AITO: The Association of Independent Tour Operators
Mickledore Travel

Mickledore Travel Traveller Reviews

Reviews of Mickledore Travel

Overall Company Rating
99%
Excellent 697
Good 22
Average 0
Poor 0
Terrible 0
Reviews Submitted: 719
Reviews Accepted: 719
Reviews Rejected: 0
719 reviews
Sort by:
Mickledore Travel by Peacemaker, 16 Oct 2014
Holiday Rating:

Great glen, great walk

OK, so the weather was somewhat un-Scottish - one minute (honest!) of rain in six days walking - but this was a delight, only one B&B (of seven) perhaps being slightly below par. Easy overall, compared say to the Coast to Coast, but the addition of new 'high route' alternatives on the days from Fort Augustus and Invermoriston provided some more challenging sections, as well as improving the views and variety respectively. Now for the West ...

OK, so the weather was somewhat un-Scottish - one minute (honest!) of rain in six days walking - but this was a delight, only one B&B (of seven) perhaps being slightly below par. Easy overall, compared say to the Coast to Coast, but the addition of new 'high route' alternatives on the days from Fort Augustus and Invermoriston provided some more challenging sections, as well as improving the views and variety respectively. Now for the West Highland Way.....

Rating for tour operator:

I chose Mickledore as offering not the cheapest but the most comprehensive package, ie including packed lunches, guidebooks & maps etc, so that I was left with as little extra to do as possible, and could simply enjoy the scenery, the walking and the overnight stops to the full.

Mickledore Travel by Sam from Australia, 15 Oct 2014
Holiday Rating:

Excellent Holiday in Every Respect

In summary: Great accommodation, great food and wonderful experience.

In summary: Great accommodation, great food and wonderful experience.

Rating for tour operator:

Excellent service at every stage in the process. I'm especially impressed with the attention to detail.

Mickledore Travel by John57, 15 Oct 2014
Holiday Rating:

Very well organised

Walking Holiday on the south wales coast, Summer 2014. We ahev used this company before and always been happy with their package.

Walking Holiday on the south wales coast, Summer 2014. We ahev used this company before and always been happy with their package.

Rating for tour operator:

Always very helpful.

Mickledore Travel by jharris, 13 Oct 2014
Holiday Rating:

Coast to coast walk

Mickledore arranged my holiday walking from Richmond to Robin Hood's Bay. The accommodations were all comfortable, clean and pleasant. The innkeepers were consistently helpful and attentive to our needs. Having a shower and dry bed after each day on the trails made every day a great day, even the cool and damp days. Great arrangements by Mickledore.

Mickledore arranged my holiday walking from Richmond to Robin Hood's Bay. The accommodations were all comfortable, clean and pleasant. The innkeepers were consistently helpful and attentive to our needs. Having a shower and dry bed after each day on the trails made every day a great day, even the cool and damp days. Great arrangements by Mickledore.

Rating for tour operator:

Mickledore provided maps and descriptions, made the daily hotel arrangements, transported my bags from inn to inn, answered my logistics questions and ensured me a high quality experience.

Mickledore Travel by GODFREY47, 9 Oct 2014
Holiday Rating:

CUMBRIA WAY WALKING HOLIDAY

I WALKED THE LENGTH OF THE LAKE DISTRICT WITH FIVE OTHER PEOPLE STAYING IN B&B'S WITH OUR LUGGAGE TRANSPORTED. OUR TOUR COMPANY MICKLEDORE ARRANGED THE ACCOMMODATION, TRANSPORT OF LUGGAGE AND PROVISION OF PACKED LUNCHES AND PROVIDED US WITH PLENTY OF INFORMATION OF WHERE TO EAT ETC.THE ACCOMMODATION WITH ONE EXCEPTION WAS FIRST CLASS.THE ROUTE WAS NOT EXCESSIVELY DEMANDING AND WE EXPERIENCED SOME LOVELY LAKELAND SCENERY ESPECIALLY IN LANG DALE ...

I WALKED THE LENGTH OF THE LAKE DISTRICT WITH FIVE OTHER PEOPLE STAYING IN B&B'S WITH OUR LUGGAGE TRANSPORTED. OUR TOUR COMPANY MICKLEDORE ARRANGED THE ACCOMMODATION, TRANSPORT OF LUGGAGE AND PROVISION OF PACKED LUNCHES AND PROVIDED US WITH PLENTY OF INFORMATION OF WHERE TO EAT ETC.THE ACCOMMODATION WITH ONE EXCEPTION WAS FIRST CLASS.THE ROUTE WAS NOT EXCESSIVELY DEMANDING AND WE EXPERIENCED SOME LOVELY LAKELAND SCENERY ESPECIALLY IN LANG DALE AND BORROWDALE.

