AITO: The Association of Independent Tour Operators
Ffestiniog Travel

Ffestiniog Travel Traveller Reviews

Reviews of Ffestiniog Travel

Overall Company Rating
97%
Excellent 184
Good 21
Average 2
Poor 1
Terrible 0
Reviews Submitted: 208
Reviews Accepted: 208
Reviews Rejected: 0
208 reviews
Sort by:
Ffestiniog Travel by Peter, 18 Jul 2018
Holiday Rating:

Tailor made holiday in Lucerne

travelling around the Lucerne area of Switzerland, All arrangements made by Ffestiniog Travel

travelling around the Lucerne area of Switzerland, All arrangements made by Ffestiniog Travel

Rating for tour operator:

Nothing is too much trouble for them until customer is completely satisfied

Ffestiniog Travel by oneowl, 13 Jul 2018
Holiday Rating:

Having travelled the world previously jusing some of the best names in Travel Agenecies and operators, I have never ever had such detailed and excellent arrangements made as on this tour as arranged by Ffestiniog Travel

My wife and i were travelling by Rail from Derby to Prague and then Warsaw to go to the Rolling Stones No Filter Tour Concerts in those cities. We asked Ffestiniog Travel to arrange all the hotels, trains etc and also to include some city travel and dinner on the River in Prague fro us. Also we had a full day's tour at Auschwitz. Ffestiniog Travel gave us a full itinerary with full details of trains, seat nos etc for the whole 10 days. Hotels ...

My wife and i were travelling by Rail from Derby to Prague and then Warsaw to go to the Rolling Stones No Filter Tour Concerts in those cities. We asked Ffestiniog Travel to arrange all the hotels, trains etc and also to include some city travel and dinner on the River in Prague fro us. Also we had a full day's tour at Auschwitz. Ffestiniog Travel gave us a full itinerary with full details of trains, seat nos etc for the whole 10 days. Hotels were of the highest quality and so this was pone of the best ever private holidays we have ever had.

Rating for tour operator:

ffestiniog travel were given dates for which we had to be in Prague and Warsaw. They did all the rest of the arranging with hotels, sleeper trains and train connections. They also suggested we had various add ons such as dinner on the river in Prague, two days travel in Prague on the public transport, hop on hop off bus tours in each city. Every minute bit of detail was pre arranged to perfection. Simply amazing.

Les Petit Trains de France by Mick, 10 Jul 2018
Holiday Rating:

Les Petit Trains de France

This was a rail based holiday for those with any interest in rail travel or railways in general.

This was a rail based holiday for those with any interest in rail travel or railways in general.

Rating for tour operator:

Ffestiniog Travel are a reputable tour company with much experience who offer a varied range of escorted and unescorted holidays at a reasonable price. Their tour leaders are experienced travelers with good knowledge of their chosen trips. Hotels are all of good quality and are usually centrally located.

Romania – A Living Heritage by Hillbods, 9 Jul 2018
Holiday Rating:

Experiencing rural Romania

A great holiday with a small group visiting some fascinating off the beaten track places in North East Romania

A great holiday with a small group visiting some fascinating off the beaten track places in North East Romania

Rating for tour operator:

Well organised and flexible to change itinerary when appropriate

Ffestiniog Travel by Powys Jack, 29 Jun 2018
Holiday Rating:

Very well organised rail trip to Europe

Tailor made trip London to Amsterdam - Berlin - Stralsund

Tailor made trip London to Amsterdam - Berlin - Stralsund

Rating for tour operator:

Coped very well with my having given them short notice of my holiday plans! All arrangements made by Ffestiniog Travel worked perfectly Friendly service

Ffestiniog Travel by Chauffeurman, 24 Jun 2018
Holiday Rating:

European Railway Adventure

Having googled "The Man in Seat 61", we decided to follow one of his suggested itineraries from London to Tallinn by train. We travelled from St. Pancras via Eurostar (Standard Premium) to Brussels, then a train to Essen. Another train onward to Hamburg where we stayed overnight. Following morning we travelled on to Copenhagen where we stayed another night. Another train took us onward to Stockholm where the last section of the journey entailed ...

