AITO: The Association of Independent Tour Operators
Naturetrek

Naturetrek Traveller Reviews

Reviews of Naturetrek

Overall Company Rating
99%
Excellent 1532
Good 75
Average 1
Poor 1
Terrible 2
Reviews Submitted: 1611
Reviews Accepted: 1611
Reviews Rejected: 0
1611 reviews
Sort by:
Naturetrek by Martin Catch, 19 May 2015
Holiday Rating:

Superb wildlife holiday in Spain's Coto Donana and Extremadura

This Naturetrek tour was based at El Rocio in the Coto Donana near Seville and also in Extremadura near Trujilo. On this tour our leaders Simon and Amy were excellent showing the knowledge and personality to make a success of the trek - not easy in remote areas and with very different people in the group. We had some amazing sitings - Iberian Lynx and Spanish Imperial Eagle to name but two. On other occasions we not only saw the birds, ...

This Naturetrek tour was based at El Rocio in the Coto Donana near Seville and also in Extremadura near Trujilo. On this tour our leaders Simon and Amy were excellent showing the knowledge and personality to make a success of the trek - not easy in remote areas and with very different people in the group. We had some amazing sitings - Iberian Lynx and Spanish Imperial Eagle to name but two. On other occasions we not only saw the birds, animals, insects we were looking for but had really good views that will stay in the memory a long time. I was particularly keen to get some good sightings of Bee Eaters and was not disappointed! Hotels were good at both locations - especially the Vina las Torres Hotel in Extremadura which was outstanding.

Rating for tour operator:

I have used Naturetrek on three holidays in the past 10 years and they have good leaders who really know about birds and wildlife. The itineries are well chosen to give a good chance of seeing the most interesting species. Hotels are close to areas rich in wildlife and also provide a good standard of food and accommodation. The leaders were knowledgeable and good at ensuring that all members of the group were involved - helping those for instance who had not seen clearly a particular bird or animal. The treks aim to help you see a large variety of the birds and other wildlife in the area in a relatively short period - for us 9 days and we have rarely been disappointed.

Naturetrek by Mr P H 15, 19 May 2015
Holiday Rating:

Breakfast with the birds

I visited the Canopy Tower in Panama, birdwatcing the rain forest along the pipeline road. Its a unique experiance staying in the tower and starting the day watching birds in the forest canopy at eye level. Coffee is provided for first light to get you going then buffet breakfast. When you have had your fill of the birds in the canopy you can head down the hummingbird feeders at the entrance giving fantastic close views. Our guideAlexis Sanchez ...

I visited the Canopy Tower in Panama, birdwatcing the rain forest along the pipeline road. Its a unique experiance staying in the tower and starting the day watching birds in the forest canopy at eye level. Coffee is provided for first light to get you going then buffet breakfast. When you have had your fill of the birds in the canopy you can head down the hummingbird feeders at the entrance giving fantastic close views. Our guideAlexis Sanchez was always close at hand to help with identification and bird song. It was a first class holiday and i would recomend it to everyone as its not all about birds but mammals butterfly's and flowers as well

Rating for tour operator:

Naturetrek have vast experience in bird and wildlife holidays. It makes you confident that you are in safe hands. The pre departure pack is excellent and comprehensive, added to this you are sent a check list and a tour report from a previous trip. I have traveled with Naturetrek on a number of occations and am looking forward to my next trip with them

Naturetrek by JanC, 18 May 2015
Holiday Rating:

this holiday had it all!

I love nature but am not a fanatical twitcher or botanist, I just like to admired the beauty of nature. I also love beautiful buildings and the history associated with them. Many nature based holiudays are fixed on seeing target species but this holiday managed to incorporate everything and the mix of people meant that many of us developed new interests and saw the natural and man made wonders with new eyes! Everything was well organised yet ...

I love nature but am not a fanatical twitcher or botanist, I just like to admired the beauty of nature. I also love beautiful buildings and the history associated with them. Many nature based holiudays are fixed on seeing target species but this holiday managed to incorporate everything and the mix of people meant that many of us developed new interests and saw the natural and man made wonders with new eyes! Everything was well organised yet flexible enough to adapt to suit weather conditions etc so well done Naturetrek and there expert guides who made the week such fun as well as informative! 10/10!!

Rating for tour operator:

Often in a relationship the two halves have very different interests and a compromise on holidays has to be reached meaning neither party gets full satisfaction! Naturetrek have recognized this and now include in their programme holidays that combine two or more subjects. Although birds and butterflies or flowers and bird holidays may be available elsewhere, Naturetrek have dared to join together natural and man made wonders which makes holidays to suit all tastes! These trips have proved extremely popular so hopefully they will plan many more in the future.

Naturetrek by M&P, 18 May 2015
Holiday Rating:

Great experience

A beginner's bird watching tour in Coto Donana; knowledgeable and friendly tour leaders who happily shared their knowledge with us all. Spent each day out "spotting" and each lunch and evening enjoying spanish food and wine and discussing the day's events. We saw lots of birds and would thoroughly recommend.

A beginner's bird watching tour in Coto Donana; knowledgeable and friendly tour leaders who happily shared their knowledge with us all. Spent each day out "spotting" and each lunch and evening enjoying spanish food and wine and discussing the day's events. We saw lots of birds and would thoroughly recommend.

Rating for tour operator:

Informative information provided on website and in brochure. Easy to book. Everything organised and we were kept up to date in a timely manner. Feedback after the tour requested and responded to.

