AITO: The Association of Independent Tour Operators
Mickledore Travel

Mickledore Travel Traveller Reviews

Reviews of Mickledore Travel

Overall Company Rating
100%
Excellent 957
Good 24
Average 0
Poor 0
Terrible 0
Reviews Submitted: 981
Reviews Accepted: 981
Reviews Rejected: 0
981 reviews
Sort by:
Hadrian's Wall by Debbie J, 24 Oct 2023
Holiday Rating:

How to make a 84 mile walk pleasurable!

My husband and I celebrated a 33rd wedding anniversary using Mickledore Travel to make all arrangements for our 84 mile hike of Hadrian's Wall. We ended up walking 108 miles in total. The accommodations were first rate and the food was excellent - including accommodating my vegan and allergy dietary restrictions. We were given phone assistance when we didn't have all the details on hand for our taxi and lots of helpful advice.

My husband and I celebrated a 33rd wedding anniversary using Mickledore Travel to make all arrangements for our 84 mile hike of Hadrian's Wall. We ended up walking 108 miles in total. The accommodations were first rate and the food was excellent - including accommodating my vegan and allergy dietary restrictions. We were given phone assistance when we didn't have all the details on hand for our taxi and lots of helpful advice.

Rating for tour operator:

Mickledore Travel were superb - end to end. They courteously and fully responded to all queries in a prompt fashion and facilitated all arrangements to ensure our walk went without hitches.

Mickledore Travel responded to this review on 27 Oct 2023:

It's great to know that you had a fantastic experience on your walking holiday. We value your feedback immensely, and we're glad that our services met your expectations. Your satisfaction is our top priority, and we hope to see you again on another memorable excursion. Hayley

Coast to Coast by Las, 24 Oct 2023
Holiday Rating:

Fabulous

Hiked from St Bees to Kirkby Stephens with luggage hauled from one B&B to the next. Welcoming hosts, beautiful scenery, and excellent maps so we never got lost

Hiked from St Bees to Kirkby Stephens with luggage hauled from one B&B to the next. Welcoming hosts, beautiful scenery, and excellent maps so we never got lost

Rating for tour operator:

This was our second trip with Mickeldore and we were very pleased both times. Very well organized in every way.

Mickledore Travel responded to this review on 27 Oct 2023:

Thank you for your kind words and for choosing us for your walking holiday. We're thrilled to have been a part of your journey and look forward to more adventures together. Hayley

Lady Annes Way by Parisians, 20 Oct 2023
Holiday Rating:

The Lady Anne’s Way

9 days of walking through every type of weather, enjoying the wonderful views and trails.

9 days of walking through every type of weather, enjoying the wonderful views and trails.

Rating for tour operator:

Very responsive and well organised. The information pack provided was one of the best we have ever received

Mickledore Travel responded to this review on 27 Oct 2023:

We're delighted to hear you had a wonderful time on your walking holiday with us. Your feedback is appreciated, and we can't wait to welcome you back for another fantastic experience. Hayley

Coast to Coast by NickB, 18 Oct 2023
Holiday Rating:

Coasting coast to coast: A memorable experience

Our Coast to Coast experience was the perfect holiday, walking through a variety of landscapes, picturesque villages and visiting historic sights. Following in Wainwright's footsteps, we enjoyed every part of this walk, from the challenging climbs (and weather) in the Lake District, the beauty of the Pennines, through to the stark and misty North Yorkshire moors. Having waited a year to do this walk it did not disappoint.

Our Coast to Coast experience was the perfect holiday, walking through a variety of landscapes, picturesque villages and visiting historic sights. Following in Wainwright's footsteps, we enjoyed every part of this walk, from the challenging climbs (and weather) in the Lake District, the beauty of the Pennines, through to the stark and misty North Yorkshire moors. Having waited a year to do this walk it did not disappoint.

Rating for tour operator:

Mickeldore was our tour operator and provided an outstanding experience. Their level of organisation ensured everything went smoothly - the accommodation, transport of bags and provision of all necessary information to guide the walk. They repliesd promptly to all our enquiries and were flexible in their scheduling, fitting in with the pace at which we wanted to complete the journey.

Mickledore Travel responded to this review on 27 Oct 2023:

Thank you for your wonderful review! We're thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your walking holiday with us. It's our pleasure to provide unforgettable experiences for our guests. We look forward to welcoming you back on another adventure soon! Hayley

Cumbria Way by Belle on the fells, 11 Oct 2023
Holiday Rating:

A rain soaked few days on the Best of the Cumbria Way

The hope had been a few glorious autumn days, soaking up the beautiful colours and revelling in the fresh air on the middle part of the Cumbria Way. The reality was two days of non-stop rain, paths that were streams, streams that were raging torrents and gloomy black mountains all around. Having said that, we had such fun. We knew each night we would have a comfortable, dry and warm hotel room to go back to and that our main luggage would be ...

The hope had been a few glorious autumn days, soaking up the beautiful colours and revelling in the fresh air on the middle part of the Cumbria Way. The reality was two days of non-stop rain, paths that were streams, streams that were raging torrents and gloomy black mountains all around. Having said that, we had such fun. We knew each night we would have a comfortable, dry and warm hotel room to go back to and that our main luggage would be waiting for us. I can't wait for the next adventure.

