AITO: The Association of Independent Tour Operators
Ffestiniog Travel

Ffestiniog Travel Traveller Reviews

Reviews of Ffestiniog Travel

Overall Company Rating
97%
Excellent 252
Good 28
Average 3
Poor 1
Terrible 0
Reviews Submitted: 284
Reviews Accepted: 284
Reviews Rejected: 0
284 reviews
Sort by:
Taiwan Rail Adventure by denzilg, 4 Mar 2020
Holiday Rating:

Fantastic Ffestiniog Travel trip around Taiwan

14 days rail and coach tour around the island of Taiwan seeing all the main sites and some fascinating old trains.

14 days rail and coach tour around the island of Taiwan seeing all the main sites and some fascinating old trains.

Rating for tour operator:

Ffestiniog Travel - well organised and executed. Very helpful UK tour escort and local driver and guide. See part of the tour to Alishan Forest here - https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=oRl6MLE4Wtw&feature=youtu.be&fbclid=IwAR0QvlBYXUrIRf4iWCDB3e_HLNTHmnZB-8M_UqsnsYi2pJX3CQmAlVsk6Bg

Taiwan Rail Adventure by Tonytrain, 4 Mar 2020
Holiday Rating:

TAIWAN RAILWAY ADVENTURE

Fair degree of travel by train with coach for transfers and local trips. We circled the island using and excellent choice of very well appointed hotels. We had a Tour Manager, and a fine local guide. There was a good mix of general sightseeing and specialist railway visits.

Fair degree of travel by train with coach for transfers and local trips. We circled the island using and excellent choice of very well appointed hotels. We had a Tour Manager, and a fine local guide. There was a good mix of general sightseeing and specialist railway visits.

Rating for tour operator:

Plenty of detail in the brochure; final details supplied clearly and at the right time

Taiwan Rail Adventure by GregM, 3 Mar 2020
Holiday Rating:

A great experience for my first visit to a country

A combination of rail and coach travel covering a range of experiences around the country. Hotels were of a very high standard.

A combination of rail and coach travel covering a range of experiences around the country. Hotels were of a very high standard.

Rating for tour operator:

Ffestiniog Travel specialise in rail-based tours

Taiwan Rail Adventure by Jeff, 3 Mar 2020
Holiday Rating:

Taiwan Rail Adventure

Two weeks exploring not only Taiwans Railways, but visiting Temples, museums, palaces, mountains and Gorges which gave me a very enjoyable holiday.

Two weeks exploring not only Taiwans Railways, but visiting Temples, museums, palaces, mountains and Gorges which gave me a very enjoyable holiday.

Rating for tour operator:

Ffestiniog Travel run tours for rail enthusiasts who also want to see the countryside and experience the culture of the countries they visit. Having used them to book tours with my family, this is the first time I have done one of their group tours. Many of the fellow travellers were returning Ffestiniog group travellers Ultimately the profits they make from booking with them go towards running the Ffestiniog Railway in north Wales.

Snow on the Alps by Woodberry, 20 Feb 2020
Holiday Rating:

Well-planned and well-led

My second time on this holiday. As in February 2019, the tour was well-designed to give tour members flexibility to choose their own day trips or to go with the tour leader. One of the locations was diferent (Luzern instread of Interlaken) which gave different opportunites on the 'free' days. An interesting group of people to travel with and an effective tour leader who gave just as much leadership as was necessary.

My second time on this holiday. As in February 2019, the tour was well-designed to give tour members flexibility to choose their own day trips or to go with the tour leader. One of the locations was diferent (Luzern instread of Interlaken) which gave different opportunites on the 'free' days. An interesting group of people to travel with and an effective tour leader who gave just as much leadership as was necessary.

Rating for tour operator:

Good administration and good supporting information supplied with the tour details. Everything worked well.

