AITO: The Association of Independent Tour Operators
Naturetrek

Naturetrek Traveller Reviews

Reviews of Naturetrek

Overall Company Rating
99%
Excellent 1093
Good 60
Average 1
Poor 1
Terrible 2
Reviews Submitted: 1157
Reviews Accepted: 1157
Reviews Rejected: 0
1157 reviews
Sort by:
Baja California & Sea of Cortez by Ms L W 19, 12 Mar 2019
Holiday Rating:

exceeding all expectations

whale watching in Baja, crew aboard The Searcher ensured we had our expectations met, saw Humpback Whales in abundance - we didn't know where to look, they were fin slapping, breaching and generally having 'fun'. also saw Fin Whales, and Blue Whales. Had wonderful close encounters with gray whales and their calves.

whale watching in Baja, crew aboard The Searcher ensured we had our expectations met, saw Humpback Whales in abundance - we didn't know where to look, they were fin slapping, breaching and generally having 'fun'. also saw Fin Whales, and Blue Whales. Had wonderful close encounters with gray whales and their calves.

Rating for tour operator:

Naturetrek from initial contact to booking the holiday were brilliant. i had problems re booking airline seat on line - phoned tour operator and within minutes had sorted things out. Their tour guide was excellent, always around, never intrusive but always there if needed

Naturetrek by Mike T, 12 Mar 2019
Holiday Rating:

Green and Beautiful Sri Lanka

A three centre holiday focusing on whales, dolphins and other marine wildlife off the coast of Kalpitiya. Moving on to look for Leopards, Sloth Bears and other wildlife in Wilpatu National Park; this part of the holiday included a visit to the Sacred City at Anrhadapura. Finally moving on to Mirissa to look principally for Blue Whales. Very good sightings of all the target animals except for Leopard which was seen but only fleetingly in low ...

A three centre holiday focusing on whales, dolphins and other marine wildlife off the coast of Kalpitiya. Moving on to look for Leopards, Sloth Bears and other wildlife in Wilpatu National Park; this part of the holiday included a visit to the Sacred City at Anrhadapura. Finally moving on to Mirissa to look principally for Blue Whales. Very good sightings of all the target animals except for Leopard which was seen but only fleetingly in low light under the forest canopy.

Rating for tour operator:

We have been travelling with Naturetrek for over 10 years. They have a wide range of naturalist holidays to suit our interest. The holidays are usually well planned and organized with good itineraries, good accommodation and excellent guides/leaders.

Reviewer's images:
Naturetrek by Boots66, 12 Mar 2019
Holiday Rating:

Our holiday exceeded our expectations

As seasoned travelers, we don't expect everything to be perfect when visiting remote places in the world. However, our recent trip to central India (Satpura and Kanha National Parks) couldn't have been better (if we ignore the weather!). Everyone who was involved tried their utmost to make our holiday a success. The wildlife we saw was fantastic, the accommodation very comfortable and the guides extremely knowledgeable.

As seasoned travelers, we don't expect everything to be perfect when visiting remote places in the world. However, our recent trip to central India (Satpura and Kanha National Parks) couldn't have been better (if we ignore the weather!). Everyone who was involved tried their utmost to make our holiday a success. The wildlife we saw was fantastic, the accommodation very comfortable and the guides extremely knowledgeable.

Rating for tour operator:

The thing that sets Naturetrek apart from other tour operators is their attention to detail. Some people may be offended when the pre-joining instructions suggest clothing to take, medicines etc. but we found it invaluable. The visa information was excellent. In summary, the instructions and other information supplied by Naturetrek meant that we were fully prepared for our holiday in India even though we had never visited the country before. We were so impressed, we booked another trip to India with them in November.

Naturetrek by Tiger seeker, 11 Mar 2019
Holiday Rating:

Luxury in India

This was a wildlife-watching trip visiting two National Parks and I am a single traveller. I stayed in Reni Pani and Singinawa Lodges. Both were extremely well run, with high standards of accommodation, excellent meals. Nothing was too much trouble. The guides were knowledgable, patient and friendly.

This was a wildlife-watching trip visiting two National Parks and I am a single traveller. I stayed in Reni Pani and Singinawa Lodges. Both were extremely well run, with high standards of accommodation, excellent meals. Nothing was too much trouble. The guides were knowledgable, patient and friendly.

Rating for tour operator:

The tour was well organised, with back up from UK when needed (flight time change). The U.K. staff readily answered queries before departure. The whole trip was just as described in publicity and ran seamlessly.

Naturetrek by Treeplanter, 11 Mar 2019
Holiday Rating:

Birds of Southern Africa

Intensive bird watching over 9 days including 4 days in Krugar NP . 342 species of birds seen and 38 mammals

Intensive bird watching over 9 days including 4 days in Krugar NP . 342 species of birds seen and 38 mammals

Rating for tour operator:

Naturetrek ltd. Well-planned and comprehensive planning and pre-departure information and support. Local agent -( Lawsons ) guides and drivers very experienced, knowledgeable and organised .

Naturetrek by kejofish, 11 Mar 2019
Holiday Rating:

first time in India

For my first ever trip to India chose to go with Naturetrek on their Satpura wildlife festival trip. A day seeing the sights in Bhopal and then on the way to Satpura we stopped at a site of ancient cave paintings. The Reni Pani lodge near Satpura National park I would highly recommend. Food excellent and the rooms/lodge was kept clean and tidy. Staff were all really friendly and helpful. The game drives were excellent with well informed and ...

