AITO: The Association of Independent Tour Operators
Naturetrek

Naturetrek Traveller Reviews

Reviews of Naturetrek

Overall Company Rating
99%
Excellent 1532
Good 75
Average 1
Poor 1
Terrible 2
Reviews Submitted: 1611
Reviews Accepted: 1611
Reviews Rejected: 0
1611 reviews
Sort by:
Naturetrek by P R Hill, 25 Nov 2014
Holiday Rating:

Best Activity Holiday I Have Been On

The holiday was a birdwatching trip to North West Ecuador covering the areas east and west of the Andes. Accommodation was at Lodges set up for Birding / Wildlife enthusiasts all of which were superb with fantastic amenities, comfortable rooms and the food throughout was plentiful, fresh and of a really good quality. The guide Alejandro Solano was top class, as good if not better than any guide I have been with. I would certainly book an holiday ...

The holiday was a birdwatching trip to North West Ecuador covering the areas east and west of the Andes. Accommodation was at Lodges set up for Birding / Wildlife enthusiasts all of which were superb with fantastic amenities, comfortable rooms and the food throughout was plentiful, fresh and of a really good quality. The guide Alejandro Solano was top class, as good if not better than any guide I have been with. I would certainly book an holiday just because he was the guide on it.

Rating for tour operator:

The holiday was booked through Naturetrek. This was the first time I have been with them and I would not hesitate to book with them again. I spoke to a few members of staff on the telephone and all were very helpful. They even booked us to depart from a local airport without us having to ask which was much appreciated. When arriving in Ecuador their local agents could not do enough for you.

Naturetrek by Aussie Jane, 25 Nov 2014
Holiday Rating:

Superb wildlife encounters aided by enthusiastic and well organised guides

I went on the nature trek lemur tour in Madagascar and aided by the knowledgeable guides we had superb views of a huge array of wildlife including lemurs , boas Giraffe necked weevil, the elusive fossa and numerous bird species. We visited a number of the national parks and reserves as well as some conservation projects and a paper making project. We travelled in a minibus and stayed in hotels and lodges which varied in standard but were all ...

I went on the nature trek lemur tour in Madagascar and aided by the knowledgeable guides we had superb views of a huge array of wildlife including lemurs , boas Giraffe necked weevil, the elusive fossa and numerous bird species. We visited a number of the national parks and reserves as well as some conservation projects and a paper making project. We travelled in a minibus and stayed in hotels and lodges which varied in standard but were all quite acceptable and very comfortable. Loads of lovely food and the meals were very social I had a great trip !

Rating for tour operator:

The trip was very well organised and the very enthusiastic guides were flexible in trying to meet every bodies expectations I had a super time and would use nature trek again and would love to re visit Madagascar and saviour more of its unique biodiversity

Naturetrek by ranger Pam, 21 Nov 2014
Holiday Rating:

relaxing but exciting both at the same time! relaxing because we were so well looked after, exciting because of the wildlife we saw.

Flew to Madrid, mini bus to our guest house, lovely welcome by a Spanish family. Home cooking throughout. Expert tour guide took us to all the best places, felt we had seen a non tourist area of Spain and the best of it's wildlife. Marvellous.

Flew to Madrid, mini bus to our guest house, lovely welcome by a Spanish family. Home cooking throughout. Expert tour guide took us to all the best places, felt we had seen a non tourist area of Spain and the best of it's wildlife. Marvellous.

Rating for tour operator:

Naturetrek looks after you so I feel I can go on my own with them as a single female and not be apprehensive, or I can take my very elderly aunt and not be worried about her welfare. And they really know where all the best wildlife spots are.

Naturetrek by Chorley John, 21 Nov 2014
Holiday Rating:

birding at it's best

After a long journey we were greeted with a fruit cocktail to revive us,then taken to our spacious rooms.Then it was birding, birding, birding,with our excellent guides.A truly memorable holiday.

