AITO: The Association of Independent Tour Operators
On Foot Holidays

On Foot Holidays Traveller Reviews

Reviews of On Foot Holidays

Overall Company Rating
100%
Excellent 1156
Good 6
Average 0
Poor 1
Terrible 1
Reviews Submitted: 1164
Reviews Accepted: 1164
Reviews Rejected: 0
1164 reviews
Sort by:
On Foot Holidays - Amalfi Coast by DJ, 11 Nov 2013
Holiday Rating:

Amalfi coastal walk

I booked a walking holiday in Amalfi with On Foot Holidays and found it all to be excellent, from airport taxis, to luggage transfers, walking instructions, and especially help with upgrading the hotels we stayed at. We now have the bug for walking holidays and will be using On Foot again.

I booked a walking holiday in Amalfi with On Foot Holidays and found it all to be excellent, from airport taxis, to luggage transfers, walking instructions, and especially help with upgrading the hotels we stayed at. We now have the bug for walking holidays and will be using On Foot again.

Rating for tour operator:

As above and very efficient and courteous communications with the staff at On Foot.

On Foot Holidays - Rhine Valley by muzza, 11 Nov 2013
Holiday Rating:

I would rate the overall holiday experience as VERY GOOD.

I decided to book a self-guided Rhine Gorge Walk for September 2013 as part of a European holiday and on my first visit to Germany. Initially I was a little apprehensive about how to travel to the commencement of the Walk following a long flight from Australia. However, my fears were soon dispelled as I had no difficulty in travelling from Frankfurt Airport to the village of Bingen, the commencement of the Walk, using the timetables and inform...

I decided to book a self-guided Rhine Gorge Walk for September 2013 as part of a European holiday and on my first visit to Germany. Initially I was a little apprehensive about how to travel to the commencement of the Walk following a long flight from Australia. However, my fears were soon dispelled as I had no difficulty in travelling from Frankfurt Airport to the village of Bingen, the commencement of the Walk, using the timetables and information provided in the information package. I found that the route taken along the Rhine was historically and geographically interesting, and I enjoyed the varied scenery. The villages along the route were beautiful and I was fortunate to experience a number of annual festivals along the way. Everything went smoothly with luggage transfer and, with one exception, the accommodation was very good in friendly small hotels ( On Foot had indicated in advance that difficulties had been experienced at the location where the accommodation did not meet my expectations).

Rating for tour operator:

This is the third self-guided walk that I have undertaken, and the first I have booked with On Foot Holidays. I found On Foot to be very professional and friendly in responding promptly to my initial and ongoing enquires. The walking notes, including the timetables and information on how to get to the commencement and return from the end of the Walk were accurate and easy to follow. I also found the information booklets which included historic information on the route traversed very useful. I enjoy the concept of self guided walks, and would not hesitate in booking future Walks with On Foot if they operate one in the location I choose for my next European holiday.

On Foot Holidays - Liguria by Eab, 11 Nov 2013
Holiday Rating:

Wonderful walking brilliantly organized

Our first time with On Foot Holidays. Friendly and personal unlike other companies we have been with for independent walking. Easy to follow and informative directions and well chosen hotels. Would travel with them again

Our first time with On Foot Holidays. Friendly and personal unlike other companies we have been with for independent walking. Easy to follow and informative directions and well chosen hotels. Would travel with them again

Rating for tour operator:

Friendly and personal. Well organised

On Foot Holidays - Istria by Damage, 10 Nov 2013
Holiday Rating:

Very relaxing with great views and good accomodation

A walk from Motovun to the coast at Moscenicka Draga. One of the slightly harder walks available from On Foot Holidays. Wonderful countryside and hospitality, with a very relaxing end at Moscenicka Draga.

A walk from Motovun to the coast at Moscenicka Draga. One of the slightly harder walks available from On Foot Holidays. Wonderful countryside and hospitality, with a very relaxing end at Moscenicka Draga.

Rating for tour operator:

On Foot Holidays have always been good, over a period of several years. They are efficient and courteous, both via email, phone and in person. They have been very accomodating with our changing requirements (we had two operators for this holidy and so we made a quite a few changes to align the different parts). Will be booking with them again no doubt.

On Foot Holidays - Amalfi Coast by Tim, 10 Nov 2013
Holiday Rating:

Walking the Amalfi coast

We spent two days in Amalfi exploring the area then walked to Sorrento via Praiana, Positano and Sant Agata. Luggage was transferred for us from hotel to hotel. Three nights in Sorrento enabled us to explore further and visit Herculaneum and Capri.

We spent two days in Amalfi exploring the area then walked to Sorrento via Praiana, Positano and Sant Agata. Luggage was transferred for us from hotel to hotel. Three nights in Sorrento enabled us to explore further and visit Herculaneum and Capri.

