AITO: The Association of Independent Tour Operators
Ffestiniog Travel

Ffestiniog Travel Traveller Reviews

Reviews of Ffestiniog Travel

Overall Company Rating
97%
Excellent 236
Good 27
Average 3
Poor 1
Terrible 0
Reviews Submitted: 267
Reviews Accepted: 267
Reviews Rejected: 0
267 reviews
Sort by:
Ffestiniog Travel by QUIZMASTER, 21 Aug 2019
Holiday Rating:

FANTASTIC FRENCH HOLIDAY BY TRAIN

Travelled from Manchester to London . 2 nights in London. Eurostar down to Avignon 4 nights stay there. Good base for Nimes, Arles and Orange sightseeing. 5 nights in Nice and then 3 nights in Paris and then back home. It was a family holiday 4 adults and 2 children. everything arranged by Ffestiniog Travel [hotels and train tickets] never a hitch

Travelled from Manchester to London . 2 nights in London. Eurostar down to Avignon 4 nights stay there. Good base for Nimes, Arles and Orange sightseeing. 5 nights in Nice and then 3 nights in Paris and then back home. It was a family holiday 4 adults and 2 children. everything arranged by Ffestiniog Travel [hotels and train tickets] never a hitch

Rating for tour operator:

Brilliant organising skills. very friendly

Mountains & Coast in Montenegro by Solo Aussie, 12 Aug 2019
Holiday Rating:

Montenegro 2019

Train trip from Belgrade through the glorious mountains to the Dalmation Coast. It included lunch with local farmers, entertainment from local villagers, staying in an Eco village with breathtaking scenery. Busses took us through forests to the tops of the mountains back down the other side with valleys opening up before us. Waterfalls, lakes, visiting the birth of springs. Canyons. Taking us into the cultural diversity of the region, where ...

Train trip from Belgrade through the glorious mountains to the Dalmation Coast. It included lunch with local farmers, entertainment from local villagers, staying in an Eco village with breathtaking scenery. Busses took us through forests to the tops of the mountains back down the other side with valleys opening up before us. Waterfalls, lakes, visiting the birth of springs. Canyons. Taking us into the cultural diversity of the region, where tourism is yet to find these jewels. A small group which was intimate and personal. Then to the magnificent coast, Ffestiniog mixed it up with something different every day. First time I've travelled with Ffestiniog and I was very impressed. That much, that I visited their office to meet the crew that put such a great trip together before returning back to Australia!

Rating for tour operator:

Ffestiniog packaged a fantastic holiday together. I'm neither a train nerd, nor a frequent group traveller, having done many solo trips on my own. Here's where they excelled as being a small group, I didn't feel pressured into seeing everything into a short time, instead they were very flexible,rearranging things to suit the groups interests. We had some timetables but they weren't rushed, and we participated in the actual culture instead of just being outsiders watching it. When I left the group I continued my travels and had Ffestiniog organise more train trips for me which went very smoothly. I'd certainly recommend this group and just wish I didn't live so far away!

Ffestiniog Travel by Shipwright, 9 Aug 2019
Holiday Rating:

Cherry blossom

An interesting holiday spoilt by the local guide who wasted so much time on site, and treated us like children, many potential sites were missed but those visited were of excellent value and interest .A shame that Anthony and Eri did not conduct the whole of guiding.

An interesting holiday spoilt by the local guide who wasted so much time on site, and treated us like children, many potential sites were missed but those visited were of excellent value and interest .A shame that Anthony and Eri did not conduct the whole of guiding.

Rating for tour operator:

Have used Ffestiniog for many holidays and find their services excellent for both tailor made and group trips, and are always willing to cater for individual needs.

Lake District Steam Extravaganza by NENE, 6 Aug 2019
Holiday Rating:

Lake District Steam Extravaganza

Was a well organized holiday that did all they said they would. The hotels were clean and staff polite and helpful. The Tour Guide was good and well organized. The coach drivers that took us on our daily trips were polite and knew what they were doing.

Was a well organized holiday that did all they said they would. The hotels were clean and staff polite and helpful. The Tour Guide was good and well organized. The coach drivers that took us on our daily trips were polite and knew what they were doing.

Rating for tour operator:

This is my second trip with them and if I am going on another Rail Holidays I will go with them.

The Grand Arctic by Gordon B, 3 Aug 2019
Holiday Rating:

The Grand Artcic was just that.

Starting in Bergen in Norway and heading north to the Arctic Circle via Oslo to Narvik, crossing into Sweden and down to Stockholm. A good trip including some things I have always wanted to do, like the Flåm railway, Narvik and the Inlandsbanan in Sweden.

Starting in Bergen in Norway and heading north to the Arctic Circle via Oslo to Narvik, crossing into Sweden and down to Stockholm. A good trip including some things I have always wanted to do, like the Flåm railway, Narvik and the Inlandsbanan in Sweden.

