AITO: The Association of Independent Tour Operators
McKinlay Kidd

McKinlay Kidd Traveller Reviews

Reviews of McKinlay Kidd

Overall Company Rating
100%
Excellent 461
Good 4
Average 0
Poor 0
Terrible 0
Reviews Submitted: 465
Reviews Accepted: 465
Reviews Rejected: 0
465 reviews
Sort by:
McKinlay Kidd by Lab, 17 Oct 2018
Holiday Rating:

Fantastic holidays

Excellent from start to finish

Excellent from start to finish

Rating for tour operator:

First class service

Grand Tour of Scotland by Train by Scotia, 12 Oct 2018
Holiday Rating:

Magical Scotland.

Returning to my birthplace was was a great experience. Self guided tour with detailed times and trains made everything very simple. McKinley provided all tickets for trains and ferries with booked seats and chose excellent hotels.

Returning to my birthplace was was a great experience. Self guided tour with detailed times and trains made everything very simple. McKinley provided all tickets for trains and ferries with booked seats and chose excellent hotels.

Rating for tour operator:

Very helpful and approachable.

McKinlay Kidd by Lailai, 12 Oct 2018
Holiday Rating:

Wonderful holiday.

This was our first holiday arranged by McKinlay Kidd. It far exceeded expectations. Daniela organised it all for us and it was so reassuring to know someone was always at the end of the phone especially when travelling around the Scottish islands and the unpredictable weather! We couldn’t fault an. The hotels were first class and the tour of Skye they arranged was outstanding. I would recommend this company for anyone wanting to tour Scotland.

This was our first holiday arranged by McKinlay Kidd. It far exceeded expectations. Daniela organised it all for us and it was so reassuring to know someone was always at the end of the phone especially when travelling around the Scottish islands and the unpredictable weather! We couldn’t fault an. The hotels were first class and the tour of Skye they arranged was outstanding. I would recommend this company for anyone wanting to tour Scotland.

Rating for tour operator:

McKinlat Kidd

Grand Tour of Scotland by Train by Gigi, 12 Oct 2018
Holiday Rating:

Superb Premier Train Adventure through West Highlands

Our holiday was very well planned from beginning to end! McKinley Kidd was prompt in addressing all inquires ( and there were many)! And assisted in additional transportation needs. It was a lovely holiday, unforgettable experience. Scotland captured our hearts!

Our holiday was very well planned from beginning to end! McKinley Kidd was prompt in addressing all inquires ( and there were many)! And assisted in additional transportation needs. It was a lovely holiday, unforgettable experience. Scotland captured our hearts!

Rating for tour operator:

We had five excellent taxi/tour guides. They were very knowledgeable about all the history of the area we were visiting. They brought their own delightful personalities to the experience and captured our interest throughout the day.

McKinlay Kidd by Robin, 8 Oct 2018
Holiday Rating:

A B&B tour of Devon and Cornwall

We flew in from the States and were exhausted after 14 hours of travel. Our welcome at the Swan Hotel in Wedmore was great and we had a great rest. Then it was off to Lynton and the Highcliffe House, one of the very best with a great room, warm hospitality and a nice location. Then to Cornwall and the Caroe Farmhouse, again good accommodation with nice folks and finally to Penzance and the Chapel House a modern gem in a charming old building...

We flew in from the States and were exhausted after 14 hours of travel. Our welcome at the Swan Hotel in Wedmore was great and we had a great rest. Then it was off to Lynton and the Highcliffe House, one of the very best with a great room, warm hospitality and a nice location. Then to Cornwall and the Caroe Farmhouse, again good accommodation with nice folks and finally to Penzance and the Chapel House a modern gem in a charming old building. The hostess was charming

Rating for tour operator:

McKinlay and Kidd are out of Glasgow and we have toured both Scotland and Ireland with them. They deliver first class, excellent service and you feel that anywhere you go with them will be good. This was their first venture into Devon and Cornwall and they did a very good and professional job. They have an excellent service from the USA and it is very easy to talk with them and fine tune your trip We recommend them unconditionally.

McKinlay Kidd by Touch, 3 Oct 2018
Holiday Rating:

Freedom of choice but organised itinerary

Perfect first visit to outer Hebrides all down to excellent organisation of our tour operator. Itinerary was arranged around our wishes of what we wanted to see and do. With their help and advise re place to stay, tide times ,flight and ferry timings we were able to maximise what we saw and achieved . We relaxed and enjoyed every day

Perfect first visit to outer Hebrides all down to excellent organisation of our tour operator. Itinerary was arranged around our wishes of what we wanted to see and do. With their help and advise re place to stay, tide times ,flight and ferry timings we were able to maximise what we saw and achieved . We relaxed and enjoyed every day

Rating for tour operator:

Superb communication and provided all the info and advice we needed to have a fab holiday. The use of an app which we could download everything we needed before we arrived was invaluable. Wi if not great but we had support of info every moment of our day. Roberts tips were spot on and gave us choice of what to see, totally tailored package to our needs.

