Ffestiniog Travel

Reviews of Ffestiniog Travel

Overall company rating
4 97%
Reviews submitted: 106
Reviews accepted: 106
Reviews rejected: 0
Excellent
91
Good
13
Average
1
Poor
1
Terrible
0

Europe scenery at its best

By Skier on 22 Feb 2017

Rating for this holiday Excellent

We took a train trip from Kings cross to Kufstein via Belguim and onto Munich and returned via Munich and Paris. We enjoyed the train trip as much as our ski-ing holiday.

Rating for tour operator Excellent

We gave our tour operator our wishlist and she was able to meet our requests. Fantastic!

Christmas & New Year in Switzerland

By DFS on 20 Jan 2017

Rating for this holiday Excellent
Find more about Christmas & NY in Switzerland >

A very enjoyable two centre holiday visiting Switzerland over the Christmas and New Year period. The holiday provided a broad mixture of optional escorted excursions and opportunities for independent days out using the Swiss Travel Pass. The tour party was a welcome mixture of regular travelling companions and new faces. All told an enjoyable way of having a relaxed Christmas and New Year break!

Rating for tour operator Excellent

An experienced, knowledgeable operator that makes a speciality of catering for not just those who want an fully organised "off the shelf tour" but also those who want to add their own variations.

Fantastic holiday in Switzerland!

By Ruth and Dick on 18 Jan 2017

Rating for this holiday Excellent
Find more about Christmas & NY in Switzerland >

Our "Christmas and New Year in Switzerland" holiday with Ffestiniog Travel was excellent. With our First Class Swiss rail pass supplied as part of the holiday, we had the freedom to go just about anywhere we wanted to in Switzerland - or join the daily organised excursion instead. The hotels were all excellent, and the Tour Leader was also excellent, and very able and knowledgeable! Recommended!

Rating for tour operator Excellent

Everything was well-organised, both before and during the holiday. Great staff to deal with.

A curate's egg - good in parts.

By Notarailgeek on 11 Jan 2017

Rating for this holiday Average
Find more about Christmas & NY in Switzerland >

Information supplied up front did not really describe the whole holiday. Meal arrangements left fomenting to be desired (too many buffets in cramped conditions). Food was okay - just the way it was presented. Main hotel quality was not up to expected standards due to the en-suite facilities. Too much travelling on the train and not enough using the train to visit places.

Rating for tour operator Good

Pleasant to deal with. Information supplied up front needed to be more informative.

Fantastic

By Mr D W 16 on 9 Jan 2017

Rating for this holiday Excellent
Find more about Christmas & NY in Switzerland >

Great low-key trip.
I booked this trip to escape the commercialized Christmas of the US, and came home with the most memorable Christmas of my life.

Rating for tour operator Excellent

First time with them. Very impressed.

Visiting Christmas markets in the Netherlands, Belgium and Germany

By Helmo on 13 Dec 2016

Rating for this holiday Good

I cannot fault Ffestiniog Travel on the arrangements they made for me.

Rating for tour operator Good

Ffestiniog Travel have booked train tickets for me in the past. This time I wanted hotel accommodation as well. All arrangements were very satisfactory.

A specialist rail holiday with time to enjoy non-rail activities.

By CFH52 on 4 Nov 2016

Rating for this holiday Excellent
Find more about Harz Autumn Gala >

Enjoying the Harz Mountains from a special steam train in Autumn was once again a delightful experience. Led by a tour leader who knew how to organise people in a respectful and positive way, enabled everyone to get the best out of the holiday.

Excellent accommodation and enough free time to enjoy non-rail activities added to the pleasure of the holiday.

Rating for tour operator Excellent

Arrangements all worked well and even when the Channel Tunnel was closed literally as we were about to enter it and we were forced back to London, they efficiently found us high quality accommodation and re-booked us the next day.

Friendly,efficient personal service

By Happy Traveller on 19 Oct 2016

Rating for this holiday Excellent

Astounding scenery, comfortable hotels, good company with the other members of our tour and all expertly choreographed by our informed and informative escort. Well done Ffestiniog travel. Can't wait for our next trip.

Rating for tour operator Excellent

Ffestiniog travel, friendly and efficient. Everything went as planned with just the right mix of organised tours and free time. Nothing was too much trouble, they even organised our tickets from home to join the tour.
Fantastic, will definitely book again.

An excellent rail tour around Switzerland and beyond.

By The Twinns on 18 Oct 2016

Rating for this holiday Excellent

We had rail travel all the way from Plymouth UK, via St Pancras, through France and Germany to Switzerland - with a brief sortie into northern Italy. It was a most enjoyable couple of weeks in a small group environment. Everything worked well. There was a good balance of structure and freedom. It suited both the dedicated railway enthusiasts as much as the green travellers. The modes of travel were of a very high standard throughout - and the hotels were clean, central and welcoming. The tour guide was knowledgable and quietly reliable.

Rating for tour operator Excellent

No problems, no regrets - would happily travel with Ffestiniog again if the opportunity arose - and recommend them to others of a similar outlook. They provided a well-organised and efficiently-delivered holiday at a reasonable price to a fiercely expensive destination.

A well organised tour introducing the rich variety of life and customs in Northern Romania

By Clarion on 11 Oct 2016

Rating for this holiday Excellent
Find more about Rural Romania >

Holiday by train and bus that introduced us to the variety of customs, origin and food of north east and north central areas of Romania. The rural aspect of the holiday was reinforced by staying in Homstays in villages where we enjoyed local foods.

Rating for tour operator Excellent

Very conscientious before and during the tour. Considerable attention to the individual's requirements of diet or mobility. Local guide absolutely brilliant.