AITO: The Association of Independent Tour Operators
Mickledore Travel

Mickledore Travel Traveller Reviews

Reviews of Mickledore Travel

Overall Company Rating
99%
Excellent 607
Good 19
Average 0
Poor 0
Terrible 0
Reviews Submitted: 626
Reviews Accepted: 626
Reviews Rejected: 0
626 reviews
Sort by:
Mickledore Travel by Chris, 2 Mar 2020
Holiday Rating:

Walking around Lands End

A lovely part of our beautiful island. We met some super people on the path and the locals were welcoming and helpful. Weather mixed.

A lovely part of our beautiful island. We met some super people on the path and the locals were welcoming and helpful. Weather mixed.

Rating for tour operator:

Mickledore? Brilliant as usual.

Mickledore Travel responded to this review on 03 Mar 2020:

Thanks for your kind comments. It is great that you enjoyed meeting people during your walk and had a great time on your holiday.
Sue

Mickledore Travel by Oakmeadows, 11 Jan 2020
Holiday Rating:

Mickledore provided excellent service on Thames Path walk.

May I first say that I was very pleased with Mickledore Travel? The reservations you made on my behalf all were without flaw. Every stop was expecting me and many of them remembered that I am deaf. Even the taxi rides went smoothly in terms of reliability and punctuality. I can't imagine better service than I received from Mickledore and I will be booking another walk with them in 2020. I had no trouble walking the path without a mobile...

May I first say that I was very pleased with Mickledore Travel? The reservations you made on my behalf all were without flaw. Every stop was expecting me and many of them remembered that I am deaf. Even the taxi rides went smoothly in terms of reliability and punctuality. I can't imagine better service than I received from Mickledore and I will be booking another walk with them in 2020. I had no trouble walking the path without a mobile. The few times I needed to make a call, it was easy to find a kind stranger to do it for me. Some mornings I asked the innkeeper to call ahead to the next lodging to let them know what time I was setting out. I have made several long distance backpacking trips and the Thames Path is one of the best. When I turned away from the Thames up Water Lane, it felt like I was leaving a friend.

Rating for tour operator:

Mickledore provided personalized service and very good communication from start to finish. They made my walk problem free.

Mickledore Travel responded to this review on 22 Jan 2020:

Thanks for your great feedback. It is lovely to hear that you enjoyed your walk and the trail exceeded your expectations.
Sue

Lady Annes Way by SarahBass, 16 Dec 2019
Holiday Rating:

Lady Anne's Way from Skipton to Penrith; 100 miles of (mostly) sunshine and footpaths through fields

It was early May 2019. The weather was good - it rained a little on the first day, a lot on the last, but it didn't matter either time. We chose to get to Skipton by train, which meant we were too late to visit the castle that day, and it didn't open until 10am, by which time we wanted to be well on the road. We have decided we need to go back and visit, plus some of the other castles and churches which were similarly inconvenient! Other ...

It was early May 2019. The weather was good - it rained a little on the first day, a lot on the last, but it didn't matter either time. We chose to get to Skipton by train, which meant we were too late to visit the castle that day, and it didn't open until 10am, by which time we wanted to be well on the road. We have decided we need to go back and visit, plus some of the other castles and churches which were similarly inconvenient! Other comments: Maps and guidebooks – wonderful to have new, up to date maps. Sheila Gordon’s book with Mickledore updates (other holiday organisers left their customers to get the updates from the web site!) is very good. It’s great to have the italic descriptions as we go along, although confusing at times”! She does say that the Way is well waymarked now – there are places where it isn’t and it’s quite confusing when there are sometimes Lady Anne’s signs, sometimes Pennine Journey signs and sometimes the fingerpost just says “public footpath”; especially around and beyond Mallerstang. There are also places where the path is very indistinct, and later in the year the stinging nettles would be a real nuisance. It is fun to walk a route before it is very popular though. B & Bs generally very pleasant, not a lot of choice in most places, and always "nits" one can pick. My walking friend only drinks decaf tea and coffee which were not often available. We chose to walk 9 days to keep the distances sensible (we are not young), and it made a really good holiday of it. there were times when the walking was challenging, but mostly it was very pleasant.

Rating for tour operator:

Mickledore are people people. They are friendly, efficient, caring and thorough. They are not cheap, but the accomodation is of a high standard, luggage is transported efficiently and because they are my "local" travel agent, I can go in and talk to them.

Mickledore Travel responded to this review on 17 Dec 2019:

Thanks for your feedback. It is great that the information we sent in your holiday pack was helpful for you and that overall you enjoyed your walk on this route. It is always lovely to see you when you call in.
Sue

Great Glen Way by Ocean157, 28 Oct 2019
Holiday Rating:

Fantastic!

Excellent organization. We love the accommodations. Very well planned.

Excellent organization. We love the accommodations. Very well planned.

Rating for tour operator:

Mickledore did fantastic. Very well organized. Very helpful. Really appreciate the useful information received about the The Great Glen Way. Fantastic Holiday. We definitely will plan our next holiday with them.

