AITO: The Association of Independent Tour Operators
Mickledore Travel

Mickledore Travel Traveller Reviews

Reviews of Mickledore Travel

Overall Company Rating
99%
Excellent 472
Good 17
Average 0
Poor 0
Terrible 0
Reviews Submitted: 489
Reviews Accepted: 489
Reviews Rejected: 0
489 reviews
Sort by:
Great Glen Way by Waterloo Boy, 15 Oct 2018
Holiday Rating:

First time hiker

I hiked the Great Glen Way from Fort William to Inverness from September 16 - 23. I took a rest day in Drumnadrochit. I appreciated the combination of history and natural beauty that the trail offered.

I hiked the Great Glen Way from Fort William to Inverness from September 16 - 23. I took a rest day in Drumnadrochit. I appreciated the combination of history and natural beauty that the trail offered.

Rating for tour operator:

I worked with Mickeldore Travel to plan and organize the trip. I couldn’t have been more satisfied with their work. This was my first long hike in the UK and as a 74 year old solo hiker I was concerned that I select a trail that was appropriate for me. I received excellent advice. They were timely in their responses. In addition, I appreciated the flexibility I had in organizing the trip to fit my time and skill level. The accommodations were first rate and the baggage transfers went off without a hitch. I recommend Mickeldore without reservation.

Mickledore Travel responded to this review on 17 Oct 2018:

Thank you for your great feedback.It is lovely to hear that the arrangements we made and the information we provided helped you to have an enjoyable adventure on your first long distance walking path.
Sue

Mickledore Travel by Nancy R, 12 Oct 2018
Holiday Rating:

Westmorland & Tour of the Lakes walking holiday

We combined a portion of the Westmorland Way and the entire Tour of the Lake District and Mickledore made that happen without a hitch.

We combined a portion of the Westmorland Way and the entire Tour of the Lake District and Mickledore made that happen without a hitch.

Rating for tour operator:

It was fantastic! Mickledore chose all of the best accommodations and took care of us all the way through (via luggage transfers, lunches and other details).

Mickledore Travel responded to this review on 17 Oct 2018:

Thank you for leaving us your kind feedback. It is great that you enjoyed your latest walk with Mickledore. We hope to welcome you back for more.
Sue

South Downs Way by smurf, 11 Oct 2018
Holiday Rating:

Fantastic walking holiday

Warm hosts, good food, perfect weather

Warm hosts, good food, perfect weather

Rating for tour operator:

The B & Bs are excellent. They are responsive to my enquiries.

Mickledore Travel responded to this review on 11 Oct 2018:

Thank you for leaving us your comments. We put a lot of effort into choosing accommodations along our routes and it is lovely to hear that you enjoyed your stays in the places we selected for you.
Sue

Hadrians Wall by Ageing walker, 8 Oct 2018
Holiday Rating:

Effective and efficient service

A walking holiday along Hadrian's Wall, lasting 6 days.

A walking holiday along Hadrian's Wall, lasting 6 days.

Rating for tour operator:

Mickeldore took a good deal of care in arranging our holiday for 13 people, with some arriving and leaving during the period. There were, no doubt, plenty of organisational headaches, but these weren't obvious to us. Interestingly, the people providing services to Mickeldore were very supportive of the company.

Mickledore Travel responded to this review on 09 Oct 2018:

Thank you for your great feedback. It is wonderful that you enjoyed your walk and that the arrangements we made for your group worked so well for you.
Sue

St Cuthberts Way by Patricia, 8 Oct 2018
Holiday Rating:

Tranquil walk on thecWay Of St Cuthbert, Scotland

I walked from Melrose, Scotland to the Holy Island of Lindisfarne in England. 125 km Self guided. Organized through Mickeldore Travel.

I walked from Melrose, Scotland to the Holy Island of Lindisfarne in England. 125 km Self guided. Organized through Mickeldore Travel.

Rating for tour operator:

Mickeldore Travel organized my walk. Everything was beautifully organized. Exceptional communication, maps, guide books and places to stay at night.

Mickledore Travel responded to this review on 09 Oct 2018:

Thank you for your kind comments. I am delighted that you enjoyed your holiday and the accommodations we selected for you. It is also good to hear that the information provided in your holiday pack was helpful for your walk.
Sue

Pembrokeshire Coast Path by EL, 8 Oct 2018
Holiday Rating:

Walking the south Pembrokeshire Coastal Path

Stunning scenery, manageable walking days, lovely bed and breakfast accommodation - all aspects of the holiday organised by Mickledore who could be contacted should a problem arise.

