AITO: The Association of Independent Tour Operators
Naturetrek

Naturetrek Traveller Reviews

Reviews of Naturetrek

Overall Company Rating
99%
Excellent 1532
Good 75
Average 1
Poor 1
Terrible 2
Reviews Submitted: 1611
Reviews Accepted: 1611
Reviews Rejected: 0
1611 reviews
Sort by:
Naturetrek by Miss H P 20, 7 Dec 2020
Holiday Rating:

Norfolk Day Trip

Seal watching and birding on the Norfolk coast

Seal watching and birding on the Norfolk coast

Rating for tour operator:

Excellent. Well organised, friendly and efficient

Naturetrek by Tim, 7 Dec 2020
Holiday Rating:

Uplifting on a gloomy winter's day

It takes a certain level of hope and expectation to get one out of bed more than an hour before dawn on a grey sleety day in winter with the temperature only just over freezing point. Hope and expectation there was aplenty, because was it time for another Naturetrek day trip - this time to Oxfordshire. We were rewarded with lots of farmland birds, including more singing Corn Buntings in one place than I've heard or seen anywhere in the UK in ...

It takes a certain level of hope and expectation to get one out of bed more than an hour before dawn on a grey sleety day in winter with the temperature only just over freezing point. Hope and expectation there was aplenty, because was it time for another Naturetrek day trip - this time to Oxfordshire. We were rewarded with lots of farmland birds, including more singing Corn Buntings in one place than I've heard or seen anywhere in the UK in any season. The guide, Martin, was really knowledgeable and helpful, and we had an enjoyable day's walk. Even the sun came out at the end of the day, reflecting my brightened spirits.

Rating for tour operator:

Why do I go on Naturetrek day trips in the UK when I can (and sometimes do) just jump in the car and go to a nature reserve on my own? Because it's so much better if the tour is to the right place (and the right parts of the right place), with someone who seemingly has eyes in the back of their head to spot the wildlife that I've missed, who can tell me about a bird one minute and a plant or insect the next. They've got the right routes - often adapted to the circumstances on the day - and all of the logistics are worked out: in the case of multi-day or foreign trips, the hotels are excellent and full of character. I'm also in the company of other pleasant, like-minded guests (Covid-limited, of course). Plus all of the back-office stuff (bookings, admin, etc) is smooth, communications are good and everyone is so friendly yet professional. And always good value for money.

Naturetrek by Kippy5, 7 Dec 2020
Holiday Rating:

Great December day out wildlife watching..

It was only 1 day, and we spent the morning watching grey seals and their many different behaviours, and the afternoon chasing bearded tits and marsh harriers, whilst hearing cranes in the distance. It only rained once and for December day it was relatively mild. We thoroughly enjoyed ourselves

It was only 1 day, and we spent the morning watching grey seals and their many different behaviours, and the afternoon chasing bearded tits and marsh harriers, whilst hearing cranes in the distance. It only rained once and for December day it was relatively mild. We thoroughly enjoyed ourselves

Rating for tour operator:

The best we have ever been involved with. You can still have conversations with individuals, its like a large scale very personal and well run business

Naturetrek by Somerset crew, 6 Dec 2020
Holiday Rating:

Forest of Dean bird exploration

Visited parts of the Forest we had never explored before on our one day trip with Tom. Great grey strike to marsh tit we had a very enjoyable birding experience. Also encountered a little Forest bathing in the glow of the evening sunset. Lovely time in the heart of the Forest. Thank you.

Visited parts of the Forest we had never explored before on our one day trip with Tom. Great grey strike to marsh tit we had a very enjoyable birding experience. Also encountered a little Forest bathing in the glow of the evening sunset. Lovely time in the heart of the Forest. Thank you.

Rating for tour operator:

Extremely knowledgeable and companionable tour guide who was obviously passionate about his local area. Also found us a very good local pub for lunch.

Naturetrek by BirderTrudy, 4 Dec 2020
Holiday Rating:

Great Day in the Forest of Dean

A day, mostly birding in different locations in the Forest of Dean. The Guide was friendly, knowledgeable and had excellent bird “spotting” skills. The pace was relaxed and we were a group of six including our Guide. I really enjoy the Naturetrek day trips and have done several. First class trips.

A day, mostly birding in different locations in the Forest of Dean. The Guide was friendly, knowledgeable and had excellent bird “spotting” skills. The pace was relaxed and we were a group of six including our Guide. I really enjoy the Naturetrek day trips and have done several. First class trips.

