Mickledore Travel

Reviews of Mickledore Travel

Overall company rating
4 99%
Reviews submitted: 293
Reviews accepted: 293
Reviews rejected: 0
Excellent
281
Good
12
Average
0
Poor
0
Terrible
0

Brilliant organisation

By Laroc on 18 Jul 2017

Rating for this holiday Excellent
Find more about Coast to Coast Walk >

Mickledore Walking Coast to Coast. We planned to walk the first half and finish the second later this year or early next. Mickledore provided all the maps needed. There was full information on all the places we stayed and additional information on eateries. Additionally there was included a taxi company list in case of need. All the b&bs and small hotels we used were welcoming, with lovely en-suite facilites and very comfortable beds. The breakfasts were very tssty and offered at good times for a days walking.

Rating for tour operator Excellent

Mickledore are a joy to book with. All staff were polite and communicated well with us. The are timely with all the information. As said above; There was full information on all the places we stayed and additional information on eateries. Additionally there was included a taxi company list in case of need. All the b&bs and small hotels we used were welcoming, with lovely en-suite facilites and very comfortable beds. The breakfasts were very tssty and offered at good times for a days walking.

Northumberland Coast Walk with Mickledore

By hilde on 17 Jul 2017

Rating for this holiday Excellent
Find more about Northumberland Coast Path >

My husband and I walked the Northumberland Coast Walk with Mickledore begin June. Everything was well organised : the B&b's, the luggage transfer, the information pack,...

Rating for tour operator Excellent

mickledore is an excellent organiser of walking holidays.

Extremely well organised walking holiday through the Lake District

By Micky Mack on 17 Jul 2017

Rating for this holiday Excellent
Find more about Cumbria Way >

We walked the Cumbria Way in five days with six nights accommodation with Mickledore who we have used many times before. The booking was all handled very well and the accommodation we stayed in was good to excellent. There were plenty of choices for meals out along the route and on the one occasion there wasnt the company pre booked us into a restaurant in advance. The route was reasonably wellmarked but the company provided a detailed booklet and OS map of the walk which was through spectacular scenery. The walk was challenging in one or two places but overall anyone of reasonable fitness could complete it in 7 days. We would certainly recommend the walk to anyone considering a first visit to The Lakes

Rating for tour operator Excellent

We have used Mickledore for our walking holidays for over ten years and completed seven planned walks.Their organisation and attention to detail is excellent. They personally checkout each route and the accommodation they recommend and book. Their customer follow up surveys maintain a high standard throughout their packages.Their walks are graded at various levels and over a choice of days depending on experience and fitness levels.Information,maps and accommodation details are provided well in advance so they can be checked out but we have always found their choices to be good. They also listen and ACT on customer feedback, which is refreshing

We'd certainly recommend Mickledore to anyone considering a walking holiday throughout the UK

A Walk Along the Cotswold Way Made Easy

By Hillary on 16 Jul 2017

Rating for this holiday Excellent
Find more about Cotswold Way >

In June of 2017, four of us from the US walked the southern part of the Cotswold Way from Painswick to Bath using Micheldore Travel. We found them extremely easy to work with. They have an excellent website which give a good overview of each of the walks they service and a straighforward assessment of the difficulty of the hiking. The written materials they provide were also excellent and very helpful from the maps, guide to walking the Cotswolds as well as a complete list of restaurants and other establishments you might need. We found the accommodations generally quite acceptable and where they needed to make modifications due to the lack of ability, we felt that they "upgraded" our experience. We had difficulty with one inn keeper and Micheldore Travel handled the situation beautifully for us. My only suggestion is that you not give them the names of participants unless you are absolutely sure they are going. We had one person to drop out of our initial group early on and we would have had to forego that deposit if we hadn't found a replacement.

Rating for tour operator Excellent

See above

A great walking holiday

By The tamalous on 15 Jul 2017

Rating for this holiday Excellent
Find more about Dales Way >

A group of 6 of us have just walked the Dales Way on a holiday organised by Mickledore. We walked from Ilkley to Windermere over the course a week, through hay meadows full of early summer flowers in Upper Wharfedale and on to the edge of the Lake District, often staying in country inns with good food and a choice of real ales.

Rating for tour operator Excellent

Mickledore booked splendid accommodation for each night, arranged luggage transfers, and provided an excellent information pack. Their staff were friendly and helpful, and easy to contact via phone and email.

The best walking holiday yet

By Evergreen on 14 Jul 2017

Rating for this holiday Excellent
Find more about Northumberland Coast Path >

My wife and I have just enjoyed a week walking the Northumberland Coast Path where all the route planning and accommodation were excellent

Rating for tour operator Excellent

The holiday was found and booked for us at short notice with the minimum of fuss.
We received a quantity of verbal and written advice which meant the whole holiday went without a hitch

A wow round every corner!

By Beanie on 12 Jul 2017

Rating for this holiday Excellent
Find more about Great Glen Way >

We had a superb time walking the Great Glen Waywith Mickledore. Everything was organised for us so all we had to do was walk! Each b&b was lovely and we were well looked after and fed at each one. The walk itself had something for everyone with the usual, the low and the high routes. The views were simply stunning and the area round Loch Ness is certainly atmospheric it's hard to choose the best point - there certainly wasn't any bad points! Would thoroughly recommend both the route and Mickledore

Rating for tour operator Excellent

Mickledore are superb, everything is thought about and organised for you there's nothing left for you to do except enjoy the walking!

A wonderful experience

By Fudge on 10 Jul 2017

Rating for this holiday Excellent
Find more about Hadrian's Wall >

We walked the 'Coast to Coast' Hadrian's Wall over 9 days and loved every minute. Mickledore had made very careful arrangements to find us the best accommodation for our holiday. Our luggage was always collected efficiently and was always there on our arrival at the next guest house.

It was a seemless holiday from the arrangements for parking our car to collection at the end of the journey. Mickledore kept us informed of any minor changes and provided clear information about any diversions they were aware of. In particular the maps, guidebooks and detailed information about our hosts, how to get there and where we could eat in the evening was clear and straight forward. The personalised booklet with all information for us was especially valuable and detailed.

Rating for tour operator Excellent

Communications via email or telephone were prompt, efficient and friendly

As usual excellent service from Mickledore

By charley on 9 Jul 2017

Rating for this holiday Good

Beautiful scenery and varied walking route. We took the dogs with us for the first time and they were well recieved everywhere

Rating for tour operator Excellent

As usual very well organised walking route and accomodation

Blissful blister free me time

By Kito999 on 6 Jul 2017

Rating for this holiday Excellent
Find more about Cumbria Way >

A well organised a perfect 3 day trek based on the Cumbria Way.

5 out of 5 for the choice of B&B accommodation. The Sherpa service to transfer luggage was well organised, and the route notes for the daily walks well selected.

I was walking solo, so reassuring to know someone new where I should be, and there if I needed some support.

Rating for tour operator Excellent

Great organiser, tailored package for my requirements.