AITO: The Association of Independent Tour Operators
McKinlay Kidd

McKinlay Kidd Traveller Reviews

Reviews of McKinlay Kidd

Overall Company Rating
100%
Excellent 926
Good 12
Average 0
Poor 4
Terrible 0
Reviews Submitted: 942
Reviews Accepted: 941
Reviews Rejected: 1
941 reviews
Sort by:
Outer Hebrides Fly-drive by Tumshie, 7 Jul 2016
Holiday Rating:

a first visit to the wonderful outer hebrides

The Otter aircraft landed us on the beach at Barra after which we spent 7 days touring north through South Uist , Bebecula , North Uist ,Harris and Lewis ..The beaches at Vatarsay on Barra and those on Harris must be among the most spectacular in the world ; huge expanses of white sand and no one in sight . The RSPB reserve at Balranald was a blaze of wild flowers as the Crofters do not use chemicals on their crops .The Callinish standing stones ...

The Otter aircraft landed us on the beach at Barra after which we spent 7 days touring north through South Uist , Bebecula , North Uist ,Harris and Lewis ..The beaches at Vatarsay on Barra and those on Harris must be among the most spectacular in the world ; huge expanses of white sand and no one in sight . The RSPB reserve at Balranald was a blaze of wild flowers as the Crofters do not use chemicals on their crops .The Callinish standing stones on Lewis , the Iron Age house on Great Bernera ,and the Blackhouse Village are just some of the reminders of our past from prehistory up to the nineteenth century ,and which really enhance the holiday experience . We are already planning to return .

Rating for tour operator:

At all times communications were excellent , written , email and verbal contact could not have been better . The arrangements were delivered precisely as promised . The travel pack included very useful notes , a Philip's red book map and a book of walks all of which proved invaluable . We have already recommended McKinlay Kidd to friends and would use them again .

McKinlay Kidd responded to this review on 08 Jul 2016:

Many thanks Robert. We are all delighted you enjoyed your first taste of the Outer Hebrides.

McKinlay Kidd by Mr W S 16, 6 Jul 2016
Holiday Rating:

Driverless Island Hopping Holiday

Enjoyed two weeks travelling the western isles of Scotland.

Enjoyed two weeks travelling the western isles of Scotland.

Rating for tour operator:

McKinlay Kidd designed a perfect vacation for our family!

McKinlay Kidd by G & G, 5 Jul 2016
Holiday Rating:

Stimulating and refreshing adventure!

A week in Orkney ( Mainland and Westray) introduced us to some Scottish Islands we have not visited properly before. Mainland impressed us with its fascinating WW2 history and world class neolithic sites. Westray has many as yet barely developed treasures to explore and the local residents fascinated us with stories of their pioneering multi-tasking. The one hotel in Westray in Pierowall deserves a special mention for providing really varied ...

A week in Orkney ( Mainland and Westray) introduced us to some Scottish Islands we have not visited properly before. Mainland impressed us with its fascinating WW2 history and world class neolithic sites. Westray has many as yet barely developed treasures to explore and the local residents fascinated us with stories of their pioneering multi-tasking. The one hotel in Westray in Pierowall deserves a special mention for providing really varied and good meals. There are excellent connecting ferry services between the islands. The accommodation in the Highlands en route was quite excellent.

Rating for tour operator:

We have used McKinley Kidd on previous occasions. Our tailor-made holidays arranged by them have never failed to satisfy.

Orkney & Shetland Self-drive by Island Hopper, 5 Jul 2016
Holiday Rating:

Fantastic

We went to Orkney and Shetland organised by McKinlay Kidd who did a great job. the hotels were very comfortable and the food of a high standard. The explorer pass which was included in the holiday price gave us access to all of the important historical sites and the trip to Papa Westray via the shortest scheduled flight in the world was amazing.

We went to Orkney and Shetland organised by McKinlay Kidd who did a great job. the hotels were very comfortable and the food of a high standard. The explorer pass which was included in the holiday price gave us access to all of the important historical sites and the trip to Papa Westray via the shortest scheduled flight in the world was amazing.

Rating for tour operator:

McKinlay Kidd were very helpful in planning our trip, suggesting changes to their published itinerary to suit our requirements. They kept us informed at all times as the holiday time approached. Their information pack which they sent to us was very complete and allowed us to plan which of the many sites we wanted to visit, in the short time we had on each island.

McKinlay Kidd by Chaniagirl, 4 Jul 2016
Holiday Rating:

Everything we could have wished for

A self drive trip along the Wild Atlantic Way from Kinsale to Baltimore on the west of Ireland. Fabulous eclectic accommodation in beautiful locations. All the boutique Bed and Breakfasts were just lovely and all provided excellent breakfasts with amazing choices of food.

A self drive trip along the Wild Atlantic Way from Kinsale to Baltimore on the west of Ireland. Fabulous eclectic accommodation in beautiful locations. All the boutique Bed and Breakfasts were just lovely and all provided excellent breakfasts with amazing choices of food.

Rating for tour operator:

Very Professional and very helpful, we live in Greece and felt very comfortable that all the arrangements would be in place as promised. All documents couriered out to us.

Outer Hebrides Fly-drive by Pat Lancashire, 4 Jul 2016
Holiday Rating:

Wonderful island hopping holiday

We had a lovely week exploring the Outer Hebrides. We did a fly drive, which involved two flights, two ferries, and three hotels. All the arrangements made on our behalf worked perfectly, and the hotels were all excellent. One of our ferry times was changed at short notice by the ferry company, and I was very impressed that McKinlay Kidd notified both the hotel in which we were staying, the hotel we were due to go to, and emailed me personally...