For my first ever trip to India chose to go with Naturetrek on their Satpura wildlife festival trip. A day seeing the sights in Bhopal and then on the way to Satpura we stopped at a site of ancient cave paintings. The Reni Pani lodge near Satpura National park I would highly recommend. Food excellent and the rooms/lodge was kept clean and tidy. Staff were all really friendly and helpful. The game drives were excellent with well informed and friendly naturalists. For my first ever trip to India I couldn't have chosen better.

Rating for tour operator:

Naturetrek are excellent hosts, their hotel choices are really good and well researched. The day trips are excellent and well led and informative. The wildlife drives are great and as long as the animals appear , which they did, could have stayed out longer, however this is restricted by the park authorities. I would thoroughly recommend Naturetrek.

Naturetrek by Suegofar, 11 Mar 2019
Holiday Rating:

Unforgettable

It was well organised, the hotels and lodges we're clean and comfortable. The staff and locals we're very helpful and friendly. The food was plentiful and delicious. Our guide, Mario, was the best, couldn't have asked him to do any more than he did. He certainly knew his birds, wildlife, plants and history. Our driver, Rodriguez, was more than just a driver, he helped as a guide ( helping to find birds etc plus trying to get better views for ...

It was well organised, the hotels and lodges we're clean and comfortable. The staff and locals we're very helpful and friendly. The food was plentiful and delicious. Our guide, Mario, was the best, couldn't have asked him to do any more than he did. He certainly knew his birds, wildlife, plants and history. Our driver, Rodriguez, was more than just a driver, he helped as a guide ( helping to find birds etc plus trying to get better views for photographers ), he provided water and we admired his driving skills. Our group of 8, made friends within minutes of meeting each other and all this made our holiday exceptional.

Rating for tour operator:

Helpful and answered queries promptly.

Naturetrek by Speranda, 11 Mar 2019
Holiday Rating:

Wildlife and culture

Naturetrek's "Wild Japan in Winter" took me from the Mediterranean climate of Kyushu, where thousands of cranes were spending the winter, through the main island of Honshu, where we saw the snow monkeys enjoying the hot water pools, and to wintery Hokkaido, where I was stunned by the beauty of the dancing red-crowned cranes in the snow, and the huge Steller's eagles on the pack ice. I too enjoyed relaxing int he outdoor hot pools, gazing up ...

Naturetrek's "Wild Japan in Winter" took me from the Mediterranean climate of Kyushu, where thousands of cranes were spending the winter, through the main island of Honshu, where we saw the snow monkeys enjoying the hot water pools, and to wintery Hokkaido, where I was stunned by the beauty of the dancing red-crowned cranes in the snow, and the huge Steller's eagles on the pack ice. I too enjoyed relaxing int he outdoor hot pools, gazing up at snowy tress; in Hokkaido we stayed in three traditional inns, which was a lovely contrast to the days we spent in bustling Tokyo, and introduced the group to traditional Japanese cuisine.

Rating for tour operator:

Always well-organised, keeping the clients well informed prior to the trip.

Reviewer's images:
Naturetrek by Alison, 11 Mar 2019
Holiday Rating:

Wildlife and birdwatching in Ranthambore and Satpura parks

Our Indian guide met us at the airport and accompanied us to our hotel near Ranthambore. After three unsuccessful drives we had excellent views of a tiger. The next three drives were superb giving us 7 tiger viewings and one leopard viewing. Birds were great too. Then our guide took us on an overnight train journey -second class- which was actually quite comfortable. From Bhopal we met the Thera in our group and travelled by train to Satpura...

Our Indian guide met us at the airport and accompanied us to our hotel near Ranthambore. After three unsuccessful drives we had excellent views of a tiger. The next three drives were superb giving us 7 tiger viewings and one leopard viewing. Birds were great too. Then our guide took us on an overnight train journey -second class- which was actually quite comfortable. From Bhopal we met the Thera in our group and travelled by train to Satpura. We stayed in a wonderful lodge called Reni Pani. Food was great. Staff were so pleasant. Our wild tally rose and included a siting of a sloth bear and a cub which we watched for 90 minutes.

Rating for tour operator:

Good communication before the trip. First class Indian guides. Very good accommodation as chosen by Naturetrek.

Naturetrek by Ms X C 19, 9 Mar 2019
Holiday Rating:

Spring on the Canary Islands

The Canary Islands in late February and early March was excellent. The two hotels used were very good and the food exceptional. The holiday was to see Birds, Plants and other wild life. The two leaders were very knowable and the pace of the trip to my liking. We stayed on two islands Tenerife and Fuerteventura with a local flight between and visited La Gomera by ferry for the day.

The Canary Islands in late February and early March was excellent. The two hotels used were very good and the food exceptional. The holiday was to see Birds, Plants and other wild life. The two leaders were very knowable and the pace of the trip to my liking. We stayed on two islands Tenerife and Fuerteventura with a local flight between and visited La Gomera by ferry for the day.

Rating for tour operator:

I have traveled many times with Naturetrek, on the whole their holidays suit me. They have far more holidays to choose from than other company's and at a reasonable price. I will continue to take trips with Naturetrek.