AITO: The Association of Independent Tour Operators
Naturetrek

Naturetrek Traveller Reviews

Reviews of Naturetrek

Overall Company Rating
99%
Excellent 1532
Good 75
Average 1
Poor 1
Terrible 2
Reviews Submitted: 1611
Reviews Accepted: 1611
Reviews Rejected: 0
1611 reviews
Sort by:
Brazil - Just Jaguars! by Satisfied customer., 23 Sep 2014
Holiday Rating:

Just Jaguars

A fantastic holiday with wonderful sightings of Jaguars, not to mention Giant Anteaters, Caiman, Capybara, Tayra, Agouti, Crab eating fox and the beautiful Giant River Otters. The birds are simply stunning and plentiful. Basic accommodation as you would expect in a remote environment but good food and air conditioning, essential in the heat and humidity. The road into the Pantanal is rough and dusty so a degree of fitness is required for ...

A fantastic holiday with wonderful sightings of Jaguars, not to mention Giant Anteaters, Caiman, Capybara, Tayra, Agouti, Crab eating fox and the beautiful Giant River Otters. The birds are simply stunning and plentiful. Basic accommodation as you would expect in a remote environment but good food and air conditioning, essential in the heat and humidity. The road into the Pantanal is rough and dusty so a degree of fitness is required for this totally amazing holiday experience.

Rating for tour operator:

Very proffessional company, organisation both in the Uk and abroad are excellent. This is the third time I have travelled with them. The guides used are superb and very knowledgeable.

Brazil - Just Jaguars! by RobC, 4 Sep 2014
Holiday Rating:

Just Jaguars - Brazil

Tour of the Pantanal region of Brazil watching and photographing wildlife. Particularly good and frequent sightings of Jaguars along with a good range of other mammals, reptiles, amphibeans and birds.

Tour of the Pantanal region of Brazil watching and photographing wildlife. Particularly good and frequent sightings of Jaguars along with a good range of other mammals, reptiles, amphibeans and birds.

Rating for tour operator:

Very well organised tour with a very knowledgeable local guide.

Naturetrek by Rosie, 1 Sep 2014
Holiday Rating:

seeing a bear in the wild amidst beautiful Swedish forest

Traveled to a Wilderness Lodge in Sweden, stayed in very basic but comfortable cabin/room. Then 2 nights in a forest hide, set up so had relaxing chairs to watch from or warm and cozy bunk beds when needed to sleep. As due to darkness did not see any bears the first night so were taken back the next night and success! Also plenty of free time at the Lodge to walk, use the canoe's (with safety equipment) onto the lake or swim if brave enough ...

Traveled to a Wilderness Lodge in Sweden, stayed in very basic but comfortable cabin/room. Then 2 nights in a forest hide, set up so had relaxing chairs to watch from or warm and cozy bunk beds when needed to sleep. As due to darkness did not see any bears the first night so were taken back the next night and success! Also plenty of free time at the Lodge to walk, use the canoe's (with safety equipment) onto the lake or swim if brave enough and of course a sauna. All this enhanced by food that would win on master chef

Rating for tour operator:

They have been nothing but helpful. This was not the first time I had booked with them it was my third but on the previous two occasions I had to cancel due to emergency surgery (felt I was jinxed). Each and every time they were helpful, professional and did all they could to see things were sorted. Was very impressed with them

Naturetrek by levvylass, 20 Aug 2014
Holiday Rating:

Finland - Just Brown Beears

The holiday did exactly what 'it said on the tin'. We spent time in a hide and saw numerous Brown Bears. In addition we saw a wolverine and a number of different birds. the guides were very knowledgeable both in terms of the wild life and their understanding of camera equipment. Besides the hide we were taken to a nature reserve and to a number of lakes to spot other birds. The guides could not have been more accommodating. The food was excellent ...

The holiday did exactly what 'it said on the tin'. We spent time in a hide and saw numerous Brown Bears. In addition we saw a wolverine and a number of different birds. the guides were very knowledgeable both in terms of the wild life and their understanding of camera equipment. Besides the hide we were taken to a nature reserve and to a number of lakes to spot other birds. The guides could not have been more accommodating. The food was excellent and plenty of it and the accommodation was clean and comfortable although basic.

Rating for tour operator:

All communications were responded to in a timely and helpful manner. The information was clear and precise. There was nothing misleading in the information we received.

Naturetrek by Pam, 20 Aug 2014
Holiday Rating:

A truly amazing Galapagos experience!

A 12 day trip to Equador & the Galapagos. We had 2 trips whilst in Quito (Equador), but the emphasis was on the week spent sailing around the Galapagos Islands. Accompanied throughout by a very knowledgable Galapagos National Park Guide, with daily snorkelling and at least 2 shore excursions each day there was never a dull moment. To get so close up to nesting birds, sealions, iguanas and not to mention sharks, turtles, rays and fish too numerous ...

A 12 day trip to Equador & the Galapagos. We had 2 trips whilst in Quito (Equador), but the emphasis was on the week spent sailing around the Galapagos Islands. Accompanied throughout by a very knowledgable Galapagos National Park Guide, with daily snorkelling and at least 2 shore excursions each day there was never a dull moment. To get so close up to nesting birds, sealions, iguanas and not to mention sharks, turtles, rays and fish too numerous to list, is a wonderful experience. I recommend Naturetrek, and this trip, wholeheartedly.

