AITO: The Association of Independent Tour Operators
McKinlay Kidd

McKinlay Kidd Traveller Reviews

Reviews of McKinlay Kidd

Overall Company Rating
100%
Excellent 673
Good 7
Average 0
Poor 0
Terrible 0
Reviews Submitted: 680
Reviews Accepted: 680
Reviews Rejected: 0
680 reviews
Sort by:
Cork to Connemara by Sandy, 29 Aug 2015
Holiday Rating:

Excellent visit to a lovely country.

A six venue holiday in The Republic of Ireland. Using ou own car the directions were clear and the accommodation well chosen. It gave us a superb experience in a country we had not seen before.

A six venue holiday in The Republic of Ireland. Using ou own car the directions were clear and the accommodation well chosen. It gave us a superb experience in a country we had not seen before.

Rating for tour operator:

Very efficient and keen to tailor a holiday to our requirements. The Director Robert had visited all the venues used and offered good directions and valuable advice. All were of the highest standard.

McKinlay Kidd responded to this review on 31 Aug 2015:

Thank you Sandy. Your feedback is very much appreciated.

McKinlay Kidd by MaryM, 29 Aug 2015
Holiday Rating:

Fantastic. First time in Shetland an we'll return!

The holiday organised by McKinlay Kidd was entitled "See Shetland Differently". It is ideal for those visiting these islands for the first time. A couple of experiences were pre organised along with enough leeway and time before us to explore on our own. A perfect balance.

The holiday organised by McKinlay Kidd was entitled "See Shetland Differently". It is ideal for those visiting these islands for the first time. A couple of experiences were pre organised along with enough leeway and time before us to explore on our own. A perfect balance.

Rating for tour operator:

We found McKinlay Kidd's website first of all. This was only a couple of weeks before our actual holiday. We were drawn to them partly because they were well thought of by a couple of good newspapers. They were very swift to answer our queries. They are an excellent small tour operator with a personal feel. Highly recommended!

McKinlay Kidd responded to this review on 31 Aug 2015:

Thank you for your kind words Mary.

Orkney & Shetland Self-drive by Scotland Experience, 28 Aug 2015
Holiday Rating:

A visit to Glasgow and the Orkney and Shetland Islands

Our aim was to experience the culture, history and geology of these islands. The McKinley Kidd package put together by the company from email exchanges with us in Australia exceeded our expectations. We came away with a wealth of information and knowledge on the points above This company has our highest recommendation.

Our aim was to experience the culture, history and geology of these islands. The McKinley Kidd package put together by the company from email exchanges with us in Australia exceeded our expectations. We came away with a wealth of information and knowledge on the points above This company has our highest recommendation.

Rating for tour operator:

A professional, efficient company with excellent staff who dealt with our questions expeditiously. Cannot speak to highly of the service we received

McKinlay Kidd responded to this review on 31 Aug 2015:

Thank you very much for your kind comments. These are special islands and we are very peased to hear that you enjoyed exploring them.

McKinlay Kidd by Elizaloup, 18 Aug 2015
Holiday Rating:

A great introduction to the beauty of Scotland

This brief trip to the West Highlands of Scotland, including Skye, was a wonderful introduction to the beauty of Scotland. The journey from Glasgow to Spean Bridge was lovely, the hotel in Spean Bridge was a joy - comfortable, in a beautiful setting, wonderful service, excellent food, lovely views, I couldn't ask for more. The trip to Mallaig on the steam train was great fun, the hotel in Ardvasar was good, attentive host, excellent food, lovely ...

This brief trip to the West Highlands of Scotland, including Skye, was a wonderful introduction to the beauty of Scotland. The journey from Glasgow to Spean Bridge was lovely, the hotel in Spean Bridge was a joy - comfortable, in a beautiful setting, wonderful service, excellent food, lovely views, I couldn't ask for more. The trip to Mallaig on the steam train was great fun, the hotel in Ardvasar was good, attentive host, excellent food, lovely young staff. What I was able to see of Skye in my one day was just gorgeous. I so wish I had had more time. Travelling by train and bus (and ferry) is perfect for a solo traveller - you see so much more when you're not driving. I just wish there were one or two more buses on Skye. Next time I'll just have to get up a bit earlier, and stay longer.

Rating for tour operator:

From my first enquiry, the staff of McKinlay Kidd were friendly, helpful, informative and patient. The hotels were excellent, all the travel arrangements worked perfectly and from the moment of booking, I felt confident and secure that the company were there to help if needed. The information pack was SO GOOD - packed full of information and reassuring answers to any questions I might have had. I have returned, sadly, to London with a determination to travel again with McKinlay Kidd as soon as I can.

