AITO: The Association of Independent Tour Operators
Expert Africa

Expert Africa Traveller Reviews

Reviews of Expert Africa

Overall Company Rating
100%
Excellent 454
Good 8
Average 1
Poor 0
Terrible 0
Reviews Submitted: 463
Reviews Accepted: 463
Reviews Rejected: 0
463 reviews
Sort by:
Tailor-made Botswana Safari by K. from Canmore, 20 Jun 2015
Holiday Rating:

Travel in Namibia and Botswana

We spent about 3 weeks doing a self-drive tour of Namibia, going from lodge to lodge and focussing on wild-life viewing. We then spent 9 nights in Botswana (5 of those on an independent kayak trip) and 3 nights in Victoria Falls. The self-drive in Namibia was the highlight. We stayed in fabulous places with outstanding accommodation. They guides provided by the lodges were all excellent and we appreciated their local knowledge. Having one ...

We spent about 3 weeks doing a self-drive tour of Namibia, going from lodge to lodge and focussing on wild-life viewing. We then spent 9 nights in Botswana (5 of those on an independent kayak trip) and 3 nights in Victoria Falls. The self-drive in Namibia was the highlight. We stayed in fabulous places with outstanding accommodation. They guides provided by the lodges were all excellent and we appreciated their local knowledge. Having one guide stay with us wouldn't have provided the same level of knowledge about the specific environments. Expert Africa did a tremendous job of putting together an itinerary that suited us and our interests. We appreciated their recommendations. Some of our favourite places were ones that they recommended that we would not have gone to without their advice.

Rating for tour operator:

Tracy from Expert Africa guided us through the planning process. I was impressed that she was willing to spend a lot of time up front learning about our priorities and preferences. Their web-site was very useful, providing information about the various lodges from both the lodge perspective and from an outsider's view. Tracy had clearly been to a lot of the places she recommended and was very knowledgeable about the various options.

Tailor-made Botswana Safari by Becky, 18 Jun 2015
Holiday Rating:

The trip of a lifetime, a perfect honeymoon.

Our trip was absolutely fabulous from start to finish. Every transfer, flight and pick-up went absolutely seamlessly and the staff at Expert Africa were extremely helpful and knowledgeable throughout our booking experience. We received all of the information we needed before the trip and felt comfortable and informed throughout our trip. Some of the places we stayed were among the best we've ever experienced - we felt truly privileged to ...

Our trip was absolutely fabulous from start to finish. Every transfer, flight and pick-up went absolutely seamlessly and the staff at Expert Africa were extremely helpful and knowledgeable throughout our booking experience. We received all of the information we needed before the trip and felt comfortable and informed throughout our trip. Some of the places we stayed were among the best we've ever experienced - we felt truly privileged to have the opportunity to visit them.

Rating for tour operator:

Our trip was absolutely fabulous from start to finish. Every transfer, flight and pick-up went absolutely seamlessly and the staff at Expert Africa were extremely helpful and knowledgeable throughout our booking experience. We received all of the information we needed before the trip and felt comfortable and informed throughout our trip.

Tailor-made Botswana Safari by Susan M Hot Springs,AR, 12 Jun 2015
Holiday Rating:

Beautiful and Magical Botswana

The entire trip ran so smoothly that we didn't have to worry about a thing. The itinerary was perfect and the camps,settings,activities,food and staff were spectacular!It was also so relaxing to fly from camp to camp rather than travel on bumpy roads. I will definitely be back to beautiful Botswana!!!!

The entire trip ran so smoothly that we didn't have to worry about a thing. The itinerary was perfect and the camps,settings,activities,food and staff were spectacular!It was also so relaxing to fly from camp to camp rather than travel on bumpy roads. I will definitely be back to beautiful Botswana!!!!

Rating for tour operator:

Expert Africa specializes in Botswana safaris and was recommended to me by an acquaintance who used them. I also got the book by Chris McIntire and after researching the book knew this was the company I wanted to go with. Am so thrilled that I did. The itinerary was perfect and there was not one problem during the entire 13 days. My tour operator Chloe Henderson was very knowledgeable and accommodating and also listened to our needs and priorities. The most smoothly run and efficient trip I have experienced. Thank you Chloe and thank you Expert Africa!

