AITO: The Association of Independent Tour Operators
McKinlay Kidd

McKinlay Kidd Traveller Reviews

Reviews of McKinlay Kidd

Overall Company Rating
100%
Excellent 366
Good 4
Average 0
Poor 0
Terrible 0
Reviews Submitted: 370
Reviews Accepted: 370
Reviews Rejected: 0
370 reviews
Sort by:
Grand Tour of Scotland by Train by JohnFaz, 9 May 2018
Holiday Rating:

Fabulous no-drive tour of Scotland

A great way to see the Highlands and Islands - no driving!

A great way to see the Highlands and Islands - no driving!

Rating for tour operator:

Top notch from start to finish.

Mull Wildlife Experience by camping cath, 6 May 2018
Holiday Rating:

Hubbys Birthday Treat

Trip to Mull Wildlife Photography short break Fabulous McKinlay Kidd organised it all from the first phone call they were brilliant accommodation ferries days out all sorted all we had to do was enjoy and we did thank you McKinlay Kidd 100% recommend and will definitely come back if we ever going again Thank You the Birthday Boy had a fabulous time well you're only 65 yrs young once in your life

Trip to Mull Wildlife Photography short break Fabulous McKinlay Kidd organised it all from the first phone call they were brilliant accommodation ferries days out all sorted all we had to do was enjoy and we did thank you McKinlay Kidd 100% recommend and will definitely come back if we ever going again Thank You the Birthday Boy had a fabulous time well you're only 65 yrs young once in your life

Rating for tour operator:

McKINLAY kidd DID A BRILLIANT JOB FOR US tHANKS TO ALL THE TEAM

Mull Wildlife Experience by Smithp139, 4 May 2018
Holiday Rating:

Excellent trip put together by a company who really know their stuff.

McKinley Kidd use excellent hotels and put together an excellent trip for us that was hugely enjoyable

McKinley Kidd use excellent hotels and put together an excellent trip for us that was hugely enjoyable

Rating for tour operator:

Very responsive and quick to sort out issues.

Grand Tour of Scotland by Train by HB and daughter, 3 May 2018
Holiday Rating:

Great value giving amazing experiences. Helpful and knowledgeable staff.

We loved our Scotland trip and this was mainly due to the attention to details in the planning by McKinlay Kidd and the amazing choices of guest houses, tour operators and even taxi services.

We loved our Scotland trip and this was mainly due to the attention to details in the planning by McKinlay Kidd and the amazing choices of guest houses, tour operators and even taxi services.

Rating for tour operator:

McKinlay Kidd did an outstanding job every phase of the trip. They certainly put the money into their customers. - we were so happy with the choices. It was obvious that each place was thoroughly vetted.

Journey through Western Isles by PatP, 26 Apr 2018
Holiday Rating:

Fly Drive to the Outer Hebrides

A great experience, enjoying the significant differences between the Hebridean Islands, and Hebridean hospitality - great food and accommodation

A great experience, enjoying the significant differences between the Hebridean Islands, and Hebridean hospitality - great food and accommodation

Rating for tour operator:

This is our third consecutive year holidaying with McKinlay Kidd, each time a tailor made holiday. Their agents are very pleasant to deal with and they know the areas well. We have always been very happy with the varied accommodation choices they offer, and the arrangements they have made on our behalf. If anything outside their control goes wrong, they are on the ball, managing outcomes to ensure that you are happy. If you are interested in the kind of holidays they offer, I don't think you will find anyone better.

West Highland Line to Skye by Ticketyboo, 23 Apr 2018
Holiday Rating:

By train to Isle of Skye via Spean Bridge

Short break to Isle of Skye by train. We travelled from Glasgow Queen St Station to Spean Bridge where we were met by proprietor of Old Pines Hotel. One nights stay bed/breakfast and evening meal. Beautiful location with beautiful mountain views. Meal and accommodation to very good standard. Ken took us to station following morning, nothing too much trouble. Onward train to Fort William where we picked up steam train and travelled first ...

Short break to Isle of Skye by train. We travelled from Glasgow Queen St Station to Spean Bridge where we were met by proprietor of Old Pines Hotel. One nights stay bed/breakfast and evening meal. Beautiful location with beautiful mountain views. Meal and accommodation to very good standard. Ken took us to station following morning, nothing too much trouble. Onward train to Fort William where we picked up steam train and travelled first class to Mallaig, again fabulous scenic route. Ferry over to Isle of Skye and met by ‘Donnie’ who took us to Eileen Larmain Hotel for 2 nights stay B+B. Very comfortable large bed. Had meal both evening in adjoining pub. Following morning ‘Donnie’ took us for very comprehensive tour of island which we thoroughly enjoyed thanks to his excellent knowledge of the island. Following morning we returned home.

Rating for tour operator:

Couldn’t fault. Can’t think of anything they could have done better. Very comprehensive itinerary provided. Just sit back and enjoy.

