AITO: The Association of Independent Tour Operators
Ffestiniog Travel

Ffestiniog Travel Traveller Reviews

Reviews of Ffestiniog Travel

Overall Company Rating
97%
Excellent 248
Good 28
Average 3
Poor 1
Terrible 0
Reviews Submitted: 280
Reviews Accepted: 280
Reviews Rejected: 0
280 reviews
Sort by:
Ffestiniog Travel by Richard, 28 Sep 2015
Holiday Rating:

A joy from start to finish

Swiss Alpine holiday with 2 weeks in various regions of Switzerland. 1st class rail travel throughout, small compact group lead by excellent knowledgable tour leader who provided excellent advice and information. This felt a very personal holiday, well organised and with flxibility to do your own thing and not be herded around in a large group. Thoroughly recommended with most of the rest of the group having taken many holidays with Ffestiniog

Swiss Alpine holiday with 2 weeks in various regions of Switzerland. 1st class rail travel throughout, small compact group lead by excellent knowledgable tour leader who provided excellent advice and information. This felt a very personal holiday, well organised and with flxibility to do your own thing and not be herded around in a large group. Thoroughly recommended with most of the rest of the group having taken many holidays with Ffestiniog

Rating for tour operator:

Ffestiniog Travel is small tour operator speciallising in rail holidays, this was our first trip and the organisation and support was first rate from beginning to end.Nothing was too much trouble from the organiser and the support and advice given by the tour leader was excellent, this made it one of the most enjoyable holidays I have been on

Ffestiniog Travel by motty, 25 Sep 2015
Holiday Rating:

a nice relaxing and stuning views

A holiday by train from St Pancras to Switzerland Small friendly group Very Knowledgeable Guide who had plenty of ideas from heritage to trains Hotel Choice excellent Included first class Swiss pass Free trains boats buses trams trolley buses And reduced fares to museums for full time in Switzerland. Also included a trip on the Glacier Express And Bernina Express

A holiday by train from St Pancras to Switzerland Small friendly group Very Knowledgeable Guide who had plenty of ideas from heritage to trains Hotel Choice excellent Included first class Swiss pass Free trains boats buses trams trolley buses And reduced fares to museums for full time in Switzerland. Also included a trip on the Glacier Express And Bernina Express

Rating for tour operator:

Tempting range of tours Pleasure to do Business with knowledgeable staff

Ffestiniog Travel by lincolnlynn, 24 Sep 2015
Holiday Rating:

A great experience with a lot of freedom to do our own thing

We had an experienced overseas traveller with excellent knowledge of the area as our tour leader. He was happy for us to ask for his advice on travel arrangements, letting us do our own thing or we could join in to the optional excursions he had arranged. This is a very different approach from that of some other railway holiday companies who herd you around and at times you have but a couple of hours of 'me time' on the whole trip and at other ...

We had an experienced overseas traveller with excellent knowledge of the area as our tour leader. He was happy for us to ask for his advice on travel arrangements, letting us do our own thing or we could join in to the optional excursions he had arranged. This is a very different approach from that of some other railway holiday companies who herd you around and at times you have but a couple of hours of 'me time' on the whole trip and at other times are treated as a class of naughty school children.

Rating for tour operator:

Ffestiniog Travel Penrhyndeadraeth Wales. Nothing you ask is too trivial. They are happy to modify your outward and return travel arrangements and extend your stay to tailor your holiday to your exact requirements. They use only experienced travellers as their tour leaders and give value for money.

Ffestiniog Travel by FJ, 22 Sep 2015
Holiday Rating:

Tailor-made trip to Germany

Rail touring in Germany, based at Hamburg (4 nights) and Dresden (1 night).

Rail touring in Germany, based at Hamburg (4 nights) and Dresden (1 night).

Rating for tour operator:

Ffestiniog Travel booked me with two weeks and two days until departure date, to join friends who had booked some time previously. I got exactly as I requested organised by return.

Ffestiniog Travel by Liz, 21 Sep 2015
Holiday Rating:

Exploring Poland by rail

We had a 4 city holiday flying into Warsaw and then by train to Gdansk onto Poznan and finishing in Krakow flying back home to Birmingham. We had roughly a day and half in the first three cities and a couple of days in Krakow. We greatly enjoyed the trip - people extremely helpful and the standard of the hotels and the cuisine much above expectation. We travelled unescorted which meant we didn't feel quite so touristy. Highly recommended.

We had a 4 city holiday flying into Warsaw and then by train to Gdansk onto Poznan and finishing in Krakow flying back home to Birmingham. We had roughly a day and half in the first three cities and a couple of days in Krakow. We greatly enjoyed the trip - people extremely helpful and the standard of the hotels and the cuisine much above expectation. We travelled unescorted which meant we didn't feel quite so touristy. Highly recommended.

Rating for tour operator:

Ffestiniog Travel organised the whole trip booking our flights, accommodation and train tickets plus transfers to and from the airport. We chose the cities we wanted to visit and they did the rest.

Ffestiniog Travel by William Tell, 18 Sep 2015
Holiday Rating:

A journey to Luzern, Switzerland and back

This was a holiday arranged by Ffestiniog Travel to Luzern travelling by Eurostar to Paris, TGV/Lyria to Basel and IR train to Luzern. The actual holiday time was 6 days and much was achieved in those days thanks to the Swiss Rail Pass. The travel arrangements by Ffestiniog Travel were particularly good (and meticulous!) Having mostly travelled by air in the past, it was refreshing to watch the world go by and quite astonishing to accomplish ...

