AITO: The Association of Independent Tour Operators
Naturetrek

Naturetrek Traveller Reviews

Reviews of Naturetrek

Overall Company Rating
99%
Excellent 1397
Good 66
Average 1
Poor 1
Terrible 2
Reviews Submitted: 1467
Reviews Accepted: 1467
Reviews Rejected: 0
1467 reviews
Sort by:
Naturetrek by Camcarol, 24 Jul 2020
Holiday Rating:

A very enjoyable and informative day out.

A day of Dragonfly hunting with Martin Pitt resulted in some stunning discoveries. We met the Emperor and his lesser subject but they were too active to pose for a photo. Not to worry, because many of his relatives were pleased to pose! Martin found the incredibly rare....and minute Bog Orchid For us. It took me a while to see it even when pointed out! There was so much else to see during the day including a Dartford Warbler, Common Lizard and ...

A day of Dragonfly hunting with Martin Pitt resulted in some stunning discoveries. We met the Emperor and his lesser subject but they were too active to pose for a photo. Not to worry, because many of his relatives were pleased to pose! Martin found the incredibly rare....and minute Bog Orchid For us. It took me a while to see it even when pointed out! There was so much else to see during the day including a Dartford Warbler, Common Lizard and several species of butterfly. The areas covered were outstandingly beautiful and I went home tired, but very happy!

Rating for tour operator:

Without Martin, I would probably have missed a lot of the tiny wildlife jewels that he pointed out and identified for us. He was very knowledgable and happy to answer our many questions about the wildlife and the area.

Naturetrek by Cum.bri.an, 22 Jul 2020
Holiday Rating:

Naturetrek day trip to Smardale Gill and Waitby Greenriggs Cumbria w. t. reserves.

A brilliant day out with expert guide Russ Hedley. He was expert in many fields: birds; wildflowers ; butterflies; fungi and arthropods. He enquired about members interests and made sure everyone saw what he found. The day was unhurried with a good location for packed lunch. He obviously knew the reserves very well.

A brilliant day out with expert guide Russ Hedley. He was expert in many fields: birds; wildflowers ; butterflies; fungi and arthropods. He enquired about members interests and made sure everyone saw what he found. The day was unhurried with a good location for packed lunch. He obviously knew the reserves very well.

Rating for tour operator:

Naturetrek day trips

Naturetrek by Epimedium, 19 Jul 2020
Holiday Rating:

Day trip to Ashdown Forest for birds, dragonflies and butterflies was thoughtfully planned and very interesting.

Introduced to birdwatching and made aware of several species of dragonflies and damselflies as well as methods of identifying butterflies

Introduced to birdwatching and made aware of several species of dragonflies and damselflies as well as methods of identifying butterflies

Rating for tour operator:

Well planned tours with excellent, knowledgeable leaders. Administration is first rate.

Naturetrek by Pepco, 17 Jul 2020
Holiday Rating:

Enjoyable day trip

Matt Eade, our tour guide, was excellent in locating a variety of birds during our day trip to Ashdown Forest. His listening and spotting skills invaluable to discovering the wildlife. Not only did he succeed in my challenge to spot certain species (a dartford warbler at last), his knowledge of bird identification skills, and dragonfly behaviour really enhanced our experience. A very enjoyable day.

Matt Eade, our tour guide, was excellent in locating a variety of birds during our day trip to Ashdown Forest. His listening and spotting skills invaluable to discovering the wildlife. Not only did he succeed in my challenge to spot certain species (a dartford warbler at last), his knowledge of bird identification skills, and dragonfly behaviour really enhanced our experience. A very enjoyable day.

Rating for tour operator:

Excellent communication throughout the booking process.

