AITO: The Association of Independent Tour Operators
Ffestiniog Travel

Ffestiniog Travel Traveller Reviews

Reviews of Ffestiniog Travel

Overall Company Rating
97%
Excellent 252
Good 28
Average 3
Poor 1
Terrible 0
Reviews Submitted: 284
Reviews Accepted: 284
Reviews Rejected: 0
284 reviews
Sort by:
Ffestiniog Travel by Mr A G 14, 29 Oct 2014
Holiday Rating:

Rail Trip to Italy

Rail travel from Glasgow to London, Paris, Munich, Venice, Naples, Siracusa Ragusa, Return via Rome, Milan and Paris

Rail travel from Glasgow to London, Paris, Munich, Venice, Naples, Siracusa Ragusa, Return via Rome, Milan and Paris

Rating for tour operator:

This small company is extremely efficient and provides an excellent service for rail tickets and reservations. Also hotel bookings responding to requests for locations near railway stations. All enquires, bookings etc are dealt with in friendly, personal way with immediate response.

Ffestiniog Travel by old soldier, 22 Oct 2014
Holiday Rating:

Interesting and informative

THe tour leader, Richard Buxton, was excellent value. He was very good at providing sufficient information in a clear and concise manner that made the absorbtion easy. The trip was over three days, and certainly met its advertised goal of seeing behind the scenes on the FFestiniog and Welsh Highland Railway.

THe tour leader, Richard Buxton, was excellent value. He was very good at providing sufficient information in a clear and concise manner that made the absorbtion easy. The trip was over three days, and certainly met its advertised goal of seeing behind the scenes on the FFestiniog and Welsh Highland Railway.

Rating for tour operator:

THis is the first time I have used Ffestiniog Travel, and I would consider using them again

Ffestiniog Travel by Riley, 11 Oct 2014
Holiday Rating:

Rural Romania tour September 2014

An extensive tour of Romania in a small party touring mainly by minibus, visiting three preserved steam hauled narrow gauge railways, but also undertaking extensive sight-seeing under the expert guidance of a young Romanian lady. Overnights were spent mostly in farmhouse 'homestays' all of which were characterful, clean and with good facilities.

An extensive tour of Romania in a small party touring mainly by minibus, visiting three preserved steam hauled narrow gauge railways, but also undertaking extensive sight-seeing under the expert guidance of a young Romanian lady. Overnights were spent mostly in farmhouse 'homestays' all of which were characterful, clean and with good facilities.

Rating for tour operator:

The leader of the party took a personal interest in ensuring that everyone in the party was well informed before the holiday about what to expect and what to come prepared for, and during the holiday he personally ensured that everyone was happy at all times.

Ffestiniog Travel by Gubber, 10 Oct 2014
Holiday Rating:

Excellent

It was tailor-made, a trip to Toronto, Nova Scotia and Prince Edward Island. The flights, hotels and excursions booked for us all worked well. It is the second time I have used Ffestiniog Travel for tailor-made holidays. And I would not hesitate to use them again.

It was tailor-made, a trip to Toronto, Nova Scotia and Prince Edward Island. The flights, hotels and excursions booked for us all worked well. It is the second time I have used Ffestiniog Travel for tailor-made holidays. And I would not hesitate to use them again.

Rating for tour operator:

Competent, friendly and efficient.

Ffestiniog Travel by Rail traveller, 2 Oct 2014
Holiday Rating:

Travel on the borders

We spent a week in Friedrichshafen on the Bodensee. It happened to coincide with a boat festival so there was extra activity on the lake. We used the boats and catamaran to get about and visit Constanz, Meersburg, Lindau and Bregenz but at the height of the grape and fruit harvest there was lot to do and see.Our hotel rented out bikes at €6 a day and there were tracks all round the lake.From there we went on to Colmar in Alsace, a town which ...

We spent a week in Friedrichshafen on the Bodensee. It happened to coincide with a boat festival so there was extra activity on the lake. We used the boats and catamaran to get about and visit Constanz, Meersburg, Lindau and Bregenz but at the height of the grape and fruit harvest there was lot to do and see.Our hotel rented out bikes at €6 a day and there were tracks all round the lake.From there we went on to Colmar in Alsace, a town which exceeded my expectations in beauty and history. We spent the afternoon just eating and watching the world go by. The French really know how to live. Then on to culture:The Issenheim altarpiece by Grunewald is stunning and the Unterlinden Museum had many more treasures and is worth a visit, despite the ongoing building work.

Rating for tour operator:

Ffestiniog Travel organised the rail travel and Colmar hotel, which was excellent, directly opposite the railway station. They listened to our requirements and everything ran smoothly. They supplied a booklet with all the necessary travel details and directions, including tickets and directions for crossing Paris on the Metro, which saved a lot of time and stress, especially as our return TGV to Paris was late.We've used them before and will certaily use them again

Ffestiniog Travel by Ronald, 1 Oct 2014
Holiday Rating:

interesting and well organised

A well chosen itinerary with the usual excellent Ffestiniog balance of organised journeys and hoteld and free time in between

A well chosen itinerary with the usual excellent Ffestiniog balance of organised journeys and hoteld and free time in between

Rating for tour operator:

Ffestiniog Travel provide an excellent service.

