AITO: The Association of Independent Tour Operators
Naturetrek

Naturetrek Traveller Reviews

Reviews of Naturetrek

Overall Company Rating
99%
Excellent 1532
Good 75
Average 1
Poor 1
Terrible 2
Reviews Submitted: 1611
Reviews Accepted: 1611
Reviews Rejected: 0
1611 reviews
Sort by:
Naturetrek by jo, 15 Jun 2015
Holiday Rating:

Naturetrek review

Naturetrek are well organised, use well informed local guides and plan the itinerary extremely well. Have used them for both UK and foreigh trips and everything works like clockwork.

Naturetrek are well organised, use well informed local guides and plan the itinerary extremely well. Have used them for both UK and foreigh trips and everything works like clockwork.

Naturetrek by Caro, 14 Jun 2015
Holiday Rating:

Fantastic amount of birds shown to us by our very clever guides

We had an extremely enjoyable and very well organised trip to Romania and saw many wonderful and colourful birds and of course the black bears and some enchanting sousliks! In spite of the unusually cold and windy weather on the delta it did not spoil our enjoyment of the trip and all our companions were very friendly. The guides tailored it very well to the abilities of the people on the trip. The accommodation in the Guest Houses was ...

We had an extremely enjoyable and very well organised trip to Romania and saw many wonderful and colourful birds and of course the black bears and some enchanting sousliks! In spite of the unusually cold and windy weather on the delta it did not spoil our enjoyment of the trip and all our companions were very friendly. The guides tailored it very well to the abilities of the people on the trip. The accommodation in the Guest Houses was very good and the welcome from the Romanians much appreciated. The boat was very comfortable and we really appreciated no phones and no wi-fi for a short while!

Rating for tour operator:

This is our fourth trip with Naturetrek and I would have no hesitation in recommending them as they are extremely efficient down to the last detail. We have been to Tasmania, Madagascar and the Arctic as well as Romania and have thoroughly enjoyed all the trips.

Naturetrek by Birder44, 13 Jun 2015
Holiday Rating:

Birds of the Mountains and Plains of Slovakia

Outstanding organisation and excellent tour leaders made this a very special holiday. The English leader was very knowledgeable and worked hard to ensure everyone was included. The local guide was outstanding in his knowledge of all things Slovakian - culture, history, and all the natural environment and arranged for other local guides, who lived in the areas visited, to take us to exceptional locations.

Outstanding organisation and excellent tour leaders made this a very special holiday. The English leader was very knowledgeable and worked hard to ensure everyone was included. The local guide was outstanding in his knowledge of all things Slovakian - culture, history, and all the natural environment and arranged for other local guides, who lived in the areas visited, to take us to exceptional locations.

Rating for tour operator:

First class organisation at a a very competative price.

Naturetrek by Rod Pointer, 13 Jun 2015
Holiday Rating:

Poland in spring Bialowezja Forest and Biebrza marshes)

As always a brilliant nature watching trip at two centres. Close up Bison and Elk were obvious bonuses but the birds did not disappoint either with well over 150 species many of which not found in Britain. Prize spots include Pygmy Owl, Corncrake, Common Rosefinch, Lesser Spotted Eagle amongst others. Beautiful hotel setting in the marshes, with a host of species in hotel grounds and the pretty forest village full of great habitats. Accommodation ...

As always a brilliant nature watching trip at two centres. Close up Bison and Elk were obvious bonuses but the birds did not disappoint either with well over 150 species many of which not found in Britain. Prize spots include Pygmy Owl, Corncrake, Common Rosefinch, Lesser Spotted Eagle amongst others. Beautiful hotel setting in the marshes, with a host of species in hotel grounds and the pretty forest village full of great habitats. Accommodation great with good food and great settings. Very necessary tiring days with satisfied sleep at nine (couldnt stay awake any longer). Up at six to the sound of Thrush Nightingale. What more could we ask

Rating for tour operator:

Naturetrek never disappoints with best wildlife destinations and expert knowledgeable leaders. They are always my preferred company

Naturetrek by skipton walker, 12 Jun 2015
Holiday Rating:

Excellent birdwatching in a country of beautiful landscapes

The trip planning was excellent. We were birdwatching from early in the morning visiting numerous habitats in search of our target birds. The guides were friendly and helpful. The hotels were comfortable. The company was of like minded people . We will be holidaying with Naturetrek again -Soon!

The trip planning was excellent. We were birdwatching from early in the morning visiting numerous habitats in search of our target birds. The guides were friendly and helpful. The hotels were comfortable. The company was of like minded people . We will be holidaying with Naturetrek again -Soon!

Rating for tour operator:

Helpful information on website and from people in the booking office. Excellent guide from Uk. knowlegable , friendly local guides and driver.

Naturetrek by jolly, 12 Jun 2015
Holiday Rating:

Poland in Spring

We had a comfortable coach and an excellent driver. Our UK and local guide were extremely knowledgable and efficient. Our two hotels were very comfortable and ideally situated to give us access to superb habitat. The itinerary was well thought out and gave us good birdwatching. Our 3 hours in the strict part of the Bialowieza forest was magical from 06.00hrs on a beautiful sunny morning. We found the Polish people very friendly and the service, ...

We had a comfortable coach and an excellent driver. Our UK and local guide were extremely knowledgable and efficient. Our two hotels were very comfortable and ideally situated to give us access to superb habitat. The itinerary was well thought out and gave us good birdwatching. Our 3 hours in the strict part of the Bialowieza forest was magical from 06.00hrs on a beautiful sunny morning. We found the Polish people very friendly and the service, particularly in our first hotel, was excellent. It was lovely to to be in such unspoilt habitat, both marsh and forest, and hear and see so many birds. Long may it remain.

