AITO: The Association of Independent Tour Operators
Naturetrek

Naturetrek Traveller Reviews

Reviews of Naturetrek

Overall Company Rating
99%
Excellent 1397
Good 66
Average 1
Poor 1
Terrible 2
Reviews Submitted: 1467
Reviews Accepted: 1467
Reviews Rejected: 0
1467 reviews
Sort by:
Naturetrek by Paul, 29 Jul 2020
Holiday Rating:

Peak District birding

Excellently organised from booking to coming home

Excellently organised from booking to coming home

Rating for tour operator:

First class customer relations

Naturetrek by Annie, 29 Jul 2020
Holiday Rating:

Day trip to Forest of Dean because of Covid-19 restrictions troubling overseas holidays and longer stays

As so many holidays have had to be cancelled due to Covid-19, Naturetrek have organised some day trips to places in the UK to watch wild life. I went to The Forest of Dean. It was a wet day but our small group was well equipped to cope with the weather. The rain restricted the butterflies to meadow browns and ringlets and the dragon flies to Southern Hawker and Emerald darter. However, the bird life was better so we saw dippers, grey wagtails, ...

As so many holidays have had to be cancelled due to Covid-19, Naturetrek have organised some day trips to places in the UK to watch wild life. I went to The Forest of Dean. It was a wet day but our small group was well equipped to cope with the weather. The rain restricted the butterflies to meadow browns and ringlets and the dragon flies to Southern Hawker and Emerald darter. However, the bird life was better so we saw dippers, grey wagtails, tree creeper, nuthatch, dabchick, and various water fowl, and plenty of tits. Our guide knew his flowers and trees as well. He was well rounded in his knowledge and a great help with bird calls. He was ready to extend his knowledge to us without any arrogance. It was a good day out.

Rating for tour operator:

I have travelled with Naturetrek to Nepal, the Pyrenees, Spain, Poland. The reason I keep travelling with them is because they have excellent guides and naturalists with detailed knowledge of the area one visits. The hotels they choose are usually simple but comfortable with local character. We usually travel in remote areas where there are no cafes for lunch so excellent picnics are supplied by the guides and one can pick and choose how little or how much one wants to eat. It suits me admirably.

Naturetrek by Lesley, Glasgow, 29 Jul 2020
Holiday Rating:

Informative and enjoyable

It was great to find out more about the nature that is on my doorstep. The leader was very knowledgeable about the local wildlife and flora - and also the history - of the area.

It was great to find out more about the nature that is on my doorstep. The leader was very knowledgeable about the local wildlife and flora - and also the history - of the area.

Rating for tour operator:

All very well organised.

Naturetrek by thespeeds, 29 Jul 2020
Holiday Rating:

Breakout from lockdown

You can always tell when you are in the presence of an expert naturalist. Enthusiasm for what he was doing and excitement at finding something unexpected. Even the anticipation of finding a bird which we didn’t in fact find after all was infectious. Matt has all the qualities of a guide which we admired.

You can always tell when you are in the presence of an expert naturalist. Enthusiasm for what he was doing and excitement at finding something unexpected. Even the anticipation of finding a bird which we didn’t in fact find after all was infectious. Matt has all the qualities of a guide which we admired.

Rating for tour operator:

Exceedingly helpful. What a good idea to run day nature trips at home during these challenging times.

Naturetrek by Mark & Jane, 27 Jul 2020
Holiday Rating:

Botany for Beginners. One day event. 23 July 2020

We had a wonderful day with Rob Mileto in Shropshire last week. As things turned out, we had him all to ourselves for the day, and as a result of his huge knowledge and patient ability to share and explain, we learnt a great deal. If only we could guarantee that we will be able to remember just half of what he showed us! He was great company, the weather was kind and it was a beautiful place. Thank you Naturetrek and Bob.

We had a wonderful day with Rob Mileto in Shropshire last week. As things turned out, we had him all to ourselves for the day, and as a result of his huge knowledge and patient ability to share and explain, we learnt a great deal. If only we could guarantee that we will be able to remember just half of what he showed us! He was great company, the weather was kind and it was a beautiful place. Thank you Naturetrek and Bob.

Rating for tour operator:

Naturetrek strike us as a most efficient and human company to deal with.

