AITO: The Association of Independent Tour Operators
Ffestiniog Travel

Ffestiniog Travel Traveller Reviews

Reviews of Ffestiniog Travel

Overall Company Rating
97%
Excellent 252
Good 28
Average 3
Poor 1
Terrible 0
Reviews Submitted: 284
Reviews Accepted: 284
Reviews Rejected: 0
284 reviews
Sort by:
Ffestiniog Travel by Pedr, 29 May 2015
Holiday Rating:

Isle of Man

The Isle of Man is charming; everyone is so friendly. We had tickets to ride about in buses, trains and trams all week and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. I particularly liked driving a tram. The hotel was good; the meals were first-class and the wine was decent and not over-priced. The bed was most comfortable. Our guide tended to our every whim and everyone did their best to make our trip worth while. The scenery was wonderful - glens full ...

The Isle of Man is charming; everyone is so friendly. We had tickets to ride about in buses, trains and trams all week and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. I particularly liked driving a tram. The hotel was good; the meals were first-class and the wine was decent and not over-priced. The bed was most comfortable. Our guide tended to our every whim and everyone did their best to make our trip worth while. The scenery was wonderful - glens full of bluebells and mountains covered in miles of golden gorse flowers - never seen such a display in my life. The rail connections to and from our airports were impeccable, but it ought to be recorded that Manchester Airport is dreadful. It is a fair distance from the railway station to the departure point, the travolators don't work and it is uphill with the baggage to pull. Distinctly not recommended. It used to be quicker to go to the Isle of Man by boat from Llandudno than it is nowadays by train and air. On the return, Birmingham Airport did not have connections to the aircraft so again, a deal of steps and long walks. Ronaldsway (IOM) was OK. In short, Ffestiniog Travel were impeccable, the Isle of Man in enchanting, but airports need to pull their socks up, especially Manchester.

Rating for tour operator:

We have been using Ffestiniog Travel for forty years and have found their service faultless. Only place in North Wales where you can buy tickets for the Channel Tunnel. Many of the staff have become friends over the years; nothing is too much trouble for them. First class.

Ffestiniog Travel by Jim, 10 May 2015
Holiday Rating:

Off the normal tourist path in Japan

Ffestiniog Travel provided an exceptional tour of places most foreign tourists never see. Their primary guides (Anthony Robins - a long time member of the Japanese Railway Society - and his wife Ari) provide excellent daily briefs and educate well a wide range of topics relating to the current Japanese culture.

Ffestiniog Travel provided an exceptional tour of places most foreign tourists never see. Their primary guides (Anthony Robins - a long time member of the Japanese Railway Society - and his wife Ari) provide excellent daily briefs and educate well a wide range of topics relating to the current Japanese culture.

Rating for tour operator:

Ffestiniog Travel was meticulous in arranging my abbreviated version of the normal tour. All my questions were answers competently and in proper detail.

Ffestiniog Travel by Rosie, 28 Apr 2015
Holiday Rating:

Seeing Japan by train at cherry blossom time

An excellent itinerary with many opportunities to see interesting and historic places, city and countryside as well as riding an amazing variety of trains. Well organised, no glitches and conscientious guides.

An excellent itinerary with many opportunities to see interesting and historic places, city and countryside as well as riding an amazing variety of trains. Well organised, no glitches and conscientious guides.

Rating for tour operator:

The administration by Ffestiniog was good and the local knowledge/guides were the icing on the cake.

Ffestiniog Travel by Dr M G 15, 27 Feb 2015
Holiday Rating:

Great Time

Snow on the Alps. That marvelous blend of guidance and freedom (Swiss Pass in this case) the Ffestiniog Travel organises. I love being 'ferried' there, with some fixed excursions (necessary bookings, and then train hopping as much as I please on the 'free days'.

Snow on the Alps. That marvelous blend of guidance and freedom (Swiss Pass in this case) the Ffestiniog Travel organises. I love being 'ferried' there, with some fixed excursions (necessary bookings, and then train hopping as much as I please on the 'free days'.

Rating for tour operator:

Ffestiniog Travel - the right balance between guidance and freedom.

Ffestiniog Travel by Montrose, 24 Feb 2015
Holiday Rating:

Harz Winter Gala with Ffestiniog Travel

The holiday experience was in general satisfactory. There were some issues with trains, not of Ffestiniog's fault. there were however issues with two hotels used on the tour, one the Inter City at Wuppertal was dirty, secondly we arrived at our last hotel, The ibis at Euston, where no payment had been made. Both items were sorted out, the inter city gave us another room, that was better but still not top class and the reception desk, did ...

The holiday experience was in general satisfactory. There were some issues with trains, not of Ffestiniog's fault. there were however issues with two hotels used on the tour, one the Inter City at Wuppertal was dirty, secondly we arrived at our last hotel, The ibis at Euston, where no payment had been made. Both items were sorted out, the inter city gave us another room, that was better but still not top class and the reception desk, did resolve the payment issue with Ffestiniog. Just things we should not have encountered.

