AITO: The Association of Independent Tour Operators
Mickledore Travel

Mickledore Travel Traveller Reviews

Reviews of Mickledore Travel

Overall Company Rating
99%
Excellent 447
Good 16
Average 0
Poor 0
Terrible 0
Reviews Submitted: 463
Reviews Accepted: 463
Reviews Rejected: 0
463 reviews
Sort by:
Hadrian's Wall by Joyful, 18 Sep 2018
Holiday Rating:

Wonderful and eye opening

Because Mickledore took such excellent care of me my only concern was to enjoy myself. I couldnt get lost as the maps, supportive text and information were so well laid out. Each day i saw nature in all its glory and mans addition to it. Hadrians wall is something everyone should do especially with a company such as Mickledore as they make you feel so secure and looked after.

Because Mickledore took such excellent care of me my only concern was to enjoy myself. I couldnt get lost as the maps, supportive text and information were so well laid out. Each day i saw nature in all its glory and mans addition to it. Hadrians wall is something everyone should do especially with a company such as Mickledore as they make you feel so secure and looked after.

Rating for tour operator:

I have been on many holidays that offer the same service as Mickledore. Well they need to take lessons from Mickledore. From start to finish I felt so looked after and secure. Nothing had veen left to chance. They were so polite when you rang up. They did everythibg they said would and more.

Mickledore Travel responded to this review on 18 Sep 2018:

Thank you for your kind comments. I am happy to hear that the arrangements we made for you, and the support and services of our team made your walk one to remember. We hope to welcome you back for another walk in the future.
Sue

Hadrians Wall by Dr. C D 18, 17 Sep 2018
Holiday Rating:

Hadrian Wall walk

As above. Great views, great weather, great accommodations.

As above. Great views, great weather, great accommodations.

Rating for tour operator:

All the information was useful. I enjoyed the self-guided holiday.

Mickledore Travel responded to this review on 18 Sep 2018:

Thank you for your comments. It is great that you enjoyed your walk and the information we provided for you.
Sue

Coast to Coast by First time coast to coast, 17 Sep 2018
Holiday Rating:

A well organised and very enjoyable holiday

A great coast to coast walk well organised. Good accommodation, breakfasts either good or excellent, overall food and drink were an unexpected highlight of the trip.

A great coast to coast walk well organised. Good accommodation, breakfasts either good or excellent, overall food and drink were an unexpected highlight of the trip.

Rating for tour operator:

Mickledore were well organised and responsive. I have only put good because I have not experienced other operators, they may well have been excellent.

Mickledore Travel responded to this review on 18 Sep 2018:

Thank you for leaving us your feedback. It is great that you enjoyed the accommodations we chose for you and the breakfasts provided by your hosts during your holiday. We would love to arrange another walk for you in the future.
Sue

South Downs Way by Beersy, 16 Sep 2018
Holiday Rating:

Walking the South Downs Way

To celebrate my retirement I booked a walking holiday. I live in Eastbourne and it had always been my intention to walk the whole of the South Downs Way starting in Winchester and finishing in Eastbourne. I wanted to walk at a fairly leisurely rate to enable me to take in the scenery and wildlife as well as visiting a few historic churches. Therefore I opted for the 9 days walking option.

To celebrate my retirement I booked a walking holiday. I live in Eastbourne and it had always been my intention to walk the whole of the South Downs Way starting in Winchester and finishing in Eastbourne. I wanted to walk at a fairly leisurely rate to enable me to take in the scenery and wildlife as well as visiting a few historic churches. Therefore I opted for the 9 days walking option.

Rating for tour operator:

From my initial e mail communication to the end of the walk everything worked like clockwork. They organised the accommodation, baggage transfer, packed lunches and transfer to the accommodation if it was a significant way off the trail. The accommodation was excellent and it was interesting how many of my hosts spoke very highly of Mickledore. In all cases they had sent someone from the company to view the property. A change of accommodation was required for one night and this was communicated to me straight away and a new itinerary was printed out. The maps and information booklets were first rate. I particularly liked their app which I downloaded to my phone. It meant I had all the details of my holiday including my itinerary at my fingertips.

