AITO: The Association of Independent Tour Operators
Ffestiniog Travel

Ffestiniog Travel Traveller Reviews

Reviews of Ffestiniog Travel

Overall Company Rating
97%
Excellent 248
Good 28
Average 3
Poor 1
Terrible 0
Reviews Submitted: 280
Reviews Accepted: 280
Reviews Rejected: 0
280 reviews
Sort by:
Ffestiniog Travel by Hilhap, 19 Sep 2019
Holiday Rating:

Perfect Train Travel

This is the first time we have used Ffestiniog Trave, theyl arranged our train travel to visit friends in Leipzig, Germany. Everything was excellent, the hotels were close to each station, the train times were as we requested, a completely trouble free experience, highly recommended.

This is the first time we have used Ffestiniog Trave, theyl arranged our train travel to visit friends in Leipzig, Germany. Everything was excellent, the hotels were close to each station, the train times were as we requested, a completely trouble free experience, highly recommended.

Rating for tour operator:

Ffestiniog Travel is a small company specialising in holidays including rail travel, it is run by people who really care about your holiday & ensure you have a trouble free time.

Ffestiniog Travel by LNWR109, 19 Sep 2019
Holiday Rating:

A well-organised and enjoyable fortnight in Switzerland

We have used Ffestiniog Travel for many years, so they were an obvious choice for arranging this holiday. As previously, we have specified when we wish to travel and where we would like to stay, and this has been arranged for us along with all the necessary travel tickets. The two hotels in Switzerland were both excellent, although the Le Grand Hotel in Strasbourg where we stayed for one night on the way out and back, was as usual variable...

We have used Ffestiniog Travel for many years, so they were an obvious choice for arranging this holiday. As previously, we have specified when we wish to travel and where we would like to stay, and this has been arranged for us along with all the necessary travel tickets. The two hotels in Switzerland were both excellent, although the Le Grand Hotel in Strasbourg where we stayed for one night on the way out and back, was as usual variable. We also used a baggage courier which was the first time Ffestiniog Travel had done this, which worked well and we would recommend it.

Rating for tour operator:

Ffesiniog Travel was formed in the 1960s to provide holidays by rail and also become what was then an accredited British Rail ticket agency. In the early days the tours appealed mainly to railway enthusiasts, but their current programme has a much wider appeal. Most of the holidays we have booked with them have been tailor-made to our specifications, and this has always worked very well. We did go on an escorted tour with them to the Harz mountains earlier this year where we were well looked after.

Ffestiniog Travel by Russian railways fan, 14 Sep 2019
Holiday Rating:

Moscow and St. Petersburg sighsteeing and railway museums.

Unescorted holiday, assisted by local Russian colleagues who acted as guides. I speak a little Russian, which helped when asking for directions et al. Travel in the cities by metro, which was safe and efficient. Sapsan train from Moscow to St. Petersburg. The holiday exceeded my expectations.

Unescorted holiday, assisted by local Russian colleagues who acted as guides. I speak a little Russian, which helped when asking for directions et al. Travel in the cities by metro, which was safe and efficient. Sapsan train from Moscow to St. Petersburg. The holiday exceeded my expectations.

Rating for tour operator:

Very professional and showed considerable support, patience and forbearance. Contact maintained through the holiday via email.

Ffestiniog Travel by QUIZMASTER, 21 Aug 2019
Holiday Rating:

FANTASTIC FRENCH HOLIDAY BY TRAIN

Travelled from Manchester to London . 2 nights in London. Eurostar down to Avignon 4 nights stay there. Good base for Nimes, Arles and Orange sightseeing. 5 nights in Nice and then 3 nights in Paris and then back home. It was a family holiday 4 adults and 2 children. everything arranged by Ffestiniog Travel [hotels and train tickets] never a hitch

Travelled from Manchester to London . 2 nights in London. Eurostar down to Avignon 4 nights stay there. Good base for Nimes, Arles and Orange sightseeing. 5 nights in Nice and then 3 nights in Paris and then back home. It was a family holiday 4 adults and 2 children. everything arranged by Ffestiniog Travel [hotels and train tickets] never a hitch

Rating for tour operator:

Brilliant organising skills. very friendly

Ffestiniog Travel by Solo Aussie, 12 Aug 2019
Holiday Rating:

Montenegro 2019

Train trip from Belgrade through the glorious mountains to the Dalmation Coast. It included lunch with local farmers, entertainment from local villagers, staying in an Eco village with breathtaking scenery. Busses took us through forests to the tops of the mountains back down the other side with valleys opening up before us. Waterfalls, lakes, visiting the birth of springs. Canyons. Taking us into the cultural diversity of the region, where ...

