Ffestiniog Travel

Reviews of Ffestiniog Travel

Overall company rating
4 97%
Reviews submitted: 163
Reviews accepted: 163
Reviews rejected: 0
Excellent
143
Good
17
Average
2
Poor
1
Terrible
0

An excellent holiday marred by a severe storm.

By Dorset Duo on 11 Nov 2017

Rating for this holiday Excellent

A railway journey in the footsteps of Michael Portillo. Organisation and arrangements by Ffestiniog Travel were excellent, but unfortunately a severe storm caused immense damage to the railway infrastructure and caused a day of delays. The days in Vienna, Graz, Ljubljana, Trieste and Venice were enjoyable and gave a good taste of some major European cities.

Rating for tour operator Excellent

The tour operator was very efficient, providing everything that I required with just a couple of emails.

Excellent short break

By Spamcan on 7 Nov 2017

Rating for this holiday Excellent

Excellent accomodtion in Portmeirion and two railway trips! Ffestiniog and Welsh Highland Railways. What more could a rail enthusiast and Prisoner devotee want from a short break.

Rating for tour operator Excellent

Polite, knowledgeable and helpful. Very good service. Clear written information sent out in advance.

West to east Canada, stopping at several destinations.

By Jenden on 24 Oct 2017

Rating for this holiday Excellent

Ffestiniog Travel allowed us stress free booking arrangements.. We flew to Vancouver vis Heathrow , spent two nights there and then flew to the island and bussed to Ucluelet. Spent 4 nights there in a self catering chalet before flying back to Vancouver and hence on the Canadian train to Toronto. They wisely booked us a hotel for a night before a train to Kingston, Ontario where we stayed with friends before train to Montreal then flying back to Leeds Bradford via Heathrow.

Rating for tour operator Excellent

Ffestiniog are a travel company specialising in train travel.

Superbly well organised tour of Moldova and Romania

By Liz on 22 Oct 2017

Rating for this holiday Excellent
Find more about Moldova and Eastern Romania >

Very full and extremely well organised programme. Gave us a comprehensive over view of the two countries. We had a wonderful experience and learned a lot

Rating for tour operator Excellent

We have been dealing with Ffestiniog Travel for over 10 years now, both on their organised tours and when they have arranged a tailor-made tour for us. Their planning is impeccable and their Guides excellent.

We will have no hesitation in travelling with them in the future and recommending them to others.

All the arrangements made by Ffestiniog worked like clockwork

By John and Sarah on 15 Oct 2017

Rating for this holiday Excellent

Ffestiniog Travel arranged a tailor made unescorted holiday for us to the USA and Canada. They booked all flights, hotels and train travel for us and everything worked like clockwork. Five nights in New York was followed by a train journey up the beautiful Hudson River valley for a one night stopover in Niagara to see the falls before continuing on to Toronto for two nights. From there we boarded "The Canadian" for the four night and three day trip across Canada by train to Vancouver. This was the highlight of our trip, sitting back and enjoying the wonderful scenery, eating fantastic food, and meeting fellow travellers from all over the world. Three nights in Vancouver was perfect for exploring the amazing city before heading home again.

Rating for tour operator Excellent

Ffestiniog Travel lives up to its reputation as a specialist railway tour operator. Everything they arranged worked perfectly. They are accessible and approachable, and dealt with all our queries promptly. They also had very thorough and detailed plans in place for contacting them and getting assistance should anything go wrong whilst we were away. We would definitely recommend them to others, and have indeed already done so.

Lovely Lake Lucerne

By Ricardo's Reply. on 14 Oct 2017

Rating for this holiday Excellent
Find more about Switzerland’s Lake Lucerne >

Spent six days exploring Switerland's Lake Lucerne, the lake, mountains, railway and cable car systems. The weather was on our side as well as it was fine and sunny most days. We'd not been to Switerland before and am sure we will be back again!

Rating for tour operator Excellent

Festiniog Travel organised the holiday and they were excellent in their administration,itinerary and clarifying queries about the holiday before travelling. Staff and tour manager were helpful, friendly & knowledgeable. .

Excellent holiday in Lake Lucerne including rail and lake steamer travel

By timthom on 30 Sep 2017

Rating for this holiday Excellent
Find more about Switzerland’s Lake Lucerne >

A very good 6 days based in Lake Lucerne with great options included.

Rating for tour operator Excellent

FFestiniog Travel always comes up with holidays that do what they say in the brochure.

Whistle stop Switzerland

By DaveB on 26 Sep 2017

Rating for this holiday Excellent

This was a great first introduction to many of Switzerland' s best sights. The first class rail pass gave tour flexibility in a relaxed style and includes entrance to many museums and some of the cable cars and lake paddle steamers

Rating for tour operator Excellent

Well organised booking with prompt response, tour leader Dave had a relaxed style with good communication and catered for the many varied interests of the group

Fabulous

By Paul on 26 Sep 2017

Rating for this holiday Excellent

We did the Rocky Mountaineer; the whole experience exceeded our expectations which were high; all brilliant. On board staff were excellent, all arrangements were faultless - just fabulous!!

Rating for tour operator Excellent

Ffestiniog Travel brilliant. I will certainly use them again.

Well organised, interesting destination and activities and fully up to expectations with this specialist rail travel agency

By Cherubino on 25 Sep 2017

Rating for this holiday Excellent

A small group of fellow travelers sharing common interests who bonded immediately.
The tour leader was a mine of information about the heritage railways which were visited and a good shepherd - our ages ranging from 42 t0 85. No one was left behind or left out.
Ffestiniog Travel, because of its affiliation with the distinguished Welsh heritage line, always seems to have extra clout for getting one behind the scenes.
Hotel, linking coach travel and catering arrangements were all good.
The "Jounees du Patrimonie on the Vivarais" was well worth travelling from Canada to paticipate.

Rating for tour operator Excellent

See above