AITO: The Association of Independent Tour Operators
Mickledore Travel

Mickledore Travel Traveller Reviews

Reviews of Mickledore Travel

Overall Company Rating
99%
Excellent 480
Good 17
Average 0
Poor 0
Terrible 0
Reviews Submitted: 497
Reviews Accepted: 497
Reviews Rejected: 0
497 reviews
Sort by:
Hadrian's Wall by Robyn , 11 Nov 2018
Holiday Rating:

Excellent

Well organised, high quality accommodation,

Well organised, high quality accommodation,

Rating for tour operator:

Easy to liaise with when organising the holiday, reasonably priced

Mickledore Travel responded to this review on 14 Nov 2018:

Thanks for leaving us your feedback. We do put a lot of effort into finding good accommodations for our holidays and I am pleased that you enjoyed the ones we selected for you.
Sue

Hadrians Wall by Michael L., 6 Nov 2018
Holiday Rating:

Amazing Hadrian's Wall Hike!

This is a hike my daughter and I have been planning for years, so we were expecting to have good time. Thanks to Mickledore, we were well prepared for every aspect of this hike, to include the periods of inclement weather we met. With their help, this was definitely one of the best holidays I have ever experienced, and no pictures or writing can replace actually undertaking this trek. Simply, fantastic!

This is a hike my daughter and I have been planning for years, so we were expecting to have good time. Thanks to Mickledore, we were well prepared for every aspect of this hike, to include the periods of inclement weather we met. With their help, this was definitely one of the best holidays I have ever experienced, and no pictures or writing can replace actually undertaking this trek. Simply, fantastic!

Rating for tour operator:

I are very pleased with the level of preparation, coordination and support Mickledore provided us for our hike of Hadrian's Wall. Both my daughter and I tend to be independent travelers and do not generally use tour operators, so I was apprehensive, not knowing how to choose a good one for this hike. I did spend a good amount of time online looking at various tour operators and reviews, and my email interaction with Mickledore solidified my decision to use their service. Every aspect of our hike, from pre-trip information, accommodations, meals, information available while on the trail, exceeded our expectations. We both now realize we were very free to focus on enjoying each day, not having to worry about logistics (my daughter is an avid hiker, I, not as much). I'm at a loss to image how this trip and hike could have gone any better, even with the few days of challenging weather. We definitely will hike with Mickledore again!

Mickledore Travel responded to this review on 14 Nov 2018:

Such lovely and complete feedback, thank you. I am so pleased you enjoyed the experience of walking Hadrian's Wall. It is great that the arrangements we made gave you freedom in your adventure. We look forward to welcoming you back for the next one!
Sue

Mickledore Travel by Roger, 5 Nov 2018
Holiday Rating:

Magnificent planning-rescue

Mickledore's Cornwall coastal hike.

Mickledore's Cornwall coastal hike.

Rating for tour operator:

Mickledore "ran the extra five miles" to set up, at the last moment, a pretty-well perfect program for us, against all the odds. (Cannot send you even one picture. Apparently too small a file allowance, even for one. Sorry.)

Mickledore Travel responded to this review on 14 Nov 2018:

Thank you for such kind comments. Sorry you have been unable to upload a picture but it is great to hear that you enjoyed your walk.
Sue

West Highland Way by Bonnie and Court, 5 Nov 2018
Holiday Rating:

Hiking the West Highland Way

The West Highland Way was one of the most beautiful places I have traveled to. Between the scenery, the people, the food, and the scotch, this trip was one for the books.

The West Highland Way was one of the most beautiful places I have traveled to. Between the scenery, the people, the food, and the scotch, this trip was one for the books.

Rating for tour operator:

Mikeldore was amazing! The BnBs they booked for us were tidy and cozy. Our luggage arrived every night ahead of us at the next location, and the transfers were timely and friendly. I would highly recommend this company to my friends and family.

Mickledore Travel responded to this review on 14 Nov 2018:

Great to hear that you enjoyed your walk on the West Highland Way. Thank you for the lovely feedback for your holiday and for the work of our team, it is much appreciated.
Sue

Mickledore Travel by Sabrina, 1 Nov 2018
Holiday Rating:

An amazing experience

We walked the Arran coastal route last June and had a magnificient time exploring this beautiful island. Every day we experienced different views, different animals and different paths to follow. The diversity of it all made this trip worth our while. Climbing boulders, walking through the forests, passing the most beautiful waterfalls and small springs. Encountering a blindworm, a few deer on a golf course, porpoises on the way back and a whole ...

We walked the Arran coastal route last June and had a magnificient time exploring this beautiful island. Every day we experienced different views, different animals and different paths to follow. The diversity of it all made this trip worth our while. Climbing boulders, walking through the forests, passing the most beautiful waterfalls and small springs. Encountering a blindworm, a few deer on a golf course, porpoises on the way back and a whole range of birds which are to numerous to mention. On top of it all was the generosity of the people we encountered. That really made our experience extra rewarding.

