AITO: The Association of Independent Tour Operators
Naturetrek

Naturetrek Traveller Reviews

Reviews of Naturetrek

Overall Company Rating
99%
Excellent 1532
Good 75
Average 1
Poor 1
Terrible 2
Reviews Submitted: 1611
Reviews Accepted: 1611
Reviews Rejected: 0
1611 reviews
Sort by:
Naturetrek by Raymondo, 8 Jun 2015
Holiday Rating:

First class bird watching trip to Poland

It was a week travelling in Eastern Polands forests and wetlands seeking (and mainly finding) a numerous amount of bird species rarely seen in the rest of Europe.

It was a week travelling in Eastern Polands forests and wetlands seeking (and mainly finding) a numerous amount of bird species rarely seen in the rest of Europe.

Rating for tour operator:

Ideal company to go with on such a trip with an expert leader and local guides, whose knowledge made for a thrilling and enjoyable trip.

Naturetrek by Barrosser, 5 Jun 2015
Holiday Rating:

BEST BIRDING HOLIDAYS

A wonderful introduction to the Somerset levels which could be quite daunting without a guide.we were based in Wells-a delight in itself and requiring an extra night at The Swan..Our days out were varied and very informative with an enjoyable stop at a local hostelry for lunch -such fun getting to know all the other birders.Then back to the hotel for a frenetic up and trip to the bar for a gin and tonic be fofore an excellent dinner in the dining ...

A wonderful introduction to the Somerset levels which could be quite daunting without a guide.we were based in Wells-a delight in itself and requiring an extra night at The Swan..Our days out were varied and very informative with an enjoyable stop at a local hostelry for lunch -such fun getting to know all the other birders.Then back to the hotel for a frenetic up and trip to the bar for a gin and tonic be fofore an excellent dinner in the dining room.Altogether a wonderful few days.

Rating for tour operator:

We have travelled with Naturetrek on many occasions to Austria,Umbria Tunisia France,Spain and others and on every time we have had such good fun.Naturetrek have excellent brochures,booking ,choice of venues,friendly staff, experienced and knowable leaders who take great care that everyone at whatever level gets the best out of the trip..I would not bird with any other group.

Naturetrek by Scotty, 4 Jun 2015
Holiday Rating:

Unforgettable experience, not a moment of boredom.

Excellent schedule, using a hotel that had real character of place, with tasty local food. Very helpful guides and good company. We saw lots of interesting birds without too much effort - some were right outside the hotel - and the nightingales could be heard inside!

Excellent schedule, using a hotel that had real character of place, with tasty local food. Very helpful guides and good company. We saw lots of interesting birds without too much effort - some were right outside the hotel - and the nightingales could be heard inside!

Rating for tour operator:

Provided very helpful guides and a good schedule, pre trip information was very good without being overwhelming.

Naturetrek by watch the birdie !, 4 Jun 2015
Holiday Rating:

Very rewarding

A great bird watching adventure

A great bird watching adventure

Rating for tour operator:

Very well organised and first class guides

Naturetrek by Mrs C C 15, 4 Jun 2015
Holiday Rating:

enjoyable but windy

Dramatic scenery in a part of France I did not know. Pleasant hotel well-run - but too much food in the evening. Guides good, other members of the group very pleasant. Possibly too much emphasis on wild flowers (which were spectacular) as opposed to birds, but this is a minor point. Altogether a trip which I would recommend - my 5th with Naturetrek

Dramatic scenery in a part of France I did not know. Pleasant hotel well-run - but too much food in the evening. Guides good, other members of the group very pleasant. Possibly too much emphasis on wild flowers (which were spectacular) as opposed to birds, but this is a minor point. Altogether a trip which I would recommend - my 5th with Naturetrek

Rating for tour operator:

Arrangements good this time. Slight blip in a previous tour but this time none

Naturetrek by Robina, 4 Jun 2015
Holiday Rating:

Excllent leadership, fine accommodation and meals, and really first-rate nature experiences

We took two Naturetrek one-week trips, both in France: the Vercors, and the Cevennes. Coming independently from Australia, as we have in the past, we met each group at their point of entry to France. We had been with each leader on previous Naturetrek trips so fell easily in with the very pleasant small group company. Everything ran smoothly in both cases, with each day filled with interesting excursions to sites of botanical and scenic beauty ...

