AITO: The Association of Independent Tour Operators
Mickledore Travel

Mickledore Travel Traveller Reviews

Reviews of Mickledore Travel

Overall Company Rating
99%
Excellent 606
Good 19
Average 0
Poor 0
Terrible 0
Reviews Submitted: 625
Reviews Accepted: 625
Reviews Rejected: 0
625 reviews
Sort by:
West Highland Way by tiredlegs, 15 Oct 2019
Holiday Rating:

Wonderful West Highland Way

Having to cancel a holiday abroad at the last minute due to personal reasons, we opted to attempt the West Highland Way, albeit somewhat late in the year. Overall the experience was superb, despite the weathers best attempts to subdue our enjoyment. There was nothing that could have been organised better or in a more suitable way. We would not hesitate to complete similar types of adventure.

Having to cancel a holiday abroad at the last minute due to personal reasons, we opted to attempt the West Highland Way, albeit somewhat late in the year. Overall the experience was superb, despite the weathers best attempts to subdue our enjoyment. There was nothing that could have been organised better or in a more suitable way. We would not hesitate to complete similar types of adventure.

Rating for tour operator:

From the outset, the "Mickledore" team did everything to accommodate our requirements and preferences, nothing was too much trouble and every question was dealt with in a professional and timely manner. We will most definitely recommend and use in the future.

Mickledore Travel responded to this review on 21 Oct 2019:

It is great that you enjoyed your walk despite the weather. Thank you for leaving us such great feedback about the arrangements our team made for you. We hope to welcome you back for more adventures soon.
Sue

Mickledore Travel by Albert, 14 Oct 2019
Holiday Rating:

South West Coast Path Adventure powered by Mickledore

Last summer we spent 14 days on the South West Coast Path. Mickledore was our travelorganisation and they did a wonderful job (again!). Great B&B's and pubs/hotels where we received a very welcoming reception. The luggage transfer was outstanding. Always on the right spot on the right time. So all we had to do was walk.......It was fantastic and Cornwall is lovely!

Last summer we spent 14 days on the South West Coast Path. Mickledore was our travelorganisation and they did a wonderful job (again!). Great B&B's and pubs/hotels where we received a very welcoming reception. The luggage transfer was outstanding. Always on the right spot on the right time. So all we had to do was walk.......It was fantastic and Cornwall is lovely!

Rating for tour operator:

Mickledore organized the holiday we wished for. Distances were good, locations to stay were excellent and luggage transfer was great. So satisfaction guaranteed.

Mickledore Travel responded to this review on 21 Oct 2019:

Thanks for your great feedback. The Cornish coast is lovely and I am glad you enjoyed your walk. We hope to arrange more adventures for you soon.
Sue

Cotswold Way by DW, 10 Oct 2019
Holiday Rating:

Great walking

We continued our walking holidays in the UK by completing the West Highland Way and the Cottswald Way. The walking was fabulous and we met many people on both walks which made the journey memorable.

We continued our walking holidays in the UK by completing the West Highland Way and the Cottswald Way. The walking was fabulous and we met many people on both walks which made the journey memorable.

Rating for tour operator:

Mickledore travel organised all our accommodation and luggage transfers for us. They were fantastic to deal with, always responding to our emails promptly. All we had to do was organise our arrival from Australia and begin walking.

Mickledore Travel responded to this review on 12 Oct 2019:

It is great to hear that you enjoyed your walks. Thank you for your kind comments.
Sue

South Downs Way by Champ, 10 Oct 2019
Holiday Rating:

Eight days when everything was organised for us and all we had to do was walk and talk

This was the fourth walking holiday we have had with this company and again they performed at the highest level.

This was the fourth walking holiday we have had with this company and again they performed at the highest level.

Rating for tour operator:

The most efficient and friendly tour company we have experienced.

Mickledore Travel responded to this review on 12 Oct 2019:

Thank you for your lovely feedback. It is great that you enjoyed your walk. We hope to welcome you back for more adventures in the future.
Sue

Pembrokeshire Coast Path by bookworm, 5 Oct 2019
Holiday Rating:

A unique holiday experience walking the Pembrokeshire Coast Path with Mickledore

We walked along the clifftops following the winding coastline of Pembrokeshire National Park, overlooking offshore stacks and their nesting seabirds and many seals and their puppies

We walked along the clifftops following the winding coastline of Pembrokeshire National Park, overlooking offshore stacks and their nesting seabirds and many seals and their puppies

Rating for tour operator:

All our questions were answered in a very friendly and pleasinf manner.

Mickledore Travel responded to this review on 12 Oct 2019:

Thank you for your great feedback. It is lovely to hear that you enjoyed your walk and the fabulous scenery on the coast path.
Sue

Hadrian's Wall by Susz, 4 Oct 2019
Holiday Rating:

Fantastic Hadrians Wall Walk

A fabulous week walking Hadrian’s Wall from Bowness on Solway to Newcastle. Mickeldore were really helpful and gave excellent advice in planning our holiday.

