AITO: The Association of Independent Tour Operators
Mickledore Travel

Mickledore Travel Traveller Reviews

Reviews of Mickledore Travel

Overall Company Rating
99%
Excellent 534
Good 17
Average 0
Poor 0
Terrible 0
Reviews Submitted: 551
Reviews Accepted: 551
Reviews Rejected: 0
551 reviews
Sort by:
Hadrian's Wall by Lis, Angie and three beautiful dogs, 18 Jul 2019
Holiday Rating:

Worked like clockwork!

Every last detail was covered and the accommodation used was extremely high. We never worried about a thing over the whole of our eight days instead we could concentrate on what we came to do..walk Hadrian's wall

Every last detail was covered and the accommodation used was extremely high. We never worried about a thing over the whole of our eight days instead we could concentrate on what we came to do..walk Hadrian's wall

Rating for tour operator:

They were always at the end of the phone with cheerful professional help

Mickledore Travel responded to this review on 19 Jul 2019:

It's great to hear that you had a good time on your holiday and that the arrangements we made helped you to feel free to just enjoy your walk. We hope to arrange another walk for you in future. Thanks for giving us your feedback.
Sue

Hadrian's Wall by Paul, 18 Jul 2019
Holiday Rating:

Superb Coast to Coast fundraising Hike for Marie Curie

We fundraise regularly to support Marie Curie and thought we would do another hike this year. We wanted to hike coast to coast following the Hadrian's Wall route, but we needed places to stay and local information, and so we booked our holiday through Mickledore Walking Holidays; they booked our overnight stays, provided local information in advance for evening meals and planned packed lunches and luggage transfers.

We fundraise regularly to support Marie Curie and thought we would do another hike this year. We wanted to hike coast to coast following the Hadrian's Wall route, but we needed places to stay and local information, and so we booked our holiday through Mickledore Walking Holidays; they booked our overnight stays, provided local information in advance for evening meals and planned packed lunches and luggage transfers.

Rating for tour operator:

Mickledore were superb throughout our holiday, the information we received in advance was invaluable and allowed us to book where we would have our evening meals in advance of our holiday, everything was planned to perfection. Thank you so much Mickledore, we'll be back!!

Mickledore Travel responded to this review on 18 Jul 2019:

Thanks for such great feedback. It is lovely that you enjoyed your walk. We do try to include lots of useful information in your holiday pack to help you before and during your holiday so it is great you found it beneficial.
Sue

Cotswold Way by The happy rambler, 17 Jul 2019
Holiday Rating:

Absolutely fantastic

Everything was well planned and organized. We enjoyed the luxurious accomodation and friendly hosts.

Everything was well planned and organized. We enjoyed the luxurious accomodation and friendly hosts.

Rating for tour operator:

I appreciate the friendly and forthcoming attitude when on the phone to Mickledore and the quick response to emails. Shortly after having submitted my views, I received a thank you email, which makes it worth the effort to have filled in the evaluation form.

Mickledore Travel responded to this review on 18 Jul 2019:

Thank you for taking the time you give us your feedback. It's great that you enjoyed your holiday and lovely to hear your comments about the work of our team.
We hope to welcome you back for another holiday again soon.
Sue

Cotswold Way by Ritch, 16 Jul 2019
Holiday Rating:

Ritch

Well organised and excellent service

Well organised and excellent service

Rating for tour operator:

Very efficient and reliable

Reviewer's images:
Mickledore Travel responded to this review on 17 Jul 2019:

Thanks for your feedback and photograph. It's lovely to hear that you enjoyed your walk.
Sue

Speyside Way by velvet, 16 Jul 2019
Holiday Rating:

Hiking holidays through the whisky area of Scotland

We hiked the Speyside Way for 7 days and more than 115 miles. It was awesome! Not only did we had luck with the weather, we met only nice and helping people. The landscape was very picturesque and we visited a lot of whisky distilleries.

We hiked the Speyside Way for 7 days and more than 115 miles. It was awesome! Not only did we had luck with the weather, we met only nice and helping people. The landscape was very picturesque and we visited a lot of whisky distilleries.

Rating for tour operator:

Mickledore Travel is uncomplicated and very reliable. Very commendable.

Mickledore Travel responded to this review on 17 Jul 2019:

Thank you for your lovely feedback. I'm happy to hear you enjoyed the route and the arrangements we made for you. It's great that you got to sample a few drams of whisky along the way.
Sue

West Highland Way by RJ, 15 Jul 2019
Holiday Rating:

nothing but fabulous

Every accomodation was great, serving fine to superb food. Service by Mickledore was great from the start.

Every accomodation was great, serving fine to superb food. Service by Mickledore was great from the start.

Rating for tour operator:

Fast reaction on info request, clear info and booking process, great materials and service during holiday.

