AITO: The Association of Independent Tour Operators
Ffestiniog Travel

Ffestiniog Travel Traveller Reviews

Reviews of Ffestiniog Travel

Overall Company Rating
97%
Excellent 252
Good 28
Average 3
Poor 1
Terrible 0
Reviews Submitted: 284
Reviews Accepted: 284
Reviews Rejected: 0
284 reviews
Sort by:
Ffestiniog Travel by NENE, 6 Aug 2019
Holiday Rating:

Lake District Steam Extravaganza

Was a well organized holiday that did all they said they would. The hotels were clean and staff polite and helpful. The Tour Guide was good and well organized. The coach drivers that took us on our daily trips were polite and knew what they were doing.

Was a well organized holiday that did all they said they would. The hotels were clean and staff polite and helpful. The Tour Guide was good and well organized. The coach drivers that took us on our daily trips were polite and knew what they were doing.

Rating for tour operator:

This is my second trip with them and if I am going on another Rail Holidays I will go with them.

Ffestiniog Travel by Gordon B, 3 Aug 2019
Holiday Rating:

The Grand Artcic was just that.

Starting in Bergen in Norway and heading north to the Arctic Circle via Oslo to Narvik, crossing into Sweden and down to Stockholm. A good trip including some things I have always wanted to do, like the Flåm railway, Narvik and the Inlandsbanan in Sweden.

Starting in Bergen in Norway and heading north to the Arctic Circle via Oslo to Narvik, crossing into Sweden and down to Stockholm. A good trip including some things I have always wanted to do, like the Flåm railway, Narvik and the Inlandsbanan in Sweden.

Rating for tour operator:

Ffestiniog Travel are a specialist railway tour operator who specialize on tours with a good content of railways, with days to explore included.

Ffestiniog Travel by Wizeowl, 2 Aug 2019
Holiday Rating:

A transport extravaganza in the Lakes

Good mix of familiar and less obvious experiences for fans of steam propulsion, lake cruises and general transport.

Good mix of familiar and less obvious experiences for fans of steam propulsion, lake cruises and general transport.

Rating for tour operator:

Provider of imaginative tours with flexibility to tailor to individual requirements.

Ffestiniog Travel by Dora1, 29 Jul 2019
Holiday Rating:

Wedding Anniversary Rail Tour

This was a bespoke railway touring holiday of Scotland organized for us by Ffestiniog Travel as a 50th Wedding Anniversary present. It included visits to Inverness, Edinburgh, Glasgow, Fort William and Mallaig.

This was a bespoke railway touring holiday of Scotland organized for us by Ffestiniog Travel as a 50th Wedding Anniversary present. It included visits to Inverness, Edinburgh, Glasgow, Fort William and Mallaig.

Rating for tour operator:

Ffestiniog Travel provided us an excellent personal service and organized a customized tailor made holiday to suite our available time and preferences.

Ffestiniog Travel by almalmac, 29 Jul 2019
Holiday Rating:

Scandinavia in a fortnight

Travelled unescorted by rail all the way from Chester UK to Bergen Norway via Eurostar / Belgium / Cologne and Hamburg in Germany / Odense in Denmark / Stockhom in Sweden and in Norway Oslo and finally Bergen. Flew back to Manchester from Bergen.

Travelled unescorted by rail all the way from Chester UK to Bergen Norway via Eurostar / Belgium / Cologne and Hamburg in Germany / Odense in Denmark / Stockhom in Sweden and in Norway Oslo and finally Bergen. Flew back to Manchester from Bergen.

Rating for tour operator:

Festiniog Travel very helpful in putting our bespoke itinerary together with the seat reservations on all the many trains we travelled on - which worked spot on -as well as all hotel reservations and flight home. Only hiccup was at Manchester Airport where we waited almost as long as the flight from Bergen on the Sunday evening, for our bags to come from our plane to the carousel.

