AITO: The Association of Independent Tour Operators
Mickledore Travel

Mickledore Travel Traveller Reviews

Reviews of Mickledore Travel

Overall Company Rating
99%
Excellent 773
Good 22
Average 0
Poor 0
Terrible 0
Reviews Submitted: 795
Reviews Accepted: 795
Reviews Rejected: 0
795 reviews
Sort by:
Mickledore Travel by Hubchucker, 7 Oct 2015
Holiday Rating:

Spectacular natural wonders, perfect holiday organisation.

We both have not stopped talking about our walk along Hadrian's Wall since we returned. It was all that we hoped it would be and so much more! The scenery is spectacular and very varied. The path is well-marked and challenging in parts. There was always something to look at and interesting people to talk to. Very life-affirming!!

We both have not stopped talking about our walk along Hadrian's Wall since we returned. It was all that we hoped it would be and so much more! The scenery is spectacular and very varied. The path is well-marked and challenging in parts. There was always something to look at and interesting people to talk to. Very life-affirming!!

Rating for tour operator:

Mickledore was able to organise the exact walking holiday we wanted along Hadrian's Wall both efficiently and professionally. It was a memorable experience from start to finish. All the B&Bs were excellent with lovely hosts. The luggage was transported seamlessly, leaving us to concentrate on the delights of the walk. The information supplied (timetables, maps etc) was extensive and very useful. We can't wait to book another walking holiday with them.

Mickledore Travel responded to this review on 11 Oct 2015:

Thanks Claire. Really pleased you had a good holiday. Glad to hear you enjoyed your accommodation and hosts - we are lucky to have so many great hosts along Hadrian's Wall.

Mickledore Travel by Happy wanderer, 5 Oct 2015
Holiday Rating:

urgent request for walking holiday (Cleveland Way)with extremely short notice

Due to a cancelled river cruise with only four days notice, I rang Mickledore wtth the challenge could they organise my Cleveland Way walk giving them absolute minimum notice. They accepted the challenge and fully succeeded including getting all the books and maps to me in time to plot my walk. A very successful walk meeting all their obligations with no reservations from me Not quite the cruise I had anticipated but a wonderful experience...

Due to a cancelled river cruise with only four days notice, I rang Mickledore wtth the challenge could they organise my Cleveland Way walk giving them absolute minimum notice. They accepted the challenge and fully succeeded including getting all the books and maps to me in time to plot my walk. A very successful walk meeting all their obligations with no reservations from me Not quite the cruise I had anticipated but a wonderful experience. Only criticism it did rain one day!!! I have two more walks planned via Mickledore and looking forward to them

Rating for tour operator:

I found Mickledore via Google in my desperation ,due to a cancelled holiday and requiring an alternative. I picked Mickledore without any knowledge of them and they came up trumps. I have no reservation about recommending them and have given them two further walks to organise for me can there be a more convincing argument.

Mickledore Travel by Robbo, 4 Oct 2015
Holiday Rating:

Brilliant

A 5 day walk along the middle section of the Pembrokeshire Coastal Path, an easy to follow route with stunning scenery that surpassed expectations in every respect.

A 5 day walk along the middle section of the Pembrokeshire Coastal Path, an easy to follow route with stunning scenery that surpassed expectations in every respect.

Rating for tour operator:

Mickledore organised the trip at very short notice in an extremely efficient and friendly manner, and it went completely to plan. We have used them before & we will certainly use them again.

Mickledore Travel by TonyQ, 2 Oct 2015
Holiday Rating:

Perfect organisation for our walking holiday

We spent 8 days walking The Cotswold Way in Gloucestershire in September. It's varying terrain - exposed limestone outcrops, tiny villages, small towns and at the end the city of Bath. It's serious walking, but pleasant and manageable, much open countryside but never very far from civilisation.

We spent 8 days walking The Cotswold Way in Gloucestershire in September. It's varying terrain - exposed limestone outcrops, tiny villages, small towns and at the end the city of Bath. It's serious walking, but pleasant and manageable, much open countryside but never very far from civilisation.

Rating for tour operator:

Mickledore recommended places to stay on our Cotswold Way walking holiday and made all the arrangements. All we had to do was to walk! The places they recommended were all fine, with some of them being specifically geared for walkers. Several were real gems that we would never have found for ourselves.

Mickledore Travel by Murgatroyd, 2 Oct 2015
Holiday Rating:

Two Bens, 130 miles on foot and stunning scenery

17 days in Scotland (of which only 1.5 were wet - who says it rains all the time in Scotland?). The holiday included walking from Glasgow to Fort William along the Kelvin Walkway and West Highland Way; a side trip to beautiful Oban; ascents of both Ben Lomond and Ben Nevis; and three days based in Fort William exploring the area bounded by Mallaig, Fort Augustus and Glencoe. Near perfect, marred only by the wee winged beasties out staying ...

