AITO: The Association of Independent Tour Operators
Mickledore Travel

Mickledore Travel Traveller Reviews

Reviews of Mickledore Travel

Overall Company Rating
99%
Excellent 629
Good 19
Average 0
Poor 0
Terrible 0
Reviews Submitted: 648
Reviews Accepted: 648
Reviews Rejected: 0
648 reviews
Sort by:
South Downs Way by Happy trekker, 14 Nov 2020
Holiday Rating:

Self guided walking holiday with luggage transfer along the South Downs Way

We started at Winchester and walked east following the South Downs Way. We spent 4 days walking approx 12 miles a day, finishing at Amberley which is the halfway point. Mickledore had booked our bed & breakfast accommodation each day and arranged luggage transfer between them so we only had to carry a daypack. Packed lunches were provided by our hosts. The walk was relatively easy, we were given excellent maps and a guidebook, the scenery was ...

We started at Winchester and walked east following the South Downs Way. We spent 4 days walking approx 12 miles a day, finishing at Amberley which is the halfway point. Mickledore had booked our bed & breakfast accommodation each day and arranged luggage transfer between them so we only had to carry a daypack. Packed lunches were provided by our hosts. The walk was relatively easy, we were given excellent maps and a guidebook, the scenery was stunning and it was a very enjoyable holiday.

Rating for tour operator:

Mickledore were very professional and easy to deal with by phone or online. Despite relatively short notice and the covid pandemic, they arranged high standard accommodation with taxi transfers from the route if they were not within walking distance. They gave advice about places to eat out at night and provided very good map and guidebook. The organisation was excellent, all ran like clockwork.

Mickledore Travel responded to this review on 16 Nov 2020:

Thanks for taking the time to leave us your feedback. It is lovely to hear that you enjoyed your walk and your stays at the accommodations we chose for you. We hope to welcome you back for further adventures soon.
Sue

Coast to Coast by Rambler, 28 Oct 2020
Holiday Rating:

Lovely Coast to Coast walk

We walked for a week from St Bees to Kirkby Stephen which is the first part of the CtC walk.

We walked for a week from St Bees to Kirkby Stephen which is the first part of the CtC walk.

Rating for tour operator:

Mickledore was a most efficient operator who organised our accommodation, transfer of luggage and ourselves well.

Mickledore Travel responded to this review on 29 Oct 2020:

It is lovely to hear that you enjoyed your walking holiday. Thanks for leaving us your feedback. We would be very happy to arrange another trip for you in future.
Sue

Coast to Coast by ScillyHelen, 28 Oct 2020
Holiday Rating:

Fantastic experience, well-organised trip with superb accommodation - one of our best holidays ever

Having had a big trip to South Africa cancelled, we were really keen to have an activity holiday in this country and the Coast to Coast walk was something we had always planned to do. When we saw that Mickledore offered a Coast to Coast holiday we jumped at the opportunity, particularly as accommodation on this long distance walk normally gets booked up very quickly. It turned out to be a wonderful trip with great walking, beautiful scenery ...

Having had a big trip to South Africa cancelled, we were really keen to have an activity holiday in this country and the Coast to Coast walk was something we had always planned to do. When we saw that Mickledore offered a Coast to Coast holiday we jumped at the opportunity, particularly as accommodation on this long distance walk normally gets booked up very quickly. It turned out to be a wonderful trip with great walking, beautiful scenery and very well run. We can’t wait to book the next one !

Rating for tour operator:

Mickledore are a partner company to KE travel who we had our original holiday booked with. They were very efficient, quick to respond to any queries and provided with lots of well- researched information about the trip. We were extremely impressed with their service.

Mickledore Travel responded to this review on 29 Oct 2020:

Thanks for your great feedback. It is lovely to hear how much you enjoyed your walk. Your kind comments about the work of our team are much appreciated.
Sue

Mickledore Travel by Roggill, 26 Oct 2020
Holiday Rating:

Excellent Holiday

Walking holiday around Isle of Wight. Well organised with good B&Bs, directions and maps

Walking holiday around Isle of Wight. Well organised with good B&Bs, directions and maps

Rating for tour operator:

Great service

Mickledore Travel responded to this review on 26 Oct 2020:

Thanks for your feedback. It is great that you enjoyed your stays at the accommodations we chose for you and that the information in your holiday pack was helpful.
Sue

Mickledore Travel by Mrs Sea Otter, 20 Oct 2020
Holiday Rating:

a) St Cuthberts Way and b)Northumbrian coast path

We chose to combine 2 walking holidays the first ending at Holy Island and the 2nd starting at Berwick on Tweed (just a short transfer between the 2). The first followed the river Tweed for a lot of it, edges of moorland, stunning views, meet very other people. The 2nd had a mixture of slightly inland (because of the physical geography and coast path by wide, sandy quite wild coast and passing several of the Northumbrian castles. We choose to ...

We chose to combine 2 walking holidays the first ending at Holy Island and the 2nd starting at Berwick on Tweed (just a short transfer between the 2). The first followed the river Tweed for a lot of it, edges of moorland, stunning views, meet very other people. The 2nd had a mixture of slightly inland (because of the physical geography and coast path by wide, sandy quite wild coast and passing several of the Northumbrian castles. We choose to do both walks over 4 days each so quite a lot of miles each day 16 often, butt here is scope to do both over more days Mickledore booked our overnight accommodation and organised our main luggage transfer. Several of the b&bs were exceptional, covid precautions taken seriously everywhere. We chose not to have the b&b make a sandwich lunch (although it's an option) and liked begin able to have a range of different things for lunch.

