AITO: The Association of Independent Tour Operators
Ffestiniog Travel

Ffestiniog Travel Traveller Reviews

Reviews of Ffestiniog Travel

Overall Company Rating
97%
Excellent 237
Good 27
Average 3
Poor 1
Terrible 0
Reviews Submitted: 268
Reviews Accepted: 268
Reviews Rejected: 0
268 reviews
Sort by:
Ffestiniog Travel by speed_king, 12 Jul 2019
Holiday Rating:

Enjoyable experience

A good holiday that could be improved with a few tweaks

A good holiday that could be improved with a few tweaks

Rating for tour operator:

Tour Manager was excellent

Ffestiniog Travel by Nightowl, 10 Jul 2019
Holiday Rating:

appalachian Tour USA

Touring railway establishments in the Eastern States USA

Touring railway establishments in the Eastern States USA

Rating for tour operator:

Ffestiniog Travel

Ffestiniog Travel by Mr D R 19, 9 Jul 2019
Holiday Rating:

Restfull and a trip that gave us things to see.

Add on to trip to Isle of Wight.

Add on to trip to Isle of Wight.

Rating for tour operator:

Ffestiniog Travel are excellent and go out of their way to make arrangements that work in all respects.

Ffestiniog Travel by Misty, 4 Jul 2019
Holiday Rating:

An unusual and interesting experience

The Tramways of Romania tour was a single departure and offered a close up look at tramways in six Romanian cities. The organisation was good. We enjoyed the services of a local guide who went beyond the call of duty, to look after our needs. Accomodation, with one exception was very good. The only real downside of the trip was the train travel between cities, which although interesting, involved using antiquated, overcrowded and over heated trains...

The Tramways of Romania tour was a single departure and offered a close up look at tramways in six Romanian cities. The organisation was good. We enjoyed the services of a local guide who went beyond the call of duty, to look after our needs. Accomodation, with one exception was very good. The only real downside of the trip was the train travel between cities, which although interesting, involved using antiquated, overcrowded and over heated trains. I would not tour by this means in future, unless it was in a more advanced country. The journey to and from Romania ran smoothly. It was nice to enjoy the services of two national airlines and to avoid the cheap and cheerful ones.

Rating for tour operator:

The information supplied was better than I have received from much larger operators. A lot of planning had obviously gone into the tour. This is appreciated.

Ffestiniog Travel by Davewp, 30 Jun 2019
Holiday Rating:

Great Tour

Good combination of rail travel and city sightseeing.

Good combination of rail travel and city sightseeing.

Rating for tour operator:

Friendly and flexible

Ffestiniog Travel by Ken, 30 Jun 2019
Holiday Rating:

Interesting

Well planned and interesting journey from Chur to Vienna with enjoyable narrow gauge mountain railway trips as well.

Well planned and interesting journey from Chur to Vienna with enjoyable narrow gauge mountain railway trips as well.

Rating for tour operator:

Reliable and easy to deal with. Their Brochure 'does what it says'.

Ffestiniog Travel by Mick, 26 Jun 2019
Holiday Rating:

Spectacular scenery, superb excursions

Staying at a superbly situated hotel in the lovely town of Luzern, the holiday provided superb excursions, by a variety of means of transport, amidst some spectacular scenery, The cogwheel railway ride to the summit of Rigi and the descent from the top of Mount Pilatus via the Dragon Ride and the Panoramic Gondolas are particularly worthy of a mention

Staying at a superbly situated hotel in the lovely town of Luzern, the holiday provided superb excursions, by a variety of means of transport, amidst some spectacular scenery, The cogwheel railway ride to the summit of Rigi and the descent from the top of Mount Pilatus via the Dragon Ride and the Panoramic Gondolas are particularly worthy of a mention

Rating for tour operator:

Ffestiniog Travel Excellent pre-visit communication and organisation. Provided excellent accommodation and excursions with a very good tour manager. It's also great to be able to "do your own thing" if you so wish. Will certainly book with these again. Five Star!

Reviewer's images:
Ffestiniog Travel by Jay, 26 Jun 2019
Holiday Rating:

Fabulous lake and mountains week in Lucerne

We travelled by Eurostar from St Pancras to Paris the TGV to Basel and finally train to Lucerne. We stayed at the marvellous hotel Seeburg right on the lake withe unbeatable views of the lake and mountains including Lucerne's own mountain, Pilatus. We used our Tell pass to make the most of the paddle steamers, other boats and several mountain rail and cable car trips. This is a holiday we have had several times and each time it's great!

We travelled by Eurostar from St Pancras to Paris the TGV to Basel and finally train to Lucerne. We stayed at the marvellous hotel Seeburg right on the lake withe unbeatable views of the lake and mountains including Lucerne's own mountain, Pilatus. We used our Tell pass to make the most of the paddle steamers, other boats and several mountain rail and cable car trips. This is a holiday we have had several times and each time it's great!

Rating for tour operator:

Ffestiniog Travel are a small company but we have found superbly helpful with a lovely human touch. We have been on an escorted tour and several independent holidays with them and wouldn't hesitate to recommend them.

Ffestiniog Travel by Davyth, 25 Jun 2019
Holiday Rating:

The best of Switzerland

My wife and I took a tailor-made tour of Switzerland using railways. The hotels were well chosen and reasonably priced. The connections worked well. Enough time was given for us to visit museums etc and enjoy trips on boats and cable cars etc.

My wife and I took a tailor-made tour of Switzerland using railways. The hotels were well chosen and reasonably priced. The connections worked well. Enough time was given for us to visit museums etc and enjoy trips on boats and cable cars etc.

Rating for tour operator:

We were able to visit the travel agent and discuss personally where to go and how much time to allocate to each resort. Their knowledge and experience enabled us to adapt our original ideas and arrive at exactly what we wanted.

Ffestiniog Travel by Holly , 25 Jun 2019
Holiday Rating:

Lake Lucerne

We saw countryside and mountains, went on trips and saw things we wouldn’t have otherwise seen if we were on our own

We saw countryside and mountains, went on trips and saw things we wouldn’t have otherwise seen if we were on our own

Rating for tour operator:

She went out of her way to make everything was as planned