AITO: The Association of Independent Tour Operators
KE Adventure Travel

KE Adventure Travel Traveller Reviews

Reviews of KE Adventure Travel

Overall Company Rating
97%
Excellent 356
Good 31
Average 3
Poor 1
Terrible 3
Reviews Submitted: 394
Reviews Accepted: 393
Reviews Rejected: 1
393 reviews
Sort by:
Trek Madagascar, The Land of the by Katie, 16 Aug 2019
Holiday Rating:

Trek Madagascar - the land of the lemurs

A mix of trekking and wildlife in madagascar. 6 nights camping and 7 nights in hotels. Local guides were used in all 4 national parks visited meaning that the knowledge that was shared with us was specific to the area. We were "taught" about the different malagasy tribes, the wildlife and the landscape. Top notch staff throughout the holiday.

A mix of trekking and wildlife in madagascar. 6 nights camping and 7 nights in hotels. Local guides were used in all 4 national parks visited meaning that the knowledge that was shared with us was specific to the area. We were "taught" about the different malagasy tribes, the wildlife and the landscape. Top notch staff throughout the holiday.

Rating for tour operator:

First time I have travelled with KE adventure and it will not be the last. From booking, to pre-trip details, to the holiday itself everything led to an enjoyable holiday. Anytime I had to contact KE with regards to the trip, they listened to concerns and answered questions with patience.

Swedish Wilderness Family Advent by MILLD, 14 Aug 2019
Holiday Rating:

Amazing family adventure in the Swedish wilderness!

A week long adventure in the beautiful surroundings of Lapland, staying in a cosy lodge overlooking 'our' lake - with a sauna on the edge of the lake (very handy for jumping straight from one to the other). The paddle boards and pedalo were also very well used.. Line and net fishing proved a real hit with the children (5 of them aged between 5 and 9) as did the wild camping experience and of course the ever present huskies at the lodge. Our ...

A week long adventure in the beautiful surroundings of Lapland, staying in a cosy lodge overlooking 'our' lake - with a sauna on the edge of the lake (very handy for jumping straight from one to the other). The paddle boards and pedalo were also very well used.. Line and net fishing proved a real hit with the children (5 of them aged between 5 and 9) as did the wild camping experience and of course the ever present huskies at the lodge. Our host Lotti and support staff Casar and Lise were amazing - welcoming, knowledgeable, patient.....with 6 adults and 5 young children quite some feat. The itinerary kept us busy but with enough time to ourselves. Our meals were delicious and great to be able to try reindeer and elk...……..along with the fish that we caught. Altogether a fantastic and memorable trip!

Rating for tour operator:

KE Adventure have always proved to live up to extremely high standards all round - we have been on many trips with them (Nepal, Bhutan, Japan, India, Vietnam…..) and they have all, without exception, been amazing experiences. The office staff have always responded to queries very promptly and helpfully, working together with us. Local agents have also been of high quality and any glitches ironed out seamlessly. This is the first KE holiday we have been on as an entire family and it worked so well!

Teenage Toubkal Ascent by Cathy, 14 Aug 2019
Holiday Rating:

Family walking adventure in Morocco

I was slightly apprehensive when setting off on this holiday with my two teenage boys; the thought of a walking holiday was definitely taking second place to the holiday they had planned later in the summer with their dad to a sunny Spanish resort. I wasn’t overly concerned about the fitness needed, having grown up in Wales and trudged up hills from a young age…a pleasure / pain I also regularly inflict on my boys, so I could tick off that worry...