Rating for tour operator:

This is the 2nd time we have used Mickledore. Very quick to respond to queries, excellent comprehensive travel pack, guide books,OS maps, detailed info about essential phone numbers in each town/village, possible lunch stops to buy things. We were doing the Northumbrian coast in the opposite direction from how it is usually done and Mickledore were very flexible when we realised that we would need to do this. When at end of holiday we gave feedback about each of the b&bs we had stayed in and the taxi transfers there was detailed responses. We have felt that Mickledore really do want us to have a good time and that we are treated as individuals not just another customer

Mickledore Travel responded to this review on 22 Oct 2020:

Thanks for your great feedback. It is important that you enjoy your holiday and we are very happy to hear that the arrangements we made and information provided have helped you to do this.
Sue

Mickledore Travel by maramto, 18 Oct 2020
Holiday Rating:

EXCELLENT HIKING ADVENTURE

We embarked on the first few stages of the SWCP from Minehead to Westward Ho! An incredible weeks' hiking with the most spectacular and dramatic scenery. The whole experience was wonderful and we certainly wish to return to do more stages and would not hesitate to book through Mickledore. It is certainly addictive.

We embarked on the first few stages of the SWCP from Minehead to Westward Ho! An incredible weeks' hiking with the most spectacular and dramatic scenery. The whole experience was wonderful and we certainly wish to return to do more stages and would not hesitate to book through Mickledore. It is certainly addictive.

Rating for tour operator:

Mickledore took care of organising all our accommodation and luggage transfers for our recent 7 day hiking adventure on the first few stages of the South West Coast Path. This enabled us to enjoy our hiking, without the worry of where to stay, etc. From our first contact, the M staff were brilliant, providing us with a small booklet with all the information we needed whilst away, map etc. We would most definitiely look to book with them in the future. We certainly wish to continue to hike sections of this amazing path.

Mickledore Travel responded to this review on 19 Oct 2020:

Thank you for your kind comments. It is lovely to hear that you had such a great time walking on the South West Coast Path. When you are planning your next section we would be very happy to arrange the trip for you.
Sue

St Cuthberts Way by Lesley. B, 14 Oct 2020
Holiday Rating:

St cuthberts way

I probably would never have thought of doing this if it had not been for the travel restrictions imposed by covid but I'm so glad I did. Did it solo/self guided and loved it. The information pack sent by mickledore was very concise and covered every conceivable need and eventuality ( fortunately mostly not needed) making me feel safe at all times ( important for a female travelling alone) and the accommodation delightful. I would not hesitate ...

I probably would never have thought of doing this if it had not been for the travel restrictions imposed by covid but I'm so glad I did. Did it solo/self guided and loved it. The information pack sent by mickledore was very concise and covered every conceivable need and eventuality ( fortunately mostly not needed) making me feel safe at all times ( important for a female travelling alone) and the accommodation delightful. I would not hesitate to recommend this holiday and tour operator to anyone else considering the same

Rating for tour operator:

Briiliant support and information pack. Accommodation lovely and baggage transport seemless. All I had to do was walk. What's not to love!!

Mickledore Travel responded to this review on 19 Oct 2020:

Thanks for your lovely feedback. It is great to hear that you have enjoyed your new adventure and we hope to welcome you back for more in future.
Sue

Mickledore Travel by Jilla, 12 Oct 2020
Holiday Rating:

Well organised, trouble free, enjoyable break.

Walking the Fife Coastal Path, all arrangements went as planned.

Walking the Fife Coastal Path, all arrangements went as planned.

Rating for tour operator:

Excellent communication, everything we needed in terms of information, could not ask for better.

Mickledore Travel responded to this review on 12 Oct 2020:

It is fantastic to hear that you enjoyed your holiday. Thanks for leaving us feedback for your trip.
Sue

St Cuthberts Way by Three musketeers , 11 Oct 2020
Holiday Rating:

Wraparound StCuthbert’s Way

A smashing walking holiday in the Scottish Borders and Northumberland. Tailored to our preferences for length of day walk, excellent B&Bs and small inns and hotels, luggage reliably transported for us, and with all routes, maps and tips supplied. All Covid secure. Just the break we needed.

A smashing walking holiday in the Scottish Borders and Northumberland. Tailored to our preferences for length of day walk, excellent B&Bs and small inns and hotels, luggage reliably transported for us, and with all routes, maps and tips supplied. All Covid secure. Just the break we needed.

Rating for tour operator:

Mickledore could not have been more helpful and provided all the information we needed. Also, we had some unusual dietary requirements, and all our hosts were prepared for this.

Mickledore Travel responded to this review on 12 Oct 2020:

Thanks for your kind comments. It is lovely to hear that you had a fabulous holiday with the arrangements we had made for you. We would be very happy to arrange another walk for you in the future.
Sue

Hadrians Wall by Vita& Brian, 10 Oct 2020
Holiday Rating:

Outstanding

We walked Hadrian’s Way in September, not only we had 6days of great walking weather, it was organised for us by Mickledore Travel! It was top service! We had such a lovely B&B booked each night! It was Great! More than we wished for!

We walked Hadrian’s Way in September, not only we had 6days of great walking weather, it was organised for us by Mickledore Travel! It was top service! We had such a lovely B&B booked each night! It was Great! More than we wished for!

Rating for tour operator:

Super easy communication! Very friendly & helpful team. We didn’t need to worry about a thing!

Mickledore Travel responded to this review on 12 Oct 2020:

It is great to hear that you enjoyed your holiday and had excellent customer service from our team. Thanks for taking the time to send us your feedback.
Sue