AITO: The Association of Independent Tour Operators
Naturetrek

Naturetrek Traveller Reviews

Reviews of Naturetrek

Overall Company Rating
99%
Excellent 1005
Good 56
Average 1
Poor 1
Terrible 2
Reviews Submitted: 1065
Reviews Accepted: 1065
Reviews Rejected: 0
1065 reviews
Sort by:
Naturetrek by Matthew, 7 Nov 2018
Holiday Rating:

A wonderful adventure through Northern Botswana

We spent 7 days on Safari through Botswana's Kalahari Desert, and the Okavango Delta. We were excellently guided and taken care of by the tour staff, and were incredibly lucky, spotting many Leopards, Lions, and Wild Dogs.

We spent 7 days on Safari through Botswana's Kalahari Desert, and the Okavango Delta. We were excellently guided and taken care of by the tour staff, and were incredibly lucky, spotting many Leopards, Lions, and Wild Dogs.

Rating for tour operator:

Shadrek was a knowledgeable leader who opened our eyes to the wonderful natural landscapes and wildlife of the region. He was organised, and full of brilliant stories of his youth, growing up in Botswana.

Reviewer's images:
Naturetrek by Doris, 6 Nov 2018
Holiday Rating:

Truly close-up encounters with wildlife and nature at its best

The initial part of our holiday was a group tour to Borneo staying at 3 different lodges with the main aim of finding Orang- utans in the wild. We then added on an extension to Gaya Island staying at the Bunga Raya resort. The group element was everything we could have hoped for; the guides, Tim and Hazwan were extremely knowledgeable and accommodating. The group (8 in total) was an ideal combination and despite the wide age range we complimented ...

The initial part of our holiday was a group tour to Borneo staying at 3 different lodges with the main aim of finding Orang- utans in the wild. We then added on an extension to Gaya Island staying at the Bunga Raya resort. The group element was everything we could have hoped for; the guides, Tim and Hazwan were extremely knowledgeable and accommodating. The group (8 in total) was an ideal combination and despite the wide age range we complimented each other perfectly due to our joint passion for seeing wildlife in its natural habitat. The first lodge we stayed at was Sepilock Nature Reserve. The quality of the food and accommodation was excellent and the setting was stunning. We saw interesting birds and monitor lizards from our balcony. On an impromptu early evening stroll we were amazed to encounter our first wild orang-utans and male and female thrashing about in the trees above us looking for a suitable nesting site for the night. The following day was spent visiting the Sepilock orang-utan santuary where we had plenty of close-up sightings or orangs and macaques plus an array of beautiful birds. The second lodge we stayed at, Sakau Rainforest Lodge was situated on the Kinabatangan River. Although the accommodation was fairly basic the food and location more than made up for it. Early morning and evening boat trips took us almost within touching distance of amazing birds and families of monkeys - it was highly entertaining watching their behaviour and listen to their vocal communication. Just outside the rooms there were often incredible butterflies enjoying the nectar from the various flowering shrubs. The journey to the Danum Valley Lodge was all part of the adventure with many manmade bridges to cross and wildlife to spot on the way. The Lodge itself was absolutely stunning and clearly well thought out, located on the edge of a river with a panoramic view across the valley and high sided forest. The accommodation was excellent and the food was out of this world and catered for a wide pallet. There was just not enough room in my stomach to do it all justice and I still think about it. The extensive programme of walks and open vehicle rides delivered multiple wildlife sightings including several orang-utans, other primate, hornbills, lizards, birds, snakes, civets, amazing insects and frogs. Much of the wildlife was spotted around the grounds of the Lodge including a large male orang-utan which came down a tree right in front of us and went on his way. Perhaps the most fascinating experience we were treated to was viewed from the lodge grounds in the trees the other side of the river. A gibbon and and binterong were feeding on fruit on the same tree and started squabbling and teasing each other - this went on for a good hour and was truly a David Attenborough experience. Luckly we with the aid of our guide's scope we were able to get close up views. On the whole our experience at Bunga Raya was a good one. The setting and grounds were beautiful and well laid out. The room was absolutely perfect and just what we asked for being high up within the resort, extremely comfortable and with privacy and lovely views. An added bonus were a pair of hornbills which regularly perched on trees nearby and even landed on our staircase enabling us to observe and photograph them with ease. Another positive feature of the resort was their coral reef which they are making every effort to protect. Snorkeling was the main draw for us to this resort and whilst not outstanding, it was very enjoyable and relaxing. The giant clams were fascinating. Sadly, there is evidence of plastic and other man made pollution, albeit the staff are doing their best to combat this. There is a pond within the resort next to one of the restaurants which is inhabited by several monitor lizards (up to 6 ft long) which are entertaining to watch whilst dining. The downside of Bunga Raya was the lack of ambience and quality of food on offer, albeit the staff were very attentive and did their best. Moreover wine was, in our view, totally overpriced, especially in conjunction with the standard of the food menu. The boat ride to Bunga Raya is very basic with a lack of care over people's luggage - this could be much improved.

