AITO: The Association of Independent Tour Operators
McKinlay Kidd

McKinlay Kidd Traveller Reviews

Reviews of McKinlay Kidd

Overall Company Rating
100%
Excellent 769
Good 9
Average 0
Poor 4
Terrible 0
Reviews Submitted: 782
Reviews Accepted: 781
Reviews Rejected: 1
781 reviews
Sort by:
McKinlay Kidd by Kate, 1 Jan 2023
Holiday Rating:

The very best holiday that I’ve ever had!

Seamless in every sense of the word! The weather was beautiful with sunn and, for me, warm days!

Seamless in every sense of the word! The weather was beautiful with sunn and, for me, warm days!

Rating for tour operator:

Trevor White with Scenic Ireland exceeded my expectations if excellence

Grand Tour of Scotland by Train by Pookie and Jim , 27 Nov 2022
Holiday Rating:

Grand Tour of Scotland by Train

It was absolutely perfect. Every location, every host or hostess, every accommodation, and every connection exceeded our expectations. It was it was choreographed by a master. We loved every minute of our time in Scotland and as I have said say over and over since we departed - our only regret is we discovered Plockton too late. 😊

It was absolutely perfect. Every location, every host or hostess, every accommodation, and every connection exceeded our expectations. It was it was choreographed by a master. We loved every minute of our time in Scotland and as I have said say over and over since we departed - our only regret is we discovered Plockton too late. 😊

Rating for tour operator:

They were helpful, had an itinerary that ticked all the boxes and a boxful of amazing accommodation and recommendations. When something went awry, like a train strike, they were right there to make adjustments for us. Honestly, I will seek their services again.

Orkney & Shetland Self-drive by packrat, 4 Nov 2022
Holiday Rating:

Orkney and Shetland - more beautiful than the English Lakes?

We loved the scenery, wildlife watching, trips and tours, accommodation and food. The history - from Stone Age to WW2 - was fascinating. We were lucky with the weather, which felt very important.

We loved the scenery, wildlife watching, trips and tours, accommodation and food. The history - from Stone Age to WW2 - was fascinating. We were lucky with the weather, which felt very important.

Rating for tour operator:

Every choice was good, every arrangement went well.

Grand Tour of Scotland by Train by Helen B, 30 Oct 2022
Holiday Rating:

Spectacular and outstanding experience

We booked a train tour of Scotland and Skye with McKinlay Kidd, including the Jacobite Express, with taxi and boat trips connecting it all up. It was truly exceptional- the itinerary and accommodation clearly well researched, each with different and sometimes quirky aspects. But always comfortable, sometimes luxurious, fantastic food, always brilliantly chosen locations with welcoming hosts. The most wonderful experience.

We booked a train tour of Scotland and Skye with McKinlay Kidd, including the Jacobite Express, with taxi and boat trips connecting it all up. It was truly exceptional- the itinerary and accommodation clearly well researched, each with different and sometimes quirky aspects. But always comfortable, sometimes luxurious, fantastic food, always brilliantly chosen locations with welcoming hosts. The most wonderful experience.

Rating for tour operator:

Efficient, responsive, helpful, provided a brilliant app full of helpful information and personal insights into where we were going and what we could do. We were welcomed extra enthusiastically with the McKinlay Kidd connection- made us feel very special.

McKinlay Kidd by N, 18 Oct 2022
Holiday Rating:

Visit to Arran and the Inner Hebrides

McKinley Kidd were outstanding in keeping us informed when ferry cancellations made new arrangements necessary

McKinley Kidd were outstanding in keeping us informed when ferry cancellations made new arrangements necessary

Rating for tour operator:

Third visit using this company. This speaks how much we appreciate their help and advice

McKinlay Kidd by Explorer1, 14 Oct 2022
Holiday Rating:

Bespoke Channel Island hopping

Exceptionally well-organised trip to the CIs. We visited all 5 islands, stayed in some great hotels and McKinley Kidd provided us with a few special experiences on each island. Each experience send local guides and charities such as the Alderney Wildlife Trust. Highlight was a sea-bed walk that took us nearly 2 miles ‘out to sea’ - wonderful experience. All arrangements worked efficiently.

Exceptionally well-organised trip to the CIs. We visited all 5 islands, stayed in some great hotels and McKinley Kidd provided us with a few special experiences on each island. Each experience send local guides and charities such as the Alderney Wildlife Trust. Highlight was a sea-bed walk that took us nearly 2 miles ‘out to sea’ - wonderful experience. All arrangements worked efficiently.

Rating for tour operator:

Efficient and highly recommended

McKinlay Kidd by ChrisS, 26 Sep 2022
Holiday Rating:

Car free touring of Mull, Iona and Skye.

A trip using trains, ferries and buses. Great local hotels. Delicious food making the best use of world class local ingredients. Beautiful locations.

A trip using trains, ferries and buses. Great local hotels. Delicious food making the best use of world class local ingredients. Beautiful locations.

Rating for tour operator:

McKinley Kidd. Highly knowledgeable people who obviously understand the area and take all the stress out of travelling.

Journey through Western Isles by Biscuits , 24 Sep 2022
Holiday Rating:

Best of the West

A tour of the outer Hebrides

A tour of the outer Hebrides

Rating for tour operator:

The best we have used, caring and user frIendly

McKinlay Kidd by Hazel, 13 Sep 2022
Holiday Rating:

Wonderful Outer Hebrides & Orkneyt

We have just spent 18 days touring the Outer Hebrides and then Orkney (with a couple of nights in Wester Ross then one in Caithness) we stayed in lovely hotels with really friendly ownders, we have eaten amazing food in these hotels and could not recommend it highly enough.

We have just spent 18 days touring the Outer Hebrides and then Orkney (with a couple of nights in Wester Ross then one in Caithness) we stayed in lovely hotels with really friendly ownders, we have eaten amazing food in these hotels and could not recommend it highly enough.

Rating for tour operator:

McKinlay Kidd are a hands on and personal tour operator - again, could not rate them highly enough. This is the fourth time we have used them and would definitely go back.

McKinlay Kidd by Streatham knitter, 3 Sep 2022
Holiday Rating:

A wonderful taster of several of the beautiful Channel Islands

We spent 9 wonderful days exploring 4 of the Channel Islands - Guernsey, Sark, Herm, and Alderney. The care that Mckinlay Kidd took in organising the best excursions was very evident.

We spent 9 wonderful days exploring 4 of the Channel Islands - Guernsey, Sark, Herm, and Alderney. The care that Mckinlay Kidd took in organising the best excursions was very evident.

Rating for tour operator:

They planned a brilliant tour with different excursions for most days of the trip. And they were very responsive when fog meant our flight there had to be aborted and our arrival was delayed by a day.