Rating for tour operator:

Ffestiniog Travel.

Ffestiniog Travel responded to this review on 24 Feb 2015:

I would like to thank Mr Norris for taking the time to rate his holiday.
I can confirm that we have used the Intercity Hotel at Wuppertal for many years without complaint and the hotel has previously been checked by us. We have raised Mr Norris's complaint with the hotel but are assured that this is an issue that will not be repeated.
Mr Norris was booked into the Ibis Hotel Euston for two one night stays (pre and post tour)and the hotel was given corporate card details to take full pre payment for both reservations. The hotel took payment for the first stay and failed to process the payment for the second stay. This matter was sorted immediately and Mr Norris did not have to make payment. The Ibis Hotel was at fault on this occasion and we have apologised to Mr Norris for any inconvenience caused. Maria Cook, General Manager.

Ffestiniog Travel by Mr D R 14, 7 Jan 2015
Holiday Rating:

Christmas and New Year in Switzerland

For my wife, daughter and I this was the first time we had spent Christmas and new Year away from home. It has been an unforgettable experience. There were excellent hotels and the travel arrangements worked perfectly. Having a choice each day of either a planned trip or doing our own thing made visiting Switzerland well worthwhile. Ffestiniog Travel did a great job. David and Margaret Roberts

For my wife, daughter and I this was the first time we had spent Christmas and new Year away from home. It has been an unforgettable experience. There were excellent hotels and the travel arrangements worked perfectly. Having a choice each day of either a planned trip or doing our own thing made visiting Switzerland well worthwhile. Ffestiniog Travel did a great job. David and Margaret Roberts

Rating for tour operator:

Ffestiniog Travel based in Wales and plans and organises rail holidays.

Ffestiniog Travel by rmhealthwalker, 10 Dec 2014
Holiday Rating:

Vienna Christmas Markets

Though somewhat marred by poor weather we had very good and conveniently located hotels both in Vienna and for overnight stops en route. The tickets provided were most useful, particularly in Vienna and for the optional tours. The freedom for personal choice at all times was much appreciated. The group was a friendly mix of singles and couples which helped two long train days to pass convivially.

Though somewhat marred by poor weather we had very good and conveniently located hotels both in Vienna and for overnight stops en route. The tickets provided were most useful, particularly in Vienna and for the optional tours. The freedom for personal choice at all times was much appreciated. The group was a friendly mix of singles and couples which helped two long train days to pass convivially.

Rating for tour operator:

The concept of Ffestiniog Travel as a semi charitable organisation which passes on any profits to the Ffestiniog Railway Company has my full support. They are efficient in arranging the tours with brochures giving full and accurate descriptions of what one might expect on the tour. Office staff were most knowledgeable with phone enquiries and the tour leader gave timely and good guidance at all times without requiring conformity to his wishes. One days without included dinners, tables were reserved in hotels or restaurants if a very late arrival was planned.

Ffestiniog Travel by The youngster, 6 Dec 2014
Holiday Rating:

Starting Christmas 2014 in style!

A lot of fun, very festive and a real treat! Stopping off in Germany on the way there and back, a day trip to Budapest and many Viennese Christmas markets to explore.

A lot of fun, very festive and a real treat! Stopping off in Germany on the way there and back, a day trip to Budapest and many Viennese Christmas markets to explore.

Rating for tour operator:

Ffestiniog looked after us magnificently from the moment we booked our holiday and all through the trip. Staff were knowledgeable, friendly and supportive. The hotels booked were of a good quality and the leader made train travel so easy.

Ffestiniog Travel by Don Knight, 17 Nov 2014
Holiday Rating:

A well planned and organised tour.

Wales North to South tour of heritage railways, museums, castles and tourist attractions. All accommodation was of a very good quality and travel arrangements were well organised with no problems. I will certainly be using Ffestiniog Travel in the future.

Wales North to South tour of heritage railways, museums, castles and tourist attractions. All accommodation was of a very good quality and travel arrangements were well organised with no problems. I will certainly be using Ffestiniog Travel in the future.

Rating for tour operator:

The pre travel intinery was of a very high standard with detailed information of all hotels and venues. The tour leader was very friendly and helpful with a good knowledge of venues and the Welsh language!!

Ffestiniog Travel by Petroleum, 4 Nov 2014
Holiday Rating:

Rail/Hotel/cruise holiday Hawaii

All arrangements made by Ffestiniog worked perfectly. Bus substitution of train in US for 250 miles an unpleasant surprise, but not of Ffestiniog making! Hotels in Boston Seattle and Honolulu all first class. Delta flights Hawaii /US mainland poor- peanuts only sustenance on 6 hour flights!

All arrangements made by Ffestiniog worked perfectly. Bus substitution of train in US for 250 miles an unpleasant surprise, but not of Ffestiniog making! Hotels in Boston Seattle and Honolulu all first class. Delta flights Hawaii /US mainland poor- peanuts only sustenance on 6 hour flights!

Rating for tour operator:

Very helpful but could release flight confirmation codes earlier to aid seat selsction.