Ffestiniog Travel

Reviews of Ffestiniog Travel

Overall company rating
4 97%
Reviews submitted: 159
Reviews accepted: 159
Reviews rejected: 0
Excellent
139
Good
17
Average
2
Poor
1
Terrible
0

All the arrangements made by Ffestiniog worked like clockwork

By John and Sarah on 15 Oct 2017

Rating for this holiday Excellent

Ffestiniog Travel arranged a tailor made unescorted holiday for us to the USA and Canada. They booked all flights, hotels and train travel for us and everything worked like clockwork. Five nights in New York was followed by a train journey up the beautiful Hudson River valley for a one night stopover in Niagara to see the falls before continuing on to Toronto for two nights. From there we boarded "The Canadian" for the four night and three day trip across Canada by train to Vancouver. This was the highlight of our trip, sitting back and enjoying the wonderful scenery, eating fantastic food, and meeting fellow travellers from all over the world. Three nights in Vancouver was perfect for exploring the amazing city before heading home again.

Rating for tour operator Excellent

Ffestiniog Travel lives up to its reputation as a specialist railway tour operator. Everything they arranged worked perfectly. They are accessible and approachable, and dealt with all our queries promptly. They also had very thorough and detailed plans in place for contacting them and getting assistance should anything go wrong whilst we were away. We would definitely recommend them to others, and have indeed already done so.

Lovely Lake Lucerne

By Ricardo's Reply. on 14 Oct 2017

Rating for this holiday Excellent
Find more about Switzerland’s Lake Lucerne >

Spent six days exploring Switerland's Lake Lucerne, the lake, mountains, railway and cable car systems. The weather was on our side as well as it was fine and sunny most days. We'd not been to Switerland before and am sure we will be back again!

Rating for tour operator Excellent

Festiniog Travel organised the holiday and they were excellent in their administration,itinerary and clarifying queries about the holiday before travelling. Staff and tour manager were helpful, friendly & knowledgeable. .

Excellent holiday in Lake Lucerne including rail and lake steamer travel

By timthom on 30 Sep 2017

Rating for this holiday Excellent
Find more about Switzerland’s Lake Lucerne >

A very good 6 days based in Lake Lucerne with great options included.

Rating for tour operator Excellent

FFestiniog Travel always comes up with holidays that do what they say in the brochure.

Whistle stop Switzerland

By DaveB on 26 Sep 2017

Rating for this holiday Excellent

This was a great first introduction to many of Switzerland' s best sights. The first class rail pass gave tour flexibility in a relaxed style and includes entrance to many museums and some of the cable cars and lake paddle steamers

Rating for tour operator Excellent

Well organised booking with prompt response, tour leader Dave had a relaxed style with good communication and catered for the many varied interests of the group

Fabulous

By Paul on 26 Sep 2017

Rating for this holiday Excellent

We did the Rocky Mountaineer; the whole experience exceeded our expectations which were high; all brilliant. On board staff were excellent, all arrangements were faultless - just fabulous!!

Rating for tour operator Excellent

Ffestiniog Travel brilliant. I will certainly use them again.

Well organised, interesting destination and activities and fully up to expectations with this specialist rail travel agency

By Cherubino on 25 Sep 2017

Rating for this holiday Excellent

A small group of fellow travelers sharing common interests who bonded immediately.
The tour leader was a mine of information about the heritage railways which were visited and a good shepherd - our ages ranging from 42 t0 85. No one was left behind or left out.
Ffestiniog Travel, because of its affiliation with the distinguished Welsh heritage line, always seems to have extra clout for getting one behind the scenes.
Hotel, linking coach travel and catering arrangements were all good.
The "Jounees du Patrimonie on the Vivarais" was well worth travelling from Canada to paticipate.

Rating for tour operator Excellent

See above

Train journey to Lisbon

By pad332 on 25 Sep 2017

Rating for this holiday Excellent

We had a vey efficiently organised journey to Lisbon with stops in Paris, Irun, Bilbao, Santiago de Compestala, Vigo, Porto and Coimbra. Some of these stops were two or three nights enabling us to visit various sites of interest and enjoy the local cuisine.

Rating for tour operator Excellent

We had a very speedy and efficient response to our initial enquiry and all the follow up arrangements worked very smoothly with the detailed itinerary being arranged to suit our requirements.

Narrow Gauge Steam in Eastern Germany

By MIP on 24 Sep 2017

Rating for this holiday Excellent

Visits to a number of narrow-gauge steam railways in Eastern Germany and a trip on a paddle boat on the River Rhine using bases at Dresden, Stralsund, Wernigerode and Koblenz.

A very enjoyable experience thanks to a tour leader with a dry sense of humour and a really good group of fellow passengers.

We appreciated the inclusion of some free time and the flexibility of being able to choose between joining the group activities and doing our own thing (usually at no additional cost).

Rating for tour operator Excellent

Prior to the tour we received a package containing the various tickets together with information about seat reservations, hotels, the places to be visited etc. It was very useful to have all of the information in advance and, apart from a couple of minor problems, one of which was outside the control of Ffestiniog Travel, everything went according to plan with the seat reservations.

On the days when we travelled from one place to another, the combination of supplied travel information and the low-key, good-humoured help from the tour guide meant that we were able to do all of the right things at the right times without the need for frequent head counts etc.







Exploring Vivarais Railway in Ardeche, France

By rabinnie on 22 Sep 2017

Rating for this holiday Good

Helpful guide. Good coach link to venues. Hotels good. Vélorail car ride experience was memorable as was the visit to model railway garden.
Steam train rideas exciting as expected.
Good overall experience.

Rating for tour operator Excellent

Full information given prior to holiday. Good e mail and phone communication.

Terrific

By Mrs J C 17 on 21 Sep 2017

Rating for this holiday Excellent

The holiday included air, rail and a week in Cadiz. All went very well indeed.

Rating for tour operator Excellent

Efficient and helpful