AITO: The Association of Independent Tour Operators
Naturetrek

Naturetrek Traveller Reviews

Reviews of Naturetrek

Overall Company Rating
99%
Excellent 1618
Good 76
Average 2
Poor 1
Terrible 2
Reviews Submitted: 1699
Reviews Accepted: 1699
Reviews Rejected: 0
1699 reviews
Sort by:
Naturetrek by carly, 19 Jan 2015
Holiday Rating:

Best Christmas ever!

We spent a week in the Camargue over the Christmas period staying in a very friendly hotel in Arles. Out all day from 9-6ish exploring the countryside for birds, roman remains, and a good spot for a picnic lunch or coffee. Excellent weather, if somewhat cold, entertaining companions, excellent guides and the food was very good, too.

We spent a week in the Camargue over the Christmas period staying in a very friendly hotel in Arles. Out all day from 9-6ish exploring the countryside for birds, roman remains, and a good spot for a picnic lunch or coffee. Excellent weather, if somewhat cold, entertaining companions, excellent guides and the food was very good, too.

Rating for tour operator:

Naturetrek has always been very helpful and friendly. The tour guides are specialists happy to share their natural history expertise and equipment. Apart from producing fine dining at picnics they also cope on tour with any setbacks (just occasional transport problems) very well.

Naturetrek by Sharkmeister, 12 Jan 2015
Holiday Rating:

Extremadura Birding

For the most part I was quite satisfied with the trip and saw many new birds. I would have liked more options at dinnertime and fewer people in the vans.

For the most part I was quite satisfied with the trip and saw many new birds. I would have liked more options at dinnertime and fewer people in the vans.

Rating for tour operator:

Naturetrek is a very good operator with good offerings across the globe. The tour leaders were excellent!

Naturetrek by swiftbirder, 6 Jan 2015
Holiday Rating:

Lots of birds with a friendly group

Travelled to the Algarve for Christmas to see the wildlife and enjoy some winter sunshine.

Travelled to the Algarve for Christmas to see the wildlife and enjoy some winter sunshine.

Rating for tour operator:

Easy booking, very good guides and we could change our departure airport.

Naturetrek by Jenny, 20 Dec 2014
Holiday Rating:

Marvellous Mammals in Madagascar

We visited several areas of Madagascar and were treated to sightings of twenty-six different types of Lemur, eleven types of chameleon, various snakes (boas), lizards, butterflies and arachnids. All capped off by encounters with many, many birds, all of which were new to us. Our European guide was a bird expert and our Malagasy guide specialised in Lemurs. We were told that 80% of all Madagascar's wildlife is found only in Madagascar. Another ...

We visited several areas of Madagascar and were treated to sightings of twenty-six different types of Lemur, eleven types of chameleon, various snakes (boas), lizards, butterflies and arachnids. All capped off by encounters with many, many birds, all of which were new to us. Our European guide was a bird expert and our Malagasy guide specialised in Lemurs. We were told that 80% of all Madagascar's wildlife is found only in Madagascar. Another highlight was the different kinds of vegetation that we travelled through, e.g. rainforest, spiny forest, a cactus garden and the wonderful baobab trees.

Rating for tour operator:

We found Naturetrek to be extremely helpful and accommodating. Early on they agreed for our tour to go ahead even though there were less than minimum numbers to make it viable for them because we were travelling a long distance and needed to book our flights well in advance to guarantee that we could be there. By the time of the tour, we did just reach minimum numbers and we were treated to an excellent European guide as well as a Malagasy guide. All our communication with the company was handled very efficiently and promptly.

Brazil - Just Jaguars! by Colly, 5 Dec 2014
Holiday Rating:

Wildlife Holiday

The holiday to The Pantanal area of Brazil was an amazing wildlife experience. We travelled mainly in an open truck, and started viewing wildlife within a short time of leaving the airport, we saw 172 species of birds including several sightings of the magnificent Hyacinth Macaws. Staying on the Flotel was an ideal base to travel the water ways to see Jaguars and other wildlife of the area. Our Tour Guide Marcos Felix, was extremely knowledg...

The holiday to The Pantanal area of Brazil was an amazing wildlife experience. We travelled mainly in an open truck, and started viewing wildlife within a short time of leaving the airport, we saw 172 species of birds including several sightings of the magnificent Hyacinth Macaws. Staying on the Flotel was an ideal base to travel the water ways to see Jaguars and other wildlife of the area. Our Tour Guide Marcos Felix, was extremely knowledgeable and was keen for his clients to see what the Pantanal had to offer.

Rating for tour operator:

Naturetrek, organized a very good tour. Transfers were good and on time. An add-on to Iguazu National Park was well organized with a personalized birding guide to take care of us. We would recommend Naturetrek as good wildlife Tour Operator.

Naturetrek by Alison, 2 Dec 2014
Holiday Rating:

Top class lodge and bird guide

The lodge and cabins were first rate everything you would need was in the cabin. The restaurant had a large varied menu for breakfast lunch and dinner and the staff were very helpful and friendly. Would get tea coffee freshly squeezed fruit juice at any time. Full breakfast menu available for early bird watchers breakfasts at 6 am The bird guide we had Esdras was very knowledgeable friendly and very helpful making sure all the group saw all ...

