AITO: The Association of Independent Tour Operators
Mickledore Travel

Mickledore Travel Traveller Reviews

Reviews of Mickledore Travel

Overall Company Rating
99%
Excellent 607
Good 19
Average 0
Poor 0
Terrible 0
Reviews Submitted: 626
Reviews Accepted: 626
Reviews Rejected: 0
626 reviews
Sort by:
Mickledore Travel by Nick East to west, 22 Apr 2015
Holiday Rating:

Mickeldore Walking Hadrian's wall

5 nights and 4 days walking Hadrian's wall. Staying at B&B with luggage Transfer. All worked accirding to plan. Next time might do West to East as wind in the wrong direction.

5 nights and 4 days walking Hadrian's wall. Staying at B&B with luggage Transfer. All worked accirding to plan. Next time might do West to East as wind in the wrong direction.

Rating for tour operator:

Helpful. Good directions and notes to help us enjoy our holiday and find what we wanted. All link ups with taxi's etc worked.

Mickledore Travel by Happy Walker, 1 Feb 2015
Holiday Rating:

We had a marvelous walking trip, all went remarkably smoothly and we are considering doing it again!

We did 4/5th of St. Cuthbert Way last summer. We found the accommodations and all other arrangements superb. Best of all was the walk itself, unsurpasseable. We will do it again!

We did 4/5th of St. Cuthbert Way last summer. We found the accommodations and all other arrangements superb. Best of all was the walk itself, unsurpasseable. We will do it again!

Rating for tour operator:

Cordial, professional and reliable.

Mickledore Travel by Sue, 7 Dec 2014
Holiday Rating:

Exhilarating

This was a much anticipated and longed for walking tour. My husband and I did the self-guided UK Hadrian's Wall walk with Mickledore Travel in September and it so exceeded our expectations. The weather was great and the combination of fascinating history and beautiful varied scenery just made it such a memorable week. I think also that the people we met each day walking, the great pubs and the warmth and friendliness of the host at night really ...

This was a much anticipated and longed for walking tour. My husband and I did the self-guided UK Hadrian's Wall walk with Mickledore Travel in September and it so exceeded our expectations. The weather was great and the combination of fascinating history and beautiful varied scenery just made it such a memorable week. I think also that the people we met each day walking, the great pubs and the warmth and friendliness of the host at night really made for a special holiday.

Rating for tour operator:

This was our first organised walking holiday with a company and from our first on line enquiry to Mickledore to our last day walking, every aspect was done efficiently, thoroughly and professionally. It was great value and the accommodation was very comfortable and clean. We will definitely book again with this company.

Mickledore Travel by Chris and Helen, 24 Nov 2014
Holiday Rating:

UK Coast to coast

The coast to coast (c2c) path is 300 km long (more if one gets lost a few times) and passes through three national parks and just about every type of terrain and environment that one can imagine. Some parts are quite challenging. The trip is offered in increments from 9 to 17 days. At our later stage in life, and still testing two new hip replacements, we opted for the maximum duration, with another three rest days thrown in for good measure...

The coast to coast (c2c) path is 300 km long (more if one gets lost a few times) and passes through three national parks and just about every type of terrain and environment that one can imagine. Some parts are quite challenging. The trip is offered in increments from 9 to 17 days. At our later stage in life, and still testing two new hip replacements, we opted for the maximum duration, with another three rest days thrown in for good measure. We walked at the end of the season, but still encountered several interesting fellow end-to-enders. The weather cooperated - we had only two days of rain. It was a truly memorable experience.

Rating for tour operator:

Mickledore booked our b&bs and took care of transporting luggage each day. We had very comfortable accommodation, all with en suite, and really welcoming hosts. We were provided with a guide book and comprehensive maps, and all the documentation one could need regarding places to eat, points of interest along the way, and means of reaching St. Bees and leaving Robin Hood Bay. All correspondence was prompt and efficient. We couldn't have asked for more.

Mickledore Travel by Kay, Gold Coast, Australia, 22 Nov 2014
Holiday Rating:

A wonderful, well organised holiday staying at great places with friendly hosts

We walked the Coast to Coast path in September 2014 and had the most amazing time. It was challenging and fun and the scenery changed from the dramatic Lake District National Park to the Yorkshire Dales and Yorkshire Moors. From the sea to the flat farmlands to rolling green hills; each day was an interesting discovery of the beautiful English countryside. We met wonderful people on the way and have made life long friends. Everyone talked about ...

We walked the Coast to Coast path in September 2014 and had the most amazing time. It was challenging and fun and the scenery changed from the dramatic Lake District National Park to the Yorkshire Dales and Yorkshire Moors. From the sea to the flat farmlands to rolling green hills; each day was an interesting discovery of the beautiful English countryside. We met wonderful people on the way and have made life long friends. Everyone talked about Alfred Wainwright, that most wonderful man who established the Coast to Coast route. What he has done for the national economy is a feat in itself. I can truly say that a walking holiday is a must for everyone and is good for the soul. We can't wait to come back and walk the Cotswold Way and the South Downs Way in 2015 and will be booking with Mickledore Travel. It's a long way to go for a walk from Australia, but it's worth it.

