AITO: The Association of Independent Tour Operators
McKinlay Kidd

McKinlay Kidd Traveller Reviews

Reviews of McKinlay Kidd

Overall Company Rating
100%
Excellent 656
Good 7
Average 0
Poor 0
Terrible 0
Reviews Submitted: 663
Reviews Accepted: 663
Reviews Rejected: 0
663 reviews
Sort by:
McKinlay Kidd by Largertha, 7 Sep 2020
Holiday Rating:

Beautiful Highlands and Skye

Fabulous post lockdown Scotland trip. Felt safe and valued at our hotels and on the Jacobite steam train.

Fabulous post lockdown Scotland trip. Felt safe and valued at our hotels and on the Jacobite steam train.

Rating for tour operator:

Robert from McKinley Kidd dealt with our booking efficiently. He understood what we wanted to achieve on our short break and was even able to change something at short notice with no hassle. We didn’t have to contact them at all during our holiday because everything had been planned with care.

North Coast 500 by JLH, 6 Sep 2020
Holiday Rating:

Professional & excellent communication

Tailored the holiday to our specific requirements and were v flexible changing accommodation when flights were cancelled by BA and the whole trip moved by two days.

Tailored the holiday to our specific requirements and were v flexible changing accommodation when flights were cancelled by BA and the whole trip moved by two days.

Rating for tour operator:

Helpful, well informed and very responsive

McKinlay Kidd by Kinder Family, 6 Sep 2020
Holiday Rating:

Dreams to come true!!

We visited the Outer Hebrides in August and we were simply impressed from start to finish. The ferry across from Oban was so good, we got to see dolphins. The weather was definitely on our side. With all the information provided to us by Robert via Vamoos app, it meant we could plan our day very well as a family as all of us had access to the app. We ticked off the various points of interested spelt out in the itinerary and we experienced ...

We visited the Outer Hebrides in August and we were simply impressed from start to finish. The ferry across from Oban was so good, we got to see dolphins. The weather was definitely on our side. With all the information provided to us by Robert via Vamoos app, it meant we could plan our day very well as a family as all of us had access to the app. We ticked off the various points of interested spelt out in the itinerary and we experienced more than we could dream off. The long stretch of white sandy beaches, turquoise colour sea water and beautiful sound of the waves against the rocks were simply what we had hoped for in our holiday. The food and accommodation selected by Robert was simply spot on and everywhere we went, PPE was very much practiced and people took to us so kindly with their warm Scottish hospitality. My boys fished in a various lochs around the three different isles and caught/released brown trout. They were over the moon. One thing that I will take away from my holiday was noticing how well the entire isle was sustainably kept and people were very much proud of their homes and surroundings. I always wondered what the Outer Hebrides would be like and I have been totally blown away. To think it is Scotland and just in my back yard too... who needs to go away when dreams can come true here at home.

Rating for tour operator:

Robert did a wonderful job putting together a great itinerary and as it was shared via the Vamoos app, it meant the entire family knew what was coming next and could be involved in the planning instead of me doing it as always.

McKinlay Kidd by AnnJ, 5 Sep 2020
Holiday Rating:

Tailor made trip round the Inner Hebrides and Skye

An outstanding trip, every place we stayed was excellent - lovely rooms, gorgeous views, great Scottish food and hospitality. Old Pines and Kinloch Lodge were 11/10 and the others 10/10. We have never had a holiday like this where everything was so perfect as this trip was and we have had many holidays!

An outstanding trip, every place we stayed was excellent - lovely rooms, gorgeous views, great Scottish food and hospitality. Old Pines and Kinloch Lodge were 11/10 and the others 10/10. We have never had a holiday like this where everything was so perfect as this trip was and we have had many holidays!

Rating for tour operator:

First class from start to finish. The additional information and maps provided through the app was invaluable and very well selected and presented.

West Highland Line Experience by Rendi , 2 Sep 2020
Holiday Rating:

Exceptional!

Stayed at The Old Pines at Spean Bridge. Cannot rate it too highly. Our trip on The Jacobite from Fort William to Mallaig and return was memorable and scenery particularly stunning in glorious sunshine.

Stayed at The Old Pines at Spean Bridge. Cannot rate it too highly. Our trip on The Jacobite from Fort William to Mallaig and return was memorable and scenery particularly stunning in glorious sunshine.

Rating for tour operator:

Nothing was too much trouble and hotel choice excellent.

West Highland Line to Skye by tommy g, 25 Aug 2020
Holiday Rating:

jacobite express holiday

really enjoyable break through scotland on the jacobite express

really enjoyable break through scotland on the jacobite express

Rating for tour operator:

McKinlay Kidd organised our holiday and it was excellent. The whole thing ran like clockwork and we had a great time

McKinlay Kidd by Norfolk Wanderer, 2 Jun 2020
Holiday Rating:

Personalised to what we wanted

We love unspoilt places and McKinlay Kidd just have the knack of finding places that are off the beaten track and special. I love places to visit and to stay that are not packed with people, have character, comfort and the occasional touch of luxury when you want it - and these guys seem to know how to find them. Everywhere we stayed on all our holidays has been classy without being overpriced. I've seen some beautiful spots on the ...

