AITO: The Association of Independent Tour Operators
McKinlay Kidd

McKinlay Kidd Traveller Reviews

Reviews of McKinlay Kidd

Overall Company Rating
100%
Excellent 673
Good 7
Average 0
Poor 0
Terrible 0
Reviews Submitted: 680
Reviews Accepted: 680
Reviews Rejected: 0
680 reviews
Sort by:
West Highland Line Experience by Linda and John E, 13 Jul 2015
Holiday Rating:

West Highland Experience

Our stay at The Old Pines Hotel was of a particularly high standard especially the food and service. Our trip on the Jacobite met our expectations and the scenery was spectacular.

Our stay at The Old Pines Hotel was of a particularly high standard especially the food and service. Our trip on the Jacobite met our expectations and the scenery was spectacular.

Rating for tour operator:

McKinley Kidd were excellent and we had a fabulous time. Everything was organised for us and thanks to Carol and Robert for all their efforts.

McKinlay Kidd by An American in Scotland, 10 Jul 2015
Holiday Rating:

Tour of Scotland

Robert Kidd put together a custom tour that took us to Islay, Port Appin, Loch Lomond and Edinburgh. It was very well organized, planned and paced. The recommendations and the bookings all met or exceeded expectations.

Robert Kidd put together a custom tour that took us to Islay, Port Appin, Loch Lomond and Edinburgh. It was very well organized, planned and paced. The recommendations and the bookings all met or exceeded expectations.

Rating for tour operator:

Robert Kidd put together a custom itinerary that was spot on, meeting our interests and needs. I could not be more delighted.

McKinlay Kidd responded to this review on 13 Jul 2015:

Thank you for your comments, and we are all delighted the trip was such a success.

Orkney & Shetland Self-drive by Jane, 2 Jul 2015
Holiday Rating:

Interesting and varied holiday, well planned and organised from start to finish.

We thoroughly enjoyed our stays in Shetland and Orkney and the guides from Mckinlay Kidd enable us to make the most of our stay and visit all the highlights. Shetland is wild and wonderful, Orkney has so much to see and explore, it was amazing

We thoroughly enjoyed our stays in Shetland and Orkney and the guides from Mckinlay Kidd enable us to make the most of our stay and visit all the highlights. Shetland is wild and wonderful, Orkney has so much to see and explore, it was amazing

Rating for tour operator:

McKinley Kidd were efficient and offered a very personal service. Everything they were responsible for ran to plan and it worked well. Unfortunately the travel arrangements of Flybe were not so good. They bounced us off our flight to Shetland telling us that there were other passengers who had paid more who had more luggage so we would not be able to travel! We are complaining about that . Our return flight was cancelled owing to fog and we were given a place on the overnight ferry. In fact this was well organised, but our problem was we were meeting our daughter at Edinburgh airport to spend a few days in Edinburgh. As our daughter has mild learning difficulties we were concerned if she would cope with us not arriving. We were really grateful to McKinlay Kidd who in response to our phone call out of hours arranged for our daughter to be collected from the airport and taken to our Guest house where we were staying. Our daughter was not their customer but they were happy to provide this service to assist us and this sorted a difficult situation for us

McKinlay Kidd responded to this review on 03 Aug 2015:

Thanks very much for your review, Teresa. We are delighted that you enjoyed your visit to these unique and special islands, and that your holiday was not spoilt by the flight disruptions.
As you know we have taken up your complaints directly with the airline, who have apologised and offered compensation for the flight issues, so I hope this has now been resolved.
It was no problem at all to help your daughter – the least we could do, given the delay.

Orkney & Shetland Self-drive by Ian M, 2 Jul 2015
Holiday Rating:

Holiday Excellent but Flybe need to consider their customers

5 night hotel/car holiday on Orkney including a flight to and tour of Papa Westray Everything was first class, hotel, tours and general experience. Only tainted by our experience at Glasgow Airport. We checked in at 9.30am for an 11.00 departure. We eventually left the ground at 7.30pm having been given no explanation as why we were being delayed. We were eventually told by staff that the flight would leave at 5.30 but learned later from a ...

5 night hotel/car holiday on Orkney including a flight to and tour of Papa Westray Everything was first class, hotel, tours and general experience. Only tainted by our experience at Glasgow Airport. We checked in at 9.30am for an 11.00 departure. We eventually left the ground at 7.30pm having been given no explanation as why we were being delayed. We were eventually told by staff that the flight would leave at 5.30 but learned later from a fellow passenger that the plane hadn't even left Kirkwall at that time!

Rating for tour operator:

Excellent

McKinlay Kidd responded to this review on 03 Aug 2015:

Thanks very much for your review. I am delighted that you enjoyed your holiday overall, despite the disrupted start. As you are aware we have taken up your complaint directly with the airline and you have been offered compensation for the severe delay suffered. We have also urged Flybe to improve their communication to passengers in such circumstances.