Rating for tour operator:

This was my second trip with Naturetrek, and again the organisation and attention to detail was second to none. We were picked up from, and delivered to, airports and other tours. At Quito airport we were guided through the procedure for travelling to Galapagos (more complicated than most internal flights). The guides throughout, whether Naturetrek's own or local guides, were experts in their field, and very helpful and friendly.

Naturetrek by FS, 31 Jul 2014
Holiday Rating:

Sweden's bears

This holiday was based in a Wilderness lodge in Sweden. The accommodation was basic but comfortable. The location was by beautiful lake with opportunities for swimming and kayaking. All meals were freshly prepared by the hosts and were included in the price. 1 Night was spent in a purpose built bear hide. Although it was unseasonably hot, the hide was comfortable. A bear siting was not guaranteed but we were lucky to see one in the dusk.It ...

This holiday was based in a Wilderness lodge in Sweden. The accommodation was basic but comfortable. The location was by beautiful lake with opportunities for swimming and kayaking. All meals were freshly prepared by the hosts and were included in the price. 1 Night was spent in a purpose built bear hide. Although it was unseasonably hot, the hide was comfortable. A bear siting was not guaranteed but we were lucky to see one in the dusk.It was a very relaxing place to be for a few days away from normal busy life.

Rating for tour operator:

The tour operator responded to all my queries in a timely way and enabled me to adapt the holiday to suit my needs. it was good to speak to someone who had been on the holiday.

Spitsbergen - Realm of the Polar by DJ, 24 Jul 2014
Holiday Rating:

A memorable Arctic experience

A fantastic cruise around Spitsbergen experiencing the unique landscape and wildlife of a very special place

A fantastic cruise around Spitsbergen experiencing the unique landscape and wildlife of a very special place

Rating for tour operator:

Organised a great trip. Very impressed

Naturetrek by North wales traveller, 24 Jul 2014
Holiday Rating:

Wonderful time in the camargue, France

The holidays was very well organised and the trip leaders really looked after us well. The leaders were very knowledgable and knew the area very well. Pre holidays service was excellent - very good customer service.

The holidays was very well organised and the trip leaders really looked after us well. The leaders were very knowledgable and knew the area very well. Pre holidays service was excellent - very good customer service.

Rating for tour operator:

Naturetrek are an excellent travel company - fantastic customer service.

Naturetrek by CHARLIE, 17 Jul 2014
Holiday Rating:

Good Wildlife Watching in Finland

A combination of day walks & night watching for Wolverine from a forest hide. Good company in a small group of 6 with an English leader. We saw Wolverine on both nights & a rare Hawk Owl (the same one?) also both nights. Weather unseasonally hot & sunny. Finnair flights LHR to Helsinki excellent plus the onward Flybe connecting flights to & from the east. A downside on this trip was that neither local guide spoke any English & we had a strange ...

A combination of day walks & night watching for Wolverine from a forest hide. Good company in a small group of 6 with an English leader. We saw Wolverine on both nights & a rare Hawk Owl (the same one?) also both nights. Weather unseasonally hot & sunny. Finnair flights LHR to Helsinki excellent plus the onward Flybe connecting flights to & from the east. A downside on this trip was that neither local guide spoke any English & we had a strange lunchtime trip to see very nocturnal Flying Squirrels (we didn't!). Horse flies were a nuisance. However on balance this was an enjoyable short break to see interesting wildlife in northern Europe.

Rating for tour operator:

Naturetrek is one of the leading wildlife tour operators in the UK & has been in existence for 20+ years. It provides a comprehensive programme of expertly guided tours to all continents & it caters for most interests (not solely birds). Based in Hampshire, its programme expands all the time.

Naturetrek responded to this review on 18 Jul 2014:

We were delighted to learn that our very first ‘Finland – on the Trail of the Wolverine’ tour had such great views of its main quarry. However we were concerned to read that the local guide’s English was poor and will ensure that new guides are brought in for future departures. We expect all of our local guides to speak good English and we are currently looking into the matter and appreciate the issue being brought to our attension. Although the Flying Squirrel excursion was not part of the Naturetrek programme and paid for locally, we will arrange for a full refund of the cost of this unsuccessful trip to be sent to all group members early next week. Thank you once again for your feedback.

Naturetrek by Guy, 15 Jul 2014
Holiday Rating:

An incredible experience viewing wolverines in the Finnish forests.

Two nights spent in the viewing hide gave us excellent views of wolverines in their natural habitat. Had 11 sightings of probably 5 different wolverines, some from only 1.5 metres. A hawk owl was also present on both nights as a bonus.

Two nights spent in the viewing hide gave us excellent views of wolverines in their natural habitat. Had 11 sightings of probably 5 different wolverines, some from only 1.5 metres. A hawk owl was also present on both nights as a bonus.

Rating for tour operator:

Honest regarding the limitations of such a trip in the wild forest. Excellent leader with great knowledge and personality. Top quality information throughout.