AITO: The Association of Independent Tour Operators
Experience Travel Group

Experience Travel Group Traveller Reviews

Reviews of Experience Travel Group

Overall Company Rating
99%
Excellent 615
Good 30
Average 2
Poor 3
Terrible 0
Reviews Submitted: 650
Reviews Accepted: 650
Reviews Rejected: 0
650 reviews
Sort by:
Experience Travel Group by Mrs V G 13, 24 Jan 2014
Holiday Rating:

An introduction ot SE Asia

We dipped into Vietnam, Cambodia and Laos and had wonderful experiences in each of them, leaving memories which will stay with us for ever. We particularly enjoyed the kind, knowledgeable and faultless help from our guides in each country. Their considerate, intelligent company added greatly to our enjoyment of their countries and such different cultures.

We dipped into Vietnam, Cambodia and Laos and had wonderful experiences in each of them, leaving memories which will stay with us for ever. We particularly enjoyed the kind, knowledgeable and faultless help from our guides in each country. Their considerate, intelligent company added greatly to our enjoyment of their countries and such different cultures.

Rating for tour operator:

All arrangements in a rather tight time schedule (at our request) went entirely smoothly, so we were able to use every moment of our limited time to the full, without feeling pressured.

Experience Travel Group responded to this review on 25 Jan 2014:

Hi Vida,
Thank you so much for taking the time to post this review. We are really pleased that you enjoyed your holiday so much.
Regards,
Alice

Experience Travel Group by Ribbo, 13 Jan 2014
Holiday Rating:

Well planned but let down a little by local guide and the general emphasis by Experience that the clients are expected to tip well as in a third world country the people are not well paid. This is hardly world shattering news but its wrong to expect

Generally very good. Driver guide spoilt himself by basically asking for higher tip than recommended. Also a couple of the excursion items - tea factory and vegetable market were a complete waste of time. One of the hotels was extremely stuffy and snobbish and not relaxing at all. The beach hotel was isolated and I did check this point with Experience who advised me otherwise at time of booking.

Generally very good. Driver guide spoilt himself by basically asking for higher tip than recommended. Also a couple of the excursion items - tea factory and vegetable market were a complete waste of time. One of the hotels was extremely stuffy and snobbish and not relaxing at all. The beach hotel was isolated and I did check this point with Experience who advised me otherwise at time of booking.

Rating for tour operator:

Very well organised just a couple of small things could have been better.

Experience Travel Group responded to this review on 13 Jan 2014:

Hi Mike,
Thank you very much for taking the time to post this feedback. Glad you enjoyed it overall and we've taken your comments onboard and will look into them further. We will talk to the driver about asking for a higher tip than is recommended by us - which is a great shame. Our drivers are very well paid.

Experience Travel Group by Bigmax, 12 Jan 2014
Holiday Rating:

3 weeks in Malaysian Borneo

A private tour including Kutching, Visit to Headhunters/longhouse, Mulu Caves, Danum Valley (rainforest), Kinabatangen, Sandakan and Gaya Island Resort, Kota Kinabalu. The Longhouse experience was fun and better for there only being the two of us and our guide. Mulu Caves are impressive. Accomodation in this area limited and not of the standard elsewere. Danum Valley was wonderful, the rainforest walks excellent and not as physically ...

A private tour including Kutching, Visit to Headhunters/longhouse, Mulu Caves, Danum Valley (rainforest), Kinabatangen, Sandakan and Gaya Island Resort, Kota Kinabalu. The Longhouse experience was fun and better for there only being the two of us and our guide. Mulu Caves are impressive. Accomodation in this area limited and not of the standard elsewere. Danum Valley was wonderful, the rainforest walks excellent and not as physically challenging as we had thought they might be. However, you do need a reasonable level of fitness and be surefooted as the trails are muddy with tree roots. Gaya Island Resort was a last minute replacement for an aborted trip to Lankayan. The resort was well run and food good but the villas are up steep hills and we timed it at an 8 minute walk up a 45 degree hill to reach our villa from the main facilities - not good if you are unfit or have mobility problems, or if as when we were there it is torrential rain! The one downside of this resort was they insisted on a 3,000 Ringit deposit on arrival (4 days) - at the end of our holiday that is a lot to find and they said my credit card would not work! Fortunatley our second card went through OK. Given we were on full borad I fail to see why this was neccessary our actual bill (drinks only) came to 498 ringits, bit of a difference! Accomodation, food transfers and guides were overall very good. If anything too many internal flights which eat into your holiday time, we prefer to travel overland with the same guide throughout, but this wasn't feasible on this trip.

