AITO: The Association of Independent Tour Operators
Mickledore Travel

Mickledore Travel Traveller Reviews

Reviews of Mickledore Travel

Overall Company Rating
99%
Excellent 364
Good 13
Average 0
Poor 0
Terrible 0
Reviews Submitted: 377
Reviews Accepted: 377
Reviews Rejected: 0
377 reviews
Sort by:
Cotswold Way by Lost Boy from Alabama, 4 Jun 2018
Holiday Rating:

Two Lost Boys from Alabama Walking the Cotswold Way National Trail

This is a brief summary of the adventures of Tom and Ed and their ten-day walk on the Cotswold Way National Trail. First and foremost, we successfully completed the entire 103-mile trail in ten consecutive days from Tuesday, May 8th and finishing by walking into Bath on the afternoon of Thursday, May 17th. When I say, we walked into Bath I really mean we limped into Bath. Ed suffered from nerve issues in his toes and an injured knee. While ...

This is a brief summary of the adventures of Tom and Ed and their ten-day walk on the Cotswold Way National Trail. First and foremost, we successfully completed the entire 103-mile trail in ten consecutive days from Tuesday, May 8th and finishing by walking into Bath on the afternoon of Thursday, May 17th. When I say, we walked into Bath I really mean we limped into Bath. Ed suffered from nerve issues in his toes and an injured knee. While I suffered from multiple blisters on my left foot. In addition, while the official distance of the Cotswold Way is 103 miles, Ed and I managed to walk it in just over 130 miles. Some of the extra miles were due to our bed and breakfasts being off the official Cotswold Way trail. However, most of the extra miles were due to my lack of navigational skills. We experienced highs and lows on our ten-day walk. Some of the highs were the beautiful scenery. We walked through ancient Beech Wood forests, through fields of bright yellow canola plants, and acres of wild garlic plants, blue bells & cowslip. I can still smell the garlic. We walked through valleys and pastures filled with wild flowers in full bloom. The colors were like a rainbow. We watched and talked with men sheering sheep, a stonemason building a traditional dry stonewall, and the owner of an estate near Ullenwood who shared some local history of the involvement of the area in the World War II D-Day invasion. We walked through battlefields, golf courses, and past historic monuments. We visited Abbeys, churches, and graveyards. Ed and I marveled at the ancient burial mounds like Belas Knap. We walked through miles and miles of sheep and cow pastures. Which means we walked through miles and miles of sheep and cow manure mazes. Ed managed to avoid stepping in the gifts left by the sheep and cows. I was not as lucky. On the tenth and final day of our walk, I stepped into a very deep and wet cow “pie”. While Ed failed to warn me about my pending mishap, he did support me after the fact by laughing uncontrollably for hours after my accident. We walked past outstanding examples of Cotswold sandstone architecture in the form of quaint stone farmhouses with thatched and stone roofs, beautiful Abbeys, and small town buildings. We stayed in Bed and Breakfasts in rural villages with marvelous hosts. We were served full “English” breakfasts and provided daily packed lunches for our walks. One of the greatest highs was meeting and getting to know other walkers. We met and came to know Nick and Lesel and Dr. Richard and Sally both couples from England, and Dr. Richard and Melinda from the USA. They out walked us nine of the ten days (passed us each day finishing early). However, Ed and I beat them to Bath on the tenth day entering the city like conquering heroes. While our highs greatly outnumbered our lows, we still had a few of the later. During our journey, Ed managed to lose his eyeglasses, his passport, his wallet, and his boots. While we never found his eyeglasses, Ed did find his passport and wallet in different pockets of his pants other than the pockets where he had originally placed them. After almost destroying his bedroom looking for his boots he was informed that he had left them, like all the B&B guests, in the foyer of the B&B. Another low was my left foot. Early on the walk, I developed some horrible blisters on my left foot. With the help of the doctors, we met on the trail and with Ed’s engineering skills; I managed to walk most of the trail with a bandaged left foot in moderate pain. Ed came up with the plan to cut holes in my shoe to relieve the pressure on the multitude of blisters on my left foot. The plan was much like drilling a hole in someone’s skull to relieve the pressure on the brain. It worked. However, this did precipitate the development of a reputation on the trail as the Alabama boys who had cut holes in their shoes. The walk on the Cotswold Way National Trail was one of the greatest experiences of my 66-year-old life. Ed and I completed a journey that will probably never be topped, at least in my life.

Rating for tour operator:

Mickledore handled all of our in-country travel arrangements. They did an outstanding job arranging our accommodations, daily packed lunches, and the transporting of our luggage from B&B to B&B.

Mickledore Travel responded to this review on 05 Jun 2018:

Wow Tom, thanks for taking the time to leave us such a fantastic & detailed review of your holiday. It is great that we have been able to arrange the walk that was such a great adventure for you both, providing so much entertainment for yourselves and other hikers on the trail. I hope your feet have now recovered.
Sue

Cleveland Way by Rambler, 1 Jun 2018
Holiday Rating:

Well organised, quality walking holiday

Cleveland way coastal walk. All planned by Mickledore. A great experience packed by professional support. Wherever we stayed we had warm welcomes, comfortable rooms and great breakfasts. Out luggage was transported for us so we had a worry free holiday. All we had to do was concentrate on walking each day.

