the way in which the journey hung together ...

We would like to say how very much we enjoyed our walk with On Foot Holidays in Italy from Siena to Montepulciano in September 2011. Everything about the trip has left happy memories, whether it was the route, the excellent (and much improved!) narrative instructions which meant there was no chance of losing the way, the varied accommodation and hospitable, helpful hosts, the food and particularly the way in which the journey hung together and its pace and contrasts. We loved the fact that we could trace our route from Monte Oliveti to Montalcino from the top of the fort in the evening light. There were so many photo opportunities every day which contributed to maybe a slower pace for us this year but no day was over long and we always arrived in good time at the hotel to make the most of the town. We particularly enjoyed the day from Bagno Vignoni to Pienza, a day full of surprises indeed, and loved San Quirico and would happily have stayed longer. We will even forgive the uphill climb with which each day concluded, as it was always worth the effort.

Rating for tour operator:

We have travelled with On Foot Holidays on five separate occasions since 2005 visiting Spain, Portugal and Italy. We have seen how their expertise and skill has developed over this time. In our opinion they lead the way in offering diverse, original and well researched routes and accommodation which affords highly committed and personal hospitality. We have also travelled in this period with several other walking holiday providers. On Foot Holidays provide outstanding personal service from the initial enquiry to acting upon customer feedback on return, which gives their travellers a high degree of confidence. Their attention to detail including advice regarding choice of route, accommodation (where an alternative is available), restaurant and local travel options enables an independent walking holiday to be enjoyed without hassle. The proprietor and the long serving and enthusiastic staff walk the routes themselves which helps to ensure the quality of the customers’ experience and to actively develop improvements to each itinerary.

On Foot Holidays - Liguria by amysweetamy, 6 Nov 2013
Holiday Rating:

Exhilarating hiking week in the wild Ligurian hills.

OnFootHolidays has created another one of its very special walks with this new hike in the Ligurian hills of Italy. It is certainly not for the slow of foot or faint of heart, since the shortest day is 17 kilometers, but the hard work is worth it, I don't remember ever having as much FUN as I did on this walk (and I've been doing OnFoot walks for nearly 10 years), probably because I met so many wonderful amusing people on the way, even in ...

OnFootHolidays has created another one of its very special walks with this new hike in the Ligurian hills of Italy. It is certainly not for the slow of foot or faint of heart, since the shortest day is 17 kilometers, but the hard work is worth it, I don't remember ever having as much FUN as I did on this walk (and I've been doing OnFoot walks for nearly 10 years), probably because I met so many wonderful amusing people on the way, even in the woods. Usually by day three of my walks I think to myself, "Why can't I be a normal person and spend my holiday lying on a beach somewhere reading a bad romance novel drinking gin and tonic. Why I am struggling up this hill with another fifty hills ahead of me before I get supper?". Then I get to the top and a panorama of the Italian hills fills my vision and the clouds are scudding by and there is the smell of mown hay and the buzzing of insects and the singing of birds and yes, this is why I take these fantastic walks with OnFoot. Surreptitiously eating purple grapes off a local vine, hearing church bells far far away ringing in the village where I started two hours ago, reading Italian poetry at night in my farmhouse room, eating the most stupendous food night after night, getting lost at a crossroads and asking an ancient old man and his ancient old dog for assistance, walking in mountain woods where the side of the path is a steep, terrifying drop and the path is barely wider than my boot, bumping into two elderly well-dressed ladies early one morning searching for mushrooms in the forest way up in the middle of nowhere--I mean nowhere--and giving them directions to the path back to civilization, reaching the sea at last and wishing I could do it all again. It was truly glorious. The memories that come flooding back will sustain me all winter. This part of the world is a hidden treasure,something to savor slowly and that is what an OnFootHoliday always lets you do.

Rating for tour operator:

What OnFootHolidays does is organize your walk so that you do the hiking and leave everything else to them. They prepare everything and OnFoot is meticulous in its planning. You receive detailed information about the walk itself and the places you will be spending the night, as well as maps, instructions, notes about flora and fauna to look for and a host of other details, including information on maintaining safety precautions when hiking, which is very important. They want you to enjoy yourself but they want you to be safe as well. The pension or hotel where you spend the night takes your luggage to the next place you will stay. It may take the driver only 45 minutes to drive there but you are going to hike it, and that might take you 8 hours or more, through woods, over rivers and streams, through ancient villages (sometimes abandoned), up mountain paths, the landscape changes with the hour and it is always glorious. What OnFoot has done is design a walk that is challenging but fun and a feast for the eyes and ears, made even more wonderful by the destinations they have chosen where you arrive at the end of the day. Pension, B&B, hotel or private home, the welcome your receive will be delightful and the food will be outstanding, even in a hamlet you think is in the middle of nowhere. I've eaten meals fit for a 5-star restaurant in Paris. Every location has its own ambiance, and there is nothing like opening your bedroom window and seeing Mt. Blanc in the distance, or hearing a rooster crow in the morning, and smelling the fresh bread cooking in the farmhouse kitchen. All of this is because OnFootHolidays has selected host establishments that have the high hospitality standards OnFootHolidays is looking for for their clients. Hikers and walkers get hungry and tired. They aren't looking to be entertained at night in a nightclub or a dance hall. They don't need palatial accommodations but they need comfort, quiet, and fresh, healthy food. All this is an integral part of an OnFootHoliday walk. On top of all this, OnFootHoliday pricing is incredible value for money. I get brochures from other walking, biking and hiking companies and am incredulous at the prices they charge. Every year I look forward to deciding which OnFootHoliday walk to take. I have never had a disappointing walk, ever, with this firm.

