AITO: The Association of Independent Tour Operators
Experience Travel Group

Experience Travel Group Traveller Reviews

Reviews of Experience Travel Group

Overall Company Rating
99%
Excellent 607
Good 30
Average 2
Poor 3
Terrible 0
Reviews Submitted: 642
Reviews Accepted: 642
Reviews Rejected: 0
642 reviews
Sort by:
Cambodia and Vietnam Classic by Alva , 19 Mar 2020
Holiday Rating:

Wonderful trip to Cambodia & Vietnam

We are a couple in our mid-60s who had not been to SE Asia before and wanted a hassle-free trip with pre-arranged hotels/ tours/ internal flights etc. We were absolutely thrilled with the itinerary and service provided by Nick @ Experience Travel. In particular , the hotels were just perfect , each one better than the one before ! We also appreciated that we spent at least 2 and usually 3 nights in each location as the re-packing was kept to ...

We are a couple in our mid-60s who had not been to SE Asia before and wanted a hassle-free trip with pre-arranged hotels/ tours/ internal flights etc. We were absolutely thrilled with the itinerary and service provided by Nick @ Experience Travel. In particular , the hotels were just perfect , each one better than the one before ! We also appreciated that we spent at least 2 and usually 3 nights in each location as the re-packing was kept to a minimum. We felt that we really got to see both Cambodia and Vietnam ......the wonderful historic spots like Angkor Wat and also the smaller village locations , plus the political highlights of Phnom Penh and Ho Chi Minh City. It was just a great holiday .......and luckily our health was not impacted by coronavirus or anything else !

Rating for tour operator:

Nick Clark of Experience Travel organised our trip and was absolutely marvellous ! His attention to detail and the way that both he , the other London staff and the local agents handled the end of our journey (unfortunately impacted by the coronavirus pandemic and Cathay Pacific flight cancellations ......) was really helpful. They reworked our itinerary even though the flight cancellations were not their responsibility ( we had elected to book our travel to SE Asia independently.) Obviously, we will book again with Experience Travel !

Experience Travel Group responded to this review on 20 Mar 2020:

Hi Ailve

Thank you so much for your kind words, I am delighted to hear that you had such a great trip!

I look forward to helping you with your next adventure, perhaps getting you back to retrace your childhood steps in Sri Lanka ;)

Kind Regards

Nick

Experience Travel Group by Ranulph Davies, 17 Mar 2020
Holiday Rating:

Best ever holiday!

14 night Sri Lankan adventure

14 night Sri Lankan adventure

Rating for tour operator:

Passionate, efficient, hands-on, attentive.

Experience Travel Group responded to this review on 19 Mar 2020:

Hi Paul & Mandy

I'm delighted to hear that you had such a wonderful time in Sri Lanka. I look forward to helping you with your next trip to Asia in the future.

All the best
Holly

In Depth Tamil Nadu by Mr C O 20, 14 Mar 2020
Holiday Rating:

New experiences and old favourites in India

A well planned , varied experience with excellent prior planning and local knowledge. Very interesting, different hotels. The local drivers and guides made us feel welcome and at home in their communities.

A well planned , varied experience with excellent prior planning and local knowledge. Very interesting, different hotels. The local drivers and guides made us feel welcome and at home in their communities.

Rating for tour operator:

Very good for personal service and expert knowledge. They take great care to ensure the holiday runs smoothly.

Experience Travel Group responded to this review on 17 Mar 2020:

I am delighted you had such a lovely time again. It's great that we have your next holiday organised already! Something in the calendar to look forward to.

Experience Travel Group responded to this review on 17 Mar 2020:

Thank you for your lovely feedback Colin.
Best wishes Sara and the ETG Team

Essential Rajasthan & Taj Mahal by JH, 9 Mar 2020
Holiday Rating:

A fantastic adventure across India.

Starting in New Delhi we visited, Agra, Jaipur, Jodhpur, Udaipur, Mumbai and finally Goa. In country support was excellent, from travel agent to guides.

Starting in New Delhi we visited, Agra, Jaipur, Jodhpur, Udaipur, Mumbai and finally Goa. In country support was excellent, from travel agent to guides.

Rating for tour operator:

Experience Travel Group had arranged three holidays for us. From start to finish the experience has been superb.

Experience Travel Group responded to this review on 17 Mar 2020:

Hi John, I am delighted you had such a fanastic adventure through India and found our in country support so helpful.