McKinlay Kidd responded to this review on 19 Aug 2015:

Many thanks indeed Mary for taking the time to place this review. The team here are all delighted that this short trip was such a success.

Giants, Saints & Titanic by Cumbrian travellers., 16 Aug 2015
Holiday Rating:

Breathtaking North of Ireland.

Fantastically special hotels in Bushmills and Rathmullan! Wonderful centres with fabulous experiences and wonderful views everywhere we went. A guided tour of Rathlin Island proved to be a gem of a day.

Fantastically special hotels in Bushmills and Rathmullan! Wonderful centres with fabulous experiences and wonderful views everywhere we went. A guided tour of Rathlin Island proved to be a gem of a day.

Rating for tour operator:

Friendly, helpful, organised - simply a joy to deal with. Nothing too much trouble to them. Cannot rate them highly enough.

McKinlay Kidd responded to this review on 19 Aug 2015:

Many thanks for your comments. It is great to hear that you both enjoyed your visit to the North of Ireland.

McKinlay Kidd by joe, 2 Aug 2015
Holiday Rating:

5 night, 4 day tour of Scotland

We found Scotland to be more beautiful than we anticipated. Everyone was friendly and kind.

We found Scotland to be more beautiful than we anticipated. Everyone was friendly and kind.

Rating for tour operator:

Our itinerary was exactly as we requested and fulfilled our desire to see as much of Scotalnd as we could in only 4 days and 5 nights. Our accommodations were unique and memorable and the scenery we drove through was spectacular. Our flight into Glasgow was cancelled by KLM ; we called Robert on a Sunday from Amsterdam and he handled notifying our car hire company and first night accommodation of our late arrival. He even called our hotel the next day to make sure we had arrived safely. Thank you!

McKinlay Kidd responded to this review on 15 Aug 2015:

Delighted that the delayed arrival did not affect the trip. Hope you can come back for longer one day!

McKinlay Kidd by skipjd, 19 Jul 2015
Holiday Rating:

McKinlay Kidd Premier Round Scotland Train Holiday

We used McKinlay Kidd for the Premier Round Scotland Train Holiday. The holiday started in Glasgow and ended in Edinburgh, with stops in Fort William, Isle of Skye, Inverness and Pitlochry. The overall holiday was phenomenal, from the 5 star hotels to the meals, transfers and organized day tours. Everything was top notch! I cannot say enough good things about this holiday and our experience working with McKinlay Kidd.

We used McKinlay Kidd for the Premier Round Scotland Train Holiday. The holiday started in Glasgow and ended in Edinburgh, with stops in Fort William, Isle of Skye, Inverness and Pitlochry. The overall holiday was phenomenal, from the 5 star hotels to the meals, transfers and organized day tours. Everything was top notch! I cannot say enough good things about this holiday and our experience working with McKinlay Kidd.

Rating for tour operator:

Extremely professional, attentive, and responsive. They made the holiday memorable.

McKinlay Kidd responded to this review on 03 Aug 2015:

Thank you very Much John for your generous comments. Our train touring holidays are proving increasingly popular with clients from all over the world.

Orkney & Shetland Self-drive by aussie wanderers, 19 Jul 2015
Holiday Rating:

Scotland by trainand ferry, including Orkney and Shetland

We had a wonderful time, a worry free trip with excellent arrangements and back up service from McKinlay Kidd

We had a wonderful time, a worry free trip with excellent arrangements and back up service from McKinlay Kidd

Rating for tour operator:

McKinlay Kidd know Scotland inside out! They worked with us to arrange an individual itinerary that met our needs, provided excellent accommodation and smooth travel arrangements. When ferries were cancelled due to the weather they rapidly re-arranged our itnerary and then when we missed the first ferry that ran, re-arranged it again, without us having to do a thing. We recommend them to anyone who wants to see Scotland Differently!!!

McKinlay Kidd responded to this review on 03 Aug 2015:

Thank you for your kind comments Elaine. Its been a rather challenging year for inter-island ferry travel, which has kept us on our toes. I am delighted that the changed arrangements had no impact on your overall enjoyment of these special places.

Journey through Western Isles by Rob, 15 Jul 2015
Holiday Rating:

Couldn't be better

Couldn't be better

Rating for tour operator:

Excellent

Classic Round Scotland by Train by KlausS, 13 Jul 2015
Holiday Rating:

first class experience

Scotland round-trip by train including Jacobite steam train Excellent accomodation Perfect service

Scotland round-trip by train including Jacobite steam train Excellent accomodation Perfect service

Rating for tour operator:

perfect organization starting from the first contact