McKinlay Kidd

Reviews of McKinlay Kidd

Overall company rating
4 100%
Reviews submitted: 178
Reviews accepted: 178
Reviews rejected: 0
Excellent
177
Good
1
Average
0
Poor
0
Terrible
0

Train tour of Scotland

By Joan on 1 Nov 2016

Rating for tour operator Good

tour was very good, guide was friendly and knowledgeable but tour was a bit longer than we would have liked. 10 1/2 hrs in a van pushed our limits.

Wonderful holiday to remember

By Marge on 30 Oct 2016

Rating for this holiday Excellent

We enjoyed a tailor made rail holiday in Scotland to celebrate our Ruby Wedding. Everything was wonderful - the accommodation, travel and excursions.

Rating for tour operator Excellent

Everything was well planned and organized. Great information pack and support

Scotland at its Autumnal best

By Fraynee on 26 Oct 2016

Rating for this holiday Excellent
Find more about West Highland Line Experience >

We travelled by train from Cheltenham to Edinburgh. A very pleasant first class journey. Arrived at Channings Hotel which was a 20 minute walk from City centre. A perfect quiet location. Channings was a delightful well preserved Georgian building. Helpful staff, comfortable lounges and room. Good food. After 2 days we left for the Highlands and Spean Bridge.
A very pleasant train journey through beautiful countryside to Spean Bridge. We were met by Ken owner of Old Pines Hotel where we were to stay. On arrival we sat in the sunshine and enjoyed a delicious tea of homemade scones, jam and cream. The view from where we sat in the gardens was spectacular. We quickly unpacked and went for a walk. We were spoilt for choice and all the pathways began at the stile opposite the entrance to Old Pines. It was so convenient. This place is really very special. Comfortable, delicious food, and surrounded by breath taking scenery. Ken and his family offered a great service.
The Jacobite Steam Train trip the following day was such fun and the views amazing. We loved the opportunity to walk and explore in our own time. It was definitely one of our best holidays ever. We will return.

Rating for tour operator Excellent

McKinlay Kidd were Efficient from the first moment of contact. The holiday arrangements all ran very smoothly and according to plan. We were very impressed.

Grand Tour of Scotland by Train

By Rossmag on 22 Oct 2016

Rating for this holiday Excellent
Find more about Grand Tour of Scotland by Train >

We were very impressed by the level of professionalism and wonderful organization of our trip! We saw a great deal of Scotland in the 15 days, including a wonderful tour of Skye and Orkney.

Rating for tour operator Excellent

We would recommend McKinlay-Kidd to anyone wanting a tour that is completely organized, with the freedom to do their own thing at each stop, and also some great guided tours!

Magical journey on the North Coast 500 route

By Kitty on 20 Oct 2016

Rating for this holiday Excellent
Find more about North Coast 500 >

I travelled the North Coast 500 route in the first week of October. It was my first time in the Highlands and my eyes were bursting with all the beautiful landscapes. It was also very interesting historically - I had not realised the important part this area played in the World Wars.

Rating for tour operator Excellent

I am not sure whether McKinlay Kidd organised the wonderful weather, but I wouldn't put it past them - they are so good at attention to detail.

Orkney in October - superb!

By PC on 13 Oct 2016

Rating for this holiday Excellent

Four of us flew from Glasgow to Kirkwall. We required assistance as one of our group is in a wheelchair. Everything was organised for us and the hire car very roomy. Orkney was bathed in glorious sunshine for the whole trip. The hotel, Lynnfield very comfortable and food lovely.
We would like to go back for a longer stay and have time to visit the other islands, which is easily done by either flying or ferry.

Rating for tour operator Excellent

This is the second trip we have arranged through McKinlay Kidd and everything was well organised for us and we know the accommodation will be good as it is checked out by them personally.
We will definitely ask them to help us again.

Lovely weekend experiance

By stuart1960 on 11 Oct 2016

Rating for this holiday Excellent

We booked a Fri - Sun in Tobermory, just the 2 of us and it was a very lovely location in a very nice hotel, the staff were friendly and knowledgeable, the food was also excellent and there was a nicely stocked bar.

There were lots to see and do in the surrounding area and Mull is a very lovely island, we would have no hesitation about holidaying there again.

Rating for tour operator Excellent

We booked with McKinlay Kidd, they provided a seamless service from the point of booking, delivering to us a couple of weeks before hand out itinerary, maps of the location, ferry tickets and directions. We felt so much better not having to worry about these details in the knowledge that they were being expertly taken care of.

Thoroughly enjoyable. Not one anxious moment.

By KTG on 11 Oct 2016

Rating for this holiday Excellent
Find more about Orkney & Shetland >

Fly drive to Orkney and Shetland.

Rating for tour operator Excellent

Efficient with good attention to detail.

Autumn break in Scotland

By Macca on 11 Oct 2016

Rating for this holiday Excellent
Find more about Orkney & Shetland >

Spent 3 nights in the Orkneys and 3 nights in the Shetlands. Both islands were beautiful. We stayed in the Lyynfield and Scalloway hotels and both were excellent in every way

Rating for tour operator Excellent

Efficient and helpful throughout the process. All bookings were straightforward and the instructions they sent us could not have been bettered. We would recommend them to friends and would have no hesitation in using them again.

Perfect escape to the Islands

By Mrs A F 16 on 11 Oct 2016

Rating for this holiday Excellent

Short break in Orkney to delve a little deeper into these mystical islands. On arriving at a delightfully small airport met by our car hire agent, taken into Kirkwall to collect car fir the next 3 days. A warm welcome, clean car and local information given. Settled into our hotel, chosen by McKinlay Kidd and was not at all disappointed with the standard, friendliness and comfort.. Excellent restaurant where everything is locally sourced and home cooked. If you enjoy a tipple or two you will certainly not be disappointed with the vast selection of Whisky on offer. We had the Orkney Explorer pass in our 'well put together' information pack from McKinlay Kidd which meant we could enter many of the visitor sites with no money changing hands - perfect. Lucky with the weather, albeit windy but you can tell by the number of wind turbines it's pretty windy most of the time! Managed to get out and about and do most of the visits on our list. It was early October so not too busy, only found a couple of places closed for the season. For us this made it so much more of a peaceful and atmospheric walk around the Ring of Brodgar - it gave you a real sense of its historical origins. Also with skara Brae, alongside the desolate windswept beach you could almost hear the past calling out. Of course, needed to do a whisky tour and chose Highland Park, as it's right next to the hotel! The Tour was excellent, interesting and informative. Now I can impress anyone who cares to listen about my new found knowledge!

Rating for tour operator Excellent

We've taken a number of holidays organised by McKinlay Kidd and all have been excellent. It's the thoughtfulness and detail that make the difference. We know that once we leave home, we are going to have a stress free time, their organisation is perfect.