Ffestiniog Travel by trainmanpeter, 17 Feb 2020
Holiday Rating:

Northern Lights by Train and Ship

The rail services in Norway proved reliable and in Komfort class very comfortable even on the longer stretches. The ship MS Nordlys part of the Hurtigruten fleet was good, staff excellent, food beyond reproach. We were pleased that we had chosen a suite with a bay window as this added significantly to our enjoyment. The A La Carte dining was first class with a good selection of wines included. There is some vibration and noise when the ship ...

The rail services in Norway proved reliable and in Komfort class very comfortable even on the longer stretches. The ship MS Nordlys part of the Hurtigruten fleet was good, staff excellent, food beyond reproach. We were pleased that we had chosen a suite with a bay window as this added significantly to our enjoyment. The A La Carte dining was first class with a good selection of wines included. There is some vibration and noise when the ship docks but otherwise we could not fault it. As Platinum customers we each received a holdall full of Helly Hansen clothes as well as champagne on arrival and a nice gift. It is worth going one way by boat and one by train as the scenery is quite different, amazing both ways. We were fortunate enough to see the Northern Lights on three nights from the boat.

Rating for tour operator:

Ffestiniog Travel provided excellent advice helping us to plan out itinerary and then booked everything for us. Support was available throughout the trip - although not required. Very happy with all aspects of the trip.

Ffestiniog Travel by Max M, 6 Jan 2020
Holiday Rating:

Train travel at its best

A very pleasant trip to Vienna via Munich, seeing old friends and enjoying a concert and a theatrical performance. Also did a day trip to Bratislava on New year's Day.

A very pleasant trip to Vienna via Munich, seeing old friends and enjoying a concert and a theatrical performance. Also did a day trip to Bratislava on New year's Day.

Rating for tour operator:

FFestiniog Travel are experienced and efficient. Excellent and informative service.

Reviewer's images:
Ffestiniog Travel by Wizeowl, 16 Dec 2019
Holiday Rating:

Custom tour of Xmas markets in Germany and Denmark

Seven days of Inter-Rail travel with three city stopovers, combining travel specials (Eurotunnel, Puttgarden train ferry, Oresund bridge etc) with Xmas markets in Hamburg, Kobenhavn and Koln.

Seven days of Inter-Rail travel with three city stopovers, combining travel specials (Eurotunnel, Puttgarden train ferry, Oresund bridge etc) with Xmas markets in Hamburg, Kobenhavn and Koln.

Rating for tour operator:

Reliable both for published tours and custom arrangements, friendly and easy to deal with.

Ffestiniog Travel by WOMBAT, 27 Oct 2019
Holiday Rating:

An Enthralling Week!

We spent a week in Amsterdam at the luxurious Park Centraal Hotel, situated in the Museum quarter area of the city; which meant we were very near the most important art galleries including the Rijksmuseum, the Van Gogh and Stedelijk Museums and the world famous concert hall, the Concertgebouw, where we attended a free lunchtime orchestral concert. On the Sunday afternoon we watched the National Ballet Company perform "Romeo and Juliet" to great ...

We spent a week in Amsterdam at the luxurious Park Centraal Hotel, situated in the Museum quarter area of the city; which meant we were very near the most important art galleries including the Rijksmuseum, the Van Gogh and Stedelijk Museums and the world famous concert hall, the Concertgebouw, where we attended a free lunchtime orchestral concert. On the Sunday afternoon we watched the National Ballet Company perform "Romeo and Juliet" to great acclaim in the impressively attractive Opera House. We walked a lot, and also made use of the Hop On - Hop Off boats on several occasions: a tranquil and relaxing way of seeing more of this very beautiful city.

Rating for tour operator:

This was a late booking for us: we hadn't given the Ffestiniog folk much time to sort things out. We knew that it was a bit challenging for them and we did apologise. But they managed perfectly and we received our documents in good time, thanks to their professionalism. Again, a big thank-you to Cathy and your colleagues!

Ffestiniog Travel by Prof, 18 Oct 2019
Holiday Rating:

Kuala Lumpur to Bangkok

Plane .train trip in South-East Asia

Plane .train trip in South-East Asia

Rating for tour operator:

Ffestiniog