AITO: The Association of Independent Tour Operators
Experience Travel Group

Experience Travel Group Traveller Reviews

Reviews of Experience Travel Group

Overall Company Rating
99%
Excellent 571
Good 29
Average 2
Poor 3
Terrible 0
Reviews Submitted: 605
Reviews Accepted: 605
Reviews Rejected: 0
605 reviews
Sort by:
Burma wih Irrawady Cruise by Rawli, 11 Oct 2019
Holiday Rating:

The wonderful people in the beautiful land of Myanmar

Two weeks of hassle free, taylor made travel, being very well looked after.

Two weeks of hassle free, taylor made travel, being very well looked after.

Rating for tour operator:

Experience Travel did it again for us!!!

Experience Travel Group responded to this review on 11 Oct 2019:

Hi Peregrine
I'm so pleased you had a great time returning to Myanmar and it was great to hear on the phone that all the hotels and guides (including the specialist birdwatching guide) were all faultless and everything worked like clockwork. We'd be delighted to arrange another holiday for you again!
Best wishes
David & The ETG Team

Classic Vietnam Explorer by MVL, 7 Oct 2019
Holiday Rating:

Vibrant Vietnam

Our family including 2 teenage boys 15 and 18 spent an amazing 16 days in Vietnam. We started in Hanoi for 3 days, then spent 2 nights on a junk boat in the impressive Bai Tu Long bay which was incredible. We then flew south to Hue for a couple of nights and visited the historical Imperial City before driving to Hoi An where we spent 5 nights relaxing and exploring the preserved ancient town. We finished our trip with a few days in HCMC and ...

Our family including 2 teenage boys 15 and 18 spent an amazing 16 days in Vietnam. We started in Hanoi for 3 days, then spent 2 nights on a junk boat in the impressive Bai Tu Long bay which was incredible. We then flew south to Hue for a couple of nights and visited the historical Imperial City before driving to Hoi An where we spent 5 nights relaxing and exploring the preserved ancient town. We finished our trip with a few days in HCMC and visiting the Cu Chi tunnels and the Mekong Delta.

Rating for tour operator:

It was the second time that we have travelled with Experience travel. Previously they put such a fantastic itinerary together for Sri Lanka we knew we wanted to use them again for our trip to Vietnam. David was very patient and flexible and kept re doing itinerary until all the family agreed on the perfect trip. It was a good balance of activity, exploring, cultural experiences and chill out time. I cant wait until we can do another big trip to Asia and I know I will be contacting ETG again.

Reviewer's images:
Experience Travel Group responded to this review on 08 Oct 2019:

Hi Michelle
We're delighted you had another great family holiday with ETG and thank you for taking the time to leave this review. It was a pleasure to create a holiday that had the right mix of experiences and down time that worked for you all and it sounds like you have some great memories. We'd love you to travel with us again and hope we can tempt you with another one of our destinations!
Best wishes
David & The ETG Team

Sri Lanka Laid Back - Deluxe by P&H, 3 Oct 2019
Holiday Rating:

The magic of Sri Lanka

We visited Sri Lanka for 18 days. It was excellent in every respect. ETG have a very close bond with the Sri Lankan people and ensure that your experience reflects daily life in this interesting country. We very much enjoyed our first visit to Sri Lanka.

We visited Sri Lanka for 18 days. It was excellent in every respect. ETG have a very close bond with the Sri Lankan people and ensure that your experience reflects daily life in this interesting country. We very much enjoyed our first visit to Sri Lanka.

Rating for tour operator:

Knowledgeable, user friendly, and happy to assist from start to finish. They more than fulfilled our expectations on all fronts.

Experience Travel Group responded to this review on 08 Oct 2019:

Dear Peter,

That's great to hear - thank you so much. That's exactly what we try to achieve for our clients.

