AITO: The Association of Independent Tour Operators
Naturetrek

Naturetrek Traveller Reviews

Reviews of Naturetrek

Overall Company Rating
99%
Excellent 1618
Good 76
Average 2
Poor 1
Terrible 2
Reviews Submitted: 1699
Reviews Accepted: 1699
Reviews Rejected: 0
1699 reviews
Sort by:
Naturetrek by It's not about the money!, 19 Feb 2015
Holiday Rating:

No Whales or Leopards!

First let me say I travelled with Naturetrek because I had a great trip with them to Canada. This trip was titled Blue Whales and Leopards of Sri Lanka. The worst trip I have ever been on and Naturetrek was horrid to deal with. I got back from a very disappointing trip to Sri Lanka and offered to go in to see Naturetrek and share my experiences as I was very worried at the way we tried to view wildlife in Yala national park. They didn't want ...

First let me say I travelled with Naturetrek because I had a great trip with them to Canada. This trip was titled Blue Whales and Leopards of Sri Lanka. The worst trip I have ever been on and Naturetrek was horrid to deal with. I got back from a very disappointing trip to Sri Lanka and offered to go in to see Naturetrek and share my experiences as I was very worried at the way we tried to view wildlife in Yala national park. They didn't want to know! Very rude I thought. So let me tell you that the hotel we stayed in at Mirissa was witnessed by the group of food being recycled and our rooms being left unlocked everyday, no security! Yala national park experience was over 100 4x4 vehicles in a line to see a leopards tail and another 30+ vehicles trapping an Elephant between them. Our group had to ask to leave the park as we had never been put in a position of viewing wildlife like this. The Blue Whale excursion was equally awful with one distant sighting an 20 boats chasing it. We have also since spoken as a group and found that some of the group had a phone call from the MD and an offer of 10% off the next trip booked while some got very rude letters blaming the weather! Which is it Naturetrek surely all your customers should be treated the same!

Rating for tour operator:

Not willing to listen to feedback. Treated clients differently!

Naturetrek responded to this review on 31 Mar 2015:

Miss Robinson chose to travel to Sri Lanka over Christmas 2014, on Naturetrek’s ‘Sri Lanka – Blue Whales & Leopards’ tour. As one might expect, the Christmas period is a busy one, and the national parks and wildlife areas we visit at that time also attract many other tourists from overseas, as well as a great many domestic tourists enjoying the Christmas holiday season. In 2014, some of these areas were particularly conjested because excessive, unseasonal rainfall, the heaviest in 18 years, fell in Sri Lanka during the last 3 weeks of December. This caused extensive flooding in Yala National Park, one of the two main areas included in our tour itinerary, and the network of routes throughout the park that we would normally use was closed. Only the main road through the park was open, to which all the many Christmas visitors were unfortunately confined. It was regrettable, but inevitable, that the heavy rains had such an unwelcome impact on tourism across the country at this time, adversely affecting the operation of many holiday itineraries and spoiling the holiday experience for many overseas visitors. However, for many local villagers, matters were far worse. Tens of thousands of Sri Lankans were displaced from their homes by the effects of these rains, and devastating mudslides killed over 20 people. Given such conditions, no wildlife holiday could have secured the wildlife sightings that one would expect on a holiday blessed with more usual weather conditions. That said, Naturetrek’s expert wildlife guides did their best and, during 3 pelagic voyages, managed to show the group a Blue Whale, three rare Bryde’s Whales, a pod of 50 Risso’s Dolphins (a rare sighting in Sri Lankan waters), two large pods of Spinner Dolphins, turtles, flying fish and wide variety of seabirds, whilst in Yala National Park a wealth of birdlife was enjoyed and a variety of mammals, including Leopard and Asian Elephant – though Miss Robinson was not pleased by the way in which the other tourists, mostly local Sri Lankan visitors, reacted to the sightings of the latter.