On Foot Holidays by I&C, 6 Nov 2013
Holiday Rating:

Our best-ever Walking Holiday

We would like to say how very much we enjoyed our most recent walk with On Foot Holidays in Italy from Siena to Montepulciano in September. Everything about the trip has left happy memories, whether it was the route, the excellent (and much improved!) narrative instructions which meant there was no chance of losing the way, the varied accommodation and hospitable, helpful hosts, the food and particularly the way in which the journey hung together ...

We would like to say how very much we enjoyed our most recent walk with On Foot Holidays in Italy from Siena to Montepulciano in September. Everything about the trip has left happy memories, whether it was the route, the excellent (and much improved!) narrative instructions which meant there was no chance of losing the way, the varied accommodation and hospitable, helpful hosts, the food and particularly the way in which the journey hung together and its pace and contrasts. We loved the fact that we could trace our route from Monte Oliveti to Montalcino from the top of the fort in the evening light. There were so many photo opportunities every day which contributed to maybe a slower pace for us this year but no day was over long and we always arrived in good time at the hotel to make the most of the town. We particularly enjoyed the day from Bagno Vignoni to Pienza, a day full of surprises indeed, and loved San Quirico and would happily have stayed longer. We will even forgive the uphill climb with which each day concluded, as it was always worth the effort.

Rating for tour operator:

We have travelled with On Foot Holidays on five separate occasions since 2005 visiting Spain, Portugal and Italy. We have seen how their expertise and skill has developed over this time. In our opinion they lead the way in offering diverse, original and well researched routes and accommodation which affords highly committed and personal hospitality. We have also travelled in this period with several other walking holiday providers. On Foot Holidays provide outstanding personal service from the initial enquiry to acting upon customer feedback on return, which gives their travellers a high degree of confidence. Their attention to detail including advice regarding choice of route, accommodation (where an alternative is available), restaurant and local travel options enables an independent walking holiday to be enjoyed without hassle. The proprietor and the long serving and enthusiastic staff walk the routes themselves which helps to ensure the quality of the customers’ experience and to actively develop improvements to each itinerary.

On Foot Holidays - Dubrovnik by lobster1, 6 Nov 2013
Holiday Rating:

Beautiful Coastal Walking.

2 nights in an apartment in Dubrovnik. Then 3 nights in a hotel in Lopud, a visit to Kolpocek and the following 2 nights in a fantastic hotel in Sipin. Lovely coastal walks to do at your own pace. Very comfortable hotels and all very well arranged by On Foot. Somebody on the end of a phone if help needed but left to your own devices for the duration of the holiday.

2 nights in an apartment in Dubrovnik. Then 3 nights in a hotel in Lopud, a visit to Kolpocek and the following 2 nights in a fantastic hotel in Sipin. Lovely coastal walks to do at your own pace. Very comfortable hotels and all very well arranged by On Foot. Somebody on the end of a phone if help needed but left to your own devices for the duration of the holiday.

Rating for tour operator:

Tour operator is On Foot Holidays and this is our 5th time travelling with them so that says it all really. They are very well organised and very helpful, it feels like there is a friend on the other end or the line or email when needed.

On Foot Holidays - Sabine Hills by Lulu, 6 Nov 2013
Holiday Rating:

Self guided walking holiday in Italy

We were a group go 4 australian friends on a self guided walking holiday through the Sabine Hills in Italy. Our holiday was organised by On Foot. Everything went very smoothly...from the booking, to the Company making a few booking changes to accommodate us to the relaxed holiday we enjoyed. The company kept in constant contact when we needed them. The walking notes and maps were excellent. The accommodation was varied and gave us the chance ...