I was slightly apprehensive when setting off on this holiday with my two teenage boys; the thought of a walking holiday was definitely taking second place to the holiday they had planned later in the summer with their dad to a sunny Spanish resort. I wasn’t overly concerned about the fitness needed, having grown up in Wales and trudged up hills from a young age…a pleasure / pain I also regularly inflict on my boys, so I could tick off that worry. It was more the competition; I was up against the’ all-inclusive’ buffets and ice-creams, swimming pools and slides. I just hoped all the different sights, sounds and landscapes would be sufficient to win them over! We arrived at Marrakech airport late in the evening; my first concern there was no-one meet up….hmmm what to do? Thankfully we decided to wander outside of the airport, where we met our guide for the week, Hussein. We were swiftly driven to the hotel, and given the key to our room. Very spacious space, though perhaps a bottle of water in the fridge would have been a nice touch as I had to go searching for water as soon as we arrived. Next morning after our ‘leisurely breakfast’ we set off for the hills at 8am….it’s ok KE I’m a morning person, but this line from the trip notes unwittingly had stuck in my head and did make me chuckle…no surprises then we were going to have a 4am start on summit day! Quick introductions to our fellow participants (we’d arrived too late for the group de-brief) and off we set on our 2-hour journey to the Atlas Mountains. Our first couple of nights were to be spent at a lovely little gite in Imill, with lovely views and after our first taste of the infamous mint tea we settled in and started to chat with the group. It was hot, so we had our first short walk late in the afternoon, returning back in time for a delicious group dinner. Overall the food was fantastic, with lots of fresh veg and spices…just my kind of food! The next day after a consultation with the group we set off on the longer walk option, as the shorter option included a lot of walking on the roads, which we were all keen to avoid. It was a beautiful walk up to a high saddle ridge, with fantastic views. This walk was probably my favourite walk of the holiday, rather than up to the summit of Mount Toubkal, which I realise was probably most peoples. I did enjoy summit day, but landscape wise it wasn’t as interesting, and I am pretty fit as are my boys (must be all those Welsh hills!), so it didn’t present a physical change for us. It was a long walk but we were rewarded with the most fantastic lunch near a little flowing stream underneath the shade of the trees. It was simply perfect, and after a leisurely lunch and a little snooze we set off back to our gite. Following day we set off to walk to the base of Mount Toubkal to stay in a larger refuge; Neltner Refuge. The altitude was getting significantly higher, and the pace may have slowed down a little. A welcome break en route at a little mountain café for a delicious freshly squeezed orange juice gave us the zest we needed to keep going. The refuge was basic, but reasonably clean, and we all turned in for the night in our 12-bunk bed room. It was definitely snug, but comfortable enough though not sure anyone got much sleep! Whether this was all the different breathing sounds, or the anticipation of the alarms going off at 3am! Off we set at 4am, head torches on, boots laced up; fleeces zipped up as we joined the slow snaking line of other grounds winding up the mountain side. There were a few people suffering from altitude sickness, but our guide managed it well, and ensured that the whole group got up to the summit. We were at the top of North Africa’s second highest mountain, and everyone felt great, with a sense of achievement across the group. I think I may have actually found the walk down with all the shree and loose rocks harder! Time to bring that core balance into use! It was a restful afternoon once we returned with everyone retiring to their bunks for a bit of a rest, snooze or sleep. Mid-afternoon we probably had our best snack of the week; home-made donuts…simply delicious! I think I managed four….well I ‘m working on the premises of calories in – calories out! Next morning we set off back to Imil; another lovely walk through beautiful landscapes with lots of chat with the group. We were a group of 12 people; 7 kids (all boys) and 5 adults and friendships were formed through the group. Enough people to move around a chat with, but not so many that it felt too large. Our last night in the hills, before the drive back to the city of Marrakech. It was hot in the city, so a relief that the hotel we were staying in had a pool, which was never particularly busy, so we chilled out and relaxed by the pool the following day. Just venturing into the old town late in the afternoon to experience the souks of Marrakech. This was a great end to the holiday, and a total contrast to the calmness and solitude of the hills. All in all this was a fantastic holiday, and in case you’re wondering; the sights, sounds and people were definitely enough to win my boys over and they too along with me loved the holiday and all the experiences it offered to us. Thank you KE we will back on another of your holidays soon! Cathy, Dylan and Loman

Rating for tour operator:

Well planned trip, lots of information pre-trip about what to expect and what we would be doing on every step of the holiday.

Self-Guided Walking in Bavaria & by Sara, 7 Aug 2019
Holiday Rating:

castles and hiking

We experienced German culture, food and hospitably, while hiking in a beautiful area and topping it off with a visit to two famous castles.

We experienced German culture, food and hospitably, while hiking in a beautiful area and topping it off with a visit to two famous castles.

Rating for tour operator:

They were professional, timely, friendly, and helpful at all times.