McKinlay Kidd by sbedin, 30 Sep 2018
Holiday Rating:

Best Holiday Experience ever

I spent a fantastic week in Scotland, I visited Glasgow, the islands of Mull and Skye and was in the Highlands. I have learned to love Scotland and will return soon.

I spent a fantastic week in Scotland, I visited Glasgow, the islands of Mull and Skye and was in the Highlands. I have learned to love Scotland and will return soon.

Rating for tour operator:

I have never had such a good experience as with KcKinley Kidd. The response times on my mails were incredibly short, the care during the trip fantastic (even in difficult situations, a solution was always found, for example, the problems with the ferry) and the documentation was exemplary and perfect. Thx to all at the company.

Reviewer's images:
McKinlay Kidd by Canadian Traveler, 29 Sep 2018
Holiday Rating:

Tour Scotland by train.

Spent 10 days touring Scotland from Edinburgh to Pitlochry, Nairn, Skye, Oban and back to Edinburgh. Scenery from the trains was excellent and the hotels and B&Bs were very good.

Spent 10 days touring Scotland from Edinburgh to Pitlochry, Nairn, Skye, Oban and back to Edinburgh. Scenery from the trains was excellent and the hotels and B&Bs were very good.

Rating for tour operator:

I had used McKinlay Kidd in the past with no issues therefore was very comfortable booking with them again. However this time we did experience issues due to weather related items (ferries cancelled and train cancelled). McKinlay Kidd were EXCELLENT in taking care of adjusting our travel plans such that we could continue on to our next destination. They arranged for a car to take us back across the Skye bridge and down to Fort William so that we could continue on from there as planned. I would have no concerns with recommending them to any of my friends and family.

Grand Tour of Scotland by Train by SueG, 28 Sep 2018
Holiday Rating:

Grand Tour of Scotland by Train

It was 14 wonderful days/nights and every one was fabulous. We stayed at wonderful B&B's, guest houses, and a small hotel. We had excursions to Rum, Orkney & rode the Jacobite Steam Train, had a private driver on Skye and Orkney. From Glasgow to Spean Bridge, Arasaig, Skye, Inverness, Thurso, Orkney, Kingussie, Pitlochry, to Edinburg excellence every day. It was an incredible 2 weeks that passed much too quickly.

It was 14 wonderful days/nights and every one was fabulous. We stayed at wonderful B&B's, guest houses, and a small hotel. We had excursions to Rum, Orkney & rode the Jacobite Steam Train, had a private driver on Skye and Orkney. From Glasgow to Spean Bridge, Arasaig, Skye, Inverness, Thurso, Orkney, Kingussie, Pitlochry, to Edinburg excellence every day. It was an incredible 2 weeks that passed much too quickly.

Rating for tour operator:

McKinlay Kidd provided excellent service, a well organized trip, all documents (tickets, vouchers, itinerary) necessary were provided. All questions prior to booking were answered in a timely manner. (We live in the USA). Communication was excellent. The properties we were booked into were vetted and were wonderful. A fantastic job by McKinlay Kidd and big thanks to Chris Stewart.

Orkney & Shetland Self-drive by Little Al, 23 Sep 2018
Holiday Rating:

A most wonderful trip to Orkney and Shetland

This was the first time we had visited these islands and we took lots of warm clothing expecting rain and the famous Shetland wind! However, we actually had only one rain shower and sunshine every day. The trip was a delight. Both hotels very welcoming and comfortable with very good food. All the arrangements made by McKinley Kidd went like clockwork and entirely to plan. The boat trip from Lerwick out to the islands was extra special and our ...

This was the first time we had visited these islands and we took lots of warm clothing expecting rain and the famous Shetland wind! However, we actually had only one rain shower and sunshine every day. The trip was a delight. Both hotels very welcoming and comfortable with very good food. All the arrangements made by McKinley Kidd went like clockwork and entirely to plan. The boat trip from Lerwick out to the islands was extra special and our captain and his mate very friendly and informative about the wildlife we encountered. These islands are a delight! We saw them at their very best due to the exceptional weather but the scenery really is spectacular.

Rating for tour operator:

McKinley Kidd gave a very personal service, always eager to answer any questions we had and could not have been more helpful. The arrangements such as flights, car hire and hotel locations were just perfect.