Rating for tour operator:

They gave us such excellent directions and arranged everything perfectly so that we could really enjoy our holiday care-free. We didn’t have to worry about a thing. The arrangements they made for us were of excellent standard. The people were kind, the rooms clean and the breakfasts in perfect order. I’ve already booked my next holiday and think I will continue to do so from now on.

Mickledore Travel responded to this review on 14 Nov 2018:

Lovely comments about your walk, wildlife, people and accommodations. Thank you for such great feedback about your experience and for booking your next adventure with Mickledore.
Sue

Pembrokeshire Coast Path by Manfred, 24 Oct 2018
Holiday Rating:

North Pembrokeshire Coast Path

7 walking days from St Davids to St Dogmaels with bed and breakfast, packed lunches and daily luggage carriage (and taxis where necessary) all arranged by Mickledore, who also provided a detailed itinerary, maps guides and a host of other useful pieces of information to cover all eventualities. I was blessed by good weather in the main and the route was absolutely stunning with plenty of wildlife etc to enhance the experience.

7 walking days from St Davids to St Dogmaels with bed and breakfast, packed lunches and daily luggage carriage (and taxis where necessary) all arranged by Mickledore, who also provided a detailed itinerary, maps guides and a host of other useful pieces of information to cover all eventualities. I was blessed by good weather in the main and the route was absolutely stunning with plenty of wildlife etc to enhance the experience.

Rating for tour operator:

I approached Mickledore to arrange the walk at quite short notice and they were extremely helpful, friendly and professional in sorting everything out for me with the minimum of fuss, including a secure parking arrangement for the duration of the walk. The standard of accommodation was really good and the breakfasts were, without exception, delicious. Everything ran like clockwork leaving me free to concentrate on enjoying the walking etc without having to worry about any of the day to day practicalities. Very impressed!

Mickledore Travel responded to this review on 14 Nov 2018:

Thank you for taking the time to leave us such great feedback. It is lovely that our arrangements helped you to enjoy a stress free walk. We hope to welcome you back for your next adventure soon.
Sue

Cotswold Way by Catherine, 24 Oct 2018
Holiday Rating:

Great new experience

5 days trail in the Cotswolds

5 days trail in the Cotswolds

Rating for tour operator:

Very helpful and trustful

Mickledore Travel responded to this review on 14 Nov 2018:

It is great that you enjoyed your adventure on the Cotswold Way. Thank you for leaving us your feedback. It is lovely to hear that you found our team helpful.
Sue

Cleveland Way by Fitz, 23 Oct 2018
Holiday Rating:

Fantastic walking holiday

We hiked the Cleveland Way for 9 days. Took in some amazing scenery and little villages that were idyllic. Thoroughly enjoyable.

We hiked the Cleveland Way for 9 days. Took in some amazing scenery and little villages that were idyllic. Thoroughly enjoyable.

Rating for tour operator:

Mickledore arranged all the accommodation and luggage transfers. Their choice of accommodation was wonderful. They provided maps and a guidebook as well as other detailed information on each village and amenities. Their app was useful as it contained all that information in one handy location.

Mickledore Travel responded to this review on 14 Nov 2018:

Thank you for your lovely feedback. It is great that you enjoyed walking the Cleveland Way and your stays at the accommodations we selected for you. We would be pleased to arrange your next walking adventure for you.
Sue

Great Glen Way by Waterloo Boy, 15 Oct 2018
Holiday Rating:

First time hiker

I hiked the Great Glen Way from Fort William to Inverness from September 16 - 23. I took a rest day in Drumnadrochit. I appreciated the combination of history and natural beauty that the trail offered.

I hiked the Great Glen Way from Fort William to Inverness from September 16 - 23. I took a rest day in Drumnadrochit. I appreciated the combination of history and natural beauty that the trail offered.

Rating for tour operator:

I worked with Mickeldore Travel to plan and organize the trip. I couldn’t have been more satisfied with their work. This was my first long hike in the UK and as a 74 year old solo hiker I was concerned that I select a trail that was appropriate for me. I received excellent advice. They were timely in their responses. In addition, I appreciated the flexibility I had in organizing the trip to fit my time and skill level. The accommodations were first rate and the baggage transfers went off without a hitch. I recommend Mickeldore without reservation.

Mickledore Travel responded to this review on 17 Oct 2018:

Thank you for your great feedback.It is lovely to hear that the arrangements we made and the information we provided helped you to have an enjoyable adventure on your first long distance walking path.
Sue

Mickledore Travel by Nancy R, 12 Oct 2018
Holiday Rating:

Westmorland & Tour of the Lakes walking holiday

We combined a portion of the Westmorland Way and the entire Tour of the Lake District and Mickledore made that happen without a hitch.

We combined a portion of the Westmorland Way and the entire Tour of the Lake District and Mickledore made that happen without a hitch.

Rating for tour operator:

It was fantastic! Mickledore chose all of the best accommodations and took care of us all the way through (via luggage transfers, lunches and other details).

Mickledore Travel responded to this review on 17 Oct 2018:

Thank you for leaving us your kind feedback. It is great that you enjoyed your latest walk with Mickledore. We hope to welcome you back for more.
Sue