AITO: The Association of Independent Tour Operators
Mickledore Travel

Mickledore Travel Traveller Reviews

Reviews of Mickledore Travel

Overall Company Rating
99%
Excellent 606
Good 19
Average 0
Poor 0
Terrible 0
Reviews Submitted: 625
Reviews Accepted: 625
Reviews Rejected: 0
625 reviews
Sort by:
Mickledore Travel by GODFREY47, 9 Oct 2014
Holiday Rating:

CUMBRIA WAY WALKING HOLIDAY

I WALKED THE LENGTH OF THE LAKE DISTRICT WITH FIVE OTHER PEOPLE STAYING IN B&B'S WITH OUR LUGGAGE TRANSPORTED. OUR TOUR COMPANY MICKLEDORE ARRANGED THE ACCOMMODATION, TRANSPORT OF LUGGAGE AND PROVISION OF PACKED LUNCHES AND PROVIDED US WITH PLENTY OF INFORMATION OF WHERE TO EAT ETC.THE ACCOMMODATION WITH ONE EXCEPTION WAS FIRST CLASS.THE ROUTE WAS NOT EXCESSIVELY DEMANDING AND WE EXPERIENCED SOME LOVELY LAKELAND SCENERY ESPECIALLY IN LANG DALE ...

I WALKED THE LENGTH OF THE LAKE DISTRICT WITH FIVE OTHER PEOPLE STAYING IN B&B'S WITH OUR LUGGAGE TRANSPORTED. OUR TOUR COMPANY MICKLEDORE ARRANGED THE ACCOMMODATION, TRANSPORT OF LUGGAGE AND PROVISION OF PACKED LUNCHES AND PROVIDED US WITH PLENTY OF INFORMATION OF WHERE TO EAT ETC.THE ACCOMMODATION WITH ONE EXCEPTION WAS FIRST CLASS.THE ROUTE WAS NOT EXCESSIVELY DEMANDING AND WE EXPERIENCED SOME LOVELY LAKELAND SCENERY ESPECIALLY IN LANG DALE AND BORROWDALE.

Rating for tour operator:

MICKLEDORE ARE A LAKELAND BASED COMPANY SPECIALISING IN SELF GUIDED WALKING TOURS MAINLY IN THE NORTH OF ENGLAND.I HAVE USED THEM TWICE THIS YEAR AND HAVE BEEN IMPRESSED WITH THEIR ORGANISATION AND STANDARD OF ACCOMMODATION SO MUCH SO THAT I WILL BE BOOKING FURTHER WALKS WITH THEM NEXT YEAR.

Mickledore Travel by David, 1 Oct 2014
Holiday Rating:

Lovely walking countryside, exellent accomodation, route directions could have been better.

We walked the Westmorland Way, 95 miles over 9 days. It was a very enjoyable walk and the accommodation each night (B&B and small hotels) was of a high standard. Information from the tour operator was excellent. The one feature that was less than satisfactory was the guidebook. It was not always clear and, having been published in 1998, was out of date in some respects.

We walked the Westmorland Way, 95 miles over 9 days. It was a very enjoyable walk and the accommodation each night (B&B and small hotels) was of a high standard. Information from the tour operator was excellent. The one feature that was less than satisfactory was the guidebook. It was not always clear and, having been published in 1998, was out of date in some respects.

Rating for tour operator:

Mickledore Walking Holidays arranged the holiday and organised the accommodation. They were helpful and efficient and the information they provided was of a high standard.

Mickledore Travel by kobraverde, 27 Sep 2014
Holiday Rating:

pembrokeshire coast nature heaven

The holiday was a great success indepndently from the beauty of the area. It was well organized, the b&b booked were very pleasent and the break fast and packed lunches of very satisfactory standards. The suggestions on where to eat at supper were very reliable. Should we go on a similar holiday we will use Mickledore again for sure. Kind regards. Giulio Codacci

The holiday was a great success indepndently from the beauty of the area. It was well organized, the b&b booked were very pleasent and the break fast and packed lunches of very satisfactory standards. The suggestions on where to eat at supper were very reliable. Should we go on a similar holiday we will use Mickledore again for sure. Kind regards. Giulio Codacci

Rating for tour operator:

I find Mickledore on the net and I checked their advise in an area I knew and since it was well done I decided to used them. The planning of the walk was very efficient and I am very satisfied.

