AITO: The Association of Independent Tour Operators
Naturetrek

Naturetrek Traveller Reviews

Reviews of Naturetrek

Overall Company Rating
99%
Excellent 1532
Good 75
Average 1
Poor 1
Terrible 2
Reviews Submitted: 1611
Reviews Accepted: 1611
Reviews Rejected: 0
1611 reviews
Sort by:
Naturetrek by DB, 14 Dec 2020
Holiday Rating:

Expert leader for Pagham Harbour tour

We had a day trip with Naturetrek, at Pagham Harbour. We were led with great expertise and care and thoroughly enjoyed the chance to see and hear up to 60 species of bird. Lots of photo opportunities, too.

We had a day trip with Naturetrek, at Pagham Harbour. We were led with great expertise and care and thoroughly enjoyed the chance to see and hear up to 60 species of bird. Lots of photo opportunities, too.

Rating for tour operator:

Naturetrek - expert in wildlife tours and always great value and learning from being with their tour leaders.

Naturetrek by Larry, 14 Dec 2020
Holiday Rating:

Spectacular Murmuration

We went for a day trip to the Somerset Levels. We were guided by Oliver Smart who was extremely knowledgeable and helpful and we saw and heard some very exciting birds. It culminated in a wonderful starling murmuration, and Oliver found us two very good vantage points.

We went for a day trip to the Somerset Levels. We were guided by Oliver Smart who was extremely knowledgeable and helpful and we saw and heard some very exciting birds. It culminated in a wonderful starling murmuration, and Oliver found us two very good vantage points.

Rating for tour operator:

This is the only experience I have had of Naturetrek, but, based on that, I would certainly book with them again.

Naturetrek by Diana J, 14 Dec 2020
Holiday Rating:

London's Walthamstow Wetlands

Our second day trip with Naturetrek in the UK. We were very fortunate to have Ben Chapple as our guide, he is superb. His knowledge of the natural world is immense, he is friendly and is excellent company. We had a great day and enjoyed visiting a part of London that we were unfamiliar with.

Our second day trip with Naturetrek in the UK. We were very fortunate to have Ben Chapple as our guide, he is superb. His knowledge of the natural world is immense, he is friendly and is excellent company. We had a great day and enjoyed visiting a part of London that we were unfamiliar with.

Rating for tour operator:

Naturetrek are a highly professional and knowledgeable operator to book any tour with. I wouldn't hesitate in recommending them.

Naturetrek by Valerie, 13 Dec 2020
Holiday Rating:

Naturetrek - Norfolk - Grey Seals & Wintering Birds

It was great, and the ‘leader’ was excellent - very knowledgeable and interesting. It was a super day, with a super group

It was great, and the ‘leader’ was excellent - very knowledgeable and interesting. It was a super day, with a super group

Rating for tour operator:

Naturetrek is an excellent company and this was my 4th trip with them (others were Sweden, Azores, Serengeti). I am already booked for another late next year (Kenya). Very good for single travellers.

Naturetrek by Amadeus, 12 Dec 2020
Holiday Rating:

Excellent Norfolk Day Trip

Excellent day trip with Seals, Marsh Harriers, three different swans and an Iceland Gull as a bonus. Well led and organised and really delivered.

Excellent day trip with Seals, Marsh Harriers, three different swans and an Iceland Gull as a bonus. Well led and organised and really delivered.

Rating for tour operator:

I have now completed three day trips with Naturetrek. All three guides have been excellent, knowledgeable and able to find the birds and the trips have been well organised. I had a trip to Spain cancelled this year due to COVID and Naturetrek dealt with this very professionally and helpfully so I decided to postpone to next year. Their communication is excellent.

Naturetrek by Rara, 11 Dec 2020
Holiday Rating:

A perfect day out.

We took this one day trip to Mansands and the River Dart after the monotony of the second lockdown. Mike Langman was an excellent leader and knew the area well. The day was made by the exceptional weather for early December. Sunny, mild and very little wind for most of the time. The arrangements with Sean the boat skipper went well. We had some good bird sightings as well as breaching dolphins. The arrng

We took this one day trip to Mansands and the River Dart after the monotony of the second lockdown. Mike Langman was an excellent leader and knew the area well. The day was made by the exceptional weather for early December. Sunny, mild and very little wind for most of the time. The arrangements with Sean the boat skipper went well. We had some good bird sightings as well as breaching dolphins. The arrng

Rating for tour operator:

The organisations was good and adherence to Covid protocols excellent.

