AITO: The Association of Independent Tour Operators
Ffestiniog Travel

Ffestiniog Travel Traveller Reviews

Reviews of Ffestiniog Travel

Overall Company Rating
97%
Excellent 252
Good 28
Average 3
Poor 1
Terrible 0
Reviews Submitted: 284
Reviews Accepted: 284
Reviews Rejected: 0
284 reviews
Sort by:
Ffestiniog Travel by Ms l m 19, 6 Oct 2019
Holiday Rating:

Fantastic Scottish Island Holiday

Travelled from Glasgow to Scottish Islands and returned to Edinburgh. Journeyed on trains, boats and coach. Stayed at excellent hotels and food was usually excellent

Travelled from Glasgow to Scottish Islands and returned to Edinburgh. Journeyed on trains, boats and coach. Stayed at excellent hotels and food was usually excellent

Rating for tour operator:

He was very knowledgeable and gave lots of local information

Moldova and Eastern Romania by crochet lady, 5 Oct 2019
Holiday Rating:

Interesting mix of good and not so good

Accommodation varied between excellent, good and awful. Interesting itinerary with very good local guides.

Accommodation varied between excellent, good and awful. Interesting itinerary with very good local guides.

Rating for tour operator:

Did what was promised, but tour manager did not go the extra mile.

Ffestiniog Travel by Elizabeth, 29 Sep 2019
Holiday Rating:

Visiting the Baltic - a four centre holiday

We flew from Birmingham to Helsinki for 2 nights then ferry to Tallinn for 2 nights, train to Tartu for 1 night and train to Riga for 2 nights flying back to Birmingham

We flew from Birmingham to Helsinki for 2 nights then ferry to Tallinn for 2 nights, train to Tartu for 1 night and train to Riga for 2 nights flying back to Birmingham

Rating for tour operator:

Ffestiniog Travel book all flights hotels and travel having been given the places we would like to visit. They produce a clear itinerary as we are unescorted which is straightforward and simple to follow.

Journées du Patrimoine by Del boy, 26 Sep 2019
Holiday Rating:

An excellent holiday with good leadership and good travelling companions

This holiday met all my expectations

This holiday met all my expectations

Rating for tour operator:

I have travelled with Ffestiniog Travel on a number of occasions and have never been disappointed with the arrangements made both before the Holiday and during the Holiday.

Ffestiniog Travel by Hilhap, 19 Sep 2019
Holiday Rating:

Perfect Train Travel

This is the first time we have used Ffestiniog Trave, theyl arranged our train travel to visit friends in Leipzig, Germany. Everything was excellent, the hotels were close to each station, the train times were as we requested, a completely trouble free experience, highly recommended.

This is the first time we have used Ffestiniog Trave, theyl arranged our train travel to visit friends in Leipzig, Germany. Everything was excellent, the hotels were close to each station, the train times were as we requested, a completely trouble free experience, highly recommended.

Rating for tour operator:

Ffestiniog Travel is a small company specialising in holidays including rail travel, it is run by people who really care about your holiday & ensure you have a trouble free time.

Ffestiniog Travel by LNWR109, 19 Sep 2019
Holiday Rating:

A well-organised and enjoyable fortnight in Switzerland

We have used Ffestiniog Travel for many years, so they were an obvious choice for arranging this holiday. As previously, we have specified when we wish to travel and where we would like to stay, and this has been arranged for us along with all the necessary travel tickets. The two hotels in Switzerland were both excellent, although the Le Grand Hotel in Strasbourg where we stayed for one night on the way out and back, was as usual variable...

We have used Ffestiniog Travel for many years, so they were an obvious choice for arranging this holiday. As previously, we have specified when we wish to travel and where we would like to stay, and this has been arranged for us along with all the necessary travel tickets. The two hotels in Switzerland were both excellent, although the Le Grand Hotel in Strasbourg where we stayed for one night on the way out and back, was as usual variable. We also used a baggage courier which was the first time Ffestiniog Travel had done this, which worked well and we would recommend it.

Rating for tour operator:

Ffesiniog Travel was formed in the 1960s to provide holidays by rail and also become what was then an accredited British Rail ticket agency. In the early days the tours appealed mainly to railway enthusiasts, but their current programme has a much wider appeal. Most of the holidays we have booked with them have been tailor-made to our specifications, and this has always worked very well. We did go on an escorted tour with them to the Harz mountains earlier this year where we were well looked after.