Rating for tour operator:

MICKLEDORE ARE A LAKELAND BASED COMPANY SPECIALISING IN SELF GUIDED WALKING TOURS MAINLY IN THE NORTH OF ENGLAND.I HAVE USED THEM TWICE THIS YEAR AND HAVE BEEN IMPRESSED WITH THEIR ORGANISATION AND STANDARD OF ACCOMMODATION SO MUCH SO THAT I WILL BE BOOKING FURTHER WALKS WITH THEM NEXT YEAR.

Mickledore Travel by David, 1 Oct 2014
Holiday Rating:

Lovely walking countryside, exellent accomodation, route directions could have been better.

We walked the Westmorland Way, 95 miles over 9 days. It was a very enjoyable walk and the accommodation each night (B&B and small hotels) was of a high standard. Information from the tour operator was excellent. The one feature that was less than satisfactory was the guidebook. It was not always clear and, having been published in 1998, was out of date in some respects.

We walked the Westmorland Way, 95 miles over 9 days. It was a very enjoyable walk and the accommodation each night (B&B and small hotels) was of a high standard. Information from the tour operator was excellent. The one feature that was less than satisfactory was the guidebook. It was not always clear and, having been published in 1998, was out of date in some respects.

Rating for tour operator:

Mickledore Walking Holidays arranged the holiday and organised the accommodation. They were helpful and efficient and the information they provided was of a high standard.

Mickledore Travel by kobraverde, 27 Sep 2014
Holiday Rating:

pembrokeshire coast nature heaven

The holiday was a great success indepndently from the beauty of the area. It was well organized, the b&b booked were very pleasent and the break fast and packed lunches of very satisfactory standards. The suggestions on where to eat at supper were very reliable. Should we go on a similar holiday we will use Mickledore again for sure. Kind regards. Giulio Codacci

The holiday was a great success indepndently from the beauty of the area. It was well organized, the b&b booked were very pleasent and the break fast and packed lunches of very satisfactory standards. The suggestions on where to eat at supper were very reliable. Should we go on a similar holiday we will use Mickledore again for sure. Kind regards. Giulio Codacci

Rating for tour operator:

I find Mickledore on the net and I checked their advise in an area I knew and since it was well done I decided to used them. The planning of the walk was very efficient and I am very satisfied.

Mickledore Travel by Mel, 25 Sep 2014
Holiday Rating:

Pembrokeshire Coast Path

See notes about Mickledore Company

See notes about Mickledore Company

Rating for tour operator:

We did a three-week walking holiday, taylor-made by Mickledore. The company booked lovely b&bs and even thought of doing bookings for dinner in crowded areas. We received a large package of information and guide books in advance. Luggage transfer worked perfectly. Even transfers were arranged if the accomodation wasn't directly near the path. Before booking we had checked out several offers for the trip and Mickledore was the cheapest. We can warmly recommend that company.

Mickledore Travel by Roosje, 24 Sep 2014
Holiday Rating:

A lovely walk along the borders of Scotland

We, 5 persons, had a very great holiday. We walked from east to west along the borders of England/Scotland. The walk was very nice with beautiful vieuws, abbeys and nice little towns. Thanks to the excelent organisation of Mickledore we stayed in very nice b and b's and small hotels. We were anxcious about the weather and the midges but the weather was great and the midges were not around us.

We, 5 persons, had a very great holiday. We walked from east to west along the borders of England/Scotland. The walk was very nice with beautiful vieuws, abbeys and nice little towns. Thanks to the excelent organisation of Mickledore we stayed in very nice b and b's and small hotels. We were anxcious about the weather and the midges but the weather was great and the midges were not around us.

Rating for tour operator:

It is for the second time that Mickledore organised our walking holiday in England. And again, it was perfect: we got all the necesary information as information/maps, timetables for trains and buses, taxis, places to eat etcetera. But most important: we stayed in very nice b and b's and small hotels. It was a great joy when we arrived, after a long walk, in a very nice place to sleep. Indeed: Mickledore is not just perfect: they are really excellent. We hope to walk with them again!

Mickledore Travel by Morty, 24 Sep 2014
Holiday Rating:

Perfect Planning

Having walked Hadrian's Wall Path with Mickledore previously, we had no hesitation in using the company again to take the strain out of planning our Northumberland Coast Walk, and we were not disappointed. From start to finish, administration was exemplary, all literature was clear and helpful, and the quality of accommodation and hospitality in the majority of bed and breakfast establishments we stayed at was outstanding. Mickledore clearly ...

Having walked Hadrian's Wall Path with Mickledore previously, we had no hesitation in using the company again to take the strain out of planning our Northumberland Coast Walk, and we were not disappointed. From start to finish, administration was exemplary, all literature was clear and helpful, and the quality of accommodation and hospitality in the majority of bed and breakfast establishments we stayed at was outstanding. Mickledore clearly does its research well; we always use one of the excellent establishments discovered on the Hadrian's Wall walk to break up our annual return journey from holidays in Scotland.

Rating for tour operator:

(See above.)