High Tatras Trekking - The Carpa by Fisher, 29 Jul 2019
Holiday Rating:

Tantilising Tatra's

We had a week travelling hut to hut through the Tatra's with daily optional walks up to other peaks or mountain huts

We had a week travelling hut to hut through the Tatra's with daily optional walks up to other peaks or mountain huts

Rating for tour operator:

KE Adventure are excellent at communication and exceptionally helpful

Kilimanjaro Lemosho Route by Steve, 25 Jul 2019
Holiday Rating:

An exhilarating experience and achievement

A brilliantly led trek up Kilimanjaro

A brilliantly led trek up Kilimanjaro

Rating for tour operator:

KE Adventure were very helpful and gave good advice in setting up the trek

Trekking The Transylvanian Alps by BJ, 8 Jul 2019
Holiday Rating:

exceptional trek in Transylvania

Where do I start a well organised trek with a varied itinerary from mountain huts hotels guest houses etc,varied scenery from high mountains ,open meadow land to villages and cities with a knowledgeable guide who gave us an insight into the culture and traditions of the region.

Where do I start a well organised trek with a varied itinerary from mountain huts hotels guest houses etc,varied scenery from high mountains ,open meadow land to villages and cities with a knowledgeable guide who gave us an insight into the culture and traditions of the region.

Rating for tour operator:

KE Adventure I have used this tour operator on several occasions and will do in the future due to their use of local guides and and ethical approach to travel

Trekking the Ridges & Summits of by WonderWanderer, 30 Jun 2019
Holiday Rating:

Great itinerary, pity about the guide

The trip itinerary was excellent, with great hiking, views and culture, and the food put on was very high standard. The only negative was that the guide provided for the trip, whilst knowledgable about the route, was not trained to a high standard with regards to safety. He took no account of the mixed abilities of the group, leaving slower members behind. This led to one of them collapsing through dehydration. After this experience, I effectively ...

The trip itinerary was excellent, with great hiking, views and culture, and the food put on was very high standard. The only negative was that the guide provided for the trip, whilst knowledgable about the route, was not trained to a high standard with regards to safety. He took no account of the mixed abilities of the group, leaving slower members behind. This led to one of them collapsing through dehydration. After this experience, I effectively sacrificed my holiday to ensure the safety of the group.

Rating for tour operator:

KE did nothing wrong. The booking experience was easy, and the supporting notes and suggesting packing lists accurate and useful.

KE Adventure Travel responded to this review on 09 Jul 2019:

Thank you for your review. We are pleased that you enjoyed most aspects of the holiday. We are sorry that you had these concerns over your safety. As you know from our private correspondence with you, your guide has a different view of events. The guide on your trip was a qualified, professional mountain guide of over 20 years experience, who was also elected President of the Bulgarian Mountain Guides Association.

Tenzing Hillary Everest Marathon by Ollie, 15 Jun 2019
Holiday Rating:

Tenzing Hillary Everest Marathon - Experience of a lifetime

A fantastic experience from start to finish, from the moment we arrived in Kathmandu, all the way to Base Camp, and then for the race and return trek back to Lukla everything was organised perfectly. Couldn't fault anything if I tried.

A fantastic experience from start to finish, from the moment we arrived in Kathmandu, all the way to Base Camp, and then for the race and return trek back to Lukla everything was organised perfectly. Couldn't fault anything if I tried.

Rating for tour operator:

KE were brilliant, helping me and answering multiple daft questions throughout the booking process and sorting race entry & medical forms for me. When Jet Airways went out of business they were straight on the case organising alternative flights for me and at no point did I feel that my trip or money were at risk.

Victoria Falls to Cape Town by LycraMan, 12 Jun 2019
Holiday Rating:

Cycling from Victoria Falls to Cape Town

An excellent adventure cycling from Victoria Falls to Cape Town via Botswana and Namibia. Great pre departure information, fabulous guides and cook and driver who could muster up amazing food in the middle of desert.

An excellent adventure cycling from Victoria Falls to Cape Town via Botswana and Namibia. Great pre departure information, fabulous guides and cook and driver who could muster up amazing food in the middle of desert.

Rating for tour operator:

KE Adventure delivered what they said in the brochure and trip notes.