AITO: The Association of Independent Tour Operators
Naturetrek

Naturetrek Traveller Reviews

Reviews of Naturetrek

Overall Company Rating
99%
Excellent 1532
Good 75
Average 1
Poor 1
Terrible 2
Reviews Submitted: 1611
Reviews Accepted: 1611
Reviews Rejected: 0
1611 reviews
Sort by:
Naturetrek by Herbie, 22 Oct 2014
Holiday Rating:

A great holiday with an excellent guide with superb birding knowledge

A great holiday with an excellent guide with superb birding knowledge

Rating for tour operator:

Very efficient company have used them twice and will certainly use them again

Naturetrek by AnnH, 12 Oct 2014
Holiday Rating:

Close encounters in Uganda

A fantastic trip in the west of Uganda. We saw a wide variety of wildlife including gorillas, elephants, antelope, zebra, buffalo and numerous bird species. The scenery was beautiful and the accommodation very good.

A fantastic trip in the west of Uganda. We saw a wide variety of wildlife including gorillas, elephants, antelope, zebra, buffalo and numerous bird species. The scenery was beautiful and the accommodation very good.

Rating for tour operator:

NatureTrek focus on the wildlife and scenery of a destination. Their itineraries are comprehensive and ensure you get the most of the trip, they provided excellent support in the build up the trip answering our many and varied questions promptly and efficiently.

Naturetrek by Nutcracker, 6 Oct 2014
Holiday Rating:

Our Swedish Safari

An excellent itinerary across a range of habitats. Excellent accommodation and food. The whole experience was enhanced by the tight organisation and expertise of our party guide, Daniel.

An excellent itinerary across a range of habitats. Excellent accommodation and food. The whole experience was enhanced by the tight organisation and expertise of our party guide, Daniel.

Rating for tour operator:

Despite our late booking we found the whole process worked smoothly and efficiently. Our queries were dealt with promptly by telephone. We would definitely use this company again.

Naturetrek by Miss J P 14, 4 Oct 2014
Holiday Rating:

Naturetrek review

Naturetrek was very obliging in arranging for me to occupy a lower berth after I discovered that it had been possible to request such at the time of booking. It would have been good to know this in advance of booking as it did cause some aggravation subsequently, albeit it was resolved satisfactorily. Subject to the comments in the above box, I was pleased with Naturetrek's service and will certainly consider other trips with the company

Naturetrek was very obliging in arranging for me to occupy a lower berth after I discovered that it had been possible to request such at the time of booking. It would have been good to know this in advance of booking as it did cause some aggravation subsequently, albeit it was resolved satisfactorily. Subject to the comments in the above box, I was pleased with Naturetrek's service and will certainly consider other trips with the company. The biggest failings on this trip were not sending a staff member to accompany this pioneer trip and making claims in their literature which were not borne out.

Naturetrek by Buzz, 3 Oct 2014
Holiday Rating:

Iceland in Autumn - Glaciers, Icebergs and Waterfalls.

I went on this trip with Naturetrek specifically to visit Thingvillir. Here I wanted to see the tectonic plates, but also the site of the ancient Althing, the embrionic democratic parliament. I was not disappointed. Although my desire to see this area was satisfied by the end of the second day, the rest of the trip was far from an anticlimax. Our next stop was Skaftafell, via two magnificent waterfalls, at the base of one of which I found myself ...

I went on this trip with Naturetrek specifically to visit Thingvillir. Here I wanted to see the tectonic plates, but also the site of the ancient Althing, the embrionic democratic parliament. I was not disappointed. Although my desire to see this area was satisfied by the end of the second day, the rest of the trip was far from an anticlimax. Our next stop was Skaftafell, via two magnificent waterfalls, at the base of one of which I found myself actually standing IN a rainbow. Skaftafell itself was beautiful with more waterfalls and a richly coloured forest of dwarf birch trees. We finshed our trip with a visit to Reykjavik and a whale watching trip. On our way back to the airport on the last day, we visited a large recently formed steaming vent set in a science fiction landscape. There was much much more along the way which impressed, and beguiled. A holiday I will always remember.

