AITO: The Association of Independent Tour Operators
Experience Travel Group

Experience Travel Group Traveller Reviews

Reviews of Experience Travel Group

Overall Company Rating
99%
Excellent 615
Good 30
Average 2
Poor 3
Terrible 0
Reviews Submitted: 650
Reviews Accepted: 650
Reviews Rejected: 0
650 reviews
Sort by:
A Different Side of Rajasthan by Steve and Jo, 10 May 2020
Holiday Rating:

An Exploration of Rural Rajasthan

Our holiday was a varied mixture personalised to our interests in historic towns and sites, architecture, textiles, rural life, wildlife and even the rather niche subject of railways

Our holiday was a varied mixture personalised to our interests in historic towns and sites, architecture, textiles, rural life, wildlife and even the rather niche subject of railways

Rating for tour operator:

We are confident that ETG listens to what our interests and preferences might be before constructing an itinerary. They have done a pretty impressive amount of background work to deliver many fascinating and enriching options and not just the standard grand venues offered by other companies. The fact that this was our eighth holiday with ETG basically says it all.

Experience Travel Group responded to this review on 10 May 2020:

Hi Steve

Thank you for the very kind words, I cannot believe it has been eight holidays that you have had with us.

We really appreciate you continuing to put your trust in us, it is a lot of fun to try and keep discovering our destinations with you.

We look forward to speaking to you again soon!

Kind Regards

Nick

A Different Side of Rajasthan by India 2020, 10 May 2020
Holiday Rating:

The magic of India

We had a wonderful holiday in Rajasthan which will remain long in the memory. India is a breathtakingly beautiful country full of splendid temples and palaces, noise and colour, peaceful rural scenes and most of all friendly welcoming people. We stayed in some amazing hotels and had brilliant guides who made us feel like friends. Even the noise and bustle is an experience in itself and we enjoyed the contrast between the busy streets, quiet ...

We had a wonderful holiday in Rajasthan which will remain long in the memory. India is a breathtakingly beautiful country full of splendid temples and palaces, noise and colour, peaceful rural scenes and most of all friendly welcoming people. We stayed in some amazing hotels and had brilliant guides who made us feel like friends. Even the noise and bustle is an experience in itself and we enjoyed the contrast between the busy streets, quiet hotels and rural experiences.

Rating for tour operator:

Experience Travel is a tailor made holiday company. We have now had two amazing holidays organised by them. Their consultants are friendly and knowledgeable and their itineraries are a wonderful mix of the ‘must see sites’ and unexpected experiences. Most important perhaps for travellers booking this kind of holiday is the high level of support available before and during the holiday. Experience Travel’s assistance and assurance was especially appreciated on this trip when the hotel we were due to travel to on the next day had a suspected case of corona virus. We were contacted by Experience Travel in London immediately and they arranged a smooth relocation to a new and equally amazing hotel. The company is there to support and advise when you need it but treads softly in the background when you don’t.

Experience Travel Group responded to this review on 10 May 2020:

Hi David

Thank you for your wonderful review, I am so glad that you had such a good holiday and were able to enjoy the magic that is India!

We look forward to speaking to you again soon and coming up with your next adventure.

Kind Regards

Nick

A Different Side of Rajasthan by Converted Northerner, 29 Apr 2020
Holiday Rating:

Indian mega cities and national parks

We started with a few days in Mumbai & ended in Delhi, from where we visited the Taj Mahal. In between we visited Bhopal and Satpura and Kanha National Parks. It was a good mixture given the contrast between the busy cities & quiet beautiful national parks. We particularly liked the peacefulness & variety of wildlife in the countryside. The accommodation & guides were excellent throughout our stay.

We started with a few days in Mumbai & ended in Delhi, from where we visited the Taj Mahal. In between we visited Bhopal and Satpura and Kanha National Parks. It was a good mixture given the contrast between the busy cities & quiet beautiful national parks. We particularly liked the peacefulness & variety of wildlife in the countryside. The accommodation & guides were excellent throughout our stay.

Rating for tour operator:

Excellent communication in planning the holiday, taking into account our requirements. When we were in India the local agent kept in touch throughout. Excellent service throughout.

