AITO: The Association of Independent Tour Operators
Ffestiniog Travel

Ffestiniog Travel Traveller Reviews

Reviews of Ffestiniog Travel

Overall Company Rating
97%
Excellent 244
Good 28
Average 3
Poor 1
Terrible 0
Reviews Submitted: 276
Reviews Accepted: 276
Reviews Rejected: 0
276 reviews
Sort by:
Ffestiniog Travel by WOMBAT, 27 Oct 2019
Holiday Rating:

An Enthralling Week!

We spent a week in Amsterdam at the luxurious Park Centraal Hotel, situated in the Museum quarter area of the city; which meant we were very near the most important art galleries including the Rijksmuseum, the Van Gogh and Stedelijk Museums and the world famous concert hall, the Concertgebouw, where we attended a free lunchtime orchestral concert. On the Sunday afternoon we watched the National Ballet Company perform "Romeo and Juliet" to great ...

We spent a week in Amsterdam at the luxurious Park Centraal Hotel, situated in the Museum quarter area of the city; which meant we were very near the most important art galleries including the Rijksmuseum, the Van Gogh and Stedelijk Museums and the world famous concert hall, the Concertgebouw, where we attended a free lunchtime orchestral concert. On the Sunday afternoon we watched the National Ballet Company perform "Romeo and Juliet" to great acclaim in the impressively attractive Opera House. We walked a lot, and also made use of the Hop On - Hop Off boats on several occasions: a tranquil and relaxing way of seeing more of this very beautiful city.

Rating for tour operator:

This was a late booking for us: we hadn't given the Ffestiniog folk much time to sort things out. We knew that it was a bit challenging for them and we did apologise. But they managed perfectly and we received our documents in good time, thanks to their professionalism. Again, a big thank-you to Cathy and your colleagues!

Ffestiniog Travel by Prof, 18 Oct 2019
Holiday Rating:

Kuala Lumpur to Bangkok

Plane .train trip in South-East Asia

Plane .train trip in South-East Asia

Rating for tour operator:

Ffestiniog

Ffestiniog Travel by Ms l m 19, 6 Oct 2019
Holiday Rating:

Fantastic Scottish Island Holiday

Travelled from Glasgow to Scottish Islands and returned to Edinburgh. Journeyed on trains, boats and coach. Stayed at excellent hotels and food was usually excellent

Travelled from Glasgow to Scottish Islands and returned to Edinburgh. Journeyed on trains, boats and coach. Stayed at excellent hotels and food was usually excellent

Rating for tour operator:

He was very knowledgeable and gave lots of local information

Moldova and Eastern Romania by crochet lady, 5 Oct 2019
Holiday Rating:

Interesting mix of good and not so good

Accommodation varied between excellent, good and awful. Interesting itinerary with very good local guides.

Accommodation varied between excellent, good and awful. Interesting itinerary with very good local guides.

Rating for tour operator:

Did what was promised, but tour manager did not go the extra mile.

Ffestiniog Travel by Elizabeth, 29 Sep 2019
Holiday Rating:

Visiting the Baltic - a four centre holiday

We flew from Birmingham to Helsinki for 2 nights then ferry to Tallinn for 2 nights, train to Tartu for 1 night and train to Riga for 2 nights flying back to Birmingham

We flew from Birmingham to Helsinki for 2 nights then ferry to Tallinn for 2 nights, train to Tartu for 1 night and train to Riga for 2 nights flying back to Birmingham

Rating for tour operator:

Ffestiniog Travel book all flights hotels and travel having been given the places we would like to visit. They produce a clear itinerary as we are unescorted which is straightforward and simple to follow.

Journées du Patrimoine by Del boy, 26 Sep 2019
Holiday Rating:

An excellent holiday with good leadership and good travelling companions

This holiday met all my expectations

This holiday met all my expectations

Rating for tour operator:

I have travelled with Ffestiniog Travel on a number of occasions and have never been disappointed with the arrangements made both before the Holiday and during the Holiday.

