AITO: The Association of Independent Tour Operators
Mickledore Travel

Mickledore Travel Traveller Reviews

Reviews of Mickledore Travel

Overall Company Rating
99%
Excellent 575
Good 19
Average 0
Poor 0
Terrible 0
Reviews Submitted: 594
Reviews Accepted: 594
Reviews Rejected: 0
594 reviews
Sort by:
St Cuthberts Way by RayH, 12 Sep 2019
Holiday Rating:

Well organised self-guided walk on St Cuthbert's Way

Easy walking on St Cuthbert's Way frpm Melrose to Holy Island with guesthouses pre-booked each night and luggage transported separtely between locations

Easy walking on St Cuthbert's Way frpm Melrose to Holy Island with guesthouses pre-booked each night and luggage transported separtely between locations

Rating for tour operator:

Well organised and clear instructions and documentaion. Both guesthouses and transport worked like clockwork which I am sure is down to Mikcledore's efficient management

Mickledore Travel responded to this review on 12 Sep 2019:

Thanks for taking the time to leave your feedback. It is great to hear that you enjoyed your walk.
Sue

Hadrians Wall by Logo4, 11 Sep 2019
Holiday Rating:

Superb organisation by Mickeldore Travel

We have just come back from walking Hadrian's Wall, all organised by Mickledore Travel. The communication beforehand was excellent, and all our accommodation was lovely and immaculate. We met lots of other walkers along the way, many with other operators, and it was clear that they did not have the extensive information we had, nor the personalised itinerary nor the app. The app made it so simple to find our accommodation each night, and ...

We have just come back from walking Hadrian's Wall, all organised by Mickledore Travel. The communication beforehand was excellent, and all our accommodation was lovely and immaculate. We met lots of other walkers along the way, many with other operators, and it was clear that they did not have the extensive information we had, nor the personalised itinerary nor the app. The app made it so simple to find our accommodation each night, and all the phone numbers were there if we needed them.

Rating for tour operator:

This is our third walking holiday with Mickledore, and we have had superb service every time. The staff are friendly and very knowledgeable: they walk the trails themselves, so they can answer questions and discuss individual needs from their own experience. You receive a personalised itinerary in booklet form, as well as excellent information about local services along the way (cafés, food shops, restaurants, cash points, doctors' surgeries etc etc).

Reviewer's images:
Mickledore Travel responded to this review on 11 Sep 2019:

Thank you for your kind comments about our customer service, and the lovely picture that you have included with your feedback. It is great to hear that the information in your holiday pack was comprehensive and helped you to enjoy your walk. We do take comments from your holiday feedback into account when reviewing the information we provide each year.
Sue

Rob Roy Way by LS, 7 Sep 2019
Holiday Rating:

Wonderful walking holiday in Scotland

Self guided walking trip through lovely countryside with a variety of landscapes and historical areas for 7 days. The maps provided had a phone download which was very handy.

Self guided walking trip through lovely countryside with a variety of landscapes and historical areas for 7 days. The maps provided had a phone download which was very handy.

Rating for tour operator:

Mickledore provided luggage transport, booking and maps and guides. We also had some taxi sections to allow for accommodations on the route, and these were already set up by Mickledore and we had no problems or delays, luggage arrived promptly as well. The accommodations were all lovely, would highly recommend their booking. Excellent communication with Mickledore during whole process. Also really appreciated the app for organizing paperwork.

Mickledore Travel responded to this review on 10 Sep 2019:

It is great to hear that you enjoyed your walk and that you found the app helpful for your holiday documents. It's always lovely to hear that you liked your stays at the accommodations we selected for you.
Sue

Rob Roy Way by Sherri, 7 Sep 2019
Holiday Rating:

Fabulous!

We loved every minute of the walk we chose (Rob Roy Way). The whole experience was great (scenery, B&B hosts, even the weather was good). I can't wait for our next one.

We loved every minute of the walk we chose (Rob Roy Way). The whole experience was great (scenery, B&B hosts, even the weather was good). I can't wait for our next one.

Rating for tour operator:

Extremely professional.

Mickledore Travel responded to this review on 10 Sep 2019:

Thanks for your feedback. It is lovely to hear that you enjoyed your walk and that you had some good weather along the way. It does help with the views. We hope to welcome you back for more adventures soon.
Sue

Dales Way by Mike F, 6 Sep 2019
Holiday Rating:

Dales Way Aug/Sep 19

My friend Tom and myself walked the Dales Way and it was a most enjoyable experience , helped by the excellent accommodation and efficient baggage transfer provided by the Company.. At all the places we stayed, the breakfasts and packed lunches provided were both of good quality and a fair choice.

My friend Tom and myself walked the Dales Way and it was a most enjoyable experience , helped by the excellent accommodation and efficient baggage transfer provided by the Company.. At all the places we stayed, the breakfasts and packed lunches provided were both of good quality and a fair choice.

Rating for tour operator:

Mickledore Door Travel , an organisation that we have used twice and on both occasions provided an excellent service.

