AITO: The Association of Independent Tour Operators
Ffestiniog Travel

Ffestiniog Travel Traveller Reviews

Reviews of Ffestiniog Travel

Overall Company Rating
97%
Excellent 237
Good 27
Average 3
Poor 1
Terrible 0
Reviews Submitted: 268
Reviews Accepted: 268
Reviews Rejected: 0
268 reviews
Sort by:
Ffestiniog Travel by Anorac , 26 Sep 2014
Holiday Rating:

A well thought out holiday that covered everything it said in the brocure

It used hotels for overnight accommodation it started in North Wales and finished in South Wales it lasted twelve days and we visited all the narrow gauge and preserved railways as three castles etc. and was an enjoyable experience

It used hotels for overnight accommodation it started in North Wales and finished in South Wales it lasted twelve days and we visited all the narrow gauge and preserved railways as three castles etc. and was an enjoyable experience

Rating for tour operator:

The tour operator provided use with a very good itinerary which described each location visited in detail. The tour leader was very professional and facilitated the customer needs in providing an explanation to how long we were at each location catering arrangements and when we should be ready each day. The coach operator drivers were also very good.

Ffestiniog Travel by trish, 4 Sep 2014
Holiday Rating:

tailormade holiday to Denmark

Ffestiniog Travel organised our trip by outward ferry, trains and flight home. The hotel in Copenhagen was excellent, very near the station. The trains to North Jutland were comfortable and clean, ran to time and the route was scenic. What a shame that the DFDS ferry from Harwich to Esbjerg is no longer running, it was such a civilised way to travel compared to flying - no check-in queues or hanging about.

Ffestiniog Travel organised our trip by outward ferry, trains and flight home. The hotel in Copenhagen was excellent, very near the station. The trains to North Jutland were comfortable and clean, ran to time and the route was scenic. What a shame that the DFDS ferry from Harwich to Esbjerg is no longer running, it was such a civilised way to travel compared to flying - no check-in queues or hanging about.

Rating for tour operator:

Ffestiniog are just wonderful - nothing is too much trouble for them and their service is really personal. They seem to have miracle-working properties in finding hotels that suit the customer and trains etc that run at humane times of day.

Ffestiniog Travel by MrsBoxerDog, 18 Jul 2014
Holiday Rating:

Excellent Service & a Wonderful Holiday!

Thanks to Ffestiniog Travel my holiday, last September to Switzerland, was wonderful, thanks to Jenene in Ffestiniog's 'tailor-made' department and her usual efficiency. As this was the first time I was to travel and spend a few days on my own, until my companion arrived having ended a Ffestiniog rail trip to Germany, I was very apprehensive about everything. The trip ran like clockwork, to the point of arriving early at Wilderswil in time ...

Thanks to Ffestiniog Travel my holiday, last September to Switzerland, was wonderful, thanks to Jenene in Ffestiniog's 'tailor-made' department and her usual efficiency. As this was the first time I was to travel and spend a few days on my own, until my companion arrived having ended a Ffestiniog rail trip to Germany, I was very apprehensive about everything. The trip ran like clockwork, to the point of arriving early at Wilderswil in time for evening dinner! Jenene had ensured I had everything I needed to hand; all the timings, platforms etc. The hotel, having stayed there on a previous holiday, had been well chosen by Ffestiniog and is well situated for sightseeing. A 10 minute stroll down the lovely lane and you are at the railway station. From there, one can get to Interlaken for a host of trips: a two-hour train journey to Lucerne, boat trips on Lakes Brienz and Thun, onward to the Schilthorn and Jungfrau and much more. A stop-off at Murren is a 'must', such a quiet village, no cars, it's wonderful! One tip is to pay the extra money and buy a first class rail pass which also enables one to sit upstairs on the boats! I will definitely be doing this next time I go to Switzerland. Thanks to Ffestiniog for yet another stress-free and wonderful holiday.

Rating for tour operator:

What can I say about Ffestiniog Travel, other than all round excellence. Believe me, I am a fussy person and the company have never let me down. I usually travel through the 'tailor-made' department, where nothing is too much trouble for Jenene Craven whom I liaise with. Jenene is such a friendly, polite, good humoured girl and her work is exemplary. Little extras are always thought of, normally extra touches I had not thought of, but she had. Jenene is a real asset to Ffestiniog Travel. Another plus is that the tickets etc. come via recorded delivery at a time agreed by Ffestiniog and myself which is very reassuring. Also, the little booklet of the trip which is put together with various bits of information is extremely useful and welcome. So what more can I say, it is not a cheap company, but one does get what one pays for - total excellence. A big 'Thank You' to Ffestiniog Travel and especially Jenene. I am looking forward to my holiday for you to arrange already!

Ffestiniog Travel by Embee, 3 Jul 2014
Holiday Rating:

London to the Balkans and back via Italy by rail

Itinery good and rail timings went well. turned out as we had hoped except for issues over booked hotel accomadation in Vienna.

Itinery good and rail timings went well. turned out as we had hoped except for issues over booked hotel accomadation in Vienna.

Rating for tour operator:

Booked itinery for us based upon our holiday plan.

Ffestiniog Travel by The Enthusiast, 2 Jul 2014
Holiday Rating:

4 week European capital cities tour

Rail London to Berlin, Dresden, Praque, Vienna, Budapest, Salzburg, Brig, St Mortitz and Paris including hotels

Rail London to Berlin, Dresden, Praque, Vienna, Budapest, Salzburg, Brig, St Mortitz and Paris including hotels

Rating for tour operator:

Ffestiniog Travel provided a first class, highly professional yet extremely personal product. 10 out of 10

Ffestiniog Travel by Johann, 6 May 2014
Holiday Rating:

All of the arrangements that we asked for were successfully provided.

We visited friends in Bavaria. One, whom we hadn't seen for twelve years, now has a husband and three children. Seeing a group of former colleagues I'd worked with in the early 1970s and not seen for twenty-five years was very special.

We visited friends in Bavaria. One, whom we hadn't seen for twelve years, now has a husband and three children. Seeing a group of former colleagues I'd worked with in the early 1970s and not seen for twenty-five years was very special.

Rating for tour operator:

Ffestiniog Travel provided us with all the aspects of the holiday that we had asked for.

Ffestiniog Travel by Hurrah Henry, 6 Nov 2013
Holiday Rating:

Japan-North to Hokkaido

The tour was excellently run, just like a well oiled sewing machine, and the tour leaders were very friendly and efficient.

The tour was excellently run, just like a well oiled sewing machine, and the tour leaders were very friendly and efficient.

Rating for tour operator:

The organisation and running of the tour was excellent.

Ffestiniog Travel by Cairnstone, 16 Oct 2013
Holiday Rating:

Short stay in Thailand following business visit

My wife and son had two half-day tours in Bangkok while I worked and we then had a three-day tour to Kanchanaburi and Ayutthaya, visiting the Thailand-Burma railway, Tiger Temple, an elephant park and various palaces and temples. Intensive but very very enjoyable.

My wife and son had two half-day tours in Bangkok while I worked and we then had a three-day tour to Kanchanaburi and Ayutthaya, visiting the Thailand-Burma railway, Tiger Temple, an elephant park and various palaces and temples. Intensive but very very enjoyable.

Rating for tour operator:

Very efficient, friendly and highly recommended.