AITO: The Association of Independent Tour Operators
Ffestiniog Travel

Ffestiniog Travel Traveller Reviews

Reviews of Ffestiniog Travel

Overall Company Rating
97%
Excellent 293
Good 32
Average 9
Poor 1
Terrible 0
Reviews Submitted: 335
Reviews Accepted: 335
Reviews Rejected: 0
335 reviews
Sort by:
Ffestiniog Travel by Two happy Australians, 1 Dec 2022
Holiday Rating:

Relaxed and reliable

Five weeks getting (mostly) trains around Ireland. All our train tickets and accommodation was pre arranged and worked perfectly.

Five weeks getting (mostly) trains around Ireland. All our train tickets and accommodation was pre arranged and worked perfectly.

Rating for tour operator:

Ffestiniog Travel. My wife and I were satisfied with the whole experience with Ffestiniog Travel. Everything worked like clockwork with no stress or mixups. Our organiser, Awel Muscroft was wonderful to deal with - prompt, reliable, friendly and flexible. What more could we ask for!

Ffestiniog Travel by SunnyDays, 26 Nov 2022
Holiday Rating:

Untested Trip

We felt that this holiday trip had not been tried and tested before and we were pioneering. The tour guide was also on his first visit and experience of the tour and we felt sorry for him and his situation. Some of the hotels weren’t appropriate for the age group and the locations of them also had issues. The local guided trips were badly defined and the local guides were not sympathetic to the needs of the customers Some time was wasted ...

We felt that this holiday trip had not been tried and tested before and we were pioneering. The tour guide was also on his first visit and experience of the tour and we felt sorry for him and his situation. Some of the hotels weren’t appropriate for the age group and the locations of them also had issues. The local guided trips were badly defined and the local guides were not sympathetic to the needs of the customers Some time was wasted due to unplanned changes in the itinerary

Rating for tour operator:

Because it was the first trip to this destination (we believe?) we felt we were used as test customers who experienced several issues that could have been addressed given prior shake down. We question if the hotels had been tried and the tours tested in advance??? If not why not and if they had the hadn’t learned any lessons.

Ffestiniog Travel responded to this review on 01 Dec 2022:

Many thanks for your additional feedback for the tour that I received today. As mentioned in my response to you, I can confirm that the trip was tried and tested by our ground handler who was fully aware of the group's demographic. The Ffestiniog Travel (FT) tour leader is an experienced leader who worked in conjunction with the local guides provided who delivered the expertise on the ground. The FT leader has not reported any issues following his return.
I understand the difficulties experienced with the location of the traditional Riad however, the majority of Riads are found in the centre of Medinas and do offer staff to escort guests when necessary. The lack of a lift at the Riad also proved problematic for some customers and I am sorry for this. It is extremely rare to find a traditional Riad with a lift and we do stress the need to confirm any mobility issues at the time of booking. Please be assured that we will ensure future groups have this highlighted to them.

Ffestiniog Travel responded to this review on 01 Dec 2022:

Please be assured that we would never expose our customers to tours that are not tested. The additional feedback that you kindly submitted direct to Ffestiniog Travel indicates the main issue with the hotels was the poor level of service received. Sadly, this does seem to be a global issue with the hospitality industry that have experienced difficulties returning to pre pandemic resource levels. We are hopeful that this will be vastly improved in 2023.
Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback, it is greatly appreciated.
With kind regards,
Maria Cook, General Manager

Ffestiniog Travel by Elephant, 23 Nov 2022
Holiday Rating:

Very disappointing

Magical morocco

Magical morocco

Rating for tour operator:

Rail holidays of the world

Ffestiniog Travel responded to this review on 24 Nov 2022:

Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback for your recent holiday, it is greatly appreciated. I was saddened to hear of your disappointment with your holiday and do take your comments very seriously. I can confirm that the feedback received so far for this tour has been varied, ranging from Excellent to Average. I will investigate the points raised in your additional feedback form received today and will ensure that improvements are made for future tours. Maria Cook, General Manager

Jordan: Steam, Petra, Dead Sea by Richard, 20 Nov 2022
Holiday Rating:

Everything I expected, and more.

