AITO: The Association of Independent Tour Operators
Mickledore Travel

Mickledore Travel Traveller Reviews

Reviews of Mickledore Travel

Overall Company Rating
99%
Excellent 607
Good 19
Average 0
Poor 0
Terrible 0
Reviews Submitted: 626
Reviews Accepted: 626
Reviews Rejected: 0
626 reviews
Sort by:
Mickledore Travel by Steve, 22 Sep 2014
Holiday Rating:

Our coast to coast was well prepared and the lodgings were first rate.

I walked the coast to coast path with my two brothers, a nephew and a friend. We had a wonderful time. Mickledore did an excellent job preparing the reservations for all of the B & B's along the way. Each of the B & B's owners was very hospitable and provided extra help as needed. In short, I would use Mickledore for my next walking vacation and would highly recommend them to anyone.

I walked the coast to coast path with my two brothers, a nephew and a friend. We had a wonderful time. Mickledore did an excellent job preparing the reservations for all of the B & B's along the way. Each of the B & B's owners was very hospitable and provided extra help as needed. In short, I would use Mickledore for my next walking vacation and would highly recommend them to anyone.

Rating for tour operator:

There were no problems with any of the reservations and each of the B & B's was very nice and expecting our arrival. The breakfasts and lunches were very good and plentiful. We were quite satisfied.

Mickledore Travel by Mr C G 14, 20 Sep 2014
Holiday Rating:

We spent five days walking St Oswalds Way in Northumberland from Lindisfarne to Warkworth. Beautiful scenery with excellent accommodation and arrangements by Mickledore.

We spent five days walking St Oswalds Way in Northumberland from Lindisfarne to Warkworth. Beautiful scenery with excellent accommodation and arrangements by Mickledore.

Rating for tour operator:

Mickledore are friendly and professional. This was our second holiday with them and it won't be the last.

Mickledore Travel by Siv, 17 Sep 2014
Holiday Rating:

We had high expectations, and they were all fullfilled.

We walked the West Highland Way. A beautiful walk, from the Lowlands to the Highlands. We enjoyed every day of the walk, all parts are beautiful in their own way. But it´s not just about the walk itself, it´s also about the history and background to all the places you pass. Finally, let´s not forget the food, we were positivly surprised by the food we got at the pub´s we visited. Love that a lot of places use local produced product.

We walked the West Highland Way. A beautiful walk, from the Lowlands to the Highlands. We enjoyed every day of the walk, all parts are beautiful in their own way. But it´s not just about the walk itself, it´s also about the history and background to all the places you pass. Finally, let´s not forget the food, we were positivly surprised by the food we got at the pub´s we visited. Love that a lot of places use local produced product.

Rating for tour operator:

From our first inquiry, to the last, Mickledore Travel gave us feedback fast. Mickledore also sent us a holiday pack with map, a guidebook and other detailed information about our accomadation, which we used a lot before and during our walk. We were very satiesfied with Mickledore and their travel arrangement for us.

Mickledore Travel by manchester walkers, 11 Sep 2014
Holiday Rating:

walking the Speyside Way

We walked from Buckie to Aviemore through beautiful scenery and stayed in very welcoming accommodation. We had some excellent meals and saw a lot of wildlife including deer, osprey, crossbills and sandpipers while walking through woodland full of wildflowers.

We walked from Buckie to Aviemore through beautiful scenery and stayed in very welcoming accommodation. We had some excellent meals and saw a lot of wildlife including deer, osprey, crossbills and sandpipers while walking through woodland full of wildflowers.

Rating for tour operator:

The booking process was very easy, all the accommodation was very good, the directions and maps were very helpful and a query about a taxi transfer was dealt with quickly.

Mickledore Travel by Dave, 10 Sep 2014
Holiday Rating:

St Oswald's Way - a stunning long distance walk

My holiday started on Holy Island and journeyed down the Northumberland coast before turning inland to finish near to Chester Fort on Hadrian's Wall - a total of 95 miles. I was travelling on my own and staying at pre-arranged B&B's, Guest Houses and small hotels along the way. The arrangements were made through Mickledore Travel, who I had used on one previous occasion. I was reasonably lucky with the weather and the coastal scenery in particular ...

My holiday started on Holy Island and journeyed down the Northumberland coast before turning inland to finish near to Chester Fort on Hadrian's Wall - a total of 95 miles. I was travelling on my own and staying at pre-arranged B&B's, Guest Houses and small hotels along the way. The arrangements were made through Mickledore Travel, who I had used on one previous occasion. I was reasonably lucky with the weather and the coastal scenery in particular was beautiful. The other features that most struck me were the sense of history, the friendliness of the people and feeling on space that pervades this part of Northumberland.

Rating for tour operator:

I decided to book my holiday through Mickledore Travel mainly because I had used them once before and been well satisfied with the service - in particular they had been able to arrange accommodation at a crucial stopping point when another operator said none was available. All the accommodation on the walk was of a high standard, the guidance excellent and everything arrived on time. On the one occasion when I had difficulty contacting my accommodation for a pre arranged lift, Mickledore's staff were as helpful as they could be. It is possible that I might have been able to arrange the holiday for a slightly lower cost but overall I felt that I had received good value for money. As "proof of the pudding" I have booked my next walking holiday through Mickledore.