Having googled "The Man in Seat 61", we decided to follow one of his suggested itineraries from London to Tallinn by train. We travelled from St. Pancras via Eurostar (Standard Premium) to Brussels, then a train to Essen. Another train onward to Hamburg where we stayed overnight. Following morning we travelled on to Copenhagen where we stayed another night. Another train took us onward to Stockholm where the last section of the journey entailed the whole train being loaded on to a ferry to complete the last 45 minutes! We stayed another night in Stockholm and had most of the next day to explore Stockholm. We then joined the Tallinnk ferry for an overnight trip across the Baltic Sea before arriving in Tallinn at 10 am the next morning. We had booked our 5 nights accommodation ourselves in Tallinn and thoroughly recommend Hotel Palace, which is centrally placed and on the fringe of the Old Town. We then returned to London courtesy of British Airways and decided to opt for Business Class which was well worth paying a little extra.

Rating for tour operator:

Everything that Kate Berry did for us was executed efficiently so that we did not have to worry about anything. All our rail tickets had been obtained in advance and also our flight ticket home. The hotels we stayed in en route to Tallinn were ideally placed near to the railway stations.

Ffestiniog Travel by Mrs Chippy, 24 Jun 2018
Holiday Rating:

One of the best holidays ever!

We wanted to go to Tallinn without flying. We wanted to take trains to Brussels, Essen, Hamburg, Copenhagen and Stockholm, then overnight ferry to Tallinn. We then wanted 5 nights in Tallinn, and then fly back to London, so the journey there was an essential part of the holiday experience.

We wanted to go to Tallinn without flying. We wanted to take trains to Brussels, Essen, Hamburg, Copenhagen and Stockholm, then overnight ferry to Tallinn. We then wanted 5 nights in Tallinn, and then fly back to London, so the journey there was an essential part of the holiday experience.

Rating for tour operator:

They couldn't have been more helpful. Nothing was too much trouble and they kept us informed throughout the booking procedure. They really listened to what we wanted to do, which bits we were happy to book ourselves, and which bits we needed them to book for us. The travel documents and information were well organised, and made our itinerary simple to follow. Superb service!!

Behind the Scenes in North Wales by Tunnel Vision, 21 Jun 2018
Holiday Rating:

Enjoyable and informative trip behind the scenes of 2 of the best, if not the best, narrow guage railways in Wales.

Based in Porthmadog, we spent 3 days travelling on and touring the workshops & yards of the Ffestiniog and Welsh Highland Railways. This was enjoyable and informative for both the casual train fan and the real enthusiast.

Based in Porthmadog, we spent 3 days travelling on and touring the workshops & yards of the Ffestiniog and Welsh Highland Railways. This was enjoyable and informative for both the casual train fan and the real enthusiast.

Rating for tour operator:

We were well looked after by the tour operator at all stages. Most impressive was how everyone clicked into gear when our engine was immobilised during a specially chartered trip. Alternative travel was quickly arranged to deliver us to our cream tea further down the line while a diesel loco was sent out to collect the stricken train for the last stage of our trip. Great team work by all concerned.

Ffestiniog Travel by Alastair, 21 Jun 2018
Holiday Rating:

Three Days of Summer Sunshine in Snowdonia

The aim was to ride on the Ffestiniog and Welsh Highland Railway's 'SNOWDONIAN, an end to end trip on the railway from Caernarfon to Blaenau Ffestiniog and back, staying at a highly-rated hotel. The whole holiday worked like a dream - they even managed to fix the weather (not easily done in North Wales!!)

The aim was to ride on the Ffestiniog and Welsh Highland Railway's 'SNOWDONIAN, an end to end trip on the railway from Caernarfon to Blaenau Ffestiniog and back, staying at a highly-rated hotel. The whole holiday worked like a dream - they even managed to fix the weather (not easily done in North Wales!!)

Rating for tour operator:

Ffestinog Travel. I've used them more than once before, and always found them excellent - helpful and friendly, ready with (good) advice, not just box-ticking: AND they know their stuff.

Behind the Scenes in North Wales by blackthorne57, 20 Jun 2018
Holiday Rating:

Everything promised was provided

Well organised but no excessive "hand holding"

Well organised but no excessive "hand holding"

Rating for tour operator:

Very professional.