AITO: The Association of Independent Tour Operators
Experience Travel Group

Experience Travel Group Traveller Reviews

Reviews of Experience Travel Group

Overall Company Rating
99%
Excellent 615
Good 30
Average 2
Poor 3
Terrible 0
Reviews Submitted: 650
Reviews Accepted: 650
Reviews Rejected: 0
650 reviews
Sort by:
Experience Travel Group by Priscilla Daymer, 12 Mar 2014
Holiday Rating:

Interesting, informative, good holiday

We spent 2 weeks touring in Sri Lanka. We had asked for low key, inexpensive hotels which, apart from one, were excellent choices.

We spent 2 weeks touring in Sri Lanka. We had asked for low key, inexpensive hotels which, apart from one, were excellent choices.

Rating for tour operator:

Experience Travel created our tour and , on the whole, we were happy with what they set up for us.

Experience Travel Group responded to this review on 12 Mar 2014:

Dear Priscilla,
Thank you so much for taking the time to give us a public review. We will look at your detailed feedback on our system and come back to you privately.
Many thanks,

Sam

Classic Vietnam and Luxury Beach by Alison W, 12 Mar 2014
Holiday Rating:

An exhilarating beast of a holiday

Having never visited Vietnam before we wanted to experience a taster of all the classic highlights offered by the country whilst 'pacing' ourselves with some relaxation. Experience Travel's suggested itinerary of the Classic Vietnam and Luxury Beach holiday offered the right blend and pace of city touring mixed with luxury hotel accommodation choices and destinations. Our on the ground tour staff in Vietnam provided the seamless 'glue' which ...

Having never visited Vietnam before we wanted to experience a taster of all the classic highlights offered by the country whilst 'pacing' ourselves with some relaxation. Experience Travel's suggested itinerary of the Classic Vietnam and Luxury Beach holiday offered the right blend and pace of city touring mixed with luxury hotel accommodation choices and destinations. Our on the ground tour staff in Vietnam provided the seamless 'glue' which held this amazing holiday together. We've returned invigorated, having experienced a dizzying array of food,visited some beautiful places and leaving us feeling as though we've only scratched the surface of a country rich with culture, contrasting scenery and climates and a cuisine which I could happily enjoy daily. We look forward to planning our next holiday with them and are confident they can produce a bespoke schedule which allows us the chance to dig deeper into this amazing country.

Rating for tour operator:

From the word go, Experience Travel were keen to ensure our holiday experience was bespoke to our needs, price range, and interests. They never failed to disappoint. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend them to first-time travellers or to those wishing to return to a country and arrange something more off the beaten tracks. From hotel choice to the knowledge of their guides, Experience Travel delivered on all counts.

Experience Travel Group responded to this review on 12 Mar 2014:

Wow - thanks Alison! What lovely feedback - this is why Experience Travel Group exists!

Experience Travel Group by Ben, 11 Mar 2014
Holiday Rating:

2 week trip to Cambodia and Thailand

My partner and I spent 2 weeks in Cambodia and Thailand. We visited the temples of Angkor and travelled via Phnom Pehn to the Cardamom Mountains where we spent a few days in a river lodge. We then relaxed on the beaches of Koh Kood before heading home via a couple of days in Bangkok.

My partner and I spent 2 weeks in Cambodia and Thailand. We visited the temples of Angkor and travelled via Phnom Pehn to the Cardamom Mountains where we spent a few days in a river lodge. We then relaxed on the beaches of Koh Kood before heading home via a couple of days in Bangkok.

Rating for tour operator:

Excellent service and knowledgeable consultant. I felt like we were getting a premium, personal service throughout. I would recommend them.

Experience Travel Group responded to this review on 11 Mar 2014:

We really appreciate you taking the time to write this - thanks Ben.

Experience Travel Group by millie, 11 Mar 2014
Holiday Rating:

Cycling holiday in Vietnam

Vietnam 2 days in Hanoi, cycling the central coastline and then some relaxation time in a beautiful beach resort outside of Nah Trang.

Vietnam 2 days in Hanoi, cycling the central coastline and then some relaxation time in a beautiful beach resort outside of Nah Trang.

Rating for tour operator:

Experience Travel arranged our flights, transfers hotels and cycling trip, we had a fabulous time seeing parts of Vietnam that other tourists don't see. At the end of our cycling we spent 3 nights at Mia Beach in Nah Trang and it was truly fabulous.

Experience Travel Group responded to this review on 11 Mar 2014:

Much appreciated Tracy - so glad you had such a good time. Cycling is a great way to see the country.


