AITO: The Association of Independent Tour Operators
McKinlay Kidd

McKinlay Kidd Traveller Reviews

Reviews of McKinlay Kidd

Overall Company Rating
100%
Excellent 649
Good 7
Average 0
Poor 0
Terrible 0
Reviews Submitted: 656
Reviews Accepted: 656
Reviews Rejected: 0
656 reviews
Sort by:
McKinlay Kidd by Norfolk Wanderer, 2 Jun 2020
Holiday Rating:

Personalised to what we wanted

We love unspoilt places and McKinlay Kidd just have the knack of finding places that are off the beaten track and special. I love places to visit and to stay that are not packed with people, have character, comfort and the occasional touch of luxury when you want it - and these guys seem to know how to find them. Everywhere we stayed on all our holidays has been classy without being overpriced. I've seen some beautiful spots on the ...

We love unspoilt places and McKinlay Kidd just have the knack of finding places that are off the beaten track and special. I love places to visit and to stay that are not packed with people, have character, comfort and the occasional touch of luxury when you want it - and these guys seem to know how to find them. Everywhere we stayed on all our holidays has been classy without being overpriced. I've seen some beautiful spots on the Isle of Mull , the Cairngorms and in Perthshire that I know I wouldn"t have found without their advice on the right tour to pick and Robert"s Recommendations to follow when we were there. Some great holiday memories of seeing otters, eating huge langoustine and walks of great beauty.

Rating for tour operator:

I have travelled with them four times now and the places they sent me to ,and the experiences I had there have always been excellent. I like the fact they can tailor make a trip to your taste and requirements ( we've done plane, train and car trips with them) in the way the big companies can't. But because they are in AITO and all the other guarantor organisations you know you are in safe hands. Its freed me from literally days of research trying to find the places they do - and unlike booking on the web my money is safe!

McKinlay Kidd by Bex, 22 Dec 2019
Holiday Rating:

Highly recommend

We did a self driving tour of Edinburgh and the Highlands. All of our accommodations and restaurants were incredible. The tour operator recommendations for places to go and things not to miss were on point. We would never have found all of these unique places on our own. The app made it easy for us to check the info and itinerary on the go. This made our trip error free and stress free.

We did a self driving tour of Edinburgh and the Highlands. All of our accommodations and restaurants were incredible. The tour operator recommendations for places to go and things not to miss were on point. We would never have found all of these unique places on our own. The app made it easy for us to check the info and itinerary on the go. This made our trip error free and stress free.

Rating for tour operator:

McKinlay Kidd was flawless in their communication and the trip they created for us was amazing. We can not recommend them highly enough. Every word of their descriptions online were accurate and true and they were helpful and available if we needed anything.

McKinlay Kidd by MDBurr, 14 Dec 2019
Holiday Rating:

Private month long Irish vacation.

This was the dream vacation.. We spend 25 days in Ireland. We spent time in Dublin, Waterford, Cork, Killarney, Galway,, in Ireland. Belfast, and Bushmills in North Ireland. Making day trips from them. We traveled by train or private drivers. The train system is reasonable and on time. We really enjoyed the trains. Our private drivers were excellent. They took us to some places that were not on the tourist radar. Could not have asked ...

This was the dream vacation.. We spend 25 days in Ireland. We spent time in Dublin, Waterford, Cork, Killarney, Galway,, in Ireland. Belfast, and Bushmills in North Ireland. Making day trips from them. We traveled by train or private drivers. The train system is reasonable and on time. We really enjoyed the trains. Our private drivers were excellent. They took us to some places that were not on the tourist radar. Could not have asked for a better trip. Our hotels were excellent and accommodated our inability to climb stairs. There is not enough room to describe all the experiences we enjoyed while in the Emerald Isle.

Rating for tour operator:

I would highly recommend McKinley Kidd to anyone, but particularly anyone wanting to plan a private tour. Our hotels were excellent. Just mentioning McKinley at the hotels seem to get special treatment. Tom at McKinley listened to my wants and wishfulls as well as what I didn't want. He created a trip which included a good amount of the traditional tourist sites and well as plenty of off the beaten path sites which is what we wanted. The private drivers they hired were terrific. Couldn't ask for more. We will definitely use them again and I have recommended them to folks I know that are planning a trip.