Naturetrek responded to this review on 31 Mar 2015:

Upon her return to England, Miss Robinson telephoned the Naturetrek office to complain about her holiday and was asked politely by a senior member of staff to put her concerns in writing so that we might investigate and consider them. She was also offered the opportunity to come to our office and discuss the tour with another senior member of staff who manages our Asia department, but she turned down this offer. When her letter arrived on 10th January, it was answered honestly and fairly by us with a letter posted on 19th January. In our response, a number of suggestions and questions were put to Miss Robinson in an effort to resolve the matter of her unhappiness, inviting her response. No reply from Miss Robinson has been received.

Naturetrek by Penny, 18 Feb 2015
Holiday Rating:

Murmurations (and much more) in the Somerset Levels

Fantastic birding, great sightings of the starlings at dawn and dusk. I learned a lot and had a really good time.

Fantastic birding, great sightings of the starlings at dawn and dusk. I learned a lot and had a really good time.

Rating for tour operator:

My first holiday with Naturetrek and I was very impressed by the guides knowledge and enthusiasm.

Naturetrek by tonic's mum, 17 Feb 2015
Holiday Rating:

Indian safari

Lovely places to stay close to the wildlife which was good to see. Well organised itinery and very good Naturetrek guides.

Lovely places to stay close to the wildlife which was good to see. Well organised itinery and very good Naturetrek guides.

Rating for tour operator:

well organised

Naturetrek by Roger, 16 Feb 2015
Holiday Rating:

In Search of the Iberian Lynx

Probably the most endangered species of cat, the Lynx lives in two areas of Spain. This holiday promised to visit both but, understandably, could not promise sightings of this enigmatic animal. Our two guides, Julian and Laura met us at Seville and calmly and expertly drove us to El Rocio on the edge of the Coto Donana National park. By the end of the evening we had all had clear views of a Lynx! Subsequent tours into the park did not produce ...

Probably the most endangered species of cat, the Lynx lives in two areas of Spain. This holiday promised to visit both but, understandably, could not promise sightings of this enigmatic animal. Our two guides, Julian and Laura met us at Seville and calmly and expertly drove us to El Rocio on the edge of the Coto Donana National park. By the end of the evening we had all had clear views of a Lynx! Subsequent tours into the park did not produce more sightings but our guides worked hard to ensure that we all had great views of a variety of mammals and birds. Our guides then drove us to the Sierra Morena, where over the next few early morning and dusk visits we saw a number of Lynx, some at very close range an rewarding us all with amazing photographs. Julian and Laura worked hard to spot a variety of wildlife for us, sometimes communicating with friends who were watching out for the Lynx at different sites. Julian and Laura not only worked hard all day to deliver great wildlife experiences for us all but also carried cases, ordered food, made packed picnics, reviewed the day and sorted any accommodation problems with great humour and patience, these two helped make this an excellent holiday.

Rating for tour operator:

Original advertising matched the actual holiday exactly, expectations were managed but were, n the event, exceeded. Pre-holiday information was detailed, complete and accurate. The cost of the holiday was very economical and apart from buying a pre supper drink there was no requirement to spend any money; food and drink in copious amounts was all provided.

Naturetrek by Rosie, 12 Feb 2015
Holiday Rating:

Birdwatching in the Somerset levels

First time on a birdwatching holiday to tick a bucket list item: the starling murmuration. The starlings performed beautifully and we were in the right spot thanks to great naturalist leaders. Seems whatever we threw at them (I want to see a bittern, a kingfisher on a perch, a crane....) the guys managed to deliver. Very impressive and a great short break overall.

First time on a birdwatching holiday to tick a bucket list item: the starling murmuration. The starlings performed beautifully and we were in the right spot thanks to great naturalist leaders. Seems whatever we threw at them (I want to see a bittern, a kingfisher on a perch, a crane....) the guys managed to deliver. Very impressive and a great short break overall.

Rating for tour operator:

Naturetrek specialise in wildlife holidays and from this brief first weekend outing, their leaders know their stuff. Delivered on birds we wanted to see, explained habitats and generally made sure the group worked well.

