AITO: The Association of Independent Tour Operators
Mickledore Travel

Mickledore Travel Traveller Reviews

Reviews of Mickledore Travel

Overall Company Rating
99%
Excellent 575
Good 19
Average 0
Poor 0
Terrible 0
Reviews Submitted: 594
Reviews Accepted: 594
Reviews Rejected: 0
594 reviews
Sort by:
Cleveland Way by northern lad, 22 Aug 2019
Holiday Rating:

Resetting my natural rhythm

The Cleveland Way provides fantastic contrasts and anticipation of the next day was always a highlight. I've enjoyed the outdoors throughout my life and I found the break perfect for creating a space you can pause the rest of the world as you work through the gears to match the landscape.

The Cleveland Way provides fantastic contrasts and anticipation of the next day was always a highlight. I've enjoyed the outdoors throughout my life and I found the break perfect for creating a space you can pause the rest of the world as you work through the gears to match the landscape.

Rating for tour operator:

The team at Mickledore pulled out the stops at very short notice to provide an itinerary that suited me and I would be happy to recommend them to anyone - very good accoommodation with very helpful hosts really helped at the end of a long day out and I'm already planning my next trip with Mickledore in mind.

Mickledore Travel responded to this review on 23 Aug 2019:

Thanks for your great feedback. It is lovely to hear that you enjoyed your holiday and are already planning your next walk. We look forward to welcoming you back for more adventures.
Sue

Herriot Way by BrianS, 22 Aug 2019
Holiday Rating:

All went to plan except the weather!

The walking route was a circuit which was great for driving/parking arrangements. It covered both lowland farmland and higher moorland with ample walking on each day. All of the accommodation was suitably located on the walking route. It was always of a decent standard with fine breakfasts and packed lunches (and good dinners where available).

The walking route was a circuit which was great for driving/parking arrangements. It covered both lowland farmland and higher moorland with ample walking on each day. All of the accommodation was suitably located on the walking route. It was always of a decent standard with fine breakfasts and packed lunches (and good dinners where available).

Rating for tour operator:

Booking on the internet was easy and they soon managed to satisfy all of my requirements about dates and accommodation. On the holiday, everything went to plan with bookings, luggage transport and packed lunch arrangements. They supplied excellent details and maps describing the route and places along the route, with only the occasional hiccup occurring with map reading. All of the accommodation that they use was of a good standard with great breakfasts on all occasions.

Mickledore Travel responded to this review on 23 Aug 2019:

Thanks for your kind comments. It is great to hear that you liked the places we chose for you to stay and had a good time on your walk.
Sue

Mickledore Travel by Griff, 21 Aug 2019
Holiday Rating:

Excellent organisation and documentation

walking tour of the island of Arran, Scotland. great scenery and superb wildlife.

walking tour of the island of Arran, Scotland. great scenery and superb wildlife.

Rating for tour operator:

I have used Mickledore to arrange my walking holidays for about 7 years - and they have never disappointed. First class support and organisation.

Mickledore Travel responded to this review on 23 Aug 2019:

Thanks for returning to us for this year's holiday. It is lovely to hear that you enjoyed your walk and the arrangements that we made for you. I hope you will be back again soon for more adventures.
Sue

Dales Way by baabear, 21 Aug 2019
Holiday Rating:

Wonderful Adventure

Walking The Dales Way was an amazing experience. Wonderful countryside, something special. Went astray a few times but got there in the end.

Walking The Dales Way was an amazing experience. Wonderful countryside, something special. Went astray a few times but got there in the end.

Rating for tour operator:

Perfect in every way - highly recommend.

Mickledore Travel responded to this review on 23 Aug 2019:

Thanks for leaving us your feedback. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your walk. We would be happy to arrange another adventure for you in future.
Sue

Pembrokeshire Coast Path by Susan H, 20 Aug 2019
Holiday Rating:

Pembrokeshire Coast Walk - Wales

Wonderful. Weather cooperated, trek was challenging but beautiful, accommodations were amazing (truly -- we would come in weary and dirty and immediately feel uplifted just because the rooms were so lovely and the shower or bath so inviting), hosts were friendly and helpful, luggage transport was seamless, now and then the packed lunch made us feel like royalty (but most of the time was just a packed lunch).

Wonderful. Weather cooperated, trek was challenging but beautiful, accommodations were amazing (truly -- we would come in weary and dirty and immediately feel uplifted just because the rooms were so lovely and the shower or bath so inviting), hosts were friendly and helpful, luggage transport was seamless, now and then the packed lunch made us feel like royalty (but most of the time was just a packed lunch).

Rating for tour operator:

This is the 4th time we have traveled with Mickledore. Every time they have found us a marvelous array of lodging and have accommodated our every request. They are fabulous. I brag about them often and recommend them to friends.

Mickledore Travel responded to this review on 21 Aug 2019:

Thanks for such great feedback. It is lovely to hear that you enjoyed your walk and the places we picked for you to stay. I wish I could take credit for your good weather!
Sue

Cleveland Way by H, 20 Aug 2019
Holiday Rating:

A few very enjoyable days walking on the Cleveland Way

We walked, ate, drank and relaxed for four days in a very beautiful part of the country - along the Cleveland Way.

