AITO: The Association of Independent Tour Operators
Ffestiniog Travel

Ffestiniog Travel Traveller Reviews

Reviews of Ffestiniog Travel

Overall Company Rating
97%
Excellent 237
Good 27
Average 3
Poor 1
Terrible 0
Reviews Submitted: 268
Reviews Accepted: 268
Reviews Rejected: 0
268 reviews
Sort by:
Ffestiniog Travel by Neil, 23 Jun 2019
Holiday Rating:

Nicely organised weekend outing to the Ffestiniog Railway

A lovely hotel at Portmerrion (food recommended), linked to a twice per year special train on the Ffestiniog & Welsh Highland Railway

A lovely hotel at Portmerrion (food recommended), linked to a twice per year special train on the Ffestiniog & Welsh Highland Railway

Rating for tour operator:

Helpful, friendly staff. Great to deal direct

Ffestiniog Travel by AndrewT, 21 Jun 2019
Holiday Rating:

Round Europe by Rail

We asked Ffestiniog Travel to design an itinerary enabling us to spend a week in Croatia, travelling out and back by rail by different routes. No overnight travel was involved to enable us to view the scenery. We stayed overnight in Cologne, Munich, Zagreb, Innsbruck and Paris, spending a week in Split. The whole trip took 14 days. All connections worked smoothly and the booked hotels were excellent. Disabled assistance was first rate, with ...

We asked Ffestiniog Travel to design an itinerary enabling us to spend a week in Croatia, travelling out and back by rail by different routes. No overnight travel was involved to enable us to view the scenery. We stayed overnight in Cologne, Munich, Zagreb, Innsbruck and Paris, spending a week in Split. The whole trip took 14 days. All connections worked smoothly and the booked hotels were excellent. Disabled assistance was first rate, with wheelchair assistance was waiting alongside our carriage as the trains arrived in the stations. A very relaxing and satisfying holiday arranged by a top-rate tour organiser. We will certainly use them again and would recommend them to anyone.

Rating for tour operator:

Excellent personal service from our agent who drew up an initial itinerary and modified it to suit our requirements perfectly. Tickets, hotel booking and other information was well presented and easy to understand. Very professional.

Ffestiniog Travel by andy1007, 19 Jun 2019
Holiday Rating:

A great day out on the little trains of Wales.

Travelling on the Snowdonian train of the Ffestiniog/Welsh Highland Railway was a great day out. Everything was very well organised. The lunch of a Hog Roast was very plentiful and along with an organised tea later we went home very satisfied.

Travelling on the Snowdonian train of the Ffestiniog/Welsh Highland Railway was a great day out. Everything was very well organised. The lunch of a Hog Roast was very plentiful and along with an organised tea later we went home very satisfied.

Rating for tour operator:

Good communication prior to the trip. It was let down by the hotel we stayed at not being advised of a credit towards an evening meal. This led to an awkward situation at checkout.

Ffestiniog Travel by Gordon, 10 Jun 2019
Holiday Rating:

A lot of experience in a short space of time

Travel across Europe by train plus the chance to explore the Harz Mountains in Germany

Travel across Europe by train plus the chance to explore the Harz Mountains in Germany

Rating for tour operator:

Very knowledgeable about train travel

Ffestiniog Travel by Hampshireman, 10 Jun 2019
Holiday Rating:

On the right track.

Enjoyable holiday by rail, to and around the Harz area of Eastern Germany.

Enjoyable holiday by rail, to and around the Harz area of Eastern Germany.

Rating for tour operator:

Ffestiniog Travel holidays combine flexibility for the individual with the advantages of group travel. I have been travelling with them since 1978.

Ffestiniog Travel by LNWR109, 9 Jun 2019
Holiday Rating:

An excellent short break, but with a lot of travelling to get there and back.

The trip was the Harz Explorer. We went by train from St Pancras to Wernigerode in the Sachsen Anhalt region of Germany. We styed overnight in Aachen on the way out and Essen on the return. Both hotels were close to the station. The hotel in Wernigerode was centrally situated, well appointed and comfortable. There were opportunities to ride the Harz steam trains (and the rest of the HSB system) or alternatively visit the local tourist attrac...

The trip was the Harz Explorer. We went by train from St Pancras to Wernigerode in the Sachsen Anhalt region of Germany. We styed overnight in Aachen on the way out and Essen on the return. Both hotels were close to the station. The hotel in Wernigerode was centrally situated, well appointed and comfortable. There were opportunities to ride the Harz steam trains (and the rest of the HSB system) or alternatively visit the local tourist attractions in Wernigerode and nearby Quedlinburg.

Rating for tour operator:

FFestiniog Travel were very helpful. We were supplied with sufficient information in advance, and the tour worked exactly as advertised. The tour manager was very helpful in making sure we had all the information we needed, and also made some suggestions for trips out and places to eat in the evening.

Ffestiniog Travel by Gill, 5 Jun 2019
Holiday Rating:

Came up to my expectations

A railway-based tour following the Elbe river from sea (Hamburg) to source (mountains near Prague). We had Inter-rail tickets which allowed for both group travel and individual flexibility. The hotels were of good quality, the tour manager was very competent, and the itinerary was well put together

A railway-based tour following the Elbe river from sea (Hamburg) to source (mountains near Prague). We had Inter-rail tickets which allowed for both group travel and individual flexibility. The hotels were of good quality, the tour manager was very competent, and the itinerary was well put together

Rating for tour operator:

Ffestiniog travel specialises in railway-based holidays with interesting itineraries

Ffestiniog Travel by Puru, 17 May 2019
Holiday Rating:

Well planned custom holiday from my fairly vague brief

Rail trip from London to Prague, then stops in Bratislava, Budapest, Arad, Viseu de Sus and Bucharest before flying home. Time in each place for a bit of culture and to explore the tram systems, and the logging railway at Viseu de Sus.

Rail trip from London to Prague, then stops in Bratislava, Budapest, Arad, Viseu de Sus and Bucharest before flying home. Time in each place for a bit of culture and to explore the tram systems, and the logging railway at Viseu de Sus.

Rating for tour operator:

Engaged, approachable, presented good options with all information delivered in a timely manner. Met my brief exactly.

Reviewer's images:
Ffestiniog Travel by David M, 3 May 2019
Holiday Rating:

Family wedding and other adventures in Portugal!

Ffestiniog Travel arranged a fantastic holiday for us around our son's wedding on the Algarve. They put together an itinerary for our post wedding holiday which took in the main cities and gave us a real flavour of the country. Our 2 day train journey home was much more pleasant than the scummage at an airport, in spite of one two technical hitches.

Ffestiniog Travel arranged a fantastic holiday for us around our son's wedding on the Algarve. They put together an itinerary for our post wedding holiday which took in the main cities and gave us a real flavour of the country. Our 2 day train journey home was much more pleasant than the scummage at an airport, in spite of one two technical hitches.

Rating for tour operator:

Ffestinniog travel is very efficient and made sure all our requirements were met.

Ffestiniog Travel by teasmade, 1 May 2019
Holiday Rating:

Italian visit

Stays in Venice Sorrento and Rome with excursions

Stays in Venice Sorrento and Rome with excursions

Rating for tour operator:

Everything always works as anticipated