This was a holiday arranged by Ffestiniog Travel to Luzern travelling by Eurostar to Paris, TGV/Lyria to Basel and IR train to Luzern. The actual holiday time was 6 days and much was achieved in those days thanks to the Swiss Rail Pass. The travel arrangements by Ffestiniog Travel were particularly good (and meticulous!) Having mostly travelled by air in the past, it was refreshing to watch the world go by and quite astonishing to accomplish St Pancras to Luzern in one day! We were blessed with good weather and stayed in a very good hotel thanks to Ffestiniog Travel. We would definitely contemplate another holiday by rail in the future.

Rating for tour operator:

Ffestiniog Travel organizes trips by rail around the world and operates from Machynlleth in Wales.I have known of the company for some years now but my wife and I have usually taken holidays by air. This was the first time we used rail exclusively and clearly Ffestiniog Travel know their business. We would recommend the company wholeheartedly.

Ffestiniog Travel responded to this review on 18 Sep 2015:

Dear Mr Francis, Thank you so much for your wonderful feedback, it really is appreciated. Please note Machynlleth is a branch office and the head office is based in Penrhyndeudraeth, North Wales. You may also like to know that whilst we are rail specialists, we can also provide holidays by air. I hope we can be of service to you in the future. Best regards, Maria Cook, General Manager

Ffestiniog Travel by Hetty, 2 Sep 2015
Holiday Rating:

Independent train travel over 3 weeks to and in Germany

Using trains for environmental reasons we travelled from York to Germany and back with a week's self-planned excursion into Alsace. Within Germany we stayed in hotels and with friends and did a mixture of forest hiking and city sightseeing, with one of us also attending a conference. We had major journeys on 9 of our 24 days away.

Using trains for environmental reasons we travelled from York to Germany and back with a week's self-planned excursion into Alsace. Within Germany we stayed in hotels and with friends and did a mixture of forest hiking and city sightseeing, with one of us also attending a conference. We had major journeys on 9 of our 24 days away.

Rating for tour operator:

We gave them an outline itinerary with suggestions and alternatives and they came up with a very well planned timetable plus two very good and convenient hotels. They were very helpful when we had dialogues about the best routes and timings. They were very courteous and came up with the answers pretty quickly given the complexity. Using trains for environmental reasons we travelled from York to Germany and back with a week's self-planned excursion into Alsace. Within Germany we stayed in hotels and with friends and did a mixture of forest hiking and city sightseeing, with one of us also attending a conference. We had major journeys on 9 of our 24 days away.

Ffestiniog Travel by Train fan of Paignton, 24 Jul 2015
Holiday Rating:

Grand Austrian Tramways

We travelled by rail from London to Austria with a party of 18 in total. We visited the principal tramway systems and mountain railways in Austria. The travel arrangements and excursions were excellent. The tour leader was knowledgeable, and quietly efficient. The party of like minded enthusiasts gelled well together. Unfortunately we were badly let down by german railways on the return journey from Frankfurt to Brussels with an unscheduled ...

We travelled by rail from London to Austria with a party of 18 in total. We visited the principal tramway systems and mountain railways in Austria. The travel arrangements and excursions were excellent. The tour leader was knowledgeable, and quietly efficient. The party of like minded enthusiasts gelled well together. Unfortunately we were badly let down by german railways on the return journey from Frankfurt to Brussels with an unscheduled change of trains, together with the train terminating one station short of its destination in Brussels, making it a panic to catch our Eurostar train home. We understand this is a fairly common occurrence.

Rating for tour operator:

This is the third holiday we have undertaken with Ffestiniog Travel who offer something that little bit different. We have enjoyed all three holidays without reservation, and hope to travel with them again soon. We would not hesitate to recommend them to our friends.

Ffestiniog Travel by Mr D K 15, 21 Jul 2015
Holiday Rating:

From initial booking to the completion of the tour Ffestiniog Travel were exemplary. A very detailed itinerary was sent prior to departure and was very carefully thought out and planned. All travel arrangements and pre bookings throughout went withou

The holiday was entitled the Hebridean and Orcadian Odyssey and began in Glasgow and included tours of the Outer Hebrides, Isle of Skye, railway excursions and transfers on the Scottish mainland and a tour of the mainland of Orkney. Included were visits to places of historical and geographical interest and of course Whisky Distilleries.

The holiday was entitled the Hebridean and Orcadian Odyssey and began in Glasgow and included tours of the Outer Hebrides, Isle of Skye, railway excursions and transfers on the Scottish mainland and a tour of the mainland of Orkney. Included were visits to places of historical and geographical interest and of course Whisky Distilleries.

Rating for tour operator:

This is the second organised tour i have taken with Ffestiniog Travel, which speaks for itself. See also, sbove comments.

Ffestiniog Travel by D&J, 8 Jul 2015
Holiday Rating:

A good introduction to USA

A very good tour of USA canyons but one that could have been excellent with some tweaks to the itinerary.

A very good tour of USA canyons but one that could have been excellent with some tweaks to the itinerary.

Rating for tour operator:

Good operator. Main Coach operator very good but others not so. More information during tour would have been welcomed to enable us to make better use of our free days at San Francisco, Grand Canyon, Yosemite & Bryce.