Mickledore Travel by Mel, 25 Sep 2014
Holiday Rating:

Pembrokeshire Coast Path

See notes about Mickledore Company

See notes about Mickledore Company

Rating for tour operator:

We did a three-week walking holiday, taylor-made by Mickledore. The company booked lovely b&bs and even thought of doing bookings for dinner in crowded areas. We received a large package of information and guide books in advance. Luggage transfer worked perfectly. Even transfers were arranged if the accomodation wasn't directly near the path. Before booking we had checked out several offers for the trip and Mickledore was the cheapest. We can warmly recommend that company.

Mickledore Travel by Roosje, 24 Sep 2014
Holiday Rating:

A lovely walk along the borders of Scotland

We, 5 persons, had a very great holiday. We walked from east to west along the borders of England/Scotland. The walk was very nice with beautiful vieuws, abbeys and nice little towns. Thanks to the excelent organisation of Mickledore we stayed in very nice b and b's and small hotels. We were anxcious about the weather and the midges but the weather was great and the midges were not around us.

We, 5 persons, had a very great holiday. We walked from east to west along the borders of England/Scotland. The walk was very nice with beautiful vieuws, abbeys and nice little towns. Thanks to the excelent organisation of Mickledore we stayed in very nice b and b's and small hotels. We were anxcious about the weather and the midges but the weather was great and the midges were not around us.

Rating for tour operator:

It is for the second time that Mickledore organised our walking holiday in England. And again, it was perfect: we got all the necesary information as information/maps, timetables for trains and buses, taxis, places to eat etcetera. But most important: we stayed in very nice b and b's and small hotels. It was a great joy when we arrived, after a long walk, in a very nice place to sleep. Indeed: Mickledore is not just perfect: they are really excellent. We hope to walk with them again!

Mickledore Travel by Morty, 24 Sep 2014
Holiday Rating:

Perfect Planning

Having walked Hadrian's Wall Path with Mickledore previously, we had no hesitation in using the company again to take the strain out of planning our Northumberland Coast Walk, and we were not disappointed. From start to finish, administration was exemplary, all literature was clear and helpful, and the quality of accommodation and hospitality in the majority of bed and breakfast establishments we stayed at was outstanding. Mickledore clearly ...

Having walked Hadrian's Wall Path with Mickledore previously, we had no hesitation in using the company again to take the strain out of planning our Northumberland Coast Walk, and we were not disappointed. From start to finish, administration was exemplary, all literature was clear and helpful, and the quality of accommodation and hospitality in the majority of bed and breakfast establishments we stayed at was outstanding. Mickledore clearly does its research well; we always use one of the excellent establishments discovered on the Hadrian's Wall walk to break up our annual return journey from holidays in Scotland.

Rating for tour operator:

(See above.)

Mickledore Travel by susielove, 24 Sep 2014
Holiday Rating:

Long distance walking made lovely

My husband Tony and I (Sue) have done three walking holidays with Mickledore: Wainwright's 'A Coast to Coast', 'The West Highland Way' and 'The Cleveland Way', and we are planning our next adventure to be with Mickledore too. They don't mind how many questions you ask or how long it takes you to decide and their support is with you all the way. The information packs are complete, the accommodations, varied and always to a high standard, understand ...