Stunning scenery, manageable walking days, lovely bed and breakfast accommodation - all aspects of the holiday organised by Mickledore who could be contacted should a problem arise.

Rating for tour operator:

We have had several walking holidays organised by Mickledore. They organise bed and breakfast, luggage transport, maps and guidebook, packed lunches and suggestions for evening meal establishments - or whichever of these you want. Additionally they are contactable should any problem arise during your holiday. We have found them to be a helpful, friendly and reasonably priced organisation offering a wide range of walking holidays in Britain, and we are planning more holidays with them.

Mickledore Travel responded to this review on 09 Oct 2018:

Thank you for your lovely feedback. It is great that you enjoyed your walk and the coastal scenery of the route. We will be delighted to welcome you back for further holidays in the UK.
Sue

Coast to Coast by Tonym, 8 Oct 2018
Holiday Rating:

Well organised walking holiday

First half of the Wainwright coast to coast walk across the Lake District - 95 miles in six days

First half of the Wainwright coast to coast walk across the Lake District - 95 miles in six days

Rating for tour operator:

Mickledore were well organised from the moment I made the booking, advising on the best walking dates and booking accommodation accordingly. They took note of dietary requirements and stayed in touch by email. A few weeks before the holiday they provided a detailed information pack on the walk - maps, what to see and where to eat - and the accommodation. Accommodation was largely very good value. Great holiday.

Mickledore Travel responded to this review on 09 Oct 2018:

It is great to hear that you enjoyed your walk and the arrangements made by our team. Thank you for taking the time to leave us your comments.
Sue

Cotswold Way by Bab, 5 Oct 2018
Holiday Rating:

Rerwarding experience

The Cotswold Walk goes through beautiful countryside , is demanding, but the daily distances can be covered. The accomodation was excellent , the villages really lovely and on top of it, the weather was superb.

The Cotswold Walk goes through beautiful countryside , is demanding, but the daily distances can be covered. The accomodation was excellent , the villages really lovely and on top of it, the weather was superb.

Rating for tour operator:

The tour operator was reliable and competent

Mickledore Travel responded to this review on 09 Oct 2018:

Thank you for your feedback. It is great that you enjoyed your walk and the accommodations that we selected for you. We would be delighted to arrange your next UK walking adventure for you.
Sue

Northumberland Coast Path by Steve the Walker, 1 Oct 2018
Holiday Rating:

Northumberland Coast Trip

5 days, hiking 66 miles along the north coast of England. Wonderful time spent exploring this overlooked gem of an area.

5 days, hiking 66 miles along the north coast of England. Wonderful time spent exploring this overlooked gem of an area.

Rating for tour operator:

Very thorough operation, handling of the logistics was flawless. We had 2 minor issues come up that were handled by the staff quickly and efficiently (one even outside normal business hours). Well organized packet of information.

Mickledore Travel responded to this review on 03 Oct 2018:

I am pleased you enjoyed your walk along this beautiful coastline. Thank you for taking the time to leave us your kind comments about the information we provided for your holiday and the support of our team.
Sue

Great Glen Way by Nana03, 27 Sep 2018
Holiday Rating:

Hiked Great Glen Way in Scotland from Fort William to Inverness

We walked the Great Glen Way in Scotland from Fort William to Inverness. We took high roads and low roads, walked through forests and meadows and along canals. Following the entire length of Loch Ness, with beauty surrounding us everywhere. We had lots of sun, lots of clouds, lots of light rain. And we had really terrific food and hospitality.

We walked the Great Glen Way in Scotland from Fort William to Inverness. We took high roads and low roads, walked through forests and meadows and along canals. Following the entire length of Loch Ness, with beauty surrounding us everywhere. We had lots of sun, lots of clouds, lots of light rain. And we had really terrific food and hospitality.

Rating for tour operator:

We are very happy to have used Mickeldore Travel. We live in the US and were able to make arrangements primarily by email. The staff was very prompt, courteous, and helpful.

Mickledore Travel responded to this review on 03 Oct 2018:

Thank you for your lovely comments about our team and your holiday. It is great that you enjoyed the scenery, and the variety of weather during your walk.
Sue