Classic Round Scotland by Train by BritTouristLovingBritain&NIreland, 2 Jul 2015
Holiday Rating:

Very professional organisation, excellent accommodation and thoroughly enjoyable experience.

Journey by rail around Scotland, including on steam trains through spectacular countryside. This gave us a wonderful experience in the Scottish Highlands. We found the Scottish people most pleasant and always very helpful.

Journey by rail around Scotland, including on steam trains through spectacular countryside. This gave us a wonderful experience in the Scottish Highlands. We found the Scottish people most pleasant and always very helpful.

Rating for tour operator:

Very helpful and keen to adjust the train holiday to our requirements. The itinerary was well planned and executed. Accommodation and dining suggestions were excellent. The information pack was first class and we felt we received the holiday the operator described.

McKinlay Kidd responded to this review on 03 Jul 2015:

Many thanks indeed for your kind comments. This is one of our most popular touring ideas, and we are always delighted to be able to customise it to suit clients' particular preferences.

Cork to Connemara by Geoff, 1 Jul 2015
Holiday Rating:

McKinlay Kidd west of Ireland tour.

We went for ten days motoring and stayed in five hotels booked and recommended by McKinlay Kidd. It was altogether enjoyable and every thing worked. We are pleased to recommend them.

We went for ten days motoring and stayed in five hotels booked and recommended by McKinlay Kidd. It was altogether enjoyable and every thing worked. We are pleased to recommend them.

Rating for tour operator:

Eficient, courteous and helpful.

Orkney & Shetland Self-drive by Sara, 26 Jun 2015
Holiday Rating:

Perfect Independent Tour

We journeyed to Orkney for the Ultimate Orkney Experience with McKinley Kidd. The details provided were spot on and very thorough. The car hire excellent and car very comfortable. The hotel chosen was as advertised and in a great central location for both driving the island and walking in Kirkwall. Papa Westray is a must addition to a stay in Orkney. The ancient site of Knap Howe is one of the best sites we visited. The nature walk with the ...

We journeyed to Orkney for the Ultimate Orkney Experience with McKinley Kidd. The details provided were spot on and very thorough. The car hire excellent and car very comfortable. The hotel chosen was as advertised and in a great central location for both driving the island and walking in Kirkwall. Papa Westray is a must addition to a stay in Orkney. The ancient site of Knap Howe is one of the best sites we visited. The nature walk with the ranger was both educational and fun. Flying on the shortest commercial flight to get there (2 minutes) was a kick. Orkney is a magical place and one I wish to return.

Rating for tour operator:

Excellent service and very thorough details for an independent journey. I will use McKinley Kidd again for travels to this part of the world.

McKinlay Kidd responded to this review on 30 Jun 2015:

Many thanks for your kind comments. These are indeed really special islands. We would be delighted of course to assist with a return trip.

McKinlay Kidd by Bobby, 24 Jun 2015
Holiday Rating:

Amazing Islay

3 days spent in the peaceful setting of Islay, scurrying about the island a hired fiesta & staying at a small, but excellent hotel. Holiday was brilliantly organised by McKinlay kidd, enabling me to have a very relaxing break.

3 days spent in the peaceful setting of Islay, scurrying about the island a hired fiesta & staying at a small, but excellent hotel. Holiday was brilliantly organised by McKinlay kidd, enabling me to have a very relaxing break.

Rating for tour operator:

Very helpful, not too expensive & most efficient. Is genuinely interested in giving clients an enjoyable holiday & I am happy to recommend them to everybody.

McKinlay Kidd by Mrs C, 23 Jun 2015
Holiday Rating:

Fantastic, it was something we have never experienced before.

A fantastic holiday skilfully and thoughtfully put together by a well organised efficient company. The diversity and uniqueness of this holiday is something very special.

A fantastic holiday skilfully and thoughtfully put together by a well organised efficient company. The diversity and uniqueness of this holiday is something very special.

Rating for tour operator:

Can only reiterate above comments. The tour company was brilliant. Special thanks to Anna for sorting everything for us.

McKinlay Kidd responded to this review on 24 Jun 2015:

We are delighted you enjoyed your exploration of the Shetland Islands. These are indeed a unique and special part of the British Isles. Thank you also for your kind appreciation of our service.

Classic Round Scotland by Train by Mikey, 17 Jun 2015
Holiday Rating:

Fabulous accommodations, worry free travel, incredible food, wonderful sights to see - what more could you ask for??

The weather tried to put a damper on the holiday but with so many options of what to do, it was a perfect holiday. Everything was thought through to make it a fabulous overall experience that I heartily recommend!

The weather tried to put a damper on the holiday but with so many options of what to do, it was a perfect holiday. Everything was thought through to make it a fabulous overall experience that I heartily recommend!

Rating for tour operator:

Even with the impending rail strike they were able to put us at ease - they thought of everything so we could sit back and enjoy the experiences.

McKinlay Kidd responded to this review on 18 Jun 2015:

We are all delighted that you enjoyed the holiday, and very much appreciate your feedback.