We walked, ate, drank and relaxed for four days in a very beautiful part of the country - along the Cleveland Way.

Rating for tour operator:

Mickledore organised everything beautifully, including picking out the accommodation, arranged our bag transfers, and sorting out a rather complicated arrangement on the last day of our holiday. Their pack including all the information, guides, maps etc that were needed.

Mickledore Travel responded to this review on 21 Aug 2019:

Thanks for your kind comments. It is lovely to hear that you enjoyed your walk and the places that we chose for you to stay. It's great that you found the information in your holiday pack to be useful.
Sue

Pembrokeshire Coast Path by Walking Wendy, 19 Aug 2019
Holiday Rating:

Mickledore walking holidays are excellent.

During July 2019 I walked part of the Pembrokeshire coast path from Amroth to Dale having booked with Mickledore Travel and found their organisation of my walking trip second to none. All the accommodation they arranged was of a very high standard and the transfer of my luggage was very efficient. All the arrangements worked well and I will not hesitate to book with Mickledore again.

During July 2019 I walked part of the Pembrokeshire coast path from Amroth to Dale having booked with Mickledore Travel and found their organisation of my walking trip second to none. All the accommodation they arranged was of a very high standard and the transfer of my luggage was very efficient. All the arrangements worked well and I will not hesitate to book with Mickledore again.

Rating for tour operator:

The organisation of my walking holiday was very efficient and when I wanted to make a couple of additions to my plans they were very accommodating. When speaking to them on the phone they were very helpful and treated me as a valued customer. I am very keen to recommend Mickledore to my friends.

Mickledore Travel responded to this review on 20 Aug 2019:

Thank you for leaving us such kind feedback. It is lovely to hear that you enjoyed your walk and that the arrangements we made helped you to have such a great experience.
Sue

The Inn Way to the Lake District by AllyM, 16 Aug 2019
Holiday Rating:

Superb Lakeland Walk

Mickledore put everything in place to enable two of us to have a happy and relaxing few days in the Lake District, walking the Inn Way.

Mickledore put everything in place to enable two of us to have a happy and relaxing few days in the Lake District, walking the Inn Way.

Rating for tour operator:

Everything was well-organised, the staff were friendly and helpful, accommodation was of a good standard and route notes were clear and accurate.

Mickledore Travel responded to this review on 20 Aug 2019:

It is great to hear that you enjoyed your walk. Thanks for your kind comments about our team we do try to make your holiday a great experience for you.
Sue

St Cuthberts Way by Mart, 16 Aug 2019
Holiday Rating:

Walking St Cuthbert's Way from Scotland to England

A 63 mile walk done over 4 days - mostly in very wet conditions, so didn't see the countryside at its best! Nevertheless an interesting and varied walk with the highlight being the Cheviot Hills.

A 63 mile walk done over 4 days - mostly in very wet conditions, so didn't see the countryside at its best! Nevertheless an interesting and varied walk with the highlight being the Cheviot Hills.

Rating for tour operator:

Mickledore provided comprehensive info to allow self-guiding and booked good accommodation along route and arranged bag transfer, taking all the hassle out of the logistics. There is emergency contact if required.

Mickledore Travel responded to this review on 20 Aug 2019:

It is lovely to hear that you enjoyed your walk and that the route was interesting even though the weather wasn't kind to you.
Thanks for taking the time to leave us your feedback.
Sue

Hadrians Wall by Hadrian's Wall Walker, 15 Aug 2019
Holiday Rating:

Varied and relaxing

We walked Hadrian's Wall east-to-west, then added on a couple of days of the Cumbria Way to finish in Keswick. The terrain varied hugely along the way, from the city experience of Newcastle to the empty magnificence of the Solway Firth. Wildlife - flowers, birds and butterflies particularly - was our constant companion. We also found that the fellowship of other walkers is a great encouragement and incentive. Altogether great.

We walked Hadrian's Wall east-to-west, then added on a couple of days of the Cumbria Way to finish in Keswick. The terrain varied hugely along the way, from the city experience of Newcastle to the empty magnificence of the Solway Firth. Wildlife - flowers, birds and butterflies particularly - was our constant companion. We also found that the fellowship of other walkers is a great encouragement and incentive. Altogether great.

Rating for tour operator:

Mickledore were very accommodating and flexible with the specific requests we made, such as including part of the Cumbria Way in the holiday. We opted to carry our own bags but on another occasion would probably choose to let them be transferred by Mickledore. The accommodation was normally excellent - the couple of places that were more ordinary were often situated in places where there was little choice, so the variation was understandable. We would certainly choose Mickledore again.

Reviewer's images:
Mickledore Travel responded to this review on 20 Aug 2019:

Thank you for leaving us your feedback and photograph. It is great that you enjoyed your walk and the places that we chose for you to stay.
Sue