Mickledore Travel responded to this review on 16 Jul 2019:

Thank you for leaving us such great feedback. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your holiday and would be very pleased to arrange another UK walking adventure in the future.
Sue

Hadrian's Wall by Leanne, 12 Jul 2019
Holiday Rating:

Hadrian’s Wall walking holiday

Fantastic walking vacation! 5 says of beautiful views, interesting history, gracious hosts and accommodations, with the support of a service that carried our bags and were available for questions . We totally loved it!

Fantastic walking vacation! 5 says of beautiful views, interesting history, gracious hosts and accommodations, with the support of a service that carried our bags and were available for questions . We totally loved it!

Rating for tour operator:

Mickeldore was responsive and organized. Well respected by our hosts, and placed us in excellent accommodations. They always responded helpfully - before and during our trip. We highly recommend them.

Mickledore Travel responded to this review on 12 Jul 2019:

Thank you for your kind comments. It is great that you enjoyed your walk and the accommodations that we booked for you. We hope to welcome you back for another walk in future.
Sue

Mickledore Travel by AGBC2C, 11 Jul 2019
Holiday Rating:

Another excellent holiday from Mickledore

Our holiday was the self guided walking "Tour of the Lake District". Mickledore arranged the holiday, all the accommodation and our luggage transfers between accommodation. The level of accommodation was excellent, varying between B&Bs and Inn/hotels. Our luggage was always at the night's accommodation before we arrived, so ready to change into new clothes. Off hand, I think this is the 5th holiday of this type we have taken through Mickledore, ...

Our holiday was the self guided walking "Tour of the Lake District". Mickledore arranged the holiday, all the accommodation and our luggage transfers between accommodation. The level of accommodation was excellent, varying between B&Bs and Inn/hotels. Our luggage was always at the night's accommodation before we arrived, so ready to change into new clothes. Off hand, I think this is the 5th holiday of this type we have taken through Mickledore, and all have been to a high standard - we will certainly book through them again.

Rating for tour operator:

While it is possible to book walking holidays yourself, and we have done that in the past, Mickledore take all the uncertainty out of organising the holiday. They arrange all the overnight accommodation (which is usually of a great standard), to meet the distances you are happy to walk. They also arrange transport for baggage which means there are no heavy rucksacks to carry leaving you free to enjoy the scenery along the way

Mickledore Travel responded to this review on 11 Jul 2019:

It is great to hear that you had a fantastic time on your walk and enjoyed the accommodations we chose for you. Your comments about our services are very kind and much appreciated by our team. Thanks for leaving us your feedback.
Sue

Great Glen Way by Rubygold, 7 Jul 2019
Holiday Rating:

Seven Days Walking on the Great Glen Way ... the perfect holiday

The opportunity to walk from Fort William to Inverness along the Great Glen has been a treasure of an experience. The journey takes you along the tow paths of the Caledonian Canal, the forest paths, woodlands, moorlands and highlands surrounding the lakes it connects. And, what a treat to be welcomed at the end of the day with the warm hospitality of the lovely B&B's chosen for us.. After a good night sleep and an excellent breakfast, ...

The opportunity to walk from Fort William to Inverness along the Great Glen has been a treasure of an experience. The journey takes you along the tow paths of the Caledonian Canal, the forest paths, woodlands, moorlands and highlands surrounding the lakes it connects. And, what a treat to be welcomed at the end of the day with the warm hospitality of the lovely B&B's chosen for us.. After a good night sleep and an excellent breakfast, we were off again to our next destination knowing our bags would be waiting! We enjoyed meeting people on our journey, but appreciated the opportunity as a couple to be with each in such a beautiful natural environment.

Rating for tour operator:

As we found in our travels, there are so many organizations offering walking/ hiking holidays. We feel we are fortunate to have found Mickeldore. Great Glen Way is our second holiday with them , the first being an equally fabulous Hadrian's Wall Walk! The quality of their holiday package (maps, books, pre-trip information) all help prepare us for the adventure. And, make no mistake about it, covering 80 miles in 7 days on foot is an adventure. Mickeldore gave us the tools on our walking journey to knowledgeably enjoy the thrill of discovering Scotland in a very personal way. It can be difficult, especially coming from the US, to establish good lines of communication before and during a walking holiday adventure .... especially a self guided one... to make it a safe experience. It is especially important to get a good “match”. Mickeldore has done that twice for us. We are already thinking about our next walk!

Mickledore Travel responded to this review on 11 Jul 2019:

Thanks for your kind comments and great feedback. It is lovely to hear that you had another great experience and we will be very happy to arrange your next UK walking adventure for you.
Sue

Mickledore Travel by Walking Watts, 3 Jul 2019
Holiday Rating:

Great countryside, good B&Bs, excellent outdoor exercise

Walking the South West Coast line

Walking the South West Coast line

Rating for tour operator:

Mickledore - organised all of the B&Bs, transfers, maps and books

Mickledore Travel responded to this review on 11 Jul 2019:

It is great to hear that you enjoyed your walk on the coast path. Thank you for your comments.
Sue