After a long journey we were greeted with a fruit cocktail to revive us,then taken to our spacious rooms.Then it was birding, birding, birding,with our excellent guides.A truly memorable holiday.

Rating for tour operator:

As this was the first tour to Honduras there were a few teething troubles,but with these overcome,and with the efficiency of our guide Richard,the rest of the holiday was stress free and relaxing.I hope to be travelling with the company at a future date.

Spitsbergen - Realm of the Polar by TS , 21 Nov 2014
Holiday Rating:

Spitsbergen - round the clock wildlife!

A wonderful holiday in the high Arctic aboard a Naturetrek chartered vessel (MV Ortelius). Expectations were high but the wildlife and scenery easily exceeded our wildest dreams! Polar Bears, Walrus, huge sea bird colonies, Blue, Humpback and Minke Whales were amongst the many wildlife highlights. All this with spectacular scenery throughout. The boat, an ice-strengthened expedition vessel, was crewed by a professional and friendly team and ...

A wonderful holiday in the high Arctic aboard a Naturetrek chartered vessel (MV Ortelius). Expectations were high but the wildlife and scenery easily exceeded our wildest dreams! Polar Bears, Walrus, huge sea bird colonies, Blue, Humpback and Minke Whales were amongst the many wildlife highlights. All this with spectacular scenery throughout. The boat, an ice-strengthened expedition vessel, was crewed by a professional and friendly team and Naturetrek also sent 3 of their own tour leaders. Needless to say there was a wealth of knowledge aboard which proved invaluable for the exciting daily land excursions and absorbing evening lectures. This holiday comes highly recommended!

Rating for tour operator:

Naturetrek were friendly and helpful throughout the entire process and provided extensive pre tour information, ensuring we were well prepared for the holiday. I would highly recommend them and look forward to travelling with them again.

Naturetrek by Aberdeenshire Quine, 17 Nov 2014
Holiday Rating:

Fabulous mixture of wildlife and countryside with 2 days re-wind at the end!

Billed as Autumn in Hungary- I was desperate to see the migration of the cranes. It was wonderful. Thousands of birds flowing overhead, all commenting to each other and filling the dusk. I loved seeing so much of the countryside - little villages with roofs slipping towards the ground; shepherds with their assorted flocks; herds of grey cattle, heads heavy with horns. The accommodation was fie - the Hotel Nomad in the hills was superb. I could ...

Billed as Autumn in Hungary- I was desperate to see the migration of the cranes. It was wonderful. Thousands of birds flowing overhead, all commenting to each other and filling the dusk. I loved seeing so much of the countryside - little villages with roofs slipping towards the ground; shepherds with their assorted flocks; herds of grey cattle, heads heavy with horns. The accommodation was fie - the Hotel Nomad in the hills was superb. I could not believe that I had all that space to myself. Knowledgeable guides, considerate to meet the needs of all and a pace that suited me just fine. I really appreciated my two nights footloose in Budapest at the end - a chance to explore a fascinating city. Being there for national day was a major plus. Music on the Danube.....

Rating for tour operator:

naturetrek - the third time I have travelled with them and not the last. Previous ours have been mainly mammal focused but each time the attention to detail and concern for the customer has been hugely apparent.

Naturetrek by Sherpa, 17 Nov 2014
Holiday Rating:

wonderful wildlife viewing with expert guides

We spent 2 weeks on Vancouver Island with a Nature Trek holiday viewing wildlife from sea otters to grizzly bears. The holiday was very well organised with expert guidance and a comprehensive itinerary that delivered memorable sightings and wonderful photographs.

We spent 2 weeks on Vancouver Island with a Nature Trek holiday viewing wildlife from sea otters to grizzly bears. The holiday was very well organised with expert guidance and a comprehensive itinerary that delivered memorable sightings and wonderful photographs.

Rating for tour operator:

Nature Trek delivered a comprehensive holiday that exceeded our expectations.

Naturetrek by Dan Y, 16 Nov 2014
Holiday Rating:

A wonderful experience!