Rating for tour operator:

Halfway through the holiday (a few days before Christmas) we were contacted by the UK to advise that the Foreign Office had advised we could not go to the resort booked for the final 4 days of our trip. The UK agent managed to rebook a different resort and rearrange internal flights and conections at short notice at a very busy time of year. We were not inconvienienced at all, and feel we did not loose out in any way. Had we not booked via an operator we would not even have been aware of the FO advice and our insurance would have been invalid had anything occurred. Excellent professional service throughout, we would recommend this agent.

Sri Lankan Family Adventure by Miss S K 13, 11 Jan 2014
Holiday Rating:

Experience Travel Group review

We booked our trip through Experience Travel who I would use again and can recommend to friends amd family.

We booked our trip through Experience Travel who I would use again and can recommend to friends amd family.

Experience Travel Group responded to this review on 13 Jan 2014:

So pleased you had such a great time. Thank you for taking the time to post your comments here too.

Experience Travel Group by Tedz, 10 Jan 2014
Holiday Rating:

Well planned heaven in Siem Reap

A return to Siem Reap to extend our visit to the temples and town which turned in to a delight of culture, food and fun. Accommodation, flights and transfers are so well organised that all we had to do was go where we wanted to without worry and the guides are truly amazing - well briefed on us and knowledgeable of where they took us. We are so glad we went back because it truly is a magical place for all aspects of a holiday where culture, ...

A return to Siem Reap to extend our visit to the temples and town which turned in to a delight of culture, food and fun. Accommodation, flights and transfers are so well organised that all we had to do was go where we wanted to without worry and the guides are truly amazing - well briefed on us and knowledgeable of where they took us. We are so glad we went back because it truly is a magical place for all aspects of a holiday where culture, relaxation, good food and hotels all play an important part - we would use them again without reservation.

Rating for tour operator:

Great knowledge of the places we discussed as well as being flexible enough to accommodate all our needs (flights not from the UK, a hotel they had not heard of and so on)Experience Travel have been a pleasure to work with

Experience Travel Group responded to this review on 10 Jan 2014:

Hi Janet,
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review for us here. So much appreciated and we are really pleased you had such a great time.
We look forward to hearing from you again!

Experience Travel Group by rossbruniges, 6 Jan 2014
Holiday Rating:

Bangkok, Chiang Mai and Koi Lanta - 12 days of Asia.

Finding all the best food Thailand has to offer and staying in the perfect hotel to see the best that each city has to offer.

Finding all the best food Thailand has to offer and staying in the perfect hotel to see the best that each city has to offer.

Rating for tour operator:

Experience Travel put together a great package of tours, transfers and hotels and were intentive and helpful throughout the booking and pre-take off process.

Experience Travel Group responded to this review on 06 Jan 2014:

Hi Ross,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave this review. It is much appreciated and we are really pleased that you enjoyed your holiday so much.

Kind regards,

Sam Clark

Essential Sri Lanka - Deluxe by Cilla, 5 Jan 2014
Holiday Rating:

Wonderful holiday

We thoroughly enjoyed the experience having never been to Srilanka before. Everything went well as planned. Our driver was knowledgable, friendly and informative. He (Kapila) ensured we enjoyed the best of the areas we were in. Our accommodation was as described and food delicious.

We thoroughly enjoyed the experience having never been to Srilanka before. Everything went well as planned. Our driver was knowledgable, friendly and informative. He (Kapila) ensured we enjoyed the best of the areas we were in. Our accommodation was as described and food delicious.

Rating for tour operator:

Very helpful, they offered us various options , and when we were unsure about the choices , offered various alternatives to consider

Experience Travel Group responded to this review on 13 Jan 2014:

Thanks so much Iain - very pleased you had such a great time.