A fabulous week walking Hadrian’s Wall from Bowness on Solway to Newcastle. Mickeldore were really helpful and gave excellent advice in planning our holiday.

Rating for tour operator:

Professional, well informed and very helpful. They booked all our accommodation, arranged smooth transportation of our luggage each day and gave excellent guidance. They also provided really good maps and info on local services for each day.

Mickledore Travel responded to this review on 12 Oct 2019:

It is great to hear that you enjoyed your walk and found the information we provided to be helpful. Thanks for leaving us your feedback.
Sue

Northumberland Coast Path by Mrs Albring, 3 Oct 2019
Holiday Rating:

Made our wishes come true

We wanted a walking holiday with a difference so we mixed and matched what was possible. The booking was done last minute and we did not doubt that Mickledore Travel found a way. We walked the Northumbrian Coast Path from start and ended on the magical place on the Holy island, Lindisfarne This is not our first time with Mickledore so we knew the accomodation was perfect, nothing to worry about and all hotels along the route was payed so ...

We wanted a walking holiday with a difference so we mixed and matched what was possible. The booking was done last minute and we did not doubt that Mickledore Travel found a way. We walked the Northumbrian Coast Path from start and ended on the magical place on the Holy island, Lindisfarne This is not our first time with Mickledore so we knew the accomodation was perfect, nothing to worry about and all hotels along the route was payed so just left when we were finished and ready for our next adventure.

Rating for tour operator:

The company that picked up our luggage did their bit. Outstanding and all maps, guides, extra info was included in that package. We had to pack our own suitcase and the rest was done by Mickledore If you are looking for a company that does everything else than get you to the starting point then try out Mickledore. They are a bit more than a travel agent they become your best friend 😁

Mickledore Travel responded to this review on 12 Oct 2019:

It is great that you enjoyed your walk and your visit to Holy Island. Thank you for such kind comments about our team. We hope to welcome you back for more walks soon.
Sue

Speyside Way by Ladybird & Ruddy Darter, 3 Oct 2019
Holiday Rating:

A joyful experience of Scotland

A six day walking holiday along the Speyside Way, with Mickeldore having arranged for our luggage to be transferred to our next accommodation every day. We were fortunate with the September weather. Every day the views were spectacular. The people we met along the way and at the accommodation were friendly and helpful. We returned home refreshed and invigorated.

A six day walking holiday along the Speyside Way, with Mickeldore having arranged for our luggage to be transferred to our next accommodation every day. We were fortunate with the September weather. Every day the views were spectacular. The people we met along the way and at the accommodation were friendly and helpful. We returned home refreshed and invigorated.

Rating for tour operator:

This is the second time we have used Mickeldore for a walking holiday and have had good experiences on both occasions. From the initial booking to the completion of our holiday Mickeldore made the process straightforward. When researching the holiday initially we found the Mickeldore website detailed, informative and easy to negotiate. Mickeldore were always easy to contact with any queries we raised, which were responded to efficiently and politely. We asked for some amendments to the standard package and these were effected without hassle. The maps, guides and other documentation provided by Mickeldore enabled us to negotiate the trail with ease and enjoyment. The various places of accommodation along the trail were of a good standard.

Mickledore Travel responded to this review on 12 Oct 2019:

Thanks for taking the time to leave your feedback. It was lovely to read how much you enjoyed your walk. We hope to welcome you back for more adventures in future.
Sue

Coast to Coast by Him, 1 Oct 2019
Holiday Rating:

Clockwork

It just worked like clockwork. Everything happened as it should and the accommodation was good. I would not hesitate to book with them again.

It just worked like clockwork. Everything happened as it should and the accommodation was good. I would not hesitate to book with them again.

Rating for tour operator:

Mickledore are easy to deal with and trustworthy.

Mickledore Travel responded to this review on 02 Oct 2019:

Thanks for leaving us your feedback. It is great to hear that you enjoyed your holiday. We would love to arrange another walking adventure for you in the future.
Sue

South Downs Way by Terry W., 28 Sep 2019
Holiday Rating:

South Downs Way

A group of 10 of us from the US booked the South Downs Way walk. We are seasoned travelers from around the country with age range of 55-72. From planning to the final day of the walk everything went perfectly. The responses and communications from Michledore were always prompt and thorough. Once we arrived everything went as planned: B&Bs were very nice, maps and directions kept us from ever going off coarse. We have all had extensive travel ...

A group of 10 of us from the US booked the South Downs Way walk. We are seasoned travelers from around the country with age range of 55-72. From planning to the final day of the walk everything went perfectly. The responses and communications from Michledore were always prompt and thorough. Once we arrived everything went as planned: B&Bs were very nice, maps and directions kept us from ever going off coarse. We have all had extensive travel experience from guided tours to self directed trips and this trip was a top 10 for all if us!!

Rating for tour operator:

We were self guided once we arrived but Michledore did all the planning and communicating to set up the trip They were available to us for any issues during the trip but we never needed anything.

Mickledore Travel responded to this review on 02 Oct 2019:

It is great to hear that you all had a fabulous time on your walk. Thanks for your great feedback and kind comments.
Sue