Cleveland way coastal walk. All planned by Mickledore. A great experience packed by professional support. Wherever we stayed we had warm welcomes, comfortable rooms and great breakfasts. Out luggage was transported for us so we had a worry free holiday. All we had to do was concentrate on walking each day.

Rating for tour operator:

Helpful, efficient, quality.

Mickledore Travel responded to this review on 05 Jun 2018:

Thank you for leaving us your holiday comments. It is great that you enjoyed your stays in the accommodations we selected for you, and had such a lovely walk. We hope to arrange another walking adventure for you in the future.
Sue

St Cuthberts Way by Abbie, 31 May 2018
Holiday Rating:

We had a great experience with wonderful lodging and communication the whole time!

We walked St Cuthbert's Way, it was a GREAT hike and wonderful experience!

We walked St Cuthbert's Way, it was a GREAT hike and wonderful experience!

Rating for tour operator:

All of our communications were quickly and efficiently answered.

Mickledore Travel responded to this review on 01 Jun 2018:

Thank you for your feedback. It is great to hear that you enjoyed your walk. We would be happy to arrange your next walking adventure for you.
Sue

Hadrians Wall by Firefly, 29 May 2018
Holiday Rating:

Hadrian's Wall Walk

7 Nights accommodation and 6 days walking path. Different accommodation each night on the path with luggage transfers. Lucky to have no rain on thee path with glorious views. We both enjoyed ourselves. Accommodation picked by company were all excellent and welcoming. Luggage transfers worked very well. We had packed lunches every day which were adequate but overall were of good quality.

7 Nights accommodation and 6 days walking path. Different accommodation each night on the path with luggage transfers. Lucky to have no rain on thee path with glorious views. We both enjoyed ourselves. Accommodation picked by company were all excellent and welcoming. Luggage transfers worked very well. We had packed lunches every day which were adequate but overall were of good quality.

Rating for tour operator:

Everything was arranged perfectly from detailed directions to accommodations and parking and luggage transfers . Good directory of places to eat. Easy web site and pleasant response to telephone call. The accommodation picked were excellent and knew we were coming.

Mickledore Travel responded to this review on 05 Jun 2018:

It is lovely to hear your feedback on the walk and the arrangements that we made for your holiday. We do put a lot of effort into selecting the best accommodations on our routes and it is great that you enjoyed your stays. Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments.
Sue

Northumberland Coast Path by cheentzia, 29 May 2018
Holiday Rating:

Perfect holiday: accommodation, luggage transport, maps provided

I did the coastal path walking holiday along the Northumberland coast. The B&Bs were fantastic, all hosts were very friendly and made me feel at home. Luggage transport was really convenient and well organised, too. The maps, trip notes and the guide book I had got from the operator were very helpful too. I never had any issues finding my way (even if I left the official path and took a different route).

I did the coastal path walking holiday along the Northumberland coast. The B&Bs were fantastic, all hosts were very friendly and made me feel at home. Luggage transport was really convenient and well organised, too. The maps, trip notes and the guide book I had got from the operator were very helpful too. I never had any issues finding my way (even if I left the official path and took a different route).

Rating for tour operator:

I booked with Mickledore travel agency. They are very professional and everything was perfect. I can't find a single thing to criticise.

Mickledore Travel responded to this review on 01 Jun 2018:

Thank you for such lovely comments. We do put a lot of effort into selecting the best accommodations along the route for your stays. It is great to hear that you enjoyed your walk and were made to feel so welcome by your accommodation hosts.
Sue

Northumberland Coast Path by peterwilson, 28 May 2018
Holiday Rating:

A Walk Along The Cliff

We walked in four days from Alnmouth to Bamburgh, one of the finest sea side walks in England. Four days to go no great distance, but with many diversions and resting and loitering points on the way. The sun shone all the time, the sea glistened, the castles and the sands were perfect each in their own way, we both agreed the company was perfect, and everything went according to plan. Life was as good as it gets.

We walked in four days from Alnmouth to Bamburgh, one of the finest sea side walks in England. Four days to go no great distance, but with many diversions and resting and loitering points on the way. The sun shone all the time, the sea glistened, the castles and the sands were perfect each in their own way, we both agreed the company was perfect, and everything went according to plan. Life was as good as it gets.

Rating for tour operator:

Their planning was faultless, their standards exceeded even our own, and not a single thing went wrong.