Rating for tour operator:

We had the most amazing holiday walking the Coast to Coast route organised by Mickledore Travel. The hosts were friendly and knowledgeable and couldn't do enough to assist us and make us feel welcome. The accommodation was excellent and the hosts talked highly of Mickledore Travel as a tour operator. Some companies block book without making firm arrangements but Mickledore Travel makes the booking and confirms all the arrangements so there is peace of mind. The guide book, maps and information provided was very comprehensive. They thought of everything from bus and train timetables to places to eat, where to shop, banks and telephones. We can't wait to come back and walk the Cotswold Way and the South Downs Way in 2015 with Mickledore Travel.

Mickledore Travel by VickiD, 29 Oct 2014
Holiday Rating:

3 day walk in the Lake District

A fantastic experience. Walking in the Lake District, we traversed a great variety of terrain - round the lakes, across farms, up and over the mountains. Some relatively challenging days for 3 60+, fit, but inexperienced walkers. Stayed in excellent, and varied, accommodation. Loved every minute of it.

A fantastic experience. Walking in the Lake District, we traversed a great variety of terrain - round the lakes, across farms, up and over the mountains. Some relatively challenging days for 3 60+, fit, but inexperienced walkers. Stayed in excellent, and varied, accommodation. Loved every minute of it.

Rating for tour operator:

The organisation of the walk, our accommodation and transfer of our luggage by Mickeldore Travel was executed perfectly. All planned for us in Australia, all our documents arrived in plenty of time - a super company to deal with.

Mickledore Travel responded to this review on 30 Oct 2014:

Hi Vicki
Thanks for your kind words - we're pleased you enjoyed the holiday!

Mickledore Travel by Sidney Lad, 24 Oct 2014
Holiday Rating:

Our C2C hike was one of the peak experiences of our lives. Mickledore Travel provided great service and made for a great vacation

We spent 20 days on a hiking trip from St Bees on the coast of Cumbria to Robin Hoods Bay in East Yorkshire. We were following Wainwright's Coast to Coast route through the Lake District, the Yorkshire Dales, the Vale of Mowbray, and across the North Yorkshire Moors to the coast.

We spent 20 days on a hiking trip from St Bees on the coast of Cumbria to Robin Hoods Bay in East Yorkshire. We were following Wainwright's Coast to Coast route through the Lake District, the Yorkshire Dales, the Vale of Mowbray, and across the North Yorkshire Moors to the coast.

Rating for tour operator:

We hiked from St Bees to Robin Hoods Bay and used Mickledore to book our accommodation, arrange for packed lunches, and carry our big bags so that we only had day packs. We took 17 days of hiking days with two rest days along the way. All of the B and Bs that Mickledore booked for us ranged from very good quality to superb. Mickledore provide first rate service and made our vacation a seamless and thoroughly enjoyable experience.

Mickledore Travel by Peacemaker, 16 Oct 2014
Holiday Rating:

Great glen, great walk

OK, so the weather was somewhat un-Scottish - one minute (honest!) of rain in six days walking - but this was a delight, only one B&B (of seven) perhaps being slightly below par. Easy overall, compared say to the Coast to Coast, but the addition of new 'high route' alternatives on the days from Fort Augustus and Invermoriston provided some more challenging sections, as well as improving the views and variety respectively. Now for the West ...

OK, so the weather was somewhat un-Scottish - one minute (honest!) of rain in six days walking - but this was a delight, only one B&B (of seven) perhaps being slightly below par. Easy overall, compared say to the Coast to Coast, but the addition of new 'high route' alternatives on the days from Fort Augustus and Invermoriston provided some more challenging sections, as well as improving the views and variety respectively. Now for the West Highland Way.....

Rating for tour operator:

I chose Mickledore as offering not the cheapest but the most comprehensive package, ie including packed lunches, guidebooks & maps etc, so that I was left with as little extra to do as possible, and could simply enjoy the scenery, the walking and the overnight stops to the full.

Mickledore Travel by Sam from Australia, 15 Oct 2014
Holiday Rating:

Excellent Holiday in Every Respect

In summary: Great accommodation, great food and wonderful experience.

In summary: Great accommodation, great food and wonderful experience.

Rating for tour operator:

Excellent service at every stage in the process. I'm especially impressed with the attention to detail.

Mickledore Travel by John57, 15 Oct 2014
Holiday Rating:

Very well organised

Walking Holiday on the south wales coast, Summer 2014. We ahev used this company before and always been happy with their package.

Walking Holiday on the south wales coast, Summer 2014. We ahev used this company before and always been happy with their package.

Rating for tour operator:

Always very helpful.