McKinlay Kidd

Reviews of McKinlay Kidd

Overall company rating
4 100%
Reviews submitted: 274
Reviews accepted: 274
Reviews rejected: 0
Excellent
273
Good
1
Average
0
Poor
0
Terrible
0

Incredible car free island hopping in Scotland

By Dawn on 16 Aug 2017

Rating for this holiday Excellent

We visited Iona Skye Mull and Ben Nevis by public transport and did The Jacobite steam train excursion.

Rating for tour operator Excellent

They were so professional and had everything organised to the last detail.We are already looking at our next trip and will definitely book with McKinlay Kidd.

A wonderful sampler of Orkney and Shetland.

By Borderer on 16 Aug 2017

Rating for this holiday Excellent
Find more about Orkney & Shetland >

If you have never been to the Northern Isles, this is an excellent way to experience the attractions of these islands knowing that your trip has been well planned, high quality and hassle free.

Rating for tour operator Excellent

We have used McKinley Kidd before to tour the Outer Hebrides and our trip to Orkney and Shetland was a similarly high standard well organised holiday. For a such a short trip - three nights in Orkney and three nights in Shetland - we managed to pack so much in.

An amazing and magical time.

By De on 15 Aug 2017

Rating for this holiday Excellent
Find more about Classic Round Scotland by Train >

A tour of the Scottish Highlands, excellent from start to finish.
A worry free way to holiday, and the best of everything, taking the guess work out of holidaying yet lots of free time to explore and enjoy.

Rating for tour operator Excellent

Mckinlay Kidd, wonderful to deal with, organized, and experienced.

A magical stay

By Thebarnesinessex on 15 Aug 2017

Rating for this holiday Excellent

We have just returned from a four night break on the Isle of Mull. Despite the unseasonal weather, we had a fantastic stay and were fortunate enough to see a wide array of wildlife including white tailed eagles, sea otters, seals and harbour porpoises- sadly, no whales or basking sharks though.

Our accommodation was in the beautiful Glengorm Castle which was fantastic. The castle is in a stunning location with fantastic views. Breakfast was wonderful and the staff lovely. However, visitors need to be aware that the nearest restaurants for dinner in the evening are in Tobermory, 4 miles from the Castle. 4 miles isn't very far, however this is on a single track road along which progress can often be disrupted by sheep and highland cattle!

Rating for tour operator Excellent

McKinlay Kidd provided a first rate service throughout. All aspects of our trip were organised efficiently and the app through which all of our travel documents, itinerary etc could be accessed was very helpful. I would not hesitate to recommend McKinlay Kidd to anyone wanting to visit Scotland.

A brilliant holiday touring with the car around the Hebridean Islands

By Peter on 15 Aug 2017

Rating for this holiday Excellent

We spent our first night at Port Appin before sailing from Oban to Barra the next day. We had one night on Barra & then sailed to Uist where we stayed (Castlebay) for a couple of nights. Then it was the crossing over to Harris with two nights in Lews Castle in Stornoway. Our final leg involved crossing from Tarbert to Uig, Skye, where we spent a couple of 'foodie' nights at the Three Chimneys & Kinloch Lodge. The whole experience was tremendous, the accommodation really good & the food fantastic!

Rating for tour operator Excellent

McKinlay Kidd were excellent. They tailor-made our holiday to suit our requirements & managed a series of perfect ferry crossings (these are fiendishly complicated without expert knowledge) & accommodation choices for us. They also made everything very accessible via their Vamoos App - very useful. Additionally they were responsive to all of our contacts & pretty much immediately available via the phone. We would recommend McKinlay Kidd without hesitation.

Very well planned and very interesting.

By Keh on 14 Aug 2017

Rating for this holiday Excellent

Our holiday in July to the Orkneys, the Flights were well timed. The car hire was waiting at the airport and was very helpful. We were booked into and excellent hotel with a lovely room including fourposter bed and jacuzzi in the bath/shower room. The holiday pack included all the maps we could need and Robert's tips proved very helpful.
During the booking process the staff at McKinlay Kidd were very helpful. We thought the whole holiday was very good value. Only one tip to add, the booking of a visit to Maeshowe site should be done before you go, on line or go there and book as soon as you get to the Orkneys. It gets very busy and you cannot book by phone. It is well worth going to.

Rating for tour operator Excellent

Very helpful, excellent starter pack and great tips. See above.

great Shetland holiday

By Notts lass on 14 Aug 2017

Rating for this holiday Excellent
Find more about Shetland Fly drive >

hotel historic and excellent in a beautiful location. we made very interesting across the whole of mainland. No time to visit the smaller ialands, so we'll have to come back!

Rating for tour operator Excellent

Efficient, information, helpful.

By Mrs M F 17 on 14 Aug 2017

Rating for this holiday Excellent

Excellent

Rating for tour operator Excellent

Excellent

Perfect. Went like clock work. Lovely locations and hotels. Great personal touch.

By Mr j m 17 on 11 Aug 2017

Rating for this holiday Excellent
Find more about Classic Round Scotland by Train >

We'd never been on a package holiday and this one was wonder
ful and memorable. The Jacobian Steam Train was memorable. We had been booked a table of our own in first class. Going to the Edradour distillery -as suggested by McKinley Kidd- was another highlight. We also got to stay at Moyness guest house in Inverness with happy, healthy chickens providing the breakfast eggs.

Rating for tour operator Excellent

McKinley Kidd were faultless. Everything one could want on a holiday. They also added a welcome personal touch with recommendations ranging from bookshops to restaurants to local attractions. Even which whisky to try.

First timers to the Outer Hebrides.

By RichP on 11 Aug 2017

Rating for this holiday Excellent

We were very lucky with the weather which allowed us to experience the Outer Hebrides at their very best during this days tour. We were amazed at the tranquility & beauty in this virtually crime free part of the UK.

Rating for tour operator Excellent

This tour was arranged at quite short notice by McKinlay Kidd to give my wife & I a flavour of the outer Isles, & it did not disappoint.
Our overall experience was very good, & the detailed planning & advice given by McKinlay Kidd was excellent - above & beyond what we expected.