Naturetrek

Reviews of Naturetrek

Overall company rating
4 99%
Reviews submitted: 630
Reviews accepted: 630
Reviews rejected: 0
Excellent
598
Good
29
Average
1
Poor
1
Terrible
1

Exceptional

By Mrs S W 17 on 19 Apr 2017

Rating for this holiday Excellent

An outstanding itinerary. The tour leader was knowledgeable, humourous and hard working. The hotels of a high standard and the restaurants served local produce.

Rating for tour operator Excellent

We have travelled with Naturetrek on a number of varied trips both in Europe and further afield. Their attention to detail is exceptional and because trip reports are written on all of their trips you know exactly how the trip you have booked will run.

A really informative and memorable birdwatching tour.

By Long term birder on 13 Apr 2017

Rating for this holiday Excellent

This tour by Naturetrek was described as the Best of Coto Donana and that is exactly what it was. We stayed 4 nights in the Hotel Toruno in El Rocio which was excellent and every day we went out in two minibuses to various locations to see the birds. There were 12 people in the group in two minibuses, any more people would have been uncomfortable. The length of the tour was just right. The list of birds seen was very extensive, and we also saw the Iberian Lynx. A thoroughly enjoyable and memorable tour.

Rating for tour operator Excellent

The tour operator Naturetrek was very efficient, everything worked fine including the flights and accommodation. Especially the two guides Byron Palacios, the leader, and Sergio Martin were very impressive, their bird finding and bird identification abilities were outstanding.

Borneo's Rainforest Mammals

By Mrs J M 17 on 13 Apr 2017

Rating for this holiday Excellent

The Orang Utans at the Sepilok Rehabilitation Centre were adorably cute but it was a tremendous privilege to see wild Orangs on the Kinabatangan river. We also saw numerous Proboscis monkeys with their truly beautiful colours, Langurs, Macaques and Bornean Gibbons. Also squirrels from the Red Giant Flying to the miniscule Pygmy. Not just mammals as we saw all eight of the Hornbills.

Rating for tour operator Excellent

Naturetrek can be relied upon to provide the best guides whose knowledge is incomparable. Hazwan did his best to ensure we saw as much as possible throughout the trip. We saw the beautiful Leopard cat on all of our night drives.

Fantastic First Time

By rosi on 12 Apr 2017

Rating for this holiday Excellent

This is the first time I have been birdwatching abroad and the first time I have been on an organized birding holiday so I was slightly apprehensive and wondered if I would be bored! I need not have been! I took a book to read just in case and did not even open it. The weather in Andalusia was fantastic - hotter than I expected, but luckily we were well prepared having been given a comprehensive packing list. The guides were outstanding and we saw far more than we expected to see.

Rating for tour operator Excellent

Excellent organization from start to finish. Very supportive

Amazing Birding at Coto Donana

By Mike on 11 Apr 2017

Rating for this holiday Excellent

We were bird watching from the moment we arrived until the moment we left. The outstanding guides left no stone unturned to locate the birds we wanted to see. El Rocio was a very interesting village and the hotel room was comfortable with a balcony overlooking Madre de las Marismas so we could even watch birds from the our room. Picnics, breakfasts and evening meals were provided with examples of good local produce.

Rating for tour operator Excellent

Everything was very well planned and organized and went without a hitch. we would definitely recommend naturetrek and use them again

Unknown India - Tadoba and Satpura

By Mrs S B 17 on 7 Apr 2017

Rating for this holiday Excellent

A truly exceptional holiday with a first class guide. We visited 4 National Parks; Tadoba, Pench, Satpura and Kanha. We saw over 180 birds and 30+ mammals. The 3 hour train ride to Kanha added to the enjoyment as did the lovely lodges we stayed in. This is our 8th Naturetrek holiday and it will certainly not be our last.

Rating for tour operator Excellent

We have travelled with Naturetrek on 8 occasions. Their administration is first class with quick responses and they always keep us informed. They employ excellent guides, who are knowledgeable in all manner of areas, not just the natural history of the country we are visiting, which adds to the enjoyment of the holiday. We have visited their offices on a number of occasions and they have been so welcoming; you are made to feel part of the 'Naturetrek family'. Without hesitation we recommend them to everyone.

Spring in the Pyrenees chasing wildcats, rare birds and fantastic scenery

By Getholdofdave on 31 Mar 2017

Rating for this holiday Excellent

6 days in the Pyrenees of Northern Spain looking for pure bred wildcats amidst fantastic mountain scenery. With rare birds to see, and good food, good wine and good company, led by experts in their field. In March if you want something interesting to do outdoors in Europe that isn't long haul and isn't too cold then your choice is limited, but luckily this tour filled the niche perfectly.

Rating for tour operator Excellent

They organised the small group tour, provided 2 excellent guides, great local accommodation and all at a pretty good cost.

A great introduction to Naturetrek

By Daisy on 31 Mar 2017

Rating for this holiday Excellent

This was my first holiday with Naturetrek & I wasn't really sure what to expect although my husband had been on a trip with them to Nepal several years previously & had really enjoyed it.

From initial contact to booking then the holiday itself it was all very well organised, really enjoyable & interesting. I'm not an expert botanist or "birdwatcher" but felt that I fitted in as well as anyone in the group & found - to my surprise that I knew things that some of the others didn't!

A friendly group who were happy to share their advice, knowledge & opinions. I was a bit surprised at the age group (all older than us) but found that it really didn't matter.





Tenerife & Fuerteventura were a revelation to me as I'd previously had visions of hugely developed holiday centres rather than lovely countryside & coasts.

The leaders, Paul & Andrew made a great double act. Both of them were very helpful, informative & arranged great picnic lunches!

Both of us look forward to travelling with Naturetrek again.

Rating for tour operator Excellent

No reason to say anything other than excellent.

A truly life-enhancing experience

By Adrian on 25 Mar 2017

Rating for this holiday Excellent
Find more about Baja California & Sea of Cortez >

This was a trip in the MV Searcher from San Diego down the Mexican coast (Baja California) and eventually around the bottom into the Sea of Cortez. The main focus was on whales but the naturalists on board and indeed the whole crew of the Searcher were alert to the whole of nature: we went ashore for walks on uninhabited islands with interesting flora and fabulous birdlife, we swam and snorkelled in wonderful places and while travelling on Searcher we spotted whales (5 different varieties up close!).

The Searcher was well managed by an experienced and very engaged crew, the two naturalists accompanying us were outstanding and our fellow passengers were enthusiastic and committed. The food was excellent!

Rating for tour operator Excellent

Naturetrek organised the trip. They were very efficient from first contact to the end of the trip. I will certainly travel with them again - delightful people to deal with.

Strenuous for an octogenarian but wholly rewarding

By Mr J B 17 on 22 Mar 2017

Rating for this holiday Excellent

Birdwatching (mainly) trip based on an ecolodge in north Jamaica surrounded by
gardens and extensive forest. Well appointed but meals were not hotel standard -
nevertheless wholesome local cooking. We were out by 6 am, and by 4 am when driving to the mountains to arrive soon after dawn. The walking was a bit strenuous for me but everyone was very helpful, knowledgeable and friendly, including of course the leader and local guide.

Rating for tour operator Excellent

I have been with many ecotour companies over the years - first time with Naturetrek and they are among the best. I'm going with them again very soon.
Their management, paperwork and leadership was excellent.