The lodge and cabins were first rate everything you would need was in the cabin. The restaurant had a large varied menu for breakfast lunch and dinner and the staff were very helpful and friendly. Would get tea coffee freshly squeezed fruit juice at any time. Full breakfast menu available for early bird watchers breakfasts at 6 am The bird guide we had Esdras was very knowledgeable friendly and very helpful making sure all the group saw all the birds. Excellent programme of visits to various birding sites and walks round Pico Bonito trails. Would recommend a stay at this lodge to anyone wanting a peaceful holiday with lots of wildlife

Rating for tour operator:

Very well organised trip to a little known birding location of Honduras. A top rate lodge for the 8 night stay evolving not too much traveling to the various sites for birding. Great to have a birding trip with a one centre base especially as the cabins at Pico Bonito catered for all your needs

Naturetrek by Mr p w 14, 27 Nov 2014
Holiday Rating:

the search for ecuador bird families

we visited mindo for three days then down to sani lodge for three days and finished in valcabamba again for three days we saw the six families we asked for and altogether we saw 363 species including 8 antpittas 6 owls and over 30 tanagers to mention a few.

we visited mindo for three days then down to sani lodge for three days and finished in valcabamba again for three days we saw the six families we asked for and altogether we saw 363 species including 8 antpittas 6 owls and over 30 tanagers to mention a few.

Rating for tour operator:

the ground operaters in ecuador where outstanding the guides they arranged for us where again outstanding nothing was to much cannot speak highly enough of them thanks naturetrek and neblina forest.

Naturetrek by skuller53, 27 Nov 2014
Holiday Rating:

Corsica in Autumn

We had a guided tour of north-west Corsica in September 2014. The guide was excellent and very knowledgable especially about the flora on the Island. We had spent a week on our own before joining the Naturetrek tour, and as we spent more time with our guide the more we understood the history and way of life on the island. Nothing was too much trouble for the guide and he was very happy to help all the members of the party to enjoy the week. ...

We had a guided tour of north-west Corsica in September 2014. The guide was excellent and very knowledgable especially about the flora on the Island. We had spent a week on our own before joining the Naturetrek tour, and as we spent more time with our guide the more we understood the history and way of life on the island. Nothing was too much trouble for the guide and he was very happy to help all the members of the party to enjoy the week. We had a lot of bird watchers in the party and our guide was very good at getting some very lively and fun debates going in the evening. All in all very good holiday and we would definitely use this tour company again and we would like to return to Corsica.

Rating for tour operator:

WE wanted to spend an extra week on Corsica and Natjretrek were very helpful arranging flights and keeping us informed about how and where to meet the rest of the party. would very happily use them in the future.

Naturetrek by P R Hill, 25 Nov 2014
Holiday Rating:

Best Activity Holiday I Have Been On

The holiday was a birdwatching trip to North West Ecuador covering the areas east and west of the Andes. Accommodation was at Lodges set up for Birding / Wildlife enthusiasts all of which were superb with fantastic amenities, comfortable rooms and the food throughout was plentiful, fresh and of a really good quality. The guide Alejandro Solano was top class, as good if not better than any guide I have been with. I would certainly book an holiday ...

The holiday was a birdwatching trip to North West Ecuador covering the areas east and west of the Andes. Accommodation was at Lodges set up for Birding / Wildlife enthusiasts all of which were superb with fantastic amenities, comfortable rooms and the food throughout was plentiful, fresh and of a really good quality. The guide Alejandro Solano was top class, as good if not better than any guide I have been with. I would certainly book an holiday just because he was the guide on it.

Rating for tour operator:

The holiday was booked through Naturetrek. This was the first time I have been with them and I would not hesitate to book with them again. I spoke to a few members of staff on the telephone and all were very helpful. They even booked us to depart from a local airport without us having to ask which was much appreciated. When arriving in Ecuador their local agents could not do enough for you.

Naturetrek by Aussie Jane, 25 Nov 2014
Holiday Rating:

Superb wildlife encounters aided by enthusiastic and well organised guides

I went on the nature trek lemur tour in Madagascar and aided by the knowledgeable guides we had superb views of a huge array of wildlife including lemurs , boas Giraffe necked weevil, the elusive fossa and numerous bird species. We visited a number of the national parks and reserves as well as some conservation projects and a paper making project. We travelled in a minibus and stayed in hotels and lodges which varied in standard but were all ...

I went on the nature trek lemur tour in Madagascar and aided by the knowledgeable guides we had superb views of a huge array of wildlife including lemurs , boas Giraffe necked weevil, the elusive fossa and numerous bird species. We visited a number of the national parks and reserves as well as some conservation projects and a paper making project. We travelled in a minibus and stayed in hotels and lodges which varied in standard but were all quite acceptable and very comfortable. Loads of lovely food and the meals were very social I had a great trip !

Rating for tour operator:

The trip was very well organised and the very enthusiastic guides were flexible in trying to meet every bodies expectations I had a super time and would use nature trek again and would love to re visit Madagascar and saviour more of its unique biodiversity