Rating for tour operator:

Very efficient. Emails were responded to swiftly, the information pack provided was extremely helpful and the accommodation we were booked into was clean and comfortable. Everything was organised very well, meaning a stress free holiday. All we had to do was turn up.

Mickledore Travel responded to this review on 20 Oct 2023:

Thank you for your review, we are so glad you enjoyed your adventure despite the weather! We look forward to booking another holiday for you soon. Hayley

Hadrian's Wall by regorselwonk, 9 Oct 2023
Holiday Rating:

Perfect walking the Hadrian's Wall trail

From Tynemouth to Bowness, 7 days of brilliant walking and sightseeing. The geography and scenery of Northumbria and Cumbria is very special in its own right, but add the brilliant Hadrian's Wall into the mix too, and this turns into a truly amazing part of England

From Tynemouth to Bowness, 7 days of brilliant walking and sightseeing. The geography and scenery of Northumbria and Cumbria is very special in its own right, but add the brilliant Hadrian's Wall into the mix too, and this turns into a truly amazing part of England

Rating for tour operator:

Mickledore Travel did a fantastic job of organising the accommodation for my trip, and provided great advice about the trail and things to see and do along the way. Really brilliant

Mickledore Travel responded to this review on 10 Oct 2023:

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your positive experience with us! We're thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your walking holiday. It was our pleasure to plan it for you, and we look forward to helping you create more memorable adventures in the future. Hayley

South West Coast Path by TSums, 9 Oct 2023
Holiday Rating:

Vistas, birds, and breakers on the SWCP

I had a fortnight's holiday walking from Minehead to Padstow in September 2023. I enjoyed taking an extra day in Appledore during the Book Festival week.

I had a fortnight's holiday walking from Minehead to Padstow in September 2023. I enjoyed taking an extra day in Appledore during the Book Festival week.

Rating for tour operator:

Mickledore delivers. Strong customer interface with prompt responses to queries while in the planning stages, excellent arrangements and accommodations, excellent guidebooks and maps. Personable and warm.

Mickledore Travel responded to this review on 10 Oct 2023:

We're delighted to hear that you had a fantastic time on your walking holiday! Your feedback is greatly appreciated, and it motivates us to continue delivering exceptional experiences. We can't wait to assist you with your next adventure. Hayley

West Highland Way by Phil, 3 Oct 2023
Holiday Rating:

West Highland Way Sept 2023

Our holiday was simply amazing. The team at Mickledore worked to arrange accommodations that were all great, clean, friendly, and comfortable. They all met or exceeded our expectations. the highlight of our stay were the meals at Inverornan. they were truly amazing. the guide books and suggestions provided helped make are trip seamless from beginning to end.

Our holiday was simply amazing. The team at Mickledore worked to arrange accommodations that were all great, clean, friendly, and comfortable. They all met or exceeded our expectations. the highlight of our stay were the meals at Inverornan. they were truly amazing. the guide books and suggestions provided helped make are trip seamless from beginning to end.

Rating for tour operator:

Mickledore was extremely professional and helpful. They worked hard to find accomdations and make are holiday work. they were also helpful in providing contacts to hire a car in fort William, and a contact to assist in booking rail reservations to get us to Milngavie and back to Edinbourgh from Ft William.

Mickledore Travel responded to this review on 10 Oct 2023:

Your kind words mean the world to us! We're overjoyed that your walking holiday met your expectations. Our team works hard to ensure our clients have a memorable time, and it's wonderful to know we succeeded in making your trip special. Hayley

Hadrian's Wall by Len, 3 Oct 2023
Holiday Rating:

Hadrian's Wall walk

6 day 7 night walk of the Hadrian's wall in northern England.

6 day 7 night walk of the Hadrian's wall in northern England.

Rating for tour operator:

Mickledore arranged our accommodations, luggage and people transfers as required. Their selection of BNB's was excellent and greatly enhanced our experience. The Mickledore staff was very responsive during the planning process and during our vacation.

Mickledore Travel responded to this review on 10 Oct 2023:

Thank you for choosing us to plan your walking holiday, and for sharing your positive feedback. We're elated that you had a wonderful experience. Your satisfaction is our top priority, and we're here whenever you're ready for your next adventure. Hayley

Hadrian's Wall by StuMoffat, 2 Oct 2023
Holiday Rating:

Hadrian's wall walking tour

A splendid walking tour of a beautiful part of the country. Great pubs great views, great history, great company.

A splendid walking tour of a beautiful part of the country. Great pubs great views, great history, great company.

Rating for tour operator:

Mickledore were excellent from the start - answered all questions promptly and were fantastic throughout. They supplied great maps, guides and documents. They have some great partnerships with local accommodation and transport providers - everything that they organised for us went without a hitch.

Mickledore Travel responded to this review on 02 Oct 2023:

We're delighted you enjoyed your walking holiday with us. Your kind words about the trip and our team are greatly appreciated. We can't wait to have you join us again for another memorable experience. Hayley