Experience Travel Group by maggie, 11 Mar 2014
Holiday Rating:

a wonderful experience

The variety was amazing - real experiences of an emerging country but with luxury thrown in!

The variety was amazing - real experiences of an emerging country but with luxury thrown in!

Rating for tour operator:

Informative and excellent at the detail which makes the difference. Probably the best we have ever used.

Experience Travel Group responded to this review on 11 Mar 2014:

Hi Margaret

Thank you for taking the time to post here and the detailed feedback you gave over the phone was really helpful.I'm so pleased you had such a good time and I look forward to arranging your next trip!

Best wishes

David

Experience Travel Group by wood, 11 Mar 2014
Holiday Rating:

A superbThailand Adventure.

A three week tour of Thailand ,staying in Bangkok,Kanchanaburi,Chiang Mai,and Khao Lak. Excellent hotels,and the guides we had were superb. The itinery arranged for us covered everything we wanted to see and do. A faultless organisation from start to finish

A three week tour of Thailand ,staying in Bangkok,Kanchanaburi,Chiang Mai,and Khao Lak. Excellent hotels,and the guides we had were superb. The itinery arranged for us covered everything we wanted to see and do. A faultless organisation from start to finish

Rating for tour operator:

The company's Asia expert David Gookey arranged and booked everything for us, nothing was to must trouble,he made a lot of suggestions which we agreed with,and turned out to be some of the highlights of the holiday.

Experience Travel Group responded to this review on 11 Mar 2014:

Hi Roger,

So pleased you had a great time and thank you for taking the time to post a public review!

All the best,

Sam

Experience Travel Group by M-Ilani, 11 Mar 2014
Holiday Rating:

Perfectly Orchestrated Tailor Made Vacation to Bangkok and 3 Islands

Bangkok - 3 night Koh Tao - 4 nights Koh Phangan - 4 nights Koh Samui - 2 nights We have returned from our vacation and are well (perhaps finding it hard to get back to work). I wish to thank Experience Travel and the operator David Gookey, for a wonderfully perfectly organized trip/vacation, planned exactly according to our dreams. Everything was just as described and as promised. All the transfers were on the spot !! We always ...

Bangkok - 3 night Koh Tao - 4 nights Koh Phangan - 4 nights Koh Samui - 2 nights We have returned from our vacation and are well (perhaps finding it hard to get back to work). I wish to thank Experience Travel and the operator David Gookey, for a wonderfully perfectly organized trip/vacation, planned exactly according to our dreams. Everything was just as described and as promised. All the transfers were on the spot !! We always had someone waiting for us exactly when we arrived or needed to leave and we actually never needed to use the contact numbers you provided . Hotels were great. recommended tours arranged were perfect.

Rating for tour operator:

Mr. David Gookey was our tour operator. He was very attentive to our requests, endlessly patient, quick to respond and hit everything on the spot. Always available to really talk on the phone and tell us more, often from his first hand experience. Thank you David !!

Experience Travel Group responded to this review on 11 Mar 2014:

Dear Michal and Itay

Thank you for the feedback and the kind words. I am so pleased that you had a great time for your birthday celebrations and it was my pleasure to make all the arrangements.

Best wishes,

David

Experience Travel Group by louisemiriam, 9 Mar 2014
Holiday Rating:

Absolutely marvellous

I really can't begin to say what a marvellous holiday we had. We were quite late booking it as we were let down by another travel company who had seriously dropped the ball, so I was concerned that we'd get a decent holiday in Myanmar, because it gets very booked up. But it couldn't have been better. We went to Mandalay, Bagan, Lake Inle, Ngapali and Yangon. Our guides were generally outstanding, and the hotels ranged from good to excellent...

I really can't begin to say what a marvellous holiday we had. We were quite late booking it as we were let down by another travel company who had seriously dropped the ball, so I was concerned that we'd get a decent holiday in Myanmar, because it gets very booked up. But it couldn't have been better. We went to Mandalay, Bagan, Lake Inle, Ngapali and Yangon. Our guides were generally outstanding, and the hotels ranged from good to excellent.

Rating for tour operator:

Our dealings with Experience Travel were extremely easy and straightforward, I can't recommend them highly enough. They understood the kind of holiday we were looking for - a mix of cultural tourism and rest - and that's exactly what we got.

Experience Travel Group responded to this review on 10 Mar 2014:

Dear Louise

Thank you so much for the positive feedback and the time taken to leave it. We are really pleased that you had such a great holiday.

