AITO: The Association of Independent Tour Operators
Mickledore Travel

Mickledore Travel Traveller Reviews

Reviews of Mickledore Travel

Overall Company Rating
99%
Excellent 697
Good 22
Average 0
Poor 0
Terrible 0
Reviews Submitted: 719
Reviews Accepted: 719
Reviews Rejected: 0
719 reviews
Sort by:
Great Glen Way by Veteran adventurer , 17 Oct 2021
Holiday Rating:

exceeded expectation

A long but gentle walk through outstanding scenery and peace

A long but gentle walk through outstanding scenery and peace

Rating for tour operator:

Well organized, informative, reliable

Mickledore Travel responded to this review on 01 Nov 2021:

It is lovely to hear that your holiday experience exceeded your expectation. Thanks for leaving your feedback. We hope to welcome you back for another adventure soon.
Sue

Great Glen Way by Skyesdad, 16 Oct 2021
Holiday Rating:

Awesome scenery

We walked the Great Glen Way in September apart from the awesome scenery the accommodations and the hosts were awesome too 😀

We walked the Great Glen Way in September apart from the awesome scenery the accommodations and the hosts were awesome too 😀

Rating for tour operator:

Mickledore are great very friendly and helpful staff always willing to go the extra mile

Mickledore Travel responded to this review on 01 Nov 2021:

I am delighted to hear that you had an awesome time on your walk. We work hard to select the best accommodations and it is great that you enjoyed your stays along the trail.
Thanks for your feedback.
Sue

Coast to Coast by Ian, 15 Oct 2021
Holiday Rating:

Brilliant walk, fantastic support from Mickledore

Coast to coast walk, with accommodation, lunches and luggage transfer provided by Mickledore

Coast to coast walk, with accommodation, lunches and luggage transfer provided by Mickledore

Rating for tour operator:

The best in their market. Great, personal, flexible service.

Mickledore Travel responded to this review on 01 Nov 2021:

Thank you for your fabulous feedback. We like to make every holiday the best it can be and it is lovely to hear your comments.
Sue

Pembrokeshire Coast Path by Chris S, 15 Oct 2021
Holiday Rating:

Fabulous walk along the North Pembrokeshire coast path

There were 4 of us (women in our 60's). We started at St Davids and finished in St Dogmaels near Cardigan, walking an average of about 12 miles per day. All the accommodation and luggage transfers were handled by Mickledore. The holiday was 6 nights and 5 days of walking.

There were 4 of us (women in our 60's). We started at St Davids and finished in St Dogmaels near Cardigan, walking an average of about 12 miles per day. All the accommodation and luggage transfers were handled by Mickledore. The holiday was 6 nights and 5 days of walking.

Rating for tour operator:

Mickledore had a good selection of the sort of holiday we were looking for. Their website is clear and easy to navigate. They kept me well informed throughout the booking process without over-communicating. Any queries before and during the trip were dealt with quickly and efficiently. They were always courteous and friendly. They chose really good accommodation for us, and arranged taxi transfers where necessary. There were a few minor glitches which are bound to happen, and weren't Mickledore's fault, just adds to the holiday!

Mickledore Travel responded to this review on 01 Nov 2021:

It is great that you enjoyed your walk and that you found our customer service to be excellent. Thanks for taking the time to leave your feedback.
Sue

Pembrokeshire Coast Path by JulesW , 11 Oct 2021
Holiday Rating:

Absolutely amazing holiday

The Pembrokeshire coast path is absolutely stunning. Gorgeous beaches, cliff paths, stunning views, lovely little harbours. Highly recommend Pembrokeshire and walking the coast path

The Pembrokeshire coast path is absolutely stunning. Gorgeous beaches, cliff paths, stunning views, lovely little harbours. Highly recommend Pembrokeshire and walking the coast path

Rating for tour operator:

Mickledore were excellent. They booked great accommodation, all the taxi transfers were excellent with really helpful drivers. Luggage was transferred with no issues. They provided the book with the route and map along with comprehensive information on Banks, shops, cafes, pubs and restaurants.

Mickledore Travel responded to this review on 01 Nov 2021:

Thanks for your great feedback. I am delighted that you enjoyed your holiday along the beautiful Pembrokeshire Coast Path. It is good to hear that the information we provided was useful for your trip.
Sue

Westmorland Way by Jood, 9 Oct 2021
Holiday Rating:

Walking the Westmorland Way with Mickledore, a great experience.

This was a self-guided walk from Appleby to Arnside, 98 miles in total, across the historic county of Westmorland, with 4 days spent walking in the Lake District National Park. I chose the longest option of 9 days walking to take it at a more leisurely pace. I knew from previous experience (this was my 7th walk with Mickledore) that everything would be taken care of - maps, accommodation, details of places to eat, where to get cash, taxi transfers...