Mickledore Travel responded to this review on 17 Sep 2018:

It is lovely to hear that you enjoyed your walk and fulfilled a long held ambition. Thank you for your kind comments about Mickledore and the accommodations that we chose for you.
Sue

Northumberland Coast Path by Anne P, 15 Sep 2018
Holiday Rating:

Northumberland Coastal Walk

Wonderful coastal walk, much to see on the way, lovely coastal villages and country pubs- and easily self-navigable.

Wonderful coastal walk, much to see on the way, lovely coastal villages and country pubs- and easily self-navigable.

Rating for tour operator:

Respond promptly to emails when booking, move luggage safely and reliably, find great accomodation along the route and provide more than enough instruction, maps and book to find your way .

Mickledore Travel responded to this review on 17 Sep 2018:

Thank you for your great feedback. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your walk and that the information we provided for you was helpful.
Sue

Mickledore Travel by Snapper, 13 Sep 2018
Holiday Rating:

Well organised

Walking in the Lakes

Walking in the Lakes

Rating for tour operator:

Great organiser, aligned with good clean and friendly hotels

Mickledore Travel responded to this review on 14 Sep 2018:

We take a lot of effort to choose the best accommodation and your feedback is important to us. Thank you for your comments.
Sue

Cotswold Way by Rhoone, 12 Sep 2018
Holiday Rating:

Chipping Camden to Painswick

Lovely walk. Distances (16 - 18km/day) were about right for us (in our 60s). Enjoyed the variety of scenery and pubs a.ong the way.

Lovely walk. Distances (16 - 18km/day) were about right for us (in our 60s). Enjoyed the variety of scenery and pubs a.ong the way.

Rating for tour operator:

This was our second walk with Mickledore and they did a great job again. Luggage transport was efficient, maps, etc. were clear. B&Bs were varied and ranged from decent to excellent.

Mickledore Travel responded to this review on 13 Sep 2018:

Thank you for your lovely feedback. We put a lot of effort into choosing the best accommodations for your walk and it is lovely that you enjoyed your stays with our hosts. We hope to welcome you back for another walk in the future.
Sue

Coast to Coast by DORO, 10 Sep 2018
Holiday Rating:

Coast to Coast July - August 2018

My father in law, a walking veteran of some 60 years, said this was the most beautiful walk of his lifetime. He was not lying.

My father in law, a walking veteran of some 60 years, said this was the most beautiful walk of his lifetime. He was not lying.

Rating for tour operator:

My second walk arranged by Mickledore and I couldn't be happier. Co-walkers experienced botched bookings and problems with hotels. I didn't have a single issue. The B&Bs were always acceptable-good standard, some were spectacular. I could concentrate on my walking and had no worries in the world.

Mickledore Travel responded to this review on 13 Sep 2018:

It is lovely to hear that this route had been recommended to you and that you enjoyed your walk and the arrangements that we made for you. Thank you for taking the time to leave such kind feedback.
Sue

Herriot Way by Embp, 8 Sep 2018
Holiday Rating:

Everything well organised

First time on a walking holiday so relied on good instructions which were excellent, accommodation better than expectations in most cases.

First time on a walking holiday so relied on good instructions which were excellent, accommodation better than expectations in most cases.

Rating for tour operator:

Everything as promised and kept us informed of even minor changes, although not needed felt they were available if necessary, also easy to contact with no hanging on in a queue or pressing number after number on the keypad.

Mickledore Travel responded to this review on 13 Sep 2018:

Thank you for your kind comments. It is lovely that you enjoyed your first long distance walking path and great to hear that the information we sent was useful for you. We hope to welcome you back for walk no. 2 soon.
Sue

Mickledore Travel by David R, 7 Sep 2018
Holiday Rating:

Fantastic attention to detail

This was our third holiday with Mickledore; this time walking the North Norfolk coast path. We were once again pleased by the attention to detail in planning our overnight stops, and the general information about the walk. Th booking went smoothly and we were kept informed.

This was our third holiday with Mickledore; this time walking the North Norfolk coast path. We were once again pleased by the attention to detail in planning our overnight stops, and the general information about the walk. Th booking went smoothly and we were kept informed.

Rating for tour operator:

Mickledore organise walking holidays, planning all aspects including the overnight B and Bs, transfer of luggage and the day's walks.

Mickledore Travel responded to this review on 13 Sep 2018:

It is great that you enjoyed your walk and the arrangements that we made for you. Thank you for leaving us your kind comments.