AITO: The Association of Independent Tour Operators
McKinlay Kidd

McKinlay Kidd Traveller Reviews

Reviews of McKinlay Kidd

Overall Company Rating
100%
Excellent 733
Good 9
Average 0
Poor 1
Terrible 0
Reviews Submitted: 743
Reviews Accepted: 742
Reviews Rejected: 1
742 reviews
Sort by:
Classic Round Scotland by Train by Susie, 29 May 2022
Holiday Rating:

A fascinating and well organised holiday

We very much enjoyed the range of locations and experiences on our tour of the Highlands. The organisation was superb and, despite moving on every couple of days, it was very relaxing. We learnt a great deal about our shared history and were treated to local knowledge and hospitality everywhere we went.

We very much enjoyed the range of locations and experiences on our tour of the Highlands. The organisation was superb and, despite moving on every couple of days, it was very relaxing. We learnt a great deal about our shared history and were treated to local knowledge and hospitality everywhere we went.

Rating for tour operator:

Great organisation from beginning to end. Always at the end of a phone or computer to answer queries or sort out problems.

McKinlay Kidd by SBGScot, 26 May 2022
Holiday Rating:

Premier Ireland by Train

Excellent accommodations in each stops on the trip. Everyone involved from completing our booking arrangements, the hotel staff during our trip, the tour operators for our side trips that were booked for us were great.

Excellent accommodations in each stops on the trip. Everyone involved from completing our booking arrangements, the hotel staff during our trip, the tour operators for our side trips that were booked for us were great.

Rating for tour operator:

Well versed in creating vacations in the British Isles. This was our second vacation using McKinley Kidd and we would have no reservation in recommending them to others to plan their vacations.

McKinlay Kidd by Fred, 26 May 2022
Holiday Rating:

Car free Outer Hebrides

McKinlay Kidd organised a tour of the main Outer Hebrides islands, which for us was totally car free. We had tours organised by them of Barra, North Uist, Harris and Lewis, all done by local guides, who were superb and gave us a realk insight into the history, culture and wildlife of the various islands. They were able to show the differences between all the islands. We stayed 2 nights in Barra, 2 nights in North Uist, 2 in Harris and 1 in Lewis...

McKinlay Kidd organised a tour of the main Outer Hebrides islands, which for us was totally car free. We had tours organised by them of Barra, North Uist, Harris and Lewis, all done by local guides, who were superb and gave us a realk insight into the history, culture and wildlife of the various islands. They were able to show the differences between all the islands. We stayed 2 nights in Barra, 2 nights in North Uist, 2 in Harris and 1 in Lewis. All organised by McKinlay Kidd, with taxis, ferries between islands all arranged for us. We had a brilliant time and found that all the stress had been taken away from us and we were able to see so much of the islands.

Rating for tour operator:

McKinlay Kidd offer holidays in Scotland, Ireland, England and Wales and can arrange tailor made holidays if necessary. They are very efficient and we had complete confidence in the arrangements they made for us. Everything worked exactly as stated and we were given detailed instructions and documentation to see us through.

West Highland Line to Skye by Richard, 23 May 2022
Holiday Rating:

A tailor-made tour for two people, using rail and ferry, to explore Glasgow and the Isle of Skye

We had hotels in several locations booked in advance by McKinlay Kidd, along with the relevant trains, the ferry, and taxi connections. In doing this, their advice was good and the actual arrangements efficient so that we could explore Glasgow and the Isle of Skye.

We had hotels in several locations booked in advance by McKinlay Kidd, along with the relevant trains, the ferry, and taxi connections. In doing this, their advice was good and the actual arrangements efficient so that we could explore Glasgow and the Isle of Skye.

Rating for tour operator:

See above

North Coast 500 by Pee, 22 May 2022
Holiday Rating:

NC500

A holiday I had for some time wanted to experience. Did not disappoint. Fabulous scenery. Very lucky it didn’t rain. Went in April and had the roads to ourselves. Good food and accommodation. Lovely memories

A holiday I had for some time wanted to experience. Did not disappoint. Fabulous scenery. Very lucky it didn’t rain. Went in April and had the roads to ourselves. Good food and accommodation. Lovely memories

Rating for tour operator:

Used McKinlay Kidd before. . So we knew we were in good hands. They take a lot of trouble to make your holiday truly unique. Thank You

McKinlay Kidd by Lolly, 21 May 2022
Holiday Rating:

Scotland by rail

We traveled by rail from Edinburgh to Glasgow, Skye and Fort William, Inverness and Pitlochry. Also took a side rail excursion to see Hadrian's Wall.

We traveled by rail from Edinburgh to Glasgow, Skye and Fort William, Inverness and Pitlochry. Also took a side rail excursion to see Hadrian's Wall.

Rating for tour operator:

McKinlay Kidd did a stellar job organizing the trains, taxis and private tours, creating a perfectly paced vacation. They also booked us into gorgeous, unique hotels. Support during our tour was excellent.

Shetland & Fair Isle Discovery by Joan, 17 May 2022
Holiday Rating:

Lovely holiday walking and bird watching in Shetland and Fairisle

We flew from Edinburgh to Sunburgh in Shetland where we picked up our hire car at the airport and drove to our first hotel. We explored mainland Shetland on foot and by car to enjoy the scenery and birdwatching for the week of our holiday staying in 2 different locations. (accomodation in both was very good) Doing this gave us opportunities to explore without too long drives so we could make the most of our time on Shetland. We also had ...

We flew from Edinburgh to Sunburgh in Shetland where we picked up our hire car at the airport and drove to our first hotel. We explored mainland Shetland on foot and by car to enjoy the scenery and birdwatching for the week of our holiday staying in 2 different locations. (accomodation in both was very good) Doing this gave us opportunities to explore without too long drives so we could make the most of our time on Shetland. We also had one night on Fair Isle having flown there . We will not forget our time there getting to know a little about life on the island as well as some good walking and bird watching there. We left our hire car at Sunburgh airport and had a straightforward journey back to Edinburgh and then home.

Rating for tour operator:

McKinley Kidd organised everything for us and it all went very smoothly . They provided all the information etc as promised with an easy to use booking and payment process. The accomodation they arranged for us was excellent on Shetland and put us in the right places to really enjoy Shetland mainland and also fly to Fair isle .

McKinlay Kidd by Mull, 16 May 2022
Holiday Rating:

Mull and Iona experience

Overnight stop near Wigtown in the South of Scotland on way to Oban and the islands. Ferry to Staffa.

Overnight stop near Wigtown in the South of Scotland on way to Oban and the islands. Ferry to Staffa.

Rating for tour operator:

McKinlay Kidd were efficient, helpful and responsible and provided excellent information about the holiday and the local areas. .They planned a flexible trip to meet our needs which enabled us to relax and enjoy the holiday.

McKinlay Kidd by Sandy, 16 May 2022
Holiday Rating:

We had a fabulous holiday in Orkney arranged by McKinlay Kidd

We visited Mainland, Westray and Rousay - fabulous bird watching and amazing neolithic ruins

We visited Mainland, Westray and Rousay - fabulous bird watching and amazing neolithic ruins

Rating for tour operator:

McKinlay Kidd were great. We were also delighted to hear that the hotels and tour guides spoke very positively about them.

Orkney & Shetland Self-drive by JC, 13 May 2022
Holiday Rating:

Stimulating

A fly drive taking in 4 days on Orkney and 4 days on Shetland.

A fly drive taking in 4 days on Orkney and 4 days on Shetland.

Rating for tour operator:

Excellent customer relations from initial contact to final confirmation.