North Coast 500 by NC500 driver, 23 Apr 2018
Holiday Rating:

A wonderfully organised holiday around the NC500.

The holiday was a self drive tour around the NC500. McKinlay Kidd organised my overnight stops. They selected some outstanding accommodation that made the trip perfect. They also provided an excellent itinerary that helped make the holiday memorable. Clearly a great deal of time and effort had gone into the planning by the tour operator’s staff. The hosts at my four stops were exceptionally helpful. The food impressive. I was delighted with ...

The holiday was a self drive tour around the NC500. McKinlay Kidd organised my overnight stops. They selected some outstanding accommodation that made the trip perfect. They also provided an excellent itinerary that helped make the holiday memorable. Clearly a great deal of time and effort had gone into the planning by the tour operator’s staff. The hosts at my four stops were exceptionally helpful. The food impressive. I was delighted with all four chosen stays. This was a holiday that exemplified the benefit of booking through an agent. They knew the area and they knew the high quality accommodation. The NC500 meanwhile was a stunning drive.

Rating for tour operator:

Excellent throughout. My previous comments very much highlight how impressed I was with them.

Land on the Sand on Barra by Romaky, 22 Apr 2018
Holiday Rating:

A little piece of Heaven

Landing on the beach at Barra Airport in the sunshine. A wonderful holiday. Stayed at the Heathbank, very comfortable accommodaton and Marion the owner was so nice and helpful, the breakfasts were scrumptious Had our evening meal at the hotel which was also very tasty.

Landing on the beach at Barra Airport in the sunshine. A wonderful holiday. Stayed at the Heathbank, very comfortable accommodaton and Marion the owner was so nice and helpful, the breakfasts were scrumptious Had our evening meal at the hotel which was also very tasty.

Rating for tour operator:

Caoimhe our contact at McKinlay Kidd organised the trip for us, we received our booking details along with directions to the hotel and a list of some places worth visiting. Well my husband will tell you it was a memorable 70th birthday and McKinlay Kidd made it stress free.

McKinlay Kidd by Lexie, 5 Apr 2018
Holiday Rating:

Driving a Tesla around the Highlands and staying in magical places

McKinlay Kidd organised our itinerary for driving around the Highlands via the North Coast 500 route ensuring we stayed in magical places with charging opportunities. Their attention to detail, responsiveness and desire to ensure that we got the very most out of our holiday was impressive. We loved driving the car and winding through the most beautiful scenery ending the day in front of a blazing fire on a squashy sofa with a beautiful view ...

McKinlay Kidd organised our itinerary for driving around the Highlands via the North Coast 500 route ensuring we stayed in magical places with charging opportunities. Their attention to detail, responsiveness and desire to ensure that we got the very most out of our holiday was impressive. We loved driving the car and winding through the most beautiful scenery ending the day in front of a blazing fire on a squashy sofa with a beautiful view and a wee dram cannot be beaten. Truly an experience to remember.

Rating for tour operator:

I would say that the main thing that distinguishes McKinlay Kidd as a tour operator is the human touch. The staff are delightful and available and responsive if you need something to be explained or altered. We were most impressed that there was a possibility that snow might prevent our flight and the evening before the McKinlay Kidd representative rang us to assure us they were keeping an eye on the situation, monitoring the flights and the weather and they would stay in touch. Their aim is to ensure that we the customer have the fun and they bear the concerns. We were most impressed and would now like to do the same thing driving around Ireland.

McKinlay Kidd by Single Malt, 31 Jan 2018
Holiday Rating:

Hebridean Adventure

We really wanted to visit the Outer Hebrides, Iona, Mull and the Shetland Islands and McKinlay Kidd put together a well organized three-week adventure for us. The trip included travel by rental car, ferry, rail and air; the schedules for all of this organized travel was very easy to follow and there was also a bit of flexibility if we wanted to make minor changes. All of our accommodation was a pleasant surprise because of the uniqueness of ...

We really wanted to visit the Outer Hebrides, Iona, Mull and the Shetland Islands and McKinlay Kidd put together a well organized three-week adventure for us. The trip included travel by rental car, ferry, rail and air; the schedules for all of this organized travel was very easy to follow and there was also a bit of flexibility if we wanted to make minor changes. All of our accommodation was a pleasant surprise because of the uniqueness of the lodgings that McKinlay Kidd coordinated. The accommodation was wonderful! I am so glad we had the trip organized so that all we really had to do was enjoy the travel and not worry about the reservation details. The hotel that was booked in Glasgow was very special and perfect for exploring the city centre.

Rating for tour operator:

It was very easy to work with McKinlay Kidd and they were always available for our questions. We didn't encounter any travel difficulties so we really had no need to contact McKinlay Kidd while we were in Scotland but we knew that they were always just a phone call or email away if we had any questions. We have already recommended McKinlay Kidd to friends who are planning a train trip in Scotland. Our next trip will certainly be with this travel company, can't wait!