AITO: The Association of Independent Tour Operators
McKinlay Kidd

McKinlay Kidd Traveller Reviews

Reviews of McKinlay Kidd

Overall Company Rating
100%
Excellent 899
Good 11
Average 0
Poor 4
Terrible 0
Reviews Submitted: 914
Reviews Accepted: 913
Reviews Rejected: 1
913 reviews
Sort by:
Journey through Western Isles by AliJack, 4 Jun 2016
Holiday Rating:

journey through the Western Isles

All arrangements made by McKinlay Kidd were fantastic. They booked us the best possible accommodation on each island, took our personal requests into account and provided loads of information to help us make the most of every aspect of our holiday.

All arrangements made by McKinlay Kidd were fantastic. They booked us the best possible accommodation on each island, took our personal requests into account and provided loads of information to help us make the most of every aspect of our holiday.

Rating for tour operator:

See above

McKinlay Kidd responded to this review on 06 Jun 2016:

Many thanks for your kind comments Alison.

McKinlay Kidd by Gerrie, 3 Jun 2016
Holiday Rating:

Spectacular scenery, fantastic food and, thanks to our tour operator and unusually good weather, a wonderful experience overall.

We wanted to travel on the Wild Atlantic Way and started at Tahilla Cove which is near Kenmare and has lovely views of lakes and mountains. Our next stop was Lahinch, in a beautiful hotel set on a headland just outside the town, overlooking the Atlantic Ocean. Our last stop was Clifden in Connemara, again with beautiful views of mountains and lakes. The scenery was spectacular, the weather was, luckily, great and the overall experience ...

We wanted to travel on the Wild Atlantic Way and started at Tahilla Cove which is near Kenmare and has lovely views of lakes and mountains. Our next stop was Lahinch, in a beautiful hotel set on a headland just outside the town, overlooking the Atlantic Ocean. Our last stop was Clifden in Connemara, again with beautiful views of mountains and lakes. The scenery was spectacular, the weather was, luckily, great and the overall experience was what I hoped it would be.

Rating for tour operator:

From the time I first contacted the company they were so helpful. They set up a tailor made itinerary for us which was exactly what I would have chosen myself. The information pack they sent us was very comprehensive with regard to the hotels they chose, the places of interest to visit at each location and general information they thought might be of help to us. We were even upgraded for an issue of which we were unaware to a lovely hotel. Whilst away, we celebrated our 46th wedding anniversary and they mentioned this to the hotel who provided some little treats for us. I cannot speak highly enough of their professionalism and would definitely recommend them to my friends. I hope to use their services when I next visit Ireland.

Mull Wildlife Experience by Baggins, 2 Jun 2016
Holiday Rating:

Wildlife Experience on the Isle of Mull

We spent 8 days on Mull and during that time did three all day wildlife trips which were all very well organised and which resulted in some really great sightings of eagles, dolphins, puffins, minke whale and loads of birds. Our accommodation was very comfortable and all arrangements went extremely well.

We spent 8 days on Mull and during that time did three all day wildlife trips which were all very well organised and which resulted in some really great sightings of eagles, dolphins, puffins, minke whale and loads of birds. Our accommodation was very comfortable and all arrangements went extremely well.

Rating for tour operator:

Very helpful and efficient, good information provided and all arrangements went without hitch.

Giants, Saints & Titanic by Daddysand, 2 Jun 2016
Holiday Rating:

A well organised tour of Northern Ireland and Co.Donegal.

A four centre self drive holiday to the north of Ireland using four venues in eleven days.

A four centre self drive holiday to the north of Ireland using four venues in eleven days.

Rating for tour operator:

McKinlay Kidd put together a bespoke package which fully met our needs.

McKinlay Kidd responded to this review on 09 Jun 2016:

We were delighted to hear that you all enjoyed the trip, and thank you very much for posting this review.

Outer Hebrides Fly-drive by G and T, 1 Jun 2016
Holiday Rating:

Magical trip to the outer hebrides

Just returned from the Outer Hebrides following a ten day adventure from Barra ending in Stornoway. Fantastic time, beautiful scenery and excellent accommodation with wonderful Scotish welcome. The trip to St Kilda was the high spot and not to be missed weather permitting

Just returned from the Outer Hebrides following a ten day adventure from Barra ending in Stornoway. Fantastic time, beautiful scenery and excellent accommodation with wonderful Scotish welcome. The trip to St Kilda was the high spot and not to be missed weather permitting

Rating for tour operator:

Mc Kinlay Kidd were exceptional and always at hand to help if the Scotish weather tried to be unhelpful. Great planning and an excellent choice of accommodation and helpful holiday trips and adventures.

