AITO: The Association of Independent Tour Operators
Naturetrek

Naturetrek Traveller Reviews

Reviews of Naturetrek

Overall Company Rating
99%
Excellent 3024
Good 137
Average 4
Poor 3
Terrible 2
Reviews Submitted: 3170
Reviews Accepted: 3170
Reviews Rejected: 0
3170 reviews
Sort by:
Naturetrek by Clive, 9 May 2024
Holiday Rating:

A lovely time in Tuscany

A week staying in an agrotourism hotel in the Maremma National park. Beautiful setting, delightful atmosphere.

A week staying in an agrotourism hotel in the Maremma National park. Beautiful setting, delightful atmosphere.

Rating for tour operator:

Naturetrek organised a very successful holiday with expert leaders showing us the wildlife of the area as well as its culture.

Naturetrek by PURPLE HERON, 9 May 2024
Holiday Rating:

Everything we wanted

We received excellent guidance, useful information and saw many things new to us.

We received excellent guidance, useful information and saw many things new to us.

Rating for tour operator:

Very helpful and nothing was too much trouble

Naturetrek by Mrs S P 24, 9 May 2024
Holiday Rating:

Above and beyond expectations

Slovenia: Bears, Birds and Caves with Naturetrek Good local accommodation with great food. Above all a superb, knowledgeable and enthusiastic guide. The guide knew all the best places to visit and made appropriate changes to the plans based on weather conditions and information from contacts. We saw 9 bears from the hide and numerous passerines would would never have found without his experience.

Slovenia: Bears, Birds and Caves with Naturetrek Good local accommodation with great food. Above all a superb, knowledgeable and enthusiastic guide. The guide knew all the best places to visit and made appropriate changes to the plans based on weather conditions and information from contacts. We saw 9 bears from the hide and numerous passerines would would never have found without his experience.

Rating for tour operator:

Naturetrek. They are full of information and patient in the face of numerous questions from first time travelers. Documentation was provided in a timely manner.

Naturetrek by JiN and Tonic, 8 May 2024
Holiday Rating:

Wildlife (Birds) and Archeology in Equal Measure

Wonderful two weeks in Jordan exploring their many and diverse wildlife reserves. As the Spring migration was in full swing with an estimated 3,000 Levant Sparrowhawkes one morning and lots of Steppe & Honey Buzzards. Camping in Wadi Rum captivated by the stunning desert landscape with tea poured for us by the Bedouin as the sun went down, searching for scorpions using UV flash ligtht, and of course the pretty Sinai Rosefinch. Petra is all ...

Wonderful two weeks in Jordan exploring their many and diverse wildlife reserves. As the Spring migration was in full swing with an estimated 3,000 Levant Sparrowhawkes one morning and lots of Steppe & Honey Buzzards. Camping in Wadi Rum captivated by the stunning desert landscape with tea poured for us by the Bedouin as the sun went down, searching for scorpions using UV flash ligtht, and of course the pretty Sinai Rosefinch. Petra is all it has been cracked up to be, a magnificent Nabatean city carved into the sandstone approximately 2,300 years ago - incredible place - lots of walking but plenty to drink along the way. The ruins of ancient Jerash and the many castles/ monuments visited on our travels gave a meaningful sense of Jordanian history and place.

Rating for tour operator:

Naturetrek always delivers an excellent programme of adventures, whether Go-Slow trips in one location or more far flung destinations with a demanding schedule. I found our trip to Jordan to be well organised, with good information before hand as to what to expect. Our tour guide on the Jordan trip lead with relaxed, patient assertiveness. Amazing ear for bird song/calls, knowledge of the wildlife in Jordan and indeed Jordan in general, as well as a geological background.

Naturetrek by 40Spotted, 8 May 2024
Holiday Rating:

Naturetrek holiday in Spain

We spent 8 days in central Spain at two wonderful locations, chosen for their biodiversity.

We spent 8 days in central Spain at two wonderful locations, chosen for their biodiversity.

Rating for tour operator:

Naturetrek organises wonderful holidays for travellers wanting to learn more about the natural history of an area. Tours are carefully designed and the guides are always excellent, both as 'people wranglers' and as experts in their field of biology.

Naturetrek by Ancienprof, 8 May 2024
Holiday Rating:

Up close with nature in Extremadura at a special time of the year

Wonderful opportunity to experience nature up close in Extrememadura, one of Spain's jewels, at a very special time of the year when the countryside is burgeoning with spring flowers and with plenty of bird life. We loved the accommodation in a comfortable finca where the hosts were exceptional and the food and wine gave us a full flavour of Spain. The guides were like knowledgeable companions sharing with us their knowledge of the local nature ...

