McKinlay Kidd

Reviews of McKinlay Kidd

Overall company rating
4 100%
Reviews submitted: 360
Reviews accepted: 360
Reviews rejected: 0
Excellent
356
Good
4
Average
0
Poor
0
Terrible
0

Everyone Should Visit Scotland!

By Jane on 29 Nov 2017

Rating for this holiday Excellent

We loved our trip to Scotland. Our itinerary took us to beautiful places. Our accommodations were outstanding and we found good food wherever we went. We can't wait to return.

Rating for tour operator Excellent

The arrangements for our trip were seamless. McKinlay Kidd was very responsive as we planned the trip and during our trip as well. We were provided with a list of recommended sites and restaurants and were never disappointed with the suggestions. We would gladly take another trip with McKinlay Kidd again.

Scottish Western Isles Car-Free Holiday - A Wonderful Experience

By Second Honeymooners. on 17 Nov 2017

Rating for this holiday Excellent

Our trip from London to Mull, Iona, Staffa and Skye travelling by train, ferry and 'bus turned out to be the experience of a lifetime. Lovely accommodation, excellent food, good weather and stunning scenery. We were delighted to make it at long last to "Fingal's Cave" - an experience not to be missed

Rating for tour operator Excellent

McKinlay Kidd were extremely helpful, knowledgeable, thorough and kind. Absolutely everything went according to plan and their paperwork for the trip was clear, concise and very useful.

Wonderful Holiday

By The Clare's on 14 Nov 2017

Rating for this holiday Excellent
Find more about Orkney & Shetland Self-drive >

We had 3 nights in Orkney and 3 in Shetland. All on a B&B basis. Excellent

Rating for tour operator Excellent

So well organised, 1st time I had used a tour company and I was very impressed

Explore Scotland by Train

By Cindy on 2 Nov 2017

Rating for this holiday Excellent

Our vacation was both enriching and memorable. We met many interesting people along the way, while being introduced to this wonderful country. Traveling by train took the stress out of moving from place to place. Having a suggested itinerary and an interesting array of accommodations reserved for us in advance made the trip so much more enjoyable.

Rating for tour operator Excellent

McKinlay-Kidd was very helpful prior to us leaving. We had not been overseas in quite some time and they answered all our questions and provided us with many helpful hints and suggestions.

Outer Hebridean Fly Drive Holiday organised by McKinlay Kidd

By Di on 2 Nov 2017

Rating for this holiday Excellent
Find more about Outer Hebrides Fly-drive >

Outer Hebridean Holiday. I flew Glasgow to the Isle of Barra, plane landing on the beach. Spectacular!
Two days on Barra, driving to various areas and walking some of the recommended tracks. Car ferry to South Uist then took my time to drive north through Benbecula to North Uist. Lovely accommodation in Lochmaddy (Hamersay Hotel x two nights). Did lots of walking on recommended tracks, very helpful information gained at the Visit Scotland office in Lochmaddy.
Car ferry to Harris then drove north the Lewis, B&B in Stornoway. Two days exploring Lewis by car and local bus. The local bus drivers were fabulous, helpful and informative and welcoming. Only regret is for not having allowed more time to explore Harris.
Holiday concluded with flight back to Glasgow from Stornoway.
I would certainly visit the Outer Hebrides again and again if it wasn't so far from Australia!

Rating for tour operator Excellent

McKinlay Kidd were terrific and I would highly recommend them for anyone looking to explore Scotland.
I initially contacted them via their website and their responses to each of my enquiries were prompt and clearly detailed. My booking was easily processed and close to my tour dates I received the Itinerary, including tickets and thorough details of accommodation, flights, car hire and some helpful information about the various islands.
Again to say I would highly recommend McKinlay Kidd.