Kind regards,

Sam Clark
Co-founder & MD

Experience Travel Group by Nard Dawg , 2 Oct 2019
Holiday Rating:

Amazing trip to Sri Lanka and the Maldives

Everything that we asked for or even mentioned in passing was fulfilled beyond our expectations. We planned our trip quite last minute, after a brief discussion on what we hoped to see and do our tour operator Holly responded within 24 hours with a perfect itinerary. The accommodations were perfect and due to their knowledge of the properties we felt like we had the best rooms in the places we stayed. Our driver Chamin ( in Sri Lanka) was ...

Everything that we asked for or even mentioned in passing was fulfilled beyond our expectations. We planned our trip quite last minute, after a brief discussion on what we hoped to see and do our tour operator Holly responded within 24 hours with a perfect itinerary. The accommodations were perfect and due to their knowledge of the properties we felt like we had the best rooms in the places we stayed. Our driver Chamin ( in Sri Lanka) was very professional, knowledgeable and friendly. He was very open to what ever we wanted to do and happy to accommodate us. He went above and beyond to make us feel comfortable and make our experience the best possible.

Rating for tour operator:

See previous comments.

Experience Travel Group responded to this review on 08 Oct 2019:

Hi Jason & Ashley

I am delighted to hear that you had such an enjoyable time in both Sri Lanka and The Maldives! We'll be sure to pass on your lovely comments on to Chamin also.
I hope we can help with any plans to visit more of Asia in the future.
All the best
Holly

Classic Family Sri Lanka by Connor4, 30 Sep 2019
Holiday Rating:

Family Holiday to Sri Lanka and The Maldives

We have just had a wonderful family holiday, arranged by Lauren from Experience Travel Group. Our itinerary was perfect, with just the right mix of sightseeing and activities, many fabulous memories made. Our chauffeur guide was so knowledgeable and friendly, he made the whole experience thoroughly enjoyable and stress free.

We have just had a wonderful family holiday, arranged by Lauren from Experience Travel Group. Our itinerary was perfect, with just the right mix of sightseeing and activities, many fabulous memories made. Our chauffeur guide was so knowledgeable and friendly, he made the whole experience thoroughly enjoyable and stress free.

Rating for tour operator:

Very impressed with their local knowledge. Spent time finding out what we enjoyed doing as a family, itinerary was perfect. Experience Travel Group kept in regular contact after the Easter Sunday atrocities, we felt very well informed and satisfied with the options given, and so pleased we decided to go ahead with our holiday.

Experience Travel Group responded to this review on 01 Oct 2019:

Dear Karen,

That's so great to hear. I know our local guides and team in Colombo were so pleased that you, along with other families, decided to go ahead with the trip. We're so pleased you had a wonderful time and are pleased you made that decision.

We're glad you felt well informed too - it was a difficult time and we did our absolute best to ensure all of our clients were fully up to date of the situation.

Thank you again. Please do recommend us to others if the chance arises!

Kind regards,

Sam
Co-founder & MD

Sri Lankan Family Adventure by Chelsea boy, 27 Sep 2019
Holiday Rating:

5 star Sri Lanka

Absolutely amazing, we loved every minute, the hotels were brilliant with great food and excellent and engaging staff Our driver and guide really made our holiday experience, his knowledge of Sri Lanka was brilliant, not just the places but the people and the environment

Absolutely amazing, we loved every minute, the hotels were brilliant with great food and excellent and engaging staff Our driver and guide really made our holiday experience, his knowledge of Sri Lanka was brilliant, not just the places but the people and the environment

Rating for tour operator:

ETG know their stuff and personalised our holiday perfectly - it was exactly what we wanred

Experience Travel Group responded to this review on 27 Sep 2019:

Dear Graham,

Wonderful to hear you had a brilliant time. We're so proud of our team of chauffeur-guides and agree - they make the holiday as you say. We'll be sure to pass on your comments.

Please do recommend us (and Sri Lanka) to others. For yourself, we'd love to look at a trip in future to somewhere else in Asia!

