AITO: The Association of Independent Tour Operators
Expert Africa

Expert Africa Traveller Reviews

Reviews of Expert Africa

Overall Company Rating
100%
Excellent 451
Good 8
Average 1
Poor 0
Terrible 0
Reviews Submitted: 460
Reviews Accepted: 460
Reviews Rejected: 0
460 reviews
Sort by:
Tailor-made Namibia Safari by Becky bird, 1 Apr 2015
Holiday Rating:

Fantastic Trip

Wanted to go to Namibia in the rainy season as we are birdwatchers and thought the birds would be better to view. As it turned out there is a drastic shortage of water in Namiba! The booking went smoothly. We booked our own flight and EA did all the car rental, accommodation and border crossing pick ups etc. Some of lodges were empty and we were the only ones . This meant that some of the activities they usually offer were not running - boat trips...

Wanted to go to Namibia in the rainy season as we are birdwatchers and thought the birds would be better to view. As it turned out there is a drastic shortage of water in Namiba! The booking went smoothly. We booked our own flight and EA did all the car rental, accommodation and border crossing pick ups etc. Some of lodges were empty and we were the only ones . This meant that some of the activities they usually offer were not running - boat trips.Overall it was well arranged went according to plan.

Rating for tour operator:

Expert Africa were very helpful and knew about the various lodges and accommodation they sell. All the information in hte pack was very informative and the whole holiday panned out as we expected. Very good service.

Tailor-made Botswana Safari by BucksCdn, 29 Mar 2015
Holiday Rating:

Best safari ever

I visited Botsawana moving from the Kalahari Desert, to Chobe National Park and then the Okavango Delta. With Expert Arica's help I stayed with 3 different companies lodges, Wilderness Safaris, Desert and Dunes and Sanctuary. Each lodge had a unique ambience and local wildlife was interesting and varied. The walk with elephants at Stanley's camp and sleeping under the stars at the Kalahari Plains camp were two of the highlights. Expert Africa ...

I visited Botsawana moving from the Kalahari Desert, to Chobe National Park and then the Okavango Delta. With Expert Arica's help I stayed with 3 different companies lodges, Wilderness Safaris, Desert and Dunes and Sanctuary. Each lodge had a unique ambience and local wildlife was interesting and varied. The walk with elephants at Stanley's camp and sleeping under the stars at the Kalahari Plains camp were two of the highlights. Expert Africa ensured that all of the arrangements were seamless, the plane transfers were on time and I was met at each transfer point, as a single traveller this gives an additional sense of safety that is very important.

Rating for tour operator:

Expert Africa were very helpful in putting together the individual sections of the holiday and provided several different itineraries to choose from. Chloe, the staff person who put together my trip, was responsive, helpful and provided information as soon as she could. The package provided was detailed and left no potential question unanswered. I would recommend them to anyone interested in travelling in Africa and will use them again in the future.

Tailor-made S. Tanzania Safari by Susan M, 16 Mar 2015
Holiday Rating:

Combination safari and beach vacation in southern Tanzania

We did 3 nights in Selous at Azura Selous, and 4 nights in Ruaha at Kwihala Camp. Both camps were excellent in terms of guiding, facilities and welcoming staff. We were amazed at the abundance and diversity of animals in both locations. This was really the highlight of our trip. We also enjoyed relaxing on the southeast coast of Zanzibar and staying two nights on Chumbe Island. The snorkeling at Chumbe was very good because of the coral ...

We did 3 nights in Selous at Azura Selous, and 4 nights in Ruaha at Kwihala Camp. Both camps were excellent in terms of guiding, facilities and welcoming staff. We were amazed at the abundance and diversity of animals in both locations. This was really the highlight of our trip. We also enjoyed relaxing on the southeast coast of Zanzibar and staying two nights on Chumbe Island. The snorkeling at Chumbe was very good because of the coral gardens. Expert Africa's recommendations were very helpful and all the details were on point.

Rating for tour operator:

We used them for the safari camps, Chumbe Island and Stone Town, plus all internal air and transfers. I appreciated the package that they mailed to us prior to the trip - all necessary vouchers, luggage tags etc included in a nice travel folder.