Mickledore Travel responded to this review on 01 Jun 2018:

It is great to hear that you enjoyed your walk and that the arrangements we made helped you to take a more gently paced walking break along this fabulous stretch of coastline. Thank you for leaving us feedback for your holiday.
Sue

Herriot Way by Francophile, 25 May 2018
Holiday Rating:

Walking in the region made famous by "All Creatures Great and Small"

My son and recently contracted with Mickledore Walking Holidays to trek the Herriot's Way in Yorkshire, England. Our circular route began and terminated in the village of Aysgarth with overnight stays in Bainbridge, Hawes, Keld and Reeth. The trail was at times steep, challenging and also easy as it traverses the Yorkshire Dales and it's varied terrain. The weather was beautiful, the villages charming and picturesque and the arranged accommodat...

My son and recently contracted with Mickledore Walking Holidays to trek the Herriot's Way in Yorkshire, England. Our circular route began and terminated in the village of Aysgarth with overnight stays in Bainbridge, Hawes, Keld and Reeth. The trail was at times steep, challenging and also easy as it traverses the Yorkshire Dales and it's varied terrain. The weather was beautiful, the villages charming and picturesque and the arranged accommodations were excellent, in large part because the owners of the various B&Bs were so gracious, accommodating and went out of their way to make us feel welcome and comfortable.

Rating for tour operator:

Mickledore Travel, Keswick UK is an excellent booking company that I would highly recommend for any walking holiday. I have booked two walking trips with them (the South Downs Way and the Herriot Way) and their attention to every detail from providing excellent maps, eating recommendations, travel tips and links, enroute tourist information, medical and emergency facilities along the various routes and even the often hard to find public toilets is as thorough as any traveler could want. Their choice and booking of accommodations on each of the walks is exemplary. Each B&B was a delight and was obviously carefully chosen to assure a pleasant and restful overnight. If a question arises during one's walking holiday (as it did during our Herriot Way trip) Mickledore was immediately available to answer and clarify a query I had about part of the route. My experience with Mickledore has been excellent.

Mickledore Travel responded to this review on 01 Jun 2018:

Thank you for your kind comments. We are all happy that you had another great holiday. We do take a lot of care in selecting the best accommodations for our routes and it is great that you have enjoyed your stays with them. We hope to arrange another trip for you in the future.
Sue

Hadrians Wall by SarahBass, 23 May 2018
Holiday Rating:

Walking the Wall

We walked from Wallsend in Northumberland to Bowness-on-Solway in Cumbria. Our luggage was tranported for us by Micheldore. They also bokked all the B & Bs en route. From my first visit to their office in Keswick to reporting back on the holiday they were fantastic. No problems that were not of our own making, good B & Bs, delightful hosts, efficient transport and wondeful weather!

We walked from Wallsend in Northumberland to Bowness-on-Solway in Cumbria. Our luggage was tranported for us by Micheldore. They also bokked all the B & Bs en route. From my first visit to their office in Keswick to reporting back on the holiday they were fantastic. No problems that were not of our own making, good B & Bs, delightful hosts, efficient transport and wondeful weather!

Rating for tour operator:

See above

Mickledore Travel responded to this review on 01 Jun 2018:

Thank you for your comments. Great to hear that the arrangements we made helped you to have a lovely holiday. I would like to take credit for the good weather but that arrangement was out of our control.
Sue

South Downs Way by Sheffield walker, 22 May 2018
Holiday Rating:

Let someone else take the strain!

Just comoleted 9 day holiday walking the South Downs Way. Booked accommodation and onward transfer of baggage through Mickledore. Very pleased with the quality of bed and breakfast/pubs with rooms they chose for us and baggage transfer. It was great just concentrating on the walking and not worrying about carrying heavy rucksacks and what accommodation might be waiting for us.

Just comoleted 9 day holiday walking the South Downs Way. Booked accommodation and onward transfer of baggage through Mickledore. Very pleased with the quality of bed and breakfast/pubs with rooms they chose for us and baggage transfer. It was great just concentrating on the walking and not worrying about carrying heavy rucksacks and what accommodation might be waiting for us.

Rating for tour operator:

This is second time we have used Mickledore to book a walking holiday. Very pleased with the standard of accommodation chosen and the organisation of baggage transfers.

Mickledore Travel responded to this review on 01 Jun 2018:

Thank you for your feedback. It is great to hear that you have enjoyed another walk with us and we hope to welcome you back for your next adventure. Sue

Great Glen Way by friendly_man, 19 May 2018
Holiday Rating:

Mickledore Travel review

Mickledore was very courteous and attentive from my first email to the days following my holiday. The holiday was well organized, I only had to pay attention to enjoy the scenery. As they were alway quick to respond and I had many ways to contact them I felt sure that if something had gone wrong they would have helped me swiftly.

Mickledore was very courteous and attentive from my first email to the days following my holiday. The holiday was well organized, I only had to pay attention to enjoy the scenery. As they were alway quick to respond and I had many ways to contact them I felt sure that if something had gone wrong they would have helped me swiftly.

Mickledore Travel responded to this review on 01 Jun 2018:

Thank you for your comments. It is lovely to hear that you enjoyed your walk and that our organisation and support for your holiday enhanced your trip. We hope to welcome you back for another walking adventure in the future.
Sue