Naturetrek

Reviews of Naturetrek

Overall company rating
4 99%
Reviews submitted: 618
Reviews accepted: 618
Reviews rejected: 0
Excellent
586
Good
29
Average
1
Poor
1
Terrible
1

Wonderful Weekend - opened up a new world

By Meggie on 19 Mar 2017

Rating for this holiday Excellent

It was a wonderful weekend in the Forest of Dean. Guided by Tom and Greg we saw about 50 different types of birds, some of which are quite rare, and also wild boar and deer. It opened up a whole new world for me as a newcomer to birding. We saw a great grey shrike sat on a tree, swooping down and picking up food for its 'larder', and good sightings of goshawks and peregrine.
Tom especially was a very considerate and attentive guide, who made sure that everyone had sightings through the scope. the enthusiasm of the guides was infectious and added to our enjoyment of the experience.
The weekend was relaxed, informal, the guides were very knowledgeable, the people on the course were very nice and friendly, and the hotel was comfortable and welcoming.

Rating for tour operator Excellent

Naturetrek were extremely helpful and good to deal with, I would certainly travel with them again.

snowleopards in the snow

By Mr e s 17 on 18 Mar 2017

Rating for tour operator Excellent

Naturetrek planned and executed the trip wonderfully

Safari to Kruger National Park, South Africa

By AndyC on 17 Mar 2017

Rating for this holiday Excellent

The trip was fantastic. Been a life long to dream to go on an African safari and I wasn't disappointed with this holiday.

Rating for tour operator Excellent

Very Easy to deal with and helpful when needed to. Always clear regarding the costs of the trip.

It was perfect all round, delivering what it promised.

By Tro. on 17 Mar 2017

Rating for this holiday Excellent

There were 8 birders on the trip hoping to find most of the endemic birds and only missed on four of the 27.

It was well organised by Naturetrek and was expertly led by a local birder who 'knew his subject'.
This is my fifth trip with Naturetrek who I can thoroughly recommend

Rating for tour operator Excellent

They are one if the best for birding tours and are superbly organised.
I strongly recommend them.
They are excellent value for money.

Very interesting

By Eric on 17 Mar 2017

Rating for this holiday Excellent

We appreciated having a busy itinerary with bird watching excursions in the early morning and late afternoon.
The relaxing and hot noon time periods w hen we were left to our own devices were welcome!

Rating for tour operator Excellent

We were given the names and English counties of the other couples on the holiday. This helped me to feel settled into the holiday before departure.

Northern Lights, sperm whales and orca - WOW!

By Carrie G on 15 Mar 2017

Rating for this holiday Excellent

Best time ever in western Iceland, lots of snow lots of Northern Lights (best ever)and spouting sperm whales, orca and white tailed eagle, what's not to like! Food was great, hotels really good and the scenery simply stunning.

Rating for tour operator Excellent

I've been away with Naturetrek a dozen times and they never let me down. They know and understand their customers, and their destinations.
I feel really well looked after every trip I book, worth every penny.

Marvellous sightings of hundreds of thousands of Monarch Butterflies and close up views of Humpback Whales

By Dragonfly on 14 Mar 2017

Rating for this holiday Excellent

The holiday was targeted at seeing the Monarch butterflies in their winter roost in Mexico - up at over 10,000 feet above sea level. It was quite an expedition to get there, but the sight was phenomenal. We will never forget the sight of so many butterflies, perched on branches in such numbers that the branches bent down under the weight of so many insects. Then it was off to the Pacific where the Humpback Whales were giving birth in the warmer waters there. A totally different scale, from tiny insects to huge whales. Then it was on to another site, and a trip into a Mangrove swamp in late afternoon with so many interesting birds beginning to roost up for the night, and a few crocodiles to be seen, followed by a trip back after dusk. Another memorable event. Lastly there were a few days for birdwatching or butterfly spotting with an expert with us to help find the unusual. We have lots of photos and lots of memories of a wonderful holiday, and will be travelling with Naturetrek again in the near future, as we have found their holidays reliably full of wonderful wildlife, and we are always escorted by experts who add so much value to the trips.

Rating for tour operator Excellent

Naturetrek are really well organised, have a huge variety of tours focussing on Wildlife, and employ experts to share their knowledge with participants.

Wonderful bird-watching in Costa Rica

By Fern woman on 11 Mar 2017

Rating for this holiday Excellent

Two weeks of touring in Costa Rica staying in lovely locations with a vast range of wildlife to see and photograph. Our guide / group leader was first rate, as was our driver. All was very well organised. Very good tasty and healthy food too!

Rating for tour operator Excellent

Naturetrek are always extremely helpful.

Pico Bonito - a wildlife paradise resort

By Davros on 10 Mar 2017

Rating for this holiday Excellent

Pico Bonito is a beautiful peaceful resort with great wildlife, an extensive trail system, and a pleasant pool. The cabins are large, and the food excellent. Olbin and Santos are outstanding bird guides with great knowledge and enthusiasm. The resort is several miles up a private road and very safe to walk around- it is an oasis. The trips out to different sites were varied and interesting and added to our bird tally. Although some stamina is needed for the very early starts, it was an advantage to have a single base. The arrangements by Naturetrek all worked well, and the only problem was with the totally inefficient customs in Atlanta, which nearly cost us our connection, but which is obviously outside of Naturetrek's control.

Rating for tour operator Excellent

Very efficient and helpful before the holiday. Great itinerary and arrangements.

Whale Wispering

By Andrew Grifin on 10 Mar 2017

Rating for this holiday Excellent

Sailed in the MV Searcher down the west coast of the Baja Peninsular. We encountered a variety of seabirds, northern elephant seals and ground-nesting ospreys en-route to Laguna San Ignacio. Here grey whales come to mate and give birth. In an extraordinary encounter some whale cows bring their calves right up to the small boats and both seem to like being touched by humans. Considering either could easily overturn the boat it is a singularly trusting meeting and very much on the whales' terms. Subsequent encounters with breaching humpbacks only a few yards from the ship, huge numbers of dophins, enormous and beautiful blue whales, some of which show their tails when diving, and the opportunity to dive with sea lions and whale sharks, round off one of the most remarkable wildlife encounters anywhere in the world.

Rating for tour operator Excellent

The organisation was flawless. Naturetrek are excellent value for money, very efficient and employ first-rate guides. In this case Lee Morgan was exceptional; his wide-ranging knowledge even impressed the locally-based Americans and his style and manner were faultless.