Experience Travel Group by Mandju, 5 Jan 2014
Holiday Rating:

A wonderful mixture of experiences in S.E. Asia

We flew from Bangkok to Chiang Mai and enjoyed the cultural activities including the Thai cookery class. Then to Bangkok which is hectic and fascinating. The food tour was fun and instructive. The 3-day luxury train journey (Eastern and Oriental Express) through Thailand, Malaysia and on to Singapore was outstanding. Real luxury, amazing food, good company from fellow travellers and a memorable excursion to the River Quai. Singapore was more ...

We flew from Bangkok to Chiang Mai and enjoyed the cultural activities including the Thai cookery class. Then to Bangkok which is hectic and fascinating. The food tour was fun and instructive. The 3-day luxury train journey (Eastern and Oriental Express) through Thailand, Malaysia and on to Singapore was outstanding. Real luxury, amazing food, good company from fellow travellers and a memorable excursion to the River Quai. Singapore was more interesting than we had anticipated. On to Java and another lovely hotel. Being on the top of Borobadur temple at dawn will long stay in the memory. Finally, on to Bali and the wonderful Hotel Tugu Bali. We visited a dance performance, wood carvers, an active volcano, silver crafts men and women and a spice and herb garden. The long flight(s) home worked well. Our thanks Experience Travel: this is the third trip we have been with them and their organisation has been outstanding!

Rating for tour operator:

Efficient, friendly, knowledgeable and would (and have) recommend them to our friends. Flights, driver, guides and hotels were outstanding

Experience Travel Group responded to this review on 06 Jan 2014:

Thanks for your comments Martin and so glad that you had a good time, we really do appreciate multiple repeat clients such as yourselves and you really are one of our most valued clients.

Experience Travel Group by Don Martin, 3 Jan 2014
Holiday Rating:

Classic Vietnam - Luxury Tour

tour of Vietnam starting in Hanoi and ending in Ho Chi Minh City The main highlights: Hanoi City Tours, over night Halong Bay junk boat cruise,fly to Hue and tour a round Hue, Travel overland to Hoi An and tour a round Hoi An, Fly to Ho Chi Minh City and city tour and tours to Cu Chi Tunnels, Mekong Delta.

tour of Vietnam starting in Hanoi and ending in Ho Chi Minh City The main highlights: Hanoi City Tours, over night Halong Bay junk boat cruise,fly to Hue and tour a round Hue, Travel overland to Hoi An and tour a round Hoi An, Fly to Ho Chi Minh City and city tour and tours to Cu Chi Tunnels, Mekong Delta.

Rating for tour operator:

Tailor Made Holidays in South East Asia. There intimate knowledge of the destinations that I have visited. This is my second holiday I have booked with Experience Travel Group and it will not be the last. I will book my next trip to Asia with out any hesitation.

Experience Travel Group responded to this review on 04 Jan 2014:

Great too have you back Donald - really glad you had a great time again and thanks for taking the time to write this review.
Maybe see you next time we do an event up in the Harrogate area!
Regards,
Sam

Experience Travel Group by Marilyn, 3 Jan 2014
Holiday Rating:

Sri Lanka: 8 days of Safaris and temples

Experience Travel arranged a fanastic trip to southern Sri Lanka, our travel consultant organised the ideal tailored trip and we were guided by a local excellent guide. The accommodation was superb, activities such as the safaris were amazing expereinces. Experience Travel and the lcoal guide enabled us to see the best of south Sri Lanka, the people, culture, wildlife and history in a very short time with time left to relax in a hammock. It ...

Experience Travel arranged a fanastic trip to southern Sri Lanka, our travel consultant organised the ideal tailored trip and we were guided by a local excellent guide. The accommodation was superb, activities such as the safaris were amazing expereinces. Experience Travel and the lcoal guide enabled us to see the best of south Sri Lanka, the people, culture, wildlife and history in a very short time with time left to relax in a hammock. It has wetted our appetite for more and I would certainly reccommend and use Experience Travel again.

Rating for tour operator:

Experience Travel organised everything and tolerated a lot of questions from us as we were nervous travellers, now we want to travel more!

Experience Travel Group responded to this review on 03 Jan 2014:

Hi Marilyn,
Thank you so much for your kind words. We'll pass on your feedback to your local guide and we look forward to hearing from you again.
Kind regards,
Sam Clark