My husband Tony and I (Sue) have done three walking holidays with Mickledore: Wainwright's 'A Coast to Coast', 'The West Highland Way' and 'The Cleveland Way', and we are planning our next adventure to be with Mickledore too. They don't mind how many questions you ask or how long it takes you to decide and their support is with you all the way. The information packs are complete, the accommodations, varied and always to a high standard, understand and encourage walkers. And 'slack-packing' makes these long-distance walks achievable for anybody with a reasonable level of fitness. You wake up and choose from a wide selection of breakfast dishes. Close the door and walk without ever going back. As you near your destination the directions to your overnight stay have a written description, a map and a photo, and are kept in a waterproof clear plastic pouch. You can dawdle the last mile, soaking up the last of the days sunshine, or rush on, soaked, to be welcomed with a cup of tea, sometimes home-made cake, a beer if your lucky, but always a lovely bed and a decent shower and your bags.

Rating for tour operator:

My husband Tony and I (Sue) have done three walking holidays with Mickledore: Wainwright's 'A Coast to Coast', 'The West Highland Way' and 'The Cleveland Way', and we are planning our next adventure to be with Mickledore too. They don't mind how many questions you ask or how long it takes you to decide and their support is with you all the way. The information packs are complete, the accommodations, varied and always to a high standard, understand and encourage walkers. And 'slack-packing' makes these long-distance walks achievable for anybody with a reasonable level of fitness. You wake up and choose from a wide selection of breakfast dishes. Close the door and walk without ever going back. As you near your destination the directions to your overnight stay have a written description, a map and a photo, and are kept in a waterproof clear plastic pouch. You can dawdle the last mile, soaking up the last of the days sunshine, or rush on, soaked, to be welcomed with a cup of tea, sometimes home-made cake, a beer if your lucky, but always a lovely bed and a decent shower and your bags.

Mickledore Travel by Spike, 24 Sep 2014
Holiday Rating:

Fantastic relaxing holiday

Great holiday. I would recommend The South Downs Walk to seasoned walkers and the occasional walker its brilliant.

Great holiday. I would recommend The South Downs Walk to seasoned walkers and the occasional walker its brilliant.

Rating for tour operator:

Mickledore was fanastic they did everything to a high standard very proffesional. We would use again. The package was planned to a standard that were used to. Having done a lot of long distance walks they are very good at the organizational side of walking holidays. Great Great Great.

Mickledore Travel by Betsy Bell , 22 Sep 2014
Holiday Rating:

loved the places we stayed in, the accommodation were comfortable and easy to find. our luggage was always ready for us. the food in each place was excellent and varied.

My friend and I hiked a relatively unused path called lady Anne's Way using a book written for a 6-9 day walk. I felt the need to create my own daily trip description and spent a lot of time doing that. We had daily challenges with route finding which other people might not enjoy. I would recommend this walk only for the flexible and adventurous. We loved walking through history and carried Great Northern Lady, a book about Lady Anne's live.

My friend and I hiked a relatively unused path called lady Anne's Way using a book written for a 6-9 day walk. I felt the need to create my own daily trip description and spent a lot of time doing that. We had daily challenges with route finding which other people might not enjoy. I would recommend this walk only for the flexible and adventurous. We loved walking through history and carried Great Northern Lady, a book about Lady Anne's live.

Rating for tour operator:

We had no leader. It was a self guided tour.

Mickledore Travel by Steve, 22 Sep 2014
Holiday Rating:

Our coast to coast was well prepared and the lodgings were first rate.

I walked the coast to coast path with my two brothers, a nephew and a friend. We had a wonderful time. Mickledore did an excellent job preparing the reservations for all of the B & B's along the way. Each of the B & B's owners was very hospitable and provided extra help as needed. In short, I would use Mickledore for my next walking vacation and would highly recommend them to anyone.

I walked the coast to coast path with my two brothers, a nephew and a friend. We had a wonderful time. Mickledore did an excellent job preparing the reservations for all of the B & B's along the way. Each of the B & B's owners was very hospitable and provided extra help as needed. In short, I would use Mickledore for my next walking vacation and would highly recommend them to anyone.

Rating for tour operator:

There were no problems with any of the reservations and each of the B & B's was very nice and expecting our arrival. The breakfasts and lunches were very good and plentiful. We were quite satisfied.