Rating for tour operator:

The information and advice provided before the trip was very clear and helpful. The accommodation was very good as was the food they provided both 'in house' and as packed lunches. The guide was very knowledgeable with a lot of experience of the country as a whole. He also made us feel very at home in Iceland and as a consequence the whole group got on very well together.

Spitsbergen - Realm of the Polar by DTSmith72, 2 Oct 2014
Holiday Rating:

A once in a lifetime experience that exceeded all expectations!

The trip was well organised from start to finish. We were met at the airport which was really helpful. With any wildlife trip you can never be sure of what you're going to see regardless of the best laid plans, but on this trip we saw Blue Whale, Humpback whale, seals, walrus, amazing bird life and of course Poar Bears! The whole trip I felt that the ships Naturalist Leaders and Naturetrek Tour Leaders were doing all they could to ensure the ...

The trip was well organised from start to finish. We were met at the airport which was really helpful. With any wildlife trip you can never be sure of what you're going to see regardless of the best laid plans, but on this trip we saw Blue Whale, Humpback whale, seals, walrus, amazing bird life and of course Poar Bears! The whole trip I felt that the ships Naturalist Leaders and Naturetrek Tour Leaders were doing all they could to ensure the best chance to see the best of the Arctic Wildlife. And when not looking for wildlife the ships hotel staff were second to none in making sure that the food, drink and facilities were just right.

Rating for tour operator:

Naturetrek ensured that every thing was done to ensure we had a wildlife filled and enjoyable holiday. They provided plenty of information before, during and after the holiday, all of which only added to the experience of the trip its self.

Naturetrek by Wild dreamer, 25 Sep 2014
Holiday Rating:

Naturetrek review

This was the twelfth holiday that I have taken with Naturetrek. As usual, I found them helpful, efficient and the provider of an excellent well planned holiday

This was the twelfth holiday that I have taken with Naturetrek. As usual, I found them helpful, efficient and the provider of an excellent well planned holiday

Naturetrek by JMM, 24 Sep 2014
Holiday Rating:

bird and mammals of northern Argentina

We had issues with the travel arrangments. Due to the very long journeys by roads of very varying conditions this tour should only have been by 4x4. Animal sightings were few and far between except at the last reserve which did live up to the expectations we were given by the brochure although we did not see all animals stated in the brochure( We fully understand that wildlife watching sightings are not guaranteed but I have seen more wild life ...

We had issues with the travel arrangments. Due to the very long journeys by roads of very varying conditions this tour should only have been by 4x4. Animal sightings were few and far between except at the last reserve which did live up to the expectations we were given by the brochure although we did not see all animals stated in the brochure( We fully understand that wildlife watching sightings are not guaranteed but I have seen more wild life on a walk with my dog than we encountered - birds excepted)

Rating for tour operator:

We have travelled several times with this company and this was the most disappointing trip to date.

Naturetrek responded to this review on 13 Nov 2014:

Thank you for your comments. The wildlife seen by the group as a whole was impressive, including some of South America's most enigmatic mammals Giant Anteater, Puma and Tapir. Not all animals and birds were seen by all participants though due to participants being split between two vehicles. Some of the drives on this tour are necessarily long and we will review how these journeys are managed and how they are portrayed in our literature.

Brazil - Just Jaguars! by caswebb, 23 Sep 2014
Holiday Rating:

Not Just Jaguars

An absolutely fabulous 2 week trip into the Pantanal region of Brazil, primarily to search for Jaguars although we also picked off the bizarre Giant Anteater and Giant River Otters.

An absolutely fabulous 2 week trip into the Pantanal region of Brazil, primarily to search for Jaguars although we also picked off the bizarre Giant Anteater and Giant River Otters.

Rating for tour operator:

The trip was very well organised and the local guides provided were excellent with very in depth knowledge of their subject matters. All of our requests were professionally handled, including the addition of a customised pre-tour extension to visit Rio de Janeiro. I have already booked my next trip with Naturetrek.

Brazil - Just Jaguars! by Jumping Jan, 23 Sep 2014
Holiday Rating:

Just Jaguars

A truly great nature watching experience in a very exciting country.

A truly great nature watching experience in a very exciting country.

Rating for tour operator:

Nature Trek is a true expert.