Rating for tour operator:

We have come to trust Naturetrek to deliver a certain standard of wildlife holiday in terms of the destination, wildlife encounters, food, accommodation and guides. The staff at Naturetrek are extremely helpful and respond well to queries and do their best to accommodate our wishes and particular requirements. We have been with them on 3 trips now and have not been disappointed. We are planning our next trip with them.

Naturetrek by Birdie, 3 Nov 2018
Holiday Rating:

An interesting new experience

We were a small group lead by an ornithologist and a botanist who took us around the island of Menorca to the best sites to see an amazing variety of wild life, and the Autumn migrant birds. A wide range of experience amongst the guests but all made very welcome.

We were a small group lead by an ornithologist and a botanist who took us around the island of Menorca to the best sites to see an amazing variety of wild life, and the Autumn migrant birds. A wide range of experience amongst the guests but all made very welcome.

Rating for tour operator:

Specialists in opportunities to experience wildlife in small groups, and expertly lead.

Naturetrek by gazza294, 2 Nov 2018
Holiday Rating:

SPIRITUAL SAFARI

A visit to Elsamere and the Masai Mara in Kenya was a truly spiritual ,and educating experience - the places themselves are magical , the accommodation staff genuinely caring and attentive , the tour guides extensively knowledgeable on the wildlife and their land. Davis our guide put us at ease as soon as we met up and any reservations we had were dispelled immediately and holiday mode kicked in. This was my second year on the trip and ...

A visit to Elsamere and the Masai Mara in Kenya was a truly spiritual ,and educating experience - the places themselves are magical , the accommodation staff genuinely caring and attentive , the tour guides extensively knowledgeable on the wildlife and their land. Davis our guide put us at ease as soon as we met up and any reservations we had were dispelled immediately and holiday mode kicked in. This was my second year on the trip and was as good if not better the second time around and the group bonded so well that we have formed an email group to share photos , experiences and keep in touch.

Rating for tour operator:

Excellent service from start to finish , attention to detail .

Naturetrek by Ms R H 18, 2 Nov 2018
Holiday Rating:

Wildlife watching in Spain

We went with Naturetrek. It was a small group holiday experiencing the wildlife of Northern Spain with particular emphasis on seeing wolves, which we did on two occasions. A very unusual encounter, privileged to see such wonderful animals in their natural state. The holiday was also enhanced by the lovely accommodation and local food, plus the expertise of our tour guides.

We went with Naturetrek. It was a small group holiday experiencing the wildlife of Northern Spain with particular emphasis on seeing wolves, which we did on two occasions. A very unusual encounter, privileged to see such wonderful animals in their natural state. The holiday was also enhanced by the lovely accommodation and local food, plus the expertise of our tour guides.

Rating for tour operator:

Naturetrek runs worldwide nature holidays, short breaks and longer stays.

Naturetrek by CW, 1 Nov 2018
Holiday Rating:

Excellent wildlife watching

We went on a wolf-watching short break to Northern Spain. The holiday was very well organised and we had excellent guides who were very knowledgeable. Food and accommodation were better than expected.

We went on a wolf-watching short break to Northern Spain. The holiday was very well organised and we had excellent guides who were very knowledgeable. Food and accommodation were better than expected.

Rating for tour operator:

They were very helpful in answering my enquiries before I booked. The trip was well organised and pre-departure information was helpful and comprehensive. I liked the fact that there were no extras to pay

Naturetrek by CT, 31 Oct 2018
Holiday Rating:

Fantastic trip to Peru. Machu Picchu non-trek holiday.

