McKinlay Kidd

Reviews of McKinlay Kidd

Overall company rating
4 100%
Reviews submitted: 215
Reviews accepted: 215
Reviews rejected: 0
Excellent
214
Good
1
Average
0
Poor
0
Terrible
0

We thoroughly enjoyed the holiday, despite the inevitable mix of weather. The choice of location, accommodation and activities was excellent and well thought through, and we had excellent seat reservations on the train journeys.

By Mrs B S 17 on 17 Jun 2017

Rating for this holiday Excellent

We had a 10 day mini-tour of Scotland, partly by train, partly self-drive, incorporating, among other things, Skye, Inverness, the Cairngorms and the Trossachs.

Rating for tour operator Excellent

Very professional, caring and organised.

Experiencing Skye and Mull, the wildlife, scenery and history on our first visit to the islands.

By Lanky on 16 Jun 2017

Rating for this holiday Excellent

We travelled to Scotland by train, picked up a hire car in Inverness and drove to Skye via the bridge. We stayed in a wonderful bed and breakfast at Broadford looking over the bay. We visited the Macdonald museum and went to the Sound of Sleat and a boat trip to the Cullins seeing the seals en route. Then it was back to the mainland via lovely beaches to Mull. We stayed in Tobermoray abandoned the car and had a wonderful day tour by minibus seeing Eagles, red deer, hen harrier, hooded crow , buzzards and otter. We had booked to go whale watching on our final day but unfortunately that was cancelled so we walked to local waterfalls and saw some dippers so that was a bonus.
A lovely six night holiday. We only touched the surface of exploring the islands and would be very happy to return

Rating for tour operator Excellent

Although I first enquired about a holiday in January ,we only had the last week in May available , the holidays were fully booked. The staff searched accommodation ,ferry crossings and car hire and organised a tailor made holiday to mark a special birthday and a wonderful experience of a taste of Skye and Mull.

Round Scotland by train

By docprofbrulin on 16 Jun 2017

Rating for this holiday Excellent

Glasgow to Fort William to Mallaig to Skye to Kyle of Lochalsh to Inverness to Pitlochry to Edinburgh. Fort William to Mallaig by steam train. Generally excellent hotel and dining experiences with Kinloch Lodge, Sleat, Skye and Fonab Castle, Pitlochry being the stars. Trains, ferry and taxi connections all worked as planned. Holiday included personal taxi tours of Skye and around Inverness and a boat trip on Loch Ness.

Rating for tour operator Excellent

McInlay Kidd organised the holiday. Hamish was very helpful especially when we chose to reschedule from autumn to spring to avoid potential industrial action on the railways. With only one exception all hotels met our expectations. The taxi connections were punctual and courteous throughout. The only hitch was a cancelled boat trip on Loch Ness which our local taxi driver rescued by getting us onto an alternative company's trip. The strength of the tour operator shows when things don't go to plan and their agents/staff rise to the challenge.

9 nights in Orkney

By Amersham6 on 16 Jun 2017

Rating for this holiday Excellent

We spent 3 nights on Mainland Orkney, 3 on Westray and 3 on Rousay. The main sites to visit are prehistoric remains and the other attraction is walking particularly on headlands and watching birds.

We found it restful and very interesting.

Rating for tour operator Excellent

Very helpful particularly as we were delayed by troubles with BA and they kept in touch and did their best to help.

As usual high standard and well organised.

By Happy Travelers. on 13 Jun 2017

Rating for this holiday Excellent
Find more about Northumberland – Dark Skies >

We went to Northumberland. First few days taking in the history. Our guide,Kevin, dressed in his celtic warrior outfit gave us a very informative tour of Hadrians wall and a museum. He took into consideration 2 older guests which could nt walk too far, and was fun and courteous throughout. Next few days were spent on the coast. we had a fantastic time on a boat trip round the Farne Islands, again the crew were very knowledgeable and still had great enthusiasm in sharing it. We landed on the island and had a great time ducking the terns that were dive bombing us. Great close up view of puffins,eiders etc.

Rating for tour operator Excellent

This is the 5th or 6th time we have used them. Always helpful and accommodating. The holidays always live up to their advertisements. They are well organised and efficient in all correspondence, able to adapt the holiday to suit our needs. Accommodation and excursions are always of the highest standard.

Another marvellous visit to the Northern Isles

By Hugo on 12 Jun 2017

Rating for this holiday Excellent
Find more about Orkney & Shetland >

This was our fourth visit to Orkney/Shetland and we managed to see several places we hadn't been to before. The highlights perhaps were the West Mainland of Shetland, Northmavine, Lunna, Ninian's Isle and the Bressay/Noss boat trip. In Orkney we had an unforgettable day on the island of Rousay. The chambered cairn at Midhope is not to be missed.

Rating for tour operator Excellent

Everything about McKinlay Kidd is efficient - all the arrangements and reservations worked perfectly. No support was required, but it was nice to know it was there just in case.

Everything arranged exactly as expected

By Mick on 11 Jun 2017

Rating for this holiday Excellent

A self drive holiday through the outer isles with enough time to appreciate the special qualities of each island.

Rating for tour operator Excellent

All as promised in the website.

A wonderful Arcadian Experience

By Annie on 11 Jun 2017

Rating for this holiday Excellent

The trip exceeded all expectations, well organised , good accommodation and of course Caithness and the Orkneys were stunning.
It is a long was by train so next time we might fly to Inverness first

Rating for tour operator Excellent

Really well organised as usual

HIGHLANDS CASTLES AND WHISKEY MAKE A GRAND COMBINATION

By Old Prof on 10 Jun 2017

Rating for this holiday Excellent
Find more about Classic Round Scotland by Train >

Seven days traveling by rail around Scotland with no worries because all was planned for us. Everything went by plan. The trains ran on time, the tickets arrived by courier at our first stop, all hotels were beyond expectations, and drivers and day tours were, without exception, well-chosen, knowledgable and kind to us.

Rating for tour operator Excellent

McKinley Kidd kept us informed at every stage of planning and provided a thorough set of materials for the trip. Hamish Adamson was our contact at the agency. We had occasion to talk with him on a couple of occasions and he was kind, and helpful and gave us good advice about restaurants and activities.

Orkney Magic!

By Sam on 6 Jun 2017

Rating for this holiday Excellent

My wife and I went on holiday to Orkney with our two very active boys aged 10 and 8. It was a fantastic adventure: we couldn't have asked for more. From (literally) exploring Neolithic tombs, to examining 4000-year-old objects recovered from a dig that morning - to puffins and seals galore, it was really special for all of us. I'd particularly recommend Westray, Rousay and Papa Westray - we really enjoyed 'Mainland' and the southern isles but absolutely loved the atmosphere and vibe on the smaller islands to the north.

Rating for tour operator Excellent

Spot on both with the planning and the organisation. We didn't have time to research this trip and McKinlay Kid got it absolutely spot on for us. Thank you!