AITO: The Association of Independent Tour Operators
Martin Randall Travel

Martin Randall Travel Traveller Reviews

Reviews of Martin Randall Travel

Overall Company Rating
99%
Excellent 808
Good 24
Average 2
Poor 0
Terrible 0
Reviews Submitted: 834
Reviews Accepted: 834
Reviews Rejected: 0
834 reviews
Sort by:
Walking Hadrian's Wall by Graham, 2 Oct 2014
Holiday Rating:

Archeology and Exercise

We walked Hadrian's Wall with Martin Randall Travel (actually not all of it but significant sections in easy bites, coast to coast, thanks to careful planning and well selected accommodation and transport. Led by an archeologist with a lifetime of study and field work on the Wall with comprehensive lectures and commentary whilst walking it was a wonderful in depth experience yet all delivered with a lightness of touch and fascinating glimpses ...

We walked Hadrian's Wall with Martin Randall Travel (actually not all of it but significant sections in easy bites, coast to coast, thanks to careful planning and well selected accommodation and transport. Led by an archeologist with a lifetime of study and field work on the Wall with comprehensive lectures and commentary whilst walking it was a wonderful in depth experience yet all delivered with a lightness of touch and fascinating glimpses of life in the Roman Army at the time.

Rating for tour operator:

We have travelled with Martin Randall on two previous occasions (music tours). Their offerings are characterised by serious studies of a wide range of cultural subjects, led by acknowledged experts who provide in depth but always approachable commentary. The tours are impeccably organised down to the last detail with accommodation and meals to a high standard. Prices never seem unduly high given the standard of everything on offer.

Martin Randall Travel by Tom from Upstate NY, 30 Sep 2014
Holiday Rating:

Palladian Villas Tour Entertains, Enlightens

A five-day packed itinerary takes you to and into most of the extant Palladian buildings in the Veneto. Our lecturer, Professor Fabrizio Nevola, shared his encyclopedic knowledge in witty commentary on what we were seeing. Each day was nicely paced. The touring group of 15 from across the world was congenial and knowledgeable. Highly recommended

A five-day packed itinerary takes you to and into most of the extant Palladian buildings in the Veneto. Our lecturer, Professor Fabrizio Nevola, shared his encyclopedic knowledge in witty commentary on what we were seeing. Each day was nicely paced. The touring group of 15 from across the world was congenial and knowledgeable. Highly recommended

Rating for tour operator:

Martin Randall provided a list of extensive background reading material to allow those who wished to dig more deeply into both Palladian architecture and the culture of Italy. All arrangements made it easy for the group to enjoy themselves.

Transoxiana by Mrs A W 14, 29 Sep 2014
Holiday Rating:

"Infotainment" at its best, in most congenial company.

An exploration, for the interested layperson, of the opulent architectural and decorative legacy of Timur and the Timurids; set in the context of its antecedents and place in the more recent history and current nation-building of Uzbekistan; and inter-woven with the related themes of the Silk Road trade, environmental issues, geo-politics, and the historic contributions of scholars in Samarkand, Bukhara and Khiva to the world body of philosophical ...

An exploration, for the interested layperson, of the opulent architectural and decorative legacy of Timur and the Timurids; set in the context of its antecedents and place in the more recent history and current nation-building of Uzbekistan; and inter-woven with the related themes of the Silk Road trade, environmental issues, geo-politics, and the historic contributions of scholars in Samarkand, Bukhara and Khiva to the world body of philosophical insight and scientific knowledge. A happy blend of information and entertainment, relaxed, informal but focussed.

Rating for tour operator:

The quality, quantity and timeliness of pre-tour information were outstanding, and both on-line and direct communications proceeded smoothly. The tour itself was managed with the same quiet, relaxed efficiency. Everything was delivered as promised, in a manner which served the purpose of the tour, the interests of the group and occasional special needs of individuals, respectfully, thoughtfully, without prompting, and with warmth. The all-inclusive price was truly that, and we much appreciated, for instance, the unlimited supply of drinking water (in a hot, dry climate) and timely tea-breaks. The lecturer and guides were excellent: informative, entertaining and engaging. This was my first experience of a Martin Randall Travel holiday, and I look forward with enthusiasm to becoming a regular client.

The Iron Curtain by paradise lost, 26 Sep 2014
Holiday Rating:

iron curtain

A coach ride down the old iron curtain, Baltic to Adriatic - a free route now with barriers largely disappeared. However enough remains to give you an idea of what was - and still is in parts of the world. Inevitably you can't but bump into other history on the way - Luther's accommodations in Coburg, memorial to General Patton and the U.S. 3rd Army in Czech Republic, memories of Musso and Maximilian in Trieste, need I go on? And, even if ...

