Ffestiniog Travel

Reviews of Ffestiniog Travel

Overall company rating
4 97%
Reviews submitted: 119
Reviews accepted: 119
Reviews rejected: 0
Excellent
103
Good
14
Average
1
Poor
1
Terrible
0

Well organised and interesting specialised holiday.

By Steamfan on 21 Apr 2017

Rating for this holiday Good

By rail all the way to Dresden for the annual steam festival

Rating for tour operator Excellent

A small specialised company who seem to understand their niche market.

By steamerdave on 19 Apr 2017

Rating for this holiday Excellent

A specialist connoisseur holiday

Rating for tour operator Excellent

Ffestiniog Travel cater werll for rail enthiusiasts.

A wonderful holiday spoiled somewhat by poor accomodation at one location and a lack of promised activities awhile at that location

By Railway Traveller on 13 Apr 2017

Rating for this holiday Good

For 75% of the holiday we had a wonderful time with many unforgettable experiences. The visit to Shamwari game reserve was outstanding and will live in our memory for a very long time. Unfortunately for 4 nights we were in poor accomodation and at the same time some of the activities offered in the brochure were not available.

Rating for tour operator Good

We have used Ffestiniog Travel before to book an independent holiday to Switzerland. All the arrangements for this went very well and we were most impressed. The holiday we have just taken to South Africa has been enjoyable and memorable but unfortunately the accommodation on one leg of the tour was poor. The activities on he same leg were also not as expected.

Dresden Steam Festival

By Mrs A J 17 on 13 Apr 2017

Rating for this holiday Excellent

Eight day trip including

Steam train visit to Moritzburg Castle.
German steam railway event
River cruise
Opportunity to explore Dresden area

Rating for tour operator Excellent

Since 1981 I have been on seventeen tours with Festiniog Travel mainly to France, Germany, Belguium and the Netherlands

Very well organised by Ffestiniog Travel

By Taffy on 12 Apr 2017

Rating for this holiday Excellent

Brunei was very interesting and the monkeys really entertained us. Singapore was great to revisit and see the new places and old friends.
New Zealand is our second home and great to get away from the British winter.

Rating for tour operator Excellent

Very good and well informed

An excellent tour of India which enabled to experience this interesting and fascinating country within the specific framework of a railway holiday

By DjI on 11 Apr 2017

Rating for this holiday Good
Find more about Indian Hill Railways >

Ffestiniog Travel's Indian Hill Stations Tour, which combined visits to the 3 famous Hill Railways with a general Tour of Indian tourist spots. The tour had many facets including rides on all 3 railways, train rides on the Indian Rail network and visits to such places as the Taj Mahal and Golden Temple.

Rating for tour operator Excellent

The logistics of this tour must be very difficult to arrange and implement, but everything ran smoothly. The content, whilst based around the 3 Hill railways, was varied and gave a first time visitor a good flavour of India, as well as taking in some famous and historic sites. The experienced was enhanced by travel on the Indian Railway system.

Trip to South Africa & Australia

By MJ41 on 10 Apr 2017

Rating for this holiday Excellent

Our holiday started in South Africa in Nambiti game reserve and included a day with a guide to explain the siege of Ladysmith which was excellen. We thi moved on to Pumba game reserve via one night in Oyster Box in Durban areally excellent hotel.Four days in Pumba lived up to our expectations and excelled our previous stay.Then on to Cape Town via a few days in Plettenberg Bay. Taj hotel in Cape Town excellent but the subsequent trip on the Blue Train was spoiled by late running (8 hrs not acceptable). We then flew direct to Perth for a week in Coral Bay followed by two weeks with relatives in Perth and Cairns . Returned home via HK.

Rating for tour operator Excellent

Ffestiniog Travel has again been excellent in setting up our holidays. We have used for several years and will continue to do so.

Great Weekend Break on The Snowdonian

By Dereki on 10 Apr 2017

Rating for this holiday Excellent

Great trip, superb weather, faultless B&B

Rating for tour operator Excellent

Well well organised trip

Lifetime memories

By JoHen on 24 Mar 2017

Rating for this holiday Excellent
Find more about Indian Hill Railways >

The holiday was very well organised. Everything ran to plan, thanks to Ray Smith , our tour leader. We saw everything in the itinerary and a lot more.
We feel we gained a real insight into life in India by travelling by train.
The Darjeeling Hill Railway was outstanding and exciting.
Hotels were well chosen; comfortable with good food and service.

Rating for tour operator Excellent

The service we received from Ffestiniog Travel couldn't be bettered, from time of booking through to arriving home with memories to last a lifetime.
Prior to our tour, General Manager, Maria Cook and her team were excellent, making sure that all our questions were answered in a friendly manner. Paperwork was detailed and accurate and their links to the Indian visa application simplified that process.

On the holiday, our tour guide, Ray Smith, made sure everything ran smoothly, no mean feat when travelling in India. He was well organised and always on hand when needed. Polite and good humoured, it was a pleasure travelling with him.
The local guides were all good and informative.

We wouldn't hesitate to book further holidays with Ffestiniog Travel.

Indian Hill Railways and some of the major sites of India

By Railway girl on 23 Mar 2017

Rating for this holiday Excellent
Find more about Indian Hill Railways >

A non santised trip to northern and southern India, focusing on the 3 Indian Hill Railways and cross country Indian rail travel, taking in the Golden temple at Amritsar and The Taj Mahal.
Highlights were the chartered rail journeys, particularly under steam.
The trip exposed us to the sights, sounds and smells (some not so pleasant) of the real India, mostly to be found outside and on the platforms of the railway stations.

Rating for tour operator Excellent

FFestiniog travel provided a very well organised and executed tour which was as described in the brouchure and tour information.
This was a trip for people with an interest or passion in railways and in particular steam locomatives, though there was plenty of interest for those not so zealous as others.