AITO: The Association of Independent Tour Operators
McKinlay Kidd

McKinlay Kidd Traveller Reviews

Reviews of McKinlay Kidd

Overall Company Rating
100%
Excellent 673
Good 7
Average 0
Poor 0
Terrible 0
Reviews Submitted: 680
Reviews Accepted: 680
Reviews Rejected: 0
680 reviews
Sort by:
North Coast 500 by Mr J L 20, 13 Oct 2020
Holiday Rating:

Lived up to our expectations

We arranged this holiday to celebrate our 70th birthdays, Ten years ago we travelled Canada for a month around the maritime route, we had heard so much about Scotland being very much like Canada we decided that in this special year we would tick this box off our bucket list, found McKinley Kidd on the internet, spoke to one of their advisors who was extremely helpful and who came back to us with an itinerary for us to agree and within no time ...

We arranged this holiday to celebrate our 70th birthdays, Ten years ago we travelled Canada for a month around the maritime route, we had heard so much about Scotland being very much like Canada we decided that in this special year we would tick this box off our bucket list, found McKinley Kidd on the internet, spoke to one of their advisors who was extremely helpful and who came back to us with an itinerary for us to agree and within no time our holiday was booked. The trip lived up to all our expectations, and will look forward to visiting some of the islands in Scotland next year.

Rating for tour operator:

Extremely efficient very helpful and most informative, regarding changes due to the COVID pandemic.

North Coast 500 by Saxon Lady, 12 Oct 2020
Holiday Rating:

Stunning

A real adventure from start to finish with magnificent scenery, individual accommodation and good food

A real adventure from start to finish with magnificent scenery, individual accommodation and good food

Rating for tour operator:

A real gem of a company offering a varied programme of holidays in the UK and Ireland.

McKinlay Kidd by FInstT&T, 11 Oct 2020
Holiday Rating:

Stunning Shetland together with Inverness and Glasgow.

From Inverness Airport for three nights in Inverness; three nights on Shetland followed by two nights in Glasgow with all flights, accommodation and transfers arranged for us in advance. Plus the most amazing guide on Shetland for two tours.

From Inverness Airport for three nights in Inverness; three nights on Shetland followed by two nights in Glasgow with all flights, accommodation and transfers arranged for us in advance. Plus the most amazing guide on Shetland for two tours.

Rating for tour operator:

McKinlay Kidd arranged everything apart from our flights to and from Bristol.

McKinlay Kidd by summerrambler, 2 Oct 2020
Holiday Rating:

A trip around the Inner Hebrides

A thoroughly enjoyable experience of revisiting Mull, Colonsay, Jura and Islay with stunning scenery and great wildlife. Warm welcome at all accommodation.

A thoroughly enjoyable experience of revisiting Mull, Colonsay, Jura and Islay with stunning scenery and great wildlife. Warm welcome at all accommodation.

Rating for tour operator:

Organised a good itinerary in a difficult year and who coped excellently when things went wrong (not through any fault of theirs).

McKinlay Kidd by indigo, 27 Sep 2020
Holiday Rating:

Organised a complex itinerary immaculately

Excellent 8 nights in Outer Hebrides and Ullapool. Very pleased.

Excellent 8 nights in Outer Hebrides and Ullapool. Very pleased.

Rating for tour operator:

good communication at all times

Land on the Sand on Barra by Suzilyb , 18 Sep 2020
Holiday Rating:

Land on the Sand at Barra

The experience of landing on a beach runway in a tiny twin otter plane. The island of Barra and its neighbouring island of Vatersay’s glorious white sandy beaches, scenery and laid back friendly vibe. Wish we could have stayed longer.

The experience of landing on a beach runway in a tiny twin otter plane. The island of Barra and its neighbouring island of Vatersay’s glorious white sandy beaches, scenery and laid back friendly vibe. Wish we could have stayed longer.

Rating for tour operator:

Second time we’ve travelled with McKinlay Kidd. Professional, courteous, friendly and you can always rely on great accommodation.

Orkney & Shetland Self-drive by Jinc, 17 Sep 2020
Holiday Rating:

Trip to Orkney & Shetland

We did a two centre holiday to travel around the two Northern Islands.

We did a two centre holiday to travel around the two Northern Islands.

Rating for tour operator:

The care that McKinlay Kidd gave us was excellent. The app from them allowed us to get all our documentation in one place. The documentation also gave us travel tips that gave us extra information.

McKinlay Kidd by Largertha, 7 Sep 2020
Holiday Rating:

Beautiful Highlands and Skye

Fabulous post lockdown Scotland trip. Felt safe and valued at our hotels and on the Jacobite steam train.

Fabulous post lockdown Scotland trip. Felt safe and valued at our hotels and on the Jacobite steam train.

Rating for tour operator:

Robert from McKinley Kidd dealt with our booking efficiently. He understood what we wanted to achieve on our short break and was even able to change something at short notice with no hassle. We didn’t have to contact them at all during our holiday because everything had been planned with care.

North Coast 500 by JLH, 6 Sep 2020
Holiday Rating:

Professional & excellent communication

Tailored the holiday to our specific requirements and were v flexible changing accommodation when flights were cancelled by BA and the whole trip moved by two days.

Tailored the holiday to our specific requirements and were v flexible changing accommodation when flights were cancelled by BA and the whole trip moved by two days.

Rating for tour operator:

Helpful, well informed and very responsive

McKinlay Kidd by Kinder Family, 6 Sep 2020
Holiday Rating:

Dreams to come true!!

We visited the Outer Hebrides in August and we were simply impressed from start to finish. The ferry across from Oban was so good, we got to see dolphins. The weather was definitely on our side. With all the information provided to us by Robert via Vamoos app, it meant we could plan our day very well as a family as all of us had access to the app. We ticked off the various points of interested spelt out in the itinerary and we experienced ...

We visited the Outer Hebrides in August and we were simply impressed from start to finish. The ferry across from Oban was so good, we got to see dolphins. The weather was definitely on our side. With all the information provided to us by Robert via Vamoos app, it meant we could plan our day very well as a family as all of us had access to the app. We ticked off the various points of interested spelt out in the itinerary and we experienced more than we could dream off. The long stretch of white sandy beaches, turquoise colour sea water and beautiful sound of the waves against the rocks were simply what we had hoped for in our holiday. The food and accommodation selected by Robert was simply spot on and everywhere we went, PPE was very much practiced and people took to us so kindly with their warm Scottish hospitality. My boys fished in a various lochs around the three different isles and caught/released brown trout. They were over the moon. One thing that I will take away from my holiday was noticing how well the entire isle was sustainably kept and people were very much proud of their homes and surroundings. I always wondered what the Outer Hebrides would be like and I have been totally blown away. To think it is Scotland and just in my back yard too... who needs to go away when dreams can come true here at home.

Rating for tour operator:

Robert did a wonderful job putting together a great itinerary and as it was shared via the Vamoos app, it meant the entire family knew what was coming next and could be involved in the planning instead of me doing it as always.