AITO: The Association of Independent Tour Operators
Mickledore Travel

Mickledore Travel Traveller Reviews

Reviews of Mickledore Travel

Overall Company Rating
99%
Excellent 606
Good 19
Average 0
Poor 0
Terrible 0
Reviews Submitted: 625
Reviews Accepted: 625
Reviews Rejected: 0
625 reviews
Sort by:
North Lakes Traverse by Janie D, 26 Sep 2019
Holiday Rating:

Off the beaten track!

5 days self guided walking in the beautiful Lake District, using pre-marked OS maps and good instructions provided by Mickledore Travel. All 5 hotels & Bed & Breakfasts had been pre-booked (and chosen) by Mickledore, and our accommodation was all en-suite and extremely comfortable, with packed lunches provided each day. We left our car at our first hotel, & Mickledore provided a pre-booked taxi to take us to collect it on the final day...

5 days self guided walking in the beautiful Lake District, using pre-marked OS maps and good instructions provided by Mickledore Travel. All 5 hotels & Bed & Breakfasts had been pre-booked (and chosen) by Mickledore, and our accommodation was all en-suite and extremely comfortable, with packed lunches provided each day. We left our car at our first hotel, & Mickledore provided a pre-booked taxi to take us to collect it on the final day. The routes were well marked, and we found the gradients and length of walks to be what we expect for a ‘moderate’ 3 Boot walk. What we didn’t anticipate was to be walking through such spectacular scenery, it really was a wonderful holiday.

Rating for tour operator:

Very friendly and efficient, updated our route when a bridge was closed unexpectedly, and made sure a hard copy was delivered to us at our hotel. Wouldn’t hesitate to recommend them, and have already sent the company link to several friends.

Mickledore Travel responded to this review on 02 Oct 2019:

Thanks for your great feedback about the arrangements we made for your holiday and the walk itself. It is lovely to hear that you enjoyed your holiday and have been recommending us to your friends.
Sue

Cumbria Way by DanW, 26 Sep 2019
Holiday Rating:

A great walk in the Lake District

We are keen photographers but with weak knees, and so we needed an itinerary that allowed us to see the best views but without being too much of a challenge. Mickledore gave us good advice and came up with a plan that fully met our requirements. We had a very enjoyable week, met some nice people, and enjoyed some great pub meals. The weather was perfect and we have taken some fantastic pictures.

We are keen photographers but with weak knees, and so we needed an itinerary that allowed us to see the best views but without being too much of a challenge. Mickledore gave us good advice and came up with a plan that fully met our requirements. We had a very enjoyable week, met some nice people, and enjoyed some great pub meals. The weather was perfect and we have taken some fantastic pictures.

Rating for tour operator:

Good advice, thoughtful planning, efficient documents and mobile app. Everything went well and the holiday fully met our expectations.

Reviewer's images:
Mickledore Travel responded to this review on 27 Sep 2019:

Thanks for leaving us your great feedback and the fantastic picture. It is lovely to hear that you enjoyed your walk and found some fabulous photo opportunities.
Sue

Cleveland Way by Belinda, 25 Sep 2019
Holiday Rating:

Cleveland Way

Enjoyable hiking on the Cleveland Way

Enjoyable hiking on the Cleveland Way

Rating for tour operator:

Friendly and helpful

Mickledore Travel responded to this review on 26 Sep 2019:

Thanks for leaving us your feedback. It is great that you enjoyed your holiday.
Sue

Speyside Way by MacMark, 24 Sep 2019
Holiday Rating:

Speyside Way - a pleasant spirit infusing walk

Very pleasant walk with sufficient variation in trail and landscape, although you are in fact continuously folllowing the same river. Nice side trips can be made as suggested and ther is an abundant presence of whisky distilleries.

Very pleasant walk with sufficient variation in trail and landscape, although you are in fact continuously folllowing the same river. Nice side trips can be made as suggested and ther is an abundant presence of whisky distilleries.

Rating for tour operator:

Accommodation and luggage transport well arranged; high level quality standard for both functionality and experience atmosphere. Clear and timely communication and helpful and complete information package.

Mickledore Travel responded to this review on 27 Sep 2019:

Thanks for your great feedback. It is lovely to hear how much you enjoyed your walk and the entertainment provided by whisky distilleries along the way.
We hope to book more adventures for you in the future.
Sue

St Oswalds Way by Roger, 22 Sep 2019
Holiday Rating:

Wonderful varied walking experience

Walking St Oswald's Way in Northumberland was a delightful experience. The route encompases a mixture of historic Holy Island, the unspoilt Northumberland coast with its beautiful beaches and harbours and later the quiet rolling hills finishing along Hadrians Wall. Very good accomodation B & Bs, guest houses and pubs and fortunately good weather enhanced the whole experience.

Walking St Oswald's Way in Northumberland was a delightful experience. The route encompases a mixture of historic Holy Island, the unspoilt Northumberland coast with its beautiful beaches and harbours and later the quiet rolling hills finishing along Hadrians Wall. Very good accomodation B & Bs, guest houses and pubs and fortunately good weather enhanced the whole experience.

Rating for tour operator:

Have used Mickledore for 5 walking holidays and they are my prime choice due to their excellent service, comprehensiveness of the walking pack supplied and quality of accomodation.

