AITO: The Association of Independent Tour Operators
Naturetrek

Naturetrek Traveller Reviews

Reviews of Naturetrek

Overall Company Rating
99%
Excellent 1397
Good 66
Average 1
Poor 1
Terrible 2
Reviews Submitted: 1467
Reviews Accepted: 1467
Reviews Rejected: 0
1467 reviews
Sort by:
Naturetrek by Buzz, 3 Oct 2014
Holiday Rating:

Iceland in Autumn - Glaciers, Icebergs and Waterfalls.

I went on this trip with Naturetrek specifically to visit Thingvillir. Here I wanted to see the tectonic plates, but also the site of the ancient Althing, the embrionic democratic parliament. I was not disappointed. Although my desire to see this area was satisfied by the end of the second day, the rest of the trip was far from an anticlimax. Our next stop was Skaftafell, via two magnificent waterfalls, at the base of one of which I found myself ...

I went on this trip with Naturetrek specifically to visit Thingvillir. Here I wanted to see the tectonic plates, but also the site of the ancient Althing, the embrionic democratic parliament. I was not disappointed. Although my desire to see this area was satisfied by the end of the second day, the rest of the trip was far from an anticlimax. Our next stop was Skaftafell, via two magnificent waterfalls, at the base of one of which I found myself actually standing IN a rainbow. Skaftafell itself was beautiful with more waterfalls and a richly coloured forest of dwarf birch trees. We finshed our trip with a visit to Reykjavik and a whale watching trip. On our way back to the airport on the last day, we visited a large recently formed steaming vent set in a science fiction landscape. There was much much more along the way which impressed, and beguiled. A holiday I will always remember.

Rating for tour operator:

The information and advice provided before the trip was very clear and helpful. The accommodation was very good as was the food they provided both 'in house' and as packed lunches. The guide was very knowledgeable with a lot of experience of the country as a whole. He also made us feel very at home in Iceland and as a consequence the whole group got on very well together.

Spitsbergen - Realm of the Polar by DTSmith72, 2 Oct 2014
Holiday Rating:

A once in a lifetime experience that exceeded all expectations!

The trip was well organised from start to finish. We were met at the airport which was really helpful. With any wildlife trip you can never be sure of what you're going to see regardless of the best laid plans, but on this trip we saw Blue Whale, Humpback whale, seals, walrus, amazing bird life and of course Poar Bears! The whole trip I felt that the ships Naturalist Leaders and Naturetrek Tour Leaders were doing all they could to ensure the ...

The trip was well organised from start to finish. We were met at the airport which was really helpful. With any wildlife trip you can never be sure of what you're going to see regardless of the best laid plans, but on this trip we saw Blue Whale, Humpback whale, seals, walrus, amazing bird life and of course Poar Bears! The whole trip I felt that the ships Naturalist Leaders and Naturetrek Tour Leaders were doing all they could to ensure the best chance to see the best of the Arctic Wildlife. And when not looking for wildlife the ships hotel staff were second to none in making sure that the food, drink and facilities were just right.

Rating for tour operator:

Naturetrek ensured that every thing was done to ensure we had a wildlife filled and enjoyable holiday. They provided plenty of information before, during and after the holiday, all of which only added to the experience of the trip its self.

Naturetrek by Wild dreamer, 25 Sep 2014
Holiday Rating:

Naturetrek review

This was the twelfth holiday that I have taken with Naturetrek. As usual, I found them helpful, efficient and the provider of an excellent well planned holiday

This was the twelfth holiday that I have taken with Naturetrek. As usual, I found them helpful, efficient and the provider of an excellent well planned holiday

Naturetrek by JMM, 24 Sep 2014
Holiday Rating:

bird and mammals of northern Argentina

We had issues with the travel arrangments. Due to the very long journeys by roads of very varying conditions this tour should only have been by 4x4. Animal sightings were few and far between except at the last reserve which did live up to the expectations we were given by the brochure although we did not see all animals stated in the brochure( We fully understand that wildlife watching sightings are not guaranteed but I have seen more wild life ...

We had issues with the travel arrangments. Due to the very long journeys by roads of very varying conditions this tour should only have been by 4x4. Animal sightings were few and far between except at the last reserve which did live up to the expectations we were given by the brochure although we did not see all animals stated in the brochure( We fully understand that wildlife watching sightings are not guaranteed but I have seen more wild life on a walk with my dog than we encountered - birds excepted)

Rating for tour operator:

We have travelled several times with this company and this was the most disappointing trip to date.

Naturetrek responded to this review on 13 Nov 2014:

Thank you for your comments. The wildlife seen by the group as a whole was impressive, including some of South America's most enigmatic mammals Giant Anteater, Puma and Tapir. Not all animals and birds were seen by all participants though due to participants being split between two vehicles. Some of the drives on this tour are necessarily long and we will review how these journeys are managed and how they are portrayed in our literature.

