AITO: The Association of Independent Tour Operators
McKinlay Kidd

McKinlay Kidd Traveller Reviews

Reviews of McKinlay Kidd

Overall Company Rating
100%
Excellent 899
Good 11
Average 0
Poor 4
Terrible 0
Reviews Submitted: 914
Reviews Accepted: 913
Reviews Rejected: 1
913 reviews
Sort by:
McKinlay Kidd by JessieMay, 20 May 2024
Holiday Rating:

Excellent tour of Scotland's east coast.

From Edinburgh to Meldrum - visiting a variety of locations - castles, farms, museums . Staying in good hotels.

From Edinburgh to Meldrum - visiting a variety of locations - castles, farms, museums . Staying in good hotels.

Rating for tour operator:

McKinley Kidd provided an excellent holiday - easy to contact when necessary and personal requirements catered for without fuss.

McKinlay Kidd responded to this review on 22 May 2024:

That's great to hear Gail. We really appreciate your loyalty.

McKinlay Kidd by Melmac, 20 May 2024
Holiday Rating:

Unbelievable experience with so little stress.

We toured with train travel and premier accommodations. All exceeded our expectations.

We toured with train travel and premier accommodations. All exceeded our expectations.

Rating for tour operator:

McKinlay Kidd is a tour operator located in Scotland. It was our first time in Scotland and we feel that we had the perfect overview and experience. Their local knowledge and tour package was very spot on for us and exceeded our expectations.

McKinlay Kidd responded to this review on 22 May 2024:

That's wonderful to hear Melvina. Thank you very much for your kind words.

McKinlay Kidd by Linda, 18 May 2024
Holiday Rating:

A superb holiday in the West Highlands

McKinley Kidd organised an amazing holiday by rail along the West Highland Way. Everything was pre- booked, including drivers to meet us and show us local areas. It was outstanding! Nothing was too much trouble. I would highly recommend them!

McKinley Kidd organised an amazing holiday by rail along the West Highland Way. Everything was pre- booked, including drivers to meet us and show us local areas. It was outstanding! Nothing was too much trouble. I would highly recommend them!

Rating for tour operator:

A very personal service, nothing seemed to be too much trouble. The holiday was extremely well organised, all tickets pre- booked, and the app gave us every detail we could possibly need to get the most from our holiday. Excellent!

McKinlay Kidd responded to this review on 22 May 2024:

Thank you very much for your lovely feedback Linda

Outer Hebrides Fly-drive by Mckinley Kidd fans, 3 May 2024
Holiday Rating:

Harris and Lewis Fly Drive

A trip designed specifically for our needs, driving in Harris and Lewis staying in lovely small friendly hotels with lots of great advice on where to go and places to eat and with total confidence that McKK are literally a call away if we need any help or information.

A trip designed specifically for our needs, driving in Harris and Lewis staying in lovely small friendly hotels with lots of great advice on where to go and places to eat and with total confidence that McKK are literally a call away if we need any help or information.

Rating for tour operator:

We travelled to Shetland with McKinlay Kidd a number of years ago. It was a wonderful experience everything we wanted including seeing filming locations for Shetland. This years Harris and Lewis trip was our 5th holiday with this company and we're still impressed with the personal service and support. Thanks all at McKK.

McKinlay Kidd responded to this review on 14 May 2024:

Many thanks for your lovely review Hilda. It is alwasy great to hear from regular customers.

Grand Tour of Scotland by Train by jmactier, 5 Dec 2023
Holiday Rating:

Train Tour of the Scottish Highlands

We did a 14 day train tour of the Scottish Highlands with our own individual itinerary created by McKinnely Kid.

We did a 14 day train tour of the Scottish Highlands with our own individual itinerary created by McKinnely Kid.

Rating for tour operator:

A wonderful self-guided but fully supported holiday by McKinley Kidd. They did an excellent job keeping track of our travels and were always available if things went awry.

Grand Tour of Scotland by Train by Joel C., 1 Dec 2023
Holiday Rating:

Truly Grand Tour of Scotland by Train

We enjoyed a grand 15 day, 14 night clockwise tour of Scotland by train (primarily) starting in Glasgow and ending in Edinburgh (after tacking on a couple of days in Edinburgh to get things started). We really appreciate how well organized all the lodging, transportation, day tours, and recommendations were. McKinlay Kidd's attention to detail and knowledgeable guidance made it possible for us to travel by ourselves without having to worry ...

