AITO: The Association of Independent Tour Operators
Experience Travel Group

Experience Travel Group Traveller Reviews

Reviews of Experience Travel Group

Overall Company Rating
99%
Excellent 611
Good 30
Average 2
Poor 3
Terrible 0
Reviews Submitted: 646
Reviews Accepted: 646
Reviews Rejected: 0
646 reviews
Sort by:
Undiscovered Northern Kerala by Kirbygrip, 20 Mar 2020
Holiday Rating:

First experience of Kerala

Experience Travel Group organised a visit to Kerala. They put together an itinerary that suited us. We wanted to be more off the beaten track but still comfortable. Our stays at coffee and tea plantations, safari lodge, a beach resort and houseboat on the North Kerala backwaters, were delightful and exceeded our expectations. The underlying organisation of the trip meant we had no worries about where we should be and how we should get there...

Experience Travel Group organised a visit to Kerala. They put together an itinerary that suited us. We wanted to be more off the beaten track but still comfortable. Our stays at coffee and tea plantations, safari lodge, a beach resort and houseboat on the North Kerala backwaters, were delightful and exceeded our expectations. The underlying organisation of the trip meant we had no worries about where we should be and how we should get there. The activities provided - such as local walks and safaris, were very welcome and informative. We were able to get to know Kerala and its people in a more intimate way, which is what we wanted to do. The itinerary was well thought through so that we had a mixture of experiences with a balance of activity and relaxation that suited us. Kerala was a wonderful experience which excited all senses at once. Amazing.

Rating for tour operator:

Experience Travel Group got to know us and what we liked and disliked. We were initially unsure about how to convey what we wanted from the holiday, but ETG made it very easy. They put together an itinerary with the local office. The UK staff were experienced and knowledgeable about Kerala. On the holiday we were greeted and looked after from the outset. At each place we travelled to the staff knew who we were and the details of our travel plans, so that everything worked seamlessly. The experiences we had were appropriate and beyond our expectations. Staff, and drivers were professional and we felt well looked after by both the UK and local office. Everyone was very friendly and hospitable.

Experience Travel Group responded to this review on 02 Apr 2020:

I am delighted that you enjoyed your time in Kerala and all the local experiences so much. It's a glorious part of India, and there are many more beautiful regions to discover! Best wishes from Sara and all at ETG

Experience Travel Group responded to this review on 02 Apr 2020:

Thank you for your kind words Karen. I do hope you travel with us again. best wishes Sara and all at ETG

Cambodia and Vietnam Classic by Alva , 19 Mar 2020
Holiday Rating:

Wonderful trip to Cambodia & Vietnam

We are a couple in our mid-60s who had not been to SE Asia before and wanted a hassle-free trip with pre-arranged hotels/ tours/ internal flights etc. We were absolutely thrilled with the itinerary and service provided by Nick @ Experience Travel. In particular , the hotels were just perfect , each one better than the one before ! We also appreciated that we spent at least 2 and usually 3 nights in each location as the re-packing was kept to ...

We are a couple in our mid-60s who had not been to SE Asia before and wanted a hassle-free trip with pre-arranged hotels/ tours/ internal flights etc. We were absolutely thrilled with the itinerary and service provided by Nick @ Experience Travel. In particular , the hotels were just perfect , each one better than the one before ! We also appreciated that we spent at least 2 and usually 3 nights in each location as the re-packing was kept to a minimum. We felt that we really got to see both Cambodia and Vietnam ......the wonderful historic spots like Angkor Wat and also the smaller village locations , plus the political highlights of Phnom Penh and Ho Chi Minh City. It was just a great holiday .......and luckily our health was not impacted by coronavirus or anything else !

Rating for tour operator:

Nick Clark of Experience Travel organised our trip and was absolutely marvellous ! His attention to detail and the way that both he , the other London staff and the local agents handled the end of our journey (unfortunately impacted by the coronavirus pandemic and Cathay Pacific flight cancellations ......) was really helpful. They reworked our itinerary even though the flight cancellations were not their responsibility ( we had elected to book our travel to SE Asia independently.) Obviously, we will book again with Experience Travel !

Experience Travel Group responded to this review on 20 Mar 2020:

Hi Ailve

Thank you so much for your kind words, I am delighted to hear that you had such a great trip!

I look forward to helping you with your next adventure, perhaps getting you back to retrace your childhood steps in Sri Lanka ;)

Kind Regards

Nick

Experience Travel Group by Ranulph Davies, 17 Mar 2020
Holiday Rating:

Best ever holiday!

14 night Sri Lankan adventure

14 night Sri Lankan adventure

Rating for tour operator:

Passionate, efficient, hands-on, attentive.

Experience Travel Group responded to this review on 19 Mar 2020:

Hi Paul & Mandy

I'm delighted to hear that you had such a wonderful time in Sri Lanka. I look forward to helping you with your next trip to Asia in the future.

All the best
Holly

In Depth Tamil Nadu by Mr C O 20, 14 Mar 2020
Holiday Rating:

New experiences and old favourites in India

A well planned , varied experience with excellent prior planning and local knowledge. Very interesting, different hotels. The local drivers and guides made us feel welcome and at home in their communities.

A well planned , varied experience with excellent prior planning and local knowledge. Very interesting, different hotels. The local drivers and guides made us feel welcome and at home in their communities.

Rating for tour operator:

Very good for personal service and expert knowledge. They take great care to ensure the holiday runs smoothly.

Experience Travel Group responded to this review on 17 Mar 2020:

I am delighted you had such a lovely time again. It's great that we have your next holiday organised already! Something in the calendar to look forward to.

