AITO: The Association of Independent Tour Operators
Naturetrek

Naturetrek Traveller Reviews

Reviews of Naturetrek

Overall Company Rating
99%
Excellent 1397
Good 66
Average 1
Poor 1
Terrible 2
Reviews Submitted: 1467
Reviews Accepted: 1467
Reviews Rejected: 0
1467 reviews
Sort by:
Naturetrek by Pam, 20 Aug 2014
Holiday Rating:

A truly amazing Galapagos experience!

A 12 day trip to Equador & the Galapagos. We had 2 trips whilst in Quito (Equador), but the emphasis was on the week spent sailing around the Galapagos Islands. Accompanied throughout by a very knowledgable Galapagos National Park Guide, with daily snorkelling and at least 2 shore excursions each day there was never a dull moment. To get so close up to nesting birds, sealions, iguanas and not to mention sharks, turtles, rays and fish too numerous ...

A 12 day trip to Equador & the Galapagos. We had 2 trips whilst in Quito (Equador), but the emphasis was on the week spent sailing around the Galapagos Islands. Accompanied throughout by a very knowledgable Galapagos National Park Guide, with daily snorkelling and at least 2 shore excursions each day there was never a dull moment. To get so close up to nesting birds, sealions, iguanas and not to mention sharks, turtles, rays and fish too numerous to list, is a wonderful experience. I recommend Naturetrek, and this trip, wholeheartedly.

Rating for tour operator:

This was my second trip with Naturetrek, and again the organisation and attention to detail was second to none. We were picked up from, and delivered to, airports and other tours. At Quito airport we were guided through the procedure for travelling to Galapagos (more complicated than most internal flights). The guides throughout, whether Naturetrek's own or local guides, were experts in their field, and very helpful and friendly.

Naturetrek by FS, 31 Jul 2014
Holiday Rating:

Sweden's bears

This holiday was based in a Wilderness lodge in Sweden. The accommodation was basic but comfortable. The location was by beautiful lake with opportunities for swimming and kayaking. All meals were freshly prepared by the hosts and were included in the price. 1 Night was spent in a purpose built bear hide. Although it was unseasonably hot, the hide was comfortable. A bear siting was not guaranteed but we were lucky to see one in the dusk.It ...

This holiday was based in a Wilderness lodge in Sweden. The accommodation was basic but comfortable. The location was by beautiful lake with opportunities for swimming and kayaking. All meals were freshly prepared by the hosts and were included in the price. 1 Night was spent in a purpose built bear hide. Although it was unseasonably hot, the hide was comfortable. A bear siting was not guaranteed but we were lucky to see one in the dusk.It was a very relaxing place to be for a few days away from normal busy life.

Rating for tour operator:

The tour operator responded to all my queries in a timely way and enabled me to adapt the holiday to suit my needs. it was good to speak to someone who had been on the holiday.

Spitsbergen - Realm of the Polar by DJ, 24 Jul 2014
Holiday Rating:

A memorable Arctic experience

A fantastic cruise around Spitsbergen experiencing the unique landscape and wildlife of a very special place

A fantastic cruise around Spitsbergen experiencing the unique landscape and wildlife of a very special place

Rating for tour operator:

Organised a great trip. Very impressed

Naturetrek by North wales traveller, 24 Jul 2014
Holiday Rating:

Wonderful time in the camargue, France

The holidays was very well organised and the trip leaders really looked after us well. The leaders were very knowledgable and knew the area very well. Pre holidays service was excellent - very good customer service.

The holidays was very well organised and the trip leaders really looked after us well. The leaders were very knowledgable and knew the area very well. Pre holidays service was excellent - very good customer service.

Rating for tour operator:

Naturetrek are an excellent travel company - fantastic customer service.

Naturetrek by CHARLIE, 17 Jul 2014
Holiday Rating:

Good Wildlife Watching in Finland

A combination of day walks & night watching for Wolverine from a forest hide. Good company in a small group of 6 with an English leader. We saw Wolverine on both nights & a rare Hawk Owl (the same one?) also both nights. Weather unseasonally hot & sunny. Finnair flights LHR to Helsinki excellent plus the onward Flybe connecting flights to & from the east. A downside on this trip was that neither local guide spoke any English & we had a strange ...

A combination of day walks & night watching for Wolverine from a forest hide. Good company in a small group of 6 with an English leader. We saw Wolverine on both nights & a rare Hawk Owl (the same one?) also both nights. Weather unseasonally hot & sunny. Finnair flights LHR to Helsinki excellent plus the onward Flybe connecting flights to & from the east. A downside on this trip was that neither local guide spoke any English & we had a strange lunchtime trip to see very nocturnal Flying Squirrels (we didn't!). Horse flies were a nuisance. However on balance this was an enjoyable short break to see interesting wildlife in northern Europe.

Rating for tour operator:

Naturetrek is one of the leading wildlife tour operators in the UK & has been in existence for 20+ years. It provides a comprehensive programme of expertly guided tours to all continents & it caters for most interests (not solely birds). Based in Hampshire, its programme expands all the time.

Naturetrek responded to this review on 18 Jul 2014:

We were delighted to learn that our very first ‘Finland – on the Trail of the Wolverine’ tour had such great views of its main quarry. However we were concerned to read that the local guide’s English was poor and will ensure that new guides are brought in for future departures. We expect all of our local guides to speak good English and we are currently looking into the matter and appreciate the issue being brought to our attension. Although the Flying Squirrel excursion was not part of the Naturetrek programme and paid for locally, we will arrange for a full refund of the cost of this unsuccessful trip to be sent to all group members early next week. Thank you once again for your feedback.

Naturetrek by Guy, 15 Jul 2014
Holiday Rating:

An incredible experience viewing wolverines in the Finnish forests.

Two nights spent in the viewing hide gave us excellent views of wolverines in their natural habitat. Had 11 sightings of probably 5 different wolverines, some from only 1.5 metres. A hawk owl was also present on both nights as a bonus.

Two nights spent in the viewing hide gave us excellent views of wolverines in their natural habitat. Had 11 sightings of probably 5 different wolverines, some from only 1.5 metres. A hawk owl was also present on both nights as a bonus.

Rating for tour operator:

Honest regarding the limitations of such a trip in the wild forest. Excellent leader with great knowledge and personality. Top quality information throughout.

Naturetrek by rogan, 12 Jul 2014
Holiday Rating:

It was truly amazing to be watching Polar Bears and Walrus. Animals I had only seen in books and now they were walking/swimming right in front of me.

It was truly amazing to be watching Polar Bears and Walrus. Animals I had only seen in books and now they were walking/swimming right in front of me.

Rating for tour operator:

They were very helpful and informative. Did not have to worry about anything either before or during the trip. Would certainly go with them again and recommend to friends.