Rating for tour operator:

Ffestiniog Travel are a specialist railway tour operator who specialize on tours with a good content of railways, with days to explore included.

Lake District Steam Extravaganza by Wizeowl, 2 Aug 2019
Holiday Rating:

A transport extravaganza in the Lakes

Good mix of familiar and less obvious experiences for fans of steam propulsion, lake cruises and general transport.

Good mix of familiar and less obvious experiences for fans of steam propulsion, lake cruises and general transport.

Rating for tour operator:

Provider of imaginative tours with flexibility to tailor to individual requirements.

Ffestiniog Travel by Dora1, 29 Jul 2019
Holiday Rating:

Wedding Anniversary Rail Tour

This was a bespoke railway touring holiday of Scotland organized for us by Ffestiniog Travel as a 50th Wedding Anniversary present. It included visits to Inverness, Edinburgh, Glasgow, Fort William and Mallaig.

This was a bespoke railway touring holiday of Scotland organized for us by Ffestiniog Travel as a 50th Wedding Anniversary present. It included visits to Inverness, Edinburgh, Glasgow, Fort William and Mallaig.

Rating for tour operator:

Ffestiniog Travel provided us an excellent personal service and organized a customized tailor made holiday to suite our available time and preferences.

Ffestiniog Travel by almalmac, 29 Jul 2019
Holiday Rating:

Scandinavia in a fortnight

Travelled unescorted by rail all the way from Chester UK to Bergen Norway via Eurostar / Belgium / Cologne and Hamburg in Germany / Odense in Denmark / Stockhom in Sweden and in Norway Oslo and finally Bergen. Flew back to Manchester from Bergen.

Travelled unescorted by rail all the way from Chester UK to Bergen Norway via Eurostar / Belgium / Cologne and Hamburg in Germany / Odense in Denmark / Stockhom in Sweden and in Norway Oslo and finally Bergen. Flew back to Manchester from Bergen.

Rating for tour operator:

Festiniog Travel very helpful in putting our bespoke itinerary together with the seat reservations on all the many trains we travelled on - which worked spot on -as well as all hotel reservations and flight home. Only hiccup was at Manchester Airport where we waited almost as long as the flight from Bergen on the Sunday evening, for our bags to come from our plane to the carousel.

Ffestiniog Travel by anm53, 19 Jul 2019
Holiday Rating:

The Grand Arctic - Rushing around Norway & Sweden by train

3 nights each in Bergen and Oslo; 2 nights in Stockholm. The rest of the time was spent travelling around Norway and Sweden by train, with train journeys of up to 10 hours a day. Some days meant setting the alarm clock for 6.00am which did not feel lilke a holiday. The holiday "did what it said on the tin" in terms of brochure accuracy, but left us feeling a bit disatisfied, that we hadn't spent more time seeing more of Norway & Sweden other ...

3 nights each in Bergen and Oslo; 2 nights in Stockholm. The rest of the time was spent travelling around Norway and Sweden by train, with train journeys of up to 10 hours a day. Some days meant setting the alarm clock for 6.00am which did not feel lilke a holiday. The holiday "did what it said on the tin" in terms of brochure accuracy, but left us feeling a bit disatisfied, that we hadn't spent more time seeing more of Norway & Sweden other than through a train window.

Rating for tour operator:

Alll the travel arrangements worked efficiently. However, the role of our tour guide was limited to making sure we got between the railway station and hotel, and vice versa. he sometime failed to communicate arrangements for the next day, and twice i had to send him a text message to find out what was happening. He provided no introduction to the cities we visited, A good tour guide would have enabled us to get much more out of the holiday.

Ffestiniog Travel responded to this review on 22 Jul 2019:

Thank you for taking the time to submit your feedback. Customer feedback is something we take very seriously and encourage as we strive to continually improve our product. I am pleased to hear that your arrangements worked efficiently and you received exactly what you had booked for. I completely understand your comment about the early starts. I am afraid that rail services in some remote destinations are very limited, with some having only one departure per day. This I am afraid was the case with two of the journeys on the Grand Arctic tour, both of which were highly scenic and a highlight of the itinerary.

Ffestiniog Travel Tour Leaders are there mainly for the well being of the group and to take customers safely and efficiently from A to B. Our Tour Leaders also add value to the holiday by helping to make the best use of any free time, of which there was very little on the Grand Arctic tour. Please be assured that your Tour Leader would have been only too happy to help with any queries that you may have had. We will take steps to ensure that Tour Leaders ensure the entire group have received the information they need for onward travel arrangements on all future tours. Thank you once again and I do hope that we can be of service to you in the future. With kind regards, Maria Cook (General Manager)

Appalachian Mountain Trails by speed_king, 12 Jul 2019
Holiday Rating:

Enjoyable experience

A good holiday that could be improved with a few tweaks

A good holiday that could be improved with a few tweaks

Rating for tour operator:

Tour Manager was excellent