Wonderful opportunity to experience nature up close in Extrememadura, one of Spain's jewels, at a very special time of the year when the countryside is burgeoning with spring flowers and with plenty of bird life. We loved the accommodation in a comfortable finca where the hosts were exceptional and the food and wine gave us a full flavour of Spain. The guides were like knowledgeable companions sharing with us their knowledge of the local nature and of Spain as a whole.

Rating for tour operator:

Naturetrek were excellent at showcasing their holiday when we were in the planning stage and followed this up with prompt and full communication at all stages. Faultless.

Naturetrek by Downunder, 8 May 2024
Holiday Rating:

Superb opportunity to see Southern Australian wildlife

This was a tailor made tour to fit into our travel arrangements to see family in New Zealand. All the travel arrangements were smooth. We travelled as a married couple, and was met by our transfer driver and a guide at Melbourne Airport. We had a useful chat on the way to our hotel as to what to see in Melbourne for the rest of day. We were given plenty of information and maps. We spent the afternoon exploring Melbourne. Next day the guide for ...

This was a tailor made tour to fit into our travel arrangements to see family in New Zealand. All the travel arrangements were smooth. We travelled as a married couple, and was met by our transfer driver and a guide at Melbourne Airport. We had a useful chat on the way to our hotel as to what to see in Melbourne for the rest of day. We were given plenty of information and maps. We spent the afternoon exploring Melbourne. Next day the guide for our trip to East Gippsland met us . We were able to tell him what we wanted ( “To see a platypus in the wild”). He went out of his way to accommodate us in all our aspirations, within a short while we were amongst the kangaroos, koalas, and birds. Seeing a Echidna close up was extra special ( and all on the first day ). We flew out to Lake Mungo, again being greeted by another guide who also was very accommodative to our wishes. So much to see. I especially appreciated playing ‘hide and seek’ with an Emu - a memorable experience, thanks to our guide. We had a super time viewing the birds and mammals of South Australia, with a little bit of native culture thrown in as well. The accommodation, travel, and food was excellent. Naturetrek kindly arranged our flights to New Zealand, within New Zealand, and then back to the UK. A great organisation to make this trip stress free and so memorable. Yes, we saw a Platypus on two out of three of our efforts to find one. Somewhat of a life time ambition.

Rating for tour operator:

Naturetrek have always given us a stress free holiday. Their pre-flight departure information is excellent. We like the included meals. All the travel arrangements are smooth. Their guides are first class. We will be travelling with them again.

Naturetrek by Louise, 8 May 2024
Holiday Rating:

Wonderful week on the Isles of Scilly

We went with a group of people bird watching primarily., but also some lovely boat trips to the other islands. We were lucky with the weather being dry but a cold north wind did keep some of the birds away. Still plenty to see and do, and a very relaxing week early in the season before it gets too busy.

We went with a group of people bird watching primarily., but also some lovely boat trips to the other islands. We were lucky with the weather being dry but a cold north wind did keep some of the birds away. Still plenty to see and do, and a very relaxing week early in the season before it gets too busy.

Rating for tour operator:

Naturetrek is a specialist wildlife tour operator that we have used on many occasions from holidays in the UK to South America. All expertly led by experienced and competent leaders. If a problem occurs, the office efficiently sort it.

Naturetrek by MS, 7 May 2024
Holiday Rating:

Panama Canopy Tower and Canopy Lodge Birdwatching

I enjoyed the different environments, from jungles, beaches, mountains and gardens. And of course the birds. I would never have seen or heard so many wonderful species without the help of the guides and other trip participants. I love hummingbirds and other tropical birds. The trip met my expectations. I also enjoy going on your holidays with mainly British participants!

I enjoyed the different environments, from jungles, beaches, mountains and gardens. And of course the birds. I would never have seen or heard so many wonderful species without the help of the guides and other trip participants. I love hummingbirds and other tropical birds. The trip met my expectations. I also enjoy going on your holidays with mainly British participants!

Rating for tour operator:

Naturetrek service was quick and concise. They found a single spot for me when it wasn’t originally available when I first inquired. Alexis the guide was friendly, knowledgeable, persistent and patient. He was always calling me over to the scope to make sure I saw the birds well. He took some photos through the scope for me. Eric was a new guide who helped at the Tower and was excellent, too.

Naturetrek by Kathy from Australia, 3 May 2024
Holiday Rating:

Galapagos: An unforgettable adventure

The world of the Galapagos was revealed to travellers by a remarkable guide, Darwin, who guardianship of these islands is evident in his depth of knowledge and delight in sharing their home. It has been an unforgettable and moving experience.

The world of the Galapagos was revealed to travellers by a remarkable guide, Darwin, who guardianship of these islands is evident in his depth of knowledge and delight in sharing their home. It has been an unforgettable and moving experience.

Rating for tour operator:

Highly professional. Our group was met at every point in this holiday by competent, local staff. Every need was met with courtesy and respect. The only surprise on the thoroughly well-organised itinerary was its delivery beyond my wildest dreams.