Mickledore Travel responded to this review on 11 Nov 2019:

Thanks for your great feedback. It is lovely to hear how much you enjoyed your walk. We would be very happy to arrange another walking adventure for you.
Sue

Pembrokeshire Coast Path by Tone, 27 Oct 2019
Holiday Rating:

Spectacular Pembrokeshire Coastal walk

We are 2 pensioners doing this walk of 70 miles over 5 days. Started at St Davids finishing at St Dogmaels. Weather was half rain and half sun, but as we had waterproof clothing that wasn't a problem. Spotted dolphin by day 2 and there were numerous seal pups spotted on beaches. We have heard this part of the coastline is a Geologists heaven as the strata is so very contorted. To lay people like us, it was just spectacular. This part of the ...

We are 2 pensioners doing this walk of 70 miles over 5 days. Started at St Davids finishing at St Dogmaels. Weather was half rain and half sun, but as we had waterproof clothing that wasn't a problem. Spotted dolphin by day 2 and there were numerous seal pups spotted on beaches. We have heard this part of the coastline is a Geologists heaven as the strata is so very contorted. To lay people like us, it was just spectacular. This part of the coastline is totally unspoilt by commercialism.

Rating for tour operator:

Mickledore has always given us excellent service. Our accommodations were generally the best that were available. Our cases always turned up at the next accommodation, and our packed lunches were all ok where provided. We had no problems on this trip, but we did have an issue during a previous trip and Mickledore resolved it speedily.

Mickledore Travel responded to this review on 11 Nov 2019:

Thanks for leaving your feedback. It is great that you enjoyed your walk along the coast. It is a stunning path and some sections are quite remote helping to retain the unspoilt character.
Sue

Hadrians Wall by AllyM, 22 Oct 2019
Holiday Rating:

Wonderful self-guided walking holiday

We had a fabulous few days' walking along the middle section of Hadrian's Wall.

We had a fabulous few days' walking along the middle section of Hadrian's Wall.

Rating for tour operator:

Mickledore were prompt, efficient, friendly and helpful. The accommodation they booked for us was of a high standard and all guidance notes were accurate and well-planned.

Mickledore Travel responded to this review on 23 Oct 2019:

Thank you for taking the time to leave us your feedback. It is lovely to hear that you enjoyed your walk.
Sue

West Highland Way by Louella, 19 Oct 2019
Holiday Rating:

The best walking holiday!

We walked the West Highland Way supported by Mickledore Travel. Every interaction with the Mickledore team was positive and helpful. Every detail of the trip was planned with care and thought - even as we had to adjust due to some medical issues that caused a rescheduling. The Mickledore team was responsive and help make the adjustments seemlessly. One on the walk, the materials they gave us enabled us to have a fun, informed, and delightful time...

We walked the West Highland Way supported by Mickledore Travel. Every interaction with the Mickledore team was positive and helpful. Every detail of the trip was planned with care and thought - even as we had to adjust due to some medical issues that caused a rescheduling. The Mickledore team was responsive and help make the adjustments seemlessly. One on the walk, the materials they gave us enabled us to have a fun, informed, and delightful time.

Rating for tour operator:

See above - we found Mickledore to have exceptional staff, good relations with inn keepers (they all loved Mickledore), and provided excellent support for us on our self guided walk.

Mickledore Travel responded to this review on 21 Oct 2019:

Thanks for your great feedback. It is lovely to hear how much you enjoyed your walk and the kind comments about the work of our team are much appreciated.
Sue

South Downs Way by Griff, 18 Oct 2019
Holiday Rating:

A wonderful walk along the South Downs Way, with beautiful country views into the far distance, and ending with the dramatic Seven Sisters and Beachy Head

Mibkledore arranged a series of very good bed and breakfast accommodations for each night of the walk, and also arranged for our baggage to be forwarded, which took the weight off our backs both literally and metaphorically.

Mibkledore arranged a series of very good bed and breakfast accommodations for each night of the walk, and also arranged for our baggage to be forwarded, which took the weight off our backs both literally and metaphorically.

Rating for tour operator:

Mickledore's staff are extremely helpful and give a genuinely personal service, tailored to your individual preferences and dates. They are a pleasure to deal with, and are most efficient. This was our second time of using them for a walking trip, and we will continue to do so.

Mickledore Travel responded to this review on 21 Oct 2019:

It is great that you enjoyed your walk, the views are stunning with the Seven Sisters being a great way to finish. Thanks for taking the time to leave us your comments.
Sue

West Highland Way by Esmee, 17 Oct 2019
Holiday Rating:

Brilliant holiday with all details sorted

Walked the first half of the Westhighland Way with my son. It was great to have all details if the trip sorted so I could focus on our vacation. Information provided was clear and of quality. My son wants to do the whole trail now!

Walked the first half of the Westhighland Way with my son. It was great to have all details if the trip sorted so I could focus on our vacation. Information provided was clear and of quality. My son wants to do the whole trail now!

Rating for tour operator:

Excellent service.

Mickledore Travel responded to this review on 21 Oct 2019:

Thanks for your kind comments. It is great that you enjoyed your walk and feel inspired for more. We would be very happy to arrange a walk along the rest of the trail for you both in the future.
Sue

South Downs Way by George, 17 Oct 2019
Holiday Rating:

Very professional, friendly and sensitive

Very impressed with the care Mickledore take especially when changing unscheduled arrangements .

Very impressed with the care Mickledore take especially when changing unscheduled arrangements .

Rating for tour operator:

Very helpful, go out of their way to give the best service

Mickledore Travel responded to this review on 21 Oct 2019:

It is great to hear that you found our team helpful and that we were able to make the small changes that made your holiday work well for you. We hope to welcome you back for further walks with us soon.
Sue