West HIghland Line to Skye

By traveller on 1 Nov 2017

Rating for this holiday Excellent
Find more about West Highland Line to Skye >

Really enjoyed the whole trip McKinlay KIdd set the trip accommodation, train
ferry and tour of the Isle of Skye everything was very easy to do on your own.
I would recommend them to any other travelers as well at do another trip with them.

Rating for tour operator Excellent

the trip was planned by them but done on your own. I was collected from various places and the tour the driver were excellent, the tour operator on the Isle of Skye was good.

Train is the way to go for a relaxing trip

By daveb on 30 Oct 2017

Rating for this holiday Excellent
Find more about Classic Round Scotland by Train >

My wife and I from the States on our first trip to Scotland decided to pass on the group tour and self-drive for a number of reasons...we wanted to go at our own pace but did not want to deal with the whole left side business while at the same time trying to enjoy the countryside and also did not want to be in a bus with a lot of people we did not know. As it turns out we made a great choice both in choosing a train holiday and choosing McKinlay Kidd.

Scotland is rich with beautiful landscapes and engaging people so there is no way to take in everything in a week or so but this 9 day train trip does a great job giving showing a sampling of the extraordinary people and places Scotland has to offer. We did a bit of hiking on Skye and in Piclochery, took a tour in both Skye and Inverness and did a bit more hiking in Speen Bridge. Be sure to take advantage of the fine day tours available just about everywhere in Scotland. I'm sure McKinlay Kidd will be happy to help out picking one that is right for you.

Rating for tour operator Excellent

McKinlay Kidd were very well prepared, provided plenty of information...READ IT ALL AS SOON AS YOU GET IT...(I spent a lot of time on the trains wishing I had a map of the route while the map of my wishes was inches away in my backpack in the package on information delivered by McKinlay Kidd but unnoticed by me until I was at home).

We had one or two "minor" issues like a rescheduled ferry while we were well into our trip....that could have been a major problem had McKinlay Kidd not picked up on the change, adjusted dependent schedules and sent us notification.

A Grand Tour of Scotland Via Train & Ferry

By nickie11 on 30 Oct 2017

Rating for this holiday Excellent
Find more about Grand Tour of Scotland by Train >

Our 14 day self-guided tour of Scotland was
facilitated by McKinlay Kidd with the
travel of the Highlands done via train lines
& ferry boats & with the best of the best
accommodations arranged. The attention
to detail was impressive & enabled us to
thoroughly enjoy every minute of our
journey.

Rating for tour operator Excellent

See comments above.

Scottish Highland Tour

By Mrs C B 17 on 30 Oct 2017

Rating for this holiday Excellent

This was the Scottish Highlands by Train tour and was very well organized. All of our B&B's were much more than expected and train travel was fantastic. Next time I will spend 3 nights instead of 2 at most locations. Every stop went off as scheduled with no problems.

Rating for tour operator Excellent

Our operator was Mckinlay Kidd. I found this company online when looking for something different than what I have seen in the past. I called Robert several times before making my final plan and was very pleased with his suggestions. I was surprised how every detail was organized and went off exactly as planned. I have already recommend this operator to a friend who is planning a trip to Scotland next year.

A great holiday. Our first ever train holiday or visit to the Highlands and Islands. Very well planned and organised for us.

By Graybags on 30 Oct 2017

Rating for this holiday Excellent
Find more about Grand Tour of Scotland by Train >

The holiday started in Glasgow and went via Skye, Plockton, Dingwall, Thurso, Orkney, and Rosemarkie before ending up in Edinburgh. We have never been on a 'managed' holiday before, but are completely converted to the model now. The choice of locations, hotels en route and day trips was excellent. It's so much more relaxing when you know that someone who knows the area and what you want has done the homework for you.

Rating for tour operator Excellent

MacKinlay- Kidd, a Glasgow-based independent holiday-arranger, with an intimate knowledge of their patch - in our case this was the northern part of Scotland - and the ability to adapt things to meet our needs.

Personable, knowledgeable, flexible professional and with very high service ethic.

We'd definitely use them again.