A coach ride down the old iron curtain, Baltic to Adriatic - a free route now with barriers largely disappeared. However enough remains to give you an idea of what was - and still is in parts of the world. Inevitably you can't but bump into other history on the way - Luther's accommodations in Coburg, memorial to General Patton and the U.S. 3rd Army in Czech Republic, memories of Musso and Maximilian in Trieste, need I go on? And, even if you're not into history, there's the beautiful architecture and museums all along the route. Scenery? - sorry, you'll be disappointed until you reach the final Austria to Italy section

Rating for tour operator:

Very positive about them. A professional outfit who knew what they were doing. You felt individually appreciated without being embarrassingly pampered. As well as getting you places where there were excellent guides, you also had free time in the places where different interests would take people different ways

Martin Randall Travel by Lynno, 26 Sep 2014
Holiday Rating:

Living and learning with friends

We travelled on a thirteen-day tour of Sicily with a group of twenty-four people who began as strangers and parted as friends. Together, we shared a remarkable intellectual and cultural journey that took us back nearly tree thousand years. We saw sites where ancient battles were fought, where ancient gods were worshipped and famous Greek plays were first performed. We visited Norman palaces and churches of unbelievable splendour and works of ...

We travelled on a thirteen-day tour of Sicily with a group of twenty-four people who began as strangers and parted as friends. Together, we shared a remarkable intellectual and cultural journey that took us back nearly tree thousand years. We saw sites where ancient battles were fought, where ancient gods were worshipped and famous Greek plays were first performed. We visited Norman palaces and churches of unbelievable splendour and works of art from more recent times that overwhelmed. And all the while, enjoying the noise and bustle of modern-day Sicily, its wine its food and its generosity. It was very hard to say goodbye.

Rating for tour operator:

Our tour operator was Martin Randall. Pre-travel information and service was excellent. On tour the day-trips were well planned, varied and accommodating. The lecturer was very well informed and generous with his time and knowledge. The tour leader never failed to attend to our needs.

Modern Art on the Côte d'Azur by Pops, 25 Sep 2014
Holiday Rating:

Stimulating to see some of the best modern art on the côte d'azur

With Martin Randall we had several excursions each day, with excellent commentary.

With Martin Randall we had several excursions each day, with excellent commentary.

Rating for tour operator:

Martin Randall, with whom we have travelled in the past and found excellent.

Martin Randall Travel by Rambler, 22 Sep 2014
Holiday Rating:

Dark Age Brillance

This tour explored late antique/early Middle Age churches in northern Italy and Croatia.It lasted 8 days based in Ravenna and Cividale. It challenged much conventional wisdom about the Dark Ages. Excellent lecturer and like-minded fellow travellers.

This tour explored late antique/early Middle Age churches in northern Italy and Croatia.It lasted 8 days based in Ravenna and Cividale. It challenged much conventional wisdom about the Dark Ages. Excellent lecturer and like-minded fellow travellers.

Rating for tour operator:

Excellent administration prior to departure. First class knowledgeable lecturer.

Martin Randall Travel by Mike, 19 Sep 2014
Holiday Rating:

A visit to the Beethoven Festival in Bonn

This was a rare opportunity to hear all of Beethoven's symphonies in chronological order, in Beethoven's birthplace, and in the company of a musical professional to provide an expert commentary. The performances were by the CBSO under Andris Nelsons and all were given standing ovations by a largely German audience. It was an unforgettable experience.

This was a rare opportunity to hear all of Beethoven's symphonies in chronological order, in Beethoven's birthplace, and in the company of a musical professional to provide an expert commentary. The performances were by the CBSO under Andris Nelsons and all were given standing ovations by a largely German audience. It was an unforgettable experience.

Rating for tour operator:

We have booked on over 23 holidays with Martin Randall Travel over the last twelve years and have been invariably delighted with the quality and value for money of all of them. We have looked at brochures from other companies but always rejected them in favour of MRT.

Martin Randall Travel by Federette, 16 Sep 2014
Holiday Rating:

Fabulously-organised trip, with exciting, stimulating lecturers.

Five days in Madrid, with every detail taken care of, excellent meals and wine, which enabled us to take in the very rich cultural diet so sympathetically served up by our lecturer. For me it was an unforgettable introduction to Madrid and its sublime art collections.

Five days in Madrid, with every detail taken care of, excellent meals and wine, which enabled us to take in the very rich cultural diet so sympathetically served up by our lecturer. For me it was an unforgettable introduction to Madrid and its sublime art collections.

Rating for tour operator:

Martin Randall is the last word in care, courtesy and efficiency. I wouldn't travel with any other.

Martin Randall Travel by Music Walker, 1 Sep 2014
Holiday Rating:

Martin Randall Travel review

Experienced, well organised, considerate of tour participants

Experienced, well organised, considerate of tour participants