Tailor-made South Africa Holiday by mariner, 16 Mar 2015
Holiday Rating:

Visually stunning

New area for us ,thoroughly enjoyed, good value for money, found local people both helpful and courteous and exchange rate definitely to our advantage. Well organised by travel agency staff

New area for us ,thoroughly enjoyed, good value for money, found local people both helpful and courteous and exchange rate definitely to our advantage. Well organised by travel agency staff

Rating for tour operator:

very good

Tailor-made N. Tanzania Safari by Skip and Zanny's safari, 15 Mar 2015
Holiday Rating:

Memorable safari

10 days in the Ngorongoro Conservation area and the Serengeti

10 days in the Ngorongoro Conservation area and the Serengeti

Rating for tour operator:

Very helpful, accomommodating and knowledgeable in every respect

Tailor-made Botswana Safari by mart&loz, 27 Feb 2015
Holiday Rating:

Amazing

Brilliant

Brilliant

Rating for tour operator:

Been travelling with Expert Africa for over 30 years (it used to be Sunvil Africa) But got in touch and started a relationship with Chris Macintyre (the boss) Always looked after me and still does,he lists me as one of his more adventurous clients! Over the years has always managed to sort me out with any of my wild ideas and that includes a self drive around the Okavango Delta Self drive around Zimbabwe,Malawi the list goes on and on. Never in all this time have had any serious issues always feel safe of he says "its ok" Frankly would not go anywhere else! If Africa is your bag then he and his company is your boy! I spent nearly £40000 with them in the last year alone and always felt I got a good deal (I do check out the competition)

Tailor-made S. Tanzania Safari by Mr and Mrs P, 22 Feb 2015
Holiday Rating:

Tanzanian Adventure

We planned a trip to Tanzania to visit friends and to experience safaris and beach holidays. Expert Africa guided us throughout and we found the recommendations to be very reliable. They also organised all our local connections and transfers which all worked without a hitch

We planned a trip to Tanzania to visit friends and to experience safaris and beach holidays. Expert Africa guided us throughout and we found the recommendations to be very reliable. They also organised all our local connections and transfers which all worked without a hitch

Rating for tour operator:

See above

Tailor-made South Africa Holiday by Jane@Overton, 16 Feb 2015
Holiday Rating:

Expertly arranged first trip to fabulous South Africa

We had our first five nights of our fifteen nights away staying with friends in Cape Town on the Waterfront which was by our own arrangement. After that we collected a hire car and stayed at three further places all arranged by the excellent Claire Scott from Expert Africa. The whole holiday went very smoothly including our flights and transfers with British Airways which were also arranged by Expert Africa. Nothing was too much trouble ...

We had our first five nights of our fifteen nights away staying with friends in Cape Town on the Waterfront which was by our own arrangement. After that we collected a hire car and stayed at three further places all arranged by the excellent Claire Scott from Expert Africa. The whole holiday went very smoothly including our flights and transfers with British Airways which were also arranged by Expert Africa. Nothing was too much trouble and and all our queries and requests were handled superbly. We will be visiting South Africa again and would not hesitate to use the same company.

Rating for tour operator:

Top class very knowledgeable tour operator. They clearly are experts in their field with information and advice that could only come from people who know their subject inside out.

Tailor-made Kenya Safari by Travel Forever , 13 Feb 2015
Holiday Rating:

A fantastic holiday to Kenya and Tanzania that fulfilled all we wanted to see and do.

This was a trip of a lifetime to Kenya and Tanzania. We visited Tortilis Camp for the views of Kilimanjaro plus the animals. Then we moved on to Olakira Camp in the Maasai Mara and had some fantastic animal sightings. We then crossed the border into Tanzania and flew to the South eastern Serengeti to see the thousands of Wildebeest. We stayed in Ndutu Camp and had some great drives seeing some fantastic animal sightings. From there we had a ...

This was a trip of a lifetime to Kenya and Tanzania. We visited Tortilis Camp for the views of Kilimanjaro plus the animals. Then we moved on to Olakira Camp in the Maasai Mara and had some fantastic animal sightings. We then crossed the border into Tanzania and flew to the South eastern Serengeti to see the thousands of Wildebeest. We stayed in Ndutu Camp and had some great drives seeing some fantastic animal sightings. From there we had a driver/guide to take us to see the Oldupai Gorge and then on to the Ngorongoro Crater where we saw many animals including Black Rhini. Finally we went to Lake Manyara National Park and saw tree lions being driven out of the tree by trumpeting elephants.

Rating for tour operator:

Our holiday was organised by Eleanor Dunkels from Expert Africa. She worked in conjunction with us to sort out the safari trip that we wanted so we could include all the places we wanted to visit. Overall it was a superb, fantastic trip and we saw all the things we had hoped to see plus much, much more. With thanks to Eleanor and Expert Africa this became the Holiday Of A Lifetime !

Tailor-made S. Tanzania Safari by Mr J M 15, 7 Feb 2015
Holiday Rating:

Best safari yet after numerous visits to Africa.

A 16 day safari where virtually everything was perfect was too much to expect but that is what we got.

A 16 day safari where virtually everything was perfect was too much to expect but that is what we got.

Rating for tour operator:

Nothing was too much trouble.