Ffestiniog Travel by Anorac , 26 Sep 2014
Holiday Rating:

A well thought out holiday that covered everything it said in the brocure

It used hotels for overnight accommodation it started in North Wales and finished in South Wales it lasted twelve days and we visited all the narrow gauge and preserved railways as three castles etc. and was an enjoyable experience

It used hotels for overnight accommodation it started in North Wales and finished in South Wales it lasted twelve days and we visited all the narrow gauge and preserved railways as three castles etc. and was an enjoyable experience

Rating for tour operator:

The tour operator provided use with a very good itinerary which described each location visited in detail. The tour leader was very professional and facilitated the customer needs in providing an explanation to how long we were at each location catering arrangements and when we should be ready each day. The coach operator drivers were also very good.

Ffestiniog Travel by trish, 4 Sep 2014
Holiday Rating:

tailormade holiday to Denmark

Ffestiniog Travel organised our trip by outward ferry, trains and flight home. The hotel in Copenhagen was excellent, very near the station. The trains to North Jutland were comfortable and clean, ran to time and the route was scenic. What a shame that the DFDS ferry from Harwich to Esbjerg is no longer running, it was such a civilised way to travel compared to flying - no check-in queues or hanging about.

Ffestiniog Travel organised our trip by outward ferry, trains and flight home. The hotel in Copenhagen was excellent, very near the station. The trains to North Jutland were comfortable and clean, ran to time and the route was scenic. What a shame that the DFDS ferry from Harwich to Esbjerg is no longer running, it was such a civilised way to travel compared to flying - no check-in queues or hanging about.

Rating for tour operator:

Ffestiniog are just wonderful - nothing is too much trouble for them and their service is really personal. They seem to have miracle-working properties in finding hotels that suit the customer and trains etc that run at humane times of day.

Ffestiniog Travel by MrsBoxerDog, 18 Jul 2014
Holiday Rating:

Excellent Service & a Wonderful Holiday!

Thanks to Ffestiniog Travel my holiday, last September to Switzerland, was wonderful, thanks to Jenene in Ffestiniog's 'tailor-made' department and her usual efficiency. As this was the first time I was to travel and spend a few days on my own, until my companion arrived having ended a Ffestiniog rail trip to Germany, I was very apprehensive about everything. The trip ran like clockwork, to the point of arriving early at Wilderswil in time ...

Thanks to Ffestiniog Travel my holiday, last September to Switzerland, was wonderful, thanks to Jenene in Ffestiniog's 'tailor-made' department and her usual efficiency. As this was the first time I was to travel and spend a few days on my own, until my companion arrived having ended a Ffestiniog rail trip to Germany, I was very apprehensive about everything. The trip ran like clockwork, to the point of arriving early at Wilderswil in time for evening dinner! Jenene had ensured I had everything I needed to hand; all the timings, platforms etc. The hotel, having stayed there on a previous holiday, had been well chosen by Ffestiniog and is well situated for sightseeing. A 10 minute stroll down the lovely lane and you are at the railway station. From there, one can get to Interlaken for a host of trips: a two-hour train journey to Lucerne, boat trips on Lakes Brienz and Thun, onward to the Schilthorn and Jungfrau and much more. A stop-off at Murren is a 'must', such a quiet village, no cars, it's wonderful! One tip is to pay the extra money and buy a first class rail pass which also enables one to sit upstairs on the boats! I will definitely be doing this next time I go to Switzerland. Thanks to Ffestiniog for yet another stress-free and wonderful holiday.

Rating for tour operator:

What can I say about Ffestiniog Travel, other than all round excellence. Believe me, I am a fussy person and the company have never let me down. I usually travel through the 'tailor-made' department, where nothing is too much trouble for Jenene Craven whom I liaise with. Jenene is such a friendly, polite, good humoured girl and her work is exemplary. Little extras are always thought of, normally extra touches I had not thought of, but she had. Jenene is a real asset to Ffestiniog Travel. Another plus is that the tickets etc. come via recorded delivery at a time agreed by Ffestiniog and myself which is very reassuring. Also, the little booklet of the trip which is put together with various bits of information is extremely useful and welcome. So what more can I say, it is not a cheap company, but one does get what one pays for - total excellence. A big 'Thank You' to Ffestiniog Travel and especially Jenene. I am looking forward to my holiday for you to arrange already!

Ffestiniog Travel by Embee, 3 Jul 2014
Holiday Rating:

London to the Balkans and back via Italy by rail

Itinery good and rail timings went well. turned out as we had hoped except for issues over booked hotel accomadation in Vienna.

Itinery good and rail timings went well. turned out as we had hoped except for issues over booked hotel accomadation in Vienna.

Rating for tour operator:

Booked itinery for us based upon our holiday plan.