Best wishes

David

Cambodia and Vietnam Classic by Normie, 4 Mar 2014
Holiday Rating:

Magical three weeks in Cambodia and Vietnam

We had a trip to Siem Reap, Phnom Penn, river boat on the Mekong, beach stay on Phu Qhoc, Saigon .Hoi An and home in three weeks. My wife is not a keen traveller but she like me had a wonderful holiday and an experience to be treasured. Some of our experiences were in their nature harrowing but there were stories needing to be told. This is a destination that does not disappoint and fulfilled all the anticipation. Hotels were all first class ...

We had a trip to Siem Reap, Phnom Penn, river boat on the Mekong, beach stay on Phu Qhoc, Saigon .Hoi An and home in three weeks. My wife is not a keen traveller but she like me had a wonderful holiday and an experience to be treasured. Some of our experiences were in their nature harrowing but there were stories needing to be told. This is a destination that does not disappoint and fulfilled all the anticipation. Hotels were all first class and food in Vietnam especially superb. Both in Cambodia and Vietnam the people could not have been friendlier. It was hard to believe what they have been through in their recent past.

Rating for tour operator:

From the initial planning to the finish we felt that we were well cared for and had our wishes adhered to.. Our destination was wonderful made even better by a well balanced itinerary which included rest time on the beach. We failed to get a visa for Vietnam before we left due to the Vietnam new year but this was not an issue with the help of Nick and the team in Cambodia who arranged it when we arrived. This is the second time we have travelled with Experience Travel and both times we have been impressed with their efficiency and with the considered advise at the planning stage.

Experience Travel Group responded to this review on 05 Mar 2014:

Dear Norman and Mary,

Thank you so much for taking the time to give us such positive feedback and we are really pleased that you enjoyed your second trip with us so much.

Regards,

Nick

Experience Travel Group by lozzabrazza, 28 Feb 2014
Holiday Rating:

Trip of a Lifetime

This was an email I sent to Experience once we had returned: I just wanted to send an email to thank you for organising such a wonderful trip and making booking and going on our honeymoon such a trouble free experience. From the moment we decided to go through you I have found you helpful, knowledgeable and accommodating. We found that we didn’t have to worry about anything in the run up or whilst on our honeymoon. Our documents were sent ...

This was an email I sent to Experience once we had returned: I just wanted to send an email to thank you for organising such a wonderful trip and making booking and going on our honeymoon such a trouble free experience. From the moment we decided to go through you I have found you helpful, knowledgeable and accommodating. We found that we didn’t have to worry about anything in the run up or whilst on our honeymoon. Our documents were sent through in excellent time, were easy to understand and we especially found the local information included to be valuable and worthwhile. I also want to thank you for putting my mind at rest and responding so promptly when I raised concerns about the political situation in Bangkok. The honeymoon itself was truly unbelievable. The airlines were excellent (I know this is out of your control but worth mentioning!) and the hotels were exceptional. All the hotels were aware it was our honeymoon and made a real fuss of us with flowers on the bed and complimentary champagne. At Sala Phuket we received a bouquet of flowers on arrival, champagne, a Thai tasting menu meal and hour long Thai massages all free of charge. However special mention for Ariyansom Villa in Bangkok and the owner David- this was a real gem of a hotel, tranquil and calm in an otherwise hectic city. Not only the hotels were fantastic however, from your end the logistics of the trip were organised expertly. I really felt that the trip maximised our time in Thailand with all the flights taking place at excellent times, meaning no wasted days and no long airport waits. All of the trips organised through you were highlights of our time in Thailand. The cooking school and Elephant Park were personal highlights. If I had to offer a suggestion on how to make it even more trouble free then I could suggest that you could pre book some of the Island trips or excursions in Phuket. There are lots to choose from (we were handed a list of about 60 trips that Destination Asia organise) and I’m pretty sure most people would want to do something whilst at the resort as its quite far away from it all. Another idea would be to send customers the list prior to arrival so they can have a think beforehand about what they want to do. This is only nit picking though as our guide organised this with us as soon as we arrived with absolutely no hassle at all. It’s just a suggestion to make life ever more easy for people. Overall I only have high praise for the experience. There wasn’t anything that you arranged that I didn’t feel was worthwhile and of a really high calibre. We would definitely go through you again and I have already started recommending you to family and friends. Excellent company and excellent service.

Rating for tour operator:

As above.

Experience Travel Group responded to this review on 28 Feb 2014:

Wonderful to hear - thanks Lauren!