Mickledore Travel responded to this review on 26 Sep 2019:

Thanks for you great feedback. It is lovely to hear that you enjoyed your walk. We do work hard to find the best accommodations and it is always nice to hear that you enjoyed your stays along the way.
Sue

Mickledore Travel by Walking Wendy, 21 Sep 2019
Holiday Rating:

Wonderful walking on the Yorkshire Wolds Way

I walked the Yorkshire Wolds Way over 8 days thoroughly enjoying every minute of the holiday. Mickledore made all the arrangements, their organisation of the accommodation was excellent and each place I stayed was of a very high standard. The hosts generally went above and beyond to ensure I had an excellent stay in their establishment and any transport required was provided as planned. The luggage transfers Mickledore arranged went very smoothly ...

I walked the Yorkshire Wolds Way over 8 days thoroughly enjoying every minute of the holiday. Mickledore made all the arrangements, their organisation of the accommodation was excellent and each place I stayed was of a very high standard. The hosts generally went above and beyond to ensure I had an excellent stay in their establishment and any transport required was provided as planned. The luggage transfers Mickledore arranged went very smoothly and the taxi transfers they arranged were efficient and flexible when I wanted to change my pick up times. The Yorkshire Wolds Way is a quiet National Trail but other walkers I met along the way were friendly and we sometimes walked together sharing the magic of the trail.

Rating for tour operator:

I can not fault the service provided by Mickledore before I set off on my holiday, they are helpful and informative making you feel a valued customer. The trail guide, maps, my individual programme and the local information they provided were all excellent, I used everything provided during my time away. Their follow-up service is really good and they respond to any feedback you provide. Their mobile App is really helpful as well. I recommend Mickledore to everyone I know who loves walking and also to other people I meet while walking a trail. I will definitely be using their services again for future walking holidays.

Mickledore Travel responded to this review on 26 Sep 2019:

Thank you for great feedback. Your kind comments about our services are much appreciated by our team. It is lovely to hear how much you enjoyed your holiday. We will be very happy to arrange future walking adventures for you.
Sue

West Highland Way by Nicky U, 19 Sep 2019
Holiday Rating:

Magical Walking on the West Highland Way

Walked from Milngavie to Fort William along the West Highland Way, scenery was amazing, and whilst it is a long way, the support and advice we received from Mickledore meant we didn't need to worry about a thing. All accommodation was great, with a welcome cup of tea and cake provided at some hotels. We are now looking at where our next walk may take use.

Walked from Milngavie to Fort William along the West Highland Way, scenery was amazing, and whilst it is a long way, the support and advice we received from Mickledore meant we didn't need to worry about a thing. All accommodation was great, with a welcome cup of tea and cake provided at some hotels. We are now looking at where our next walk may take use.

Rating for tour operator:

Excellent advice received by phone and the information pack was really useful, containing everything we needed.

Mickledore Travel responded to this review on 26 Sep 2019:

It is lovely to hear that you enjoyed your walk. The West Highland Way is fabulous and very popular. Thanks for taking the time to leave us your comments.
We would be very happy to arrange another adventure for you.
Sue

Hadrians Wall by Hogan Hadrian Walk, 18 Sep 2019
Holiday Rating:

Hadrians Wall

6 family members celebrated retirement by walking a portion of Hadrians Wall in England.

6 family members celebrated retirement by walking a portion of Hadrians Wall in England.

Rating for tour operator:

Mickledore handled all of our travel arrangements without any issues. First class follow up and execution.

Mickledore Travel responded to this review on 26 Sep 2019:

It is great that you enjoyed your walk. Such a lovely way to celebrate retirement. Thanks for your kind comments.
Sue

Hadrians Wall by Roman Canucks, 17 Sep 2019
Holiday Rating:

Hadrian’s Wall

After all the planning I cannot believe our incredible week walking Hadrian’s Wall is now over. We 16 Canadians, I being the only one that had any idea what we were going to face, thankfully we trained hard and handled everything each day threw at us, I was so proud of them all. What truly made this walking vacation such a success was Mickledore from our initial booking, the amazing accommodations and their prompt response to any query we knew ...

After all the planning I cannot believe our incredible week walking Hadrian’s Wall is now over. We 16 Canadians, I being the only one that had any idea what we were going to face, thankfully we trained hard and handled everything each day threw at us, I was so proud of them all. What truly made this walking vacation such a success was Mickledore from our initial booking, the amazing accommodations and their prompt response to any query we knew with confidence they had our backs. Thank you Mickledore, we will be walking with you again. Gillian. Ontario. Canada 🇨🇦

Rating for tour operator:

First rate service.

Mickledore Travel responded to this review on 26 Sep 2019:

Thanks for such great feedback. It is lovely to hear how much you all enjoyed your adventure. We will be very happy to welcome you back for further exciting trips in the future.
Sue

West Highland Way by DW, 12 Sep 2019
Holiday Rating:

Exceeded expectations

This was a walking holiday. Well organised by our tour company, every little detail taken care of. Great over night stops , fabulous food en route.

This was a walking holiday. Well organised by our tour company, every little detail taken care of. Great over night stops , fabulous food en route.

Rating for tour operator:

They organised everything accommodation, travel service, accompanying notes. Responded quickly to our queries and emails in preparation. Superb to deal with.

Mickledore Travel responded to this review on 26 Sep 2019:

It is great to hear how much you enjoyed your walk. Thanks for your kind comments about our services and the arrangments we made for your holiday.
Sue