Naturetrek by Ecovole, 26 Jul 2020
Holiday Rating:

Dragonflies of the New Forest

This was a one-day trip within Britain as a result of the provision of alternative natural history breaks to fit in with Covid restrictions. The leader was a great all-round naturalist as well as a sharp and swift observer of and guide to the dragonflies of the area.

This was a one-day trip within Britain as a result of the provision of alternative natural history breaks to fit in with Covid restrictions. The leader was a great all-round naturalist as well as a sharp and swift observer of and guide to the dragonflies of the area.

Rating for tour operator:

Naturetrek--the leading UK provider of natural history holidays around the world.

Naturetrek by ChicoPaco, 26 Jul 2020
Holiday Rating:

Wildlife

This was a day trip based around exploring plants of Thetford Forest, lead by a friendly and knowledgeable guide. Although only one day this was my first trip away from home for a few months and it was very welcome.

This was a day trip based around exploring plants of Thetford Forest, lead by a friendly and knowledgeable guide. Although only one day this was my first trip away from home for a few months and it was very welcome.

Rating for tour operator:

Naturetrek have been innovative in trying to provide wildlife experiences during the pandemic, I have also been on a full length holiday with Naturetrek. I have found everybody I have dealt with friendly and helpful and all the guides extremely approacheable with a huge amount of knowledge and interest in their subjects. Naturetrek are not the cheapest but they are a quality operation.

Naturetrek by Oxeye Daisy, 26 Jul 2020
Holiday Rating:

Day walk at Pitsford Water

After four months of isolation a guided nature walk at Pitsford Water was a delight, beautiful nature reserve location and excellent leader and numerous moths, butterflies, dragonflies and waterbirds/woodland birds to see and learn about. Highly recommended

After four months of isolation a guided nature walk at Pitsford Water was a delight, beautiful nature reserve location and excellent leader and numerous moths, butterflies, dragonflies and waterbirds/woodland birds to see and learn about. Highly recommended

Rating for tour operator:

Long standing wildlife tour operator with excellent reputation

Naturetrek by Alybobz, 24 Jul 2020
Holiday Rating:

Upper Teesdale - Day Trip

This was simply a day trip into Upper Teesdale run by Naturetrek. A fantastic idea during these times when so many trips and holidays are being postponed or cancelled. Thoroughly enjoyable day with a brilliant guide and lovely, like-minded people

This was simply a day trip into Upper Teesdale run by Naturetrek. A fantastic idea during these times when so many trips and holidays are being postponed or cancelled. Thoroughly enjoyable day with a brilliant guide and lovely, like-minded people

Rating for tour operator:

Naturetrek are always brilliant. Fantastic customer service. The original dates I wanted to book was full and they quickly offered alternative date and contacted me. The joining instructions were very clear and the day was very well planned and managed by the guide. I loved the small group; it was a great size and enabled everyone to gain and learn from the day. It was brilliant.this is my local area but I enjoyed going with a guide and learned and saw a lot more than when I am on my own. We even saw a Marsh Harrier and the elusive ring ouzel. It is a beautiful area ... and was an amazing day.

Naturetrek by Alybobz, 24 Jul 2020
Holiday Rating:

Northumberland Coast - Day Trip

This was simply a day trip on the Northumberland Coast... fantastic idea of Naturetrek in these times when so many holidays and trips have been cancelled or postponed. It was in my region but I learned and saw so much that was new to me and actually discovered new p,aces to go that I didn’t know about. It was brilliant!

This was simply a day trip on the Northumberland Coast... fantastic idea of Naturetrek in these times when so many holidays and trips have been cancelled or postponed. It was in my region but I learned and saw so much that was new to me and actually discovered new p,aces to go that I didn’t know about. It was brilliant!

Rating for tour operator:

Naturetrek were absolutely brilliant. Really helpful at the time of booking as the original dates were fully booked when I contacted them but they were very quick to arrange new dates and contacted me immediately. The joining instructions were very detailed and easy to follow. The tour guide was wonderful. Very knowledgeable and amenable; really taking into consideration the needs and experience of the group and shared a good sense of humour too. We saw loads of wonderful wildlife in all forms; birds, mammals, insects, flowers. It was absolutely amazing. I couldn’t sleep when I got home because I was still so stimulated after such a great day!