AITO: The Association of Independent Tour Operators
Mickledore Travel

Mickledore Travel Traveller Reviews

Reviews of Mickledore Travel

Overall Company Rating
99%
Excellent 575
Good 19
Average 0
Poor 0
Terrible 0
Reviews Submitted: 594
Reviews Accepted: 594
Reviews Rejected: 0
594 reviews
Sort by:
Mickledore Travel by Jim, 14 Aug 2014
Holiday Rating:

Walking the Coast-to-Coast Walk

A very enjoyable and well-executed trip that included a good range of B&B accommodation along with recommendations for restaurants and bars.

A very enjoyable and well-executed trip that included a good range of B&B accommodation along with recommendations for restaurants and bars.

Rating for tour operator:

Mostly completed online.

Mickledore Travel by novice walker, 14 Aug 2014
Holiday Rating:

Walking Hadrians Wall

It was well organised, everything went to plan

It was well organised, everything went to plan

Rating for tour operator:

Mickledore provided everything we needed in the way of maps guide books & general information to make our trip a success.

Mickledore Travel by claudine, 8 Aug 2014
Holiday Rating:

Wonderful !

I spent three wonderful days in the English countryside. There is no words to describe the beauty of the scenery. It's wild and peaceful, the colours are bright, it's like the green of the grass and trees is greener, an enhanced green everywhere. I walked under sunny or slightly overcast skies, not a drop of water for three days and when I left for the airport, another sunny day was announced. My only regret is to have stayed there only three ...

I spent three wonderful days in the English countryside. There is no words to describe the beauty of the scenery. It's wild and peaceful, the colours are bright, it's like the green of the grass and trees is greener, an enhanced green everywhere. I walked under sunny or slightly overcast skies, not a drop of water for three days and when I left for the airport, another sunny day was announced. My only regret is to have stayed there only three days and I plan to come back very soon but for longer stays, because North England, and probably all the rest of England offers what you need for a great holiday: terrific landscapes, nice and welcoming people everywhere, delicious food, and so much more. It regenarates you, body and soul, plain and simple.

Rating for tour operator:

The reason this holiday as been a success is also the result of great preparation. Mickledore travel organised the whole trip for me, booked the best accommodations, with comfy ensuite bedrooms and the nicest hosts ever. They know the country, and for a foreigner, there is nothing better than having a local tour operator organising it. It's not just about the Bed and Breakfast they chose because they know first-hand of their quality, it's the luggage being carried by car from a stop to another stop, so the walk would be only about pleasure, it's also about knowing the walk very well to plan a feasible mileage per day. I met a walker who organised the thing by himself but didn't know enough about the walk ; he ended up walking way too many hours on the most difficult part of the walk and said at this point, he had no pleasure anymore, it was only painful. That's something that, I believe now I tried it, couldn't happen with Michledore travel people checking those very important details. They propose many different walks all over England, Wales and Scotland, and after this first success, I intend to keep using their very effective services.

Mickledore Travel by Bob, 8 Aug 2014
Holiday Rating:

The western portion of the C2C, a strenuous but thoroughly exhilarating holiday!

Our three-member group hiked the St. Bee's to Kirkby Stephen section of the Coast to Coast Path. Never having hiked for six days in a row, and never having been in the Lake District before, we didn't quite know what to expect. Despite occasional blisters we came through our experience with an appreciation for the Lake District and the people who live there that only trekking the long miles is likely to provide. In addition, staying in B and ...

Our three-member group hiked the St. Bee's to Kirkby Stephen section of the Coast to Coast Path. Never having hiked for six days in a row, and never having been in the Lake District before, we didn't quite know what to expect. Despite occasional blisters we came through our experience with an appreciation for the Lake District and the people who live there that only trekking the long miles is likely to provide. In addition, staying in B and B's was a great way to lighten (literally) our load along the way, and the excellent work of Mickledore in arranging our lodgings made our trip preparations much less demanding. We are looking forward to completing our Coast to Coast walk as soon as possible.

Rating for tour operator:

Mickledore's work in arranging our lodgings and providing information about our hike was excellent. They were extremely responsive to all questions we asked via emails in the months leading up to our walking holiday. We would not hesitate to use their services again!

