AITO: The Association of Independent Tour Operators
McKinlay Kidd

McKinlay Kidd Traveller Reviews

Reviews of McKinlay Kidd

Overall Company Rating
100%
Excellent 678
Good 7
Average 0
Poor 0
Terrible 0
Reviews Submitted: 685
Reviews Accepted: 685
Reviews Rejected: 0
685 reviews
Sort by:
McKinlay Kidd by Nicky, 7 Nov 2020
Holiday Rating:

Varied and rewarding for all our senses

We stayed at the Old Pine Lodge and then went onto the Isle of Mull

We stayed at the Old Pine Lodge and then went onto the Isle of Mull

Rating for tour operator:

Helpful in every way. We asked for help with finding various items and they found them for us. Also helped with a fbooklist from which we chose some engaging books to read.

McKinlay Kidd by Manny1958, 28 Oct 2020
Holiday Rating:

Excellent holiday

We arranged this holiday at short notice, when it became clear we could not travel overseas. McKinlay Kidd took the brief, which had elements of custom requirements, and organized everything for us. Even when the Covid regulations were changing while we were away, they made the alterations and we had a wonderful holiday - despite no alcohol with dinner.

We arranged this holiday at short notice, when it became clear we could not travel overseas. McKinlay Kidd took the brief, which had elements of custom requirements, and organized everything for us. Even when the Covid regulations were changing while we were away, they made the alterations and we had a wonderful holiday - despite no alcohol with dinner.

Rating for tour operator:

McKinlay Kidd were very efficient, and communicated well, before and during the holiday. Given all the changes, as the Covid regulations change, the holiday was a tremendous success.

Journey through Western Isles by Laura, 27 Oct 2020
Holiday Rating:

expertly organised and well looked after throughout

An experience in the Outer Hebrides that we'll never forget. A week travelling around the three main island groups. Staying in lovely lodges and small hotels/inns.

An experience in the Outer Hebrides that we'll never forget. A week travelling around the three main island groups. Staying in lovely lodges and small hotels/inns.

Rating for tour operator:

A great range of accommodation and we were so looked after before, during and after the trip. When regulations changed they called us to make sure everything was alright and when there were potential ferry delays they got in touch to let us know they were keeping an eye on things so we didn't have to. Top class service

Shetland Fly-drive by Peter O, 26 Oct 2020
Holiday Rating:

Wonderful short break to Shetland.

The eight day trip was booked through McKinlay Kidd and was flawless. A hire car was ready at Sumburgh Airport and collection was straighforward. The first five nights were at a B&B in Lerwick. This was ideally located and of very good quality for comfort, service and filling breakfast. Moving onto Brea for the last three nights, the hotel here was excellent with a very comfortable room and very generous sized quality meals. From here, I was ...

The eight day trip was booked through McKinlay Kidd and was flawless. A hire car was ready at Sumburgh Airport and collection was straighforward. The first five nights were at a B&B in Lerwick. This was ideally located and of very good quality for comfort, service and filling breakfast. Moving onto Brea for the last three nights, the hotel here was excellent with a very comfortable room and very generous sized quality meals. From here, I was able to have a full day trip to Unst and another day walking in the northwest of the mainland. There were plenty walks completed and sights of much wildlife along the way.

Rating for tour operator:

They provided good comprehensive answers to questions I had during the planning stage. The bookings made of car, accommodation and ferry to Unst were faultless. Prior to going, I was kept updated on changes being made locally due to Covid restriction alterations. They provided very good customer focused service.

Orkney & Shetland Self-drive by bonfire man, 24 Oct 2020
Holiday Rating:

self drive Scotland's northern islands

Travel from south of England to Scrabster for ferry to Orkney, Three days touring and then took the ferry for four days on Shetland. Interesting as have never been to the Shetlands, plenty of walking and visiting ancient sites. Overnight ferry back to Aberdeen which was again a very pleasant experience. Covid 19 did impact what could be done but went with an open mind and prepared to be flexible.

Travel from south of England to Scrabster for ferry to Orkney, Three days touring and then took the ferry for four days on Shetland. Interesting as have never been to the Shetlands, plenty of walking and visiting ancient sites. Overnight ferry back to Aberdeen which was again a very pleasant experience. Covid 19 did impact what could be done but went with an open mind and prepared to be flexible.

Rating for tour operator:

My wife and I have used McKinley Kidd in the past and as before everything ran like clockwork, good choice of hotels which were always of a good standard. the whole holiday including ferries just run smoothly without me having any hassle.

McKinlay Kidd by Campervangran, 21 Oct 2020
Holiday Rating:

Premier round Scotland by train

It consisted of 4 train journeys via Scot Rail plus the Jacobite steam train. These were punctuated with stays in excellent hotels for 2 nights each with a private tour guide in each destination.

It consisted of 4 train journeys via Scot Rail plus the Jacobite steam train. These were punctuated with stays in excellent hotels for 2 nights each with a private tour guide in each destination.

Rating for tour operator:

All staff contacted from the initial enquiry to our return could not have been more helpful, even down to contacting us during our tour to explain changes and making sure we were happy.

North Coast 500 by Songbird, 19 Oct 2020
Holiday Rating:

SIMPLY THE BEST

North Coast 500 proved every bit as good as we hoped for. It was some 50 years since I was there and my memories were re-enforced. Sheer beauty at every turn

North Coast 500 proved every bit as good as we hoped for. It was some 50 years since I was there and my memories were re-enforced. Sheer beauty at every turn

Rating for tour operator:

Despite the restrictions of COVID, McKinley Kidd were thoroughly professional, friendly and helpful from the outset.

North Coast 500 by Dickie, 19 Oct 2020
Holiday Rating:

Remote, beautiful, bonny Svotland

Just completed the Scottish 500. Stunning scenery, good weather (we were lucky at this time of year!), amazing autumn colours. Even the current Covid restrictions couldn't spoil our enjoyment.

Just completed the Scottish 500. Stunning scenery, good weather (we were lucky at this time of year!), amazing autumn colours. Even the current Covid restrictions couldn't spoil our enjoyment.

Rating for tour operator:

MacKinlay Kidd made all of the arrangements for May 2020, and handled the changes caused by lockdown really well. Their communication throughout was great. The accomodation they selected based on our requests was really good, always very clean, great locations and friendly hosts. The information pack they supplied fefore our holiday was excellent. Full of clear directions and useful tips, it helped us get the most we could from the trip.

Orkney & Shetland Self-drive by StevieandAnn, 16 Oct 2020
Holiday Rating:

Exploring Orkney and Shetland

Staying in hotels, travelling around the islands, experiencing the people there.

Staying in hotels, travelling around the islands, experiencing the people there.

Rating for tour operator:

An interactive supportive company

Journey through Western Isles by Jacky Mac, 15 Oct 2020
Holiday Rating:

Highland Hoolie (thanks to the remnants of Hurricane Laura)

everything ran smoothly, no hiccups, first class accommodation throughout.

everything ran smoothly, no hiccups, first class accommodation throughout.

Rating for tour operator:

Good communication, responded to all enquiries.