Experience Travel Group responded to this review on 17 Mar 2020:

Thank you for your lovely feedback Colin.
Best wishes Sara and the ETG Team

A Different Side of Rajasthan by JH, 9 Mar 2020
Holiday Rating:

A fantastic adventure across India.

Starting in New Delhi we visited, Agra, Jaipur, Jodhpur, Udaipur, Mumbai and finally Goa. In country support was excellent, from travel agent to guides.

Starting in New Delhi we visited, Agra, Jaipur, Jodhpur, Udaipur, Mumbai and finally Goa. In country support was excellent, from travel agent to guides.

Rating for tour operator:

Experience Travel Group had arranged three holidays for us. From start to finish the experience has been superb.

Experience Travel Group responded to this review on 02 Apr 2020:

Thank you John, I am delighted that you had such a great holiday with us again! best wishes Sara and all at ETG

Experience Travel Group responded to this review on 02 Apr 2020:

Thank you for your kind word John, we look forward to arranging your fourth holiday! best wishes Sara and all at ETG

Essential Rajasthan & Taj Mahal by JH, 9 Mar 2020
Holiday Rating:

A fantastic adventure across India.

Starting in New Delhi we visited, Agra, Jaipur, Jodhpur, Udaipur, Mumbai and finally Goa. In country support was excellent, from travel agent to guides.

Starting in New Delhi we visited, Agra, Jaipur, Jodhpur, Udaipur, Mumbai and finally Goa. In country support was excellent, from travel agent to guides.

Rating for tour operator:

Experience Travel Group had arranged three holidays for us. From start to finish the experience has been superb.

Experience Travel Group responded to this review on 17 Mar 2020:

Hi John, I am delighted you had such a fanastic adventure through India and found our in country support so helpful.

Reviewer's images:
Experience Travel Group responded to this review on 17 Mar 2020:

Thank you John for your kind words! I am so glad that you keep coming back to us to arrange your next holiday. Best wishes Sara & the ETG Team

Essential Sri Lanka - Deluxe by Retired Globetrotter, 6 Mar 2020
Holiday Rating:

Off the beaten track

Stayed in excellent , mainly local hotels, avoided tourist hotspots at peak times. ETG has a wealth of local knowledge which you would not get from one of the large tour operators

Stayed in excellent , mainly local hotels, avoided tourist hotspots at peak times. ETG has a wealth of local knowledge which you would not get from one of the large tour operators

Rating for tour operator:

Used ETG on several occasions and have introduced several friends/family who subsequently booked holidays with them

Experience Travel Group responded to this review on 19 Mar 2020:

Hi Clive

Thank you for your kind words, it was a pleasure to be able to send you on another ETG holiday. It's great to hear that you had a wonderful time in Sri Lanka!

Looking forward to helping you plan your next adventure.

Best Wishes
Holly

A Different Side of Rajasthan by sament, 6 Mar 2020
Holiday Rating:

wonderful trip to india

booked with Experience and we were very pleased with our schedule and all our activities. almost everything went to plan and the one mishap was not there fault. it was sorted very quickly.

booked with Experience and we were very pleased with our schedule and all our activities. almost everything went to plan and the one mishap was not there fault. it was sorted very quickly.

Rating for tour operator:

Exrerience Travel

Experience Travel Group responded to this review on 02 Apr 2020:

Hi Sam

Thank you very much for the review, we are delighted you had such a good holiday.

We look forward to helping you plan the next one!

Regards

Nick

Sri Lanka Laid Back - Deluxe by Scottie, 5 Mar 2020
Holiday Rating:

Wonderful country, friendly people , memorable experirmces

We traveled through Gampaha district to Kandy, train up to Hatton, down to Galle Fort and ending at Bentots

We traveled through Gampaha district to Kandy, train up to Hatton, down to Galle Fort and ending at Bentots

Rating for tour operator:

Professional , attention to detail .

Experience Travel Group responded to this review on 09 Mar 2020:

Hi Pam,

Thanks so much for your lovely feedback. I am so pleased you had a great trip to Sri Lanka! It was a pleasure to help plan this trip, and if we can help again in the future please do let us know.

Becky and the ETG Team.

Experience Travel Group by Maggie, 3 Mar 2020
Holiday Rating:

A Southern India experience

We did a flying visit to Muscat and should have stayed longer. Kerala was wonderful - the food amazing and the colours are an amazing assault on your senses. No beige to be seen. The cruise on the rice boat for two nights is a must and we were very fortunate to see tigers on two of our four safaris in Nagahole National Park. Mysore is a beautiful and the City Palace an incredible place to visit.

We did a flying visit to Muscat and should have stayed longer. Kerala was wonderful - the food amazing and the colours are an amazing assault on your senses. No beige to be seen. The cruise on the rice boat for two nights is a must and we were very fortunate to see tigers on two of our four safaris in Nagahole National Park. Mysore is a beautiful and the City Palace an incredible place to visit.

Rating for tour operator:

Our tour was arranged by James who we had visited in the office and he spent a lot of time finding out what sort of things we enjoyed doing and the level of accommodation we were expecting. He was therefore able to plan an itinerary for us which suited us perfectly and because of his personal knowledge of the area, including the accommodation, we were confident about his recommendations. The guides all had excellent English, were helpful and knowledgeable and the drivers were careful and we felt safe in their hands (an essential requirement in India). We were very well looked after and it all went without a hitch.

Experience Travel Group responded to this review on 04 Mar 2020:

Dear Maggie

We're delighted you had such a great trip to Oman and South India.

Thanks for taking the time to write this lovely review and for chatting through with me on the phone about the highlights.

Look forward to organising your trip to North India later in the year.

All the best

James & ETG