Reviewer's images:
Experience Travel Group responded to this review on 17 Mar 2020:

Thank you John for your kind words! I am so glad that you keep coming back to us to arrange your next holiday. Best wishes Sara & the ETG Team

Essential Sri Lanka - Deluxe by Retired Globetrotter, 6 Mar 2020
Holiday Rating:

Off the beaten track

Stayed in excellent , mainly local hotels, avoided tourist hotspots at peak times. ETG has a wealth of local knowledge which you would not get from one of the large tour operators

Stayed in excellent , mainly local hotels, avoided tourist hotspots at peak times. ETG has a wealth of local knowledge which you would not get from one of the large tour operators

Rating for tour operator:

Used ETG on several occasions and have introduced several friends/family who subsequently booked holidays with them

Experience Travel Group responded to this review on 19 Mar 2020:

Hi Clive

Thank you for your kind words, it was a pleasure to be able to send you on another ETG holiday. It's great to hear that you had a wonderful time in Sri Lanka!

Looking forward to helping you plan your next adventure.

Best Wishes
Holly

Sri Lanka Laid Back - Deluxe by Scottie, 5 Mar 2020
Holiday Rating:

Wonderful country, friendly people , memorable experirmces

We traveled through Gampaha district to Kandy, train up to Hatton, down to Galle Fort and ending at Bentots

We traveled through Gampaha district to Kandy, train up to Hatton, down to Galle Fort and ending at Bentots

Rating for tour operator:

Professional , attention to detail .

Experience Travel Group responded to this review on 09 Mar 2020:

Hi Pam,

Thanks so much for your lovely feedback. I am so pleased you had a great trip to Sri Lanka! It was a pleasure to help plan this trip, and if we can help again in the future please do let us know.

Becky and the ETG Team.

Experience Travel Group by Maggie, 3 Mar 2020
Holiday Rating:

A Southern India experience

We did a flying visit to Muscat and should have stayed longer. Kerala was wonderful - the food amazing and the colours are an amazing assault on your senses. No beige to be seen. The cruise on the rice boat for two nights is a must and we were very fortunate to see tigers on two of our four safaris in Nagahole National Park. Mysore is a beautiful and the City Palace an incredible place to visit.

We did a flying visit to Muscat and should have stayed longer. Kerala was wonderful - the food amazing and the colours are an amazing assault on your senses. No beige to be seen. The cruise on the rice boat for two nights is a must and we were very fortunate to see tigers on two of our four safaris in Nagahole National Park. Mysore is a beautiful and the City Palace an incredible place to visit.

Rating for tour operator:

Our tour was arranged by James who we had visited in the office and he spent a lot of time finding out what sort of things we enjoyed doing and the level of accommodation we were expecting. He was therefore able to plan an itinerary for us which suited us perfectly and because of his personal knowledge of the area, including the accommodation, we were confident about his recommendations. The guides all had excellent English, were helpful and knowledgeable and the drivers were careful and we felt safe in their hands (an essential requirement in India). We were very well looked after and it all went without a hitch.

Experience Travel Group responded to this review on 04 Mar 2020:

Dear Maggie

We're delighted you had such a great trip to Oman and South India.

Thanks for taking the time to write this lovely review and for chatting through with me on the phone about the highlights.

Look forward to organising your trip to North India later in the year.

All the best

James & ETG

Undiscovered Northern Kerala by KitBigCat, 3 Mar 2020
Holiday Rating:

A kaleidoscope of colour , adventure and difference .

A compelling mix of city , hills , safari and beach interwoven with local cultural , scenic and culinary experience .

A compelling mix of city , hills , safari and beach interwoven with local cultural , scenic and culinary experience .

Rating for tour operator:

For the third year running really excellent .

Experience Travel Group responded to this review on 17 Mar 2020:

I am so glad you had such a wonderful mix of experience in South India!

Experience Travel Group responded to this review on 17 Mar 2020:

Thank you Kit for keep on coming back to us, and we look forward to helping you plan your next holiday! best wishes Sara & the ETG Team

Experience Travel Group by DenB777, 1 Mar 2020
Holiday Rating:

A trip of a lifetime

Our visit to Sri Lanka far outweighed any other trip we have taken. It was extremely interesting and each place we stayed in had its own special charm Hats off to Experience Travel

Our visit to Sri Lanka far outweighed any other trip we have taken. It was extremely interesting and each place we stayed in had its own special charm Hats off to Experience Travel

Rating for tour operator:

Our tour operator was better than any we have used before. Thank you

Experience Travel Group responded to this review on 04 Mar 2020:

Dear Denise,

Thank you so much for your lovely feedback. We're always so pleased to hear people describe their holiday as a 'trip of a lifetime'. It really makes our jobs feel worthwhile.

Best,

Toni and The ETG Team

Cambodia and Vietnam Classic by psteph08, 1 Mar 2020
Holiday Rating:

Cambodia/Vietnam with Experience Travel Group

Bespoke tour of Cambodia & Vietnam.

Bespoke tour of Cambodia & Vietnam.

Rating for tour operator:

All arrangements to plan. Some exceptional experiences delivered.

Experience Travel Group responded to this review on 02 Mar 2020:

Dear Peter,

Very pleased to hear - particularly the part about 'exceptional experiences delivered'! Thank you for taking the time to post this review too.

Best,

Sam
Co-founder and MD