Train trip from Belgrade through the glorious mountains to the Dalmation Coast. It included lunch with local farmers, entertainment from local villagers, staying in an Eco village with breathtaking scenery. Busses took us through forests to the tops of the mountains back down the other side with valleys opening up before us. Waterfalls, lakes, visiting the birth of springs. Canyons. Taking us into the cultural diversity of the region, where tourism is yet to find these jewels. A small group which was intimate and personal. Then to the magnificent coast, Ffestiniog mixed it up with something different every day. First time I've travelled with Ffestiniog and I was very impressed. That much, that I visited their office to meet the crew that put such a great trip together before returning back to Australia!

Rating for tour operator:

Ffestiniog packaged a fantastic holiday together. I'm neither a train nerd, nor a frequent group traveller, having done many solo trips on my own. Here's where they excelled as being a small group, I didn't feel pressured into seeing everything into a short time, instead they were very flexible,rearranging things to suit the groups interests. We had some timetables but they weren't rushed, and we participated in the actual culture instead of just being outsiders watching it. When I left the group I continued my travels and had Ffestiniog organise more train trips for me which went very smoothly. I'd certainly recommend this group and just wish I didn't live so far away!

Ffestiniog Travel by Shipwright, 9 Aug 2019
Holiday Rating:

Cherry blossom

An interesting holiday spoilt by the local guide who wasted so much time on site, and treated us like children, many potential sites were missed but those visited were of excellent value and interest .A shame that Anthony and Eri did not conduct the whole of guiding.

An interesting holiday spoilt by the local guide who wasted so much time on site, and treated us like children, many potential sites were missed but those visited were of excellent value and interest .A shame that Anthony and Eri did not conduct the whole of guiding.

Rating for tour operator:

Have used Ffestiniog for many holidays and find their services excellent for both tailor made and group trips, and are always willing to cater for individual needs.

Ffestiniog Travel by NENE, 6 Aug 2019
Holiday Rating:

Lake District Steam Extravaganza

Was a well organized holiday that did all they said they would. The hotels were clean and staff polite and helpful. The Tour Guide was good and well organized. The coach drivers that took us on our daily trips were polite and knew what they were doing.

Was a well organized holiday that did all they said they would. The hotels were clean and staff polite and helpful. The Tour Guide was good and well organized. The coach drivers that took us on our daily trips were polite and knew what they were doing.

Rating for tour operator:

This is my second trip with them and if I am going on another Rail Holidays I will go with them.

Ffestiniog Travel by Gordon B, 3 Aug 2019
Holiday Rating:

The Grand Artcic was just that.

Starting in Bergen in Norway and heading north to the Arctic Circle via Oslo to Narvik, crossing into Sweden and down to Stockholm. A good trip including some things I have always wanted to do, like the Flåm railway, Narvik and the Inlandsbanan in Sweden.

Starting in Bergen in Norway and heading north to the Arctic Circle via Oslo to Narvik, crossing into Sweden and down to Stockholm. A good trip including some things I have always wanted to do, like the Flåm railway, Narvik and the Inlandsbanan in Sweden.

Rating for tour operator:

Ffestiniog Travel are a specialist railway tour operator who specialize on tours with a good content of railways, with days to explore included.

Ffestiniog Travel by Wizeowl, 2 Aug 2019
Holiday Rating:

A transport extravaganza in the Lakes

Good mix of familiar and less obvious experiences for fans of steam propulsion, lake cruises and general transport.

Good mix of familiar and less obvious experiences for fans of steam propulsion, lake cruises and general transport.

Rating for tour operator:

Provider of imaginative tours with flexibility to tailor to individual requirements.

Ffestiniog Travel by Dora1, 29 Jul 2019
Holiday Rating:

Wedding Anniversary Rail Tour

This was a bespoke railway touring holiday of Scotland organized for us by Ffestiniog Travel as a 50th Wedding Anniversary present. It included visits to Inverness, Edinburgh, Glasgow, Fort William and Mallaig.

This was a bespoke railway touring holiday of Scotland organized for us by Ffestiniog Travel as a 50th Wedding Anniversary present. It included visits to Inverness, Edinburgh, Glasgow, Fort William and Mallaig.

Rating for tour operator:

Ffestiniog Travel provided us an excellent personal service and organized a customized tailor made holiday to suite our available time and preferences.