Naturetrek by Natalie, 17 Jul 2020
Holiday Rating:

Day trip birding in the New Forest

An extremely enjoyable day spent with Dominic Couzens an expert in his field. our group of 6 saw hobbies, redstarts, hawfinches and many more species. The real highlight for me was a firecrest, which I hadn't seen before. Dominic was a mine of information, pointing out wild flowers and dragonflies as well as giving us lots of tips like how to distinguish a honey buzzard from a common buzzard.

An extremely enjoyable day spent with Dominic Couzens an expert in his field. our group of 6 saw hobbies, redstarts, hawfinches and many more species. The real highlight for me was a firecrest, which I hadn't seen before. Dominic was a mine of information, pointing out wild flowers and dragonflies as well as giving us lots of tips like how to distinguish a honey buzzard from a common buzzard.

Rating for tour operator:

Naturetrek are excellent. Their knowledgeable guides make the trips so rewarding.

Naturetrek by Alan, 17 Jul 2020
Holiday Rating:

Day birding trip in The Peak District

Guided birding trip in The Peak District. Saw excellent selection of birds with the added bonus of the visiting Bearded Vulture! Matthew our guide found us the birds we wanted to see but also talked enthusiastically about many aspects of nature and conservation and the history of the area.

Guided birding trip in The Peak District. Saw excellent selection of birds with the added bonus of the visiting Bearded Vulture! Matthew our guide found us the birds we wanted to see but also talked enthusiastically about many aspects of nature and conservation and the history of the area.

Rating for tour operator:

Great Trip organised by Naturetrek

Naturetrek by JudyM, 16 Jul 2020
Holiday Rating:

A day out on Dartmoor with an expert naturalist

A walking tour across varied habitats on Dartmoor led by an expert naturalist with a great local knowledge.

A walking tour across varied habitats on Dartmoor led by an expert naturalist with a great local knowledge.

Rating for tour operator:

Offers a wide range of holidays to suit different interests in the natural world. Wisely put on local day trips to make up for the many overseas holidays that have had to be cancelled this year.

Naturetrek by Joan, 26 May 2020
Holiday Rating:

This is to say how brilliantly Naturetrek handled the covid-19 crisis and its effect on my holiday

I was due to go to the Austrian Alps for the scenery, wildlife and plants. It all looked lovely, but was cancelled because of covid-19.

I was due to go to the Austrian Alps for the scenery, wildlife and plants. It all looked lovely, but was cancelled because of covid-19.

Rating for tour operator:

I would like to say how wonderful Naturetrek has been throughout this difficult time. I really appreciated not being asked to pay the balance of my holiday when it became due, and they waited until it became clear what was happening, and gave the option of a refund. I will definitely travel with Naturetrek when the threat of covid-19 has been removed.

Naturetrek by Jenny T, 9 May 2020
Holiday Rating:

A successful search for the elusive wildcat in the Spanish Pyrenees

I spent 5 superb days in the spectacular Spanish Pyrenees, searching for the elusive wildcat which we saw twice from a distance, which was a big thrill. Our guides, Javi and Pablo, were excellent, and I enjoyed finding out about some of the myths and customs of the area. Our accommodation in the village of Burgui was wonderful, as was the food. As wrell as the scenery, we saw lots of birds. It was a trip to remember.

I spent 5 superb days in the spectacular Spanish Pyrenees, searching for the elusive wildcat which we saw twice from a distance, which was a big thrill. Our guides, Javi and Pablo, were excellent, and I enjoyed finding out about some of the myths and customs of the area. Our accommodation in the village of Burgui was wonderful, as was the food. As wrell as the scenery, we saw lots of birds. It was a trip to remember.

Rating for tour operator:

Naturetrek is my favourite travel company. They always make sure the accommodation is excellent, and employ wonderful and knowledgeable guides.

Naturetrek by Snap happy, 5 Apr 2020
Holiday Rating:

Relaxing

A good range of different habitats. The food was excellent. Lovely rooms, a little on the hot side.

A good range of different habitats. The food was excellent. Lovely rooms, a little on the hot side.

Rating for tour operator:

Good communication with timely information