Best,

Sam
Co-founder & MD

Experience Travel Group by GeoClaire, 20 Sep 2019
Holiday Rating:

Temples, Volcanoes and Dragons in Indonesia

We had a fabulous 3 island holiday in Indonesia, visiting Java, Bali and Flores. We had an action packed agenda with many early starts to see sunrises (or avoid the traffic!) and amazing views from temples and mountains. We were immersed in a completely different culture and walked with the famous Komodo dragons! We travelled by plane, train, car and boat and stayed in some luxurious hotels too.

We had a fabulous 3 island holiday in Indonesia, visiting Java, Bali and Flores. We had an action packed agenda with many early starts to see sunrises (or avoid the traffic!) and amazing views from temples and mountains. We were immersed in a completely different culture and walked with the famous Komodo dragons! We travelled by plane, train, car and boat and stayed in some luxurious hotels too.

Rating for tour operator:

Our tour was planned to our own specifications completely. Experience Travel brought great in-country experience to help us create a truly tailor-made holiday.

Experience Travel Group responded to this review on 27 Sep 2019:

Dear Claire,

It was a fantastic trip to put together too! Glad it was such fun for you all. We appreciate you taking the time to post this review too.

Best,

Sam
Co-founder & MD

Experience Travel Group by Kinghams, 13 Sep 2019
Holiday Rating:

Amazing

We did an 8 day tour of Sri Lanka from Colombo to the Gumbaha district and Kandy. Visiting some fabulous memorable places and meeting some very friendly locals

We did an 8 day tour of Sri Lanka from Colombo to the Gumbaha district and Kandy. Visiting some fabulous memorable places and meeting some very friendly locals

Rating for tour operator:

Extremely helpful in making it a dream holiday with its suggestions on how best to see some of the fantastic sites and places

Experience Travel Group responded to this review on 27 Sep 2019:

Dear Peter,

So pleased to hear. A 'dream' holiday has to be our aim! Please do recommend us and Sri Lanka!

Regards,

Team ETG

Experience Travel Group by KC, 1 Sep 2019
Holiday Rating:

Exploring Borneo’s wildlife and sights

We had two weeks of luxury accommodation in great places, informative guides, great boat rides, loads of wildlife encounters, tasty food, great fun and it all felt like a real treat

We had two weeks of luxury accommodation in great places, informative guides, great boat rides, loads of wildlife encounters, tasty food, great fun and it all felt like a real treat

Rating for tour operator:

They listened to what we wanted from the holiday and arranged a perfect package to suit us

Experience Travel Group responded to this review on 27 Sep 2019:

Dear Karen,

That's a lovely review to read. Thank you for taking the time. We very much hope to hear from you again.

Best,

Sam Clark
Co-founder & MD

Classic Vietnam Explorer by Anneke, 30 Aug 2019
Holiday Rating:

An incredible family experience in Vietnam

ETG organised the most amazing family holiday for us in Vietnam. From Hanoi to HCMC stopping at Halong Bay, Phong Nha-Ke Bang, Hue, Hoi An and Mekong Delta. We saw and experienced so much with flawless organisation and fantastic guides who our kids loved and who really enhanced our experience. We took overnight trains, cyclos, tuktuks, motorboats, sampans, bicycles.... We met and experienced so many wonderful people and did so many fun activities ...

ETG organised the most amazing family holiday for us in Vietnam. From Hanoi to HCMC stopping at Halong Bay, Phong Nha-Ke Bang, Hue, Hoi An and Mekong Delta. We saw and experienced so much with flawless organisation and fantastic guides who our kids loved and who really enhanced our experience. We took overnight trains, cyclos, tuktuks, motorboats, sampans, bicycles.... We met and experienced so many wonderful people and did so many fun activities from fishing to Rice paper making and lantern making and farming. Amazing holiday.

Rating for tour operator:

This is the second holiday we have booked with Experience Travel and again we can't rate them highly enough. From start to finish the service has been flawless. James did a great job at understanding our family wants and desires and putting together a fantastic itinerary. He was very responsive and helpful. The service provided is exceptional and wry detailed.

Experience Travel Group responded to this review on 27 Sep 2019:

Dear Anneke,

What a review! Thank you so much for coming back to us for a second family holiday. SO pleased it was such a success!

Regards,

Team ETG