Mickledore Travel by M&P,J&C,D&J, 10 Sep 2014
Holiday Rating:

Truly memorable Hadrians Wall Group Walk May 2014

we talked about doing this walk for years, then realised Mickledore could organise the logistics, whilst we only had to book the time and get fit. It was a truly memorable experience. Some of the guest houses were outstanding and we enjoyed meeting the proprietors who made us feel at home. We were all surprised at how much history we learned as we visited the many museums along the way.

we talked about doing this walk for years, then realised Mickledore could organise the logistics, whilst we only had to book the time and get fit. It was a truly memorable experience. Some of the guest houses were outstanding and we enjoyed meeting the proprietors who made us feel at home. We were all surprised at how much history we learned as we visited the many museums along the way.

Rating for tour operator:

Mickledore's planning was impeccable. From the initial advice to the closest details of the walks, everything went very smoothly.

Mickledore Travel by Susan Barrie, 9 Sep 2014
Holiday Rating:

Excellent Organisation meant that we didn't have to plan a thing!

We travelled the Great Glen Way in May 2014 from Fort WIlliam to Drumnadroichidt. Normally I choose to book all travel and accommodation myself but decided to delegate the responsibility to Mickledore.

We travelled the Great Glen Way in May 2014 from Fort WIlliam to Drumnadroichidt. Normally I choose to book all travel and accommodation myself but decided to delegate the responsibility to Mickledore.

Rating for tour operator:

The Tour Operator provided a detailed quote before we booked, and the information on the website was clearly presented. The TO booked us into B&bs of excellent quality, sent us a travel pack and itinerary promptly, and were available for any queries. Based on my experience with Mickledore, I would be very happy to book a holiday with them again.

Mickledore Travel by Jan, 9 Sep 2014
Holiday Rating:

The Coast to Coast path was a very beautiful experience

In may we, 2 couples from Holland, walked the Coast to Coast path from St. Bees to Robin Hood's Bay. We enjoyed it very, very much. It was one of our most beautiful holidays! Mickledore organized it all extremely well, so the only worry for us was to walk from point to point. It was lovely to walk throug such different parts of England. The B&B's were all very good and als our meals in the pubs or restaurants were better than everage. On our ...

In may we, 2 couples from Holland, walked the Coast to Coast path from St. Bees to Robin Hood's Bay. We enjoyed it very, very much. It was one of our most beautiful holidays! Mickledore organized it all extremely well, so the only worry for us was to walk from point to point. It was lovely to walk throug such different parts of England. The B&B's were all very good and als our meals in the pubs or restaurants were better than everage. On our blog c2cwandeling.blogspot.nl you can see/read more about it.

Rating for tour operator:

Mickledore organized all extremely well. Fantastisch B&B's, very good information about the trip.

Mickledore Travel by Max van Bergeijk, 18 Aug 2014
Holiday Rating:

Een prachtige wandeling door 3 unieke natuurgebieden

De vakantie was voor ons een geweldige ervaring. Een prachtige tocht door 3 schitterende natuurgebieden. Het Lake district met zijn bergen en riviertjes en meertjes was uniek. De Dales met zijn uitgestrektheid schitterend, De Yorkshire Moores prachtig. De bagage stond steeds voor ons klaar als we op onze adressen tijdens de tocht aankwamen. De hotelletjes waren prima, de meeste B en B's ook. Een enkeling was minimaal. Soms zou de voorkeur aan ...

De vakantie was voor ons een geweldige ervaring. Een prachtige tocht door 3 schitterende natuurgebieden. Het Lake district met zijn bergen en riviertjes en meertjes was uniek. De Dales met zijn uitgestrektheid schitterend, De Yorkshire Moores prachtig. De bagage stond steeds voor ons klaar als we op onze adressen tijdens de tocht aankwamen. De hotelletjes waren prima, de meeste B en B's ook. Een enkeling was minimaal. Soms zou de voorkeur aan een hotel gegeven mogen worden in plaats van een B en B. De beschrijving van de route was over het algemeen duidelijk. Een paar twijfelpunten stonden er in. Een volgend keer neem ik GPS mee, dat kan misverstanden voorkomen. Ik ben erg tevreden ovwer deze reis en zal zeker nog eens gebruik maken van Mickledore Travel

Rating for tour operator:

De hele reis was goed georganiseerd. Het verzorgen van de treintickets zou als service meegenomen mogen worden, dan geef ik een uitstekend

Mickledore Travel by Pace maker., 17 Aug 2014
Holiday Rating:

Coast to Coast made hassle free.

Some friends and I recently completed the the 120 miles (in 8 days) from Kirkby Stephens to Robin Hoods Bay staying at 4-5 star accommodation. We carried our day backpack and had our suitcases couriered from one nights accommodation to the next. It was a memorable holiday not only for the walking experience but made better by the hassle free and welcoming accommodation.

Some friends and I recently completed the the 120 miles (in 8 days) from Kirkby Stephens to Robin Hoods Bay staying at 4-5 star accommodation. We carried our day backpack and had our suitcases couriered from one nights accommodation to the next. It was a memorable holiday not only for the walking experience but made better by the hassle free and welcoming accommodation.

Rating for tour operator:

We were very impressed with the hassle free logistics organised by Mickledore. From organisation the parking for the week ; taxis to the start and from the end; arranging excellent accommodation; and couriering bags from one nights accommodation to the next. The documentation supplied included pictures of,and directions to our nights accommodation, among loads of other explanatory notes and information that you may need i.e. train timetables. On the whole a very professional service.