AITO: The Association of Independent Tour Operators
Experience Travel Group

Experience Travel Group Traveller Reviews

Reviews of Experience Travel Group

Overall Company Rating
98%
Excellent 464
Good 24
Average 2
Poor 3
Terrible 0
Reviews Submitted: 493
Reviews Accepted: 493
Reviews Rejected: 0
493 reviews
Sort by:
Experience Travel Group by Michelle_R, 9 Sep 2018
Holiday Rating:

Fantastic Itinerary and holiday in Sri Lanka for our Family

We travelled with 2 young children (10 years and 6 years) and wanted to do something a bit different than just go to the normal sites. We ended up swimming in waterfalls, biking around Polunawara, kayaking, eating lunch at a farm, visiting a tea plantation, having afternoon tea, staying in a mudhouse with no electricity! We loved it and had a fantastic time!

We travelled with 2 young children (10 years and 6 years) and wanted to do something a bit different than just go to the normal sites. We ended up swimming in waterfalls, biking around Polunawara, kayaking, eating lunch at a farm, visiting a tea plantation, having afternoon tea, staying in a mudhouse with no electricity! We loved it and had a fantastic time!

Rating for tour operator:

ETG were really good. I explained that we wanted some adventure and to do different things on the holiday to keep the children stimulated. Holly provided some really good advice based on her experiences there and suggested the Mudhouse which ended up being one of our favourite parts of the holiday,. It made me realise, that knowledge of the country based on their experience of the activities are really key for the consultants who develop the holiday as they can provide really good ideas and insight.

Experience Travel Group responded to this review on 17 Sep 2018:

Hi Michelle,

I'm so pleased that you and the family enjoyed your holiday in Sri Lanka; and that my suggestion to visit the Mudhouse paid off!
I hope we can put our knowledge to good use for another family holiday some time in the near future.

Best Wishes,
Holly

Sri Lankan Family Adventure by Anneke, 1 Sep 2018
Holiday Rating:

Incredible family holiday in Sri Lanka flawlessly organised

We had an absolutely incredible family holiday in Sri Lanka. The holiday was flawlessly organised by Becky at Experience Travel. Sri Lanka was an incredible destination and the variety on offer is fantastic. From the different types of accommodation, activities, scenery, wildlife, vegetation, food, experiences ... We particularly appreciated our driver-guides local knowledge which meant we visited places and enjoyed road side snacks we may not ...

We had an absolutely incredible family holiday in Sri Lanka. The holiday was flawlessly organised by Becky at Experience Travel. Sri Lanka was an incredible destination and the variety on offer is fantastic. From the different types of accommodation, activities, scenery, wildlife, vegetation, food, experiences ... We particularly appreciated our driver-guides local knowledge which meant we visited places and enjoyed road side snacks we may not have found on our own. In addition, it was evident that Experience Travel supported local businesses and people and really did promote sustainable and eco tourism. There was so much to do and see we really could have stayed longer.

Rating for tour operator:

Experience Travel were amazing. Becky really understood our family needs and budget and created a holiday that far exceeded our expectations. Everything was organised to an incredibly high level and the little thoughtful details were hugely appreciated such as snacks in the van, pre-stamped postcards, maps, amazing photos roadside stops for snacks and drinks, birthday cake on my son's burthday birthday to name just a few! The local driver-guide (Chandana) was an excellent driver and knowledgeable guide. We learnt so much from him. The activities and experiences ETG organised for us were interesting and really gave us a flavour into the real Sri Lanka. Absolutely everything ran like clockwork but we felt able to be flexible too. I would definitely use Experience Travel again and recommend them 100%. Truly excellent.

Experience Travel Group responded to this review on 06 Sep 2018:

Hi Anneke,

Thanks for your kind words, I am thrilled you and your family had such a good time in Sri Lanka. Chandana will be pleased as well that you enjoyed your time with him, I will pass this on. Thanks as well for sharing your son's travel journal with us- we loved hearing all about your adventures through his eyes! Sounds like he really fell in love with the island!

Looking forward to helping you on your next trip,

Becky

Boutique Sri Lanka & Maldives by Fran, 21 Aug 2018
Holiday Rating:

Perfectly constructed

Our holiday in Sri Lanka and a few days in the Maldives was well constructed against our family’s needs and interests. Great trips and accommodation with amazing food throughout.

Our holiday in Sri Lanka and a few days in the Maldives was well constructed against our family’s needs and interests. Great trips and accommodation with amazing food throughout.

Rating for tour operator:

Becky at Experience Travel Group listened well to our requests and worked with us during the planning phase and in the run up to the trip. Really impressed.

Experience Travel Group responded to this review on 22 Aug 2018:

Hi Frances,

I am so pleased you enjoyed your trip. Thank you so much for your kind words. We know how important family time is, so I am glad we got the holiday right for you and your family.

Becky

Wild Sri Lanka by The Jarman Family, 19 Aug 2018
Holiday Rating:

Sri Lanka family and wildlife tour

An amazing trip around central and northern Sri Lanka experiencing the wonderful people; food; wildlife and scenery.

An amazing trip around central and northern Sri Lanka experiencing the wonderful people; food; wildlife and scenery.