Mickledore Travel responded to this review on 10 Sep 2019:

Thanks for leaving us your lovely feedback. It is great that you enjoyed your walk. We do try to find the best accommodations along our routes and it is always a pleasure to hear that you liked our choices.
Sue

Herriot Way by JenniWren, 5 Sep 2019
Holiday Rating:

Well organised

The attention to detail is amazing from Mickledore from the first contact right through to the care as you do the walk. The accommodation is of a high standard and the information of the walk, with such things as nearest cafes, cash points and toilets. We have done a couple of walks and will definitely use them again

The attention to detail is amazing from Mickledore from the first contact right through to the care as you do the walk. The accommodation is of a high standard and the information of the walk, with such things as nearest cafes, cash points and toilets. We have done a couple of walks and will definitely use them again

Rating for tour operator:

See above. The holiday was excellent due to the organisation of the company

Mickledore Travel responded to this review on 06 Sep 2019:

Thanks for your great feedback. I am happy to hear that you had a great time on your holiday. We hope to welcome you back for more adventures in the future.
Sue

Hadrians Wall by Eric, 5 Sep 2019
Holiday Rating:

Hadrians Walk

Perfectly arranged accommodations by Mickledore. Absolutely no hiccups with transporting luggage, finding accommodations, lunch packs, travel info, route description etc. In short: everything where Mickledore was responsible this was arranged very well. The hotels and B&B's varied in quality, most of them were very good or even memorable (in a positive sense). We did the walk (a National Trail) from East to West in 6 days. The first day and ...

Perfectly arranged accommodations by Mickledore. Absolutely no hiccups with transporting luggage, finding accommodations, lunch packs, travel info, route description etc. In short: everything where Mickledore was responsible this was arranged very well. The hotels and B&B's varied in quality, most of them were very good or even memorable (in a positive sense). We did the walk (a National Trail) from East to West in 6 days. The first day and second day were 'so so'; on day on there was lots of litter in the trail (the locals seem not very proud of their unique trail); day 2 required a lot of (near) road walking. We didn't see too much from the wall. Day 3 and 4 were fantastic; just like the brochures tell you. Day 5 and (more so) day 6 were really nice walks in a nice area but less Hadrians wall. We know Mickledore offers just the middle section; it was our own choice do do the whole thing; we really enjoyed it. We would do it in the same direction again; that way the last part is nicer that the other way around.

Rating for tour operator:

This is our second Mickledore holiday and we couldn't be more pleased at how the holiday was arranged. We will definitely be back for more in 2020.

Mickledore Travel responded to this review on 06 Sep 2019:

Thanks for leaving us your feedback. It is great that you enjoyed your walk and the arrangements that we made for you. We will be very happy to welcome you back for another adventure next year.
Sue

Hadrians Wall by CR, 4 Sep 2019
Holiday Rating:

Hadrian's Wall Walking Tour

Walked the entire length of Hadrian's wall! Excellent accommodation, excellent food, stellar planning and support. Would highly recommend this experience.

Walked the entire length of Hadrian's wall! Excellent accommodation, excellent food, stellar planning and support. Would highly recommend this experience.

Rating for tour operator:

Mickledore did an amazing job planning our trip! It was easy to communicate with them despite being in the United States and having an eight hour time difference. Mickledore eliminated the stress of planning and provided us with an affordable and wonderful walking tour. Can't wait to book with them again!

Mickledore Travel responded to this review on 06 Sep 2019:

Thanks for your great feedback. It is lovely to hear that you enjoyed your walk and we will be very happy to arrange another adventure for you.
Sue

St Oswalds Way by Louisebswim, 2 Sep 2019
Holiday Rating:

Fantastic walking experience

Walked St Oswalds way in May 2019. Mickledore booked all our accommodation,provided maps and lots of useful information.

Walked St Oswalds way in May 2019. Mickledore booked all our accommodation,provided maps and lots of useful information.

Rating for tour operator:

Seamless booking. All information was good. Always on hand to answer queries. Accomodation they chose was fantastic. Would recommend.

Mickledore Travel responded to this review on 04 Sep 2019:

Thanks for your kind comments about our service and the arrangements we made for your holiday. It is great that you enjoyed your walk and your stays at the accommodations we selected for you.
Sue

Hadrians Wall by Eddieboy, 30 Aug 2019
Holiday Rating:

I felt that Mickledore was a valued customer of all the places we stayed

We walked the Hadrian' s wall path after many years of walking the SW Coast Path under our own steam but wanted to try an organised tour holiday with our baggage transferred and B&B's booked for us. Organising the trip was easy, we just provided the dates we wanted and the rest day, and they organised the rest. It was perfect. Our cases were always there when we arrived and the B&B's were great and couldn't have been more helpful. The rooms ...

We walked the Hadrian' s wall path after many years of walking the SW Coast Path under our own steam but wanted to try an organised tour holiday with our baggage transferred and B&B's booked for us. Organising the trip was easy, we just provided the dates we wanted and the rest day, and they organised the rest. It was perfect. Our cases were always there when we arrived and the B&B's were great and couldn't have been more helpful. The rooms were at least good and often great with separate sitting rooms and friendly helpful owners. The overwhelming feeling was that Mickledore was a good company that they all enjoyed working with and we got the benefit.of it.

Rating for tour operator:

I picked Mickledore purely from their website as they specialised in the holiday we were looking for and made the booking process really easy.

Mickledore Travel responded to this review on 04 Sep 2019:

It's great that you enjoyed your holiday experience with us and lovely to receive such great feedback about your walk. Thanks for taking the time to leave us your comments.
Sue