We were a group go 4 australian friends on a self guided walking holiday through the Sabine Hills in Italy. Our holiday was organised by On Foot. Everything went very smoothly...from the booking, to the Company making a few booking changes to accommodate us to the relaxed holiday we enjoyed. The company kept in constant contact when we needed them. The walking notes and maps were excellent. The accommodation was varied and gave us the chance to talk to local people and experience Italian culture. We met the designer and supervisor of the walk and he was wonderfully passionate and interested in our experiences. This was the 2nd holiday we have booked with On Foot and we have enjoyed both holidays.

Rating for tour operator:

Sorry...This is included above.

On Foot Holidays - Austria by Kak, 6 Nov 2013
Holiday Rating:

Challenging walking, terrific scenery

Walking on average, 20k per day in Austria, staying at hotels and having bags moved.

Walking on average, 20k per day in Austria, staying at hotels and having bags moved.

Rating for tour operator:

Efficient, friendly, knowledgeable

On Foot Holidays - Amalfi Coast by PK Harrogate, 6 Nov 2013
Holiday Rating:

Self Guided walking on the Amalfi Coast

Seven days self guided walking in fantastic scenery. We were provided with very comprehensive route maps and notes which covered a variety of grades of walk options, ranging from quite tough to fairly easy. The weather was good throughout and the hotels provided excellent service. Our luggage was moved forward efficiently each day.

Seven days self guided walking in fantastic scenery. We were provided with very comprehensive route maps and notes which covered a variety of grades of walk options, ranging from quite tough to fairly easy. The weather was good throughout and the hotels provided excellent service. Our luggage was moved forward efficiently each day.

Rating for tour operator:

Provided excellent notes and maps for the walking and advice for travelling to and from the UK. We received several personal phone calls from staff before the holiday to make sure we were happy with the arrangements.

On Foot Holidays - Rhine Valley by glenbrook2, 6 Nov 2013
Holiday Rating:

self guided walk along the rhine

we had an amazing time walking from bingen to Koblenz. Probably one of our best holidays ever.On foot holidays were excellent to deal with and had arranged excellent accommodation on route. Our baggage was taken from hotel to hotel. Germany surpassed our expectations. Beautiful scenery almost magical and the germans could not have been more friendlier and kinder. The routes given to us was spot on. We found it challenging at some points but ...

we had an amazing time walking from bingen to Koblenz. Probably one of our best holidays ever.On foot holidays were excellent to deal with and had arranged excellent accommodation on route. Our baggage was taken from hotel to hotel. Germany surpassed our expectations. Beautiful scenery almost magical and the germans could not have been more friendlier and kinder. The routes given to us was spot on. We found it challenging at some points but that only made it more rewarding. The extra information was also helpful and interesting. Have recommended this holiday to all my friends.

Rating for tour operator:

Helpful from beginning to end. Would definitely book with on foot holidays again.

On Foot Holidays - Lycian Coast by Flora, 6 Nov 2013
Holiday Rating:

Flawless organisation of luggage transfers and taxis. We felt confident that, should we need it, help was at hand.

A wonderful self-guided walking holiday through the mountains and by the sea along the Lycian Way in the Spring. The abundant wild flowers and historic sites made it an unforgettable experience.

A wonderful self-guided walking holiday through the mountains and by the sea along the Lycian Way in the Spring. The abundant wild flowers and historic sites made it an unforgettable experience.

Rating for tour operator:

The On Foot team was very helpful in answering our enquiries and supplying useful notes about the region through which we were travelling.

On Foot Holidays - Lycian Coast by Brian and Jake, 6 Nov 2013
Holiday Rating:

Walking Part of the Lycian Way - Turkey

This was a fine self guided walk through the beautiful scenery along part of the Lycian Way - Turkey. Roughly, the walk follows the coast south of Antalya - known as the Turquoise Coast. The organisation and logistics of the holiday were fantastic - working almost like clockwork. And the arranged accommodation was well chosen to be of a consistently high standard, whilst providing widely varying character and interest. The walking was ...

This was a fine self guided walk through the beautiful scenery along part of the Lycian Way - Turkey. Roughly, the walk follows the coast south of Antalya - known as the Turquoise Coast. The organisation and logistics of the holiday were fantastic - working almost like clockwork. And the arranged accommodation was well chosen to be of a consistently high standard, whilst providing widely varying character and interest. The walking was not physically difficult and the days were of sufficient length to challenge us, but leave time and energy for exploring in the evenings or even exploring the archaeological sites passed en-route. We did find that we needed to maintain our whits about us for some of the navigation. A taxi is provided to link part of the route, and a further taxi is needed for the optional walking excursion on the 'rest' day. This could detract from a pure 'A to B' walking experience.

Rating for tour operator:

On Foot Holidays were a pleasure to deal with. The booking process went smoothly, and since all of the holiday arrangements worked like clockwork, there was little need for their further involvement. On the other hand I was left feeling confidents that there was an appropriate organisation on hand if things went wrong. We will certainly have no hesitation of using On Foot Holidays again or of recommending them to others.