We took two Naturetrek one-week trips, both in France: the Vercors, and the Cevennes. Coming independently from Australia, as we have in the past, we met each group at their point of entry to France. We had been with each leader on previous Naturetrek trips so fell easily in with the very pleasant small group company. Everything ran smoothly in both cases, with each day filled with interesting excursions to sites of botanical and scenic beauty and the possibility of bird observing. Naturetrek chooses small, friendly hotels out of large towns where the service, accommodation and food is very good, the small groups work very well under experienced leadership both for the nature and for people management. Daily picnic lunches are a highlight and overall, we can't think of any better way to experience nature in places we couldn't imagine finding for ourselves.

Rating for tour operator:

From point of first contact, handling inquiries and bookings, information and pre-travel briefing, through to the exceptional way in which our leader and office staff handled a tricky situation where we left property behind and great trouble has been taken to return it to us in the most expeditious ways, we are extremely impressed with, and grateful to Naturetrek. We have previously travelled with the operator on four occasions and have been completely satisfied each time. They are people and environment friendly, considerate, and innovative with their itineraries, planning and implementing their tours.

Naturetrek by ranboy, 3 Jun 2015
Holiday Rating:

Visit to the Abruzzo National Park to walk and study plants, butterflies, birds, wild boar etc

Well-organised holiday with excellent leaders whose enthusiasm and expertise was second to none. This was an active holiday for those who are keen to walk and see and learn about plants and animals in their natural habitat in the magnificent Abruzzo Apennines. Great for birds, butterflies, plants (including orchids), lots of deer & wild boar, plus an outside chance of seeing wolves and the Marsican bear.

Well-organised holiday with excellent leaders whose enthusiasm and expertise was second to none. This was an active holiday for those who are keen to walk and see and learn about plants and animals in their natural habitat in the magnificent Abruzzo Apennines. Great for birds, butterflies, plants (including orchids), lots of deer & wild boar, plus an outside chance of seeing wolves and the Marsican bear.

Rating for tour operator:

Naturetrek's formula works well in providing a wide variety of outdoor holidays (this was my third), through good attention to detail at the office level,and employing great leaders on the ground. My requirement for adjusted travel coming from Scotland was handled efficiently and successfully.

Naturetrek by Bob MILNE, 3 Jun 2015
Holiday Rating:

spanish pyrenees - birds butterflies and plants

This is the third nature holiday I have taken with Naturetrek and have nothing but praise for thier professionalism in organising a truly wonderful experience every time. We travelled through northern Spain to the Spanish pyrenees and enjoyed the various areas shown to us. The accommodation was first class, and the guide was very friendly and knowlegeable. I look forward to receiving the 2016 Naturetrek brochure so that I can book my next excellent ...

This is the third nature holiday I have taken with Naturetrek and have nothing but praise for thier professionalism in organising a truly wonderful experience every time. We travelled through northern Spain to the Spanish pyrenees and enjoyed the various areas shown to us. The accommodation was first class, and the guide was very friendly and knowlegeable. I look forward to receiving the 2016 Naturetrek brochure so that I can book my next excellent holiday with them. Thanks to all the people behind the scenes who organise these remarkable holidays.

Rating for tour operator:

Excellent organisation throughout, cannot recommend the company enough. Look forward to joining you next year. These are not just holidays but are life experiences to be remembered for many years to come.

Naturetrek by Posset, 3 Jun 2015
Holiday Rating:

Exploring the Cevennes in Spring

A group holiday with two guides - a botanist and an ornithologist - and 14 guests. We spent the week staying in a charming hotel and making daily excursions into the surrounding countryside in two minibuses. The guides were very knowledgeable and took us to areas where we could see spring flowers, birds and spectacular countryside. We were also able to see some of the towns and villages and get a feel for everyday life in this rural area of France...

A group holiday with two guides - a botanist and an ornithologist - and 14 guests. We spent the week staying in a charming hotel and making daily excursions into the surrounding countryside in two minibuses. The guides were very knowledgeable and took us to areas where we could see spring flowers, birds and spectacular countryside. We were also able to see some of the towns and villages and get a feel for everyday life in this rural area of France.

Rating for tour operator:

Very good brochure and website made it very clear what the holiday would be like and what we would be doing. Reports from similar trips in previous years were very informative and an excellent feature. The language used was realistic and not the sort of vague decscriptions you get from some companies. There seemed to be a genuine desire to give clear, realistic and helpful information. I would say it is the best holiday operator I know in this respect. The people at the end of a phone line were helpful and informative too.

Naturetrek by Claude, 2 Jun 2015
Holiday Rating:

Most enjoyable and informative.

Lovely location, learned much about the area and its various habitats, flora and fauna.Hotel very pleasant as was the company.

Lovely location, learned much about the area and its various habitats, flora and fauna.Hotel very pleasant as was the company.

Rating for tour operator:

Very efficient adn helpful.