AITO: The Association of Independent Tour Operators
McKinlay Kidd

McKinlay Kidd Traveller Reviews

Reviews of McKinlay Kidd

Overall Company Rating
100%
Excellent 895
Good 11
Average 0
Poor 4
Terrible 0
Reviews Submitted: 910
Reviews Accepted: 909
Reviews Rejected: 1
909 reviews
Sort by:
West Highland Line Experience by Smorgan, 22 May 2016
Holiday Rating:

Excellent holiday in a beautiful part of the uk

My Mother and I recently took a 3 day break to the Scottish Highlands to take the Jacobite train trip from Fort Wiliam to Mallaig. My mother finds walking difficult so I had arranged assistance for her. Mackinnley Kidd arranged everything for us so all we had to do was turn up! Everything was of such a high standard and everyone so helpful and kind to my Mother particularly. The hotel was more than first class . The whole experience was wonderful ...

My Mother and I recently took a 3 day break to the Scottish Highlands to take the Jacobite train trip from Fort Wiliam to Mallaig. My mother finds walking difficult so I had arranged assistance for her. Mackinnley Kidd arranged everything for us so all we had to do was turn up! Everything was of such a high standard and everyone so helpful and kind to my Mother particularly. The hotel was more than first class . The whole experience was wonderful from start to finish.

Rating for tour operator:

The company seem to specialise in trips of this kind and it showed. I would definitely use them again.

McKinlay Kidd responded to this review on 22 May 2016:

We are all delighted that this trip was such a success, for both of you. Thank you for taking the time to post this review

Classic Round Scotland by Train by Burkes, 21 May 2016
Holiday Rating:

Excellent independent tour!

A tour of the Western Scottish Highlands by train and eliminating the need to rent a car. An outstanding itinerary taking advantage of small, historic hotels and highlighting the towns and communities of the Highlands.

A tour of the Western Scottish Highlands by train and eliminating the need to rent a car. An outstanding itinerary taking advantage of small, historic hotels and highlighting the towns and communities of the Highlands.

Rating for tour operator:

McKinlay Kidd provided detailed information for us to follow; made all of the transportation and lodging arrangements and even added another couple who wanted to join us on our tour. We have always planned all of our own travel and it was a true luxury to "leave the planning" to them. We couldn't have been happier with all of their selections and suggestions.

McKinlay Kidd responded to this review on 22 May 2016:

Thank you very much for your kind comments.

McKinlay Kidd by Jimbo, 20 May 2016
Holiday Rating:

'Bad' weather doesn't spoil a good holiday!

Well organised six days spending time on Mull and Iona. Managed to see puffins galore and many other great experiences - including the food! The hotels were particularly helpful as the weather was unseasonably cold (snow / blizzard) but 'nothing was too much trouble' and we felt cared for and had a great time despite.

Well organised six days spending time on Mull and Iona. Managed to see puffins galore and many other great experiences - including the food! The hotels were particularly helpful as the weather was unseasonably cold (snow / blizzard) but 'nothing was too much trouble' and we felt cared for and had a great time despite.

Rating for tour operator:

As always, thorough, professional and well organised. Small details are thought of and the suggested trips / visits were well worth seeking out.

McKinlay Kidd responded to this review on 21 May 2016:

Many thanks Jim, delighted you enjoyed the islands, despite the snow! Seeing puffins is a really special experience indeed.

West Highland Line Experience by Ming, 20 May 2016
Holiday Rating:

The West Highland Line Experience

This was a brief time out from a busy schedule, mixing activity with rest. It was planned for me down to the last detail, and everything just fitted into place. First class hotel accommodation at The Old Pines, Spean Bridge. The attention of the Proprietor, Ken, and his staff, was exceptional. Booking an extra night on to the original was a good decision by me.

This was a brief time out from a busy schedule, mixing activity with rest. It was planned for me down to the last detail, and everything just fitted into place. First class hotel accommodation at The Old Pines, Spean Bridge. The attention of the Proprietor, Ken, and his staff, was exceptional. Booking an extra night on to the original was a good decision by me.

Rating for tour operator:

McKinlay Kidd, Glasgow, were friendly, helpful and efficient. They took all the stress out of booking the different trains as well as the accommodation. It all went like clockwork, and they are obviously very knowledgeable.

McKinlay Kidd responded to this review on 21 May 2016:

Many thanks for all your comments. We are delighted you enjoyed you holiday and hope we can help with a future arrangement.

McKinlay Kidd by claymore rico, 10 May 2016
Holiday Rating:

Second absolutely fabulous MKK bespeak tour of Scotland. Wouldn't even consider doing it otherwise.

This tour comprised Edinburgh, Orkney, and the North East. Absolutely fantasist. (Our first w/ MKK was primarily in the Hebrides.) These people are genuine professionals in the arrangement of bespoke tours.

