AITO: The Association of Independent Tour Operators
Experience Travel Group

Experience Travel Group Traveller Reviews

Reviews of Experience Travel Group

Overall Company Rating
99%
Excellent 502
Good 26
Average 2
Poor 3
Terrible 0
Reviews Submitted: 533
Reviews Accepted: 533
Reviews Rejected: 0
533 reviews
Sort by:
Essential Sri Lanka - Deluxe by SJS, 16 Jan 2019
Holiday Rating:

Fabulous Sri Lanka

We holidayed in Sri Lanka for 14 nights and had the most wonderful time

We holidayed in Sri Lanka for 14 nights and had the most wonderful time

Rating for tour operator:

Experience travel group, the service and support were fabulous all round

Experience Travel Group responded to this review on 16 Jan 2019:

Thanks so much Sam, I am delighted you had such a wonderful time. We look forward to you travelling with Experience Travel group again in the future. Best wishes Sara

Cambodia and Vietnam Classic by Jo, 14 Jan 2019
Holiday Rating:

Adventure

Family holiday to Cambodia and Vietnam

Family holiday to Cambodia and Vietnam

Rating for tour operator:

Experience Travel Group. Knowledgeable company with fantastic customer care.

Experience Travel Group responded to this review on 16 Jan 2019:

Hi Jo

Thanks for your feedback, it sounds like you had a fab holiday. I am so pleased you had a good time and that the trip was memorable for all the right reasons!

Becky

Experience Travel Group by Helen (Auckland, NZ), 13 Jan 2019
Holiday Rating:

An awesome Sri Lanka adventure

A tour of Sri Lanka including beaches, mountains, tea plantations, culture, safari and local experiences. Wonderful food, a perfect climate, spectacular scenery and the warmest, friendliest people you could hope to meet.

A tour of Sri Lanka including beaches, mountains, tea plantations, culture, safari and local experiences. Wonderful food, a perfect climate, spectacular scenery and the warmest, friendliest people you could hope to meet.

Rating for tour operator:

ETG provided a fantastic all round service including the Vamoos app, great information and second to none advice.

Experience Travel Group responded to this review on 14 Jan 2019:

Hi Helen, thank you so much for your lovely feedback and it'd great to hear you had such a brilliant time in Sri Lanka. If we can be of any help in the future please don't hesitate to get in touch. Best wishes, Toni

Experience Travel Group by Doctor Dan, 11 Jan 2019
Holiday Rating:

Cambodia tour

A tour of Ankgor Wat and other temples in the area, with opportunities to see some of daily life in Cambodia.

A tour of Ankgor Wat and other temples in the area, with opportunities to see some of daily life in Cambodia.

Rating for tour operator:

Experience Travel did a find job. The local tour operator was also helpful. Super English-speaking guide

Experience Travel Group responded to this review on 16 Jan 2019:

Thanks very much for the positive comments Daniel

I'm so pleased you had a great time and look forward to planning yuor next trip!

Best wishes, David

Wild Sri Lanka by Amanda C, 9 Jan 2019
Holiday Rating:

Sri Lanka Safari Tour

8 nights in Sri Lanka visiting two national parks and Colombo.

8 nights in Sri Lanka visiting two national parks and Colombo.

Rating for tour operator:

We booked our tour through Experience Travel Group and Becky was our contact. From the very beginning their attention to detail was outstanding and they really made me feel like we were the only tour they were working on. I would definitely use them again for another trip.

Experience Travel Group responded to this review on 16 Jan 2019:

Hi Amanda,

Thank you for your kind words, it was a pleasure to help you and your famly. I am thrilled you had a good trip!

Becky

Sri Lanka Laid Back - Deluxe by K. R., 8 Jan 2019
Holiday Rating:

Fantastic personalized vacation in Sri Lanka

16 days with 4 nights in the cultural triangle, 3 nights in the tea country, and ending with 7 nights on the beach south of Galle. We had two activities each day in the cultural triangle where we visited fantastic ancient history sites, had a half day safari, and visited local farms without feeling rushed. With a personal driver/guide, the busy first part of our vacation was still completely free from stress. The service at all the hotels ...

16 days with 4 nights in the cultural triangle, 3 nights in the tea country, and ending with 7 nights on the beach south of Galle. We had two activities each day in the cultural triangle where we visited fantastic ancient history sites, had a half day safari, and visited local farms without feeling rushed. With a personal driver/guide, the busy first part of our vacation was still completely free from stress. The service at all the hotels was outstanding. The food was excellent everywhere and the local curries were particularly well suited for my vegan wife! The people were very friendly. At one famous temple we were invited to eat lunch with a Buddhist monk. On Christmas day, we took a bike ride through the tea country and throughout the ride, we received friendly waves and greetings of “Hello” or “Merry Christmas” from dozens of people on the sides of the road and from people passing us both directions in Tuk-Tuks.

Rating for tour operator:

The personalized itinerary met our needs perfectly as we saw everything we wanted to and more while minimizing hotel changes. Our driver/guide was the best as he had excellent English and in depth knowledge to share. Everything worked as planned and the service was outstanding throughout.

Experience Travel Group responded to this review on 16 Jan 2019:

Hi Stephen,

I am so pleased you and your family had such a good trip. You seem to have really fallen in the Sri Lankan people!

Becky

Experience Travel Group by Swanny, 3 Jan 2019
Holiday Rating:

Fantastic escapism

Explored the less visited parts of Sri Lanka - got away from most of the tourist hot spots - bliss! Such friendly people, beautiful island and delicious food.

