AITO: The Association of Independent Tour Operators
Ffestiniog Travel

Ffestiniog Travel Traveller Reviews

Reviews of Ffestiniog Travel

Overall Company Rating
97%
Excellent 237
Good 27
Average 3
Poor 1
Terrible 0
Reviews Submitted: 268
Reviews Accepted: 268
Reviews Rejected: 0
268 reviews
Sort by:
Ffestiniog Travel by rmhealthwalker, 10 Dec 2014
Holiday Rating:

Vienna Christmas Markets

Though somewhat marred by poor weather we had very good and conveniently located hotels both in Vienna and for overnight stops en route. The tickets provided were most useful, particularly in Vienna and for the optional tours. The freedom for personal choice at all times was much appreciated. The group was a friendly mix of singles and couples which helped two long train days to pass convivially.

Though somewhat marred by poor weather we had very good and conveniently located hotels both in Vienna and for overnight stops en route. The tickets provided were most useful, particularly in Vienna and for the optional tours. The freedom for personal choice at all times was much appreciated. The group was a friendly mix of singles and couples which helped two long train days to pass convivially.

Rating for tour operator:

The concept of Ffestiniog Travel as a semi charitable organisation which passes on any profits to the Ffestiniog Railway Company has my full support. They are efficient in arranging the tours with brochures giving full and accurate descriptions of what one might expect on the tour. Office staff were most knowledgeable with phone enquiries and the tour leader gave timely and good guidance at all times without requiring conformity to his wishes. One days without included dinners, tables were reserved in hotels or restaurants if a very late arrival was planned.

Ffestiniog Travel by The youngster, 6 Dec 2014
Holiday Rating:

Starting Christmas 2014 in style!

A lot of fun, very festive and a real treat! Stopping off in Germany on the way there and back, a day trip to Budapest and many Viennese Christmas markets to explore.

A lot of fun, very festive and a real treat! Stopping off in Germany on the way there and back, a day trip to Budapest and many Viennese Christmas markets to explore.

Rating for tour operator:

Ffestiniog looked after us magnificently from the moment we booked our holiday and all through the trip. Staff were knowledgeable, friendly and supportive. The hotels booked were of a good quality and the leader made train travel so easy.

Ffestiniog Travel by Don Knight, 17 Nov 2014
Holiday Rating:

A well planned and organised tour.

Wales North to South tour of heritage railways, museums, castles and tourist attractions. All accommodation was of a very good quality and travel arrangements were well organised with no problems. I will certainly be using Ffestiniog Travel in the future.

Wales North to South tour of heritage railways, museums, castles and tourist attractions. All accommodation was of a very good quality and travel arrangements were well organised with no problems. I will certainly be using Ffestiniog Travel in the future.

Rating for tour operator:

The pre travel intinery was of a very high standard with detailed information of all hotels and venues. The tour leader was very friendly and helpful with a good knowledge of venues and the Welsh language!!

Ffestiniog Travel by Petroleum, 4 Nov 2014
Holiday Rating:

Rail/Hotel/cruise holiday Hawaii

All arrangements made by Ffestiniog worked perfectly. Bus substitution of train in US for 250 miles an unpleasant surprise, but not of Ffestiniog making! Hotels in Boston Seattle and Honolulu all first class. Delta flights Hawaii /US mainland poor- peanuts only sustenance on 6 hour flights!

All arrangements made by Ffestiniog worked perfectly. Bus substitution of train in US for 250 miles an unpleasant surprise, but not of Ffestiniog making! Hotels in Boston Seattle and Honolulu all first class. Delta flights Hawaii /US mainland poor- peanuts only sustenance on 6 hour flights!

Rating for tour operator:

Very helpful but could release flight confirmation codes earlier to aid seat selsction.

Ffestiniog Travel by Mr A G 14, 29 Oct 2014
Holiday Rating:

Rail Trip to Italy

Rail travel from Glasgow to London, Paris, Munich, Venice, Naples, Siracusa Ragusa, Return via Rome, Milan and Paris

Rail travel from Glasgow to London, Paris, Munich, Venice, Naples, Siracusa Ragusa, Return via Rome, Milan and Paris

Rating for tour operator:

This small company is extremely efficient and provides an excellent service for rail tickets and reservations. Also hotel bookings responding to requests for locations near railway stations. All enquires, bookings etc are dealt with in friendly, personal way with immediate response.