Ffestiniog Travel by anm53, 19 Jul 2019
Holiday Rating:

The Grand Arctic - Rushing around Norway & Sweden by train

3 nights each in Bergen and Oslo; 2 nights in Stockholm. The rest of the time was spent travelling around Norway and Sweden by train, with train journeys of up to 10 hours a day. Some days meant setting the alarm clock for 6.00am which did not feel lilke a holiday. The holiday "did what it said on the tin" in terms of brochure accuracy, but left us feeling a bit disatisfied, that we hadn't spent more time seeing more of Norway & Sweden other ...

3 nights each in Bergen and Oslo; 2 nights in Stockholm. The rest of the time was spent travelling around Norway and Sweden by train, with train journeys of up to 10 hours a day. Some days meant setting the alarm clock for 6.00am which did not feel lilke a holiday. The holiday "did what it said on the tin" in terms of brochure accuracy, but left us feeling a bit disatisfied, that we hadn't spent more time seeing more of Norway & Sweden other than through a train window.

Rating for tour operator:

Alll the travel arrangements worked efficiently. However, the role of our tour guide was limited to making sure we got between the railway station and hotel, and vice versa. he sometime failed to communicate arrangements for the next day, and twice i had to send him a text message to find out what was happening. He provided no introduction to the cities we visited, A good tour guide would have enabled us to get much more out of the holiday.

Ffestiniog Travel responded to this review on 22 Jul 2019:

Thank you for taking the time to submit your feedback. Customer feedback is something we take very seriously and encourage as we strive to continually improve our product. I am pleased to hear that your arrangements worked efficiently and you received exactly what you had booked for. I completely understand your comment about the early starts. I am afraid that rail services in some remote destinations are very limited, with some having only one departure per day. This I am afraid was the case with two of the journeys on the Grand Arctic tour, both of which were highly scenic and a highlight of the itinerary.

Ffestiniog Travel Tour Leaders are there mainly for the well being of the group and to take customers safely and efficiently from A to B. Our Tour Leaders also add value to the holiday by helping to make the best use of any free time, of which there was very little on the Grand Arctic tour. Please be assured that your Tour Leader would have been only too happy to help with any queries that you may have had. We will take steps to ensure that Tour Leaders ensure the entire group have received the information they need for onward travel arrangements on all future tours. Thank you once again and I do hope that we can be of service to you in the future. With kind regards, Maria Cook (General Manager)

Ffestiniog Travel by speed_king, 12 Jul 2019
Holiday Rating:

Enjoyable experience

A good holiday that could be improved with a few tweaks

A good holiday that could be improved with a few tweaks

Rating for tour operator:

Tour Manager was excellent

Ffestiniog Travel by Nightowl, 10 Jul 2019
Holiday Rating:

appalachian Tour USA

Touring railway establishments in the Eastern States USA

Touring railway establishments in the Eastern States USA

Rating for tour operator:

Ffestiniog Travel

Ffestiniog Travel by Mr D R 19, 9 Jul 2019
Holiday Rating:

Restfull and a trip that gave us things to see.

Add on to trip to Isle of Wight.

Add on to trip to Isle of Wight.

Rating for tour operator:

Ffestiniog Travel are excellent and go out of their way to make arrangements that work in all respects.

Ffestiniog Travel by Misty, 4 Jul 2019
Holiday Rating:

An unusual and interesting experience

The Tramways of Romania tour was a single departure and offered a close up look at tramways in six Romanian cities. The organisation was good. We enjoyed the services of a local guide who went beyond the call of duty, to look after our needs. Accomodation, with one exception was very good. The only real downside of the trip was the train travel between cities, which although interesting, involved using antiquated, overcrowded and over heated trains...

The Tramways of Romania tour was a single departure and offered a close up look at tramways in six Romanian cities. The organisation was good. We enjoyed the services of a local guide who went beyond the call of duty, to look after our needs. Accomodation, with one exception was very good. The only real downside of the trip was the train travel between cities, which although interesting, involved using antiquated, overcrowded and over heated trains. I would not tour by this means in future, unless it was in a more advanced country. The journey to and from Romania ran smoothly. It was nice to enjoy the services of two national airlines and to avoid the cheap and cheerful ones.

Rating for tour operator:

The information supplied was better than I have received from much larger operators. A lot of planning had obviously gone into the tour. This is appreciated.