This tour comprised Edinburgh, Orkney, and the North East. Absolutely fantasist. (Our first w/ MKK was primarily in the Hebrides.) These people are genuine professionals in the arrangement of bespoke tours.

Rating for tour operator:

MKK are genuine professionals of the highest order. We would not consider another visit with any but MKK arranging it.

McKinlay Kidd responded to this review on 10 May 2016:

Thank you very much indeed Fred. It was indeed a pleasure to welcome you and the family back to Scotland.

Classic Round Scotland by Train by Sharmistha, 7 May 2016
Holiday Rating:

A truly pleasurable trip

Scotland lived up to its reputation. The highlands, the impressive landscapes, the beautiful little nooks and spots in the interiors as well as the cities of Glasgow and Edinburgh helped me and my daughter escape our daily grind and wander in bliss.

Scotland lived up to its reputation. The highlands, the impressive landscapes, the beautiful little nooks and spots in the interiors as well as the cities of Glasgow and Edinburgh helped me and my daughter escape our daily grind and wander in bliss.

Rating for tour operator:

absolutely a pleasure to deal with, this team has helped me enhance my experience - their attention to small details, their selection of properties and destinations especially within the highlands and Robert's tips for exploring each place was hugely helpful. As an experienced traveller, I will definitely recommend them to anyone who would like to explore North of England differently. Thank you very much.

McKinlay Kidd responded to this review on 09 May 2016:

Thank you very much Sharmistha. We are delighted that you both enjoyed your exploration of Scotland.

McKinlay Kidd by smongee, 28 Apr 2016
Holiday Rating:

Car Club Weekend

A short break to Ullapool and environs. It was absolutely delightful with excellent hotel and lovely tour.

A short break to Ullapool and environs. It was absolutely delightful with excellent hotel and lovely tour.

Rating for tour operator:

McKinlay Kidd organised a super holiday for us. Hotel was excellent, food was delicious, and the staff really friendly. Couldn't have asked for more.

McKinlay Kidd responded to this review on 28 Apr 2016:

Thank you for your kind comments Simon. This is one of our favourite parts of Scotland.

McKinlay Kidd by NKW, 13 Dec 2015
Holiday Rating:

Circling the Cairngorms National park

Scenic routes, ruined castles and excellent food and whiskey!!!

Scenic routes, ruined castles and excellent food and whiskey!!!

Rating for tour operator:

Friendly, helpful, fkexible and personal approach. Very good accomodation choices and travel suggestions.

McKinlay Kidd responded to this review on 13 Dec 2015:

We are really pleased to hear that you both enjoyed this tailormade self-drive tour.

Cork to Connemara by MRWSGW, 20 Oct 2015
Holiday Rating:

Another fabulous trip with McKinlay Kidd

We traveled the western coast of Ireland -- The Wild Atlantic Way. We stayed in three different locations and saw as much of the coast as we could. It was wonderful.

We traveled the western coast of Ireland -- The Wild Atlantic Way. We stayed in three different locations and saw as much of the coast as we could. It was wonderful.

Rating for tour operator:

This was our second trip with McKinlay Kidd. Their level of customer service is off the charts. We would recommend them to anyone and definitely hope to travel with them again.

McKinlay Kidd responded to this review on 08 Nov 2015:

It is always a pleasure to receive such great feedback and we were delighted to look after your travel plans for a second time. Thank you for taking the time to write to us.

McKinlay Kidd by Ms E H 15, 8 Oct 2015
Holiday Rating:

Isles of Skye and Mull

We booked our four-day trip to Skye and Mull with McKinlay Kidd--hotels, ferry reservations, and car. We highly recommend them. Robert held our hands over the phone during some potential ferry problems due to rough weather. He contacted the ferry company directly and kept us posted. In the end, all was well, but we were so relieved to have someone to call who could figure out what was going on and report back. Both of our hotels--Eilean ...

We booked our four-day trip to Skye and Mull with McKinlay Kidd--hotels, ferry reservations, and car. We highly recommend them. Robert held our hands over the phone during some potential ferry problems due to rough weather. He contacted the ferry company directly and kept us posted. In the end, all was well, but we were so relieved to have someone to call who could figure out what was going on and report back. Both of our hotels--Eilean Iarmain on Skye and Tobermory Hotel on Mull--were terrific. On Skye, we were on the Sleat Peninsula with a lovely view of a small cove. The hotel pub food was excellent, and the service was friendly. On Mull, we were in the town on the harbor, welcomed by friendly staff who were very knowledgable about the history of Mull. The car routes provided were extremely useful, as was Robert's guide to favorite places. McKinlay Kidd also provides a good driving map of Scotland.

Rating for tour operator:

Very helpful from start to finish.

McKinlay Kidd responded to this review on 14 Oct 2015:

Thank you Ellen. Two special islands, but very different to each other indeed!