Tailor-made Malawi Holiday by Speedy, 3 Jun 2015
Holiday Rating:

Historical Malawi expedition

Traveled extensively around Malawi. The main purpose of the trip was to visit Missionary stations in the Northern area. A journey covering areas where my great grandfather had worked at during the late eighteen hundreds. He had ventured out to Nyasaland in 1888 from the Highlands of Scotland to pursue a vocation with the Missionary Society. So my aim was to try & understand the locations & find any further information . We also had some ...

Traveled extensively around Malawi. The main purpose of the trip was to visit Missionary stations in the Northern area. A journey covering areas where my great grandfather had worked at during the late eighteen hundreds. He had ventured out to Nyasaland in 1888 from the Highlands of Scotland to pursue a vocation with the Missionary Society. So my aim was to try & understand the locations & find any further information . We also had some holiday time at Danforth, Cape Maclear and time at Tongole Widerness Lodge which was all absolutely amazing.

Rating for tour operator:

Helpful from first point of contact. Took on board my reason for travel & the locations I wished to travel to in the time I had allocated. Within a couple of days a schedule was put together. Supplying flight details, accomodation & transportation that could suit. Helpful friendly staff, vey understanding and I felt went beyond the call of duty to put me in touch with relevant people once I arrived in Malawi. Provided good additional travel information and updates prior to departure date.

Tailor-made Botswana Safari by Jim, 2 Jun 2015
Holiday Rating:

Botswana safari

It was wonderful. The lodges Expert Africa selected were very good.

It was wonderful. The lodges Expert Africa selected were very good.

Rating for tour operator:

Expert Africa booked us into lodges in Botswana. All of the local staff were excellent.

Tailor-made Namibia Safari by Frank, 31 May 2015
Holiday Rating:

Namibia: Africa at It's Best.

We had a 20-day self-drive tour of Namibia, an Africa country of dramatic desert and mountain scenery, exciting wildlife, and some fascinating traditional tribal life. It is probably the safest, easiest, and most economical Africa country to travel in. We recommend Namibia to anyone interested in Africa.

We had a 20-day self-drive tour of Namibia, an Africa country of dramatic desert and mountain scenery, exciting wildlife, and some fascinating traditional tribal life. It is probably the safest, easiest, and most economical Africa country to travel in. We recommend Namibia to anyone interested in Africa.

Rating for tour operator:

I gave Expert Africa a list of places we wanted to visit on a self-drive of Namibia and they designed a fabulous itinerary. They booked the best lodges in each area and planned a trip that allowed us to visit most of the highlights of this fascinating country efficiently. They had us in most places for two nights. The days were full but the pace gave us time to explore each region in some detail. Driving ourselves made it more of an adventure but the pre-booked lodges eliminated the anxiety of wondering where we would spend each night. I recommend using Expert Africa if you want the freedom to travel independently in Africa but also want to know that there is an experienced, professional company backing you up.

Tailor-made Botswana Safari by Walt D., 30 Apr 2015
Holiday Rating:

Safari by horseback and boat in Botswana

Spent 3 days in the Motswiri Camp in northern Botswana. Mornings spent riding horses and afternoons spent boating. Also included in the holiday were two Air Botswana flights and two private flights that used a dirt airstrip in the bush. All went flawlessly, and we felt as though we were really treated well by everyone.

Spent 3 days in the Motswiri Camp in northern Botswana. Mornings spent riding horses and afternoons spent boating. Also included in the holiday were two Air Botswana flights and two private flights that used a dirt airstrip in the bush. All went flawlessly, and we felt as though we were really treated well by everyone.

Rating for tour operator:

Very knowledgeable. Had answers to all my questions on my first phone call. Was even able to transfer me to a staff member that had actually visited the safari camp I was interested in to give me information based on her actual experience.

Tailor-made Botswana Safari by LienFamily, 29 Apr 2015
Holiday Rating:

All the details were taken care of and the trip went flawlessly.

Our trip brought us from Lagos, Nigeria to Botswana and Zambia. Family from the States joined us as well. We did 3 nights of mobile camping in the Central Kalahari Game Reserve, followed by a couple of nights at Victoria Falls. We then progressed to South Luangwa to stay at the South Luangwa Safari House for 4 nights. We saw many animals including zebra, elephants, lions, leopards, many, many antelope, and giraffe. All our accommodations ...