Our holiday was 5 days in Northern Spain on a Naturetrek Tour called Wolves and Great Bustards. We saw both and a great deal more wildlife too! It's a beautiful and interesting area of Spain. We were lucky with the weather too.

Our holiday was 5 days in Northern Spain on a Naturetrek Tour called Wolves and Great Bustards. We saw both and a great deal more wildlife too! It's a beautiful and interesting area of Spain. We were lucky with the weather too.

Rating for tour operator:

The tour was very well organised. Our guides were friendly, welcoming, informative and very hardworking. The group size was good and a great group of people. Hotel and food was good too - local wine included in the price! I genuinely can't find fault

Naturetrek by DP, 12 Nov 2014
Holiday Rating:

An excellent birding and cultural holiday

This trip to Northern Peru was designed to seek out the birds of Peru, particularly endemics and to give us an insight into the pre-Inca cultures. It succeeded on all fronts. Excellent tour leaders with amazing birding skills escorted us into the Amazon, over the Andes and through the dry plains of western Andes to the Pacific Coast, their skills and knowledge enhancing the birding experience. The humidity and rains of the Amazon did nothing ...

This trip to Northern Peru was designed to seek out the birds of Peru, particularly endemics and to give us an insight into the pre-Inca cultures. It succeeded on all fronts. Excellent tour leaders with amazing birding skills escorted us into the Amazon, over the Andes and through the dry plains of western Andes to the Pacific Coast, their skills and knowledge enhancing the birding experience. The humidity and rains of the Amazon did nothing to dampen our enjoyment of walking forest trails and boating the tributaries and oxbow lakes seeking out the local wildlife, and we found loads! Equally birding the high hairpin roads, passing through remote villages and the warm welcome of the people contributed to an amazing holiday culminating in a visit to pre-Inca ruins and a superb museum of ancient artefacts .

Rating for tour operator:

We have travelled around the world with Naturetrek and have never had anything but first class customer service and exceedingly good wildlife and cultural experiences, lead by excellent tour Leaders.

Naturetrek by Finchy, 29 Oct 2014
Holiday Rating:

Naturetrek Tailormade Holiday to Agentina

My wife was visiting Buenos Aires for a conference and we decided to tag on a holiday in Argentina. We are in our 60s and my wife has chronic pain, but we were up for a bit of adventure and wanted to see Argentina's scenery and wildlife, with a focus on birding. This seemed daunting to organise until I came across Naturetrek on the web and noticed they had a service called Tailormade. I emailed our requirements and was soon able to agree a fantastic ...

My wife was visiting Buenos Aires for a conference and we decided to tag on a holiday in Argentina. We are in our 60s and my wife has chronic pain, but we were up for a bit of adventure and wanted to see Argentina's scenery and wildlife, with a focus on birding. This seemed daunting to organise until I came across Naturetrek on the web and noticed they had a service called Tailormade. I emailed our requirements and was soon able to agree a fantastic itinerary of birdwatching in the Andes and around Iguazu. We had a guide for each of these legs whose knowledge, consideration and frankly good company really made the holday for us. Accommodation varied from good to stunning throughout the trip and we were always comfortable, even when traversing high mountain passes in a slightly temperamental landrover. Fantastic views of Andean Condor, flamingos, torrent duck, burrowing owls, 4 species of toucan, vicuna, agouti and even a jaguarundi were among the memorable sightings. And the Malbec was to die for.

Rating for tour operator:

Nature trek tailormade made the whole experience of discussing, planning and organising the holiday seem like doing it with a friend. The experience did not seem transactional at any stage, even though everything was done by email. The wonderful thing was that the tour was rather undersold in the sense that we were warned about possible down sides and we left for Argentina excited but with a realistic view that some aspects of the trip might not work out as we hoped. In the event our expectations were greatly exceeded by every single aspect of our holiday - from the lodges used to the smooth flight connections, from the guides to the country itself.