AITO: The Association of Independent Tour Operators
Ffestiniog Travel

Ffestiniog Travel Traveller Reviews

Reviews of Ffestiniog Travel

Overall Company Rating
97%
Excellent 237
Good 27
Average 3
Poor 1
Terrible 0
Reviews Submitted: 268
Reviews Accepted: 268
Reviews Rejected: 0
268 reviews
Sort by:
Ffestiniog Travel by Ally, 23 Jun 2015
Holiday Rating:

Rail Tour of Scandinavia

This holiday was for a party of 7 Seniors. Travel by Eurostar to Brussels and onward by train to Cologne to Hamburg. After an overnight stay onwards to Copenhagen for three nights. Train to Stockholm for 3 nights. Train from Stockholm to Lulea ( Northern Sweden) One night stay then bus to Finnish border and then bus to Kemi (Finland). One night stay then train to Helsinki for 2 nights. Ferry to Stockholm, train to Copenhagen Airport and Easy ...

This holiday was for a party of 7 Seniors. Travel by Eurostar to Brussels and onward by train to Cologne to Hamburg. After an overnight stay onwards to Copenhagen for three nights. Train to Stockholm for 3 nights. Train from Stockholm to Lulea ( Northern Sweden) One night stay then bus to Finnish border and then bus to Kemi (Finland). One night stay then train to Helsinki for 2 nights. Ferry to Stockholm, train to Copenhagen Airport and Easy Jet flight to Edinburgh

Rating for tour operator:

All rail tickets seat reservations and hotel rooms chosen for their proximity to stations were booked Over a number of months during the planning period there were numerous e-mails which were always answered immediately and in a friendly way. I cannot praise highly enough the quality of service from the company and from Mrs Liz Turner especially

Ffestiniog Travel by seat61, 15 Jun 2015
Holiday Rating:

A pleasant, relaxing experience.

A 16 day tour of Germany by rail, taking in a number of preserved steam and diesel railways.

A 16 day tour of Germany by rail, taking in a number of preserved steam and diesel railways.

Rating for tour operator:

The booking was handled very effectively, the only problem was that the tour manager did not speak German, something that would have been very useful when there were a few problems on the tour.

Ffestiniog Travel by Nick and Mary, 2 Jun 2015
Holiday Rating:

Everything that we asked for, was booked successfully and all was excellent. A Great Holiday.

A completely new venture for us, and we booked a Railway holiday through Ffestiniog Travel. This came as a recommendation from a friend, and it all worked out extremely well. All the arrangements went like clockwork, and it was a pleasure to travel on the routes suggested.

A completely new venture for us, and we booked a Railway holiday through Ffestiniog Travel. This came as a recommendation from a friend, and it all worked out extremely well. All the arrangements went like clockwork, and it was a pleasure to travel on the routes suggested.

Rating for tour operator:

Ffestiniog travel were extremely helpful at every stage of the planning and preparation, and flexible to meet our requirements. The paperwork for the rail and hotel accommodation was excellent and the locations met our every need.

Ffestiniog Travel by Flyfisher, 2 Jun 2015
Holiday Rating:

Amateur and a rip off. Otherwise very enjoyable and Hill destinations impressive

Run by railway buffs for railway buffs.The tour leader in our case (given free holiday and expenses)had no knowledge of India or places on the trip outside of his railway expertise. Despite having done the same trip four times it appears he makes no recommendations to the Company for improvements and did nothing to adapt to conditions on the tour. The tour was organized a month too early;indeed Simla was almost cancelled because of the Party ...

Run by railway buffs for railway buffs.The tour leader in our case (given free holiday and expenses)had no knowledge of India or places on the trip outside of his railway expertise. Despite having done the same trip four times it appears he makes no recommendations to the Company for improvements and did nothing to adapt to conditions on the tour. The tour was organized a month too early;indeed Simla was almost cancelled because of the Party having been snowed in the previous year.Timing presumably made to save money for the Company. Travelling logistics ,other than the Hill Railways incredibly poor and naïve. But my major complaint as a single traveller was the scandalous application of a single supplement of £995 (21%). This equated to over £50 per hotel night.This ,when I obtained published hotel tariffs from all the hotels we stayed in ;I emphasise the SUPPLEMENT-EXCEEDED the price of nightly rates of almost all accommodation.Three were as low as £23,£29 and £42. Ffestiniog confirmed we were booked in single occupancy rooms. Don't forget the holiday price already included an hotel room charge based on a shared double room rate. They also claim their booking are done through an Agency in India and they receive no discount themselves. I find this difficult to believe. Either they are being economical with the truth or they are totally naïve. They refused any sort of refund whatsoever or to make any sort of token goodwill gesture. AITO want a fee of £140 to go to arbitration. The Holiday Media have ignored my requests for help or advice. I would like my comments published on the AITO website to forewarn other single travellers. It is a disgrace.