Rating for tour operator:

We have had a number of holidays with Naturetrek and have always found them to be efficient, relaxed, and good value for money.

Naturetrek by Pixie Vickers, 12 Jun 2015
Holiday Rating:

BRILLIANT ORCHIDS, MOUNTAIN BIRDS AND A WELCOMING ENVIRONMENT

Nothing was too much trouble for our two leaders, who looked after everyone on the journeys out and back, nor for the hotel with its comfortable accommodation (and memorable French cuisine!).Occasional bouts of wind,rain or snow and some steep,slippery,rocky terrain and sobering moments of reflection induced by the memorials to the WW2 partisans were offset by the shoals of brilliantly coloured orchids gleaming in the sun on grassy banks,the ...

Nothing was too much trouble for our two leaders, who looked after everyone on the journeys out and back, nor for the hotel with its comfortable accommodation (and memorable French cuisine!).Occasional bouts of wind,rain or snow and some steep,slippery,rocky terrain and sobering moments of reflection induced by the memorials to the WW2 partisans were offset by the shoals of brilliantly coloured orchids gleaming in the sun on grassy banks,the sight of a chamois on a pinnacle of rock or of Golden or Short-toed eagles overhead. Delicious,varied picnic lunches each day were prepared by our leaders whilst we sat in grassy woodland glades and even a stop or two for ice-creams added to a memorable holiday.

Rating for tour operator:

Naturetrek offers a world-wide spread of tours, varying from long weekends to fortnights or more. Their tour-leaders are always carefully chosen to suit the requirements of each trip and the probable expectations of each group.The dates for each holiday are carefully and knowledgeably worked out, as is the classification of each trip - the expected gradients,length and speed of walks. Moreover,they cater for those who want a single hotel week and others who wish to travel more widely.They deal with a huge range of wildlife and their catalogue, in print or on the internet, is very informative They are also very competent at dealing with minor emergencies(and have been known to organise surprise birthday cakes for guests!)

Naturetrek by Clover, 12 Jun 2015
Holiday Rating:

Wild flowers of the Lizard Cornwall

4 days searching for the unusual wildflowers a most beautiful coastal area of Cornwall. We also stayed in a good hotel with exceptional meals.

4 days searching for the unusual wildflowers a most beautiful coastal area of Cornwall. We also stayed in a good hotel with exceptional meals.

Rating for tour operator:

All arrangements were made satisfactorily. 0

Naturetrek by oldbirder, 10 Jun 2015
Holiday Rating:

Once in a lifetime nature trip to Ecuador

Stayed at 3 lodges in Ecuador specialising in birdwatching but with excellent food and comfortable accommodation. One had pleasant thermal spring baths also. They were in the highland cloud forests to the East and West of Quito. Included in the holiday was a side-trip to Sacha Lodge in the Amazon lowlands, including boat transportation along the Napo River. This was an all-round jungle experience complete with monkeys, sloth, anaconda and many birds...

Stayed at 3 lodges in Ecuador specialising in birdwatching but with excellent food and comfortable accommodation. One had pleasant thermal spring baths also. They were in the highland cloud forests to the East and West of Quito. Included in the holiday was a side-trip to Sacha Lodge in the Amazon lowlands, including boat transportation along the Napo River. This was an all-round jungle experience complete with monkeys, sloth, anaconda and many birds. Despite the remote location the food and accommodation were very good. Naturetrek provided an expert naturalist guide and a driver (except for the Sacha Lodge part - they have their own guides). The guide was a world class expert ornithologist, with detailed knowledge of the 1650 species of birds in Ecuador and their calls and songs.

Rating for tour operator:

This was our second trip with Naturetrek. The first was a scheduled group tour of Romania (also excellent). This was our first custom tour, assembled to our requirements and using the expertise of an expat Ecuadorian who now works for Naturetrek in the UK. It was arranged by the custom holiday unit at Naturetrek. All the arrangements went smoothly and the daily schedules were well aligned with our preferences (e.g. lunches were in hostels rather than in the field - we are too old to go birdwatching all day.

Naturetrek by Anne, 8 Jun 2015
Holiday Rating:

leading a lot

A very packed weekend but so absorbing that we couldn't bare to miss any of the optional outings. Before breakfast in the early morning sunlight was delightful and much was added by the expert forestry knowledge of one of the group. The highlight of the day was the sighting of two little stripy boar piglets in full sunshine. That night we didn't spot the boar but we tripped over them on our way back on the second night. Sadly it was really ...

A very packed weekend but so absorbing that we couldn't bare to miss any of the optional outings. Before breakfast in the early morning sunlight was delightful and much was added by the expert forestry knowledge of one of the group. The highlight of the day was the sighting of two little stripy boar piglets in full sunshine. That night we didn't spot the boar but we tripped over them on our way back on the second night. Sadly it was really too dark to see them properly. The highlight for me on day two was a basking female adder. Naturally there were lots of birds and I nows know a lot more about flycatchers and other things. The hotel was very good and also central which meant no long journeys in the van. The food was good as was our cottage room though some members had rather small rooms. Service was a bit slow but as they were coping with a wedding that was not surprising. Lastly Marcus John ,our leader,was excellent,always cheerfully encouraging. We left for home exhausted but enthralled

Rating for tour operator:

Efficient,helpful,definitely to be recommended. Particularly good on the telephone and the Open Days are inspired.