Rating for tour operator:

Experience Travel Group is excellent. Our consultant (Becky Grainger) had wonderful local knowledge and delivered a perfect schedule within our budget. The quality of guides and hotels were first class. The people; food; wildlife and scenery of Sri Lanka were second to none which led to us having a truly memorable holiday. ETG has a wonderful ethos and does tourism the right way - supporting the country and worthwhile causes and steering customers away from experiences which may be harming the local people and wildlife.

Experience Travel Group responded to this review on 21 Aug 2018:

Dear Rhys,

Reading your review was a lovely way to start the morning! That's great to hear and thank you so much for your very kind words.

We look forward to hearing from you again in the future.

Kind regards,

Sam Clark
Co-founder and MD

Experience Travel Group by ‘The Dunlop Family’, 15 Aug 2018
Holiday Rating:

An incredible holiday

Amazing!

Amazing!

Rating for tour operator:

ETG really listened to what we asked and planned a perfect itinerary for us

Experience Travel Group responded to this review on 16 Aug 2018:

Hi Helen, thank you so much for your lovely feedback! It's brilliant to hear you had an amazing time in Sri Lanka and I look forward to hearing more about it. Best wishes, Toni

Sri Lankan Family Adventure by Istabraq, 14 Aug 2018
Holiday Rating:

lots to see and do in Sri Lanka

15 days split between touring the hill county and cultural triangle and having a nice break on a luxury resort on golden white sands

15 days split between touring the hill county and cultural triangle and having a nice break on a luxury resort on golden white sands

Rating for tour operator:

ETG planned our holiday so well and really captured what we wanted in a holiday to suit a family with 3 children aged 15 to 20. when there we had a guide/driver with us and there knowledge of the island was second to none.

Experience Travel Group responded to this review on 15 Aug 2018:

Dear Richard & family,

So pleased to hear you had a wonderful holiday. Thank you also for taking the time to write this review - that is hugely appreciated. We look forward to talking to you again in the future.

Kind regards,

Sam
Co-founder & MD
Experience Travel Group

Java & Bali's Hidden Gems by Traveller2018, 31 Jul 2018
Holiday Rating:

Temples - and dragons!

A round trip extending to Singapore, Bali and the Komodo National Park with the busy hustle and bustle of Singapore (old and new), the temples and paddy fields of Bali and the famous dragons of Komodo.

A round trip extending to Singapore, Bali and the Komodo National Park with the busy hustle and bustle of Singapore (old and new), the temples and paddy fields of Bali and the famous dragons of Komodo.

Rating for tour operator:

Knowledgeable and experienced. We wanted a fairly unusual itinerary which was truly bespoke and we were very happy with the arrangements made from the flights to the local tours.

Experience Travel Group responded to this review on 04 Aug 2018:

Hi Roddy,

Thanks so much for your feedback. I am glad everything went smoothly and that you enjoyed your trip. You really got to see a huge variety of what Indonesia has to offer which is great.

Becky

Experience Travel Group by Dora the explorer, 27 Jul 2018
Holiday Rating:

Trip of a lifetime

Travelled to Sri Lanka with my grandson, had an amazing time and had experiences which dreams are made of. The hospitality of the Sri Lankan’s is amazing and cannot praise this beautiful country and its people enough.

Travelled to Sri Lanka with my grandson, had an amazing time and had experiences which dreams are made of. The hospitality of the Sri Lankan’s is amazing and cannot praise this beautiful country and its people enough.

Rating for tour operator:

Professional, efficient and listened to what we wanted and we got that and more!

Experience Travel Group responded to this review on 27 Jul 2018:

Thank you for your lovely feedback Kate, I'm so pleased that you and Josh had such a fabulous time!

Hopefully we can help to arrange another special holiday for you soon.

Best Wishes, Holly

Sri Lankan Family Adventure by Robs, 26 Jul 2018
Holiday Rating:

Wonderful trip for the family

Great hotels and fabulous experiences

Great hotels and fabulous experiences

Rating for tour operator:

Experience Travel Group

Experience Travel Group responded to this review on 04 Aug 2018:

Hi Robin,

Thanks for your comments. I am so please you and your faiy enjoyed returning to Sri Lanka.

Becky

Experience Travel Group by SKB50, 25 Jul 2018
Holiday Rating:

An amazing well curated holiday that was without flaw

Experience Travel put together an incredible mix of experiences that suited us down to the ground . Travel was seemless the guides were very knowledgeable and flexible the hotels were all great and in really good locations . To be honest I don’t think it could be bettered .

Experience Travel put together an incredible mix of experiences that suited us down to the ground . Travel was seemless the guides were very knowledgeable and flexible the hotels were all great and in really good locations . To be honest I don’t think it could be bettered .

Rating for tour operator:

Very easy to contact . They listened carefully to our interests and the initial proposal was so good I extended the holiday by three days . Very friendly and very professional.

Experience Travel Group responded to this review on 25 Jul 2018:

Dear Sally

We're delighted you had such a good time in Bangkok, Cambodia and Vietnam!

Thank you so much for this lovely review, we really appreciate it and hope to from you again in the future!

All the best

James & The ETG Team