Rating for tour operator:

The holiday was extremely well planned and organised by the operators who provided comprehensive notes and information on all aspects of the holiday, from walking notes to area guidebooks to bus timetables and where to eat. Our hotels were all of a very good standard and luggage was transferred onwards for us.Staff are very friendly and helpful when booking and even called us a few days prior to the start of the holiday to check we were happy with all the arrangements and to wish us a great time.

On Foot Holidays - Sabine Hills by Tim, 10 Nov 2013
Holiday Rating:

Charm & efficiency

We have used On Foot Holidays three times. Their organisation has always been faultless; and they are a pleasure to deal with - knowledgeable, flexible, friendly & excellent value. Our latest On Foot trip (to the Sabine Hills in Italy) revealed a stunning landscape that seems to be almost unknown to Romans & foreigners alike. All the accommodation was wonderful - and the food was beyond wonderful. For anyone who likes independent walking, albeit ...

We have used On Foot Holidays three times. Their organisation has always been faultless; and they are a pleasure to deal with - knowledgeable, flexible, friendly & excellent value. Our latest On Foot trip (to the Sabine Hills in Italy) revealed a stunning landscape that seems to be almost unknown to Romans & foreigners alike. All the accommodation was wonderful - and the food was beyond wonderful. For anyone who likes independent walking, albeit armed with a map & detailed directions, On Foot is a must.

Rating for tour operator:

As I've already said: the On Foot team is knowledgeable (which is important for anyone who doesn't already know which particular route they want to walk); flexible (you can start an their itinerary on any date, subject to availability at the accommodation en route); friendly (they are genuinely enthusiastic about their routes); and excellent value (given how much expertise you are buying).

On Foot Holidays - Lycian Coast by Carol, 10 Nov 2013
Holiday Rating:

Brilliant

We walked the Lycian Way with On Foot Holidays. The choice of walks was amazing as was the accommodation. Everything was so well organised for us. The accommodation was second to none as was the service by the majority of staff in the pensions.

We walked the Lycian Way with On Foot Holidays. The choice of walks was amazing as was the accommodation. Everything was so well organised for us. The accommodation was second to none as was the service by the majority of staff in the pensions.

Rating for tour operator:

Attentive - actually rang and e- mailed us in Turkey after a small hiccup with luggage transfer to ensure we were OK.

On Foot Holidays - Tuscany by Happy holiday, 9 Nov 2013
Holiday Rating:

Stunning Tuscany hilltps

A beautiful walk - with exceptional guide notes - as always. Excellent accommodation particularly in Montepulcino. Very untourisy - except in Sienna. Accommodation hosta - as well as being good hosts were very helpful with any suggestions as to what to do or where to go in town we were staying in.

A beautiful walk - with exceptional guide notes - as always. Excellent accommodation particularly in Montepulcino. Very untourisy - except in Sienna. Accommodation hosta - as well as being good hosts were very helpful with any suggestions as to what to do or where to go in town we were staying in.

Rating for tour operator:

We always feel totally confident with this company, that what we have provided will work, and totally confident that if something went wrong -and it never has- they would sort it!

On Foot Holidays - Andalucia by Mr J A 13, 9 Nov 2013
Holiday Rating:

Superbly organised walking holiday

Self-guided walking holiday with baggage transfer between destinations in the Andalucian Sierras. We asked On-Foot to organise everything for us from the moment we got off the aeroplane - and they did! They made several suggestions to help us before the holiday and were at the end of a phone when we managed to get ourselves lost one day! Accommodation and walks were varied but all of an excellent standard. We felt we had a rounded experience ...

Self-guided walking holiday with baggage transfer between destinations in the Andalucian Sierras. We asked On-Foot to organise everything for us from the moment we got off the aeroplane - and they did! They made several suggestions to help us before the holiday and were at the end of a phone when we managed to get ourselves lost one day! Accommodation and walks were varied but all of an excellent standard. We felt we had a rounded experience of life in the mountains of Andalucia,

Rating for tour operator:

On-Foot give a personal service from the moment you contact them. We feel we know the staff personally and they know the details of the holidays we book and the information that is useful to us as travellers. They are willing to organise as little or as much as we ask them to. They even phone us up the week before we go to wish us a happy holiday and to ensure we have everything we need!

On Foot Holidays - Alpes Mmes by Kiwi trekker, 9 Nov 2013
Holiday Rating:

On Foot Holidays review

What they said on the website was what we got - and much more. I was particularly impressed with the in-country support. We had a phone call on our arrival night from this person and he gave us very good information about weather and up do date issues on the walk. The other outstanding thing was the office support from the moment of enquiry right through our arrival in Nice and transfer to the start of our walk.

What they said on the website was what we got - and much more. I was particularly impressed with the in-country support. We had a phone call on our arrival night from this person and he gave us very good information about weather and up do date issues on the walk. The other outstanding thing was the office support from the moment of enquiry right through our arrival in Nice and transfer to the start of our walk.