17 days in Scotland (of which only 1.5 were wet - who says it rains all the time in Scotland?). The holiday included walking from Glasgow to Fort William along the Kelvin Walkway and West Highland Way; a side trip to beautiful Oban; ascents of both Ben Lomond and Ben Nevis; and three days based in Fort William exploring the area bounded by Mallaig, Fort Augustus and Glencoe. Near perfect, marred only by the wee winged beasties out staying their welcome!

Rating for tour operator:

This was our fifth self-guided walking holiday with Mickledore. We have always found them to be excellent. They have listened to our requirements, including amending standard itineraries to suit. The accommodation they select is always the best available, they provide a comprehensive information pack and their logistics have never once let us down.

Mickledore Travel by Richie, 1 Oct 2015
Holiday Rating:

Hadrians wall

We were very pleased with the booking done by Mickeldore. Everything ran so smoothly. The walk planed was perfect. It made our holiday lovely and stress free.

We were very pleased with the booking done by Mickeldore. Everything ran so smoothly. The walk planed was perfect. It made our holiday lovely and stress free.

Rating for tour operator:

They made sure that the trip happened as planed

Mickledore Travel by R & P walkers, 30 Sep 2015
Holiday Rating:

Great Mickledore organisation equals another Great Walking Holiday

This was our sixth Mickledore walking holiday. Another well organised and very rewarding walk- the Northumberland Coastal Path.

This was our sixth Mickledore walking holiday. Another well organised and very rewarding walk- the Northumberland Coastal Path.

Rating for tour operator:

Good pre holiday service and excellent and complete information provided. It is significant the Mickledore is always rated as the best and most efficient walking holiday company by all the accommodation providers.

Mickledore Travel by Mrs S H 15, 30 Sep 2015
Holiday Rating:

Breathtaking holiday without a hitch

We had the wonderful experience of seven days walking the Dales Way a distance of approx 90 miles from the Yorkshire town of Ilkeley to the Lake District and Lake Winderemere. Each day we saw some breathtaking views from the River Wharfe as it winds it way through the Dales and then onto the bracken covered fells of Cumbria.We had overnight stays at some lovely accommodation from a farmhouse in the fells to a beautiful manor house in the dales...

We had the wonderful experience of seven days walking the Dales Way a distance of approx 90 miles from the Yorkshire town of Ilkeley to the Lake District and Lake Winderemere. Each day we saw some breathtaking views from the River Wharfe as it winds it way through the Dales and then onto the bracken covered fells of Cumbria.We had overnight stays at some lovely accommodation from a farmhouse in the fells to a beautiful manor house in the dales.The way was well signposted by the Dales Way Association and with the guide book provided by Mickledore we were able to complete our holiday without any mistakes enroute.

Rating for tour operator:

Mickledore were exceptional from our original enquiry through to booking our accommodation and daily luggage transfer. The holiday pack from them included everything we needed for our holiday to be a great success.

Mickledore Travel by Liz, 25 Sep 2015
Holiday Rating:

very smooth and well organised

I walked the COtswold Way for nine days walking, 10 nights. All I had to do was put one foot in front of the other. I had good bed and breakfasts and walking solo was not a problem.

I walked the COtswold Way for nine days walking, 10 nights. All I had to do was put one foot in front of the other. I had good bed and breakfasts and walking solo was not a problem.

Rating for tour operator:

COmmunication was simple and straightforward. Minimum fuss and/or forms.

Mickledore Travel by Dr G E 15, 22 Sep 2015
Holiday Rating:

Breathtaking Walking Holiday along the West Highland Way

Completed walking the West Highland Way on September 10th. Highly recommended - both the walk and Mickledore Travel. We were fortunate to have perfect weather - sunny without being hot. There were two firsts for us on a long distance walk: having our baggage transferred and our accommodation booked for us. All we had to do each day was get up, eat breakfast, pack a day bag and walk, knowing that there was a room with our baggage ready and ...

Completed walking the West Highland Way on September 10th. Highly recommended - both the walk and Mickledore Travel. We were fortunate to have perfect weather - sunny without being hot. There were two firsts for us on a long distance walk: having our baggage transferred and our accommodation booked for us. All we had to do each day was get up, eat breakfast, pack a day bag and walk, knowing that there was a room with our baggage ready and waiting for us at our destination. The b&bs in particular were fantastic: Ashbank at Drymen, Tigh-na-Fraoch at Tyndrum and, just as we thought it could not get any better Allt-na-Leven at Kinlochleven. It made the walking so much more enjoyable and gave us time to pause, where we wanted, to take in the magnificent landscape, the panoramic views over lochs and rivers. And in the latter part of the walk, mountains wreathed in morning mist which the sun gradually burned off through the day.

Rating for tour operator:

Well organised. Answered immediately and fully various queries I had when booking the holiday. The standard of accommodation booked ranged from very good to outstandingly excellent. The baggage transfer did exactly what it said it would. I will be booking another holiday - Coast to Coast walk - with Mickledore for next year.