This was a self-guided walk from Appleby to Arnside, 98 miles in total, across the historic county of Westmorland, with 4 days spent walking in the Lake District National Park. I chose the longest option of 9 days walking to take it at a more leisurely pace. I knew from previous experience (this was my 7th walk with Mickledore) that everything would be taken care of - maps, accommodation, details of places to eat, where to get cash, taxi transfers..... I wouldn't want to organise all that on my own.

Rating for tour operator:

I first booked this walk two years ago and finally made it to the start in Appleby at the third attempt. Mickledore dealt with all the disruption of Covid restrictions with great patience, booking and rebooking each of my 10 night stops every time my plans were disrupted. They are also on hand during the holiday, ready to come to the rescue in case of late arrival, or to solve unforeseen problems. I've already booked my Mickledore walk number 8 for next year, I think that says it all.

Mickledore Travel responded to this review on 01 Nov 2021:

Thank you for your kind words and great feedback. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed another walk with us and thanks for continuing your adventures with Mickledore.
Sue

Dales Way by Yorks Rambler, 2 Oct 2021
Holiday Rating:

The Dalesway-a wonderful and unstressed walk

Tackled the Dalesway from Ilkley to Windermere in early September 2021. Path makes its way through Wharfedale, traverses into Ribblesdale and passes the Howgills into the Lakes. A stunning scenic way, walking is relatively easy following river valleys with few ascents and well waymarked. Highlights everyday passing historical sites such as Bolton Abbey, well known landmarks such as the Yorkshire three peaks and lovely towns and villages including ...

Tackled the Dalesway from Ilkley to Windermere in early September 2021. Path makes its way through Wharfedale, traverses into Ribblesdale and passes the Howgills into the Lakes. A stunning scenic way, walking is relatively easy following river valleys with few ascents and well waymarked. Highlights everyday passing historical sites such as Bolton Abbey, well known landmarks such as the Yorkshire three peaks and lovely towns and villages including Dent and Sedbergh.

Rating for tour operator:

Mickledore made the first class arrangements for our walk over 8 nights. We were staying at well appointed accommodation with friendly and helpful staff. Lovely meals were taken at the accommodation or were booked by us at nearby places suggested by MIckledore. Luggage transfers operated without a hitch. The guidebook and map provided made the day easy allowing us to enjoy the fantastic scenery.

Mickledore Travel responded to this review on 01 Nov 2021:

Thank you for your great feedback. It is lovely to hear that you enjoyed your walk and had an unstressed adventure.
Sue

Coast to Coast by Pedro, 29 Sep 2021
Holiday Rating:

St Bees to Kirkby Stephen - a six day walk through the Lakes

Our party of two completed the first part of the Coast to Coast route over six days in September. The route information and the standard of accommodation booked by Mickledore were excellent. The daily mileage was easily manageable and the inclusion of various alternative routes was well thought out.

Our party of two completed the first part of the Coast to Coast route over six days in September. The route information and the standard of accommodation booked by Mickledore were excellent. The daily mileage was easily manageable and the inclusion of various alternative routes was well thought out.

Rating for tour operator:

Mickledore offered a personal service and did their utmost to meet our requirements. The standard of accommodation they booked was very good and the information provided was comprehensive and was delivered on a timely basis.

Mickledore Travel responded to this review on 01 Oct 2021:

It is lovely to hear that you enjoyed your walk. Thanks for your great feedback. We would love to welcome you back for the second half of your coast to coast adventure.
Sue

West Highland Way by Jules , 24 Sep 2021
Holiday Rating:

Couldn’t fault it

First time we’ve done a walking holiday. Easy to book , quick response to emails etc. Everything went like clockwork. Loved the amount of info we received, the map guidebook etc. Would definitely recommend .

First time we’ve done a walking holiday. Easy to book , quick response to emails etc. Everything went like clockwork. Loved the amount of info we received, the map guidebook etc. Would definitely recommend .

Rating for tour operator:

Great. Friendly helpful prompt service.

Mickledore Travel responded to this review on 01 Oct 2021:

It is great to hear that you enjoyed your first walking holiday. The West Highland Way is a lovely route to follow. We hope to welcome you back for another adventure soon. Thank you for your feedback.
Sue

Cleveland Way by Nigel H, 23 Sep 2021
Holiday Rating:

Went exactly as planned

Mickledore tailored our Cleveland way walking holiday to our requirements. Everything went exactly to plan.

Mickledore tailored our Cleveland way walking holiday to our requirements. Everything went exactly to plan.

Rating for tour operator:

Mickledore sent us a very comprehensive pack, with all the information we could possibly want, in any circumstance. We also had positive unsolicited feedback on them from several of the hosts in our B&Bs, and had there been any issues, I’m confident Mickledore would have sorted them out.

Mickledore Travel responded to this review on 01 Oct 2021:

Thank you for your great feedback. I am delighted you enjoyed your holiday and found the information that we sent to be helpful. We would love to welcome you back for your next walking adventure.
Sue