AITO: The Association of Independent Tour Operators
Mickledore Travel

Mickledore Travel Traveller Reviews

Reviews of Mickledore Travel

Overall Company Rating
99%
Excellent 704
Good 22
Average 0
Poor 0
Terrible 0
Reviews Submitted: 726
Reviews Accepted: 726
Reviews Rejected: 0
726 reviews
Sort by:
Mickledore Travel by Mrs C C 15, 9 Jun 2015
Holiday Rating:

a walk on the wild side

We had a great time in Scotland walking the West Highland Way and although the weather could have been better it didn't spoil our trip. Some days were easier than others but there was always a good place to end the day with a hot shower,a good meal and a comfy bed.

We had a great time in Scotland walking the West Highland Way and although the weather could have been better it didn't spoil our trip. Some days were easier than others but there was always a good place to end the day with a hot shower,a good meal and a comfy bed.

Rating for tour operator:

We have used Mickledore Travel before and cannot find any reason not to use them again in the future. The organization and attention to detail is superb.

Mickledore Travel by Slum Crew, 8 Jun 2015
Holiday Rating:

MickledoreCome Up Trumps Again

Three of us take a walking holiday every other year (it's sad, but our wives will only allow a pass to us on this basis!) and this is the fifth walking holiday we have taken with Mickledore. We have never been disappointed with the service they offer. This year we travelled to Northumberland to do St Oswalds Way. Room bookings were great, bags always waiting at our new lodgings, great instructions and competitive prices. All in all couldn't ...

Three of us take a walking holiday every other year (it's sad, but our wives will only allow a pass to us on this basis!) and this is the fifth walking holiday we have taken with Mickledore. We have never been disappointed with the service they offer. This year we travelled to Northumberland to do St Oswalds Way. Room bookings were great, bags always waiting at our new lodgings, great instructions and competitive prices. All in all couldn't be faulted.

Rating for tour operator:

Good service all round. Very professional.

Mickledore Travel by Dash, 6 Jun 2015
Holiday Rating:

Mr

Dales Way from Ilkley to Bowness On Windermere. Good weather, beautiful river walk a lot of the way. Varied and interesting accomodation

Dales Way from Ilkley to Bowness On Windermere. Good weather, beautiful river walk a lot of the way. Varied and interesting accomodation

Rating for tour operator:

Mickledore have a good easy to understand website and we have used several times for well planned long distance walking holidays

Mickledore Travel by Happy Walkers, 6 Jun 2015
Holiday Rating:

Well organised walking holiday

We found that all the arrangements made for our walking holiday were well organised. The accommodation provided was good and in some cases excellent.. The paperwork was very satisfactory . We would have no hesitation in holidaying with Mickledore again.

We found that all the arrangements made for our walking holiday were well organised. The accommodation provided was good and in some cases excellent.. The paperwork was very satisfactory . We would have no hesitation in holidaying with Mickledore again.

Rating for tour operator:

We found the Mickledore staff helpful whenever we contacted them and had no difficulty in promptly speaking to a member of their staff on the phone.

Mickledore Travel by Housemartin, 4 Jun 2015
Holiday Rating:

Walking back to happiness

I did an 'easy' walk along Hadrian's wall, through forested areas, through fields of sheep and cows, along roads, up high hills and down through boggy fields; all thoroughly enjoyable and easy to keep on track with the signposting on the walk and the myriad helpful information sent to me prior to my walk from Mickledore. Not only were there wonderful experiences with nature, there were also many other walkers to swap notes with in the breakfast ...

I did an 'easy' walk along Hadrian's wall, through forested areas, through fields of sheep and cows, along roads, up high hills and down through boggy fields; all thoroughly enjoyable and easy to keep on track with the signposting on the walk and the myriad helpful information sent to me prior to my walk from Mickledore. Not only were there wonderful experiences with nature, there were also many other walkers to swap notes with in the breakfast rooms of the b&bs/hotels and someone to eat dinner with at night. The most amazing absence, was the absence of fear, I didn't feel at all vulnerable throughout the whole week and this was very much to do with knowing someone was waiting for me at each destination having rung ahead to book my dinner. A marvellous holiday, very refreshing, I felt I had been away for months rather than a week.

Rating for tour operator:

I rang Mickledore a month before I had decided to go on holiday and they told me that it was very tight, as people book up much earlier than that, but that they would see what they could do. I wanted to start travelling on a Monday, but all stop-over places couldn't coincide with a single traveller; so my travel departure day was changed to the Saturday and all the stopovers were managed perfectly. I feel that Mickledore went to a lot of trouble, first in reassuring me that it would be safe to travel alone and secondly to find suitable accommodation to fit in with my travel dates. Also it felt Mickledore knew all the hosts well at all the stopover places.

Mickledore Travel responded to this review on 05 Jun 2015:

Thanks very much. We are really pleased you had a good trip.I thought your description of the walk was wonderful!

Mickledore Travel by Mature Walkers., 4 Jun 2015
Holiday Rating:

Walking Hadrian's Wall an amazing experience.