Naturetrek by Jo, 11 Feb 2015
Holiday Rating:

Exploring the Amazing Realm of the Iberian Lynx

This was a wonderful insight into the world of the Iberian Lynx. Can you imagine all of those big cats living in the National Parks and mountains of Spain? Food and drink were plentiful and the travelling companions to share it with made for excellent meal times. Our tour guides were outstanding in their local knowledge and their attentiveness to traveller needs. I would recommend this holiday to anyone with an interest in wildlife and the natural ...

This was a wonderful insight into the world of the Iberian Lynx. Can you imagine all of those big cats living in the National Parks and mountains of Spain? Food and drink were plentiful and the travelling companions to share it with made for excellent meal times. Our tour guides were outstanding in their local knowledge and their attentiveness to traveller needs. I would recommend this holiday to anyone with an interest in wildlife and the natural world - go explore!

Rating for tour operator:

Naturetrek's organisation before and during their holidays are second to none in my experience. The office staff are always polite, pleasant and very helpful with any queries. Attention to detail and customer feedback is one of their strengths.

Naturetrek by Jumbo, 9 Feb 2015
Holiday Rating:

Well planned and executed tour of Sri Lanka's wildlife and culture

Great holiday led by 2 very knowledgeable and organised tour leaders ho made sure we had an amazingly diverse and interesting holiday..

Great holiday led by 2 very knowledgeable and organised tour leaders ho made sure we had an amazingly diverse and interesting holiday..

Rating for tour operator:

Every part of the holiday was thought through by Nature trek and delivered by it's guides in LK. Any (minor) problem was sorted out immediately.

Naturetrek by Lynda, 9 Feb 2015
Holiday Rating:

Once in a lifetime experience made wonderful by the knowledge and enthusiasm of the guide and crew of our yacht

Naturetrek does wildlife holidays to iconic destinations and the Galapagos has it all. We spent 14 nights on a topsail schooner, so were able to get where the bigger boats could not. There was a short written guide for each landing site to tell us about the island's geology, wildlife and a lecture each evening with more detail. Everyone was interested in wildlife, but the bird watchers shared their knowledge and we all saw the many finches ...

Naturetrek does wildlife holidays to iconic destinations and the Galapagos has it all. We spent 14 nights on a topsail schooner, so were able to get where the bigger boats could not. There was a short written guide for each landing site to tell us about the island's geology, wildlife and a lecture each evening with more detail. Everyone was interested in wildlife, but the bird watchers shared their knowledge and we all saw the many finches with a discussion of what made each different. The small group gelled with their shared interests, so the social life was also fun. Meals on a rough crossing had everyone grabbing their beers and laughing as the steward served. There was also time to relax, and read and write up diaries on the spacious decks while keeping a eye out for birds. Wildlife highlights: watching the waved albatros fledglings learning to fly, and almost taking off in the wind; the toitoise by the "stop" sign on the path, so we did; the cute baby sea lions; the pilot whales swimming around and under the boat;

Rating for tour operator:

Naturetrek uses the best local boats and guides. The 14 days is twice as long as most tours, so see more of the area visited. The trip was also topped and tailed with some time in mainland Ecuador; Quito for the culture and then a short visit to an ecolodge in the Amazon

Naturetrek by mre28, 1 Feb 2015
Holiday Rating:

Another Holiday of a Lifetime!

My recent trip to The Galapgaos/Sacha Lodge was everything I expected it to be - and more. Two nights in Quito included a comprehensive tour of that fascinating city. Our group(just 16 people)was met at Baltra by our guide, Darwin Alvarez, and our tour of the islands started immediately with a trip to see giant tortoises, followed by a lovely lunch, before boarding the Cachalote, our floating 'home' for the next two weeks. Darwin was just superb ...