Experience Travel Group responded to this review on 06 May 2020:

Hi Hazel

Thanks for the review and the kind words, we are delighted that you had such a good holiday.

We very much look forward to helping you create your next adventure.

Regards

Nick

Experience Travel Group by Vern, 1 Apr 2020
Holiday Rating:

Travelling alone but so well looked after .

The perfect combination- lone travelling , excellent organisation and the best of experiences , thank you .

The perfect combination- lone travelling , excellent organisation and the best of experiences , thank you .

Rating for tour operator:

Experience Travel Group achieves the best in tailor made holidays , excellent consultants and efficient local partners.

Experience Travel Group responded to this review on 02 Apr 2020:

Dear Susan, thank you so much for your wonderful feedback. I thoroughly enjoyed speaking to you about your trip and hearing the highlights, especially the train journey you had! I'm so glad it was such an amazing experience. I hope you have a wonderful time in Bhutan with us again next year and we look forward to planning many more adventures with you. Best wishes, Toni

Undiscovered Northern Kerala by Kirbygrip, 20 Mar 2020
Holiday Rating:

First experience of Kerala

Experience Travel Group organised a visit to Kerala. They put together an itinerary that suited us. We wanted to be more off the beaten track but still comfortable. Our stays at coffee and tea plantations, safari lodge, a beach resort and houseboat on the North Kerala backwaters, were delightful and exceeded our expectations. The underlying organisation of the trip meant we had no worries about where we should be and how we should get there...

Experience Travel Group organised a visit to Kerala. They put together an itinerary that suited us. We wanted to be more off the beaten track but still comfortable. Our stays at coffee and tea plantations, safari lodge, a beach resort and houseboat on the North Kerala backwaters, were delightful and exceeded our expectations. The underlying organisation of the trip meant we had no worries about where we should be and how we should get there. The activities provided - such as local walks and safaris, were very welcome and informative. We were able to get to know Kerala and its people in a more intimate way, which is what we wanted to do. The itinerary was well thought through so that we had a mixture of experiences with a balance of activity and relaxation that suited us. Kerala was a wonderful experience which excited all senses at once. Amazing.

Rating for tour operator:

Experience Travel Group got to know us and what we liked and disliked. We were initially unsure about how to convey what we wanted from the holiday, but ETG made it very easy. They put together an itinerary with the local office. The UK staff were experienced and knowledgeable about Kerala. On the holiday we were greeted and looked after from the outset. At each place we travelled to the staff knew who we were and the details of our travel plans, so that everything worked seamlessly. The experiences we had were appropriate and beyond our expectations. Staff, and drivers were professional and we felt well looked after by both the UK and local office. Everyone was very friendly and hospitable.

Experience Travel Group responded to this review on 02 Apr 2020:

I am delighted that you enjoyed your time in Kerala and all the local experiences so much. It's a glorious part of India, and there are many more beautiful regions to discover! Best wishes from Sara and all at ETG

Experience Travel Group responded to this review on 02 Apr 2020:

Thank you for your kind words Karen. I do hope you travel with us again. best wishes Sara and all at ETG

Cambodia and Vietnam Classic by Alva , 19 Mar 2020
Holiday Rating:

Wonderful trip to Cambodia & Vietnam

We are a couple in our mid-60s who had not been to SE Asia before and wanted a hassle-free trip with pre-arranged hotels/ tours/ internal flights etc. We were absolutely thrilled with the itinerary and service provided by Nick @ Experience Travel. In particular , the hotels were just perfect , each one better than the one before ! We also appreciated that we spent at least 2 and usually 3 nights in each location as the re-packing was kept to ...

We are a couple in our mid-60s who had not been to SE Asia before and wanted a hassle-free trip with pre-arranged hotels/ tours/ internal flights etc. We were absolutely thrilled with the itinerary and service provided by Nick @ Experience Travel. In particular , the hotels were just perfect , each one better than the one before ! We also appreciated that we spent at least 2 and usually 3 nights in each location as the re-packing was kept to a minimum. We felt that we really got to see both Cambodia and Vietnam ......the wonderful historic spots like Angkor Wat and also the smaller village locations , plus the political highlights of Phnom Penh and Ho Chi Minh City. It was just a great holiday .......and luckily our health was not impacted by coronavirus or anything else !

