AITO: The Association of Independent Tour Operators
Ffestiniog Travel

Ffestiniog Travel Traveller Reviews

Reviews of Ffestiniog Travel

Overall Company Rating
97%
Excellent 263
Good 28
Average 4
Poor 1
Terrible 0
Reviews Submitted: 296
Reviews Accepted: 296
Reviews Rejected: 0
296 reviews
Sort by:
Trams & Trains of Italy by PhilJNewport, 18 May 2022
Holiday Rating:

Trains and Trams of Italy

A tour of Italy concentrating on the trains and trams

A tour of Italy concentrating on the trains and trams

Rating for tour operator:

Excellent specialist tour operator

Trams & Trains of Italy by Wagonbuilder, 8 May 2022
Holiday Rating:

Trams and Trains of Italy, but beware Naples

Good holiday sadly spoiled by visit to Naples where it was open season on visitors with one wallet theft, one camera theft and two attempted bag snatches all within the immediate area of the Hotel Caracciolo that we were booked into.

Good holiday sadly spoiled by visit to Naples where it was open season on visitors with one wallet theft, one camera theft and two attempted bag snatches all within the immediate area of the Hotel Caracciolo that we were booked into.

Rating for tour operator:

Ffestiniog Travel I chose this operator as I assume that is connected with the Welsh Railway of the same name and some of the profits made by the travel company will find their way back to the railway company.

Ffestiniog Travel responded to this review on 09 May 2022:

Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback for your recent trip to Italy. We were saddened to hear of the group's experience in Naples. Whilst in no way wishing to minimise the distress which is caused by instances of pick pocketing and so on, it is a known hazard in most cities of the world and all we can realistically do is be on our guard against it.

I am pleased to confirm that we are the sister company of the Ffestiniog and Welsh Highland Railways and our profits go towards the continued preservation of both railways.

Rhine Sea to Source by Motty, 7 May 2022
Holiday Rating:

Rhine Sea To Source

So well planed and David our tour leader went the extra mile after my wife broke her wrist

So well planed and David our tour leader went the extra mile after my wife broke her wrist

Rating for tour operator:

a truly wonderful holiday from the boat trip to see the windmills at Rotterdam to the views of the North Face of the Eiger at Murren to the journeys on the Glacier express and the Bernina Express

Ffestiniog Travel by Bo, 15 Apr 2022
Holiday Rating:

Enjoyable

Well organised and worked well

Well organised and worked well

Rating for tour operator:

They worked well and when things happened outside their control sort it out efficiently

Snow on the Alps by Pwy, 4 Mar 2022
Holiday Rating:

Wonderful post Covid getaway

Snow on the Alps

Snow on the Alps

Rating for tour operator:

Well organised and helpful

Snow on the Alps by RhB Basher, 3 Mar 2022
Holiday Rating:

All that could be expected

Good value for money, with good choice of hotels and travel arrangements

Good value for money, with good choice of hotels and travel arrangements

Rating for tour operator:

Very Good

Snow on the Alps by WesternLord, 3 Mar 2022
Holiday Rating:

Winter Wonderland

We love switzerland and travel there regularly but this holiday introduced us to places that we had not previously visited. Also we normally visit in the summer, this was our first winter visit.

We love switzerland and travel there regularly but this holiday introduced us to places that we had not previously visited. Also we normally visit in the summer, this was our first winter visit.

Rating for tour operator:

Very impressed with the admin. Minimal deposit and they refused to take the balance until confirmation that the tour was definitely going ahead. Lots of useful info provided pre departure, particularly with ref to Covid restrictions and requirements.

Snow on the Alps by Robert, 2 Mar 2022
Holiday Rating:

Wonderful return to foreign travel after a pandemic-related hiatus for 2 years

2-centre winter holiday by train to Switzerland, booked VERY last-minute without fuss.

2-centre winter holiday by train to Switzerland, booked VERY last-minute without fuss.

Rating for tour operator:

Tour operator able and willing to take my booking only 12 days before departure.

Ffestiniog Travel by DWJ, 2 Mar 2022
Holiday Rating:

Harz Mountain Delight

By rail from London to Harz Mountains and the Brocken railway.

By rail from London to Harz Mountains and the Brocken railway.

Rating for tour operator:

Very quick and easy response

Ffestiniog Travel by Tigarbear, 11 Apr 2020
Holiday Rating:

Fascinating and informative holiday

The trip was to Vietnam & Cambodia. Two countries which I thought I knew something about but I now know how little in fact I did know about them. I discovered so much on this trip about the people and their histories. Time to read up some more about them.

The trip was to Vietnam & Cambodia. Two countries which I thought I knew something about but I now know how little in fact I did know about them. I discovered so much on this trip about the people and their histories. Time to read up some more about them.

Rating for tour operator:

Ffestiniog Travel are a very well organised company with excellent and friendly staff. They managed without (it seemed to us stuck in an airport due to Conv19) to much fuss and with very good information during this time to find alternative flights back to the UK.