Expert Africa

Reviews of Expert Africa

Overall company rating
4 99%
Reviews submitted: 345
Reviews accepted: 345
Reviews rejected: 0
Excellent
336
Good
8
Average
1
Poor
0
Terrible
0

Amazing family safari and beach holiday in Kenya

By Family S from N London on 16 Aug 2017

Rating for this holiday Excellent

Richard Trillo and Expert Africa put together a superb itinerary for us and our 2 kids (age 11 and 12). The logistics worked flawlessly, and even for a very well travelled family, it was amongst our best ever holidays.

Rating for tour operator Excellent

Understood what we wanted, found us places that we would never have found ourselves and ensured that everything went flawlessly. Couldn't have asked for a better service.

Unforgettable honeymoon

By TC on 1 Aug 2017

Rating for this holiday Excellent

We went to Tanzania and Zanzibar through Expert Africa for our honeymoon. In Tanzania we stayed at a stunning camp called Ikuka, in Ruaha national park. In Zanzibar we stayed at the lovely Kilindi.

Rating for tour operator Excellent

Expert Africa's insight and experience was central to us being able to choose exactly the sort of places which would suit us as people. They were extremely helpful and a pleasure to deal with.

Northern Mozambique - Guludo, Dhow Safari and Ibo Island

By Mr C H 17 on 28 Jul 2017

Rating for tour operator Excellent

We have now traveled with Expert Africa four times. This trip was no different to our previous holidays - excellent in every respect! Perfectly organised and arranged, everything was as we expected it and as laid out in their brochure. Have no hesitation in recommending them to other travelers.

Outstanding safari

By mklarden on 18 Jul 2017

Rating for this holiday Excellent

We stayed in 2 camps in Tanzania for my 70th birthday and had the most magical experience - everything we could have hoped for.

Expert Africa were true to their name and we are truly grateful

Rating for tour operator Excellent

They were incredibly helpful - we cant thank them enough

A Safari Holiday to Southern Tanzania

By Matt on 11 Jul 2017

Rating for this holiday Excellent


We travelled to Ruaha NP and stayed at Jongamero Camp where we had some exciting encounters with lions and leopards. The camp was very pretty and we were well looked after.
We then went to the Selous GR where we stayed at Beho Beho . This was our third visit to this lodge but never at this time of year. Beho Beho is run like a family home . Everyone...,staff and guests.. eat together and it makes for a very relaxed and happy atmosphere. The guiding is first class. As it had been raining and there was water everywhere we didn`t expect to see much game but we had some wonderful encounters with lion hippo buffalo and the icing on the cake for us...Wild Dogs .
Beho Beho is a beautiful camp situated on a ridge so it is cooled by a breeze. The accomodation is very comfortable and the food and service is excellent.
Our third stay was at Ras Kutani on the coast below Dar. A great place to relax after busy days on Safari. Very comfortable and excellent food

Rating for tour operator Excellent

Expert Africa have arranged many trips to Africa for us over the years and we are very happy with their friendly personal service. They take a lot of care to tailor the holiday to your needs and expectations and always give helpful sound advice. Their agents have all travelled to Africa and have first hand experience of most of the camps.

A luxury safari experience in the African bush

By African Queen on 9 Jul 2017

Rating for this holiday Excellent

We stayed for a total of 9 nights at 2 luxury bush camps in the Lower Zambezi National Park during June 2017. Expert Africa staff prepared a personalised itinerary based on a detailed discussion with us about what we looked for both in the size and facilities offered at a camp and in locations so that we got exactly what we wanted. We have booked through Expert Africa several times before and have always been very satisfied with their highly personalised service.

Rating for tour operator Excellent

Knowledgeable staff who can offered detailed information about both countries and individual camps in Africa, tailoring holidays to exact requirements of their clients.

A luxury safari experience in the African bush

By African Queen on 9 Jul 2017

Rating for this holiday Excellent

We stayed for a total of 9 nights at 2 luxury bush camps in the Lower Zambezi National Park during June 2017. Expert Africa staff prepared a personalised itinerary based on a detailed discussion with us about what we looked for both in the size and facilities offered at a camp and in locations so that we got exactly what we wanted. We have booked through Expert Africa several times before and have always been very satisfied with their highly personalised service.

Rating for tour operator Excellent

Knowledgeable staff who can offered detailed information about both countries and individual camps in Africa, tailing holidays to exact requirements of their clients.

Fabulous Amboseli

By Livingstone-based birder on 2 Jul 2017

Rating for this holiday Excellent

Amboseli is, of course, best known (and rightly so) for its iconic vistas and wonderful elephants. But it should also be highly rated for its birdlife, the primary aim of our trip.