Rating for tour operator:

Nick Clark of Experience Travel organised our trip and was absolutely marvellous ! His attention to detail and the way that both he , the other London staff and the local agents handled the end of our journey (unfortunately impacted by the coronavirus pandemic and Cathay Pacific flight cancellations ......) was really helpful. They reworked our itinerary even though the flight cancellations were not their responsibility ( we had elected to book our travel to SE Asia independently.) Obviously, we will book again with Experience Travel !

Experience Travel Group responded to this review on 20 Mar 2020:

Hi Ailve

Thank you so much for your kind words, I am delighted to hear that you had such a great trip!

I look forward to helping you with your next adventure, perhaps getting you back to retrace your childhood steps in Sri Lanka ;)

Kind Regards

Nick

Experience Travel Group by Ranulph Davies, 17 Mar 2020
Holiday Rating:

Best ever holiday!

14 night Sri Lankan adventure

14 night Sri Lankan adventure

Rating for tour operator:

Passionate, efficient, hands-on, attentive.

Experience Travel Group responded to this review on 19 Mar 2020:

Hi Paul & Mandy

I'm delighted to hear that you had such a wonderful time in Sri Lanka. I look forward to helping you with your next trip to Asia in the future.

All the best
Holly

In Depth Tamil Nadu by Mr C O 20, 14 Mar 2020
Holiday Rating:

New experiences and old favourites in India

A well planned , varied experience with excellent prior planning and local knowledge. Very interesting, different hotels. The local drivers and guides made us feel welcome and at home in their communities.

A well planned , varied experience with excellent prior planning and local knowledge. Very interesting, different hotels. The local drivers and guides made us feel welcome and at home in their communities.

Rating for tour operator:

Very good for personal service and expert knowledge. They take great care to ensure the holiday runs smoothly.

Experience Travel Group responded to this review on 17 Mar 2020:

I am delighted you had such a lovely time again. It's great that we have your next holiday organised already! Something in the calendar to look forward to.

Experience Travel Group responded to this review on 17 Mar 2020:

Thank you for your lovely feedback Colin.
Best wishes Sara and the ETG Team

A Different Side of Rajasthan by JH, 9 Mar 2020
Holiday Rating:

A fantastic adventure across India.

Starting in New Delhi we visited, Agra, Jaipur, Jodhpur, Udaipur, Mumbai and finally Goa. In country support was excellent, from travel agent to guides.

Starting in New Delhi we visited, Agra, Jaipur, Jodhpur, Udaipur, Mumbai and finally Goa. In country support was excellent, from travel agent to guides.

Rating for tour operator:

Experience Travel Group had arranged three holidays for us. From start to finish the experience has been superb.

Experience Travel Group responded to this review on 02 Apr 2020:

Thank you John, I am delighted that you had such a great holiday with us again! best wishes Sara and all at ETG

Experience Travel Group responded to this review on 02 Apr 2020:

Thank you for your kind word John, we look forward to arranging your fourth holiday! best wishes Sara and all at ETG

Essential Rajasthan & Taj Mahal by JH, 9 Mar 2020
Holiday Rating:

A fantastic adventure across India.

Starting in New Delhi we visited, Agra, Jaipur, Jodhpur, Udaipur, Mumbai and finally Goa. In country support was excellent, from travel agent to guides.

Starting in New Delhi we visited, Agra, Jaipur, Jodhpur, Udaipur, Mumbai and finally Goa. In country support was excellent, from travel agent to guides.

Rating for tour operator:

Experience Travel Group had arranged three holidays for us. From start to finish the experience has been superb.

Experience Travel Group responded to this review on 17 Mar 2020:

Hi John, I am delighted you had such a fanastic adventure through India and found our in country support so helpful.

Reviewer's images:
Experience Travel Group responded to this review on 17 Mar 2020:

Thank you John for your kind words! I am so glad that you keep coming back to us to arrange your next holiday. Best wishes Sara & the ETG Team