Ffestiniog Travel by Russian railways fan, 14 Sep 2019
Holiday Rating:

Moscow and St. Petersburg sighsteeing and railway museums.

Unescorted holiday, assisted by local Russian colleagues who acted as guides. I speak a little Russian, which helped when asking for directions et al. Travel in the cities by metro, which was safe and efficient. Sapsan train from Moscow to St. Petersburg. The holiday exceeded my expectations.

Unescorted holiday, assisted by local Russian colleagues who acted as guides. I speak a little Russian, which helped when asking for directions et al. Travel in the cities by metro, which was safe and efficient. Sapsan train from Moscow to St. Petersburg. The holiday exceeded my expectations.

Rating for tour operator:

Very professional and showed considerable support, patience and forbearance. Contact maintained through the holiday via email.

Ffestiniog Travel by QUIZMASTER, 21 Aug 2019
Holiday Rating:

FANTASTIC FRENCH HOLIDAY BY TRAIN

Travelled from Manchester to London . 2 nights in London. Eurostar down to Avignon 4 nights stay there. Good base for Nimes, Arles and Orange sightseeing. 5 nights in Nice and then 3 nights in Paris and then back home. It was a family holiday 4 adults and 2 children. everything arranged by Ffestiniog Travel [hotels and train tickets] never a hitch

Travelled from Manchester to London . 2 nights in London. Eurostar down to Avignon 4 nights stay there. Good base for Nimes, Arles and Orange sightseeing. 5 nights in Nice and then 3 nights in Paris and then back home. It was a family holiday 4 adults and 2 children. everything arranged by Ffestiniog Travel [hotels and train tickets] never a hitch

Rating for tour operator:

Brilliant organising skills. very friendly

Ffestiniog Travel by Solo Aussie, 12 Aug 2019
Holiday Rating:

Montenegro 2019

Train trip from Belgrade through the glorious mountains to the Dalmation Coast. It included lunch with local farmers, entertainment from local villagers, staying in an Eco village with breathtaking scenery. Busses took us through forests to the tops of the mountains back down the other side with valleys opening up before us. Waterfalls, lakes, visiting the birth of springs. Canyons. Taking us into the cultural diversity of the region, where ...

Train trip from Belgrade through the glorious mountains to the Dalmation Coast. It included lunch with local farmers, entertainment from local villagers, staying in an Eco village with breathtaking scenery. Busses took us through forests to the tops of the mountains back down the other side with valleys opening up before us. Waterfalls, lakes, visiting the birth of springs. Canyons. Taking us into the cultural diversity of the region, where tourism is yet to find these jewels. A small group which was intimate and personal. Then to the magnificent coast, Ffestiniog mixed it up with something different every day. First time I've travelled with Ffestiniog and I was very impressed. That much, that I visited their office to meet the crew that put such a great trip together before returning back to Australia!

Rating for tour operator:

Ffestiniog packaged a fantastic holiday together. I'm neither a train nerd, nor a frequent group traveller, having done many solo trips on my own. Here's where they excelled as being a small group, I didn't feel pressured into seeing everything into a short time, instead they were very flexible,rearranging things to suit the groups interests. We had some timetables but they weren't rushed, and we participated in the actual culture instead of just being outsiders watching it. When I left the group I continued my travels and had Ffestiniog organise more train trips for me which went very smoothly. I'd certainly recommend this group and just wish I didn't live so far away!

Ffestiniog Travel by Shipwright, 9 Aug 2019
Holiday Rating:

Cherry blossom

An interesting holiday spoilt by the local guide who wasted so much time on site, and treated us like children, many potential sites were missed but those visited were of excellent value and interest .A shame that Anthony and Eri did not conduct the whole of guiding.

An interesting holiday spoilt by the local guide who wasted so much time on site, and treated us like children, many potential sites were missed but those visited were of excellent value and interest .A shame that Anthony and Eri did not conduct the whole of guiding.

Rating for tour operator:

Have used Ffestiniog for many holidays and find their services excellent for both tailor made and group trips, and are always willing to cater for individual needs.