McKinlay Kidd by CathM, 8 Nov 2019
Holiday Rating:

Five star accommodation, excellent itinerary, amazing excursions, worry-free train travel.

Our journey by train took us from London Paddington to Bath, Oxford, Chester and through Scotland. Highlights included the Loch Ness Cruise and the Jacobite Steam Train. Every destination was unique.

Our journey by train took us from London Paddington to Bath, Oxford, Chester and through Scotland. Highlights included the Loch Ness Cruise and the Jacobite Steam Train. Every destination was unique.

Rating for tour operator:

Highly recommended. Attention to detail was exceptional. Very easy to contact if necessary. We gave McKinlay Kidd fixed dates we were able to travel and the itinerary was streamlined to suit. Would definitely travel with them again. "Robert's Recommendations" were invaluable. Enhanced our experience at every destination.

McKinlay Kidd by Debo, 7 Nov 2019
Holiday Rating:

Great trip!

A friend and I did the Outer Hebrides Hopscotch. The accommodations were excellent. The online materials provided were very helpful. All went very smoothly.

A friend and I did the Outer Hebrides Hopscotch. The accommodations were excellent. The online materials provided were very helpful. All went very smoothly.

Rating for tour operator:

Operator was Mackinlay-Kidd

McKinlay Kidd by Newport, 7 Nov 2019
Holiday Rating:

The Best of Scotland

We traveled with our daughter, son-in-law and 3-year-old granddaughter, arriving in Glasgow and driving around the West through Glencoe, Skye, Inverness and finally to Edinburgh. The locations and accommodations in our itinerary allowed us to enjoy the majestic scenery, historic sites, and wonderful people of this beautiful country. With every day, the experience was better than the day before; hardly possible given how each day was itself ...

We traveled with our daughter, son-in-law and 3-year-old granddaughter, arriving in Glasgow and driving around the West through Glencoe, Skye, Inverness and finally to Edinburgh. The locations and accommodations in our itinerary allowed us to enjoy the majestic scenery, historic sites, and wonderful people of this beautiful country. With every day, the experience was better than the day before; hardly possible given how each day was itself fantastic. We dreamed of seeing Scotland for almost fifteen years. Our expectations were high but the reality exceeded them.

Rating for tour operator:

Our trip was stress-free given the excellent assistance of McKinlayKidd Travel Agency. Their expertise with accommodations, tickets and passes, sight-seeing information and especially restaurant recommendations took the guesswork out of the trip and left us time to enjoy the beautiful country instead of worrying about travel details. We received personalized attention and felt secure in knowing that someone was taking care of us should we have questions or problems, which we never did.

McKinlay Kidd by SPAlexandria, 3 Nov 2019
Holiday Rating:

Jacobite Steam/Fort William

Found McKinlay Kidd on line because I could not acquire reserved tickets for the train. They were fantastic in replying to my questions and setting up a tour package that exactly suited our requests. Great experience. Will definitely use them again if we travel to the region and will definitely recommend them to friends.

Found McKinlay Kidd on line because I could not acquire reserved tickets for the train. They were fantastic in replying to my questions and setting up a tour package that exactly suited our requests. Great experience. Will definitely use them again if we travel to the region and will definitely recommend them to friends.

Rating for tour operator:

Responsive and efficient.

McKinlay Kidd by Judy, 2 Nov 2019
Holiday Rating:

Excellent holiday seeing Orkney and Shetland differently

We enjoyed our trip to Orkney and Shetland very much. The highlight for my husband was a guided trip round Noss to see birds while mine was visiting Unst. We stayed in a variety of accommodation which enabled us to see different parts of Orkney and Shetland. We were impressed by by the food we enjoyed including the UK’s most Northerly Fish and Chip Shop. We loved the views which you find round every corner and the peace and quiet.