Fast moving touring holiday packing in plenty but not too much

Fast moving touring holiday packing in plenty but not too much

Rating for tour operator:

Professional

Magical Morocco by Alank, 20 Nov 2022
Holiday Rating:

Morocco

Tour of Morocco staying for several days at Marakesh, Fez, Rabat and Tangiers. Extensive train travel which was excellent

Tour of Morocco staying for several days at Marakesh, Fez, Rabat and Tangiers. Extensive train travel which was excellent

Rating for tour operator:

We have used FFestiniog many times in the past. They are thorough and have interesting tours

Ffestiniog Travel by Pixie, 20 Nov 2022
Holiday Rating:

Very disappointing

No comment admin good, three hotels good one poor. Leader ineffectual.

No comment admin good, three hotels good one poor. Leader ineffectual.

Rating for tour operator:

As above

Ffestiniog Travel responded to this review on 21 Nov 2022:

Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback, it is very much appreciated. We were saddened to hear of your disappointment with your holiday and do take your comments very seriously. The feedback has been varied between Excellent to Average. Please be assured that I will investigate the points raised and ensure that improvements are made for future tours. Maria Cook, General Manager

Ffestiniog Travel by brock209, 19 Nov 2022
Holiday Rating:

Varied , lots of new sights and experiences

A trip to Morocco - guided by an expert , some train rides , some walking tours. Good hotels , all together well organised

A trip to Morocco - guided by an expert , some train rides , some walking tours. Good hotels , all together well organised

Rating for tour operator:

We have used them before - they do not disappoint !

Ffestiniog Travel by Rob Ellwood, 19 Nov 2022
Holiday Rating:

Travelling Morocco by train

A variety of hotels in major cities of Morocco with varying standards of facilities and service. Excellent train travel across the country. Particularly enjoyable visit to TGV depot in Tangier, where we were made very welcome. An interesting insight into the country.

A variety of hotels in major cities of Morocco with varying standards of facilities and service. Excellent train travel across the country. Particularly enjoyable visit to TGV depot in Tangier, where we were made very welcome. An interesting insight into the country.

Rating for tour operator:

Would have appreciated more information before the trip and better organisation on the ground.

Ffestiniog Travel responded to this review on 21 Nov 2022:

Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback, it is very much appreciated. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed the train travel and felt that you were given an interesting insight into the country. The feedback has been varied between Excellent to Average for this holiday. Please be assured that I will investigate the points raised and ensure that improvements are made for the future. Maria Cook, General Manager

Ffestiniog Travel by Violinings, 14 Nov 2022
Holiday Rating:

Stunning Switzerland by Rail

Ffestiniog Travl organised our honeymoon to Switzerland. It included travelling to different areas of the country including Chur, Luzerne and Meiringen. We were able to specify to have a few days in a few towns so that we could explore by ourselves the local area, as well as undertaking some pre-planned day trips too. All travel was via rail which meant we could enjoy the countryside and scenery. It takes much longer than flying to reach Switzerland ...

Ffestiniog Travl organised our honeymoon to Switzerland. It included travelling to different areas of the country including Chur, Luzerne and Meiringen. We were able to specify to have a few days in a few towns so that we could explore by ourselves the local area, as well as undertaking some pre-planned day trips too. All travel was via rail which meant we could enjoy the countryside and scenery. It takes much longer than flying to reach Switzerland from the UK, but well worth it.

Rating for tour operator:

Ffestiniog Travel were absolutely first class. They were able to tailor the trip to our needs and preferences, make alterations where needed and were extremely knowledgeable about international travel. The service provided by their team exceed all expectations and we will now consult with them on all future international rail holidays that we decide to take in the future.

Jordan: Steam, Petra, Dead Sea by ExKOC, 11 Nov 2022
Holiday Rating:

Jordan, Steam Petra and the Dead Sea

Tour of the major sites in Jordan, culminating with Petra. Superb.

Tour of the major sites in Jordan, culminating with Petra. Superb.

Rating for tour operator:

Good communication before and during the trip. Coped well with the unique challenges which can arise in the Middle East.