My recent trip to The Galapgaos/Sacha Lodge was everything I expected it to be - and more. Two nights in Quito included a comprehensive tour of that fascinating city. Our group(just 16 people)was met at Baltra by our guide, Darwin Alvarez, and our tour of the islands started immediately with a trip to see giant tortoises, followed by a lovely lunch, before boarding the Cachalote, our floating 'home' for the next two weeks. Darwin was just superb and his enthusiasm was infectious; his knowledge added even more to the experience of visiting so many of these very special islands. Nothing was too much trouble for the crew of the Cachalote either, with the captain willingly changing course if something interesting was spotted in the water. The chef catered for all/any special dietary requirements, even making me a glorious chocolate and nut cake for my birthday which occurred halfway through the cruise of the islands, and Richard's cocktails, to celebrate crossing the Equator, were something else! Sacha Lodge was a totally different experience but equally as outstanding. The long and varied journey to even reach it was an adventure in itself and again, nothing was too much trouble for either the staff or the guides who took us out two or three times a day, either on foot or by canoe, to experience this truly magical part of the world. Truly a holiday of a lifetime.

Rating for tour operator:

I have enjoyed two holidays with Naturetrek to date. Their careful attention to detail is present before, during and after your holiday and the friendly knowledgeable staff will answer any questions you may have before you travel, no matter how trivial. As soon as you receive their comprehensive brochure, it is obvious that a lot of very careful thought has gone into the planning of their holidays so that we, the travellers, may reap the benefits. Their use of experts who are leaders in their field, terrific itineraries and choice accommodation ensures a truly first class holiday.

Naturetrek by John W, 1 Feb 2015
Holiday Rating:

An Amazing Visit to the Amazon Basin and Galapagos Islands

An amazing adventure. Any lover of nature should put these places at the top of their agenda. The Amazon basin is somewhere we have all seen on TV but to experience it gives a new perspective. Seeing giant otters, many species of monkey and the varied and magnificent bird life is something worth doing in its own right. However, to accompany such a visit with a tour of the Galapagos raises the experience to a whole new level. I have been to many ...

An amazing adventure. Any lover of nature should put these places at the top of their agenda. The Amazon basin is somewhere we have all seen on TV but to experience it gives a new perspective. Seeing giant otters, many species of monkey and the varied and magnificent bird life is something worth doing in its own right. However, to accompany such a visit with a tour of the Galapagos raises the experience to a whole new level. I have been to many wonderful places in Africa, America and Australia but I would put the Galapagos top of my list. The combination of islands in all their variety and the sea cruises in between, in waters teeming with marine life is exhilarating. The wildlife is so unafraid of humans that the main problem is to avoid accidentally stepping on sleeping sea lions or nesting birds as you walk along the paths and beaches. Snorkelling with sea lions, feeding turtles, penguins, flightless cormorants, sharks, rays and a variety of tropical fish is a wonderful thing to do. We used a small 16 berth schooner on our Naturetrek holiday and I am pleased that we did. It seemed to put us in touch with our surroundings in a way that the bigger boats we saw wouldn't have done. The group were brilliant and everyone got along, having a common interest in nature. The crew were marvellous, the food great and our guide, Darwin, couldn't have been better. His knowledge and ability to inspire were first class. We were looked after wonderfully and Naturetrek's organisation was impeccable. Every day involves wet and dry landings on the islands, walks to see the wildlife and geology, swimming and snorkelling or simply relaxing on the boat if that's what you felt like. This combination of activities and relaxation made the holiday into far more than a simple passive viewing experience.

Rating for tour operator:

Naturetrek's itinerary was perfect. We spent time on most of the accessible Galapagos islands and appreciated their variety and diversity of life. The organisation of the holiday was perfect. Special dietary needs were catered for very well and the whole thing went like clockwork.We normally organise our own holidays and it was great to have all that taken care of and to be whisked painlessly through the airport and other formalities when visiting the Amazon basin and the Galapagos. This contributed greatly to our enjoyment by removing many of the stresses normally associated with travel.