Just back from a wonderful holiday in Peru. One of the best places I’ve been. Fantastic range of habitats from penguins & sea lions on the coast to macaws & monkeys in the Amazon to the snow capped Andes and the stunning Machu Picchu. All in two weeks! Plus the people are really friendly & welcoming.

Just back from a wonderful holiday in Peru. One of the best places I’ve been. Fantastic range of habitats from penguins & sea lions on the coast to macaws & monkeys in the Amazon to the snow capped Andes and the stunning Machu Picchu. All in two weeks! Plus the people are really friendly & welcoming.

Rating for tour operator:

Good quality holidays, well organised, great itineraries & guides & helpful staff. Very reliable & I’ve travelled with them c. 15 times.

Naturetrek by Pedro, 31 Oct 2018
Holiday Rating:

Wonderful trip packed full of exciting new birds.

The trip was based in 2 eco-lodges in the Brazilian Atlantic rainforest which were very comfortable and provided us with good food. The days were long and some were quite physically demanding but well worth the effort. The bird-guide was excellent, full of energy and extremely knowledgeable, and he always made ...

The trip was based in 2 eco-lodges in the Brazilian Atlantic rainforest which were very comfortable and provided us with good food. The days were long and some were quite physically demanding but well worth the effort. The bird-guide was excellent, full of energy and extremely knowledgeable, and he always made sure that everyone had seen the bird before moving on to the next one. It all ran very smoothly and I highly recommend the trip.

Rating for tour operator:

Everything is made very clear before departure and no stone is left unturned in making the trip a very enjoyable experience. I have always found Naturetrek to be easy to deal with and ready to help with any request.

Naturetrek by Rik & Lydia, 28 Oct 2018
Holiday Rating:

An Excellent Way to Experience the Great Bear Rainforest

After booking a nature trip to Vancouver Island with a Dutch company, we looked for an extra tour in Canada and soon found that cruising the Great Bear Rainforest on a small boat would be just the right thing. Naturetrek's itinerary looked very promising, especially because there was a real chance to see whales, orcas, sealions, grizzly bears, brown bears and the very rare Spirit Bear. You always hope to see some of these animals, but we didn't ...

After booking a nature trip to Vancouver Island with a Dutch company, we looked for an extra tour in Canada and soon found that cruising the Great Bear Rainforest on a small boat would be just the right thing. Naturetrek's itinerary looked very promising, especially because there was a real chance to see whales, orcas, sealions, grizzly bears, brown bears and the very rare Spirit Bear. You always hope to see some of these animals, but we didn't expect to see them for a long time or very close. It turned out that we had set our expectations too low. To mention some of the highlights: we've seen an incredibly number of whales: blowing, sleeping, bubblenetting, passing under our ship, etc.; bears fishing for salmon; a bald eagle sitting right in front of us, calmy eating some salmon; hundreds of sealions playing, showing off and making terrible noises; a full day near a stream where some Spirit Bears came real close to us while we were just sitting on the riverbank. For seeing this amount of wildlife of course a certain amount of luck is involved, but the chances were certainly much improved by the very knowledgeable skipper and his crew. This kind of trip we normally judge mainly by the nature experience, but during this tour the excellent catering was not a minor point to the success of the trip. We've done quite a lot of traveling, but this trip -although reasonably short- stands out as a major highlight. On our website you can find photos and information: www.kantoorbediende.nl/reis.php?sub=kr/can2018/select2/2. It is in Dutch, but Google Translate can make some kind of English out of it.

Rating for tour operator:

Being Dutch, we hadn't heard of Naturetrek before and booked this trip just on the information found on their website. The previous trip reports also gave a good insight into the kind of trip you could look forward to. Of course information on websites can sometimes be misleading, but it turned that our expectations were more than met in reality. Most of the time we travel with just the two of us, but this kind of small group tour to difficult destinations with a dedicated tour operator is also very rewarding.

Naturetrek by Stephen, 26 Oct 2018
Holiday Rating:

Bears Galore!

Two weeks in Western Canada enjoying the remarkable wildlife

Two weeks in Western Canada enjoying the remarkable wildlife

Rating for tour operator:

Good brochure, well organised tour, excellent tour guides, good accommodation, altogether excellent job!