Ffestiniog Travel

Reviews of Ffestiniog Travel

Overall company rating
4 97%
Reviews submitted: 140
Reviews accepted: 140
Reviews rejected: 0
Excellent
121
Good
16
Average
2
Poor
1
Terrible
0

Custom tour of Germany, Switzerland and Italy

By Jules FH on 7 Aug 2017

Rating for this holiday Excellent

Absolutely superb. Arrangements were faultless- accommodation was great and easy to locate. All train journeys were prebooked and ran like clockwork. This is the second time we've used Ffestiniog Travel to arrange a customised tour for our family and just like last year's it was excellent. We had an amazing holiday that all members of our family loved.

Rating for tour operator Excellent

Ffestiniog travel are friendly and efficient. We have used them for the previous 2 years to arrange customised tours for our family . These holidays have been the best we've ever had.
I wouldn't hesitate to recommend them to anyone.

Well thought out and organised programme.

By Ringer on 27 Jul 2017

Rating for this holiday Good
Find more about Southern Sweden >

Not much to add. It was very enjoyable.

Rating for tour operator Excellent

Very helpful and easy to communicate with.

A grand trek following the Danube across Europe

By Dafydd on 20 Jul 2017

Rating for this holiday Excellent
Find more about The Danube from Sea to Source >

This was an excellent tour, imaginatively planned to make best use of water transport along the scenic parts of the river and rail journeys to link up the major cities. It covered a lot of ground in two weeks starting with the wetland wildlife of the Danube delta in Romania, visitng numerous countries and cities along the river and finishing at the Danube source in Germany.

Rating for tour operator Excellent

Ffestiniog travel is a small operator with an emphaisis on rail travel. They give afriendly personal service, and were quite happy to tailor the end of the tour to meet our request for an extension.

A trip along the valley of the Danube by train.

By Peter on 19 Jul 2017

Rating for this holiday Excellent
Find more about The Danube from Sea to Source >

I have received many brochures through the post about cruises on the Danube, but thought they might be too boring. This trip satisfied the need. We followed the Danube by train from mouth to source, and had trips on the river in the interesting gorges and the mouth. This included one trip on the river in the upper reaches where the cruise boats do not go. Sometimes we only had an hour for a connection, but we made numerous train and boat connections and all went smoothly. I visited several capitals for the first time, which has wetted my appetite for other visits.

Rating for tour operator Excellent

I have been on several trips with Ffestiniog, and never has there been more than 18 people on the trip. This makes it easier to get to know people and makes organising the group easier. Most people have a common interest in railways, but not obsessively so like bird watchers. This provides a more harmonious mix of people. I have never booked on a trip which has been cancelled.

Excellent short break holiday

By Bob on 6 Jul 2017

Rating for this holiday Excellent
Find more about Harz Explorer >

An excellent holiday which we thoroughly enjoyed. We look forward to travelling with this company again.

Rating for tour operator Excellent

A tour operator that prides itself in providing excellent and well-reserached ho;idays

Steam in the Mountains

By Mr R S 17 on 3 Jul 2017

Rating for this holiday Excellent
Find more about Harz Explorer >

A really interesting short trip to visit the beautiful Harz mountains of Germany and its working steam railways.

The hotels were of a good standard and, certainly in Weringerode, located centrally for the town.

Travel, all by train, was relatively straightforward and comfortable.

Rating for tour operator Excellent

Ffestiniog Travel were a pleasure to deal with. They made every stage of booking etc easy and painless. The information provided was accurate and comprehensive. I will certainly be looking at their brochure with interest in future.

Average

By Moo on 1 Jul 2017

Rating for this holiday Average
Find more about Trams of Central Europe >

Some good, some not so good some poor organisation

Rating for tour operator Average

Rep could have better knowledge of local area

Well planned European tour.

By Steggs on 30 Jun 2017

Rating for this holiday Good
Find more about Trams of Central Europe >

Group European tour based around European trams. Well planned itinerary and thought out programme. Sufficient free time for sightseeing and doing own thing. Excellent, experienced tour leader provided throughout. Only down side was a couple of the hotels we stayed in.

Rating for tour operator Good

Professionals at special interest holidays. Experienced and knowledgeable tour leaders provided which take a lot of the hard work out of these type of holidays.
Would recommend to others seeking this type of holiday.

Harz Explorer

By Leicester travellers on 29 Jun 2017

Rating for this holiday Good
Find more about Harz Explorer >

An enjoyable visit to the beautiful town of Wernigerode in the Hatz mountains with opportunities to travel on steam trains and see mountain and forest scenery and villages with ancient timber framed buildings.

Rating for tour operator Excellent

Ffestiniog Travel organised everything efficiently and details provided were clear and detailed. The tour leader Stephen Painter was particularly good in making sure we had a good holiday and arranging excursions to take advantage of what the locality had to offer.

Train journey from wilmslow to Paris for overnight stay then train to Italy for17 nights and then similar return journey

By Italian explorer on 27 Jun 2017

Rating for this holiday Excellent

All trains on time and we were free on our stay to enjoy the lake in northern Italy

Rating for tour operator Excellent

Allways available to help as we have used their service for over ten years