Brazil - Just Jaguars! by caswebb, 23 Sep 2014
Holiday Rating:

Not Just Jaguars

An absolutely fabulous 2 week trip into the Pantanal region of Brazil, primarily to search for Jaguars although we also picked off the bizarre Giant Anteater and Giant River Otters.

An absolutely fabulous 2 week trip into the Pantanal region of Brazil, primarily to search for Jaguars although we also picked off the bizarre Giant Anteater and Giant River Otters.

Rating for tour operator:

The trip was very well organised and the local guides provided were excellent with very in depth knowledge of their subject matters. All of our requests were professionally handled, including the addition of a customised pre-tour extension to visit Rio de Janeiro. I have already booked my next trip with Naturetrek.

Brazil - Just Jaguars! by Jumping Jan, 23 Sep 2014
Holiday Rating:

Just Jaguars

A truly great nature watching experience in a very exciting country.

A truly great nature watching experience in a very exciting country.

Rating for tour operator:

Nature Trek is a true expert.

Brazil - Just Jaguars! by Satisfied customer., 23 Sep 2014
Holiday Rating:

Just Jaguars

A fantastic holiday with wonderful sightings of Jaguars, not to mention Giant Anteaters, Caiman, Capybara, Tayra, Agouti, Crab eating fox and the beautiful Giant River Otters. The birds are simply stunning and plentiful. Basic accommodation as you would expect in a remote environment but good food and air conditioning, essential in the heat and humidity. The road into the Pantanal is rough and dusty so a degree of fitness is required for ...

A fantastic holiday with wonderful sightings of Jaguars, not to mention Giant Anteaters, Caiman, Capybara, Tayra, Agouti, Crab eating fox and the beautiful Giant River Otters. The birds are simply stunning and plentiful. Basic accommodation as you would expect in a remote environment but good food and air conditioning, essential in the heat and humidity. The road into the Pantanal is rough and dusty so a degree of fitness is required for this totally amazing holiday experience.

Rating for tour operator:

Very proffessional company, organisation both in the Uk and abroad are excellent. This is the third time I have travelled with them. The guides used are superb and very knowledgeable.

Brazil - Just Jaguars! by RobC, 4 Sep 2014
Holiday Rating:

Just Jaguars - Brazil

Tour of the Pantanal region of Brazil watching and photographing wildlife. Particularly good and frequent sightings of Jaguars along with a good range of other mammals, reptiles, amphibeans and birds.

Tour of the Pantanal region of Brazil watching and photographing wildlife. Particularly good and frequent sightings of Jaguars along with a good range of other mammals, reptiles, amphibeans and birds.

Rating for tour operator:

Very well organised tour with a very knowledgeable local guide.

Naturetrek by Rosie, 1 Sep 2014
Holiday Rating:

seeing a bear in the wild amidst beautiful Swedish forest

Traveled to a Wilderness Lodge in Sweden, stayed in very basic but comfortable cabin/room. Then 2 nights in a forest hide, set up so had relaxing chairs to watch from or warm and cozy bunk beds when needed to sleep. As due to darkness did not see any bears the first night so were taken back the next night and success! Also plenty of free time at the Lodge to walk, use the canoe's (with safety equipment) onto the lake or swim if brave enough ...

Traveled to a Wilderness Lodge in Sweden, stayed in very basic but comfortable cabin/room. Then 2 nights in a forest hide, set up so had relaxing chairs to watch from or warm and cozy bunk beds when needed to sleep. As due to darkness did not see any bears the first night so were taken back the next night and success! Also plenty of free time at the Lodge to walk, use the canoe's (with safety equipment) onto the lake or swim if brave enough and of course a sauna. All this enhanced by food that would win on master chef

Rating for tour operator:

They have been nothing but helpful. This was not the first time I had booked with them it was my third but on the previous two occasions I had to cancel due to emergency surgery (felt I was jinxed). Each and every time they were helpful, professional and did all they could to see things were sorted. Was very impressed with them

Naturetrek by levvylass, 20 Aug 2014
Holiday Rating:

Finland - Just Brown Beears

The holiday did exactly what 'it said on the tin'. We spent time in a hide and saw numerous Brown Bears. In addition we saw a wolverine and a number of different birds. the guides were very knowledgeable both in terms of the wild life and their understanding of camera equipment. Besides the hide we were taken to a nature reserve and to a number of lakes to spot other birds. The guides could not have been more accommodating. The food was excellent ...

The holiday did exactly what 'it said on the tin'. We spent time in a hide and saw numerous Brown Bears. In addition we saw a wolverine and a number of different birds. the guides were very knowledgeable both in terms of the wild life and their understanding of camera equipment. Besides the hide we were taken to a nature reserve and to a number of lakes to spot other birds. The guides could not have been more accommodating. The food was excellent and plenty of it and the accommodation was clean and comfortable although basic.

Rating for tour operator:

All communications were responded to in a timely and helpful manner. The information was clear and precise. There was nothing misleading in the information we received.