AITO: The Association of Independent Tour Operators
Ffestiniog Travel

Ffestiniog Travel Traveller Reviews

Reviews of Ffestiniog Travel

Overall Company Rating
97%
Excellent 248
Good 28
Average 3
Poor 1
Terrible 0
Reviews Submitted: 280
Reviews Accepted: 280
Reviews Rejected: 0
280 reviews
Sort by:
Ffestiniog Travel by Montrose, 24 Feb 2015
Holiday Rating:

Harz Winter Gala with Ffestiniog Travel

The holiday experience was in general satisfactory. There were some issues with trains, not of Ffestiniog's fault. there were however issues with two hotels used on the tour, one the Inter City at Wuppertal was dirty, secondly we arrived at our last hotel, The ibis at Euston, where no payment had been made. Both items were sorted out, the inter city gave us another room, that was better but still not top class and the reception desk, did ...

The holiday experience was in general satisfactory. There were some issues with trains, not of Ffestiniog's fault. there were however issues with two hotels used on the tour, one the Inter City at Wuppertal was dirty, secondly we arrived at our last hotel, The ibis at Euston, where no payment had been made. Both items were sorted out, the inter city gave us another room, that was better but still not top class and the reception desk, did resolve the payment issue with Ffestiniog. Just things we should not have encountered.

Rating for tour operator:

Ffestiniog Travel.

Ffestiniog Travel responded to this review on 24 Feb 2015:

I would like to thank Mr Norris for taking the time to rate his holiday.
I can confirm that we have used the Intercity Hotel at Wuppertal for many years without complaint and the hotel has previously been checked by us. We have raised Mr Norris's complaint with the hotel but are assured that this is an issue that will not be repeated.
Mr Norris was booked into the Ibis Hotel Euston for two one night stays (pre and post tour)and the hotel was given corporate card details to take full pre payment for both reservations. The hotel took payment for the first stay and failed to process the payment for the second stay. This matter was sorted immediately and Mr Norris did not have to make payment. The Ibis Hotel was at fault on this occasion and we have apologised to Mr Norris for any inconvenience caused. Maria Cook, General Manager.

Ffestiniog Travel by Mr D R 14, 7 Jan 2015
Holiday Rating:

Christmas and New Year in Switzerland

For my wife, daughter and I this was the first time we had spent Christmas and new Year away from home. It has been an unforgettable experience. There were excellent hotels and the travel arrangements worked perfectly. Having a choice each day of either a planned trip or doing our own thing made visiting Switzerland well worthwhile. Ffestiniog Travel did a great job. David and Margaret Roberts

For my wife, daughter and I this was the first time we had spent Christmas and new Year away from home. It has been an unforgettable experience. There were excellent hotels and the travel arrangements worked perfectly. Having a choice each day of either a planned trip or doing our own thing made visiting Switzerland well worthwhile. Ffestiniog Travel did a great job. David and Margaret Roberts

Rating for tour operator:

Ffestiniog Travel based in Wales and plans and organises rail holidays.

Ffestiniog Travel by rmhealthwalker, 10 Dec 2014
Holiday Rating:

Vienna Christmas Markets

Though somewhat marred by poor weather we had very good and conveniently located hotels both in Vienna and for overnight stops en route. The tickets provided were most useful, particularly in Vienna and for the optional tours. The freedom for personal choice at all times was much appreciated. The group was a friendly mix of singles and couples which helped two long train days to pass convivially.

Though somewhat marred by poor weather we had very good and conveniently located hotels both in Vienna and for overnight stops en route. The tickets provided were most useful, particularly in Vienna and for the optional tours. The freedom for personal choice at all times was much appreciated. The group was a friendly mix of singles and couples which helped two long train days to pass convivially.

Rating for tour operator:

The concept of Ffestiniog Travel as a semi charitable organisation which passes on any profits to the Ffestiniog Railway Company has my full support. They are efficient in arranging the tours with brochures giving full and accurate descriptions of what one might expect on the tour. Office staff were most knowledgeable with phone enquiries and the tour leader gave timely and good guidance at all times without requiring conformity to his wishes. One days without included dinners, tables were reserved in hotels or restaurants if a very late arrival was planned.

Ffestiniog Travel by The youngster, 6 Dec 2014
Holiday Rating:

Starting Christmas 2014 in style!

A lot of fun, very festive and a real treat! Stopping off in Germany on the way there and back, a day trip to Budapest and many Viennese Christmas markets to explore.

A lot of fun, very festive and a real treat! Stopping off in Germany on the way there and back, a day trip to Budapest and many Viennese Christmas markets to explore.