Our trip brought us from Lagos, Nigeria to Botswana and Zambia. Family from the States joined us as well. We did 3 nights of mobile camping in the Central Kalahari Game Reserve, followed by a couple of nights at Victoria Falls. We then progressed to South Luangwa to stay at the South Luangwa Safari House for 4 nights. We saw many animals including zebra, elephants, lions, leopards, many, many antelope, and giraffe. All our accommodations and flight transfers more than exceeded our expectations. We loved our trip.

Rating for tour operator:

Expert Africa organized a great trip for us. We were met at every step along the way and our transfers went without hitch. Our daughter has food allergies and all our concerns were communicated in advance to the places we stayed. They did a great job organizing this trip.

Expert Africa responded to this review on 05 Oct 2017:

We are delighted that this family loved their holiday and thanked them very much for their feedback. This trip was planned with something for all the family in mind and it clearly didn't disappoint.

Expert Africa responded to this review on 05 Oct 2017:

We are pleased that their needs and requests were met by lodges and safari camps, and that great care was taken of these guests. This is the family's fourth holiday with us, and we look forward to helping them plan their next safari adventure.

Tailor-made Botswana Safari by Dr. C from USA, 27 Apr 2015
Holiday Rating:

An exceptional experience.

My trip to Botswana began in the Kwando-Linyanti area and progressed to the Okavango Delta. The wildlife viewing was exceptional as was the guiding and tracking portions of the journey. The area is pristeen and diverse making each day's journey memorable. I cannot say enough about the people of Botswana. They are kind, hospitable, and warm hearted.

My trip to Botswana began in the Kwando-Linyanti area and progressed to the Okavango Delta. The wildlife viewing was exceptional as was the guiding and tracking portions of the journey. The area is pristeen and diverse making each day's journey memorable. I cannot say enough about the people of Botswana. They are kind, hospitable, and warm hearted.

Rating for tour operator:

First let me say that Expert Africa's web site is a gift! So complete, so easy to use and many, many wonderful ideas about organizing your safari experience. Expert Africa has delivered reliable, timely, exceptional services to me over this past year. I will use them again and again and recommend this group to anyone who wants a unique African experience.

Tailor-made Zimbabwe Safari by Heidi London, 26 Apr 2015
Holiday Rating:

A spendid holiday in Zimbabwe

Through Expert Africa we booked an 11-day holiday in Zimbabwe and it was a splendid trip. We spent the first three nights at Ilala Lodge at the Victoria Falls, then flew to Lake Kariba for a three night stay at Changa Lodge, including safaris on land and lake, seeing elephants, hippos, crocs, a lion from very close up, and a huge variety of birds. On we went Changa's sister lodge, The Hide, at Hwange National Park. Again we spent three nights ...

Through Expert Africa we booked an 11-day holiday in Zimbabwe and it was a splendid trip. We spent the first three nights at Ilala Lodge at the Victoria Falls, then flew to Lake Kariba for a three night stay at Changa Lodge, including safaris on land and lake, seeing elephants, hippos, crocs, a lion from very close up, and a huge variety of birds. On we went Changa's sister lodge, The Hide, at Hwange National Park. Again we spent three nights there and enjoyed a lot of game and animal viewings, including elephants, Cape buffaloes, lions, cheetahs, giraffes, and many more. The last two days were spent in Bulawayo, where our first-class guide, Paul Hubbard, introduced us to the history of this fascinating city. All the people we met in Zimbabwe, whether at the lodges or in towns were unfailingly welcoming, friendly and helpful. At no time did we ever feel other than safe.

Rating for tour operator:

The organisation and services provided by Expert Africa were excellent in every way. Through their own experiences, by travelling extensively and regularly to the countries they specialise in, every member of staff can give expert advice and useful tips and hints on the destinations in question; we also always felt that the advisors care about 'their' countries. And they also took a lot of care in providing us with the perfectly organised holiday. It was our second African trip booked through Expert Africa and we cannot recommend them highly enough; we will certainly book with them again.