Mickledore Travel by imcpu2, 8 Aug 2014
Holiday Rating:

Very Memorable experience

My first walking holiday ever. I have wanted to do this for years, and a friend offered to go along with me. I could not believe how enjoyable, and interesting the whole week was. In fact I would have been happy to stay longer. Some of the walks were quite difficult due to the terrain, and walking paths that had not been used for a while - this was especially noticable by the river banks which were quite overgrown with nettles and thistles...

My first walking holiday ever. I have wanted to do this for years, and a friend offered to go along with me. I could not believe how enjoyable, and interesting the whole week was. In fact I would have been happy to stay longer. Some of the walks were quite difficult due to the terrain, and walking paths that had not been used for a while - this was especially noticable by the river banks which were quite overgrown with nettles and thistles. The map guides were quite good, but could be a bit out of date. Some of the fields had multiple gates, and finding the correct one was sometimes difficult but we managed. The accomodation at the end of each day were varied and all good, but some were excellent and some just ok. All provided a good hearty breakfast and packed lunch. On the whole I would recommend this to anyone of reasonable good health and interest in the countryside. I loved it.

Rating for tour operator:

Mickledore arranged everything and when contacted were quick and courteous in there response. Would use them again.

Mickledore Travel by Crusher, 7 Aug 2014
Holiday Rating:

Carefree walking on St Oswalds Way in Northumberland

In July of this year I walked the St.Oswald's Way in Northumberland. It was a trek of about 97 miles starting on Holy Island, down the Northumberland coast to the beautiful town of Warkworth with its fantastic castle and then turning West towards, and joining up with, the Hadrian's Wall. Having used the services of Mickledor when I walked the coast to coast in 2012 I had no hesitation in contacting them again. It was clear from the tracks and ...

In July of this year I walked the St.Oswald's Way in Northumberland. It was a trek of about 97 miles starting on Holy Island, down the Northumberland coast to the beautiful town of Warkworth with its fantastic castle and then turning West towards, and joining up with, the Hadrian's Wall. Having used the services of Mickledor when I walked the coast to coast in 2012 I had no hesitation in contacting them again. It was clear from the tracks and paths that the St Oswald's Way was not walked as often as the coast to coast which made it all the more enjoyable for me. At times the tracks were covered by vegetation and the ground could not be seen. The guidebook did its job and I only had a couple of navigational issues over the entire 97 miles. It was a fabulous walk in as much as the weather was varied, the accommodation was very good and the walking was outstanding. Unless you have walked in Northumbria, seen the rugged coastline, trekked the Northumberland moors, seen the historical ruins, the wildlife and met the people you would never experience the beauty of one of the UK's biggest counties with one of the smallest populations. I am 69 year old man and a solo walker and it was a wonderful experience for me. It was also very comforting to have the support of Mickledore and knowing that help, if I needed it, was only a phone call away. I am already thinking about what to do next year for my seventieth birthday

Rating for tour operator:

Mickledore are a customer service facing company that understand the needs of their customers. I used them in 2012 when I walked the Coast to Coast Walk across England from West to East. In that journey, and the one I have just undertaken, I had some very specific needs all of which they satisfied very well. They are responsive to questions and quick to resolve any issues. Friendly voices on the telephone are rare these days but it is guaranteed when you speak to Mickledore. Not only would I use them again but I have, and will continue, to recommend them to friends and fellow walkers

Mickledore Travel by MIBAS3, 6 Aug 2014
Holiday Rating:

Fantastic relaxing walking holidays in the South Downs from Winchester to Eastbourne

We were lucky with the weather. In 2 weeks time we just got a few drops of rain ... what do you need more to have fantastic holidays ? Beautiful landscapes all day long, good sign-posted walking paths, excellent B&B's, hospitable people, nice and interesting villages and cities, tasty dinners , etc. That's what we all experienced ! We walked an average distance of 20 km (12,5 miles) every day, but the grade was easy to moderate. Every day we ...