Naturetrek by Vincent2, 18 May 2015
Holiday Rating:

Estonia in spring

It was a birdwatching & General natural history trip run by Naturetrek, whom I have used for 13 yrs. We had 2 excellent leaders, one an Estonian naturalist, & a naturetrek leader, who was exceptional. It was a very busy holiday, with lots of content & information. We travelled over quite a lot of the country - Estonia is lovely-with high standards in food & accommodation.. I. Ery much enjoyed it, & would travel with Naturetrek again.

It was a birdwatching & General natural history trip run by Naturetrek, whom I have used for 13 yrs. We had 2 excellent leaders, one an Estonian naturalist, & a naturetrek leader, who was exceptional. It was a very busy holiday, with lots of content & information. We travelled over quite a lot of the country - Estonia is lovely-with high standards in food & accommodation.. I. Ery much enjoyed it, & would travel with Naturetrek again.

Rating for tour operator:

They are a very well run company., & always reply promptly to any queries pre- departure

Naturetrek by happy cahppie, 18 May 2015
Holiday Rating:

had a fantastic time loved it,

we were in samos a beautiful greek island,

we were in samos a beautiful greek island,

Rating for tour operator:

helped us with all our travel plans,

Naturetrek by Bournville John, 18 May 2015
Holiday Rating:

Brilliant holiday with a super guide.

We had a great time. The accommodation was very good and the food was excellent. Our guide (Byron Palacios) was caring, thoughtful and a superb naturalist. The highlight for us (and a difficult choice to make) was sitting virtually amongst approx 200 feeding Griffon vultures - what an experience! A lovely area of Spain (Sierra de Guara), very unspoiled and few people around.

We had a great time. The accommodation was very good and the food was excellent. Our guide (Byron Palacios) was caring, thoughtful and a superb naturalist. The highlight for us (and a difficult choice to make) was sitting virtually amongst approx 200 feeding Griffon vultures - what an experience! A lovely area of Spain (Sierra de Guara), very unspoiled and few people around.

Rating for tour operator:

Naturetrek are always most helpful and informative. They are always prepared to answer questions and there is no pressure to 'buy' from them. A great 'brochure' which we take much pleasure from looking at many times throughout the year.

India - Tiger Direct! by Orchidman, 18 May 2015
Holiday Rating:

Tigers beyond belief

Flew to Nagha via Mumbai. Visited four tiger reserves. Accommodation excellent in small lodges. Accompanied throughout by high quality experienced guides, drivers and spotters. Visited Tadoba, Pench, Kanha & Satpura national parks. Two drives every day, early morning and afternoon/evening. Saw tiger on 10 occasions together with sloth bear, wild dogs, jackals, leopard etc. Wonderful birding. Naturetrek employed the best personnel available ...

Flew to Nagha via Mumbai. Visited four tiger reserves. Accommodation excellent in small lodges. Accompanied throughout by high quality experienced guides, drivers and spotters. Visited Tadoba, Pench, Kanha & Satpura national parks. Two drives every day, early morning and afternoon/evening. Saw tiger on 10 occasions together with sloth bear, wild dogs, jackals, leopard etc. Wonderful birding. Naturetrek employed the best personnel available who gave us an unforgettablke experience. Unfortunately we were let down on the journey home by Jet Airways poor timekeeping. The Naturetrek Mumbai agent sorted everything: transport, overnight hotel etc.

Rating for tour operator:

Naturetrek are one of the best operators for wildlife holidays. Having used them several times they cannot be faulted for service before and after the holiday.

Naturetrek by Mr M S 15, 16 May 2015
Holiday Rating:

Puma watching in Chile - great wildlife and scenery

We traveled to Torres del Paine in Chile with NatureTrek Ltd in search of pumas. Over 6 days we had some 14 or so sightings of puma. NatureTrek were great! Very informative and helpful.

We traveled to Torres del Paine in Chile with NatureTrek Ltd in search of pumas. Over 6 days we had some 14 or so sightings of puma. NatureTrek were great! Very informative and helpful.

Rating for tour operator:

NatureTrek have the widest range of wildlife trips of any tour operator. They organise extremely good trips, are very reliable and friendly.

Naturetrek by puffin, 16 May 2015
Holiday Rating:

Friendly and interesting natural history holiday in warm and welcoming Sicily

The team leaders and fellow travellers made this a vey special holiday for me. I was a novice bird watcher but with a keen interest in all flora and fauna. The hospitality of Baron Peter and his team was exceptional, as was the food and wine. The weather was glorious and a trip to the crater on Etna especially memorable. We enjoyed the care and expertise of two Naturetrek guides and saw an amazing range of birds, butterflies and flowers.

The team leaders and fellow travellers made this a vey special holiday for me. I was a novice bird watcher but with a keen interest in all flora and fauna. The hospitality of Baron Peter and his team was exceptional, as was the food and wine. The weather was glorious and a trip to the crater on Etna especially memorable. We enjoyed the care and expertise of two Naturetrek guides and saw an amazing range of birds, butterflies and flowers.

Rating for tour operator:

The tour operator took care of all the arrangements and kept us fully informed of travel details and items we should include to make the trip comfortable and enjoyable. I particularly appreciated the fact they booked us in online and sent boarding passes. All correspondence was answered promptly and efficiently and all feedback was personally acknowledged.