Naturetrek by Anna, 10 Dec 2020
Holiday Rating:

Bird watching in the New Forest, UK.

It was a crisp and sunny day with little wind so an ideal day to be out in the Forest. Dominic Couzens, our tour leader for the day, arrived just before we did and as soon as we walked with him away from the car park we were delighted to begin seeing birds that we would not otherwise have seen. His knowledge of the Forest, the birds and their habitat was comprehensive and we couldn't have wished for more. During the day, Mr Couzens introduced ...

It was a crisp and sunny day with little wind so an ideal day to be out in the Forest. Dominic Couzens, our tour leader for the day, arrived just before we did and as soon as we walked with him away from the car park we were delighted to begin seeing birds that we would not otherwise have seen. His knowledge of the Forest, the birds and their habitat was comprehensive and we couldn't have wished for more. During the day, Mr Couzens introduced us to a variety of sites (with short drives in between and plenty of walking) tailoring the day to our preferences and what we were likely to see where (e.g. hawfinches, goldcrests, coal tits, marsh tits, Dartford warblers), also mentioning other species (e.g. woodcock, goshawks, crossbills and hen harriers) that we might see on a return visit. Oh and of course, we saw plenty of ponies and donkeys as well as pigs and deer, all foraging the landscape. Our second day trip. We will certainly look out for more

Rating for tour operator:

Specialists in natural history holidays, Naturetrek has responded to the pandemic's restrictions with local day trip excursions choosing places of interest and providing excellent tour leaders.

Naturetrek by PamC , 10 Dec 2020
Holiday Rating:

An excellent and informative day's birdwatching on foot and a river cruise

It is amazing just how many birds can be seen on a very cold but sunny day in South Devon. Small birds included Firecrest and Goldcrest, Cirl Bunting and Chiffchaff; also large birds such as Buzzard and a Peregrine Falcon. And during the cruise on the River Dart we were spoiled for choice; Grey Herons, Egrets, Oystercatchers, Redshank and many more, and a grey seal loitering on a pontoon. But the prize of the day goes to the Great Northern Diver ...

It is amazing just how many birds can be seen on a very cold but sunny day in South Devon. Small birds included Firecrest and Goldcrest, Cirl Bunting and Chiffchaff; also large birds such as Buzzard and a Peregrine Falcon. And during the cruise on the River Dart we were spoiled for choice; Grey Herons, Egrets, Oystercatchers, Redshank and many more, and a grey seal loitering on a pontoon. But the prize of the day goes to the Great Northern Diver which was happy to entertain us for 10 minutes or more. Our tour leader was excellent in giving us tips on how to distinguish between similar birds by sight and sound. And being a local to the area he also gave us some history about places that we visited both on foot and on the river trip.

Rating for tour operator:

I have been on many holidays with Naturetrek and always found the organization of the tour to be excellent, and the tour leaders very knowledgable. The choice of destinations is worldwide and well chosen.

Naturetrek by Miss S M 20, 10 Dec 2020
Holiday Rating:

The wildlife of Otmoor

A dull and misty day which seemed very unpromising at first but Jessica's keen and expert eye managed to find 46 species going about their everyday business whatever the weather. In spite of the cold the day passed all too quickly, and with a grand finale of starlings murmuring into the reeds at dusk, we made the most of the light we had.

A dull and misty day which seemed very unpromising at first but Jessica's keen and expert eye managed to find 46 species going about their everyday business whatever the weather. In spite of the cold the day passed all too quickly, and with a grand finale of starlings murmuring into the reeds at dusk, we made the most of the light we had.

Rating for tour operator:

Brilliant

Naturetrek by KarenP, 8 Dec 2020
Holiday Rating:

The Somerset Levels (Day Trip). A great experience

A very enjoyable day led by Chris Griffin. He shared his in depth knowledge of the area and wildlife. We saw so much more than had we been on our own. Chris identified all the birds many of which we would have missed without his guidance.

A very enjoyable day led by Chris Griffin. He shared his in depth knowledge of the area and wildlife. We saw so much more than had we been on our own. Chris identified all the birds many of which we would have missed without his guidance.

Rating for tour operator:

Naturetrek is a tour operator that cares about its customers and has great customer service. We have been on a few of their holidays and will go with them again.