AITO: The Association of Independent Tour Operators
KE Adventure Travel

KE Adventure Travel Traveller Reviews

Reviews of KE Adventure Travel

Overall Company Rating
97%
Excellent 360
Good 31
Average 3
Poor 1
Terrible 3
Reviews Submitted: 398
Reviews Accepted: 397
Reviews Rejected: 1
397 reviews
Sort by:
Edge of the Sahara Trek by Desertgirl, 30 Dec 2013
Holiday Rating:

Edge of Sahara Trek

This was a trek on the edge of the Sahara Desert. Supported by a trek leader, cook and camel herders and with Dromedary's(camels)to carry our luggage. The holiday exceeded my expectations with experiences like the trek leader and camel herders singing to us around a camp fire, under the stars on Christmas Day. The trek leader took an interest in everyone making sure that we all enjoyed our holiday. Wonderful experience. Thank you KE Adventure ...

This was a trek on the edge of the Sahara Desert. Supported by a trek leader, cook and camel herders and with Dromedary's(camels)to carry our luggage. The holiday exceeded my expectations with experiences like the trek leader and camel herders singing to us around a camp fire, under the stars on Christmas Day. The trek leader took an interest in everyone making sure that we all enjoyed our holiday. Wonderful experience. Thank you KE Adventure Travel.

Rating for tour operator:

I had not travelled with KE Adventure Travel previously but following this experience will definitely be using them again.

KE Adventure Travel by Peter C, 6 Dec 2013
Holiday Rating:

Nicaragua's Fire Mountains

The 2 weeks involved trekking on Volcan Machucha, then the continuous, camping trek involving the summits of Volcan Momotobo, Volcan Negro and several others before climbing Volcan San Cristobal. In addition Granada and Leon were stayed in and their Spanish Colonial heritage appreciated. Also time for some well earned relaxation on the Pacific Coast. Hotels were excellent, food very good, organisation faultless, guides superb, Nicaraguan people ...

The 2 weeks involved trekking on Volcan Machucha, then the continuous, camping trek involving the summits of Volcan Momotobo, Volcan Negro and several others before climbing Volcan San Cristobal. In addition Granada and Leon were stayed in and their Spanish Colonial heritage appreciated. Also time for some well earned relaxation on the Pacific Coast. Hotels were excellent, food very good, organisation faultless, guides superb, Nicaraguan people wonderful and the scenery/flora/fauna unforgettable.

Rating for tour operator:

Very well organised - both the pre-trip booking/updates/information/tickets etc and also the whole trip itself.

Edge of the Sahara Trek by sheff, 25 Nov 2013
Holiday Rating:

Edge of Sahara Trek

Trekking for four days through the Moroccan desert south of the Atlas Mountains was an unforgettable experience and definitely lived up to my expectations. We were lucky to have a group that gelled immediately and whose fitness levels were comparable. The scenery was spectacular, especially on the first two days, and the guides were unfailing in their care, sociability and readiness to explain things. The trekking was sandwiched between two ...

Trekking for four days through the Moroccan desert south of the Atlas Mountains was an unforgettable experience and definitely lived up to my expectations. We were lucky to have a group that gelled immediately and whose fitness levels were comparable. The scenery was spectacular, especially on the first two days, and the guides were unfailing in their care, sociability and readiness to explain things. The trekking was sandwiched between two long days of travel over the Atlas, but easily compensated, in my opinion, for the length of those journeys.

Rating for tour operator:

KE were friendly and helpful at all stages. I would certainly travel with the company again and recommend it to others.

KE Adventure Travel by Mac, 18 Nov 2013
Holiday Rating:

Viva Gran Canaria

This was a holiday where the scenery of the island exceeded our expectations, especially in the interior. The walking distances were just right, allowing time to socialize in the evening.

This was a holiday where the scenery of the island exceeded our expectations, especially in the interior. The walking distances were just right, allowing time to socialize in the evening.

Rating for tour operator:

Very efficient and helpful, offering advice and answering any queries we had.

Guatemala's Magnificent Seven by Son, 18 Nov 2013
Holiday Rating:

exhilarating

A great balance between demanding trekking and some well needed relaxation experiences in a fascinating country.

A great balance between demanding trekking and some well needed relaxation experiences in a fascinating country.

Rating for tour operator:

efficient booking, good information and excellent use of local operator

Backroads of Cambodia Bike by ogreme, 18 Nov 2013
Holiday Rating:

cycling backroads of cambodia

excellent adventure holiday, good biking but too many other events 'bolted on'. Skill and fitness level required very underestimated by KE Brochure.

excellent adventure holiday, good biking but too many other events 'bolted on'. Skill and fitness level required very underestimated by KE Brochure.

Rating for tour operator:

Excellent communication with friendly and responsive staff in all departments. This tour was 'bought in' from a German operator so agenda was alredy fixed - however KE managed all they could to fit expectations.

Guatemala's Magnificent Seven by T, 18 Nov 2013
Holiday Rating:

Superb Guatemala VolcanoTrek

A superbly organised and operated trekking holiday; fully meeting expectations

A superbly organised and operated trekking holiday; fully meeting expectations

Rating for tour operator:

The local agents appointed by KE (Old Town Outfitters) were superb; well organised, friendly, knowledgeable - and great company.