Rating for tour operator:

Ffestiniog looked after us magnificently from the moment we booked our holiday and all through the trip. Staff were knowledgeable, friendly and supportive. The hotels booked were of a good quality and the leader made train travel so easy.

Ffestiniog Travel by Don Knight, 17 Nov 2014
Holiday Rating:

A well planned and organised tour.

Wales North to South tour of heritage railways, museums, castles and tourist attractions. All accommodation was of a very good quality and travel arrangements were well organised with no problems. I will certainly be using Ffestiniog Travel in the future.

Wales North to South tour of heritage railways, museums, castles and tourist attractions. All accommodation was of a very good quality and travel arrangements were well organised with no problems. I will certainly be using Ffestiniog Travel in the future.

Rating for tour operator:

The pre travel intinery was of a very high standard with detailed information of all hotels and venues. The tour leader was very friendly and helpful with a good knowledge of venues and the Welsh language!!

Ffestiniog Travel by Petroleum, 4 Nov 2014
Holiday Rating:

Rail/Hotel/cruise holiday Hawaii

All arrangements made by Ffestiniog worked perfectly. Bus substitution of train in US for 250 miles an unpleasant surprise, but not of Ffestiniog making! Hotels in Boston Seattle and Honolulu all first class. Delta flights Hawaii /US mainland poor- peanuts only sustenance on 6 hour flights!

All arrangements made by Ffestiniog worked perfectly. Bus substitution of train in US for 250 miles an unpleasant surprise, but not of Ffestiniog making! Hotels in Boston Seattle and Honolulu all first class. Delta flights Hawaii /US mainland poor- peanuts only sustenance on 6 hour flights!

Rating for tour operator:

Very helpful but could release flight confirmation codes earlier to aid seat selsction.

Ffestiniog Travel by Mr A G 14, 29 Oct 2014
Holiday Rating:

Rail Trip to Italy

Rail travel from Glasgow to London, Paris, Munich, Venice, Naples, Siracusa Ragusa, Return via Rome, Milan and Paris

Rail travel from Glasgow to London, Paris, Munich, Venice, Naples, Siracusa Ragusa, Return via Rome, Milan and Paris

Rating for tour operator:

This small company is extremely efficient and provides an excellent service for rail tickets and reservations. Also hotel bookings responding to requests for locations near railway stations. All enquires, bookings etc are dealt with in friendly, personal way with immediate response.

Ffestiniog Travel by old soldier, 22 Oct 2014
Holiday Rating:

Interesting and informative

THe tour leader, Richard Buxton, was excellent value. He was very good at providing sufficient information in a clear and concise manner that made the absorbtion easy. The trip was over three days, and certainly met its advertised goal of seeing behind the scenes on the FFestiniog and Welsh Highland Railway.

THe tour leader, Richard Buxton, was excellent value. He was very good at providing sufficient information in a clear and concise manner that made the absorbtion easy. The trip was over three days, and certainly met its advertised goal of seeing behind the scenes on the FFestiniog and Welsh Highland Railway.

Rating for tour operator:

THis is the first time I have used Ffestiniog Travel, and I would consider using them again

Ffestiniog Travel by Riley, 11 Oct 2014
Holiday Rating:

Rural Romania tour September 2014

An extensive tour of Romania in a small party touring mainly by minibus, visiting three preserved steam hauled narrow gauge railways, but also undertaking extensive sight-seeing under the expert guidance of a young Romanian lady. Overnights were spent mostly in farmhouse 'homestays' all of which were characterful, clean and with good facilities.

An extensive tour of Romania in a small party touring mainly by minibus, visiting three preserved steam hauled narrow gauge railways, but also undertaking extensive sight-seeing under the expert guidance of a young Romanian lady. Overnights were spent mostly in farmhouse 'homestays' all of which were characterful, clean and with good facilities.

Rating for tour operator:

The leader of the party took a personal interest in ensuring that everyone in the party was well informed before the holiday about what to expect and what to come prepared for, and during the holiday he personally ensured that everyone was happy at all times.

Ffestiniog Travel by Gubber, 10 Oct 2014
Holiday Rating:

Excellent

It was tailor-made, a trip to Toronto, Nova Scotia and Prince Edward Island. The flights, hotels and excursions booked for us all worked well. It is the second time I have used Ffestiniog Travel for tailor-made holidays. And I would not hesitate to use them again.

It was tailor-made, a trip to Toronto, Nova Scotia and Prince Edward Island. The flights, hotels and excursions booked for us all worked well. It is the second time I have used Ffestiniog Travel for tailor-made holidays. And I would not hesitate to use them again.

Rating for tour operator:

Competent, friendly and efficient.