AITO: The Association of Independent Tour Operators
Ffestiniog Travel

Ffestiniog Travel Traveller Reviews

Reviews of Ffestiniog Travel

Overall Company Rating
97%
Excellent 255
Good 28
Average 3
Poor 1
Terrible 0
Reviews Submitted: 287
Reviews Accepted: 287
Reviews Rejected: 0
287 reviews
Sort by:
Ffestiniog Travel by Tigarbear, 11 Apr 2020
Holiday Rating:

Fascinating and informative holiday

The trip was to Vietnam & Cambodia. Two countries which I thought I knew something about but I now know how little in fact I did know about them. I discovered so much on this trip about the people and their histories. Time to read up some more about them.

The trip was to Vietnam & Cambodia. Two countries which I thought I knew something about but I now know how little in fact I did know about them. I discovered so much on this trip about the people and their histories. Time to read up some more about them.

Rating for tour operator:

Ffestiniog Travel are a very well organised company with excellent and friendly staff. They managed without (it seemed to us stuck in an airport due to Conv19) to much fuss and with very good information during this time to find alternative flights back to the UK.

Ffestiniog Travel by Mark, 7 Apr 2020
Holiday Rating:

Two go wild in Vietnam & Cambodia

We went on an escorted trip to Vietnam and travelled by train from Hanoi to Saigon and them onto Cambodia and Angkor Wat. What a great time we had dispirit the Covid situation towards the end of the holiday.

We went on an escorted trip to Vietnam and travelled by train from Hanoi to Saigon and them onto Cambodia and Angkor Wat. What a great time we had dispirit the Covid situation towards the end of the holiday.

Rating for tour operator:

Ffestiniog Travel, provided an excellent service pre tour and the escort was superb.

Ffestiniog Travel by Rudy, 25 Mar 2020
Holiday Rating:

Vietnam & Cambodia rail experience

Travel around Vietnam & Cambodia by rail where possible. Highlights included: Ha Long bay cruise; Hoi An lantern festival; Mekong delta; and Angkor Wat

Travel around Vietnam & Cambodia by rail where possible. Highlights included: Ha Long bay cruise; Hoi An lantern festival; Mekong delta; and Angkor Wat

Rating for tour operator:

Excellent information throughout the tour. Able to return party to UK despite challenging return situation. Brilliant service.

Ffestiniog Travel by denzilg, 4 Mar 2020
Holiday Rating:

Fantastic Ffestiniog Travel trip around Taiwan

14 days rail and coach tour around the island of Taiwan seeing all the main sites and some fascinating old trains.

14 days rail and coach tour around the island of Taiwan seeing all the main sites and some fascinating old trains.

Rating for tour operator:

Ffestiniog Travel - well organised and executed. Very helpful UK tour escort and local driver and guide. See part of the tour to Alishan Forest here - https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=oRl6MLE4Wtw&feature=youtu.be&fbclid=IwAR0QvlBYXUrIRf4iWCDB3e_HLNTHmnZB-8M_UqsnsYi2pJX3CQmAlVsk6Bg

Ffestiniog Travel by Tonytrain, 4 Mar 2020
Holiday Rating:

TAIWAN RAILWAY ADVENTURE

Fair degree of travel by train with coach for transfers and local trips. We circled the island using and excellent choice of very well appointed hotels. We had a Tour Manager, and a fine local guide. There was a good mix of general sightseeing and specialist railway visits.

Fair degree of travel by train with coach for transfers and local trips. We circled the island using and excellent choice of very well appointed hotels. We had a Tour Manager, and a fine local guide. There was a good mix of general sightseeing and specialist railway visits.

Rating for tour operator:

Plenty of detail in the brochure; final details supplied clearly and at the right time

Ffestiniog Travel by GregM, 3 Mar 2020
Holiday Rating:

A great experience for my first visit to a country

A combination of rail and coach travel covering a range of experiences around the country. Hotels were of a very high standard.

A combination of rail and coach travel covering a range of experiences around the country. Hotels were of a very high standard.

Rating for tour operator:

Ffestiniog Travel specialise in rail-based tours

Ffestiniog Travel by Jeff, 3 Mar 2020
Holiday Rating:

Taiwan Rail Adventure

Two weeks exploring not only Taiwans Railways, but visiting Temples, museums, palaces, mountains and Gorges which gave me a very enjoyable holiday.

Two weeks exploring not only Taiwans Railways, but visiting Temples, museums, palaces, mountains and Gorges which gave me a very enjoyable holiday.

Rating for tour operator:

Ffestiniog Travel run tours for rail enthusiasts who also want to see the countryside and experience the culture of the countries they visit. Having used them to book tours with my family, this is the first time I have done one of their group tours. Many of the fellow travellers were returning Ffestiniog group travellers Ultimately the profits they make from booking with them go towards running the Ffestiniog Railway in north Wales.

Ffestiniog Travel by Woodberry, 20 Feb 2020
Holiday Rating:

Well-planned and well-led

My second time on this holiday. As in February 2019, the tour was well-designed to give tour members flexibility to choose their own day trips or to go with the tour leader. One of the locations was diferent (Luzern instread of Interlaken) which gave different opportunites on the 'free' days. An interesting group of people to travel with and an effective tour leader who gave just as much leadership as was necessary.

My second time on this holiday. As in February 2019, the tour was well-designed to give tour members flexibility to choose their own day trips or to go with the tour leader. One of the locations was diferent (Luzern instread of Interlaken) which gave different opportunites on the 'free' days. An interesting group of people to travel with and an effective tour leader who gave just as much leadership as was necessary.

Rating for tour operator:

Good administration and good supporting information supplied with the tour details. Everything worked well.

Ffestiniog Travel by trainmanpeter, 17 Feb 2020
Holiday Rating:

Northern Lights by Train and Ship

The rail services in Norway proved reliable and in Komfort class very comfortable even on the longer stretches. The ship MS Nordlys part of the Hurtigruten fleet was good, staff excellent, food beyond reproach. We were pleased that we had chosen a suite with a bay window as this added significantly to our enjoyment. The A La Carte dining was first class with a good selection of wines included. There is some vibration and noise when the ship ...

The rail services in Norway proved reliable and in Komfort class very comfortable even on the longer stretches. The ship MS Nordlys part of the Hurtigruten fleet was good, staff excellent, food beyond reproach. We were pleased that we had chosen a suite with a bay window as this added significantly to our enjoyment. The A La Carte dining was first class with a good selection of wines included. There is some vibration and noise when the ship docks but otherwise we could not fault it. As Platinum customers we each received a holdall full of Helly Hansen clothes as well as champagne on arrival and a nice gift. It is worth going one way by boat and one by train as the scenery is quite different, amazing both ways. We were fortunate enough to see the Northern Lights on three nights from the boat.

Rating for tour operator:

Ffestiniog Travel provided excellent advice helping us to plan out itinerary and then booked everything for us. Support was available throughout the trip - although not required. Very happy with all aspects of the trip.

Ffestiniog Travel by Max M, 6 Jan 2020
Holiday Rating:

Train travel at its best

A very pleasant trip to Vienna via Munich, seeing old friends and enjoying a concert and a theatrical performance. Also did a day trip to Bratislava on New year's Day.

A very pleasant trip to Vienna via Munich, seeing old friends and enjoying a concert and a theatrical performance. Also did a day trip to Bratislava on New year's Day.

Rating for tour operator:

FFestiniog Travel are experienced and efficient. Excellent and informative service.

Reviewer's images: