AITO: The Association of Independent Tour Operators
Mickledore Travel

Mickledore Travel Traveller Reviews

Reviews of Mickledore Travel

Overall Company Rating
99%
Excellent 575
Good 19
Average 0
Poor 0
Terrible 0
Reviews Submitted: 594
Reviews Accepted: 594
Reviews Rejected: 0
594 reviews
Sort by:
Hadrians Wall by NancyV, 30 Aug 2019
Holiday Rating:

Terrific

We did the short hike, as we had a toddler with us—could not be more pleased; had a blast! Accommodations and hosts were warm and welcoming, food was incredible and everything worked like clockwork!

We did the short hike, as we had a toddler with us—could not be more pleased; had a blast! Accommodations and hosts were warm and welcoming, food was incredible and everything worked like clockwork!

Rating for tour operator:

We were provided with all materials well in advance, and all questions answered quickly and with a generous depth of information to make informed decisions. We felt very well-prepared for our adventure.

Mickledore Travel responded to this review on 04 Sep 2019:

It's great that you all had a good time walking the Hadrian's Wall path, and that you found the information in your holiday pack helpful. Thanks for your great feedback.
Sue

South Downs Way by Rob, 30 Aug 2019
Holiday Rating:

Very responsive and clear guidance about walk and accommodation

Great walking holiday on Sough Downs way, 7 days with luggage transfer between a variety of B&B’s along route

Great walking holiday on Sough Downs way, 7 days with luggage transfer between a variety of B&B’s along route

Rating for tour operator:

Very friendly and knowledgeable. Have a hot line you can call to answer questions who know their product well

Mickledore Travel responded to this review on 30 Aug 2019:

It's lovely to hear that you enjoyed your walk. Thanks for your kind comments about our customer service. We do try to make your holiday experience the best it can be.
Sue

Hadrians Wall by Phil, 29 Aug 2019
Holiday Rating:

Hadrian’s wall walk

A self guided walking tour from Corbridge to Carlisle, with arranged accommodation, bag transfers and packed lunches.

A self guided walking tour from Corbridge to Carlisle, with arranged accommodation, bag transfers and packed lunches.

Rating for tour operator:

Mickledore did a great job organising this last minute trip. They were very responsive and helpful.

Mickledore Travel responded to this review on 30 Aug 2019:

Thanks for your kind comments about the work of our team. It is great that you enjoyed your walk which we were happy to arrange for you. We would be pleased to arrange another walking adventure for you in the future.
Sue

Hadrians Wall by Margy, 29 Aug 2019
Holiday Rating:

A wonderful multigenerational family holiday!

A holiday with our son and two grandchildren,aged 12 and 14. We were not sure what to expect,but we all love history and the Hadrian's Wall walk organized by Mickledore did not disappoint! The scenery,landscape and history were amazing. The Bed and Breakfasts were first class,as was the organization and the luggage transfers. Our grandchildren want to repeat more adventures such as this,with us(which is a real compliment!!)

A holiday with our son and two grandchildren,aged 12 and 14. We were not sure what to expect,but we all love history and the Hadrian's Wall walk organized by Mickledore did not disappoint! The scenery,landscape and history were amazing. The Bed and Breakfasts were first class,as was the organization and the luggage transfers. Our grandchildren want to repeat more adventures such as this,with us(which is a real compliment!!)

Rating for tour operator:

Mickledore lived up,to all our expectations!

Reviewer's images:
Mickledore Travel responded to this review on 29 Aug 2019:

Thanks for your kind comments. It is great that you all got so much out of your holiday. We would be very happy to welcome you back for more walks in the UK in future.
Sue

Hadrian's Wall by greenbean, 28 Aug 2019
Holiday Rating:

Best of Hadrian's Wall walking holiday

Walking the route of Hadrian's Wall with B&Bs booked for us and luggage moved to the next B&B. Three days walking, four different B&B nights

Walking the route of Hadrian's Wall with B&Bs booked for us and luggage moved to the next B&B. Three days walking, four different B&B nights

Rating for tour operator:

Very good communication by email and helpful on the phone. Good maps and information sent to us. Good B&Bs booked expect one not quite as good as the others. Would have been good if they had suggested a rest day and a visit to Vindalanda (a spectacular Roman site and museum, the best in Europe). We did actually visit and catch the bus instead of a substantial part of one day's walking.

Mickledore Travel responded to this review on 29 Aug 2019:

Thanks for leaving us your feedback. I am pleased that you enjoyed your walk. We do include rest day suggestions on our website and allowing extra time for a visit to Vindolanda is a popular choice although sometimes people prefer not to break their walk. It is great that you were able to include Vindolanda in your holiday.
Sue

Rob Roy Way by Ms e k 19, 28 Aug 2019
Holiday Rating:

Implemented like clockwork

I am an independent traveller who walked the Rob Roy Way in Scotland. It was the first time I did something like this. Though slightly apprehensive to begin with I loved every minute of it and will certainly be continuing to undertake a walk every summer.