Kangchenjunga Trek by Songplayer, 16 Nov 2013
Holiday Rating:

Demanding trekking at altitude.

Travel arrangements included a rather grand hotel in Kathmandu, liveried staff and excellent food. A couple of short internal flights took us to the remote northeast region of Nepal where our camping equipment, sherpas and food were waiting for us. The next 10 days found us increasingly tired, out of breath but excited at the views of famous snow-covered peaks. We passed rice paddies and water buffalo, friendly villages and free swinging suspen...

Travel arrangements included a rather grand hotel in Kathmandu, liveried staff and excellent food. A couple of short internal flights took us to the remote northeast region of Nepal where our camping equipment, sherpas and food were waiting for us. The next 10 days found us increasingly tired, out of breath but excited at the views of famous snow-covered peaks. We passed rice paddies and water buffalo, friendly villages and free swinging suspension bridges. Eventually, we were in the high country, snow and cold. The mountains welcomed us. So short our eventual stays around the 5000 metre levels before our return (along a different route)to the warmth and sunshine of the lowland forests. Much easier walking here, the additional oxygen helped! A final day in the slightly unnerving caos of crowded Kathmandu before a relaxing if long, flight home.

Rating for tour operator:

All arrangements worked as hoped. Even cancelled fights, political demonstrations and strikes were handled with sensitivity and aplomb. We were able to travel and circumvent obstructions that would have severely tested some foreign-based organisations.

KE Adventure Travel by marine iguana, 11 Nov 2013
Holiday Rating:

Amazing eyeopener

Huge variety of experiences from walking at up to 5000m in the Andes to snorkelling in Galapagos. Learned much about the problems facing both the mainland and the islands too.

Huge variety of experiences from walking at up to 5000m in the Andes to snorkelling in Galapagos. Learned much about the problems facing both the mainland and the islands too.

Rating for tour operator:

Very helpful and patient no matter how many questions you have. Very prompt at dealing with any issues.

KE Adventure Travel by Unhappy in Bhutan, 4 Nov 2013
Holiday Rating:

India fantastic Bhutan a shambles

I have recently returned from the Darjeeling to Bhutan holiday. Booking and Admin - The trip info and what you get are incorrect the company need to speak to the people who actually run the holiday and get the facts as currently the info is wrong, 8 of us on the trip and we all had different info and none of it was correct. The service and support in India was perfect unfortunately in Bhutan it was a farce. A guide who spoke very poor English ...

I have recently returned from the Darjeeling to Bhutan holiday. Booking and Admin - The trip info and what you get are incorrect the company need to speak to the people who actually run the holiday and get the facts as currently the info is wrong, 8 of us on the trip and we all had different info and none of it was correct. The service and support in India was perfect unfortunately in Bhutan it was a farce. A guide who spoke very poor English had no interest in speaking to us anyway and certainly not in finding out our names or what we wanted from the holiday. Trek crew and equipment which were laughable they were that bad (funny that is unless you know how much you are paying for them). The guide was so bad he was dangerous - a serious accident waiting to happen.

Rating for tour operator:

Never spoke to the same person twice, and staff sounded like you were interrupting their day. Promised they would look into flights for me and get back to me. I then receive confirmation of the most ridiculous flights they have booked on my behalf and when queried this am told I have to pay to change the flights. Info that is sent out is inaccurate. Product advertised not what is received.

KE Adventure Travel responded to this review on 15 Nov 2013:

Dear Helen

We are sorry that you were not satisfied with our services and that you have expressed your dissatisfaction on the AITO forum. We have responded privately to you to answer the individual points you raised in your feedback.

KE has been running holidays in the Himalayan countries for 30 years. We normally receive very positive feedback about our holidays in Bhutan so we are especially sorry that you did not enjoy your trek in this country. We do try to keep our information as accurate and up to date as possible. The dossier for your holiday was written by someone who had actually done the trip and it is constantly updated using our leaders' reports and client feedback such as yours. We understand that your trek was affected by Cyclone Phalin and did vary from the originally proposed itinerary.

We apologise that the level of service of the trek crew in Bhutan was below that you experienced in India, particularly that you had to help put up your own tent on several occasions. We are involved in an active training programme for our Bhutanese trek crews and we are sure that your experience will not be repeated. We note that in your feedback to us you wrote about your trip leader: "Pemba was excellent. He did everything he could to make this an amazing holiday"

We apologise that you were initially unhappy with the routing we proposed for your international flights but think it only fair to point out that you were away on holiday when we initially tried to call you about this. After we emailed your flight schedule, you did request an alternative option which we agreed to provide with no extra charges from us. Once you had considered all the available options you concluded the original routing was the best. Indeed you emailed us to say: "'Thank you for your help with this, you have restored my faith'.

Our clients' satisfaction is extremely important to us and we are sincerely sorry that we did not meet all your expectations on this trip as we have written in our private response to you, we hope you will give us an opportunity to again restore your faith in us.

Kind regards
Pete Royall
KE Product Manager