Explored the less visited parts of Sri Lanka - got away from most of the tourist hot spots - bliss! Such friendly people, beautiful island and delicious food.

Rating for tour operator:

Found some fabulous hotels that were off the beaten track and enabled us to explore the lesser known parts of Sri Lanka.

Experience Travel Group responded to this review on 07 Jan 2019:

Dear Louisa,

We're so pleased you had an excellent holiday. Our goal is to always help our clients visit the parts less visited as well as the principal sites.

Kind regards,

Sam
Co-founder & MD

Highlights of East India by KateP., 17 Dec 2018
Holiday Rating:

A colourful, fascinating, varied insight into one of the most culturally-interesting countriws in he world

We spent two weeks in glorious India. After flying into Delhi, we travelled immediately to Chambal Safari Lodge where we spent three nights recovering from the flight, seeing birds, crocodile, antelopes and turtles - as well as visiting temples and village to get a f;avoir of life o the Rajasthani border. Then we travelled by car, train and internal flights down the Ganges valley and ending up in Kolkata. highlights were the incomparable ...

We spent two weeks in glorious India. After flying into Delhi, we travelled immediately to Chambal Safari Lodge where we spent three nights recovering from the flight, seeing birds, crocodile, antelopes and turtles - as well as visiting temples and village to get a f;avoir of life o the Rajasthani border. Then we travelled by car, train and internal flights down the Ganges valley and ending up in Kolkata. highlights were the incomparable and much-more-exquisite-than-photos-show Taj Mahal, the Mughal palaces, cenotaphs and frescos of lovely and delightfully uncrowned Orchha, the ‘erotic’ carvings of the extraordinary 10th-11th century temples at Khajuraho, early-morning boat trip down the holy Ganges while bein given a head and neck, then foot and ankle massages by a friendly barer-come-Maseru organise by our lovely guide. Maybe best of all, the cookery lesson and subsequent lun with Viji and her family in Varanasi, and our visit to a silk-weaving village where the men wove exquisite saris on manually-operated looms in dark rooms while the women made fishing nets and minded the children and goats, outside in the sun.

Rating for tour operator:

Experience travel listened to what we wanted, the kinds of things we’d enjoy, and constructed a fabulous holiday that exceeded our expectations. Everything went smoothly, from our pick-up at Delhi airport by the delightful Ram, our charming and enterprising for the first week of the holiday, till our delivery at Kolkata airport to begin the journey home. We suspect that they were let down slightly by their Indian. Partner agencies a little, when planned schedules were slightly changed to meet their need rather than ours (e.g. a swap of activities which meant that we ended up walking round a deserted Sunday market that Experience had scheduled for Saturday) but hey, that’s India!

Experience Travel Group responded to this review on 18 Dec 2018:

Thank you so much for your feedback Kate, I am absolutely delighted that you enjoyed India so much again! I am glad it exceeded your expectations and ran smoothly as well. Thank you also for forwarding your pictures, I enjoyed them immensely! Best wishes Sara

Culinary Highlights of Vietnam by ChrisC, 16 Dec 2018
Holiday Rating:

Superb adventure with excellent service

A superb 16 days in Vietnam- great guides , superb food , wonderful history lessons - an excellent experience from beginning to end

A superb 16 days in Vietnam- great guides , superb food , wonderful history lessons - an excellent experience from beginning to end

Rating for tour operator:

David at experience was knowledgable & helpful. He put together a superb itinerary which was ‘exactly us’ & made our holiday unforgettable.

Experience Travel Group responded to this review on 17 Dec 2018:

Hi Christine
I'm so pleased you and David had such a wonderful time in Vietnam!
Thanks also for the detailed positive comments about the guides that you sent separately - it sounds like they really made the trip for you and we'll be sure to share your feedback.
Best wishes, David

Experience Travel Group responded to this review on 17 Dec 2018:

Thanks so much for the lovely comments - it was my pleasure to create the itinerary for you and I'm pleased it made for an unforgettable holiday.

Keep in touch and hopefully we can plan another great trip!
David

Highlights of East India by McQ, 11 Dec 2018
Holiday Rating:

Highlights of East India

We had a wonderful trip to Calcutta,Sikkim and Darjeeling. All the carefully planned arrangements went smoothly. Our guides and drivers were excellent: keen to introduce us to their country and people, and adaptable in meeting our interests and capabilities. Calcutta was full of interest, lively and diverse; the Himalayan foothills in Sikkim spectacularly beautiful (even if views of Kanchenjunga proved a bit elusive); the toy train in Darjeeling ...

We had a wonderful trip to Calcutta,Sikkim and Darjeeling. All the carefully planned arrangements went smoothly. Our guides and drivers were excellent: keen to introduce us to their country and people, and adaptable in meeting our interests and capabilities. Calcutta was full of interest, lively and diverse; the Himalayan foothills in Sikkim spectacularly beautiful (even if views of Kanchenjunga proved a bit elusive); the toy train in Darjeeling lived up to its billing. All hotels were excellent, with no trouble spared and fantastic views, and we finished with an unforgettable thee days at the blissfull Glenburn Tea Estate, which cannot be too highly recommended.

Rating for tour operator:

ETG know their stuff and it goes without saying that they get all the logistics just right and are always on hand if you need them. But above all Sarah was careful to explore what it was that we wanted from our trip and then to use her expertise and knowledge of the destination to develop a mix of interest, exploration and relaxing comfort which went beyond expectation.

Experience Travel Group responded to this review on 12 Dec 2018:

Thank you so much for your lovely comments, and useful feedback. I am delighted you had such a lovely time and enjoyed celebrating your anniversary in India. Best wishes Sara