Rating for tour operator:

Amateur, naïve,inflexible and exploitative. They seem to have little knowledge of India and the logistics necessary to travel there and clearly unwilling to employ professionals, obviously dominated by cost control. This was not a cheap holiday. Even their comments on hotels were totally out of date.In Delhi we didn't even visit the Red Fort but they took those that didn't know to the Red Fort in AGRA instead and in Darjeeling ,a run down tiny green tea station when there was a superb proper tea garden on the edge of town, with proper guides and a museum. I have travelled extensively in India;done a lot of business there and holidayed, including 5 tiger safaris.Never have I been disappointed or let down by any tour company.

Ffestiniog Travel responded to this review on 12 Jun 2015:

Dear Mr Bloomfield,
Thank you for your feedback which is important to us. We regret that you felt the need to use the AITO feedback forum to make the comments you have. This is a matter that has been on-going for several weeks and we have been honest and forthcoming with details of how the single room supplement was calculated. We sent you confidential information from our agent in India which detailed how the supplement was calculated. It is Ffestiniog Travel's policy not to profit at all on Single supplements and the information provided to you confirmed this. Also please note the £140 fee you were quoted is payable to the IDSS (Independent Dispute Settlement Service) and not AITO. AITO do not receive any money from this service. Once again, I am sorry that you feel this way and can assure you that Ffestiniog Travel has not profited whatsoever from the supplement you were charged.
Mrs Maria Cook, General Manager.

Ffestiniog Travel by Pedr, 29 May 2015
Holiday Rating:

Isle of Man

The Isle of Man is charming; everyone is so friendly. We had tickets to ride about in buses, trains and trams all week and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. I particularly liked driving a tram. The hotel was good; the meals were first-class and the wine was decent and not over-priced. The bed was most comfortable. Our guide tended to our every whim and everyone did their best to make our trip worth while. The scenery was wonderful - glens full ...

The Isle of Man is charming; everyone is so friendly. We had tickets to ride about in buses, trains and trams all week and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. I particularly liked driving a tram. The hotel was good; the meals were first-class and the wine was decent and not over-priced. The bed was most comfortable. Our guide tended to our every whim and everyone did their best to make our trip worth while. The scenery was wonderful - glens full of bluebells and mountains covered in miles of golden gorse flowers - never seen such a display in my life. The rail connections to and from our airports were impeccable, but it ought to be recorded that Manchester Airport is dreadful. It is a fair distance from the railway station to the departure point, the travolators don't work and it is uphill with the baggage to pull. Distinctly not recommended. It used to be quicker to go to the Isle of Man by boat from Llandudno than it is nowadays by train and air. On the return, Birmingham Airport did not have connections to the aircraft so again, a deal of steps and long walks. Ronaldsway (IOM) was OK. In short, Ffestiniog Travel were impeccable, the Isle of Man in enchanting, but airports need to pull their socks up, especially Manchester.

Rating for tour operator:

We have been using Ffestiniog Travel for forty years and have found their service faultless. Only place in North Wales where you can buy tickets for the Channel Tunnel. Many of the staff have become friends over the years; nothing is too much trouble for them. First class.

Ffestiniog Travel by Jim, 10 May 2015
Holiday Rating:

Off the normal tourist path in Japan

Ffestiniog Travel provided an exceptional tour of places most foreign tourists never see. Their primary guides (Anthony Robins - a long time member of the Japanese Railway Society - and his wife Ari) provide excellent daily briefs and educate well a wide range of topics relating to the current Japanese culture.