Ffestiniog Travel by Hilhap, 19 Sep 2019
Holiday Rating:

Perfect Train Travel

This is the first time we have used Ffestiniog Trave, theyl arranged our train travel to visit friends in Leipzig, Germany. Everything was excellent, the hotels were close to each station, the train times were as we requested, a completely trouble free experience, highly recommended.

This is the first time we have used Ffestiniog Trave, theyl arranged our train travel to visit friends in Leipzig, Germany. Everything was excellent, the hotels were close to each station, the train times were as we requested, a completely trouble free experience, highly recommended.

Rating for tour operator:

Ffestiniog Travel is a small company specialising in holidays including rail travel, it is run by people who really care about your holiday & ensure you have a trouble free time.

Ffestiniog Travel by LNWR109, 19 Sep 2019
Holiday Rating:

A well-organised and enjoyable fortnight in Switzerland

We have used Ffestiniog Travel for many years, so they were an obvious choice for arranging this holiday. As previously, we have specified when we wish to travel and where we would like to stay, and this has been arranged for us along with all the necessary travel tickets. The two hotels in Switzerland were both excellent, although the Le Grand Hotel in Strasbourg where we stayed for one night on the way out and back, was as usual variable...

We have used Ffestiniog Travel for many years, so they were an obvious choice for arranging this holiday. As previously, we have specified when we wish to travel and where we would like to stay, and this has been arranged for us along with all the necessary travel tickets. The two hotels in Switzerland were both excellent, although the Le Grand Hotel in Strasbourg where we stayed for one night on the way out and back, was as usual variable. We also used a baggage courier which was the first time Ffestiniog Travel had done this, which worked well and we would recommend it.

Rating for tour operator:

Ffesiniog Travel was formed in the 1960s to provide holidays by rail and also become what was then an accredited British Rail ticket agency. In the early days the tours appealed mainly to railway enthusiasts, but their current programme has a much wider appeal. Most of the holidays we have booked with them have been tailor-made to our specifications, and this has always worked very well. We did go on an escorted tour with them to the Harz mountains earlier this year where we were well looked after.

Ffestiniog Travel by Russian railways fan, 14 Sep 2019
Holiday Rating:

Moscow and St. Petersburg sighsteeing and railway museums.

Unescorted holiday, assisted by local Russian colleagues who acted as guides. I speak a little Russian, which helped when asking for directions et al. Travel in the cities by metro, which was safe and efficient. Sapsan train from Moscow to St. Petersburg. The holiday exceeded my expectations.

Unescorted holiday, assisted by local Russian colleagues who acted as guides. I speak a little Russian, which helped when asking for directions et al. Travel in the cities by metro, which was safe and efficient. Sapsan train from Moscow to St. Petersburg. The holiday exceeded my expectations.

Rating for tour operator:

Very professional and showed considerable support, patience and forbearance. Contact maintained through the holiday via email.

Ffestiniog Travel by QUIZMASTER, 21 Aug 2019
Holiday Rating:

FANTASTIC FRENCH HOLIDAY BY TRAIN

Travelled from Manchester to London . 2 nights in London. Eurostar down to Avignon 4 nights stay there. Good base for Nimes, Arles and Orange sightseeing. 5 nights in Nice and then 3 nights in Paris and then back home. It was a family holiday 4 adults and 2 children. everything arranged by Ffestiniog Travel [hotels and train tickets] never a hitch

Travelled from Manchester to London . 2 nights in London. Eurostar down to Avignon 4 nights stay there. Good base for Nimes, Arles and Orange sightseeing. 5 nights in Nice and then 3 nights in Paris and then back home. It was a family holiday 4 adults and 2 children. everything arranged by Ffestiniog Travel [hotels and train tickets] never a hitch

Rating for tour operator:

Brilliant organising skills. very friendly