I am an independent traveller who walked the Rob Roy Way in Scotland. It was the first time I did something like this. Though slightly apprehensive to begin with I loved every minute of it and will certainly be continuing to undertake a walk every summer.

Rating for tour operator:

I was very happy with Mickledore. Everything worked well. Their choice of B&Bs were enjoyable. They gave me everything I could have needed.

Mickledore Travel responded to this review on 29 Aug 2019:

Thanks for your great feedback. It is lovely to hear that you enjoyed the route and the accommodations that we chose for you. We would love to arrange another walk for you next time you are in the UK.
Sue

Hadrians Wall by Yo and Leigh Visit, 27 Aug 2019
Holiday Rating:

A wonderful walk on Hadrian’s Wall

We spent 10 days (8 walking days and 2 rest days) walking Hadrian’s Wall. We travel a lot and the walk along Hadrian’s Wall has to be at the top of our favorite Holidays. The scenery along the way was both varied and beautiful. From the sweeping vistas of the Steel Rigg area to the expansive sea views near Bowness-on-Solway it was all inspiring. Everyone we met along the way from other travelers to the B & B hosts were very friendly and sociable...

We spent 10 days (8 walking days and 2 rest days) walking Hadrian’s Wall. We travel a lot and the walk along Hadrian’s Wall has to be at the top of our favorite Holidays. The scenery along the way was both varied and beautiful. From the sweeping vistas of the Steel Rigg area to the expansive sea views near Bowness-on-Solway it was all inspiring. Everyone we met along the way from other travelers to the B & B hosts were very friendly and sociable. The history of the Wall is what drew us to the area and learning its story along the way was fascinating. It is a walk that should not be missed.

Rating for tour operator:

Hadrian’s Wall was our first multi day walk. When we started looking for a Tour Operator Mickledore caught our eye from the beginning. Starting with website to quick responses to questions, Mickledore was fantastic in helping us plan our walk. The accommodations chosen for us were first rate and the luggage transfers went off with out a hitch. The information package provided had everything we needed to help us prepare for our trip. The Mickledore App made sure that all of the information we might need along the way was at our fingertips. We will travel with Mickledore again.

Reviewer's images:
Mickledore Travel responded to this review on 28 Aug 2019:

Thanks for your lovely photos and the great feedback from your holiday. I am happy to hear that you found the walk interesting and enjoyed the fabulous changing views along the route. We would love to arrange another holiday for you in future.
Sue

Hadrian's Wall by BvD, 23 Aug 2019
Holiday Rating:

Walking alongside Hadrian's Wall

We had a lovely walking holiday, with excellent views over the beautiful landscape of Northumbria and Cumbria. The weather was exceptionally good and the wall and it's remains - in particular the archaeological sites - are stunning. In the pubs there are plenty of options for vegetarians and vegans and the food tastes delicious. I can't wait to do my next walking holiday in a different part of Great Britain!

We had a lovely walking holiday, with excellent views over the beautiful landscape of Northumbria and Cumbria. The weather was exceptionally good and the wall and it's remains - in particular the archaeological sites - are stunning. In the pubs there are plenty of options for vegetarians and vegans and the food tastes delicious. I can't wait to do my next walking holiday in a different part of Great Britain!

Rating for tour operator:

All was arranged well by our tour operator. The transport of both our luggage and ourselves went perfect. Except for one place, all the other places where we stayed were of excellent quality: clean, welcoming and good food.

Mickledore Travel responded to this review on 23 Aug 2019:

Thanks for taking the time to leave us your feedback. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your holiday. The historical sites along this route are fabulous.
Sue

Northumberland Coast Path by Dave ello, 23 Aug 2019
Holiday Rating:

Outstanding

Mickaldore Travel organised our walking holiday in Northumberland and have been out of the this world, allowing us to have peace of mind throughout, i would highly recommend them

Mickaldore Travel organised our walking holiday in Northumberland and have been out of the this world, allowing us to have peace of mind throughout, i would highly recommend them

Rating for tour operator:

Mickaldore Travel organised our walking holiday in Northumberland. We found them to be excellent and made the holiday very relaxing from start to finish. This allowed us to enjoy our holiday with the knowledge that everything was organised to a very high standard, would have no hesitation in recommending them

Mickledore Travel responded to this review on 23 Aug 2019:

It's great that you enjoyed your walk. I'm happy to hear that our arrangements helped you to a stress free holiday. Thank you for leaving such great feedback.
Sue

Great Glen Way by The sore walker, 23 Aug 2019
Holiday Rating:

GREAT glen walk

Walking from fort William to Inverness through the great glen Great accommodation and well presented

Walking from fort William to Inverness through the great glen Great accommodation and well presented

Rating for tour operator:

mickledore were very efficient

Mickledore Travel responded to this review on 23 Aug 2019:

Thank you for your kind comments. It is lovely to hear that you enjoyed your walk and the arrangements that we made for you.
Sue