Ffestiniog Travel provided an exceptional tour of places most foreign tourists never see. Their primary guides (Anthony Robins - a long time member of the Japanese Railway Society - and his wife Ari) provide excellent daily briefs and educate well a wide range of topics relating to the current Japanese culture.

Rating for tour operator:

Ffestiniog Travel was meticulous in arranging my abbreviated version of the normal tour. All my questions were answers competently and in proper detail.

Ffestiniog Travel by Rosie, 28 Apr 2015
Holiday Rating:

Seeing Japan by train at cherry blossom time

An excellent itinerary with many opportunities to see interesting and historic places, city and countryside as well as riding an amazing variety of trains. Well organised, no glitches and conscientious guides.

An excellent itinerary with many opportunities to see interesting and historic places, city and countryside as well as riding an amazing variety of trains. Well organised, no glitches and conscientious guides.

Rating for tour operator:

The administration by Ffestiniog was good and the local knowledge/guides were the icing on the cake.

Ffestiniog Travel by Dr M G 15, 27 Feb 2015
Holiday Rating:

Great Time

Snow on the Alps. That marvelous blend of guidance and freedom (Swiss Pass in this case) the Ffestiniog Travel organises. I love being 'ferried' there, with some fixed excursions (necessary bookings, and then train hopping as much as I please on the 'free days'.

Snow on the Alps. That marvelous blend of guidance and freedom (Swiss Pass in this case) the Ffestiniog Travel organises. I love being 'ferried' there, with some fixed excursions (necessary bookings, and then train hopping as much as I please on the 'free days'.

Rating for tour operator:

Ffestiniog Travel - the right balance between guidance and freedom.

Ffestiniog Travel by Montrose, 24 Feb 2015
Holiday Rating:

Harz Winter Gala with Ffestiniog Travel

The holiday experience was in general satisfactory. There were some issues with trains, not of Ffestiniog's fault. there were however issues with two hotels used on the tour, one the Inter City at Wuppertal was dirty, secondly we arrived at our last hotel, The ibis at Euston, where no payment had been made. Both items were sorted out, the inter city gave us another room, that was better but still not top class and the reception desk, did ...

The holiday experience was in general satisfactory. There were some issues with trains, not of Ffestiniog's fault. there were however issues with two hotels used on the tour, one the Inter City at Wuppertal was dirty, secondly we arrived at our last hotel, The ibis at Euston, where no payment had been made. Both items were sorted out, the inter city gave us another room, that was better but still not top class and the reception desk, did resolve the payment issue with Ffestiniog. Just things we should not have encountered.

Rating for tour operator:

Ffestiniog Travel.

Ffestiniog Travel responded to this review on 24 Feb 2015:

I would like to thank Mr Norris for taking the time to rate his holiday.
I can confirm that we have used the Intercity Hotel at Wuppertal for many years without complaint and the hotel has previously been checked by us. We have raised Mr Norris's complaint with the hotel but are assured that this is an issue that will not be repeated.
Mr Norris was booked into the Ibis Hotel Euston for two one night stays (pre and post tour)and the hotel was given corporate card details to take full pre payment for both reservations. The hotel took payment for the first stay and failed to process the payment for the second stay. This matter was sorted immediately and Mr Norris did not have to make payment. The Ibis Hotel was at fault on this occasion and we have apologised to Mr Norris for any inconvenience caused. Maria Cook, General Manager.

Ffestiniog Travel by Mr D R 14, 7 Jan 2015
Holiday Rating:

Christmas and New Year in Switzerland

For my wife, daughter and I this was the first time we had spent Christmas and new Year away from home. It has been an unforgettable experience. There were excellent hotels and the travel arrangements worked perfectly. Having a choice each day of either a planned trip or doing our own thing made visiting Switzerland well worthwhile. Ffestiniog Travel did a great job. David and Margaret Roberts

For my wife, daughter and I this was the first time we had spent Christmas and new Year away from home. It has been an unforgettable experience. There were excellent hotels and the travel arrangements worked perfectly. Having a choice each day of either a planned trip or doing our own thing made visiting Switzerland well worthwhile. Ffestiniog Travel did a great job. David and Margaret Roberts

Rating for tour operator:

Ffestiniog Travel based in Wales and plans and organises rail holidays.