We opted for six nights (more than the norm based on what we saw of other guests while we were there) in part because of the frequency of Kenya Airways flights from Livingstone (where we live) and in part because we wanted to have a decent break and really explore Amboseli and the Selenkay Conservation Area where Porini is based. We are also very interested in camps which are owned and (largely) run by the local community. this being the fourth at which we have stayed in Kenya. Six nights was not too long.

This is not a high end camp. But it is comfortable and offers good standards of service. Acting Manager Daniel did an excellent job while we were there, keeping everything running smoothly. In the mess tent, John ensured that drinks and meals were well provided in a timely manner. All the staff were friendly and helpful.

The Conservation Area is a very worthy and well run project. From next to nothing two decades ago the community has created a hub for a whole range of animals - including four of the 'big five'. The game is plentiful and habituated, attracted by permanent water. It lives alongside the Masai cattle which are protected by the lion guardians whose job it is not only to protect the lions but also to keep distance between the two prides and the cattle herds, thereby avoiding clashes between the people and the cats.

The area offers several micro-environments which means that there is a great range of birds there. Add to this Amboseli NP itself, less than an hour drive away, and it isn't surprising that we logged 214 species in our six-night stay, despite being out of peak (ie inward migration) season.

All in all, strongly recommended both in its own right and as a base for exploring the NP.

Principally on Expert Africa's recommendation we paid for private guiding by Wilson for the five full days of our six night stay. As it was we had the benefit of his expertise for seven days, ie from when we landed at Amboseli at 0830 on Day 1 until our flight back to Nairobi departed at 1530 after our final night. We also did some 'homework' before our departure and discovered. among other positives, in the process that Conde Nast named Wilson as one of the five best of the 'next generation' of guides in 2013; based on our experience on safari over the past 11 years this accolade was well deserved.

Other than our two days in Amboseli itself, we spent a good deal of the time walking with him in the Selenkay conservation area where Porini Amboseli is situated. After a phenomenally successful first birding day (112 in total including 80-odd in Amboseli NP) we set ourselves a target of 200 species for the totality of our stay, a challenge which Wilson was more than happy to take on and which we hit on the morning of our final full day (we finished at 214 including 17 lifers). Wilson deserves much of the credit for this; indeed, I don't recall a single bird we set out to find which he didn't manage to track down except a Brown Snake Eagle (a species which is plentiful where we live in any case). He has a phenomenal ear as well as outstanding vision, skills which are enhanced by his familiarity with all corners of his 'back yard'.

When we were on the truck, Wilson was aided by our excellent driver Malita. They are a well-established and formidable team and we greatly enjoyed our time with them both.

In between birding, the two of them also put us in front of a good range of mammals - 30 species in all including close encounters with lions, hyenas and, of course, the wonderful elephants.

Rating for tour operator Excellent

My wife, Clare, and I first traveled with Expert Africa in 2006 when we returned to live in London from New York. It was Clare's first visit to Africa and I really wanted it to make a good impression on her so spent some time researching agents before plumping for EA. We went to Ruaha and Selous in southern Tanzania and Clare fell in love with Africa. By late 2009 and our fourth trip with EA she had decided that she wanted to live here and we finally relocated to Livingstone Zambia in mid-2015. We have now made 20 trips with EA (with a 21st coming up in August) and have never had anything other than 24 carat service and great vacations We have also recommended EA to friends on many occasions and those who have followed up have not been disappointed.

Camp Kalahari June 17

By Sarah on 27 Jun 2017

Rating for this holiday Excellent

We wanted to spend a few days in the Makgadikgadi area of Botswana before meeting up with some friends for another, longer trip. Rich from Expert Africa suggested a stay to meet our requirements and answered lots of questions. When we arrived in Botswana we were met and flown out to Camp Kalahari, where everything surpassed our expectations - perfectly organised, very comfortable, superb food, expert guides and friendly staff.

Rating for tour operator Excellent

Rich from Expert Africa clearly knew the area and the options we were interested in. He was able to answer questions and arrange everything so the whole trip ran smoothly - we could have kept our eyes closed all the time and still arrived safely.

A unique holiday, tailor made to fit our requirements

By Caracal on 25 Jun 2017

Rating for this holiday Excellent

Our experience of three trips there tells us that holidays to the Kgalagadi Transnational Park in Southern Africa are difficult for us to put together independently. Hence I invariably consult the experts and I know that of UK firms nobody has better experience and expertise in this area than Expert Africa. They put together a package that gave us an 18 day holiday including 12 nights in the park and hence the opportunity to see the game and bird life of that extraordinary area.

They do the necessary research on the places we are to visit and the routes we should take so I travel full of confidence - rather important for those of us of advancing years!

Rating for tour operator Excellent

Expert Africa. I use nobody else for my regular trips to Southern Africa