We enjoyed our trip to Orkney and Shetland very much. The highlight for my husband was a guided trip round Noss to see birds while mine was visiting Unst. We stayed in a variety of accommodation which enabled us to see different parts of Orkney and Shetland. We were impressed by by the food we enjoyed including the UK’s most Northerly Fish and Chip Shop. We loved the views which you find round every corner and the peace and quiet.

Rating for tour operator:

This is the second time McKinlay Kidd has organised a Scottish island holiday for us. Again the arrangements were excellent from beginning to end. We enjoyed the variety of accommodation, the tours we undertook and made good use of Robert’s recommendations for visits, restaurants and crafts. As we were travelling by plane with limited luggage the app they provide saves carrying lots of paper. Caoimhe organised the trip for us and we also spoke with Tom and Daniela. All are most helpful and I like that there is always someone at the end of the line should there be difficulties. I would recommend them unreservedly and hope to use them again soon.

McKinlay Kidd by JKash, 30 Oct 2019
Holiday Rating:

Perfect trip to Scotland and England

We did a Car-free Classic Castles of Scotland and England holiday. We started in Edinburgh and had a lovely stay before taking the train to the Borders. We were met by our driver, Frank from Bespoke Border Car Tours, who took us to Traquair House. The house was great (it is hard to believe that we could feel so comfortable in a grand old house) and the staff were wonderful. Frank toured us around the Borders for two days before dropping us at ...

We did a Car-free Classic Castles of Scotland and England holiday. We started in Edinburgh and had a lovely stay before taking the train to the Borders. We were met by our driver, Frank from Bespoke Border Car Tours, who took us to Traquair House. The house was great (it is hard to believe that we could feel so comfortable in a grand old house) and the staff were wonderful. Frank toured us around the Borders for two days before dropping us at Langley Castle in England. The castle was an impressive place to stay and the staff were very nice. We took a private tour of Hadrian's Wall and our guide, Kevin from Ancient Britain Tours, was amazing. On our last day, we took the train back to Edinburgh.

Rating for tour operator:

We were quite pleased with McKinlay Kidd. From the initial contact to the follow up when we got home, they were professional and courteous. The accommodations they arranged were better than we could have imagined, the private driver and tours were perfect and all of the details were well thought out and well executed. We will definitely use them again if/when we get back to the UK.

McKinlay Kidd by trubby, 29 Oct 2019
Holiday Rating:

absolutely stimulating

We opted to enjoy a City Break in Edinburgh at the start of our trip, which proved relaxing and conveniently placed. The train journeys and accomodation to Pitlochry, and Inverness, allowed us to explore both centers and have a trip on Loch Ness. The train journey to Kyle of Lochhalsh took us through the centre of Scotland. The transfers to and from Portree were lovely, and the round trip around Skye was superb. The transfer from Fort William ...

We opted to enjoy a City Break in Edinburgh at the start of our trip, which proved relaxing and conveniently placed. The train journeys and accomodation to Pitlochry, and Inverness, allowed us to explore both centers and have a trip on Loch Ness. The train journey to Kyle of Lochhalsh took us through the centre of Scotland. The transfers to and from Portree were lovely, and the round trip around Skye was superb. The transfer from Fort William to Spean Bridge was excellent. All the accomodation was well chosen but Spean Bridge was 'out of this world'. The final train journey across Rannoch Moor and down the top end of Loch Lomond was inspiring. We opted to enjoy a City Break at Glasgow at the end of our trip in order to relax and catch our breath, and enjoyed some of the many tourist attractions the city has to offer. Each of Edinburgh, Inverness and Glasgow have well organised 'hop on / hop off' bus tours, which were highly beneficial.

Rating for tour operator:

Everything that was promised was well organised and of the highest quality. All the arrangements and connections worked superbly and took away any anxiety that this 'more mature' travelling couple might have felt. Although the trip was dubbed 'Tailor Made' nevertheless the supporting documentation and advice left no doubt what one had to do, and the 'hand picked' owners of the accomodation were very well aware of the local questions that might be asked.