AITO: The Association of Independent Tour Operators
McKinlay Kidd

McKinlay Kidd Traveller Reviews

Reviews of McKinlay Kidd

Overall Company Rating
100%
Excellent 480
Good 5
Average 0
Poor 0
Terrible 0
Reviews Submitted: 485
Reviews Accepted: 485
Reviews Rejected: 0
485 reviews
Sort by:
McKinlay Kidd by Welshlady, 21 Dec 2018
Holiday Rating:

Excellent Scottish island holiday

We visited Tiree and Mull in September partly to experience where some of my husband’s family had come from. In spite of the mixed weather we had an excellent holiday. We explored Tiree using a hire car, visiting some of its beautiful beaches, Hynish and its historic buildings and, in spite of its remoteness, eating good food, especially sea food. The weather was not so kind in Mull but an escorted wildlife tour, organised by McKinlay Kidd, ...

We visited Tiree and Mull in September partly to experience where some of my husband’s family had come from. In spite of the mixed weather we had an excellent holiday. We explored Tiree using a hire car, visiting some of its beautiful beaches, Hynish and its historic buildings and, in spite of its remoteness, eating good food, especially sea food. The weather was not so kind in Mull but an escorted wildlife tour, organised by McKinlay Kidd, enabled us to see the beauty of the island and some of the wildlife for which it is famous, from the comfort of a minibus. The accommodation in Tiree and Mull was very comfortable and the owners most welcoming and helpful. Our stay in Oban was brief but the hotel overlooking the harbour was both convenient for our early ferry and comfortable. We were lucky in that we had very calm crossings with Caledonian McBrayne and very much enjoyed the view from the decks. We enjoyed experiencing the calmer pace of life. All in all a good holiday.

Rating for tour operator:

I cannot speak too highly of McKinlay Kidd. All the arrangements by Caoimhe were excellent including booked train seats and excellent accommodation in Oban, Tiree and Mull. They were able to tailor the holiday to us ( no car) and the detailed itinerary and supporting documents were extremely helpful. Having to limit our luggage to what we could carry ourselves we were particularly impressed with the Vamoos app. We made good use of Robert’s Recommendations and it was useful to have detailed information always at our fingertips. For us the Mull wildlife tour was a highlight. While we were on Mull the weather wasn’t great and it was most comforting to receive a phone call from Caoimhe to see if we were OK. Fortunately our travel arrangements were not affected. I would highly recommend McKinlay Kidd and would definitely use them again.

McKinlay Kidd by Michael, 15 Nov 2018
Holiday Rating:

Western Isles of Scotland

My two adult sons and I worked with McKinley Kidd to arrange a custom trip to Skye, Lewis, Harris and Bernreray. We knew where we wanted to go and when and McKinley Kidd did the rest - accommodations, car, ferries and suggetions for dining, hiking, et al. The accommodations were unique and delightful.

My two adult sons and I worked with McKinley Kidd to arrange a custom trip to Skye, Lewis, Harris and Bernreray. We knew where we wanted to go and when and McKinley Kidd did the rest - accommodations, car, ferries and suggetions for dining, hiking, et al. The accommodations were unique and delightful.

Rating for tour operator:

MK arranged everything and provided detailed information, a customized mobile app, maps and suggestions. When a ferry was cacelled due to weather MK was on the phone to us with alternative arrangements.

McKinlay Kidd by JackieC, 14 Nov 2018
Holiday Rating:

Tour of Britain by train (England and Scotland)

A no car journey taking in Bath, Chester, Ullswater, Spean Bridge, Plockton, Inverness, Edinburgh and York in 14 days. Breathtaking scenery, beautiful places to stay and imaginative excursions with knowledgeable, specialist guides. We would go back in a shot. Assistance was available at the end of the phone any time but this was largely independent apart from the bookings including train tickets. We had a wonderful, memorable time.

A no car journey taking in Bath, Chester, Ullswater, Spean Bridge, Plockton, Inverness, Edinburgh and York in 14 days. Breathtaking scenery, beautiful places to stay and imaginative excursions with knowledgeable, specialist guides. We would go back in a shot. Assistance was available at the end of the phone any time but this was largely independent apart from the bookings including train tickets. We had a wonderful, memorable time.

Rating for tour operator:

A small niche provider who had excellent reviews from other travellers as well as the companies they deal with. The only glich due to the rail service was handled sensitively. We had never been to Scotland before and the knowledge of the Tour Operator made all the difference.

Reviewer's images:
McKinlay Kidd by Teslaking, 11 Nov 2018
Holiday Rating:

Scotland in a Tesla

We booked to drive a Tesla firstly to Skye for a few days and then on to the Cairngorms. The car rental company selected by McKinlay Kidd were brilliant and the hotels they chose for us were perfect. Their preholiday information and personal support was great.

We booked to drive a Tesla firstly to Skye for a few days and then on to the Cairngorms. The car rental company selected by McKinlay Kidd were brilliant and the hotels they chose for us were perfect. Their preholiday information and personal support was great.

Rating for tour operator:

We had to downsize our plans and they dealt with it very well, revising our plans and tailoring the holiday exactly to our needs. They obviously know the area, the hotels and their partners and have chosen them well.