We were lucky with the weather. In 2 weeks time we just got a few drops of rain ... what do you need more to have fantastic holidays ? Beautiful landscapes all day long, good sign-posted walking paths, excellent B&B's, hospitable people, nice and interesting villages and cities, tasty dinners , etc. That's what we all experienced ! We walked an average distance of 20 km (12,5 miles) every day, but the grade was easy to moderate. Every day we had to overcome at least 2 steep slopes, but this was no problem, because the views on the top were spendid ! We keep also good souvenirs from historical Winchester, fairy-like Amberley, medieval Arundel, pleasant Alfriston and seaside town Eastbourne with its cosy atmosphere.

Rating for tour operator:

This was our second walking holiday we booked with Mickledore Travel. Our first booking was the Cumbria Way, and as this was a very convincing experience we didn't doubt to book now for the South Downs Way... We only can strongly recommend you to travel your walking holidays with agent MICKLEDORE TRAVEL, our experience was twice so fantastic... every detail is so well organized ! The quality of selected B&B's is very high, the information about the walking trail is complete with guide-book, map, POI's and a lot of interesting addresses, the transport of luggage never failed, the correspondence by mail is very fast and accurate, and if a problem still occurs, a solution is found immediately !

Mickledore Travel by Legovable, 6 Aug 2014
Holiday Rating:

Well organised,

We walked the Cumbria way, and the South Downs way. Both with great pleasure and joy. Perfect B&B's and our luggage was always on time :-)

We walked the Cumbria way, and the South Downs way. Both with great pleasure and joy. Perfect B&B's and our luggage was always on time :-)

Rating for tour operator:

Mickledore is always quick in ansewring my questions, and they do what they promiss to do

Mickledore Travel by GODFREY47, 6 Aug 2014
Holiday Rating:

St Cuthberts Way

4 DAY WALKING HOLIDAY FOLLOWING ST CUTHBERTS WAY FROM MELROSE IN SCOTLAND TO HOLY ISLAND [ LINDISFARNE] IN NORTHUMBRIA. STAYING OVERNIGHT IN B&B'S BOOKED BY MICKLEDORE AND EATING AT PLACES THEY RECOMMENDED.ALL B&B'S WERE ABOVE AVERAGE AND ONE, MILLYARD HOUSE IN WOOLER WAS EXCELLENT.WOULD ALSO RECOMMEND MILAN RESTAURANT IN WOOLER.THE DISTANCE FOR THE WALK WAS 64 MILES.

4 DAY WALKING HOLIDAY FOLLOWING ST CUTHBERTS WAY FROM MELROSE IN SCOTLAND TO HOLY ISLAND [ LINDISFARNE] IN NORTHUMBRIA. STAYING OVERNIGHT IN B&B'S BOOKED BY MICKLEDORE AND EATING AT PLACES THEY RECOMMENDED.ALL B&B'S WERE ABOVE AVERAGE AND ONE, MILLYARD HOUSE IN WOOLER WAS EXCELLENT.WOULD ALSO RECOMMEND MILAN RESTAURANT IN WOOLER.THE DISTANCE FOR THE WALK WAS 64 MILES.

Rating for tour operator:

MICKLEDORE ORGANISE WALKING HOLIDAYS IN THE UK BOTH FOR GROUPS AND SOLO WALKERS.I CHOSE THEIR BASIC PACKAGE OF PRE BOOKED ACCOMMODATION IN B&B'S BUT THEY ALSO OFFER LUGGAGE TRANSPORT AND PACKED LUNCHES AS ADD-ONS AS WELL AS FLEXIBLE ITINERARIES DEPENDING ON HOW MANY DAYS YOU WISH TO COMPLETE THE WALK.THEY PROVIDED ME WITH A VERY COMPREHENSIVE PACKAGE OF INFORMATION INCLUDING MAPS,PLACES TO EAT AND TIDE TIMES FOR HOLY ISLAND.

Mickledore Travel by Feldis, 28 Jul 2014
Holiday Rating:

Just what we hoped for and more!

We walked the Hadrian's Wall, and thanks to Mickledore's excellent arrangements we had a wonderful carefree time.

We walked the Hadrian's Wall, and thanks to Mickledore's excellent arrangements we had a wonderful carefree time.

Rating for tour operator:

Their arrangements, choice of accommodation and the way they communicated with us while arrangeing the holiday were excellent.