We love unspoilt places and McKinlay Kidd just have the knack of finding places that are off the beaten track and special. I love places to visit and to stay that are not packed with people, have character, comfort and the occasional touch of luxury when you want it - and these guys seem to know how to find them. Everywhere we stayed on all our holidays has been classy without being overpriced. I've seen some beautiful spots on the Isle of Mull , the Cairngorms and in Perthshire that I know I wouldn"t have found without their advice on the right tour to pick and Robert"s Recommendations to follow when we were there. Some great holiday memories of seeing otters, eating huge langoustine and walks of great beauty.

Rating for tour operator:

I have travelled with them four times now and the places they sent me to ,and the experiences I had there have always been excellent. I like the fact they can tailor make a trip to your taste and requirements ( we've done plane, train and car trips with them) in the way the big companies can't. But because they are in AITO and all the other guarantor organisations you know you are in safe hands. Its freed me from literally days of research trying to find the places they do - and unlike booking on the web my money is safe!

McKinlay Kidd by Cathie, 16 May 2020
Holiday Rating:

Absolutely wonderful

MK booked 2 self drive holidays for me last August and September - one just for me (comfortable but good value accom) and one for my husband and I (luxury end accom). They were recommended to me by a friend here in Canberra. Worth every penny and both itineraries were very special. I went as far as Shetland and Orkney and back to Edinburgh through the eastern highlands, the second up the west coast to Skye and back to Edinburgh. The Jacobite ...

MK booked 2 self drive holidays for me last August and September - one just for me (comfortable but good value accom) and one for my husband and I (luxury end accom). They were recommended to me by a friend here in Canberra. Worth every penny and both itineraries were very special. I went as far as Shetland and Orkney and back to Edinburgh through the eastern highlands, the second up the west coast to Skye and back to Edinburgh. The Jacobite steam train was a highlight. Fabulous scenery and amazing food at every place we stayed. Cannot say enough about the wonderful Scottish hospitality. Also found time to catch up on family tree research.

Rating for tour operator:

Extremely helpful - more than I expected, especially when our Skye ferry was cancelled due to bad weather.

McKinlay Kidd responded to this review on 13 Jul 2020:

Thank you for your kind words Cathie. Delighted to hear how much you enjoyed this special trip.

McKinlay Kidd by Bex, 22 Dec 2019
Holiday Rating:

Highly recommend

We did a self driving tour of Edinburgh and the Highlands. All of our accommodations and restaurants were incredible. The tour operator recommendations for places to go and things not to miss were on point. We would never have found all of these unique places on our own. The app made it easy for us to check the info and itinerary on the go. This made our trip error free and stress free.

We did a self driving tour of Edinburgh and the Highlands. All of our accommodations and restaurants were incredible. The tour operator recommendations for places to go and things not to miss were on point. We would never have found all of these unique places on our own. The app made it easy for us to check the info and itinerary on the go. This made our trip error free and stress free.

Rating for tour operator:

McKinlay Kidd was flawless in their communication and the trip they created for us was amazing. We can not recommend them highly enough. Every word of their descriptions online were accurate and true and they were helpful and available if we needed anything.

McKinlay Kidd by MDBurr, 14 Dec 2019
Holiday Rating:

Private month long Irish vacation.

This was the dream vacation.. We spend 25 days in Ireland. We spent time in Dublin, Waterford, Cork, Killarney, Galway,, in Ireland. Belfast, and Bushmills in North Ireland. Making day trips from them. We traveled by train or private drivers. The train system is reasonable and on time. We really enjoyed the trains. Our private drivers were excellent. They took us to some places that were not on the tourist radar. Could not have asked ...

This was the dream vacation.. We spend 25 days in Ireland. We spent time in Dublin, Waterford, Cork, Killarney, Galway,, in Ireland. Belfast, and Bushmills in North Ireland. Making day trips from them. We traveled by train or private drivers. The train system is reasonable and on time. We really enjoyed the trains. Our private drivers were excellent. They took us to some places that were not on the tourist radar. Could not have asked for a better trip. Our hotels were excellent and accommodated our inability to climb stairs. There is not enough room to describe all the experiences we enjoyed while in the Emerald Isle.

Rating for tour operator:

I would highly recommend McKinley Kidd to anyone, but particularly anyone wanting to plan a private tour. Our hotels were excellent. Just mentioning McKinley at the hotels seem to get special treatment. Tom at McKinley listened to my wants and wishfulls as well as what I didn't want. He created a trip which included a good amount of the traditional tourist sites and well as plenty of off the beaten path sites which is what we wanted. The private drivers they hired were terrific. Couldn't ask for more. We will definitely use them again and I have recommended them to folks I know that are planning a trip.