Rating for tour operator:

They offer a good variety of trips and you know the Guides will be excellent. Their website is easy to use and their telephone response is always very good.

Naturetrek by BHman, 12 Nov 2020
Holiday Rating:

Autumn Plants of the Peloponnese

A week long botany holiday to see the spectacular autumn flowers (crocuses, cyclamen etc.) and other plants in the Greek Peloponnese, taking in the mountains and coast. There was also the opportunity to see some of the archaeological sites and sample some Greek hospitality.

A week long botany holiday to see the spectacular autumn flowers (crocuses, cyclamen etc.) and other plants in the Greek Peloponnese, taking in the mountains and coast. There was also the opportunity to see some of the archaeological sites and sample some Greek hospitality.

Rating for tour operator:

The tour operator was really helpful and efficient, and the tour guide's botanical and geographical knowledge of the holiday location was second to none.

Naturetrek by Gwen, 12 Nov 2020
Holiday Rating:

Excellent tour of East Yorkshire

We visited Spurn Head, Flamborough and Bempton Cliffs looking for birds and wildlife. It was well led and Covid safe. The hotel was excellent. The weather was mostly good and the scenery was lovely.

We visited Spurn Head, Flamborough and Bempton Cliffs looking for birds and wildlife. It was well led and Covid safe. The hotel was excellent. The weather was mostly good and the scenery was lovely.

Rating for tour operator:

Naturetrek

Naturetrek by Annie, 10 Nov 2020
Holiday Rating:

INVIGORATING AFTER LOCK DOWN. JUST WHAT I NEEDED.

I WENT ON A WILDLIFE PHOTOGRAPHIC HOLIDAY WITH NATURETREK IN EARLY OCTOBER 2020. WE WERE SIX PEOPLE INCLUDING OUR LEADER/GUIDE. WE PHOTOGRAPHED RED SQUIRRELS, VARIOUS BIRDS INCLUDING CRESTED TITS AND ALSO MOUNTAIN HARE. THE SIX OF US GOT ON WELL. THE LODGE WAS COMFORTABLE AND RUN FOR OUR CONVENIENCE AND WITH ESPECIALLY GOOD FOOD.

I WENT ON A WILDLIFE PHOTOGRAPHIC HOLIDAY WITH NATURETREK IN EARLY OCTOBER 2020. WE WERE SIX PEOPLE INCLUDING OUR LEADER/GUIDE. WE PHOTOGRAPHED RED SQUIRRELS, VARIOUS BIRDS INCLUDING CRESTED TITS AND ALSO MOUNTAIN HARE. THE SIX OF US GOT ON WELL. THE LODGE WAS COMFORTABLE AND RUN FOR OUR CONVENIENCE AND WITH ESPECIALLY GOOD FOOD.

Rating for tour operator:

NATURETREK ALWAYS FIND A GOOD PLACE TO STAY - MAYBE WITHOUT SHOPS AND HAIRDRESSERS BUT WHO CARES ABOUT THAT WHEN YOU GO TO SEE WILDLIFE? THEY ALWAYS FIND A GOOD PLACE TO VISIT WHERE THE ANIMALS AND BIRDS CAN BE FOUND AND THE LEADERS ARE ALWAYS VERY EXPERIENCED, KNOWLEDGEABLE, AND PATIENT WITH THOSE OF US WHO DO NOT KNOW AS MUCH AS THEM....

Naturetrek by Alison, 10 Nov 2020
Holiday Rating:

Wonderful Naturetrek day trip!

Day trip with Naturetrek to Rye Harbour Nature Reserve. Blissful day ahead of second lockdown.

Day trip with Naturetrek to Rye Harbour Nature Reserve. Blissful day ahead of second lockdown.

Rating for tour operator:

We have holidayed with Naturetrek on a few occasions now and they never let us down, home or away. Truly genius idea to run a series of day trips in UK during this very difficult year. Looking forward to our postponed overseas trips with them next year but very, very likely to book a few more UK based holidays in the future as well!

Naturetrek by Ted, 9 Nov 2020
Holiday Rating:

Magic of Migration - 4 days on the East Yorkshire Coast

Stayed in good hotel, had excellent tours to Flamborough and Bempton, also very good tour of Spurn Point and very good bird spotting

Stayed in good hotel, had excellent tours to Flamborough and Bempton, also very good tour of Spurn Point and very good bird spotting

Rating for tour operator:

Naturetrek is a most reliable provider of nature holidays. They have created more UK stays this year and also some excellent Days Out - a very good response to 2020's circumstances