We spent 9 days walking Hadrian's Wall really enjoyed the experience. We decided to walk from east to west and so glad we did. The views were amazing and our accommodation & baggage transfers were organised for us by our travel agent.. Several of our Bed & Breakfast accommodation were of the highest quality with a very warm welcome. two were definitely 4 star. We are both approaching 70 years old and cannot fault a thing. The whole trip ...

We spent 9 days walking Hadrian's Wall really enjoyed the experience. We decided to walk from east to west and so glad we did. The views were amazing and our accommodation & baggage transfers were organised for us by our travel agent.. Several of our Bed & Breakfast accommodation were of the highest quality with a very warm welcome. two were definitely 4 star. We are both approaching 70 years old and cannot fault a thing. The whole trip was very professionally organise.

Rating for tour operator:

We are so impressed with Mickledore Travel. Our accommodation & baggage transfers were faultless. We experience one tiny problem which the company sorted immediately and made us aware we could contact them any time.

Mickledore Travel responded to this review on 05 Jun 2015:

Thanks for your feedback. We're pleased you had a good trip.

Mickledore Travel by Godfrey47, 30 May 2015
Holiday Rating:

Dales Way Walking Holiday--May 2015

A group of eight walked the Dales Way through Yorkshire and Cumbria over 7 days. Mickledore booked our accommodation in B&B's,Inns and small hotels;arranged transport of luggage and booked taxis for transport off and to the trail.Despite our large group size they managed to secure very good accommodation for the group and all arrangements went off without a hitch.The walk is spectacular,not too hard and I would recommend Mickledore simply because ...

A group of eight walked the Dales Way through Yorkshire and Cumbria over 7 days. Mickledore booked our accommodation in B&B's,Inns and small hotels;arranged transport of luggage and booked taxis for transport off and to the trail.Despite our large group size they managed to secure very good accommodation for the group and all arrangements went off without a hitch.The walk is spectacular,not too hard and I would recommend Mickledore simply because they go further than many other companies to solve logistical problems.

Rating for tour operator:

Please see my comments above.

Mickledore Travel by Mac, 27 May 2015
Holiday Rating:

Dales Way 7 day walk

We had mixed weather on this walk even so with the excellent organisation and planning by team at Mickleover it turned out a really good and enjoyable 7 day walk. The documentation prior to and used during the walk could have not been better. Clear directions, clear maps to each overnight stay and well chosen places. There was always a good feeling that help was at hand if you needed it. We couldn't have asked for anything extra, everything ...

We had mixed weather on this walk even so with the excellent organisation and planning by team at Mickleover it turned out a really good and enjoyable 7 day walk. The documentation prior to and used during the walk could have not been better. Clear directions, clear maps to each overnight stay and well chosen places. There was always a good feeling that help was at hand if you needed it. We couldn't have asked for anything extra, everything was covered.

Rating for tour operator:

There was always speedy communication with Mickledore both before and during the walk. Many people we came across had good comments about Mickledore and we can only support their comments. Mickledore has great experience in the area of walking holidays, their were excellently well planned, well organised and all activities well executed.

Mickledore Travel by steve, 26 May 2015
Holiday Rating:

Beautiful Walk

Walked the UK's Dales Way from Ilkley to Bowness-on-Windermere. Beautiful walk--great scenery, friendly people, well marked. (Rated "easy" by Mickledore, but more difficult that I expected. I'd rate it "moderate".) Accommodations were generally comfortable, except for one place in Ribblehead which was decidedly uncomfortable. Luggage transfers went according to plan until the last two days when luggage didn't arrive until after dinner. Mickledore ...

Walked the UK's Dales Way from Ilkley to Bowness-on-Windermere. Beautiful walk--great scenery, friendly people, well marked. (Rated "easy" by Mickledore, but more difficult that I expected. I'd rate it "moderate".) Accommodations were generally comfortable, except for one place in Ribblehead which was decidedly uncomfortable. Luggage transfers went according to plan until the last two days when luggage didn't arrive until after dinner. Mickledore say they've corrected the problem. Mickledore were very responsive and very interested in our feedback. So I liked them and will book with them in the future.

Rating for tour operator:

see above

Mickledore Travel responded to this review on 02 Jun 2015:

Thanks for your comments Steve. We're pleased you had a good holiday. As we said at the time, we're really sorry your luggage was late on 1 evening. Our courier had an early season hiccup. We worked with them to resolve this, and are happy to report the problem hasn't arisen again.

Mickledore Travel by senior wayfarer, 27 Apr 2015
Holiday Rating:

A wonderful walk on the fantastic Northumberland Coast with stunning scenery.

We walked from Creswell to Berwick on Tweed in 5 days. Stunning scenery, lovely beach walking, excellent accommodation throughout.

We walked from Creswell to Berwick on Tweed in 5 days. Stunning scenery, lovely beach walking, excellent accommodation throughout.

Rating for tour operator:

Mickledore once again excelled. Very good accommodation and transport of luggage,paper work, maps instructions etc.even down to booking taxis for us when needed, all to make our walk a most enjoyable experience. This is the third time we have used this company and are looking forward to the next.