We enjoyed a grand 15 day, 14 night clockwise tour of Scotland by train (primarily) starting in Glasgow and ending in Edinburgh (after tacking on a couple of days in Edinburgh to get things started). We really appreciate how well organized all the lodging, transportation, day tours, and recommendations were. McKinlay Kidd's attention to detail and knowledgeable guidance made it possible for us to travel by ourselves without having to worry about all the logistical details. Our new favorite way to travel!

Rating for tour operator:

McKinlay Kidd did a fantastic job planning and executing our trip! For us, it was great to travel by ourselves, but have all the planning, logistics, and recommendations provided by the experts. McKinlay Kidd left us to enjoy the trip on our own, while occasionally jumping in to make small adjustments if something didn't go exactly according to plan (due to weather, etc.) We greatly preferred this way of traveling to entirely self-planned or small group tours.

Grand Tour of Scotland by Train by Mr Freeze, 19 Nov 2023
Holiday Rating:

Perfect Vacation

Grand Tour of Scotland by Train organized by McKinlay Kidd.

Grand Tour of Scotland by Train organized by McKinlay Kidd.

Rating for tour operator:

They put together a wonderful holiday. When we had problems they were quick to respond.

Classic Round Scotland by Train by Maro, 13 Nov 2023
Holiday Rating:

Scottish train trip through the Highlands

Amazing experience.. 11 days staying in B&B, Manor Homes, Lodges truely beautiful accommodation.. the scenery was just beautiful.. MK had arranged everything so no worries about accommodation or transport plus special excursions as well ..

Amazing experience.. 11 days staying in B&B, Manor Homes, Lodges truely beautiful accommodation.. the scenery was just beautiful.. MK had arranged everything so no worries about accommodation or transport plus special excursions as well ..

Rating for tour operator:

MK arranged Accommodation and Transport only ..

McKinlay Kidd by Sandy Piper , 6 Nov 2023
Holiday Rating:

Fabulous Ireland Exploration

A special trip of four friends to celebrate a big birthday and to explore parts of Ireland for the first time. Enjoyed a very lovely stay at the Bushmills Inn with a wonderful all day private tour (arranged by our tour company) of the Giants Causeway and the Glens of Antrim. Then off to County Donegal with more amazing coastal exploration. Enjoyed being in the smaller community of Culdaff with an easy walk to the coast along an estuary. A few ...

A special trip of four friends to celebrate a big birthday and to explore parts of Ireland for the first time. Enjoyed a very lovely stay at the Bushmills Inn with a wonderful all day private tour (arranged by our tour company) of the Giants Causeway and the Glens of Antrim. Then off to County Donegal with more amazing coastal exploration. Enjoyed being in the smaller community of Culdaff with an easy walk to the coast along an estuary. A few relatively long days of driving to Killarney still allowed us to see more beautiful locations along the Wild Atlantic Way. So happy we were able to stay at Aghadoe Heights Hotel outside of town with a stunning view of the Killarney Lakes area. Some great adventures here with a jaunting car ride up Dunloe Gap and a boat ride down the Killarney Lakes. Muckross House and Muckross Abbey are also great spots to wander among beautiful trees and ruins. Our final stop was Dublin where we took a walking tour and also did an outing to Howth seaside fishing village. Enjoyed some delicious food during our trip particularly breakfast, fish and seafood and sticky toffee pudding! Truly a memorable experience all the way around.

Rating for tour operator:

McKinlay Kidd, particularly Caoihme, did a great job of meeting our requests and put together a trip that we all enjoyed. We ran into a big bump when one of the group came down with Covid during the trip and it was helpful to get assistance from McKinlay Kidd about how to proceed. Fortunately the person wasn’t too ill so we could continue with our trip. We were happy with location recommendations and the majority of hotels we stayed at.

McKinlay Kidd by Suzanne, 2 Nov 2023
Holiday Rating:

Well organized trip!

We had a lovely two week trip traveling through Scotland. The scenery was gorgeous, the people were friendly, and the food was great. Unfortunately the weather was far worse than normal and we had cancellations of a tour, a ferry, and trains so it wasn’t what we had hoped.

We had a lovely two week trip traveling through Scotland. The scenery was gorgeous, the people were friendly, and the food was great. Unfortunately the weather was far worse than normal and we had cancellations of a tour, a ferry, and trains so it wasn’t what we had hoped.

Rating for tour operator:

McKinlay Kidd provided a well organized train trip for us. The app they provided was terrific and they handled the various cancellations with great efficiency.