We had a lovely week exploring the Outer Hebrides. We did a fly drive, which involved two flights, two ferries, and three hotels. All the arrangements made on our behalf worked perfectly, and the hotels were all excellent. One of our ferry times was changed at short notice by the ferry company, and I was very impressed that McKinlay Kidd notified both the hotel in which we were staying, the hotel we were due to go to, and emailed me personally. We had a great holiday, and I would certainly travel with this company again.

Rating for tour operator:

They were extremely helpful whenever I was in contact with them, and answered any concerns I had immediately. The travel pack which they sent to me containing etickets and an itinerary, was excellent. It contained lots of useful information on places to go, restaurants, useful tips, a tourist map, and an excellent book of walks. We found all of these extremely useful, and they added to the enjoyment of our holiday.

McKinlay Kidd by Sandy, 4 Jul 2016
Holiday Rating:

Golfing tour of outer hebrides

hotels good value for money food very good. golf varied but enjoyable this was our second holiday with McKinlay Kidd. and we will use them again

hotels good value for money food very good. golf varied but enjoyable this was our second holiday with McKinlay Kidd. and we will use them again

Rating for tour operator:

We traveled by car using Cal-Mac ferries organised by McKinlay Kidd.

Orkney & Shetland Self-drive by Jennie, 4 Jul 2016
Holiday Rating:

Orkney and Shetland Revealed

I was keen to see what Orkney and Shetland were like and I feel I gained a very good impression of the islands in a short time. I wanted to go as far north as I could go and made it to about three miles from the most northerly point. I was also keen to experience the 'simmer dim' which thanks to good weather I did. My other main aim was to see the sea birds and at Sumburgh Head I saw more than I could have hoped for. The puffins were an absolute ...

I was keen to see what Orkney and Shetland were like and I feel I gained a very good impression of the islands in a short time. I wanted to go as far north as I could go and made it to about three miles from the most northerly point. I was also keen to experience the 'simmer dim' which thanks to good weather I did. My other main aim was to see the sea birds and at Sumburgh Head I saw more than I could have hoped for. The puffins were an absolute delight and the gannets were amazing. My hotels were comfortable and welcoming; the food delicious. The weather was OK too.

Rating for tour operator:

It was so good to have so many of the details arranged for me and everything ran smoothly. It was very useful to receive a full package of guidance some weeks before so that I could plan exactly what I wanted to do. The help of the company enabled me to undertake a journey I might other wise not have taken. I am grateful for the help given and would consider another holiday with the company in the future.

McKinlay Kidd by Colleen Amanda, 4 Jul 2016
Holiday Rating:

Wonderful tour of Scotland and a touch of Ireland

We travelled by train for 10 days from Edinburgh back to Glasgow, covering the highlands, and Isle of Skye. We took extra time on the Isle of Skye and in Edinburgh and I think I would have added more time in Glasgow. Trains were a great option for those who don't want to drive. We spent 3 days in Dublin, and a day trip to the Wicklow Mountains - beautiful. I would go back and discover Ireland more next time.

We travelled by train for 10 days from Edinburgh back to Glasgow, covering the highlands, and Isle of Skye. We took extra time on the Isle of Skye and in Edinburgh and I think I would have added more time in Glasgow. Trains were a great option for those who don't want to drive. We spent 3 days in Dublin, and a day trip to the Wicklow Mountains - beautiful. I would go back and discover Ireland more next time.

Rating for tour operator:

I had several issues on my trip and McKinley Kidd was there to assist me. We encountered an airline strike and they were on the phone 24/7 just making sure we was ok. They arranged to cancel my lodging for the night as we were not going to make it. We also had a rail strike in Scotland and they got us a taxi for alternate transportation. Made sure we were aware of this in plenty of time.

McKinlay Kidd responded to this review on 04 Jul 2016:

Many thanks for your kind review. I am glad that the various travel "challenges" you encountered did not spoil the overall experience.

West Highland Line to Skye by Robninni, 2 Jul 2016
Holiday Rating:

Jacobit Steam Train plus several days on the Isle of Skye

We flew to Edinburgh and spent the afternoon and night - trained it to Fort William via Glasgow - Jacobite Steam Train - to Malliaig. Ferry delayed McKinlay Kidd quick to arrange alternative. Car hired and drove around Skye. Accommodation arranged by McKinlay Kidd excellent - information and suggestions excellent. Dunvegan Castle and gardens plus seal boat most pleasant. Driving around Skye very relaxing and scenery wonderful. Another night ...

We flew to Edinburgh and spent the afternoon and night - trained it to Fort William via Glasgow - Jacobite Steam Train - to Malliaig. Ferry delayed McKinlay Kidd quick to arrange alternative. Car hired and drove around Skye. Accommodation arranged by McKinlay Kidd excellent - information and suggestions excellent. Dunvegan Castle and gardens plus seal boat most pleasant. Driving around Skye very relaxing and scenery wonderful. Another night in Edinburgh. People of Skye friendly and helpful. Would visit again if possible - this was a special for us.

Rating for tour operator:

Emails back and forth resulted in a perfect schedule, accommodation etc. McKinlay Kidd were friendly and efficient and patient :-)