Ffestiniog Travel by old soldier, 22 Oct 2014
Holiday Rating:

Interesting and informative

THe tour leader, Richard Buxton, was excellent value. He was very good at providing sufficient information in a clear and concise manner that made the absorbtion easy. The trip was over three days, and certainly met its advertised goal of seeing behind the scenes on the FFestiniog and Welsh Highland Railway.

THe tour leader, Richard Buxton, was excellent value. He was very good at providing sufficient information in a clear and concise manner that made the absorbtion easy. The trip was over three days, and certainly met its advertised goal of seeing behind the scenes on the FFestiniog and Welsh Highland Railway.

Rating for tour operator:

THis is the first time I have used Ffestiniog Travel, and I would consider using them again

Ffestiniog Travel by Riley, 11 Oct 2014
Holiday Rating:

Rural Romania tour September 2014

An extensive tour of Romania in a small party touring mainly by minibus, visiting three preserved steam hauled narrow gauge railways, but also undertaking extensive sight-seeing under the expert guidance of a young Romanian lady. Overnights were spent mostly in farmhouse 'homestays' all of which were characterful, clean and with good facilities.

An extensive tour of Romania in a small party touring mainly by minibus, visiting three preserved steam hauled narrow gauge railways, but also undertaking extensive sight-seeing under the expert guidance of a young Romanian lady. Overnights were spent mostly in farmhouse 'homestays' all of which were characterful, clean and with good facilities.

Rating for tour operator:

The leader of the party took a personal interest in ensuring that everyone in the party was well informed before the holiday about what to expect and what to come prepared for, and during the holiday he personally ensured that everyone was happy at all times.

Ffestiniog Travel by Gubber, 10 Oct 2014
Holiday Rating:

Excellent

It was tailor-made, a trip to Toronto, Nova Scotia and Prince Edward Island. The flights, hotels and excursions booked for us all worked well. It is the second time I have used Ffestiniog Travel for tailor-made holidays. And I would not hesitate to use them again.

It was tailor-made, a trip to Toronto, Nova Scotia and Prince Edward Island. The flights, hotels and excursions booked for us all worked well. It is the second time I have used Ffestiniog Travel for tailor-made holidays. And I would not hesitate to use them again.

Rating for tour operator:

Competent, friendly and efficient.

Ffestiniog Travel by Rail traveller, 2 Oct 2014
Holiday Rating:

Travel on the borders

We spent a week in Friedrichshafen on the Bodensee. It happened to coincide with a boat festival so there was extra activity on the lake. We used the boats and catamaran to get about and visit Constanz, Meersburg, Lindau and Bregenz but at the height of the grape and fruit harvest there was lot to do and see.Our hotel rented out bikes at €6 a day and there were tracks all round the lake.From there we went on to Colmar in Alsace, a town which ...

We spent a week in Friedrichshafen on the Bodensee. It happened to coincide with a boat festival so there was extra activity on the lake. We used the boats and catamaran to get about and visit Constanz, Meersburg, Lindau and Bregenz but at the height of the grape and fruit harvest there was lot to do and see.Our hotel rented out bikes at €6 a day and there were tracks all round the lake.From there we went on to Colmar in Alsace, a town which exceeded my expectations in beauty and history. We spent the afternoon just eating and watching the world go by. The French really know how to live. Then on to culture:The Issenheim altarpiece by Grunewald is stunning and the Unterlinden Museum had many more treasures and is worth a visit, despite the ongoing building work.

Rating for tour operator:

Ffestiniog Travel organised the rail travel and Colmar hotel, which was excellent, directly opposite the railway station. They listened to our requirements and everything ran smoothly. They supplied a booklet with all the necessary travel details and directions, including tickets and directions for crossing Paris on the Metro, which saved a lot of time and stress, especially as our return TGV to Paris was late.We've used them before and will certaily use them again

Ffestiniog Travel by Ronald, 1 Oct 2014
Holiday Rating:

interesting and well organised

A well chosen itinerary with the usual excellent Ffestiniog balance of organised journeys and hoteld and free time in between

A well chosen itinerary with the usual excellent Ffestiniog balance of organised journeys and hoteld and free time in between

Rating for tour operator:

Ffestiniog Travel provide an excellent service.