McKinlay Kidd responded to this review on 01 Jun 2016:

Thank you very much indeed for your kind comments. We are delighted you enjoyed the exploration of a rather wonderful part of these islands.

Outer Hebrides Fly-drive by Alison, 1 Jun 2016
Holiday Rating:

Fly drive Outer Hebrides

I would recommend this trip to anyone whom likes history, scenery and multi season weather. Accommodation as organised was great and we were greeted each day as friends. The area has so much diversity to offer. Of course landing on Barra Beach is a real buzz. Had a good otter viewing and saw lots of seals.

I would recommend this trip to anyone whom likes history, scenery and multi season weather. Accommodation as organised was great and we were greeted each day as friends. The area has so much diversity to offer. Of course landing on Barra Beach is a real buzz. Had a good otter viewing and saw lots of seals.

Rating for tour operator:

The team are incredibly well organised and offer a very professional service.

McKinlay Kidd responded to this review on 01 Jun 2016:

Thank you Alison for your very kind feedback. Delighted to read of your experiences.

Classic Round Scotland by Train by pennie and chaps, 30 May 2016
Holiday Rating:

Scotland by rail - a great experience.

We had always wanted to travel around Scotland by train so that we could take in the scenery. The holiday arranged by McKinlay Kidd seemed to fit our ideas and we were very pleased with the whole trip. The hotels/ guest houses were excellent and all made us very welcome and relaxed. The food was superb wherever we stayed. We had taken a wheelchair for use by one of the party when she was tired and everyone was extremely helpful. The attention ...

We had always wanted to travel around Scotland by train so that we could take in the scenery. The holiday arranged by McKinlay Kidd seemed to fit our ideas and we were very pleased with the whole trip. The hotels/ guest houses were excellent and all made us very welcome and relaxed. The food was superb wherever we stayed. We had taken a wheelchair for use by one of the party when she was tired and everyone was extremely helpful. The attention to detail on our itinerary provided by Hamish at McKinlay Kidd was excellent, and included assistance at the train stations which he had organised. Our itinerary took in Spean Bridge, Skye (via the Jacobite steam train from Fort William to Mallaig), Inverness, and Pitlochry.

Rating for tour operator:

McKinlay Kidd were excellent. Hamish was very helpful. We were most impressed that a Mckinlay Kidd visit all of the accommodation that they recommend.

McKinlay Kidd responded to this review on 31 May 2016:

It was a pleasure to arrange this for you Pennie and we are delighted that you both enjoyed the experience so much.

West Highland Line to Skye by Traveller, 28 May 2016
Holiday Rating:

Excellent

A very enjoyable experience with first class travel arrangements and excellent hotlas

A very enjoyable experience with first class travel arrangements and excellent hotlas

Rating for tour operator:

Extremely efficient and very pleasant to deal with

McKinlay Kidd responded to this review on 30 May 2016:

Thank you for your very kind comments. We are delighted you enjoyed the trip.

Orkney & Shetland Self-drive by Bill W, 28 May 2016
Holiday Rating:

Orkney and Shetland - a delightful taster

4 days on Orkney, 4 days on Sheltland, with fascinating archaeology, great scenery, abundant birdlife and two charming, high quality hotels.

4 days on Orkney, 4 days on Sheltland, with fascinating archaeology, great scenery, abundant birdlife and two charming, high quality hotels.

Rating for tour operator:

Most helpful, taking trouble to create a bespoke package for us. The accommodaion was well chosen, all the flight and car-hire dove-tailed nicely, and we had agreat time.

McKinlay Kidd responded to this review on 30 May 2016:

Thank you very much for your feedback. These are indeed two very different, but equally special parts of the British Isles, and we are delighted your holiday there was such a success

McKinlay Kidd by scotch andrew, 28 May 2016
Holiday Rating:

Great driving holiday in the North of Scotland.

Picked up a car in Inverness and drove around North Scotland, starting on the East Coast and finishing on the West. Marvellous, varied scenery, exciting weather , nice people, good food. Well-positioned, comfortable accommodation. All organised by McKinlay Kidd.

Picked up a car in Inverness and drove around North Scotland, starting on the East Coast and finishing on the West. Marvellous, varied scenery, exciting weather , nice people, good food. Well-positioned, comfortable accommodation. All organised by McKinlay Kidd.

Rating for tour operator:

A friend in London, (we are from Australia) suggested the North Coast 500 trip and recommended McKinlay Kidd, through whom they had previously done a trip through the West Scottish Isles. They organised a great trip for us; there were no hiccups.

McKinlay Kidd responded to this review on 30 May 2016:

Many thanks indeed for your feedback. The North Coast 500 route is a new initiative and a wonderful way to see some of the more remote parts of Scotland. We are delighted it was such a successful trip for you.