Outer Hebrides Fly-drive by radders, 10 Nov 2018
Holiday Rating:

warm friendly hosts, great accomodation wonderful scenery. great hire car ( Yaris)

somehow the rain and wind and mid september was the perfect time to be in the outer hebrides. WE loved it all , magnificent food, love the wild and lonely scenery ( had some great little walks )people all so friendly and welcoming , would have loved to be longer there. and finishing up at the Ceilidh place in gorgeous Ullapool just topped it all off. We had had the preceeding week in Edinburgh which we love anyway. !! and ...

somehow the rain and wind and mid september was the perfect time to be in the outer hebrides. WE loved it all , magnificent food, love the wild and lonely scenery ( had some great little walks )people all so friendly and welcoming , would have loved to be longer there. and finishing up at the Ceilidh place in gorgeous Ullapool just topped it all off. We had had the preceeding week in Edinburgh which we love anyway. !! and MK posted us an extra package of info there which was great .MK also booked the hotel we returned to there after our trip . and before we headed for our river boat trip in Europe ( 3 boats!! due to low river levels ) so glad for us and them that we got that rain in the Hebrides .Landing on the beach in Barra in the rain was fun !!!

Rating for tour operator:

McKinlay Kidd's choice of hotels , and b and b's and the tour app and all other info were all excellent . from the moment I found them on the internet the year before we went !!! The ferries were great and being not mid season were flexible and we were well advised by our hosts when to take the earlier ones which was great, Hire car delivery was no fuss , in the pouring rain !! and only 5 mins to the hotel on Barra.

North Coast 500 by California Trekkers, 8 Nov 2018
Holiday Rating:

NC 500 plus Orkney Islands

A Highlands adventure with great attention to every detail, from lovely accommodations to tips on sights, restaurants and history of the region.

A Highlands adventure with great attention to every detail, from lovely accommodations to tips on sights, restaurants and history of the region.

Rating for tour operator:

We were so pleased to arrange our trip with McKinlay Kidd. The responsiveness, attention to detail, and working with us to customize to fit our wishes on what to see and where to stay was outstanding!

McKinlay Kidd by Ms. B B 18, 6 Nov 2018
Holiday Rating:

The Best of Ireland

Lovely holiday, saw so much of Ireland--its variety, its history, its people. This is the way to really see the country.

Lovely holiday, saw so much of Ireland--its variety, its history, its people. This is the way to really see the country.

Rating for tour operator:

McKinlay-Kidd has once again outdone themselves. They couldn't have made our tour of Ireland any easier. If you want to see more than the usual tourist-type destinations, check out their U.K. tours.

West Highland Line Experience by Mrs J W 18, 5 Nov 2018
Holiday Rating:

West highland experience

Lovely hotel in Speem Bridge ... the Old Pines .. with great views and easily accessible walks. Steam train was interesting experience.

Lovely hotel in Speem Bridge ... the Old Pines .. with great views and easily accessible walks. Steam train was interesting experience.

Rating for tour operator:

McKinley Kidd are always excellent in quality and support given

North Coast 500 by Janlam, 5 Nov 2018
Holiday Rating:

What an adventure the real North Highlands are

This was a great trip based around the NW500 but stopping off wherever we fancied including the Isle of Skye and the Castle of Mey. A series of really quirky but good hotels and inns recommended by McKinley Kidd with so much fresh fish made it a real pleasure to eat every night as well as enjoy the just stunning landscape of the North of Scotland. The harshness of the scenery after meant you din't see anything or anybody for miles but when you ...

This was a great trip based around the NW500 but stopping off wherever we fancied including the Isle of Skye and the Castle of Mey. A series of really quirky but good hotels and inns recommended by McKinley Kidd with so much fresh fish made it a real pleasure to eat every night as well as enjoy the just stunning landscape of the North of Scotland. The harshness of the scenery after meant you din't see anything or anybody for miles but when you did and stopped the welcome was so warm and friendly. The trip started so well with our first B&B (2 The Quails, Dornoch) where are hosts cooked the fare and entertained us royally. Just a real treat from start to finish..

Rating for tour operator:

This was the second time that we have used McKinley Kidd and with the advance of technology they were even better than the first time using VAMOSS for guides etc. The hotels and Inns they recommended were just what we wanted, part of the local community but with good food and facilities. Really top class and we even saw two stags less then 10 yards from the car which even they couldn't have arranged!

McKinlay Kidd by SASSANACH, 5 Nov 2018
Holiday Rating:

A GREAT WAY TO SEE SCOTLAND BY TRAIN AND CAR

THIS WELL-PUT-TOGETHER PACKAGE ENABLED US TO TAKE A WEEK'S TOUR OF THE HIGHLANDS AND EXPERIENCE THE STUNNING SCENERY TO FULL ADVANTAGE. ALTHOUGH IT WAS ONLY FOR A WEEK WE CAME AWAY FEELING THAT THE ITINERARY HAD ENABLED US TO MAKE THE MOST OF ALL THAT THE DIFFERENT LOCATIONS HAD TO OFFER WHILST ENJOYING SOME FIRST CLASS ACCOMMODATION

THIS WELL-PUT-TOGETHER PACKAGE ENABLED US TO TAKE A WEEK'S TOUR OF THE HIGHLANDS AND EXPERIENCE THE STUNNING SCENERY TO FULL ADVANTAGE. ALTHOUGH IT WAS ONLY FOR A WEEK WE CAME AWAY FEELING THAT THE ITINERARY HAD ENABLED US TO MAKE THE MOST OF ALL THAT THE DIFFERENT LOCATIONS HAD TO OFFER WHILST ENJOYING SOME FIRST CLASS ACCOMMODATION

Rating for tour operator:

The staff were all extremely helpful in enabling a bespoke package to be arranged and the information pack and app that were supplied proved very useful in being able to make the most of the places visited.